Has anyone been watching much of this?
The men's draw is shaping up to be pretty epic, Andy Murray is the only high seeded player to be knocked out so far. Another Federer v Nadal final would be quite epic imo. Though other players such as Tsonga look in great shape also. The quarter-finals start today, Roddick v Djkovic should be a good game. 7's coverage has been s***ting me a bit though. Due to DST Brisbane's night session coverage has been delayed by an hour or so. Who the f*** wants to watch Today Tonight or Home & Away? And also their ad breaks happen way too often and are too long. You usually end up missing a couple of points in the next game after each ad break. I realise it's free TV and they have to make money etc, but i'm comparing to this viewing experience to other sports i've watched on Ch 9 and Ch 10. |
| #0 09:48am 27/01/09 |
yea the coverage is on par with the olympics
channel fail FedEx looking strong as always -> when is the final on anyway? |
| #1 09:50am 27/01/09 |
Finals are on Sat for Women and Sun for men (both are evening games).
Federer looks ok, but if you didn't see it he nearly dropped the ball against Berdych and came back from 2 sets down to win. He was playing totally off his game in the first 2 sets. Then Berdych choked a bit so he was able to win. My pick to win is Nadal, just looks in amazing form atm. |
| #2 09:59am 27/01/09 |
totally agree i was hoping Berd was gonna win that, he just f***ed up so many simple shots because of nerves im guessing. was painful to watch - poor guy; definitely coming into some form tho.
Nadal - Fed final would be awesome |
| #3 10:04am 27/01/09 |
Why dont they broadcast it live in the HD channel?
| #4 10:20am 27/01/09 |
surely there is coverage of this on one of the 50,000 sports channels on foxtel??
| #5 10:24am 27/01/09 |
Why dont they broadcast it live in the HD channel? They have 4 digital channels that all show the same thing. |
| #6 10:26am 27/01/09 |
is it just me or is Roger Federer a f***ing master of this game? not just physically but mentally aswell
that guy was hitting his shots and he just waited back waited back and bam came through with the goods.. |
| #7 10:28am 27/01/09 |
whos the pscyho who has to have his towels/water bottles all in the same order because hes super-superstitious?
then he dropped his bag and nearly had a fit |
| #8 10:29am 27/01/09 |
I <3 tennis. Nadal will beat Federa.
| #9 10:36am 27/01/09 |
federa is a freak, i cant believe he won that game over the weekend
also, go dokic!!! im onboard with her droopy boobs! |
| #10 10:38am 27/01/09 |
awesome little updater
| #11 10:41am 27/01/09 |
FedEx looking strong as always Errr what... he played terrible and went 2 sets down the last match he played. He was lucky to come through that, if he played Nadal like that it would have been an easy 3 set match to Nadal. He's going to have to step it up now in the quarters, I do hope he can because at his best he is magic. |
| #12 10:41am 27/01/09 |
Errr what... he played terrible and went 2 sets down the last match he played.yeh but then he remembered he is the greatest tennis player that's ever lived and went on to smash that guy like the insignificant nothing he was, so it all worked out in the end |
| #13 10:44am 27/01/09 |
boba
also, go dokic!!!ditto |
| #14 10:46am 27/01/09 |
I'm confused. I thought we weren't supposed to like Dokic because she defected to play for her country of heritage. Or was that her Dad's influence?
Now I'm seeing her being a darling of Australian women's tennis in the eyes of the media. ??? |
| #15 11:18am 27/01/09 |
im gonna just blame her dad
| #16 11:19am 27/01/09 |
yeh but then he remembered he is the greatest tennis player that's ever lived and went on to smash that guy like the insignificant nothing he was, so it all worked out in the end exactly |
| #17 12:14pm 27/01/09 |
ratings for the tennis are only taken from the SD transmission.
ppl who watch the HD version of tennis arent counted in ratings. there is some ppl who claim that overseas viewers are getting the HD transmission but ch-7 wont do it for us. i blame Tennis Australia. TV owns Sport. |
| #18 01:36pm 27/01/09 |
Articuz
what about the mass withdrawals that we are getting.
didn't one woman whinge about the heat? |
| #19 02:06pm 27/01/09 |
I watched a little bit of it last night on the HD channel, is it just me or does the tennis not look that great even in HD, other channel's in HD seem to look better.
| #20 02:22pm 27/01/09 |
the only reason there is womens tennis is for some vadge to look at, it would be pretty boring otherwise
| #21 02:29pm 27/01/09 |
Its the SD on the HD.
