Topic: Idea: QGL hookup database
RockitMan
This is a pretty sweet 'community' - very diverse occupations and everyone is always helping each other out for stuff. I've used several QGL hookups for things like web design, electrical work, and other stuff I don't even remember. There's also been heaps of threads where someones hooking someone up with computer gear, fish tanks, jobs, etc. I've also hooked people up with things from my line of work too.

The best part is that it's always top quality work/product.

So yeah, I reckon it would be good to have a QGL Member Hookup Database where you can find the contacts for all these different things if people want to list themselves.

Yay or Nay?
yeah, mates rates.
I thought this was going to be about a qgl dating site, who was dating who and I thought s*** that's creepy. I'm glad I was wrong.
as did I whoop
I came in here hoping I could hookup with paveways mum again, we lost touch years ago :(
I thought s*** that's creepy

I think creepy is a sexy, sexy man.

wait, this isn't a hook up thread?
ASL?
I too thought this was going to be a thread about dating QGLers. Turned out to be much better. :P

I'm all for it, could be helpful.
minimum 10,000 postcount
vbcoder
would we have a 1 to many relationship for kat.zip and hand?
23/m/rap

oh.

that sounds like an awesome idea.

trogdor, assemble!
Storm
minimum 10,000 postcount

pfft.
All my recent posts have no motivation behind them.

Also, I like this idea, get on it.
phathead
yeah this could be a good idea - p.s. anyone know of any good car resprayers in south / east brisbane ( i need my rear bumper bar touched up) - all the quotes so far are have been around $400 for a rear respray on the bumper bar - i cant really justify spending that much!

pfft at postcount
original series userID's only. eight digit uID's can go home as silly newbs.
A QGL Business Directory

First suggested in about 98/99, and rejected ...
Good idea.
Haha, says Mr 55763.
who in petes name has time to get 10 thousand posts
Could just add it to the wiki??
minxy just doesn't want to be plastered all over the 'adult services' page next to paveway's mum.
minxy just doesn't want to be plastered

is that like being glazed?
sLiNky
p.s. anyone know of any good car resprayers in south / east brisbane ( i need my rear bumper bar touched up) - all the quotes so far are have been around $400 for a rear respray on the bumper bar - i cant really justify spending that much!

If you wanted to travel to the northside I would say yes, but southside unfortunetely not.
great idea, vote 1 for dating database:
females qgl'ers start submitting bikini shots, NOW
be careful what you ask for...
XandraX
How about a QGL sisters database. Much more useful.
Janey
Think it'd be easier to just post a thread when you need help, then there's little to no obligation, and therefore potential help is more willing to remedy.

+1

For someone who works in a specfic area, it probably wouldn't hurt to be on the wiki... That way, we could look for someone who can do the work you need and discuss any applicable mates rates later.

last edited by mongie at 08:02:27 27/May/09
There could also be a "recommendation" list, where we can list good physios, chiropractors, etc :P
Don't forget dentists.
There could also be a "recommendation" list, where we can list good physios, chiropractors, etc :P

That to me sounds like a better way to do it, a list of recommended services/hardware/whatever, and maybe a section where people can ask for recommendations (which could then be added to the list).
Well I am always up for selling myself, so I am in
Farseeker
I've been working on a webapp that does this awesomely for local areas and friends. I should implement groups so QGL can have a home.

of course when it launches everyone will use it and love it (right?!?!), but posting threads works well enough really.
can anyone do me a deal on a credit card

I can sell you architectural lighting, or you can just do what boba did and portray not a care in the world to the quality of fixtures going into your place and purchase from beacon lighting.
architectural lighting

Is that a buzz word for 400% markup stuff from china ?

casa, you can beat the cost of beacon lighting and I will buy through you.
It would be best to add a "known professions" page to the wiki cross-referenced back to users.

last edited by infi at 12:59:28 27/May/09

My rough plan was to integrate something like this into the coming user profile stuff

qgledin
I think the best way is definitely to have a recommendations list as suggested by Stez.

