hardware
So one theme I see every Australia Day (and i believe it is getting more and more frequent) is the Australia patriotism. And not in a good way either, not a go to a formal Australia Day Ceremony, Sing both verses of Advance Australia Fair that you know off by heart of course, salute the flag and be respectable.
No i'm talking about wearing no shirt, writing on yourself australia: love it or leave, using the flag as some kind of cape/towel, and making a complete and utter bigoted ass of yourself, apparently that's some kind of right. There is most certainly no way in the world I would be disgracing the flag/country by showing my 'patriotism' in this way. Yes I am proud to be a 7th generation non-convict Australian, and there's few in this land that are more full-blooded Australian than me, other than the native folk. However, when I see the television of these louts disgracing Australia and leading the way for Cronulla Riots II, I am rather disgraced as to what overseas countries might percieve the modern Australian as. Discuss with fervor. |
| #0 11:15pm 25/01/10 |
Crusty old man
I agree!
/thread |
| #1 11:16pm 25/01/10 |
What about a hat with the Aussie flag on it while you have a bbq / pool / swimming pool and some beers with mates?
| #2 11:17pm 25/01/10 |
I recently heard the southern cross being referred to as an Australian Swastika
I think it was on news.com.au, but in any case it's quite bogan to do 1st gen aussie here so I don't really give too much of a s***, as long as they keep buying from my fruit/pizza/convenience/scaffolding shop |
| #3 11:18pm 25/01/10 |
hardware says no!
| #4 11:19pm 25/01/10 |
I wholeheartedly agree. trog's tips for being a real patriot on Australia Day: - don't get drunk and wander around the streets trying to start fights wrapped in an Australian flag. - don't do racist stuff that just shames the rest of us and our country - don't buy cheap made-in-China junk and attach it to your car/body/house - don't go and have a massive bbq and leave heaps of rubbish lying around the park - do enjoy the Hottest 100 whilst having some ice cold brews with some mates |
| #5 11:20pm 25/01/10 |
Australia Day ftw.
Australia Day bogans as mentioned, fail. What about all the retards that started flying the car flags 2 weeks prior? |
| #6 11:21pm 25/01/10 |
i'm not really into 'celebrating' australia day, i.e. displaying public reverence for symbols such as the flag in order to demonstrate to everyone how patriotic we are
but i'll still take the day off, thanks :D |
| #7 11:28pm 25/01/10 |
Pool, BBQ, beers, and hottest 100 sounds good to me
| #8 11:28pm 25/01/10 |
Add to trogs list
- do not write yourself off and have a sickie on Wednesday - do watch the cricket - don't do aussie aussie aussie (unless you're at said cricket) |
| #9 11:29pm 25/01/10 |
MatchFixa
hi5 hardware.
| #10 11:31pm 25/01/10 |
aussie aussie aussie at the cricket is still bogan!!
and I agree with this thread. Beers, BBQ, Hottest 100 and then Them Crooked Vultures tomorrow night, awesome times. Then back up on Wed for DJ Yoda in Sydney - VIP tix too :D |
| #11 11:35pm 25/01/10 |
Yep Australia day has been ruined it is now a total non event for me.
| #12 11:44pm 25/01/10 |
I'm pretty happy to be an Australian everyday of the year, I don't really need a specific day for it but I appreciate the day off.
I actually met a racist tattoo wearing f***stain last year and couldn't believe how ignorant the guy was. He thought it was his mission to get rid of the Japanese from the Gold Coast because they were stealing our jerbs. He didn't understand that immigration was an essential part of our economy and without it there would be high unemployment and a pretty bleak future. He also called his Hilux ute a "truck" and picked up a chick because she was impressed with his "rig" (note: not a euphemism for penis). The guy was such a cartoon character I was just blown away. The most important thing about this Australia day is it marks 3 days until Mass Effect 2 release. f*** yeah. |
| #13 11:46pm 25/01/10 |
How ghey are those Aussie flags on cars.
