apologies trog
http://www.theaustralian.news.com.au/business/story/0,28124,26100796-7582,00.html hmm dodgey |
| #0 10:05am 22/09/09 |
i knew it was rigged as soon as love will tear us appart didnt win
pretty obvious imo also, for the record, im quite happy for the voting to be doctored so s*** songs like khe sahn dont appear in the list last edited by Spook at 10:09:27 22/Sep/09 |
| #1 10:09am 22/09/09 |
love will tear us apart is a s*** song.
| #2 10:14am 22/09/09 |
yeah losing khe sahn wasn't worth crying about
they probably had their list down pat before the whole voting round even occurred so that they could release a top 100 cd with artists that they already have contracts with PAGING FACEMAN |
| #3 10:14am 22/09/09 |
mongo, yuo are very bad at tv and musics
| #4 10:14am 22/09/09 |
You are very bad at life spookles.
| #5 10:15am 22/09/09 |
you don't even like the song spook, you were purely on the bandwagon for it back in the day and still haven't gotten off by the sounds of it.
| #6 10:17am 22/09/09 |
RockitMan
It's possibly the worst song I've ever heard.
| #7 10:22am 22/09/09 |
From my reading of that article, it doesn't say it was rigged, just that two journalists were alleging that it was.
Edit: Oh I see the ? in the thread's title now. last edited by Triamks at 10:24:06 22/Sep/09 |
| #8 10:24am 22/09/09 |
I think people keep on forgetting that its a radio station for youth and cold chisel does not fall under that category. |
| #9 10:22am 22/09/09 |
Yeah, the demographic for triplej is 15-25 year olds. I know they have a lot of listeners outside this demographic (me for starters!), but seriously, Elvis? Poor excuse for an article in what is usually a very good newspaper. And also, 'Hack' for the motherflippin' loss. That show has gone to s***. Steve Kinane was pretentious but O'Toole takes it to a whole new level. |
| #10 10:32am 22/09/09 |
Steve Kinane was pretentious but O'Toole takes it to a whole new level. Agreed, one might even say that he is quite the .. Tool oh, snap |
| #11 10:37am 22/09/09 |
I'm really happy for you JJJ and Imma let you finish...
| #12 10:38am 22/09/09 |
Yo Triple J! I'm really happy and I'mma let you finish, but Triple M has one of the best top 100 songs of all time!
| #13 10:39am 22/09/09 |
Agreed, one might even say that he is quite the .. Tool One might even say 'he' is actually a 'she'. comprehensionFail += 1; Oh.... SNAP! |
| #14 10:41am 22/09/09 |
you're so mean pinky, can't a guy even make a typo on the forum anymore :~(
WHAT HAS THIS WORLD BECOME! |
| #15 10:45am 22/09/09 |
Oh, soz teq, I actually thought you were thermite and I was going to add, "Go back to your Guy Sebastian" and "What are you even doing in this thread!?" but you know, I exercised some self-control! :-P EDIT: I'm raging today. Late nights and too much coffee. Enjoy. |
| #16 11:08am 22/09/09 |
Yeah, the demographic for triplej is 15-25 year olds. I know they have a lot of listeners outside this demographic (me for starters!), but seriously, Elvis? Actually, I heard it was 15-30. Haven't you heard that 30 is the new 20? |
| #17 11:09am 22/09/09 |
Khe sahn is a good song, its been played to death and is a bogan anthem so most people dont like it based on those facts, but the actual song is a good song, alot better than most of the s*** that comes out these days. Its not the best cold chisel song though.
The top 100 list did seem a bit all over the place, pretty sure they didnt have a single soundgarden song, thats just crazy. With the triple j audience its was always gonna be a bit of a weird list, not realy suprised elvis didnt make the list, he was more of a performer/artist than an individual brilliant song artist. |
| #18 11:35am 22/09/09 |
ok thermite
| #19 11:39am 22/09/09 |
pretty sure they didnt have a single soundgarden song, thats just crazy. I was going to vote for Black Hole Sun, but didn't. I'm surprised as you are though. I'm not really surprised by the lack of female vocalists in the Hottest 100 though. I think it's interesting, and it's good to try to understand why they aren't up there, but it just doesn't surprise me. And lol @ Triamks. You must be ageing too fast like me. |
| #20 11:42am 22/09/09 |
wasnt too many supprises for me. if elvis had of made it, i would of been suspect.
