Topic: Official government petition to save you money
Normally I would just laugh at a petition but this one is actually on a government website so it could actually achieve something?!?

Below is a link to the petition to stop the increase of Car Rego in QLD by another $250 extra a year! This only takes a minute to do

Please forward this onto every Queenslander you know. If this legislation goes ahead, we will pay in excess of $800 a year for rego - When Victorians pay less than $200 all up!

http://www.parliament.qld.gov.au/view/EPetitions_qld/CurrentEPetition.aspx?PetNum=1261
Mantorok
From the 4x4 track thread:
Drive on the Bruce highway if you want a bumpy track.

So you complain about the state of the roads, but don't want to increase government funding so they could improve?
Also, Victoria has a higher population density. More registered cars per km of road means less money charged in rego.
is there any way to tell that this increase in rego would guarantee bump-free roads?
talking to a mate of mine who's into sailing the other day. in 2007 his boat rego was $197, in 2008 it was $280, in 2009 it was $488.

The rate of these increases is out of control. Does anyone think they are getting value for money?

What would happen if everyone stopped paying rego?? Hmmmm.
Mantorok
Jim - No, but the government isn't going to improve anything if they haven't got the money.

I dunno any Victorian that's paying less than $200. Where's that data from? My rego is ~$550 for a 1.6L 4-door sedan.
So you complain about the state of the roads, but don't want to increase government funding so they could improve?

Firstly I never complained about the state of the road - I made a joke, and you interpreted it as a complaint. If the road was fixed I would have less stuff to make bad jokes about. Secondly the government already has enough money to fix roads they are just incompetent and wasteful, giving them more money will just allow them to be more incompetent and wasteful.

The roads in Victoria are not made out of pebbles.

yeah I think I just paid mine last week and it was nearly $600 for a 4cyl diesel ..
I dunno any Victorian that's paying less than $200. Where's that data from? My rego is ~$550 for a 1.6L 4-door sedan.

Yeah, sounds wrong.

Maybe it's supposed to be $200 less then we pay? Or they pay $200 for the actual rego component excluding 3rd party?
singaporeans pay like s$10k per annum for rego... it's insane. i'll sign the petition as i don't wanna pay more than i have to for rego. definitely gonna be looking at buying a single seat motorcycle next time to get rid of the hefty 3rd part insurance for pillions part of rego.
What would happen if everyone stopped paying rego?? Hmmmm

cops would have a field day handing out unregistered vehicle tickets i rekn. :P

last edited by demon at 16:51:30 22/Sep/09
Say NO to cars. and Mobile Phones.
well said faceman
Jim - No, but the government isn't going to improve anything if they haven't got the money.
yeh but there's no reason to think they don't have the money now, or that the current state of our roads is because rego has previously been cheaper - which is basically what your post implied, to me anyway

They are not improving anything WITH the money, more importantly.

What happens next? 2010 $850, 2011 $1500, 2012 $2400. What a joke.
The problem is there is too many cars.
Every year you pay more rego and Taxes for a roads system that is going Backwards.
What will you paying for rego in Ten years ?
More than that car is worth ?
thats crazy. rent one when you need one.
and get Foxtel.
Yeah i just paid mine the other day, $801 for a 6-cyl
nah there's nowhere near enough cars, need heaps more people buying heaps more cars so the cost comes down and we can afford more cars more often in future
Dodgymon
Well had to pay $1028 the other day for a 8 cycl that I drive probably twice a year.

The increases aren't being spent on the roads it's covering up the debt that Anna Bligh.
Also is Einy Anna?
Well had to pay $1028 the other day for a 8 cycl that I drive probably twice a year.

Surely you could get a leisure rego or something? http://www.transport.qld.gov.au/Home/Registration/Conditional_registration/

oh i see...8cyl....might be stuffed there
singaporeans pay like s$10k per annum for rego... it's insane. i'll sign the petition as i don't wanna pay more than i have to for rego. definitely gonna be looking at buying a single seat motorcycle next time to get rid of the hefty 3rd part insurance for pillions part of rego.

Serious? A guy I know who works there reckons a new Lancer is up around the $50,000AUD price. Crazy s***.

Edit:

I just did some digging around and found this :

Vehicle taxes and registration fee
A customs duty of 41% is exercised for all the motor vehicles that are imported into Singapore. Then there is a registration fee of 1000 s$ for private vehicles and $ 5000 for company that is to be paid. Additionally when a car is registered first (new or used), an additional registration fee (ARF) of 150% of the cars open market value is payable.

So expensive as hell to buy and first register a car but after that it's okish until it starts getting older.

last edited by Syco at 17:31:46 22/Sep/09
If you want bump free roads you just need to go somewhere that gives you better value for your tax dollar. Give up your right to decide about euthenasia or marrying your gay lover and move to a Territory. Federal funds keep the bitumen roads in great condition.
épic™
thats crazy. rent one when you need one.

Not actually a bad idea. Rego is about $600 a year, insurance say another $600. Maintenance/Upkeep lets say $500 a year you're looking at about $1700 a year before you even drive it assuming you own it outright, add more if you have a loan.

$1700 is about 31 days of car rental at $55 a day... pretty reasonable if you walk/bus to work and dont use ur car that often.