Topic: Motorcycle helmets
JohnnieD
Those of you who ride could help me out a bit with regards to buying motorbike helmets. I know in recent years tech has improved and you can pick up some helmets for around the 2-3 hundred dollar mark. But I've been looking at a shoei XR-1100 and figure the extra gets me a bit more peace of mind/quality as well as some nice extras. I'm after a solid colour, matte black would be cool but I think white is a way safer option. Most places have all accessories 20% off for January so it goes down to $600. The American equivalent is an RF-1100 and is available in this bright orange but the only way I can get that is off ebay. The sellers have good profiles and it works out cheaper even with postage but is this a schmuck move? I know US safety certifications are stricter than ours but that doesn't make them legal here.

Opinions?
Ideas on where the best place is? So far I've been to everyone on Moss St Springwood
just get the cheapest one you can, if you need a helmet and you are on a motorbike, it wont help you any

My student died in motorbike accident in Germany, 24yo. One of my best students, if not THE best.

Riding along, hit gravel, lost control, hit fence, flung into field landed awkwardly on his head and broke neck.

Absolutely sensible guy, wasn't speeding, had mates following him in a car who said it was just a freak accident.
JohnnieD
This is amazing stuff
i got my racing helmet here: http://www.bikebiz.com.au/

they were the cheapest i could find even considering shipping.
just get the cheapest one you can, if you need a helmet and you are on a motorbike, it wont help you any

This is really really stupid advice, even from Spook.
obviously if you cared about personal safety, you woudlnt be riding a motorbike
Or Driving a car, or having a shower, or swimming at the beach...

Just because you're doing something that's potentially dangerous doesn't mean you shouldn't do your best to mitigate those risks.
JohnnieD
Thanks orbitor, a mate linked me to their site as well. Its great in that it shows everything that is available etc so I've been using it to check out gear but everything seems to be rrp.
JohnnieD
yeah fair point spook. I don't want this to be a * is safer than motorcycles debate so anyone who actually _has_ recently purchased a stack hat please chime in
JaBBa
Get the helmet that best fits your head.... and a $10 helmet for a $10 head

Forgot to mention, use this site for safety ratings on helmets:

Sharp Helmet Ratings

last edited by JaBBa at 22:03:19 15/Jan/10
Red
I bought my helmet from that motorbike shop on lutwyche rd near the rail overpass. cost ~$190?... from what I could tell as long as they comply to australian standards anything after that is just extra cooling vents?
I hope you are down as a Donor.
nah red makes big difference for meat missiles as opposed to in car racing.

the uber expensive ones are way way lighter, keep your head cooler, wick sweat away better, impede your hearing less, etc. Not to mention are tested to higher impact levels.

Anyway go at least for something with SNELL certification, just Australian Standards compliance is pretty weak.
A good helmet is worth the cash as orbs said. So much more comfortable.
JohnnieD
yeah the US version RF-1100 has 2010 snell cert which not many have. I used to be down as an organ donor but no longer, I signed my body away when I die to UQ for med students and the like to fondle
spend a minimum of $600 on a helmet.

i know a guy who spends $1200 on a helmet every 2-3 years.
the day he needed the helmet to do its job, was the day he survived.

mine cost $800
How about one of these ?
http://www.dailymail.co.uk/sciencetech/article-1242886/Brain-cooling-motorcycle-helmet-save-thousands-lives.html
I got a top of the line Shoei almost 2 years ago, it was a XR-1000 or something I think, was almost $1000.

The reason I got it was because yes it had an excellent saftey rating at the time but also because it was QUIET!

So many s***ty cheap helmets let sooo much wind noise off and make you end up wearing ear plugs on long rides.
Oh and it had decent air vents to keep your head reasonable cool
Do you get ones with built in speakers for radio?
Isnt that what earbuds are for?

You can get them, you can get them with radios (comms) or to listen to the radio or bluetooth to talk on the phone.

If I want music on longer rides Ill just use 1 earbud and have it so I can hear it and the traffic.
Gesthemene
I tried an AGV lid first, then switched to a Shoei. The AGV lid wasn't bad, but it wasn't a patch on the Shoei. The Shoei was quieter, more comfortable, lighter, better ventilated and fitted my head better.

I honestly couldn't imagine using anything other than a Shoei when I start riding again. If you're looking for a lid, Eds currently has mine packed in a box somewhere. I don't have a bike at the moment, so I'd be happy to sell it to you for $400 if you want it (bought it for $850, discounted down from $1100). Wore it for about 2 months before my brother trashed my bike (his helmet and gear).