Should be moved to New Years Day. The birth of the Nation. |
| #14 11:47pm 25/01/10 |
zero ghey, that's how
| #15 12:29am 26/01/10 |
I'll be taking my lit'l girls down to Cronulla in the morning. They'll have Finding Nemo on the big scream so that will blow their minds:
http://www.australiaday.com.au/whatson/detailedevent.aspx?EventID=567 Once the drunks take over we'll go to Miranda for the rides http://www.australiaday.com.au/whatson/detailedevent.aspx?EventID=568 then Menai for the petting zoo and fireworks http://www.australiaday.com.au/whatson/detailedevent.aspx?EventID=569 When there's not riots the shire is a great place to live :-) |
| #16 12:44am 26/01/10 |
I swear the cultural cringe is getting worse every year on Australia Day. Find myself getting more & more ashamed when I see packs of bogans 4-5 deep with Flag capes and temp tattoos of the Southern Cross everywhere.. Is it really just me or has it been getting worse & worse these last 3-4 years?
And for the record, my Oz Day will consist of getting out in the backyard with my chainsaws cutting down trees and building up gardens. Preferably with the Hottest 100 going loud in the background. |
| #17 12:50am 26/01/10 |
Nerfbringer
To be honest, I never thought I could be the patriotic type until a few years ago when the aforementioned boganism started becoming more apparent. I realised, I care about my country and don't want to see that dangerous s*** here - It just had to take things going wrong for me to realise there was something I cared about and wanted to protect. By all accounts, Australia seems to be a great place to live despite the terrible parts of our history, but the same things are reflected in all human history, and as I get older I am finding I am very thankful for being an Australian. :) I still hate all forms of ceremony and tradition though, and don't feel I should need a day to appreciate anything I wouldn't normally, but will gladly take the public holiday. |
| #18 12:53am 26/01/10 |
Every time I see a dude get out of a ute with a bull horn and rum pig sticker on the back shirtless with a freaking southern cross tatt probably with an Aussie flag waiting to be wrapped around him like a shawl I want to rage so bad.
| #19 01:09am 26/01/10 |
Yes I am proud to be a 7th generation non-convict Australian why do you feel the need to add in the "non-convict" part? 99% of us would be descended from convicts, I'm sure at some point someone in your blood line stole a loaf of bread the only difference here is our ancestors stole a loaf of bread at a convenient time for the British to ship them over here |
| #20 01:14am 26/01/10 |
99% of us would be descended from convicts Proud to be in that 1% then! My great great.. f*** it - grandfather many times removed was a purser on the First Fleet, so not a crim :) Pretty sure my dad's side immigrated way back when before we started telling people Australia's full. |
| #21 01:17am 26/01/10 |
Yeh that's the second time I've seen you drop the 'non-convict' bit in, its f***ing bizarre.
I have ancestors who were ... forcibly settled ... to Australia and I'm 100% proud of them! To not f***ing die under those conditions, prosper and sprog a line that produced a f***ing cainer like me?! /bow convict ancestor dude Edit: I think you said somewhere you had a redcoat in the bloodline somewhere hardware? Hope my old old old old old old man punched yours in the nose in a rebellion over rum sometime! last edited by Hogfather at 01:21:52 26/Jan/10 |
| #22 01:21am 26/01/10 |
I reckon to be 'true blue' Aussie you'd be proud to have convict ancestors. I'm not 100% sure that I do but I assume I do.
| #23 01:23am 26/01/10 |
6th gen Tasmanian (English heritage) signing-in. Possible convicts on my Dad's side but haven't found any yet. Unfortunately I have more bogan utes with southern cross stickers in my own street than I care to count. I keep meaning to take photos but never get around to it - plus, you know, street-safe and all that, ahaha. Add to trog's list: - marking yourself with sunscreen so that you get patterns burned into your skin We'll be working on the house with the Hottest 100 on the radio. Avoided any mention of the winner and the AGN/QGL hottest 100 leaked thread ;-) I reckon the Big Day Out in Melbourne, always on Australia Day, is where a lot of southern cross redneck bogans like to hang out. |
| #24 01:25am 26/01/10 |
Kilos
- do enjoy the Hottest 100 whilst having some ice cold brews with some mates And yell "What?! f***en WHAT?!" every time the next song comes on. |
| #25 01:32am 26/01/10 |
s***test 100 more like
| #26 01:47am 26/01/10 |
Tetrahedra
i wear the cape to remind the aboriginals of what our ancestors did to them |
| #27 02:05am 26/01/10 |
8th Gen Aussie Signing in, of the Hayward and earlier, the Johnson clan.
| #28 02:18am 26/01/10 |
Probably going to spend my Australia day drinking beers and geeking out playing games. Hell, I'm unemployed, I spend most days drinking beer and geeking out, I just have a good excuse for it tomorrow! Probably bust out some drunken Rock Band with people that are coming over too, always entertaining.