Channel 7 wants you to watch SD so it can say to sponsors more ppl are viewing their ads. Since female swimmers wear those horrible suits now it leaves Tennis and Netball as the only upskirt sports on TV. |
| #22 02:34pm 27/01/09 |
Who takes time out of their lives to spend on watching this crap? It's a ball going back and forth. If this was a video game NOBODY WOULD PLAY IT.
| #23 02:36pm 27/01/09 |
Yeah 7 HD for Tennis really sucks dongs. I've read somewhere that it's SD transmission that's been retransmitted as HD (upscale) or something such crap instead of native HD res like 720p/1080i. Compare 7 tennis to 9 Cricket coverage really tells the story esp. on large screen TV... Edit: here's the article: http://www.tvtonight.com.au/2009/01/low-definition-tennis-for-seven.html last edited by Opec at 14:42:49 27/Jan/09 |
| #24 02:42pm 27/01/09 |
The Cricket on 9 looks...
Breathtaking |
| #25 02:43pm 27/01/09 |
I've read somewhere that it's SD transmission that's been retransmitted as HD (upscale) WTF, im not a tennis fan but thats just so dumb. Yeah great advertising for your freeview, how bout you sort of what you have first. I though the cricket looked heaps better. |
| #26 04:05pm 27/01/09 |
I'm confused. I thought we weren't supposed to like Dokic because she defected to play for her country of heritage. I don't get it either. The media has hated sports-persons for less. I think her apology went a long way, but at the end of the day she's still an angry little bitch. Not a fan. An occasional smile would be nice - she's so serious... |
| #27 04:18pm 27/01/09 |
Hmmm.. in regards to the SD/HD thing on 7...
The broadcast on their SD channel is definitely really crap, no doubt about it (obv, i mean its 576i). The HD broadcast (when it's actually on, instead of some retarded alternate broadcasting) is by no means as good as "real HD" like the cricket etc... but it is definitely at least little better than the plain SD. Of course Ch 7 sucks balls though and should just give a true HD feed. |
| #28 04:28pm 27/01/09 |
Just caught some of Roddick v Djokovic... Roddick was playing pretty awesome. Djokovic retired early on in the 4th set once he was down a break, i think he was exhausted from the heat.
| #29 05:45pm 27/01/09 |
Speaking of the HD s***.
I have a very average 37" LCD and cricket is a MASSIVE difference between SD and HD. SD looks like a fuzzy piece of s*** and HD is so crisp. The tennis on 7 looks identical between their SD and HD chans, the only diff is possibly the sound. That coupled with the fact all the night games are on delay and day games you miss the ends or starts of sets for f***ing bunnings ads... Ch7 set sail for fail... last edited by rubba-chikin at 20:38:20 27/Jan/09 |
| #30 08:38pm 27/01/09 |
Go Dokic!
I like her now that's she's cut her psycho dad out of the picture and finally got around to paying a rat to gnaw that gigantic mole off her face. |
| #31 09:54pm 27/01/09 |
Yeah the SD/HD channel for tennis is exactly the same, you might not be able to see the massive difference on your 37" but oh man it's all blurry and stuff on large screen which really is quite disappointing. Where as 9's cricket in HD is just wow so crisp and clear as you say. Strangely if you're in the US, ESPN actually broadcast the Aus open in 720p and other channel in 1080i.... f***ing channel seven.. |
| #32 09:54pm 27/01/09 |
Dokic is out, 4-6 6-4 4-6 to Safina.
interest in women's draw |
| #33 09:56pm 27/01/09 |
thanks for the spoiler tag on that
| #34 10:01pm 27/01/09 |
thanks for spoiling it you f***en f***** c***. die of aids.
| #35 10:01pm 27/01/09 |
Spoiler:
suckaaaaaaaaaaaas |
| #36 10:02pm 27/01/09 |
Dokic is out, 4-6 6-4 4-6 to Safina. You, my friend, are a massive dick. Relaxing evening in front of the tennis: over. |
| #37 10:10pm 27/01/09 |
Soz, was listening to it on 612 as i dont have a tv near my comp and completely forgot about the delay.
| #38 10:17pm 27/01/09 |
MatchFixer
Sorry it gonna cut it.
Get him boys... |
| #39 12:09am 28/01/09 |
Did anyone catch that game just then, Federer vs some other guy. He crushed his soul. Even headbutted a ball.
| #40 12:44am 28/01/09 |
fark, i missed it
looks like feds totally pulled that guy's pants down |
| #41 12:50am 28/01/09 |
Crusty old man
There was much destruction in the last Fed match. He barely broke a sweat.