Perhaps have a category for QGL members, and another one for non-QGL suggestions.
QGL interestingly has some very influencial threads. I have seen this forum come up in google search results for some really random stuff sometimes.
Yeah my chiropractor thread was page 1 google after 1 day! Chiros won't be happy
hookup database nets this thread as number 1 on the googles
i blame the googles for the massive influx of spam
seriously

yeh stopping spammers is rapidly rising up the priority list of TODOs. How empty are those losers lives, seriously
Pics or lieing
How empty are those losers lives, seriously
You'd think they would fit right in.
My rough plan was to integrate something like this into the coming user profile stuff

I thought one of the really old rules was that we weren't allowed to self advertise? I forget the reason but tell me I'm not crazy and that rule did exist at some stage or was that rule on ocau?
MatchFixer
I can see why Le cock has created a thread like this. It's so people will mention how awesome his protein shakes are and how much they're good value for money.

Well lemme tell you something. In 3 months I gained 7 kg's using his supplements (and god knows im a hard gainer) so his s*** works and is damn good value for money. His customer service is top notch too.

So if you want high quality supplements for decent prices and genuine advice, he's your go to man.

There, ya happy le cock?

;)

last edited by MatchFixer at 18:21:08 27/May/09
hah where does lecock work?
I work for myself developing and manufacturing sports supps (you may remember the 'aircon guy stole my sports supps' thread).

Thanks for the plug Match, glad you're getting good results :)

Still a month or two away from having everything how I want it (packaging, flavours, site info), then I'll put up a link with sweet QGL hookup discount.

Since the plugging has started - if you want kickass web design at sweet value hit up Nitro. I went through every design portfolio I could find and the only other firm that came close to his was some obnoxious wank firm that told me they only make sites for people with more than 10 employees and start at 15k.

and the only other firm that came close to his was some obnoxious wank firm that told me they only make sites for people with more than 10 employees and start at 15k.
hahah, was it Mammoth Media?! sounds like something they'd say
so lecock, you are like the guys in bigger faster stronger, who just make s*** on the cheap and charge heaps for it?

by the way, anyone who is interested in working out should watch bigger faster stronger, immediately;
In 3 months I gained 7 kg's

Just sink piss and eat s*** food. Much easier.
bigger faster stronger? never heard of it

edit: haha just watched a trailer for that movie, cant wait to see it.

last edited by Trin at 19:14:07 27/May/09
bigger faster stronger? never heard of it

edit: haha just watched a trailer for that movie, cant wait to see it.

do it:

ive never wanted to take steroids more in my life (although im not sure that was the point of the moofie)
Crakaveli
Well I am always up for selling myself, so I am in

In for this.
Le cock I'd be interested in that. The last two formulas I got (Xtreme catabolism+anabolism) tasted horrendous. Got halfway through the tubs and just gave up.

My mate scored some damn tasty protien shake last week, I might ask him what he's got and come back to you.
that xtreme stuff tastes terrible, my brother has it and I'm looking for a new one so uhh sell me on something o_O
^^that was me^^

agent 99 does not need protein shakes ^_^
boba
wtb an electrician to put in like 4 power points and an extra antenna point
Thats the sort of thing you should try yourself 1st Boba, What could go wrong???
:p
boba
effort
Thats the sort of thing you should try yourself 1st Boba, What could go wrong???

Apart from not wanting to bother, antenna points are relatively easy to do. You just need a splitter, and to get into your roof.

Not sure if he is still around, but I used to use Fabian from Access Antenna's for antenna work, hes really, really good, and not too expensive.
so lecock, you are like the guys in bigger faster stronger, who just make s*** on the cheap and charge heaps for it?

Yeah I just hire dirty swine flu mexicans off the street to work for me :P

Le cock I'd be interested in that. The last two formulas I got (Xtreme catabolism+anabolism) tasted horrendous. Got halfway through the tubs and just gave up.

Yeah there's a lot of bad stuff out there which is another reason I got into it. I spend ages on flavours. My new flavour range will be the biggest and best in Aus too - I'll have about 8+ different protein flavours and 2 different amino flavours, and the proteins will all be sold in 1kg size. That way you can mix and match proteins and flavours so everytime you have a shake it's different :) Currently working on cookies'n'cream, snickers, cherry ripe, banana, caramel latte, and of course already got a nice standard milkchoc and vanilla.

hahah, was it Mammoth Media?! sounds like something they'd say

Nah it was down in Sydney, PM me if you really want to know.

last edited by Le Cock at 10:11:06 28/May/09
Cheers Marcus!

Yes I use all Marcus' supps and they are great value, mix well and taste tops. I challenge anyone to a pose down.
only 1kg tubs? wouldnt that be expensive?

been tempted to buy a 20kg bag of powder being so much cheaper than the usual $90-100ish range of 4kg tubs of gainers