| #29 03:51am 26/01/10 |
groganus
- don't get drunk and wander around the streets trying to start fights wrapped in an Australian flag. time to update the forum rules.! |
| #30 07:51am 26/01/10 |
there's a border security marathon on foxtel today :/
| #31 08:22am 26/01/10 |
lewd
working on a public holiday.
probably the most aussie thing you could do these days.... battler style !!!!!!! the hottest 99 will be sweet in van but....... and ill be aiming for anyone in flag cape and southern cross swastika..... and cutting off any cars sporting the made in chinas.... last edited by lewd at 08:29:34 26/Jan/10 |
| #32 08:29am 26/01/10 |
yeah i can't take these knobs that use the australian flag as a cape
i saw plenty of them on friday at the cricket |
| #33 08:48am 26/01/10 |
Beach, last bit of sun for a while :~(
| #34 08:53am 26/01/10 |
Totenkopf
Anyone using flags as capes should be send to afghanistan to clear minefields.... |
| #35 09:00am 26/01/10 |
And yell "What?! f***en WHAT?!" every time the next song comes on. Ahahaha. We must be more positive than the parties you're going to because the general feel whenever a song comes on is "Yes!!! I voted for this. Guise, guise, I voted for this! I"m so awesome!!!11" |
| #36 09:04am 26/01/10 |
being proud of your country/culture =/= the retarded jingoism bogans come up with for australia day.
| #37 10:01am 26/01/10 |
HurricaneJim
99% of us would be descended from convictsProud to be in that 1% then! My great great.. f*** it - grandfather many times removed was a purser on the First Fleet, so not a crim :) Pretty sure my dad's side immigrated way back when before we started telling people Australia's full. Interesting, I'm 5th generation First Fleeter (midshipman HMS Sirius). |
| #38 10:25am 26/01/10 |
Yeh that's the second time I've seen you drop the 'non-convict' bit in, its f***ing bizarre. As do I. It's great Mr Hardware that you have recently discovered (or at least decided to share) your ancestry, but no-one really cares in 2010 if you were convict, solder or free settler. Given Australian "patriotism" in 2010, you might get more respect if you were an ancestor of James Squire (convict beer maker, if the marketing is true). He at least made a name for himself. |
| #39 10:44am 26/01/10 |
MatchFixa
^Sounds like something a convict would say ^
J/K |
| #40 11:05am 26/01/10 |
Ross
fanatical patriotism is very f***ing annoying but I have no problem with people waving flags and showing love for their country on AUSTRALIA DAY. We are blessed to live in such a peaceful state in such an abundant country.
The type of rhetoric displayed on Australia day is also acceptable at sporting events (where Australia is playing) and anzac day. Don't be so quick to call everyone with a southern cross tattoo a f***wit either. It is almost traditional for service men/women to get these tattoo's and i'm sure they f***ing hate the fact it has been picked up by the general pop. The only time you should feel offended by any of this is when someone describes something as 'un-australian'. The immediate aussie response to this is a punch in the f***n nose. |
| #41 12:03pm 26/01/10 |
the crime is how every suburban shopping centre is marketing the f*** outta the 'ozzie' trinkets that act as a fuel for the numbskulls that just want an excuse for some racial bulls***. my local shopping centre had 'flag capes' on sale ffs! made in china ffffffs!@#!@ plastic car flags... made in china. southern cross beach towels... made in china. it's the saddest joke evah :(
| #42 12:35pm 26/01/10 |
Gesthemene
99% of us would be descended from convicts Also in that 1%. Descended from William Bligh. |
| #43 12:43pm 26/01/10 |
At least its got em off the Eureka Stockade flag
| #44 12:44pm 26/01/10 |
jum
bogan s***heads using it as a cape is lame, but misuse of the flag is ok sometimes
http://img29.imageshack.us/img29/4636/oz434.jpg |
| #45 12:50pm 26/01/10 |
that is the hawtest thing ive ever seen
| #46 12:52pm 26/01/10 |
what excellent product placement, i could really go a vb
| #47 01:09pm 26/01/10 |
| #48 01:11pm 26/01/10 |
MatchFixa
bwaha
| #49 01:15pm 26/01/10 |
for the first, and only time, i feel like a vb... that vb.
| #50 01:18pm 26/01/10 |
I agree with the OP completely.