Important points to remember when buying a lid:

1. They're designed to protect you from ONE crash/impact only. DON'T reuse it after you've been in a crash with it. That's just f***ing stupid.

2. If you drop it off a table etc (basically, anything higher than about 1m), swear loudly and put it in the bin. You've f***ed the crash impact foam inside it, just as if it had been in a crash.

3. Get a lid that's comfortable for you. Don't skimp on cost. Having been in a crash (in the AVG lid), I can speak from experience that having a lid you trust is unbelievably important.

4. Whatever you do, get a full-faced helmet. It doesn't matter whether your skull is intact if your face is smeared along 50m of gravel and bitumen.

As for Spook's comment, yes, motorcycling can be dangerous. This is why you take appropriate protection to minimise the risks. Not bothering with precautions because what you're doing is dangerous is the most f***ing retarded thing I've heard in a long time. Working off this premise, pathologists in Level 3 and 4 Biohazard labs shouldn't bother with HAZMAT suits, Skydivers shouldn't bother with parachutes and car drivers shouldn't bother with headlights at night.
johnnied remember if you buy a helmet from the states it won't have the australian saftey standard sticker. not a big deal as no one will ever check but something to remember.

i always buy agv helmets these days. i've owned 3 shoei, 2 arai, 1 bell, 1 lazer & 5 agv helmets :D the agv seem like the best value for money to me. i look around the $400 mark. agv helmets are a bit crap for wind noise but i always wear earplugs anyway.

i totally agree with gesthemene that you should definitely get a full-faced helmet. nearly every road or racetrack crash i've had put massive gouges in the chin piece of my helmet. if they had been open-faced helmets that woulda been my face :P

other tips :- get a helmet that feels too tight at first... the padding will compress a bit over time.
check to see if the helmet has removable linings... my latest agv has clip-in linings & it's pretty awesome to be able to wash the sweat out of them after a hot day of sweating in it!
as long as the helmet has the relevant snell / dot safety rating get the lightest helmet you like... helmets only protect you through a certain band of impacts. modern light helmets made from modern materials have very high impact resistance so the danger then becomes breaking your neck so the lighter the better.

last edited by demon at 13:46:24 16/Jan/10
JohnnieD
Cheers guys for the helpful info!

Gesthemene - I will pm you shortly, I've just got back from work and I'm headed out to check out a place.

Any other random info you would never think about RE: gloves or boots? Like just get boots that fit or leave a bit of room etc to tuck in trousers?

I'm looking at some sidi boots, alpinestars gloves and alpine.s/triumph jacket. Definitely getting leather jacket and considering some of those kevlar jeans.
Gesthemene
Hey mate, boots, gloves and jacket are a little less critical than a decent lid (still important though).

Personally, I'd suggest a DriRider or similar jacket. If you're riding around Brisbane in a leather jacket in summer, you're going to cook yourself. Just make sure you get decent spine protection and a good fit.

For boots, make sure that you've got a decent fit through the foot and ankle, with enough room to tuck your Draggins etc into the top.

Gloves, whatever feels comfortable. I personally went for a longer glove that sits over the cuff of my jacket, with carbon fibre/kevlar knuckle guards and ventilation groves (as with the jacket, you'll get f***ing hot without adequate ventilation.
There once was a guy who rode a motorcycle,
He died! He died!
JohnnieD
There was once six people in a falcon,
five died! one survived!

There was also once a dude who played golf and had to learn how to wipe his bum with his unfavoured hand
10 dollar helmet for a 10 dollar head..

mine cost between 900-1300 and i replaced it every few years

arai quantum i usually get cause it fits best - nice helmet, not much noise and good ventilation

Personally, I'd suggest a DriRider or similar jacket. If you're riding around Brisbane in a leather jacket in summer, you're going to cook yourself. Just make sure you get decent spine protection and a good fit.

I have both a DriRider (slightly too big) and a leather jacket and find the leather jacket to be slightly cooler. I dunno maybe I just ride fast?
Do you ride in leather in the traffic? Currently I commute from North Lakes to the city everyday in a Teknic leather jacket and I f***ing die when I get off the gateway some days.

