Topic: QLD - Endurance Lan
DarkAvernus

With the lack of major gaming events in Queensland it is my pleasure to announce the launch of EnduranceLan, the next major gaming event for Queensland's calendar. EnduranceLan will be a two day event held on Friday the 8th of January 2010 and will provide 200 spaces for Queensland's gaming community compared to last year's 75 player sell-out.

For more information please visit us as http://lan.cabtechsolutions.biz

Start: Friday, 08. January 2010 15:00
End: Saturday, 09. January 2010 21:00
Information: 3PM on the Friday Though to 9PM on the Saturday.

Bring:
PC (please refrain from dual monitors if you can or we may charge extra for the space you take up. If you are bringing dual monitors Please advise staff prior to the event)
Xbox 360
PS3
Chair (we only have hard plastic chairs so feel free to bring your own office chair)
Deodorant - for those gamers hygienically challenged

House Keeping:

NO Alcohol
NO Drugs
NO Speakers - the venue is in a residential area so headsets only.
NO Smoking indoors

Street name: 165 King Street Caboolture 4510
Parking Space: 50 Onsite Marked\ 100 Unmarked
Price (advance sale): 40.00 Price (direct sale): 45.00
Payment instructions: Pay on the day or via direct debit
Number of Participants: 200
Minimum Age: 16 Years

Multi Inter-Building gigabit backbones.
Internet connection: ADSL2+ Internet Connection 50mb per user.
Contact IRC: #endurancelan on irc.gamesurge.net
Contact Email: darkavernus@optusnet.com.au or 007@007corner.com

Major Competitions:
Halo 3 4v4 - TBA
COD4 PC - TBA
Counterstrike Source 5v5 - TBA
UT04 - TBA
ET 6v6 - TBA

At this stage we are looking at running the competitions above however they are subject to change based on popularity.

More information can be found at http://lan.cabtechsolutions.biz

'sanctioned by trog'
I heartily endorse this product and or thread
I won't be going but its good to see none the less, keeping the kids off the street and all that jazz

pop quiz qglians, how many did we used to squeeze into anz? (I forget)
bout 200-300 wasn't it?
ANZ had the space for 500 I think. I remember one of the finals it was absolutely packed, so packed that existence complained to one of the admins that we took the seats he reserved even though you couldn't reserve seats lol. Probs woulda been like 2000/2001 I reckon
Resonate
Goodluck with the Lan mate.

Was the 2001 Finals the one where some guy was caught masturbating to porn on his comp?
With the advent of cheap(ish) broadband it's made gaming from home easier but I do miss the atmosphere of a good private lan between a dozen or so mates.

Reason: Inappropriate
Click Here to See the Profile for Martz Edit This Post Click Here to send Martz an email Users HomePage Message User
how come they can do that but there is no qgl?

Click Here to See the Profile for tequila Edit This Post Click Here to send tequila an email Users HomePage Message User

how come they can do that but there is no qgl?

It used to be because of rubbish, child porn, and insurance. Now I would say it is cbf'd + ausgamers has moved beyond hosting lans.

last edited by Jim at 01:54:01 28/Nov/09
oops wrong post edit
Now I would say it is cbf'd + ausgamers has moved beyond hosting lans.
It's because you all got old.

Click Here to See the Profile for Martz Edit This Post Click Here to send Martz an email Users HomePage Message User

Good to see someone stil running lans :D

Whats up with the nuking?
I think someone is being a bit of a dick with the nuking, nothing wrong with martz posts..
i dunno, martz is a bit of a tard.

im sure we're all better off for more of his posts nuked
ANZ had the space for 500 I think. I remember one of the finals it was absolutely packed, so packed that existence complained to one of the admins that we took the seats he reserved even though you couldn't reserve seats lol. Probs woulda been like 2000/2001 I reckon

ur clearly a retard, you definitely could reserve seats
nope fag got.
I think someone is being a bit of a dick with the nuking, nothing wrong with martz posts..

one would think, but would you believe that I also got banned for it lol.

