Topic: Looking for a home for my dogs
Hey guys,
I've been mulling over this for weeks and have had no luck with friends or family so I'm comming here. Due to work and also my moving soon, I have to give up my 2 dogs, a 2 year old female Rottweiler and an 18 month old male Staffordshire Bull Terrier. I'm not looking to sell these guys, I'm looking for someone who will love and take care of them. I'm really loath to do this but I don't want to take them to the RSPCA and have that slight chance that no one would want them. If anyone is interested, PM me your contact details and we can arrange for you to come around and have a look at them (I'm in Runcorn). They don't have to go as a pair. I'll try and get some photo's up as soon as I can find some.
Mephz
The RSPCA doesn't put down animals simply because 'nobody wants them' or after a length of time.
Once the animal has been approved for adoption/suitable to be relocated, then it is kept until a home is found.

This is what they told me when I was last there a few months ago anyway.

So don't feel too bad about having to go to the RSPCA if it comes down to it, unless you've raised vicious animals that need to be destroyed they'll be fine :)
When we found our dog, she had been in the RSPCA 7 months (she had been given up by people moving overseas).
Fizzer

PM Sent. Might be handy to describe the dogs. Is the staffy brindle or ..?
If you're going to drop them off anywhere, Peninsula Animal Aid at Redcliffe never puts animals down, they keep them for years+ and find them a home eventually.
So for everyone reading this, if you want a Dog, don't get one from a Pet Store, get them from RSPCA, they are good dogs, usually wormed, vet checked, chipped, temperament checked and in good condition.

Pitty I have small kid(s), those breeds and kids don't mix too well.
yeah they are pretty s*** breeds, no offence
fyi, my thread wasn't fail, scuzzy gave it 9/10!
Peninsula Animal Aid at Redcliffe

If they are still running, the whole building got absolutely trashed a couple of weeks ago.

Throw pics of the staffy up!
http://img411.imageshack.us/img411/3266/img0717yp.jpg
Mishka and Loki

http://img411.imageshack.us/img411/769/img0747b.jpg

Ok I really suck and trying to post pictures.
Sorry for the size of the pics

last edited by Tanaka Khan at 11:23:50 15/Sep/09
Fizzer

Yes, yes you do - 404 Page not found.
nice lookin dogs
don't want the responsibility tho
BOHEMION
They are the coolest looking dogs. Good luck.
fkn rotties rock so hard man, my fav dog :D pity can't look after 1 :|

Reason: Inappropriate
Click Here to See the Profile for greazy Edit This Post Click Here to send greazy an email Users HomePage Message User

Sorry to hear that dude..
It's tuff having dogs when you don't own the house that your in.

And remember, MAKE SURE YOU CAN GET A DECENT NET CONNECTION this time :)

Edit by saint: Whoops, nuked wrong post sorry!

last edited by Saint at 19:39:45 15/Sep/09
Dodgymon
Does the Rott have papers?

Ignorant fool.

Staffordshire's are known as nanny dogs. Why? guess!!!

It's the stupid owners who mold the dog and not the breed of the dog.

Staffords are awesome with kids

Ignorant fool.

Staffordshire's are known as nanny dogs. Why? guess!!!

It's the stupid owners who mold the dog and not the breed of the dog.

Staffords are awesome with kids

QFT.

This thread makes me sad. Wish I could help but I already have 2 dogs.
i woudlnt gamble with my kids around a dog like that
no matter how well trained an animal is, it can resort to its animal instincts in certain situations.
Ignorant fool.
aww
you can get information from people and it can seem true, doubt it's worthy of being called an ignorant fool just cos you don't agree with it
That is correct ravn0s, but out of all the dogs in the world I would put staffords up there as the most patient and loving dogs when it comes to children.
euphoria
Staffies rock. But it does depend on the individual dog's temperament. I've known ones that are crazy, chew-concrete-poles-for-fun violent while the one we had years ago was the most laid back dog I've ever seen.
I wouldn't risk my kids with most dog types.

Every time there is a mauling on the news the owner is pretty well always quoted as saying:

"ZOMG, my dog has never done anything like that before. He's so placid and playful, I can't believe he bit off the kids face"
The most placid dogs I've ever seen have been staffies. They're absolutely fine around kids. Also, my girlfriend's family dog is half-rotty, and loves playing with kids. He's just a big puppy.