Also missing were songs some members of the team interpreted as being shoe-ins for the list such as the Cold Chisel classic Khe San. these people listen to bogan FM like triple M, not triple J. last edited by mooby at 11:57:32 22/Sep/09 |
| #21 11:57am 22/09/09 |
I'm not really surprised by the lack of female vocalists in the Hottest 100 though. Yeah same, I cant think of a single song by a female that would make my top 10 or even top 50, not saying there arent good female artists but just none that realy interest me that much. Im gonna throw it out there and say females just arent as good at writing songs that would apeal to both male and females, maybe its not that they arent as good, but that the subject matter of good songs would sound silly coming from a female. Males arent gonna like songs about chicks singing about a dude she likes, but chicks will likes songs about a dude singing about a chich he likes. If you get what i mean. |
| #22 11:57am 22/09/09 |
hole or missy higgins, but the later wouldnt make my top 100. hole would.
| #23 11:58am 22/09/09 |
The only thing rigged about the countdown was they didn't allow rick astely to make the list and also that Kingsmill knew how many votes where needed to crack the 100 so all the TV On The Radio fanboys could vote it in at 99.
Oh and also cause the comp they kept advertising was seeing Radiohead (Kol & bloc party etc ) live at whatever it was overseas may have skewed the results with all the radiohead nuts wanting to win (also explains bloc party's high result). last edited by r_mazing at 12:14:10 22/Sep/09 |
| #24 12:14pm 22/09/09 |
Pretty sure it was qualified in "JJJ's hottest 100" not "best 100 songs of all time as described by the worlds leading musiologists".
Theres a few songs which shouldn't be there but its not a bad listen overall. Except jeff buckley. hate that guy. |
| #25 12:14pm 22/09/09 |
Voting was open after MJ died, I'd have thought MJ would've been all over the place if it was legit heh.
| #26 12:16pm 22/09/09 |
They're just lucky that voting closed before Guy Sebastian's new song came out. Would have been unfair on the other artists.
| #27 12:20pm 22/09/09 |
f***ing lol
no girls or elvis = rigged. makes perfect sense! |
| #28 12:30pm 22/09/09 |
i would have thought all the wimmens would have voted atleast 1 female artist each.
| #29 12:31pm 22/09/09 |
i would have thought all the wimmens would have voted atleast 1 female artist each. Most of the voting was online, we all know there are no girls on the interbuttz. |
| #30 01:24pm 22/09/09 |
Triple J sold out long ago.
Alternative Music now is just Pop with attitude. You guys read about that Aus Idol winner ? sold 300 000 cds and made nothing out of it. Even on the show record execs choose the songs they are allowed to do and contestants lose all rights to their performance yet we are told that Artists are the ones losing money from File sharing yeah right ! And that dumb ho Lilly Allen complaining about people stealing her music yet she steals someone elses Blog and claims it as her own. HypoHo |
| #31 03:17pm 22/09/09 |
saucy ho, ive seen her boobies
| #32 03:45pm 22/09/09 |
yeah faceman that was Damien Leith, it's pretty f***en wrong their Idol contracts basically said they would do unpaid slave labour if they won. Zero royalties - he has to sell his car to pay the rent, and he quit his job and mortgaged his house just to be on Idol in the first place. Jessica Mauboy copped the same thing. The other winners have had different contracts though.
| #33 03:51pm 22/09/09 |
yeah i don't mind that ho at all
Jessica Mauboy copped the same thing more people would probably care about her if she wasn't so f***ing ugly and could sing last edited by paveway at 15:54:10 22/Sep/09 |
| #34 03:54pm 22/09/09 |
hack is awful, the only people who listen to it are liberal arts students who put it on while fapping over their feelings of superiority to the plebians who just aren't quite as bright or progressive as they are :P
| #35 06:16pm 22/09/09 |
trog loves hack
i personally think its as s*** house as most triple j presenters |
| #36 07:45pm 22/09/09 |
hack is good about 10% of the time and idealistic lefty rubbish the rest of the time.
| #37 07:55pm 22/09/09 |
tell me more of these lily boobs?
edit: google reveals all. last edited by d0mino at 20:59:06 22/Sep/09 |
| #38 08:59pm 22/09/09 |
Hack used to be good, for the last year or so it has been pretty boring.
They need to talk about no R ratings for games, they probably have before though. |
| #39 09:35pm 22/09/09 |
lewd
im gonna back momgie up...
hes got a great taste in music. writes good music too when called upon. he watches the gold tv too... so epic fails spook...... again :( |
| #40 09:51pm 22/09/09 |
I have no idea how you can fail when it comes to personal preference.
GG pile of sticks. |
| #41 09:59pm 22/09/09 |
All QGL should make a pact to vote for Rick Astley next year.