Also, I'm pissed about the HD thing. That super slo-mo stuff would look awesome in 1080i. Also, Jim Courier is a dick. Couldn't play in the past and is an arrogant f*** now... |
| #42 01:02am 28/01/09 |
Spoiler:
federer is awesome |
| #43 08:10am 28/01/09 |
sparrow
Errr what... he played terrible and went 2 sets down the last match he played.yeh but then he remembered he is the greatest tennis player that's ever lived and went on to smash that guy like the insignificant nothing he was, so it all worked out in the end Qft Are you serious 'some other guy?' - Del Potro isn't just some random, good on Fed for getting back on his game and smashing him in straight sets! +1 for fed/nadal final, they always play great tennis. Are you all honestly getting delayed coverage tho? That's so s***! We're getting the 11o'clock matches live over here, then the later matches the next day, but that's only to be expected cause they would be on at 3am otherwise. |
| #44 08:22am 28/01/09 |
sparrow
Are you s***ting me 'some other Errr what... he played terrible and went 2 sets down the last match he played.yeh but then he remembered he is the greatest tennis player that's ever lived and went on to smash th |
| #45 08:26am 28/01/09 |
Are you all honestly getting delayed coverage tho? Some are live, some are delayed by 1hr. It's easy to pick it as they have a clock in the bback ground in a lot of the shots. |
| #46 09:32am 28/01/09 |
Dokic is out, 4-6 6-4 4-6 to Safina.posting spoilers is a 1 day ban, for the reference of those that aren't banned unlike this guy |
| #47 09:43am 28/01/09 |
good effort by dokic, man she hits the ball well
she pretty much was controlling the game, either winning or losing points after so many long games im not suprised she ran out of puff; |
| #48 10:05am 28/01/09 |
im onboard with her droopy boobs! And moley mole-less face! I'm glad she got that hanger on removed.. |
| #49 10:05am 28/01/09 |
that womans game was a bit of a joke after watching the game after it though
i had no idea womens tennis involved so many double faults |
| #50 10:14am 28/01/09 |
Roddick v FedEx tonight. Can't wait for it. I hope the temp drops a bit, they're predicting mid 40's in VIC, NSW, ADE... :( I hate it when players retire injured...
| #51 10:30am 28/01/09 |
Articuz
| #52 01:39pm 28/01/09 |
sparrow
I pretty sure the Roddick/Fed game is tomorrow night? Tonight is Nadal vs Simons and Verdasco vs Tsonga, finishing off the quarters. Also, I really can't stand watching womens tennis after mens. Honestly, they miss shots that I'm so used to the guys getting easily, and it just seems lame and half assed. |
| #53 04:16pm 28/01/09 |
I dunno, I'm pretty sure that photo shows the WHOLE ASS in women's tennis |
| #54 04:23pm 28/01/09 |
sparrow
Bike pants are so 90s, where are the skirts that show more ass? |
| #55 04:25pm 28/01/09 |
sparrow you might be right there.
| #56 04:50pm 28/01/09 |
| #57 04:57pm 28/01/09 |
Ross
I shouldn't be suprised but tennis fans are the most fair weather a******s going around. When one of us is losing its 'f*** off home to Croatia'. When they start winning again they reclaim their title as everyones love child.
I mean it has to be the most homosexual game going around, even the women's side of it gets television coverage. What the f*** is with that! I would rather claw my eyes out than watch two poofs hit a little yellow ball back and forth for 6 hours. |
| #58 05:10pm 28/01/09 |
Spoiler:
How many gay bars is trog ? |
| #59 05:12pm 28/01/09 |
damn straight, i watched the dokic game waiting for the federer game last night. it was really eye opening watching a master like federer after watching these girls(one of which is meant to be the number 3 player in the world) grunting and missing shots and serving more double faults in one game than roger or any of the top 10 guys have probably served in an entire year. last edited by paveway at 17:15:45 28/Jan/09 |
| #60 05:15pm 28/01/09 |
sparrow
Trog, that's a poor effort - shes wearing bike pants under the dress! Or is the 90s style more your thing, suit you age? |
| #61 05:31pm 28/01/09 |
All though he's currently behind, this Paris talking Frenchy dude is good! Hope he wins.
| #62 09:58pm 28/01/09 |
Crunch
Did I miss the bit where Dokic has suddenly become 'Australian' again (what is that, like the fourth time?) and everyone loves her?
| #63 11:25pm 28/01/09 |
step
Also, Jim Courier is a dick. Couldn't play in the pastlol. Did I miss the bit where Dokic has suddenly become 'Australian' again (what is that, like the fourth time?)She only did it once, she reverted back ages ago. |
| #64 11:46pm 28/01/09 |
How F^^KIN stupid are they to run the tournament at the hottest time of year ?