After finally going overseas for the first time last year, I came back and realised that Australia really isn't as great as I thought it was. So many Aussies are f***ing embarrassments to our country. I still love Australia, but I'm certainly not as proud as I once was. |
| #51 01:19pm 26/01/10 |
Crusty old man
Well, I think that sums up the day nicely... thanks Jum :)
I'm suddenly thirsty, and I don't know why? |
| #52 01:20pm 26/01/10 |
So many Aussies are f***ing embarrassments to our country. They are everywhere dude. Hooligans in the UK, rednecks in the States, pickpockets and crims in Paris. It only gets worse as you move into poorer regions of the world, there are cities in China where its entirely common to see someone take a s*** in the gutter. Its not an Australian problem really. Humans are for the most part feral creatures. We've come a long way in the last few hundred years but we have much further to go. |
| #53 01:25pm 26/01/10 |
for the first, and only time, i feel like a vb... that vb i hear you girlfriend |
| #54 01:26pm 26/01/10 |
An that's about as far as my patriotism goes
| #55 01:26pm 26/01/10 |
Hey hardware: love it or leave you unpatriotic f***.
| #56 01:48pm 26/01/10 |
It takes a special kind of meathead to walk around draped in the Australian flag. Fortunately these kinds of tough guys only understand one form of punishment: violence. Therefore I propose their actions is met with very different kind of punishment that wouldn't normally be acceptable for the general public:
If you while draping that thing around yourself let our flag touch the ground, it's off to jail with you for 48 hours with a broken cheek bone and broken nose. That's what I'd like to see. Because like I said, it takes a special kind of c******* to have that kind of disrespect for our flag - it's a flag, not a cape. |
| #57 02:01pm 26/01/10 |
fight at bondi
byo VB |
| #58 02:17pm 26/01/10 |
Crusty old man
QGL infi. Fight at Logan! byo VB and trolley bars
:) |
| #59 02:23pm 26/01/10 |
| #60 02:51pm 26/01/10 |
I've got no problem with people wearing flags and s*** as long as they don't act like f***ing tards and start fights.
| #61 03:05pm 26/01/10 |
lmao Persay Hey hardware: love it or leave you unpatriotic f***. You're either trolling or the reh-tard is strong in you today. |
| #62 03:06pm 26/01/10 |
MatchFixa
Obvious troll.
| #63 03:09pm 26/01/10 |
found some candidates holy s*** it's the bogan patrol |
| #64 03:10pm 26/01/10 |
I had a kiwi friend who had her front lawn burned along with the lawn of the Indian family 4 streets down. All the other houses were untouched. BOGAN pricks!
| #65 03:41pm 26/01/10 |
Crusty old man
I had a kiwi friend who had her front lawn burned along with the lawn of the Indian family 4 streets down.WTF?! What country are we living in here? When I was a kid, racism was non-existent in this country as far as I could tell. There were wogs, lebs, skippies, blackfellas, Eyeties etc etc.. however!... It wasn't malicious, and it wasn't something that you wouldn't say to peoples faces. It was just a way of recognising that we were different. We'd walk around the school nodding at each other saying "Sup skip" "yo wog". If a "leb" and a "skippy" got in a fight, it wasn't about race, it was about two people having a disagreement. Today if I said any of those things in public, I'd be labelled racist. I sometimes wonder if this over the top political correctness (whatever that really means) has only succeeded in educating people to be offended by everything, and therefore go to extremes like setting fire to things. |
| #66 03:59pm 26/01/10 |
myWhiteWolf
holy crap, you guys are pretty intolerant. what is the problem with having a flag attached to you? as long as those people aren't causing problems (and because you have a sticker on your ute, i don't think that means you're likely to cause problems) who cares what they wear? bet half of you are part of the "don't ban the birka" crowd too.