Also lol spook, I have my moments but I don't come here to impress anyone, just saying it how it is :)

edit: what's up with my post count? I could swear I had at least over 1000.

last edited by Martz at 12:09:54 30/Nov/09
CSIRAC
trog spotted:

http://photos-e.ak.fbcdn.net/hphotos-ak-snc3/hs011.snc3/11837_205656813981_670093981_3961377_7315011_n.jpg

haha that photo is ancient
Mass
haha look you can still see Dethon's neck

and that doesn't look anything like trog.....no bandana and trophy girls hanging around

last edited by Mass at 14:59:49 01/Dec/09
all those crt's make me cringe.. also notice how all the towers and monitors are all off white gay colour lol.. man the times!
Corrupt
Trog looks very feminine in that photo.
DA never even came back to help promote his event.

Lack of dedication that I'll say NO to. Also where's all the dota comps? Or quake 3 rocket arena?
heh. dethon sure has lost a lot of weight since that photo :P whereas warh looks exactly the same as he does now :P i can see the infamous mental patient in that pic!@# teehee.
DarkAvernus

DA never even came back to help promote his event.

Lack of dedication that I'll say NO to. Also where's all the dota comps? Or quake 3 rocket arena?

lol im back :) my apologies i was struck by a family emergency and i have been off the grid for the last couple of days.
Anyway i have been checking in on the forums recently however no massive issues seem to have been raised here which is a nice thing :).
So far though we have got a fairly positive response across the board and we will be setting up the servers this weekend in preparation of the event so stay tuned for more details.

Also I would like to formally thank Thermaltake for getting on board with the event no doubt their support will help things go much smoother on the day.

If there are any issues you may have though please feel free to contact me at
darkavernus@optusnet.com.au
Cheers :)

PS- the event is also on facebook
http://www.facebook.com/event.php?eid=188365165979&index=1
so feel free to invite people to the event as it is open :)
Still waiting for comps that aren't fps :P
heh. dethon sure has lost a lot of weight since that photo :P whereas warh looks exactly the same as he does now :P i can see the infamous mental patient in that pic!@# teehee.
Circle him immediately!
DarkAvernus

Just bumping the topic seeing as the fresh one got removed for some strange reason even tho its been sanctioned by trog. anyway its closing in on a week to go on the lan so i thought id give an update on the event with the main thing being under 16 year old players are able to attend now after negotiations with the insurance company. however they will have to have adult supervision during the event. Also prizes will be released in the next few days by my head admin 007. Keep in mind this event is for charity :)
nothing can top QGL lans, chilling up in the stands, fear of my life at bung-eyes crazy driving, drinking XXXX which tasted like horse piss, funnily enough still does.. drink a real drink u bogan bastards.. all dis at like s*** when was it? 2001? so like ... 14 :D
Murderer
f*** attending a lan that doesnt have any quake as a major event.

When it's all said and done, quake is where it begun!

Still though, leeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeech.
f***ing trying to plan a lan for self important wankers who think that their opinion/favorite game is the be all and end all
Murderer
Let me guess, you sucked at quake?
never even played it other than the odd game of rocket arena
my post wasn't directed at you, but this generation in general
DarkAvernus

id be more tempted to think of the people the proceeds of the event go to :P

will somebody please think of the children!!!
Murderer
I like all games etc, but I am amazed how all of a sudden there was CPL/WCG with q3 then nothing.

The first CPL was nuts with lob, scoob and pyth in dallas etc, half of #ausgamers (Which was 300 ppl) would all be in there on QTV or whatever podcasts etc etc.

Don't see any sort of enthusiasm anymore.

I use to play CS a bit, entered WCG in a team, they are entirely different games.

But up until a couple of years ago there was stil 50+ strong playing QW in aus alone. and ive been playing it myself pretty much from the start and the skill level in immense. you can't just go join and start killing people.

Dunno about now though

But anyway, have fun lanning :)
you're part of that generation you twiddle dick.
no I'm not, I'm a sensible parent

YOU BIG DUMB DUMB
drinking XXXX which tasted like horse piss, funnily enough still does.. drink a real drink u bogan bastards..