Beautiful looking dogs, but I can't take them in my current place. :( Good luck mate.
Edit by saint: Whoops, nuked wrong post sorry!

WTF!!!
Am I collateral damage you *expletive*?

Saint status revoked :)
damn admins swinging their nuke stick around willy nilly
yeah whether or not they're good with kids or "nanny dogs" is irrelevant
I wouldnt trust them around my kids either way, the risk factor is just too high

maybe when they're older but yeah, not as infants or even toddlers

beautiful dogs tho, good luck with it all
teq: I am guessing your view applies to all dogs?

last edited by Kat at 21:07:53 15/Sep/09
Crakaveli
If these kids had guns to defend themselves they would have been fine.
moving and work? how can you not keep them/?? moving into a unit?
I have no idea how my reply was inappropriate.

He can't take care of the dogs any longer.
He's having trouble finding a person to take them off his hands.
He doesn't trust RSPCA.

What other option does he have?
the final solution. yeah well done....
I'm not about making money off of these guys, I want someone who can give them the time and love they deserve. I am moving into an apartment in a number of weeks so that's my main problem. I've had next to no dealings with the RSPCA, I was just going by rumours i was told about dogs being put down after a few weeks etc, but in all honestly, these two guys would be snapped up in no time.
Good news too, looks like my rottie Mishka is being taken, so that's 50% of my troubles gone, except for when they come to pick her up, I'm liable to be blubbering like a school girl!
Geez man, I wouldnt blame you. She's a great looking dog. They both are.
Its easy to tell they are happy dogs. I hope everything goes well and that you stay in touch with them.
Anyone that leaves a dog with young kids alone is stupid. More so one that can lockjaw.
Yeah if the woman of my bro didn't get a damn puppy 2 days ago I would have taken the bitch rotty. I was hinting to him not to give in to the whining of his misses, but that fialed! I got a 10yo male PB rotty that I want to be a part of a litter before he goes. Just have to get the rubber glove out and a glass jar.

3 dogs now(ssshhh)...

Oh, and I'm glad to see that Mishka still has a tail.
teq: I am guessing your view applies to all dogs?

Kat, I'm buying a purebred german shepherd as soon as my boy is old enough to "grow up with it" safely
I dont care if they're known to be beautiful dogs 99% of the time, the fact is they're still animals and they still kill kids

it may not happen very often, s*** it may happen very rarely - but its not a risk I'd *ever* take.
Its just not worth it, nothing would be worth losing a kid over

my wife wants a golden retriever too but even she won't get the dog before Jacks old enough
Fizzer

Just curious teq what would you do if you had a dog before the kid came along?

Sorry fido but you've been a long trusted family pet but now you gotta go cause the condom broke?

For the record my 2 year old son and 3 year old staffy get along famously because low and behold they're both energetic lunatics that love to run around the back yard together :P

Personally I'd be more worried about him getting ran over at a petrol station by some hard-on with something to prove.
Amazing, tequila actually talking logic. Give yourself a big pat on the back teq.
the final solution. yeah well done....
No idea why you're still alive.

last edited by greazy at 23:47:55 15/Sep/09
Get the kid to feed the dog. Make sure you can put your hand in the dogs food bowl while its eating without it snarling. If a puppy grows up with the kid you'll probably find that the adult would be more vulnerable if ever there was something to go wrong.
Dodgymon
I've got a 6 month of girl and 2 rotts. They are just big puppies tho.
Only problem I have is with a 6 week old pup keeps trying to play with bub and well puppies tend to have sharp teeth.
tequila: You not wanting to have a dog around your child is not something I am about to argue with you about. If you don't want to risk having a dog around your kid, that's fine. But I think you are having an over reaction based on hype and mixed numbers.
You have said yourself that you plan on getting a dog when your child is old enough. What happens if you plan on having a second child? Will you get rid of the dog?
We got our dog when our eldest was 3 or 4. So obviously when we had the other children the dog stayed and grew up with the kids. We did a lot of research when we chose our dog. The dog we chose is very good with small children. It is the most patient dog I have ever seen with our kids. Would all staffords? no, because some staffords have different experiences growing up.