And not in a good way either, not a go to a formal Australia Day Ceremony, Sing both verses of Advance Australia Fair that you know off by heart of course, salute the flag and be respectable.I don't think its very Australian to go to a formal ceremony on a day off from work. No I'm talking about wearing no shirtits hot, not wearing a shirt is not the worse thing in the world writing on yourself Australia: love it or leaveperhaps some people are feeling like their way of life is being encroached by other cultures, this is much better way of going about bringing awareness then other methods. , using the flag as some kind of cape/towelzomg, not the flag! its not like its Australia day or anything, sorry they show being a proud Australian in a different light then you. and making a complete and utter bigoted ass of yourself, apparently that's some kind of right.can't argue against that though. I don't care what people wear and what they write on themselves or put on their cars. Jesus get over yourself. |
| #67 04:00pm 26/01/10 |
Crusty old man
perhaps some people are feeling like their way of life is being encroached by other cultures, this is much better way of going about bringing awareness then other methodsI chuckled... |
| #68 04:12pm 26/01/10 |
it's great to be open minded - but you have to admit that wearing the flag as a cape puts you squarely in boganville
| #69 04:36pm 26/01/10 |
MatchFixa
perhaps some people are feeling like their way of life is being encroached by other cultures, this is much better way of going about bringing awareness then other methodshaha, that's a good one. Quickly someone make that their sig. |
| #70 04:42pm 26/01/10 |
I don't drink beer or Bundy rum. I'm not Australian.
| #71 04:55pm 26/01/10 |
STRALIA DAY
| #72 06:34pm 26/01/10 |
I don't drink beer or Bundy rum. I'm not Australian. Next you'll tell us you don't like lamb either. |
| #73 07:13pm 26/01/10 |
I don't drink beer or Bundy rum. I'm not Australian. West Coast Coolers then? They're pretty 'strayan. |
| #74 07:32pm 26/01/10 |
I've heard they're making a comeback.
Also, where's the series jum? |
| #75 08:31pm 26/01/10 |
step
When I was a kid, racism was non-existent in this country as far as I could tell.Where the f*** were you living? We'd walk around the school nodding at each other saying "Sup skip" "yo wog".It's all fun and games with the people you know, but saying those words to someone you don't has not changed at all. |
| #76 08:41pm 26/01/10 |
- Not supporting Australia made products this. lots of bogans cry foul about it but when it comes to which product they buy in the shop, if the chinese made it $5 cheaper than the aussie made version, they'll buy the chinese one and half pack of durries |
| #77 08:42pm 26/01/10 |
hardware
that's right teq. I put my money where my mouth is and always buy Australian made where possible, and even Queensland made. There are at least two parts on my car that are QLD made.
| #78 08:44pm 26/01/10 |
something tells me they get the chinese to make the number plates too
| #79 08:48pm 26/01/10 |
How many parts in your computer are made in australia? Better stop posting on the internet since it wasn't made in australia either.
| #80 08:49pm 26/01/10 |
MatchFixa
Easy.
Let's not get too carried away now. |
| #81 09:16pm 26/01/10 |
I've got no problem with people wearing flags and s*** as long as they don't act like f***ing tards and start fights.yeh there was talk about increased police activity stopping that from happening under a (new?) charge of 'disrespecting the flag' which I saw on the news last week? |
| #82 09:34pm 26/01/10 |
(In america at least) it is against the code of the flag (or some s***) to wear the flag as an item of clothing or use it to decorate your house in any other way than flying it on a flag pole - and if you do that there are rules about that too.
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/United_States_Flag_Code Never heard of that anywhere else, but it wouldn't surprise me if they bring something like that in. There is also an ethical issue with restricting freedoms for a piece of fabric, but there ya go. |
| #83 09:40pm 26/01/10 |
There is already Flag guidelines (which include not wearing it or letting it touch the ground) but their not laws.