I am going to sell it and get a something with mesh :)

They are great for the weekends but on the weekday commute I find mine very hot.
I thought leathers were meant to be rather cool with all the airflow & stuff? You're obviously riding too slowly eds :p

http://www.hayabusa.org/forum/attachments/classifieds-section/148329d1246809887-icon-jacket-teknic-jacket-102_3099.jpg

Thats what I wear currently, I have a feeling its more of a winter jacket but its f***ing hot. On the way in I average around 90km/h in traffic, however when you get stuck and can't move (kingsford smith dr is a bitch if you miss the lights to split)

TOM
eds, must be a bit tight on you?

edit: is a lid another name for helmet?

last edited by TOM at 21:00:07 23/Feb/10
JohnnieD
Tight is good if you come off and a lid is a helmet
Its snug (its a US 50 because im a fat prick) but then it is supposed to be. Im about to go drop a grand on a new jacket, some over pants and some ankle hight boots for riding to work. I'm a little crazy right now because im riding in business pants and I know what happens when you come off in those, s*** melts to your skin.
i skydive to work daily... ur more likely gonna die on a bike or in a car anyway

See how ridiculous this is?

Paging chub
I don't follow. Your saying that spending money on trying to reduce the risk of dying is a waste?
i've got an old hutchinsons leather jacket with flano lining & it's pretty hot in the summer... awesome in winter. it's brando so you can open the front a fair bit at the top... still gets hot tho. i recently bought an alpinestar mesh jacket with memory foam armour & it's heaps cooler! still gets hot when you are stopped in midday traffic but as soon as ya get moving the breeze goes str8 through the mesh.

I see what you mean eds, I guess sitting around in traffic would get hot.

I usually slip down the site lane or through traffic where my bike fits...

http://www.imgnow.com/uploads/1804811824-1100.jpg
Shade doesn't give the chrome any justice, dint from previous owner :(
Slow, heavy, can't turn, cant brake, not even economical.
They are like the city 4WD. oversized and totally not practical.

For me, the most practical motorcycle for suburbia is the Supermoto.

Nah, small sports tourer :D

Thats a really nice cruiser, it looks like a harley sporters custom but I dont know, what is it? :P

I bought one of these recently because I couldnt get the front of my Z750 to hold stable on the gateway.

http://3.bp.blogspot.com/_PrkaOj_v_vY/SGm8hp0lk7I/AAAAAAAAAbA/U6RPEWmDD1A/s400/GSX650FK8_SUZUKI.jpg

Because I commute most the time it suits me well, rocks on the weekends too
those sport tourers are cool if you got lots of freeway to commute on, look sorta sport bikish but without the terrible low clip on that sport bikes have.
Man, sport bikes look awesome, but f*** that riding position.
re so
I bought a new bike a few weeks ago. Still has the reflectors even.

http://nextexit.org/images/z750/Z750-001.jpg
JohnnieD
Supermoto for the win. DRZ400SM or WR250X. Each to their own though. OR better yet have one each of what you like.
i'm currently building a DRZ400 Supermoto, all black, with smoke lens tail light and smoke lens LED blinkers.
Its gonna look hot.
4 piston front caliper and 320MM disc too. One finger stoppies ftw.
BOHEMION
Nice Vash! am looking for a decent SM project atm but I have a need for a mountain eating cafe racer style bike.

Z750's are great I have a 2004 model atm, Track days, touring all day and night on it, commute every day... brilliant bike

last edited by BOHEMION at 23:44:22 23/Feb/10
re so
absolutely loving it, especially when comparing it to my 91 250cc bandit :D

fuel injection is great for early morning cold starting, no more holding the choke open for a few minutes annoying all my neighbours.
Trauma

obviously if you cared about personal safety, you woudlnt be riding a motorbike

f***ing pussy. I raced motocross for 6 years, broke 1 bone in my whole life. Oh noes a broken colarbone!

That said the reason racing is pretty safe is the gear, don't cheap out on the helmet for any type of riding, $300 min. Shoei, Arai, AVG, Bell are some of the better brands, start there.

Been riding for 6 years now, and riding to work every day,
Once a year i do 4 week long road / offroad trips,
Now venturing overseas, plan to do Alaska to Argentina and
UK to SE Asia. Just saving up the dosh!

Plenty of crashes, none involving other vehicles. One broken wrist. Thats it.
The riding experience is simply worth any death risk. Life would be pretty bland without it now that its a part of me.
$ack's Bike

Did you cut the ends off the stocko pipes for more noise? LOL.

I wish i understood cruisers.
Slow, heavy, can't turn, cant brake, not even economical.

For me, the most practical motorcycle for suburbia is the Supermoto.

If you want practical, buy a scooter. Why do people buy whatever sort of car they do? You might think supermoto is the dogs bollocks and someone into cruisers might say exactly the same thing you're saying now. It's all about what you're comfy on. I've sat on bikes that would make your a****** bleed having to ride it for too long, no idea how anyone could but obviously the owners love it. Then I've also sat on some that I'd never ever want to get off of because they're so damn comfy.

last edited by whoop at 00:34:29 24/Feb/10

$ack's Bike Did you cut the ends off the stocko pipes for more noise? LOL.

