Offset
Hello, I’m looking for a good Ute forum to join. I have recently taken on a new 1984 Mazda b2200 project and I need some other enthusiast advice. So I’m looking to join a good Ute forum so I can ask questions and learn. I don’t have any interest in the aussie muster Ute style. Im more into JDM lowered Ute style. So does anyone know of any good sites? |
| #0 01:48pm 24/02/10 |
TOM
lowered utes r sic bru
| #1 08:33pm 05/01/10 |
Ask Max or Cerb, they're the QGL bogans
| #2 08:34pm 05/01/10 |
Boostcruisin?
| #3 08:40pm 05/01/10 |
Your only allowed those utes if your 17
| #4 08:56pm 05/01/10 |
Mantorok
I hear there's one near a place that serves a full English breakfast.
| #5 08:57pm 05/01/10 |
Your only allowed those utes if your 17 And only if you can contract "you are" to "you're" correctly. |
| #6 08:58pm 05/01/10 |
toymods/ae86dc et al?
theyre all into slamming old s*** to the deck on 14" ssr wheels n that |
| #7 09:03pm 05/01/10 |
Offset
Im not building a mini truck or a low lux. Im to old and not into that style.
This build will be more JDM/vip. any one? |
| #8 09:04pm 05/01/10 |
JDM/VIP Utes? lulwut.
| #9 09:21pm 05/01/10 |
I used to read 'street utes' or something like that when I had this;
http://unix.org.au/~brett/images/driftobogun I think back then it was street-utes.net, but that doesn't seem to exist http://www.aussiebrutes.com.au/ http://www.proutes.com/ http://www.beaututes.com/ there are heaps, I think you'll be better off on www.nissansilvia.com if you're going to do something like a JDM style ute the problem you will encounter is excessive rear camber and whatever, basically what the pshht pssht kids come across last edited by tequila at 21:23:25 05/Jan/10 |
| #10 09:23pm 05/01/10 |
Offset
Thanks Tequila.
I will give those a shot. The only photo i have of my ute. Its old school and it looks to be quite rare. I cant find any info on a 1984 b2200 anywhere. Lowering blocks have arrived so the build starts tomorrow. http://members.optusnet.com.au/glen180/painted/my cars.jpg |
| #11 09:36pm 05/01/10 |
Im more into JDM lowered Ute style. Im not building a mini truck or a low lux. Im to old and not into that style.So you're into lowered utes but too old to be into lowered utes so you're not into lowered utes? What? if you're going to do something like a JDM style ute I laugh my ass off at bogans in commodores with almost 45 degree rear tyres. If you lower your car at least adjust that s*** but noooooo mr bogan is to povo after paying the fine from beating his wife & buying winnie blues all he can afford is to cut the springs in half. That wasn't directed at you teq btw last edited by whoop at 21:50:16 05/Jan/10 |
| #12 09:50pm 05/01/10 |
Offset
I'm not into lowriders. The brightly coloured slammed on its rails with huge chromies style.
I guess i will post pics of my progress so you can see the style I'm going for. |
| #13 09:51pm 05/01/10 |
ah I see, not even IRS
can you weld? cause I think now would be a pretty good time to start learning hey I was looking at that motor trying to figure out if its a black top sr20, then I saw your 180 is the black top going in the mazda? if so you're completely crazy, and I like your thinking you're obviously going to bag it, yeah? I'm using a boss px07 in my ute, it's awesome and I'd highly recommend it for any vehicle related air needs my ute is the exact opposite of what you're doing, but the compressor is designed for airbags I also had a black top 180sx, obligatory photo; http://unix.org.au/~brett/type-x/trackday/track02.jpg |
| #14 09:54pm 05/01/10 |
Offset
I laugh my ass off at bogans in commodores with almost 45 degree rear tyres. If you lower your car at least adjust that s*** but noooooo mr bogan is to povo after paying the fine from beating his wife & buying winnie blues all he can afford is to cut the springs in half. I Think you see that in commodores because its the only way to fit the tyre under the guard. -camber is awesome. http://media.photobucket.com/image/crazy camber jap vans/lunarlounge/Volkswagen/daihatsu-move-negative-camber.jpg |
| #15 09:56pm 05/01/10 |
it's also because when the bogans cut their springs, they don't do anything to address the camber issue caused by the increased control arm angles
I have the exact opposite problem at the moment, I've gone so high I'm running a tiny little bit of positive camber and there's not really much I can do about it until someone comes up with a safe solution (ie - machined and after market bolt on) cause I wouldn't trust my s***ty welds on anything suspension related ;) are you thinking something like these; http://image.automotive.com/f/features/mazda/9376558 pheader/0512mt_02_z 1987_mazda_b2200 rear_drivers_side_view.jpg http://www.festivals-and-shows.com/images/1991-mazda-b2200-8000-ardmore-oklahoma-21101193.jpg |
| #16 10:02pm 05/01/10 |
Offset
Teq your type x was awesome. I think i remember seeing a pic of it on the back of a toe truck on qgl.