It's what the soldiers and carriers of the flags have asked you to do. Wearing the flag like a cape is disrespectful to the diggers that fought for it. Plus it makes you look like a f*** head bogan. Anyone have any more info about KRudd's nephew wearing the KKK uniform? Pretty stupid way to protest against racism, will get a lot of attention though. |
| #84 09:50pm 26/01/10 |
lewd
a (new?) charge of 'disrespecting the flag' like the guy selling them in town today. throws them on the ground when no-ones around........ and when they wear them as bogancapes, the kinda drag along the ground. if cops were bored i guess..... |
| #85 09:57pm 26/01/10 |
Went the south coast this morning saw a ute with 7 (Seven) flags it was pretty epic 3 of them were full size flags
| #86 09:59pm 26/01/10 |
There is already Flag guidelines (which include not wearing it or letting it touch the ground) but their not laws. Don't they teach s*** like this in primary school anymore, including the proper method for folding a flag? (Though since they clearly don't teach English (it's "they're", ffs - "not laws" is not posessive of anything, arrrrghhhh, headsplosion grmblfsck) I guess I can't expect them to have taught it.) Aren't the basics that everyone should know: - How to handle the flag, including never allowing a flag (whether your own or another) to touch the ground. - That the local flag is always presented at the same or greater height than flags on other poles adjacent to it - How to fold and unfold the flag. - What the proper meanings of an upside-down, half-mast and three-quarter mast flag are. - When they can and can not be flown and should be taken down/put up each day. - The level of damage to a flag deemed unacceptable for it to be flown. Actually, reading that back I'm now wondering if maybe I was actually raised at a pretentious private school. On second thoughts... no. Seriously, why are kids not taught this? For me it was beat into me in grade 2 at primary school. Wearing the flag like a cape is disrespectful to the diggers that fought for it. Facepalm. Don't bring the Diggers in to this, with all due respect that truly is a completely irrelevant issue. Your second sentence here, however, is completely valid. |
| #87 10:02pm 26/01/10 |
Aren't the basics that everyone should know:Who really cares? I'm against people being f***tards... don't really care about silly patriot rules. last edited by CHUB at 22:06:25 26/Jan/10 |
| #88 10:06pm 26/01/10 |
yeh I don't really give a s*** what people do to the flag, but if you commit a crime or otherwise act in an antisocial way while wearing the flag, you should get double the penalty |
| #89 10:08pm 26/01/10 |
Who really cares? Evidently my point about lack of respect for the flag was very quick to be backed up. A good read. last edited by Raven at 22:17:33 26/Jan/10 |
| #90 10:17pm 26/01/10 |
Actually, reading that back I'm now wondering if maybe I was actually raised at a pretentious private school. I'm sorry Mrs Jenkins we don't have enough money to teach your daughter maths but hey at least she knows how to fold a flag. I'm sure she'll have no problems getting a job. IMHO the only people that would care about rules as strict as this are people in the military and other places where tradition & ceremony and how you look & dress are rated high and people who are anal retentive a******s who have nothing better to do with their day than ruin other peoples lives by bitching about a flag being flown 1/4 inch too high and your grass being 1mm too f***ing long. last edited by whoop at 22:19:43 26/Jan/10 |
| #91 10:19pm 26/01/10 |
http://img706.imageshack.us/img706/2539/1252503816496.jpg
happy australia day! interesting factoid - i get to experience the love and wellwishing as per above whenever i walk out the front door of my apartment - lucky we have police and laws that crack down when the whities do it, not a peep when the other minorities are racist f***s for the other 364 days of the year. |
| #92 10:22pm 26/01/10 |
IMHO the only people that would care about rules as strict as this are people in the military and other places where tradition & ceremony and how you look & dress are rated high and people who are anal retentive a******s who have nothing better to do with their day than ruin other peoples lives by bitching about a flag being flown 1/4 inch too high and your grass being 1mm too f***ing long. I am none of these things. But yes, I do care how a national emblem such as our flag is seen and used. PS: Don't even get me started on these jackasses who want to integrate the TSI flag into the Australian flag. Coming soon: "What's that? Well, since you asked..." last edited by Raven at 22:25:47 26/Jan/10 |
| #93 10:25pm 26/01/10 |
f*** you cainer
bet you managed to get 8 aussie flags on your ute and probably 4 southern cross tatoos last edited by imitation at 22:27:45 26/Jan/10 |
| #94 10:27pm 26/01/10 |
speaking of flags, google had to remove the aboriginal flag from the today's logo (some kid drew it for a comp) because the copyright owner refused them the use of it on the site.
| #95 10:30pm 26/01/10 |
If my family and I had been shat on by white Australians for hundreds of years I'd be saying the same thing.
