Gesthemene
So, some stupid bint crashed into my car yesterday. Besides being stiff, sore and bruised we're ok.
However, my car is less ok. It's been crumpled at both front and rear, steering's been f***ed over (alternates between pulling left and right) and although I *can* drive it, I have no desire to drive it anywhere in its current state except to the assessor on Thursday. So, in the meantime, I need to hire/beg/borrow/steal (preferably not steal) a car for the next few days, at least until I know just what the hell's going on with my car. Anyone have any suggestions? Most of the hire car mobs I've dealt with seem to be staffed entirely of bastards who'd set their own mothers on fire, simply because they're bored. |
| #0 12:11pm 29/09/09 |
http://www.drivenow.com.au/ is sort of a webjet for car rental, you wouldn't book through them but its a pretty good guide.
And yes car rental people seem to be about as interesting as a box of water crackers also if you don't want a new car http://www.rentabomb.com.au/ last edited by Mr Hardware at 12:26:09 29/Sep/09 |
| #1 12:26pm 29/09/09 |
Gesthemene
Thanks mate, I'll look into DriveNow.
As for Rentabomb, holy f***ing ducks***! They charge more for their second hand cars than most other places do for new ones. WTF? |
| #2 12:29pm 29/09/09 |
Because the public percieves that renting a bomb is automatically going to be cheaper than renting a new car, which is not always the case.
Y'see, new car manufacturers offer car rental companies a s***load cheaper rate on new cars. I'm talking sometimes up to 20% off what a stealership would rip you for if you just walked up and paid sticker price. And what they do, is keep them for only a year or so and flog them off as 'program cars' or whatever, minimising their losses significantly and in the meantime have paid bugger all for maintenance cos its all under warranty. |
| #3 12:37pm 29/09/09 |
Ute is in the shop I was in the same position yesterday. Hope you got a credit card or you'll have troubles getting a hire car.
| #4 01:30pm 29/09/09 |
Out near the Airport there is few good ones.
Depends what size you want. rent an ex-taxi with gas. |
| #5 04:03pm 29/09/09 |
Denominator
You have to compare Apples wit Apples Rent a Bomb is far cheaper and they probably wouldn't be a strict with the condition report.
Rent a bomb rent a used car for 7 days and pay only $155.00. Drive now - Cheepest I saw Payable on Booking Confirmation AUD$ 0.00 Payable on Vehicle Pick-Up Vehicle Rental $ 285.88 Vehicle License Fees $ 42.35 Admin Fee $ 10.51 Payable on Vehicle Pick-Up AUD$ 338.74 Amount Payable AUD$ 338.74 |
| #6 08:58am 30/09/09 |
RhOmEL
Does your insurance not give you a replacement rental car? Thought that would be standard these days?
| #7 12:06pm 30/09/09 |
konstie
for AAMI you have to pay extra in your excess if you want rental cover. jerks. |
| #8 12:21pm 30/09/09 |
rent an ex-taxi with gas. you just got mr hardware all barred up just mentioning those 2 things in the same sentence |
| #9 12:34pm 30/09/09 |
heh
| #10 01:38pm 30/09/09 |