All the best players are multi millionaires so why would they risk heat stress injuries by taking a 20hr flight to Australia ? Ok im gonna have a big bitch about tennis. The game is boring now. Womens tennis is boring except when the girls where real pantys and are hot. Why do they show that same chase cam View every point ? its Boring They serve so fast you cant see the ball. Thats boring too. Why is the ball green ? It should be red like Cricket. Why do the Singles matches have to be played on Doubles courts ? Why does the crowd have to be so silent during points ? Grunting has to be banned. Why do they get 2nd serves ? thats too easy. That redicerous scoring method. Changing ends every 2 games ? should be every set. |
| #65 12:37am 29/01/09 |
yeah! and what is the deal with those faggy hats the ball boys wear
| #66 12:41am 29/01/09 |
Trust insom to be looking at "ball boys"
| #67 12:46am 29/01/09 |
Whats the deal with the cab drivers and the B.O
Yeah whats with tennis and people suddenly giving a s*** about womans sport? Womans rugby... now that would be hilarious television. |
| #68 12:50am 29/01/09 |
How F^^KIN stupid are they to run the tournament at the hottest time of year ?Part of being an elite athlete is being able to play well in all conditions. They had this debate yesterday when they closed the roof in the Williams match because of the extreme heat. I thought it was pretty lame they closed the roof. If it's hot, that's bad luck, it's just another factor that'll test your endurance. |
| #69 08:06am 29/01/09 |
haha god you are retarded faceman
| #70 08:37am 29/01/09 |
sparrow
haha god you are retarded faceman +1 I agree that playing in the heat is part of being an elite athlete, but there should defintely be a limit - I heard that at one point during the matches the court reached 55-60 degrees celcius, which noone should have to move in, let alone play watchable tennis. I hope the fed/roddick game doesn't go too long tonight, because it's on at 1:30am here, which is going to make work painful tmro :/ |
| #71 08:46am 29/01/09 |
Yeah why does the crowd have to be so silent, harden up, i know the people are alot closer, but there is a s***load more people and it doesnt happen in Leauge or cricket.
Also i dont care for them complaining about the heat, Im not a tradie, but im sure its pretty hard being in the heat all day doing that sort of stuff, and they dont get payed a couple of hundred thousand for a couple of weeks work. Yes I know they are running around and stuff, but its there job and they get payed f***loads. |
| #72 09:04am 29/01/09 |
i thought it was pretty obvious the concentration required in tennis is pretty intense, i know the same is required in cricket but as someone said the crowd isn't anywhere near as close
and rubgy league lol why was it even mentioned |
| #73 09:10am 29/01/09 |
Why does the crowd have to be so silent during points ? Actually this one thing s***s me to tears. I love tennis but they are sissy about "quiet please". I am an international volleyball umpire and one thing we love in volleyball is the crow being as loud as they can during the service. Same as in basketball when the crowd are waving brick signs during free throw etc. Harden the f*** up tennis. You get two serves vs. volleyball and basketball only one shot. |
| #74 11:14am 29/01/09 |
sparrow
Well, it is a 'gentlemans' game. You can handle expect them to change tradition after so many years. |
| #75 11:22am 29/01/09 |
I think it'd be ok if the noise of the crowd is constant. However, I also think because the tennis ball move so fast they'll really need to concentrate really hard to catch it. I think the crowd only really need to be quite when the player is serving though because I see plenty of "ohhhh, ahhhhhhh" during the point, especially for the long rally. I also think it's a left over from the olden days when tennis was played by the gentile class and they're pretty snobby about that sort of thing I guess :/ |
| #76 11:26am 29/01/09 |
i think main court is a pretty enclosed space with a big crowd
if the crowd was allowed to make all the noise they wanted, that would be extremely intimidating im happy with no noise during points |
| #77 11:29am 29/01/09 |
Yeah I like the no noise as well.