It's amazing how people are sympathetic and upset when they see a child being brought up in horrific conditions but then when they see the grown up that is a product of those conditions they turn away in disgust. last edited by reload! at 22:32:23 26/Jan/10 |
| #96 10:32pm 26/01/10 |
MatchFixa
ahey dey brudda gotta dollar dey i can do da didgeridoo de la for a dolla de.
| #97 10:32pm 26/01/10 |
f*** you cainer bet you managed to get 8 aussie flags on your ute and probably 4 southern cross tatoos i drive a mazda 3 and im married to an asian. am i bogan enough stereotypical racist c*** enough for you ? c*** ? |
| #98 10:39pm 26/01/10 |
Wearing the flag like a cape is disrespectful to the diggers that fought for it. Most Australian diggers will have fought under the Union Jack or the Red / Blue Ensign. During a 1921 May Day demonstration in Brisbane the Union flag was burned, and outraged diggers intervened. The Australian Flag was designed and then approved by King George at Federation in 1901. However it was not until 1934 it was gazetted, and later legally defined as the national flag in the Flags Act of 1953. |
| #99 10:40pm 26/01/10 |
Totenkopf
New flag is on the works as we speak.... |
| #100 10:47pm 26/01/10 |
MatchFixa
here's hoping the remake will make it look as close to this as possible
http://www.map-of-iraq.com/iraq-flag.gif last edited by MatchFixa at 22:55:15 26/Jan/10 |
| #101 10:55pm 26/01/10 |
I have to admit, you guys know how to make a more intimidating flag.
| #102 10:56pm 26/01/10 |
I'd prefer, but only because my eyes are hazel and I like the green
http://upload.wikimedia.org/wikipedia/commons/d/dc/Hamas_flag2.png |
| #103 11:00pm 26/01/10 |
MatchFixa
I have to admit, you guys know how to make a more intimidating flag.Red = blood, gushing out of your face White = peace, you better bloody pray for it Black = death, for you and your loved ones Green stars + god is the greatest = victory with god on our side, so don't even bother praying. Damn that is rather intimidating.. last edited by MatchFixa at 23:09:43 26/Jan/10 |
| #104 11:09pm 26/01/10 |
lol at anyone who believes in an omnipotent creator that takes sides i drive a mazda 3 and im married to an asian. Haha, this is great |
| #105 11:12pm 26/01/10 |
New flag is on the works as we speak.... all that needs to be done is remove the union jack and move the 7 pointed star upwards to the middle. or maybe even replace the union jack with the eureka flag. |
| #106 11:14pm 26/01/10 |
i'd take either of those flags, with some 'alterations'
| #107 11:17pm 26/01/10 |
| #108 11:20pm 26/01/10 |
ravn0s - I hope that when they get around to changing the flag we get to vote twice, to indicate if you'd like to leave it, and what your choice is if we must change it.
I'd like to leave it alone (I feel that is an unnecessary expense for the country) but I'd like a say on the f***ing design if its gonna change! I quite like this: http://upload.wikimedia.org/wikipedia/commons/thumb/4/41/Ausflag_2000_a.svg/270px-Ausflag_2000_a.svg.png This flag won the AusFlag 2000 competition. |
| #109 11:23pm 26/01/10 |
Where's the reference that says the flag will change? |
| #110 11:24pm 26/01/10 |
^
There isn't one, because its still just talk. |
| #111 11:25pm 26/01/10 |
konstie
f*** ray martin |
| #112 11:29pm 26/01/10 |
Ray's a bit of a dick :(
| #113 11:29pm 26/01/10 |
whats wrong with a flag actually meaning something.
the current flag, with the bit in the corner means that the country is what it is today because of that influence. if it had the copyright trade marked flag that wasn't allowed to be put on googles front page because they didn't offer to pay that self serving idiot enough, in the corner we'd all be throwing spears and sniffing petrol and blaming everyone else for the s***hole we would be living in. having just a group of stars means that we get to have something on our flag that is common across the southern hemisphere which means absolutely f***all because its not unique. ps. props to the chick across the road who flashed her tits to everyone when the fireworks were going off just then... fantastic. |
| #114 11:34pm 26/01/10 |
having just a group of stars means that we get to have something on our flag that is common across the southern hemisphere which means absolutely f***all because its not unique. I'm not that keen on changing it, but holy s*** the British ensign design is not a unique flag. http://upload.wikimedia.org/wikipedia/en/1/11/Ausflag_identity.gif The Blue ensign isn't even the most exclusive one! British ensigns currently in use can be classified into five categories, in descending order of exclusivity: http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/British_ensign#Modern_usage last edited by Hogfather at 23:46:18 26/Jan/10 |
| #115 11:46pm 26/01/10 |
Theres some interesting aussie flag ideas out there, but enough with the stars already!
| #116 11:49pm 26/01/10 |
i never said having a union jack in the corner was a unique feature.