Let me guess ... a lemon stolli ?
i was thinking more along the lines of little creatures - bright ale / pale.. james squire - amber / golden... that or a scotch like Chivas / Glenfiddich... or just a reg corona with lemon
Spirits or nothing. whiskey, scotch, vodka, ON ICE BITCH.

f*** attending a lan that doesnt have any quake as a major event.

When it's all said and done, quake is where it begun!

It also began with only one man and one woman on the whole of the earth so that means there was a whole lot of incest in the beginning of time, would you suggest we continue this trend?
Murderer

... oh wait I suppose you would. Never mind.
or just a reg corona with lemon

more like a dong with big hairy balls, amirite?!
sure are spookus

no one needs fruit in their beer!! this includes those s***ty cartlon fusions, my mate bought them and I tasted one, spat it out and refused to drink the f***ing s***.

What is the world coming to when you need to put fruit into beer!
carlton fusion sucks, can drink coronas by themselves still taste good lemon just makes it better, XXXX and vb must have smashed you old bastards taste buds
i was thinking more along the lines of little creatures - bright ale / pale.. james squire - amber / golden... that or a scotch like Chivas / Glenfiddich... or just a reg corona with lemon
ahhh I see you're at the 'look how classy I am as I list lots of expensive drinks' stage of your drinking career.

Eventually you'll wake up to yourself and realise how to just enjoy a f***ing beer.
actually fpot all i tend to do is drink bright ales i'm until i'm feeling good then i switch to TEDs cause the taste difference is f*** all once you're slightly gone.
DarkAvernus

This post is for tomorrow which will be the second half of endurance lan.

Information: 9AM - 11 PM Saturday.

Bring:
PC (please refrain from dual monitors if you can or we may charge extra for the space you take up. If you are bringing dual monitors Please advise staff prior to the event)
Xbox 360
PS3
Chair (we only have hard plastic chairs so feel free to bring your own office chair)
Deodorant – for those gamers hygienically challenged

House Keeping:

NO Alcohol
NO Drugs
NO Speakers – the venue is in a residential area so headsets only.
NO Smoking indoors

Street name: 165 King Street Caboolture 4510
Parking Space: 50 Onsite Marked\ 100 Unmarked
Price (direct sale): 25.00
Payment instructions: Pay on the day or via direct debit
Number of Participants: 70
Minimum Age: 16 Years (under 16's permitted with a responsible adult signing declaration)

Multi Inter-Building gigabit backbones.
Internet connection: ADSL2+ Internet Connection 50mb per user.
Contact IRC: #endurancelan on irc.gamesurge.net
Contact Email: darkavernus@optusnet.com.au or 007@007corner.com

Murderer
... oh wait I suppose you would. Never mind.

I'm Tasmanian. What's the problem here?

Man, I can't believe peeps still ask for quake.

TBH, I can't believe peeps still go to LAN's. I stopped running mine (I was the local LAN house) because people stopped coming since the internet became quite good for multiplayer :-)))

LAN's can be good social events though I guess.
BOOST
hey, whens the next qgl lan?
we just had one

only old schoolers were invited, soz
TBH, I can't believe peeps still go to LAN's. I stopped running mine (I was the local LAN house) because people stopped coming since the internet became quite good for multiplayer :-)))

I stopped going to them because people stopped running them, mates grew up & got married & weren't allowed to go, etc. I also discovered my hard drives lasted a lot longer when they weren't being pounded around in the back of my car to & from games.

In all honesty these days I probably cbf going to public lans because you've got to go, set up your stuff, keep an eye on it etc. At least back in the day when we had them at mates houses with only a few people you could sleep there & know your stuff would be there in the morning albeit with goatse or something as the wallpaper.
DarkAvernus

well i must say so far its been a rather good event, every 1 seems to be getting along well except for a few incidents with excessive internet usage :P, however so far i must say Ive had allot of fun. Looking forward to a good day tomorrow too :)
RockitMan
put some pics up, might encourage more people to go next time.
change the venue to something more mutual and even more people will go.... Caboolture is donkeys away!!!
agreeing with martz.