Like that US website that targets votes for the worst US Idol singers. |
| #42 12:48pm 23/09/09 |
Why?
| #43 01:16pm 23/09/09 |
Yeah another thumbs down for kate otool on hack, she has NO mojo or any type of clue what so ever, how does she get onto radio!? must be 'servicing' the producer..
| #44 03:29pm 23/09/09 |
lewd
but it says the data they used was incomplete.
so how is this now a story? unless the whole half a million odd votes are checked, its a mute point. and yeah, hack is on at the worst time. must totally kill there arvo drivetime ratings. just reminds you that at the end of the day, jjj is and always will be aimed at uni students. |
| #45 07:08am 25/09/09 |
Hack is awesome unless you don't have an attention span I know learning is hard, but it's worth doing, even if its about things you don't immediately find interesting |
| #46 07:28am 25/09/09 |
learning? on hack?! i suppose if you like preorganised agendas, awkward questioning and massive bias in journalism then it's pretty great. i don't understand how you can hate on news.com.au then pretend hack is a bastion of journalistic integrity.
el oh el. |
| #47 08:24am 25/09/09 |
Hack doesn't pretend to be a news show... news.com.au does. Hack is a current affairs programme mostly about youth issues, focusing on commentary from people. It's always going to be biased; it's like reading youtube comments for a description of the video and whining that they're useless. It's interesting to me because I get to hear a massively wide variety of opinions on a huge variety of topics that I don't usually get exposed to. O'Toole isn't as good as the last dude (whose name eludes me); he was a f***ing legend. But I think she does OK. |
| #48 08:41am 25/09/09 |
triple J is for people who conform by thinking they don't conform
triple J is for dirty, dirty people: animals essentially you can't have a good taste in music and listen to triple J |
| #49 08:41am 25/09/09 |
no, MY music is better ...retard |
| #50 08:43am 25/09/09 |
i did listen to it more when the last guy was on. like i used to listen to the morning show more when adam & will were on. i admit i still listen to hack sometimes when stuck on coro trying to get home from uni some nights :-).
haha, troll more hardware. |
| #51 08:46am 25/09/09 |
Furgle
Triple J is for people who are sick of the same 5 songs being played on an endless loop on MMM and B105, and the 50% airtime being devoted to commercials.
The music's not that bad, most of the time. Hack reminds me somewhat of what you'd hear on NPR in America. I wish we had more shows like NPR has. last edited by Furgle at 08:53:05 25/Sep/09 |
| #52 08:53am 25/09/09 |
redhat
Yeah, its interesting to hear what young people in australia thing about things, kinda see how others that you wouldn't normally see or talk to. Spook doesn't like hack because he's old and crap and doesn't address address the big issues like the pension being increased or how many baby bonuses he's going to get this year, or a story on P-plate drivers.
What's the alternative? Nova? Actually there's FBI in sydney which is pretty awesome most of the time. |
| #53 08:52am 25/09/09 |
O'Toole isn't as good as the last dude (whose name eludes me); he was a f***ing legend. But I think she does OK. I hated Steve Kinane. Then O'Toole came along and I realised how good Steve was. Hahahaha. Hack is awesome Sweet trolling, trog. I have two degrees, mate; I have an attention span AND I hate Hack. It's the delivery method I don't like. They are too abrasive. O'Toole's idea of 'good reporting' is to get someone's back up. They need to talk about no R ratings for games, they probably have before though. I'm almost 100% sure they've done this. But yeah, they should keep at it like they do other issues (e.g., music piracy) |
| #54 09:11am 25/09/09 |
yes redhat, nova is the alternative
radio presenters that dont make you want to turn the radio off |
| #55 09:13am 25/09/09 |
hahaha, are you serious spook?
| #56 09:18am 25/09/09 |
Yeah steve kinane was heaps better on hack. I used to be 100% triple j listener, then they lost the presenters that I liked, eg Adam and will, Merrick and rosso, steve kinane etc. Started to drift away after that, mainly just listening to CD's, but then listening to 612 ABC for the cricket, then switching the 612 for majority of my listening, its good old mans radio, except im 28, but im a grumpy 28 year old, I send emails to tv stations to tell them the adds are too loud, and send emails to food companys to tell them the product isnt as good as it used to be.
| #57 09:18am 25/09/09 |
hahaha, are you serious spook? yer, i like the morning crew on nova! where as the morning crew on the j's has been so bad for years, they pretty much drove me away bascially everyone since will and adam was super major fail i still listen to the j's when i go home to cairns or when im elsewhere in the country and dont know the local radio and i find after listening to the j's for a few days, ive heard all they have to offer and had my fill of aussie hiphop for the year the internets and rage provides me with all my music needs now |
| #58 09:26am 25/09/09 |
Furgle
That's the problem with triple J. The pay peanuts, so everyone gets their foot in the industry door, then if they're any good, they move onto commercial radio.
| #59 09:27am 25/09/09 |
haha spook, i don't reckon the current jjj morning show are particularly good. but the nova team are so painful to listen to, all the terrible jokes and forced laughter.