what is shows is the heritage of this country, much as the self hating crackers of this country don't want to admit it, if it weren't for them, this place would be f***ed. the only european settlements that were any success were those of the british. so yes in its current state, the flag, a land settled and made a success by the UK, that has the southern cross visible from the night skies generally leads one to believe it must be australia or nz and guess what... ? could put another well known flag in the corner, but that just represents nothing except raping 82 year old grandmothers, being welfare leeches, going off on rants about the evil white man at citizenship ceremonies, roaming around in packs and assaulting people because they dont like the colour of their skin etc. edit: and we'd all have to pay a royalty to the person who copyrighted it every time we bought something that contained it. last edited by cainer at 23:57:31 26/Jan/10 |
| #117 11:57pm 26/01/10 |
I just found it kind of amusing that you were ranting about a new flag not being unique when the British Ensign is about as common as it can possibly get..
Not bothering with the rest of your rant; if you bothered to read you'd see I'm against changing the flag. I am also against national or racial guilt about the conquest of Australia. |
| #118 12:02am 27/01/10 |
They are everywhere dude. Hooligans in the UK, rednecks in the States, pickpockets and crims in Paris. It only gets worse as you move into poorer regions of the world, there are cities in China where its entirely common to see someone take a s*** in the gutter. Yeah, I know, but I was in Japan, where everybody is unbelievably friendly and considerate to not only one another, but to the cities they live in. Incredibly polite and happy to help, no litter, no bogans yelling abuse at each other from opposite sides of the street. Hell, there were people growing veges on the bit of grass next to the footpath out the front of their houses, and everyone just left it alone. I went from that, to walking through Fortitude Valley when I went back to work, and it was pretty depressing. Though I realise that's not how the whole world is. |
| #119 12:04am 27/01/10 |
http://www.weirdasianews.com/wp-content/uploads/2009/08/moe.jpg
Every nation's people are f***ed up in their own special way. |
| #120 12:07am 27/01/10 |
konstie
i found people in tokyo to be significantly ruder than in the rest of japan hahaha hogfather have you seen the latest episode of 30rock? fantastic joke made at that |
| #121 12:10am 27/01/10 |
Carson
If we were to get a new flag I am fond of the green and gold kangaroo one boxing. http://emmalmurphy.files.wordpress.com/2009/04/boxing-kangaroo-flag.jpg I've got no probs with the current flag, though. |
| #122 12:20am 27/01/10 |
http://insom.com/image/fic-spau.gif
gets my vote |
| #123 12:23am 27/01/10 |
A kangaroo??? Get f***ed it should be this:
http://www.arts.qld.gov.au/artsupdate/images/2009/december/image--1b.jpg |
| #124 12:25am 27/01/10 |
i have to say if you want to show off the flag put the f***in thing on a stick and carry it up high.. dont be a tard and wear it..
Australian Flag - its not a toga |
| #125 12:45am 27/01/10 |
for cainer
| #126 01:06am 27/01/10 |
Crusty old man
When I was a kid, racism was non-existent in this country as far as I could tell.I was the f*** living in suburban Sydney near Lakemba. This was in the 70s - 80s We'd walk around the school nodding at each other saying "Sup skip" "yo wog".Well, I didn't know every person in the school, or in the general neighborhood for that matter, and they all didn't know me. Now that I think about it, it started getting nasty in the late 80s, early 90s. I was out of school and out of the area by then, but my brother tells me that things started getting out of hand. |
| #127 02:17pm 27/01/10 |
Hah, I saw one of those pillows pop up in 30 rock season 4, had to google it, couldn't stop laughing. There's some really lonely people in the world it seems. |
| #128 02:29pm 27/01/10 |
My immediate thought was of 30 Rock too.
| #129 05:16pm 27/01/10 |
james franco was a good sport
| #130 07:43pm 27/01/10 |
thug
I agree with u guys totally, although I Love our flag and the Southern Cross, It shouldn't be draped around bogan's acting like wankers. Enjoy the Day, Plenty of good s*** to do around our great land.
| #131 08:00pm 27/01/10 |
I didn't see anyone doing s*** out in that sun yesterday, drove past heaps of bbq areas and parks on the way to maccas (deliberatly chose a further away maccas so I could see what was going on in the world)
| #132 08:06pm 27/01/10 |
Infidel
=saw probably 3-4 people in the pub last night wearing the flag ...
| #133 08:10pm 27/01/10 |
| #133 |