It makes the noise at the end of a good point actually mean something. |
| #78 11:33am 29/01/09 |
s*** yer, increases the tension!
| #79 11:46am 29/01/09 |
Yeah I agree to certain extend, there's tough and then there's dangerous. The heat went up to something crazy like above 40c that's waaaaaay too hot do be out side, let alone pro-level exercising. People can suffer serious injuries from extreme heat it's a duty of care the organiser need to be aware of. If I were a player that earn a s*** load of money playing sport and rely on my being fully fit, I'd be wanting some sort of safety measure in place, otherwise you won't get top players coming to play. Full credit to bother players and the organiser to keep the game going though and not cancel it, considering the extreme heat we're talking about yesterday. Now I hope tonight's game won't be so damn hot etc.. should be an epic match, at least I hope so.! |
| #80 12:33pm 29/01/09 |
I would have to agree with that.
45 degree weather is not something you can do prolonged hard exercise without starting to risk serious injury or even death. A lot of the players are already pushing themselves to extreme levels in some games to stay in 5 setters etc, extreme heat is going to start becoming dangerous in those situations. It bad for the spectators as well, they get denied seeing players at their best. |
| #81 01:32pm 29/01/09 |
I agree entirely - part of the physical aspect of the sport is being able to adapt to the conditions. This time last year I did two 6 hour solo races in 38 degree heat (my 2nd and 3rd ever attempts) and came 13th both race as a result of everyone else pansying out.
Similarly when I used to play basketball I used to much prefer summer seasons - I would keep going at the same rate in 40C heat, whereas I'd suffer during winter when the humidity was higher. Last night they canceled races at two venues, and tonight they've canceled as well. The Tuesday night ones on the other hand, the last three Tuesdays it's been over 38C here, and all have been run. The nature of sport alone you're putting your body through a lot. Just because the conditions are harsh doesn't mean the sport should be called off - besides, what's harsh for one athlete might not be for another. If athletes want to pull out in favor of their own health, that's their decision. I'd probably bitch and whine if I had to play in -5C weather. Others would be fine. But that's my problem to deal with. |
| #82 02:43pm 29/01/09 |
I went to the Nadal vs. Simon match at Rod Laver last night. Was good, never been there before. If you're in Melb I'd definitely recommend going to the tennis at least once - gives you a different perspective. After watching the tennis today I'm trying to work out if I think Elena Dementieva is hot. I think she's one of those birds that's hot sometimes and not sometimes. About the heat, I've got an 800m/26km/8km triathlon on Sunday - hopefully it will be a bit cooler by then though. Plus they start at 8am so that's a pretty cool sorta time of the day really. Long as it's < 30'C she'll be right. |
| #83 03:41pm 29/01/09 |
Articuz
Grunting has to be banned. I agree completely.. |
| #84 03:49pm 29/01/09 |
About the heat, I've got an 800m/26km/8km triathlon on Sunday Whats the 800m doing? |
| #85 04:01pm 29/01/09 |
^I'd say swim leg of the race.
| #86 04:17pm 29/01/09 |
go Roger
about to start :D |
| #87 08:39pm 29/01/09 |
kos
Spoiler: Federer way too good... This Cash-Wilander game is pretty lols. |
| #88 10:40pm 29/01/09 |
Pro tip, don't log into MSN - the stupid MSN news thing that pops up has the f***ing results of the Federer match |
| #89 10:31pm 29/01/09 |
Wonder if they (ninemsn hence channal 9) realise it f***s over channel 7 viewers in brisbane giving away the scores "early", doubt it was deliberate but pretty funny either way.
| #90 10:39pm 29/01/09 |
roddick out aced by the fed 16 to 8! he's on fireee
| #91 10:53pm 29/01/09 |
nadal has to watch his back imo
| #92 10:56pm 29/01/09 |
Should ban it for a day |
| #93 12:21am 30/01/09 |
I could never hope to convey in mear words how much I hate and detest tennis. It is one of those sports that should never hold even a nano second on Tv just like frigging golf.
| #94 12:35am 30/01/09 |
MatchFixer
It's Mere.