HAHAHAHAHAHAHAH OMG WE ARE SO FUNNY LOLZ!@#1 right, guys? |
| #60 09:31am 25/09/09 |
heh, i feel that way about the b105 morning team!
| #61 09:33am 25/09/09 |
That's the problem with triple J. The pay peanuts, so everyone gets their foot in the industry door, then if they're any good, they move onto commercial radio. It's not the 'problem' it's the model. And I like it. I like fresh voices, and I don't care what station Roy and HG go to because I will always listen to them. Plus, I prefer them in the drive time-slot anyway which is when my radio is 100% guaranteed to be on. I'm still a station whore though. I like elements of all stations, just not the advertising content. It's a shame they can't invent some other kind of business model to fund their venture. I know subscriber radio is pretty much struggle-town (MBS, Three Triple R, etc) so that's not an option. I think triple j have the best setup - pay for radio with our money. I think just listening to your own CDs is a bit of a trap. I hear great new bands. For me, listening to the radio is like browsing pr0n. You're looking for that really hot song that just blows your mind in amongst a bunch of good songs. It's inevitable that you'll get some crap along the way too. |
| #62 09:35am 25/09/09 |
They are too abrasive. O'Toole's idea of 'good reporting' is to get someone's back up.That's what Kinane did. Have you listened to other journalists? They ask pussy-ass soft s*** questions to get sound bites. They never, ever push people - epsecially politicians - on fringe issues that few people care about (like net filters, etc). I don't thnk they're doing it just to "get their backs up" - they're doing it to actually ask in-depth questions on issues that typivcal mainstream media will not EVER do, because they're a bunch of softcock pussies that focus on the 2 or 3 major issues that the general public can actually keep in their heads at the same time. |
| #63 12:03pm 25/09/09 |
| #64 12:17pm 25/09/09 |
I would have to agree with spook about triple j in the mornings. Adam and Will were awesome, and everything past that point has been very lackluster. B105 I just don't enjoy listening to. Nova morning crew can be pretty funny, but the selection of music can be too repetitive and narrow.
In the afternoons I'm having troubles listening to anything so I just channel flick. |
| #65 02:34pm 25/09/09 |
After Adam and Will, when J and the Doctor came on I was rapt. Especially early on when they had little consideration for rules (Tsunami Song, Friday f***wit without the bleep) - they were really fresh and interesting. I really enjoyed those guys and thought they were an excellent replacement for Adam and Will. Marieke Hardy does my head in. I haven't heard her say anything intelligent. She just has these immature quips which don't add anything. I read her article in The Age though and enjoy it. Similarly I always though Will Anderson's article in The Age was better than his radio persona. Loving Scott Dooley on drive. Loved him the moment I heard him. His sense of humour is similar to mine. Other than maybe Super Request I think you need to listen to triple j like three triple r - that is, you have to plan to listen to The Racket if you like metal or The Hip Hop Show - rather than a station that you can turn on at any time of the day and mindlessly enjoy what is on because it's all basically consumer pop like your Nova and so on. |
| #66 02:58pm 25/09/09 |
+1 for the hip hop show
I do miss Maya jupiter though, she had nice boobies Hau latukefu is great too but I don't find him sexually attractive that .mp3 stream got me through a lot of graveyard shifts back in the day |
| #67 03:03pm 25/09/09 |
that .mp3 stream got me through a lot of graveyard shifts back in the day wild fm got me through my grave shift period with their dj 3000 we used to count the number of times a song would be repeated during the nite |
| #68 07:13pm 25/09/09 |
Loving Scott Dooley on drive. Loved him the moment I heard him. His sense of humour is similar to mine.heh you are like, 1/trog - soon as Dools comes on I literally close my JJJ stream and fire up my mp3 collection. Can't stand him!@# |
| #69 09:00am 26/09/09 |
the only radio station is still listen to is 4zzz n only for the drum'n'bass/dubstep show called the baron one way show... a few years back it was dnb only n called the original drum with tommy ro. the rest of the time it's my mighty mp3 collection... more variety than any radio show & i picked it! :D
| #70 09:04am 26/09/09 |
lewd
^ too much ska on 4zzz for me......
| #71 09:36am 26/09/09 |