Not at all. The stock pipes hung out past the rear wheel another 30 odd centimeters, looked quite retarded.

Noise didn't change much to my relief, does have a slightly meatier note tho.

If I wanted more noise I'd slide the baffles out :P
Trust me, don't. It'll sound like a milo tin :)

I rode it around with the exhaust off from where it tapers down, that was LOUD haha.

But I like being about to start the bike up late at night with out disturbing the whole neighborhood.
I've got a Shift leather jacket that I wear in traffic and seriously it's not that hot, I was far hotter in those s***ty mesh things and the shift jacket even has solid armor in it.

Although if I end up buying a certain ex superstock R6 I'll be buying on those alpinestars motogp suits.

Whats everyone wearing for boots? I just bought some sidi votice boots, was thinking of getting the alpinestars but they just seemed so shoddy compared to the sidis plus you can replace everything on the sidis.

Thats a really nice cruiser, it looks like a harley sporters custom but I dont know, what is it? :P

nah, just an XVS1100 Custom, shaft driven :D

I wish i understood cruisers.
Slow, heavy, can't turn, cant brake, not even economical..

Definitely not slow :P, bike was low as a bastard when I got it, couldn't turn at all, jacked her up with a bigger spring and well she doesnt look as phat but she turns very well for a cruiser :)

I also have a 250 which I frap around occasionally.

Depends where you ride I guess, I go on long coast trips, very comfy ride, the sports bikes wreck my back on long rides.
Trauma

When your a pussy who is scared to ride cuz of potential injury you miss out on coolness like this...

^^ I'd whack on a parachute, buy some $300 dunga, kain the tits off it right off the edge & sail down the mountain.
Geyejoe
spend as much as you can afford on a helmet, shoei and agv are good but each make tends to suit different shape heads so find what best suits you. best advise i had was to put one on in the shop and leave it on for about 20-30mins, if its still comfortable after that then no dramas. i had a bad stack a while ago and had a good helmet $1100 car pulled out onfront of me and my head took all the impact on a car bonnet. if i had a cheap helmet i properly would not be typing this.
Trauma

^^ I'd whack on a parachute, buy some $300 dunga, kain the tits off it right off the edge & sail down the mountain.

Term

ohh I'll have to take a photo of my helmat after I face scraped the road!
Still got mine, been tryin to sell, but always have second thoughts...
Term

Mines gawn! I'm waiting for a 690 adv now - read a bit of your trip, looked like fun dude :)
Wise man. Not sure if a 690 ADV is coming though.

Im kitting out a DRZ400,

RM250 front end, Ohlins rear shock, supermoto wheels, among many others.
I think the strong aussie dollar is to blame for this, the amount of mods i have purchased in the past 3 months is astounding.
I had about 10 boxes of mods from the states waiting for me when i got back from Vietnam.
fukles

Nice bikes guys, especially Eds and Reso, soz Sack just not my style :)
Cruisers are great for people who want care free riding. if you want excitement or fun get something else :)

Omg I'm a little crazy right now because im riding in business pants and I know what happens when you come off in those, s*** melts to your skin.
Five years ago I came off in my Harvey Norman sales gear(business pants, shoes and a leather jacket with fluffy sheep skin inner), slid down the road like I was doing luge feet first without a luge, I must've been lucky tho coz no damage to the pants whatsoever really, it was going over the island that hurt a little.
Riding home with no front brakes and oil pissing out the broken clutch side casing all over my shoe was weird tho. This was on Fizzers old FZR250 that my gf bought off him. It lives still :)
Term

vic in our office just come off his bike last week, smashed 3-4 ribs punctured lung and broke clavicel so hes out for a whiel, tehy reckon they are gunna fix his bike though (690 sm)

he slapped on the front brake and hisided into a speed post doh
Mass
I commute from Forest Lake to Bulimba everyday. Hours I travel at make for a pretty easy ride without too much stopping required. I bought an IXON all weather jacket, its really comfortable. Zip out waterproof and winter liner, good mesh for summer. Was tossing up between it and a dririder but the ixon had a better quality waterproof liner and better zippers. There is a jacket place at Salisbury that I keep meaning to check out but haven't had a chance yet..... www.stormleathers.com

I have to agree that cheaper helmets do make a lot more noise. I bought a KBC on sale ($280) for my last helmet and its comfortable enough but its pretty noisy at speed. I'll prolly go back Shoei when I change it over in a year.