| #95 01:07am 30/01/09 |
taipan = unaustralian
| #96 05:59am 30/01/09 |
Pro tip, don't log into MSN - the stupid MSN news thing that pops up has the f***ing results of the Federer matchShould ban it for a day Über-pro tip: disable it in options (Under General->Show 'Windows Live Today'). |
| #97 08:20am 30/01/09 |
Grunting has to be banned. Do you want to ban male grunting or female grunting? |
| #98 08:58am 30/01/09 |
Roger Federer gives me a broner
| #99 09:17am 30/01/09 |
sparrow
Roger Federer gives me a broner +1 |
| #100 10:12am 30/01/09 |
Über-pro tip: disable it in options (Under General->Show 'Windows Live Today').holy f*** how did I not know that was an option? Aside from last night's spoiler I'm actually tempted to keep it on. I'm always entertained by the fact that I have the News->Goss slider all the way over to the News side and the sort of items I get (eg, right now I have as the 3rd headline, "Blog outing: Thorpe forced to deny he's gay... again". What a pack of retards. |
| #101 10:21am 30/01/09 |
sparrow
You knew there was a news->goss slider, but you didn't know you could disable it? I haven't had that popup since I was 14. Back on topic - as awesome as it was watching fed play last night, probably not worth losing sleep over to see him so easily beat roddick. As usual, looking forward to a fed/nadal final - always a good show. |
| #102 10:32am 30/01/09 |
it's awesome to watch him play anyone
and also lol trog i always disable the f***er whenever msn is installed after a format or whatever. most annoying s*** ever |
| #103 10:37am 30/01/09 |
Nadal v Verdasco game is still going atm, really great game so far.
| #104 12:28am 31/01/09 |
Gesthemene
I'm always gobsmacked by the stamina of the elite level of men's tennis... Almost 4 hours so far, and they're still utterly spectacular. Say what you like, they definitely work for their money...
| #105 12:38am 31/01/09 |
kos
Was about 4.5 hours by the end of the 4th set, but the fatigue is starting to show in the 5th I think. |
| #106 12:48am 31/01/09 |
hope nadal loses
| #107 12:54am 31/01/09 |
kos
Oh my god... plays for 5 hours 14 minutes and loses with a double fault! Longest game ever at Melbourne Park apparently. |
| #108 02:27am 31/01/09 |
and after 5 hours he was still serving at 215km/h !
| #109 01:11am 31/01/09 |
Why the f*** do I always click on this thread just after someone has posted an epic spoiler.
gg |
| #110 01:19am 31/01/09 |
Nadal gives me a boner
| #111 03:27am 31/01/09 |
I was a teenage hand model
focus that on running faster
| #112 04:28am 31/01/09 |
my slider is set for maximum goss
| #113 08:09am 31/01/09 |
So is there any chance of bris getting a live game from melbourne this year?? Or are we going to get the finals delayed also?
| #114 10:44am 31/01/09 |
So is there any chance of bris getting a live game from melbourne this year?? Or are we going to get the finals delayed also? Pretty sure the finals will be live. It was the same deal last year - all the night sessions were delayed except the finals. Although come to think of it, they were afternoon games last year. But anyway, the TV guide has coverage listed to start at 6:35pm which suggests it will be live. |
| #115 10:59am 31/01/09 |
f*** daylight savings yet again
| #116 11:02am 31/01/09 |
Not really, we get cricket games from around the country live on channel 9.. so it's really f*** channel 7, and f*** home & away and today tonight
| #117 11:10am 31/01/09 |
Wasn't last nights game live?
Was a corker.. |
| #118 12:34pm 31/01/09 |
That Nadal / Verdasco game was some of the best tennis I've ever watched. I was gunning for Verdasco (not that I'd ever heard of him, just out of my usual feeling of going for the underdog when I have no emotional investment in a particular game, and a subliminal desire to annoy r_mazing) but was just super-impressed to see the quality of that game. |
| #119 01:11pm 31/01/09 |
Neg the Nadal v Verdasco game was on 1 hour delay.
Melb is 1 hour earlier with daylight savings so if you can see the current Bris time on the big court clock near the wall its delayed. It is pretty f***ing disappointing... Soap operas and s***ty media shows should NEVER take priority over something as big as the Aus Open... if that is their mindset they should lose the contract imo and give it to a channel that will give us good quality live coverage. last edited by rubba-chikin at 13:26:29 31/Jan/09 |
| #120 01:26pm 31/01/09 |
was a ridiculously good match.
tabasco played incredibly |
| #121 01:50pm 31/01/09 |
What and epic match holy f*** I cannot believe some of the shorts they've played after 4 hours of intense tennis in the heat... wow
| #122 02:08pm 31/01/09 |
Neg the Nadal v Verdasco game was on 1 hour delay. or show it on one of their 3 DIGITAL CHANNELS, preferably in HD ! |
| #123 02:12pm 31/01/09 |
kos
Yeah I think the fact that they don't even show it in HD on their HD Channel shows how much care they have for it. |
| #124 02:22pm 31/01/09 |
sparrow
I'm so pissed that I missed the nadal/verdasco game, especially after bothering to stay up and watch the fed/roddick slaughter. I didn't even get to watch the rerun cause I was working. I had never seen Verdasco before, but I'm annoyed that I didn't now - from the 20mins of the match I did see, he seems pretty good! Does anyone have some quick stats on him? |
| #125 02:33pm 31/01/09 |
kos
sparrow there is a replay of the game at 5pm today on 7 "due to popular demand", not sure what time that means for you Brissy people. Though I guess it will be condensed cause the game went for 5 hours and they're playing it 2.5 hours before the women's final. |
| #126 02:40pm 31/01/09 |
Are 7s 3 digital channels different frequencies though?