Most staffords you hear in the news are 'stafford cross' because it is easier to identify the stafford than the rest of the mix. It doesn't make staffords volitile or ticking time bombs.

You do what you think is best for your family, but don't go around calling people irresponsible for having an animal around their children, especially when they aren't attack or fighting dogs. As a parent you have to deal with risks every day. I get that you are a new parent, but you still have so much to learn.
Children and dogs are fine as long as you don't leave the child and dog unsupervised.

ie. keep an eye on the child to make sure it's not poking the dogs eye out (shortly before the dog turns round and rips off its face)

last edited by Obes at 08:16:00 16/Sep/09
I've grown up with rotties since the day I was born and they are the most gentle and loving dogs ever. Definitely a beautiful breed and they are amazing with children. I agree with the "ignorant fool" statement. Of course dogs who aren't trained properly could be agressive, but anyone who thinks rotties are dangerous obviously don't know anything. Mishka looks gorgeous, hope she goes to a good home.
Mass
I used to teach Dog Obedience (for a large obedience school) and the rule we always used was never trust a dog alone with a child under 10. My dogs which I have trained to a very high level of obedience and have beautiful temperaments will never be trusted alone with my kids. Its probably a 1 in 1000 (probably higher) chance of the dog actually attacking the kids and if he did it would almost certainly be provoked by something my kids did, but its still a very real possibility.

You have to remember its a dog and it thinks you and your kids are dogs (no they don't think they are people), if the kids or anyone does something to make the dog feel threatened it will react by instinct first and learnt behaviour second.

Back to the topic.......beautiful dogs, my dog died about 2 months ago, 14yrs old and I still miss him. I would love to have taken both the dogs off your hands but we're not looking to get another dog until after christmas unfortunately.....but if you get really stuck pm me.
Children and dogs are fine as long as you don't leave the child and dog unsupervised.

I know I am opening myself up here, but if the dog is a family dog then it is pretty much impossible for this to happen. You cannot supervise every child you have 100% of the time and when you have a dog that is basically just another one, it is pretty much impossible.

That's why it helps to get a dog that is good around children and it is in their breed. It makes life a lot easier.

Animals and kids are an amazing match and both get so much out of it.
sure it might be very unlikely, but impossible? f*** off.

one of my neighbours growing up had a staffordshire and it was the most docile, kid-loving dog ever. one day it bit their (adult) owner and had to be put down. they are lucky it didn't happen to one of their kids.

i'm not saying they aren't good around kids or are a huge risk or anything, but to say they are 0 risk at all is retarded. all dogs are a risk around very small children because kids don't understand how dogs' brains work.
taggs, I am not saying they are 0 risk either. All dogs have a level of risk. I am saying that they have a lower risk around children than most standard 'family dogs' out there.
that's probably true. people reckon little dogs like jack russels are good for kids because they're small. those things are little psychos.
every argument for dogs above here and below my previous post is completely irrelevant to me
like I said, I completely trust a German shepherd to never bite my son but he's 6 weeks old and was born 5 weeks preemie

I'm going to wrap him in cotton wool for as long as I can, after we get the dogs and we have another child - that's fine, at least the new baby will have an older brother to look out for him/her

not that I'd ever let a dog near a newborn / infant
beautiful staffy u got there, i'd take it and breed with mine if i had the f***ing room :(

best dogs evar
Mass
teq: I'd actually rate shepherds as one of the least likely dogs to attack/bite family. The nature of Shepherds is such that they form a strong pack bond that they will let you get away with almost anything. Thats why Shepherds are used as guide dogs in most countries. Its also why they are such good guard dogs, they will defend their pack without hesitation.

One of the biggest mistakes people make is recognising the pack structure and how the dog perceives it. Until a kids big enough/strong enough to handle a dog you should train your kids to be submissive to the dog, this will eleviate 90% of the problems. The other mistake people make is believing that they are the head of their pack when they have done nothing to enforce this with their dog.
You are definitaly a man of contradictions tequila, for one you want a gun in your house for self defence, but it doesnt worry you that a young kid could find this gun and cause itself harm, yet you dont want a dog, i'd wager that a dog is a better robber deterent than a gun.

