Topic: Looking for a decent Barber
kr0wb4r
So I've grown a beared and it's starting to get a bit wild. I've kept it way longer than I ever intended to because the missus was so annoyed by it I loved it.

But now I want to get rid of it. But I want to get an oldschool shave and haircut at a barber with a cut throat - goto try everything once right?

I want to go today, asap, willing to travel to city or southside, or anywhere just outside the cbd that has free parking ;D

Anyone know any?
Pretty sure Alex the barber: Mansfield is a cut-throat kinda guy.

I'd check first. He's in the middle of suburbia, Aminya St Mansfield.
Dunno about the whole beard thing - any barber with the red and white stripe colour/building design has a cut throat. They're a great way of spreading disease.

As for hair - best place evar is Fabulous Guys and Dolls at indooroopilly. Epic cuts for $20, done by azns.
vbcoder
catch the train/bus and visit the red & blue & white pole barber guy under education house between mary & charlotte st
my old barber at milton (free parking avail) uses a cut throat with a disposable blade

http://www.malegrooming.com.au/
kr0wb4r
Gave him a call, he doesn't do it anymore, reckons there aren't many that do it anymore. :( i'll keep ringing around I guess haha
Mantis
tequila, thats who i use (2mins away from work).

They are awesome with their automated SMS stuff and hot towel face massage.

And the chicks that work there are super hot.
Karl Anthony
Ground Floor Central Plaza 2
66 Eagle Street (opposite Riverside)
Brisbane
(07) 3221 9827
Karl Anthony

So they actually do it? Thats right across the road from work. Might have to check it out one day.
Tony Barber.
jadz0r

So I've grown a beared and it's starting to get a bit wild. I've kept it way longer than I ever intended to because the missus was so annoyed by it I loved it.

But now I want to get rid of it.

You're doing yourself a great disservice.
To have a beard is to rehearse, a battle with the universe.

-=CluBCaT=-
Karl Anthony

Right beside my work :)
hot towel face massage.

Place near my work does those, f*** there awesome!

Hairtalk: tbh, Lately I just cut it myself with clippers in a mirror.

Saves money and saves talking absolute s*** with a hairdresser (unless their hot).
Eddie down the arcade(Near Supa Cheap) at Moorvale (Moorooka shops)
Splash
agreed! Eddy is a champ. Nicest guy you will ever meet.

He has moved shop though, he's across the road now.
Nice thread, i'm in the same boat.. Got some wolverine chops that need some tidying and straightening up. Also gotta get head shaved bald..

cheers for links
WreckTim
beards are sweet. at my work i have to be clean shaven or if i grow a beard on leave i can keep it. much better than shaving at 3am.
i just use #3 blade to shave my head then #2 on my beard.

when i get rid of it tho i just use hair clippers then i shick quattro it. never had a cut throat shave tho so i can't help you.
place called felice's

4th avenue in sandgate.

near woolworths.

last time i was there he had the cut-throat out doing trims and tidy's
^^ actually near the old woolworths.
forgot woolies moved.

dont have to wait too long as well.
young bloke owns it. gets his old man in on the busier days. (pension day and sat morn i assume)
kr0wb4r
Okay so unfortunately I didnt't get a cut-throat job done.

I needed it done before mid arvo and the only place I could find that could do it in the time frame that I wanted I was quoted $52 for A f***ING BEARD SHAVE. wow so not many people do it these days but f*** me i'm not paying $52 for something I can do in 5 minutes.

I ended up doing it myself. Perhaps when I'm getting married or something I'll justify that amount of money but yeah. If you think i'm being cheap good on you, in my book 52 bucks for a f***ing beard shave is outrageously gay. what would you guys pay?
$51 maybe, but $52 is def too much.
kr0wb4r
less smart ass please infi. we know you can afford a 51 dorrah shave... but my question was more directed to the average qgl reader.. not the f***wits yeah? ;-)
you answered your own question. i would never pay anyone $50 to do something i can do perfectly well you donk.
kr0wb4r
well when I asked the question I didn't know how much it was. I assumed it wouldn't be ridiculous, now I do and I think it's pretty silly what they charge.
Just realised spacifik cuts on logan road in underwood uses a cut-throat, got tracks and beard cut their once, was only like 15-20.
step
Paul DeLuca on Stanley st, parking is behind the place. Think it's only around $20.
Bare Bones Barbershop

A mate went to this place the other day for a beard trim and said it was good. The website doesn't tell much axcept for address and fone.
visit the red & blue & white pole barber guy under education house between mary & charlotte st

where abouts? this could be my local.
xen
And I'm Dwevil's mate who recommended Bare Bones.

Similar situation to the OP - I had a beard about 6 weeks old and I was starting to look like a hobo.

I dropped into Bare Bones (Wynnum Rd Morningside) a couple of days ago, and they did a bloody sensational job. $8 got me a beard trim, and now I'm looking a lot less like a caveman.

Really oldskool place - Elvis memorabilia, boxing gloves, the whole 9 yards. You don't need an appointment. I'm definitely going back regularly.

HTH.
$15 @ TMH barber at garden city, next to toys 'r' us.

Just rocked up, sat down and was out within 5-10mins.
I've cut my own hair for about the past 5 years now. It's actually really easy to do, unless you want the latest hollywood style. Seriously, it's just: hold hair, cut, repeat.
some of us prefer to not look like bums.. and take care of our appearance..
I'll say it again, it's just, hold hair, cut, repeat.
We've all seen how you look though Billy so we all know the results of "hold hair, cut, repeat" and yeah...

last edited by Triamks at 15:24:59 14/Jun/09
haha fair enough :)
Just do it yourself you lazy prick
Karl Anthony, across the road form work also (Riparian Plaza).

They have cut throats there, resting in water, quite sure they use them.
now that i am a big boy, i shave myself, i have a a scruff unshaven beard most of the time and every now and then i just drop a 1 blade on it;
Normal hair clippers do the job or do you need some fancy beard shaver?
-=CluBCaT=-
normal do the job
normal
normal
Any more advances on normal?
normal
CvCompany

I use a set of normal ones on mine. No need for anything fancy.

Me > :)