Yep it has leaf springs in the rear. I can tig mig and stick :D The Sr was a black top. It was pulled out because i melted a piston. Its been rebuilt i just need to fix a clutch problem before i can drop it back in the 180. I have a 1J planed for the ute. |
| #17 10:06pm 05/01/10 |
Offset
^ no nothing like those Teq. not at all. more like this
http://members.optusnet.com.au/glen180/painted/side_eddie.jpg |
| #18 10:11pm 05/01/10 |
put the 1j in the 180 and drop the sr in your ute, as a rebuild
your 180 will handle the power a lot better, 1j would probably be overkill? oh I see, yep I was parked next to one just like that at pineapple street one night old school mazda wagon, looked like bare metal respray, 13bt, I think it was a dark purple color but it was hard to tell at night looked f***ing pimp. it also didn't sound half bad either last edited by tequila at 22:16:28 05/Jan/10 |
| #19 10:16pm 05/01/10 |
JDM? VIP? That's more pig style than anything looking at that, and it's not a ute either.
| #20 10:22pm 05/01/10 |
I laugh my ass off at bogans in commodores with almost 45 degree rear tyres. it looks like the v8 super cars bru~! but yes they do look hilarious running more rear than front camber |
| #21 10:29pm 05/01/10 |
hardware
The reason why you see boganmobiles with massive rear negative camber is the mediocre IRS setup the VT/VX commodores had. Leaving it stock or lowering it will result in scrubbing out your rears in only 15k kms. This is a joke, and you need some type of castor camber kit or something to correct it.
And OP, JDM style is very cool, albeit highly impractical. That 808 wagon is not VIP at all, you have to start at at least crown if not celsior/century level before you're in the VIP range. You can't VIP a ute, but you most certainly can JDM it. However, be warned that mirrors on the fenders (the most JDM thing ever) simply makes your mirrors worse, you can see less. And oversize deep dish wheels with rubber that can barely cover them is just gutter rash waiting to happen. But yes it looks cool. last edited by hardware at 10:58:18 06/Jan/10 |
| #22 10:58am 06/01/10 |
Offset
You are on the money Hardware!
I guess I was wrong it’s not vip at all. Just JDM. I did some work on the car today and took some pics. i have dropped the back 3' and moved the mirrors. i just have to work out how to lower the front. http://members.optusnet.com.au/glen180/my ute/ute2.jpg http://members.optusnet.com.au/glen180/my ute/ute4.jpg |
| #23 07:18pm 06/01/10 |
hardware
That's a good start mate. Front will be coil springs and a strut most probably, so you'll need to buy shorter springs and a spring compressor if you're gonna do it yourself.
Think very seriously about colour. I'm gonna suggest the early/mid-nineties 929 Cream if you want to stick with a cream, otherwise Black or White (or black and white!) is about as JDM as you get. I love the JDM look, my grandparents had a Crown from new, and I loved it, it was just so unlike everyone else's commodore or falcon, and in a good way. I seriously considered 4AGE-ing my old RWD corolla and do a full JDM go of it, but i never did. |
| #24 07:42pm 06/01/10 |
hardware giving tips on pig style cars
heh |
| #25 07:47pm 06/01/10 |
hardware
pig? no, JDM.
like this Cressida: http://www.jdmorigins.com/wp-content/gallery/jccs-2009/cressida-1.jpg |
| #26 08:06pm 06/01/10 |
I'm gonna JDM my HZ one tonner, that'll show you all
| #27 08:24pm 06/01/10 |
There's nothing JDM about a ute. Nuff said.
| #28 08:35pm 06/01/10 |
Offset
There's nothing JDM about a ute. Nuff said. Niave! |
| #29 09:36pm 06/01/10 |
hardware
That's not quite true protius, but he is starting out on the back foot, yes.
| #30 10:27pm 06/01/10 |
Offset
| #31 10:33pm 06/01/10 |
we get it
stop talking about it |
| #32 11:00pm 06/01/10 |
hardware
no u
| #33 11:51pm 06/01/10 |
There's nothing JDM about a ute. Nuff said.JDM as zzz |
| #34 01:58am 07/01/10 |
lewd
oh yay another car to laugh at when im waiting at the lights in the making !!!!
| #35 07:04am 07/01/10 |
I don't understand why people buy utes then lower them. Doesn't that sort of limit what you can put in the back of it, effectively wasting half your car?
What happens when you want to move your stuff and need to go over a speed bump? |
| #36 07:58am 07/01/10 |
I don't think they want the ute for carrying a lot of s*** dude, they want it for it's shape and the way it looks when it's lowered
| #37 10:01am 07/01/10 |
i can't tell if toll is trying to troll or what
| #38 10:11am 07/01/10 |
What happens when you want to move your stuff and need to go over a speed bump? you call in the teqsperts with their actual utes that can move s*** |
| #39 10:45am 07/01/10 |
Syn
I own a 88 F150 XLT which is hopefully to be re-powered later this year with a 460 big block that i have sitting at work. |
| #40 12:30pm 09/01/10 |
lewd
you could look at your aust ute forum with one of these :
http://mongie.com/ulimages/bwy1263005263q.jpg last edited by lewd at 13:48:10 09/Jan/10 |
| #41 01:48pm 09/01/10 |
| #41 |