You have a young kid, yet get into confrontations with people that have done quite minor things to you, even deliberatly allowing cars to crash into you, seems like pretty silly things for a young father to be doing, yet you dont want the remote chance that a dog could cause harm to your kid?

Young kids and dogs are fine, just teach your kids to respect the dog.

dogs > babies
silly doob, you are always getting your <>'s around the wrong way!

the government doesnt give you any cash monies for dogs
Pets (especially dogs) are awesome. We're raising a shepherd x labrador at the moment, generally she's great with the kids but they do get knocked over a bit when they play with her. They don't play with her unsupervised, ever.

Strange story, we adopted a f***ing cat from a shelter and had to take it back because it wasn't safe around the wife and kids. Most aggressive and twitchy animal I've ever known, he tore a chunk out of my wife's shoulder because he declared it was pat time and she disagreed.
Exactly Hogfather, the only injuries from animals my kids have ever gotten is from our damm cat scratching them, I mean the kids were pulling its tail or something silly and I told the kids that the cats gonna scratch them if they keep tormenting it and it did and they learnt a lesson I guess.
Yeah cats are more likely to do retaliate for sure.
And yes cat scratches and bites can have some nasty s***.

But if a dog snaps and turns the damage done by a dog in a short period of time is directly proportional to the size of the dog.

I am massively pro dog, but the dog is not a toy or child care.
Dogs are generally pack animals, and young ones are always lower in the pack order then older ones. If the dog decides the young one is acting up the dog might consider it as a threat to it's position in the pack and could attack, not with an intention to kill but to maintain pack order.

Then again you could start with the dog being in no doubt that the child is above it in the pecking order, but there is nothing to say the dog will agree for ever more about it.

I also would never put children with a rotti cross. But that's my personal prejudice as I have seen a rotti turn on a kid with out provocation putting the kid in hospital and the owner never saw it coming. They strike me as 1 person dogs more then "pack" dogs.
I had a cat that used to attack kids that pulled its tail (it was a bit of a psycho cat). Kids learned quick not to do it :)

I would love a dog but at the moment I don't have the time or inclination to walk them and give them all the attention they need, and I wouldn't get a dog if I could care for it properly. Our old neighbours used to have two awesome dogs that they never f***ing walked, and they were medium size dogs. Poor things were going crazy with boredom and regularly jumped the fence and caused all sorts of mischief.
rottis and staffies i don't think think there is a more bevan breed of dog
that's true paveway
i really question most people's motivation for owning a dog
Crusher
I just got a dog recently from the same situation as the OP... owner couldnt look after him anymore and had no time to exercise him or give him attention.

We got him sent down from coffs harbour last week, and now have a super friendly well trained 3yo siberian husky.

Good luck to the OP, dogs are such awesome animals... if worst comes to worst go to www.petrescue.com.au and get in contact with a few rescue places in the area.
the government doesnt give you any cash monies for dogs

last time i checked, dogs don't go to private school or need braces. i think you'll be a large way behind after the handouts.

rottis and staffies i don't think think there is a more bevan breed of dog

haha pave, so true. we just get mongrels from my sis' cattle station, they are so friendly and healthy (and FREE).

last edited by infi at 12:16:48 16/Sep/09
yeah I dont let our cat anywhere near the baby either, pretty much because the cat weighs 9kg and the baby only weighs 3kg

Mass
Our cat used to try and sleep on my toddler when she was a baby, had to be really careful. Now the toddler drags the cat around by the tail while the cat tries to get away...........karma does exist.
my younger sister got attacked by a huge rooster when she was a toddler. the rooster was about 1.5x her size n had those huge rear claw things that roosters have. she was pretty lucky not to lose an eye... got scratches all over her face before my old man grabbed her up n gave the rooster the boot.

i dunno what the point of my post is... but later i cut the rooster's head off & we ate it. for months afterwards my sister would carry the rooster's thigh bone around & wave it at the other chickens n roosters & yell "CHIGGN!" which i always thought was pretty funny.

sorry to random up you thread tanaka... but that's the way it seemed to be going ;)
Cats can be just as volatile. Although the kids quickly learn which ones to play with and which ones to avoid.

http://i327.photobucket.com/albums/k479/ontheinternet/7391/261_GingermegsHope.jpg
I mean, how is that cat not having a blast!!!!?
Your son is a rapist.