They are the only channel that has 3 standard def channels afaik and it always plays the exact same thing. I always figured they were duplicates or something. |
| #127 02:53pm 31/01/09 |
sparrow
sparrow there is a replay of the game at 5pm today on 7 "due to popular demand", not sure what time that means for you Brissy people. Though I guess it will be condensed cause the game went for 5 hours and they're playing it 2.5 hours before the women's final. That would be awesome, cept that I'm currently in Canada. |
| #128 02:55pm 31/01/09 |
kos
Hmm yeah I can see how that might get in the way of you watching it... Edit: zOMG THOUSAND POSTS!#@ |
| #129 03:08pm 31/01/09 |
Indeed it was a truly epic game... 6-7 6-4 7-6 6-7 6-4... you don't get much closer than that. I think there was only like 4 breaks the whole game? If Nadal didn't get that break at the end, i wouldn't have been suprised if the last set went on to 14-12 or something. IIRC it was like 193 points in the game to Nadal and 192 to Verdasco.
Verdasco's games against Tsonga and Andy Murray were also really good. I guess he's a player to watch this year. Anyway, can't complain about a Nadal v Federer final. I think Federer will take it in 4 sets, though they are both in great form i Federer has the advantage on hard court. |
| #130 03:02pm 31/01/09 |
I'm so pissed that I missed the nadal/verdasco game, especially after bothering to stay up and watch the fed/roddick slaughter. I didn't even get to watch the rerun cause I was working.about 6 foot, incredible hair, bronze skin, Spanish accent |
| #131 03:10pm 31/01/09 |
sparrow
about 6 foot, incredible hair, bronze skin, Spanish accent Not the stats I had in mind, and also nothing new to me :p |
| #132 03:17pm 31/01/09 |
There is this awesome new wikipedia thing. Maybe if you use that you'll be able to find some stats.
| #133 03:19pm 31/01/09 |
sparrow
Yes, but I am inherently lazy and figured someone wouldn't mind showing off their awesome tennis-trivia knowledge. |
| #134 03:21pm 31/01/09 |
great game
if verdasco had won the aussie open i would have spewed. he's already nailing ana, how much luck can one man have? |
| #135 06:21pm 31/01/09 |
kos
great game Apparently they split? |
| #136 06:31pm 31/01/09 |
I'm not much into watching sports on tv, but I love the tennis
It's just so addictive to watch, been on the edge of the couch many times already, it's f***en great! (y)(y) |
| #137 06:34pm 31/01/09 |
could jim courier(if thats him) suck up nadals ass any more give me a break
| #138 09:27pm 01/02/09 |
could jim courier(if thats him) suck up nadals ass any more give me a breakf***ing A; he made a comment before like "we know who's going to win this match"... he did the same thing in the Nadal match the other night in like the 2nd set, then it went on to be one of the closest games I've ever seen. f***ing keep your predictions to yourself buddy. Also, go k-fed |
| #139 09:53pm 01/02/09 |
im worried bout some of fed's unforced errors tho :S
hope he get up cant help but like him and they way he handles himself on the court / off the court |
| #140 09:56pm 01/02/09 |
Nailbomb
could jim courier(if thats him) suck up nadals ass any more give me a break haha yeah. I really wish tv channels could broadcast the commentators on a separate audio stream to the players/crowd that could be selectively muted. It would be nice to listen to the match without courier rubbishing on about how sexy Nadals mussels are, man that guys got a raging boner for him. |
| #141 10:06pm 01/02/09 |
hef
| #142 12:39am 02/02/09 |
What was fed sad face about? Made me sad face :(
| #143 12:40am 02/02/09 |
^^ true. but he's a champion.!!!
great game. nadal is a gun. |
| #144 12:41am 02/02/09 |
I thought that post match coverage was f***ing terrible...
