This is the most awesome fruit ever, $5 per hit. Thought not as good as what's grown back where I was born (google "Axis of Evil"), the aussie ones are still not bad. I think it's on par with a bowl of cherries, from an omnomnom-can't-stop-eating point of view. If anyone hasn't tried some before I highly recommend it! They pop up once in a while at woolies: http://homepage.powerup.com.au/~boldajis/images/p0.jpg http://homepage.powerup.com.au/~boldajis/images/p1.jpg |
| #0 06:52pm 19/11/08 |
Yeah saw these at Woolies, no idea how to eat them.
| #1 06:53pm 19/11/08 |
Reduaram
Pretty sure all the grenades are imported from America or another overseas country.
They're mighty awesome and a lot of people don't know what they are or how to eat them. Thermite: pretty easy, cut them into qauters and then eat the jewels. last edited by Reduaram at 18:57:34 19/Nov/08 |
| #2 06:57pm 19/11/08 |
wtf! They look strangely interesting. *Is on the look out*
| #3 06:54pm 19/11/08 |
no idea how to eat them. Cut it open. Just start plucking at the red bits without damaging them until you have a whole bowl of red seed/pulp. If there are any white bits or skin, etc .. take them out as you don't eat them. Grab a spoon and start eating. Here's a pic of what I mean: http://www.worldofstock.com/slides/PFO7741.jpg last edited by parabol at 18:59:23 19/Nov/08 |
| #4 06:59pm 19/11/08 |
$5 a piece?
it better have crack in it |
| #5 07:23pm 19/11/08 |
they're a messs
used to have one of these trees when i was a kid could've been rich! |
| #6 07:44pm 19/11/08 |
I think they are pretty s*** and not as good as the ones as in Iran. My Grandma had some plantation of this shiznits, was good as a kid visiting there.
| #7 08:06pm 19/11/08 |
I used to eat them when I was a kid and they aren't to bad. They are actually extremely good for you and are packed with Anti-oxidents. Worth a try for anyone that hasn't had one yet.
| #8 10:23pm 19/11/08 |
GuessWhosBackAgain
So Parabol and Le Infidel are both from Iran? interesting..
| #9 10:28pm 19/11/08 |
i love these, i just normaly pick them out of the fruit itself one by one. You can get these at some fruit shops 2 for $5.
If you eat enough of these it will constipate you and don't get it on your clothes because the stains will never come off hehe |
| #10 10:32pm 19/11/08 |
No, me mums from there mate. I dont think they constipate BigZub but do the opposite hehe
| #11 10:37pm 19/11/08 |
WreckTim
goes great made into a sauce with served with duck.
| #12 10:55pm 19/11/08 |
ATHLETech
oddly enough...fantastic with Lamb Shanks. Went to a dinner at a Persian families house (from Iran)and OMG - f***ing awesome!!!
| #13 11:09pm 19/11/08 |
They look delish - will try.
I reckon the reason no one knows what they are or what they taste like is that they're called "pomegranate". I thought pomegranate was a type of cereal grain or something! |
| #14 10:33am 20/11/08 |
i bought a nice big one from clayfield markets about a month ago. probably the best thing to ever come out of the middle-east.
i found the fastest way to separate the juicy seeds from the pulp is to submerse the fruit in a large bowl of water then break it open. the seeds sink and pulp floats.. so youre left with spoonfuls of pure pomegranate pwnage. |
| #15 11:17am 20/11/08 |
So Parabol and Le Infidel are both from Iran? interesting.. I was born there but don't look it (not completely Iranian by blood) and don't sound it (spent 3/4 of my life in .au), but I still get the benefits of the awesome food :) I thought pomegranate was a type of cereal grain or something! Sounds more like a cement mix to be honest. |
| #16 11:34am 20/11/08 |
this is one of those fruits (like dragon fruit!) that looks way better than it tastes.
| #17 12:44pm 20/11/08 |
Dragon fruit tastes like a weak kiwi fruit.. but yes, it is very nice looking... have to try out a pomegranate though... Has anyone has Durian, that fruit that smells like s***? Always wanted to try that but can't bring myself to do it, it's meant to be delicious though!!
| #18 01:36pm 20/11/08 |
Love teh pomegranate!
Also, Palmolive make an awesome pomegranate body wash! |
| #19 01:39pm 20/11/08 |
Palmolive make an awesome pomegranate body wash! I knew the name was familiar for some reason!! last edited by Joanna at 13:55:13 20/Nov/08 |
| #20 01:55pm 20/11/08 |
judge
had it in india all the time, 20c for a big glass of pomegranate juice |
| #21 01:40pm 20/11/08 |
DeathSyndrome
Pomegranate juice is meant to be really good, I used to work in a fruit store that sold it in organic for about $20-25 a liter. We also sold te actual fruit for about $2 ;)
| #22 03:32pm 20/11/08 |
blahnana
Don't eat pomegranate seeds, lest you spend half the year with Hades...
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Persephone |
| #23 04:03pm 20/11/08 |
Persephone isn't real, blahnana |
| #24 05:30pm 20/11/08 |
That's a bold statement trog. Do you have any proof to back up your claim ?
| #25 05:56pm 20/11/08 |
lies trog, lies.
http://images.allposters.com/images/152/matrix2_persephone.jpg also, PAMA, pomegranate liqueur is the s***. |
| #26 11:08am 21/11/08 |
Red
Has anyone ha(d) Durian, that fruit that smells like s***? Always wanted to try that but can't bring myself to do it, it's meant to be delicious though!! I was told: The first time you have it, you hate it. The second time you have it, you don't mind it. The third time you have it, you love it. So, so very true. Only problem is after eating it your fingers smell like arse for about 3 days after. http://img209.imageshack.us/img209/3366/img1227ul2.jpg http://img74.imageshack.us/img74/5602/img1229ez5.jpg |
| #27 11:25am 21/11/08 |
| #27 |