Not his fault that cat is asking to be raped.
Your son is a rapist. Not his fault that cat is asking to be raped.

I may have a bevan dog, but I don't dress my son in purple.
You are definitaly a man of contradictions tequila, for one you want a gun in your house for self defence, but it doesnt worry you that a young kid could find this gun and cause itself harm, yet you dont want a dog, i'd wager that a dog is a better robber deterent than a gun.

I can control who has access to my firearms, I'm confident that no one is going to accidentally shoot themselves with my weapons because of this fact.
I can't control when a dog snaps a brain cell and attacks for no reason.

You have a young kid, yet get into confrontations with people that have done quite minor things to you, even deliberatly allowing cars to crash into you, seems like pretty silly things for a young father to be doing, yet you dont want the remote chance that a dog could cause harm to your kid?

I don't mind confrontation, I don't know why so many people are scared of it
the reason there are so many wankers out there is simply because most people will avoid confrontation at any cost

Theres no law or guideline that says we should be a passive society and just shrug every little thing off
occasionally, even the weakest willed of you will have to stand up for yourself

my personality doesn't allow me to go through life letting people walk over me, I would sooner take my own gun and kill myself than just become a .. well, a softcock / pansy.

I can still let s*** go still, there are some times when I just can't be f***ed or its so minor / I can see that the person is about to fail as a result of being a wanker etc
but that can't possibly happen every single time.

I actually see examples of it daily, wankers that drive right up the left hand lane that ends to try and get 1-2 car lengths in front, yet they get stuck behind another car and end up behind where they were

that literally brightens up my day almost every single morning
i am so manly. you are all pussys. rawr.
If you don't train your dog then you deserve to have it rip your face off. They're mans best friend at best and nothing more then a pack animal at worst.. Put in place the hierarchy and you don't get problems...
Oddly enough, a lost Staffordshire Bull Terrier followed me home today, it was delicious.
I will do that, I have every intentions of training my dogs very well
This is also part of the reason I'm starting with pure breads, I want to know their nature and everything about their parents

I still wouldn't trust them around a child under 1 or 2
pure breads

Sounds fresh and delicious.
Dodgymon
Slightly off topic.

This morning some low fat slut stole my 6 week old Rotty pup.
Chick pulled up outside my house and my other dogs were going mental at 5am so I got up to have a look and to me it just looked like she was having car problems. Later on it because apparent she was stealing the pup.
The girl looked to be in her late 20's early 30's. She looked to be tanned complextion (looked to be a kiwi) driving a old model light blue or silver hatchback possibly a madza 323 or Mitsibihi colt. Oh and she was a huge bitch.

I'm not really that worried as I was about to sell it but the thing I am pissed about is it probably didn't go to a good home.
hot tip, teach your kids not to provoke the animal and it won't retaliate.
did you take down her number plate dodgy? report it to the cops?
Plasma
Slightly off topic.

This morning some low fat slut stole my 6 week old Rotty pup.
Chick pulled up outside my house and my other dogs were going mental at 5am so I got up to have a look and to me it just looked like she was having car problems. Later on it because apparent she was stealing the pup.
The girl looked to be in her late 20's early 30's. She looked to be tanned complextion (looked to be a kiwi) driving a old model light blue or silver hatchback possibly a madza 323 or Mitsibihi colt. Oh and she was a huge bitch.

I'm not really that worried as I was about to sell it but the thing I am pissed about is it probably didn't go to a good home.

Chances are she would be in the area (unless you advertised?) so maybe drive around a few blocks and look for the car :)

You could even prowl google street view maybe? :)
hot tip, teach your kids not to provoke the animal and it won't retaliate.

lols
yeh I'll add a lol to that too
Dodgymon
Nah I didn't because it was 5am and I just assumed she was having car problems.
I didn't realise the pup was missing until later on tho.
And yeah there are only a handful of people that knew about the pup. I had not yet advertised it. I am pretty sure it was a friend of one of our neighbours that took the pup. I'm pretty sure they are drug dealers tho so maybe I might just leave that there.
We have reported it to the police but I know that will be a dead end.