He has every right to be upset after pretty much bombing the final set of an epic 5 setter. Was so close to the record and #1 ranking again but just couldn't finish it. It was Nadal's night but it kinda went - Awwww Roger didn't get the 14th win, it's ok he's bound to get it soon. Oh BTW Nadal is the champion. Plus 15 sec HD closeup of him tearing up... f***ing hell give the guy a break! Ch7 should be banned from broadcasting any kind of sports ever again. |
| #145 01:08am 02/02/09 |
Was a pretty great game.
However, one thing that really s***ted me was a lines call made late in the first set. The game was still on serve, and Nadal was serving, and it was Advantage to Nadal. Federer made a pretty good passing shot that was called out soon after Nadal netted it. He challenged it and it was actually in by a little bit, but since Nadal got racquet to it, the point was replayed instead of counting as a point for Federer. So Nadal got a fresh 2 serves on the Advantage side of the court which Fed had been having trouble with. Anyway, i guess bad calls are a part of the game. And yeah, the post game coverage was s***. BL Federer, would have been really sweet if he won. |
| #146 01:42am 02/02/09 |
what pissed me off was the f***ing retard in the audience that yelled 'out' on nadal's shot which federer left on the second last point when they were at deuce, only to be told it wasn't a linesman's called and sorry thats championship point to nadal.
| #147 07:39am 02/02/09 |
epic tennis
| #148 07:42am 02/02/09 |
Yeah what a f*** head, I mean I don't think it would've made that much of an impact on the result really but still f***ing idiot. Another epic game, Rafa is a supreme athlete both physically and mentally. To come off an epic 5 hours semi with tough opponent, and then 24 hours later to beat probably one of the greatest players ever in the final and he's only 22 ... wow.. let's hope he wins more. I like the way he play better than FedEx, more aggression. |
| #149 10:56am 02/02/09 |
Awesome game. I wish nadal would stop wearing g-bangers though because him picking out his wedgies EVERY_SINGLE_POINT is so off putting.
| #150 11:03am 02/02/09 |
f***ing A; he made a comment before like "we know who's going to win this match"... he did the same thing in the Nadal match the other night in like the 2nd set, then it went on to be one of the closest games I've ever seen. f***ing keep your predictions to yourself buddy. Both Jim Courier and John Alexander have some serious *tumbleweed* moments in their commentary. Particularly John Alexander, that guy just says some whack s*** some times. Funniest thing is when they cross to Roger Rasheed and his eyes are just darting everywhere like a crack addict because he doesn't know where the camera is. |
| #151 11:06am 02/02/09 |
I know his name is Rasheed and everything, but does anyone else think his tan looks completely f***ing wack?
| #152 11:09am 02/02/09 |
haha yeah it's like he's gone way too hard with a spray tan on top if already being pretty black
| #153 12:12pm 02/02/09 |
he also holds the microphone like a dumbell so everyone can see his big guns.
why the f*** are they crossing to a fitness instructor for special comments anyway? |
| #154 12:34pm 02/02/09 |
heh after consulting wiki, which i have been meaning to do for a while cause i've wondered what he has to do with tennis
turns out he made it to 192 in his own career.. coached lleyton hewit from 03 to 07 and is now coaching a frenchy. |
| #155 01:24pm 02/02/09 |
sparrow
I'm so cut fed didn't win, even tho I love nadal too, and he was obviously playing better. Everyone keeps saying what a good game it was, and maybe it's just cause I was going for fed, but I found it sooo frustrating! Federer just could convert any break points, he kept hitting either too long, or not getting ball over the net, and it looked like he gave up in the fifth :( Nadal is the man for being able to play two such awesome matches back to back, but I don't think he was playing federer at his best. Wish I'd stayed up for the ceremony tho. <3 fed. Oh, and I'm so tucking sick of the stupid commentators saying the same stupid thing over and over again! Not sure if it was the same in aus, but I wanted to slap them down a bit. |
| #156 01:26pm 02/02/09 |
yeah i agree
it was so damn frustrating watching the break points. he should have had it won at the end of the 4th set.. it was pissing me off how they were going on about the 'psychological blow' of losing the first set like he was going to go down in straight sets. after watching that first set i could easily see roger being able to win a set. that jim courier is a f***ing clown |
| #157 01:53pm 02/02/09 |
Yeah agreed. They always assume that if someone is losing, they must be at a psychological disadvantage.. which isn't necessarily the case.
And yeah Fed missed such a huge amount of breakpoints, in the 4th set he missed 3 clean break points in one game, then 2 in another. |
| #158 02:06pm 02/02/09 |
| #158 |