Topic: Christmas Day Dinner
Tim Tibbetts
I'm going to be up in Brisbane over Christmas and want to take my mum out for Christmas Day Dinner....is anyone able to recommend anything, not really too fussed over the price at this point. Sizzler is not an option :P
Im pretty sure "Brent's" in Toowong do fancy Xmas meals. I quite like the food there, but not everyone shares my enthusiasm for it. A full three course meal would set you back about 120 for two people (in total).
épic™
http://www.ourbrisbane.com/christmas/dining
Tim Tibbetts
Thanks Billy.

Epic - I can use google too :P Just wanted to see if anyone had actually been anywhere that was good.
sifn't cook it.
i think you'll find christmas day lunches are a bit bigger deal, myself and my missus are going to rydges in southbank for lunch, buffet type thing piss included on the top floor

we looked at a few others like brett's wharfe, sofitel etc all have similar things going on
I'll be baking a Turducken this year for Christmas, stuffed with three kinds of home-made sausages. I can't wait!
not all of us are pro-chef's in our spare time stinky D:
I'll be baking a Turducken this year for Christmas, stuffed with three kinds of home-made sausages. I can't wait!

I'll be stuffing my turkey with a home made sausage too!
Christmas at Stinkys.

We have Christmas Eve Nibblies and Beers with the Neighbours, Breakfast with Mum+Dad and Lunch with Mums side of the family.
I'm pretty over it by dinner and usually still stuffed from lunch.
Turducken sounds like the most ridiculous thing ever.

Are you serious that you stuff a chicken in a duck in a turkey??
I'd start booking now, don't these places fill up for xmas months in advance?
Actually there's a english recipe that uses 5 stuffed birds, starting with pigeon and working up to a large turkey.
thats pretty wrong

forget stuffing birds

i'd rather stuff myself with oysters and prawns + beer

Sausage you say ? I'd like to hear more.

I was thinking of the same but as a deboned rolled roasts, quail in a chook in a duck in a turkey in aham.
If you're going to all that effort obes, i'd consider just spit roasting (lulz MMF) a pig, would be just as awesome.
yeah spit roasts are nice ... with your mum
judge
I'm going to be up in Brisbane over Christmas and want to take my mum out for Christmas Day Dinner....is anyone able to recommend anything, not really too fussed over the price at this point. Sizzler is not an option :P

I might be doing the same thing, wanna go on a double date?

We could just cook them something at home..
Kilos
Actually there's a english recipe that uses 5 stuffed birds, starting with pigeon and working up to a large turkey.

Hugh Fearnley-Whittingstall did one with 10x birds on his show once.

It was f***ing ridiculous. And awesome.
Ross
Vertical roast a pot belly with the bottom of beer can as the grill contact
judge
Done this b4, works well esp if u leave the can half full

seconded for dinner at stinkys
spit roast, then eat it? that's a bit dubious. one or the other imo.
Tim Tibbetts
I might be doing the same thing, wanna go on a double date? We could just cook them something at home..

Done.
We usually do the prawns + ham route. Anyone know where you can get a decent quality smoked ham from? And will you have to order that s*** in advance.
ham is alright, except you're left with that f***er for like a month after and all you eat is ham on and for everything
Anyone know where you can get a decent quality smoked ham from?

Gern's
Will be doing christmas with the parents -

Breakfast is always champagne and OJ, ham and cheese croissants, and fresh strawberries and mangos with cream.

For lunch dad will do the glazed ham with cherries and cloves, massive cook up.

Seafood is generally reserved for boxing day.

Excited already!
I go for the good old BBQ steak and snags, few beers, have a nap then go swimming. f*** going out and getting dressed up, just chillaxin is fine.
fresh seafood. eat it anywhere. home/hotel/outdoors.

cant go wrong. the s*** will cost same or heaps less than dining anywhere on christmas day.

Take your mom out for xmas dinner ?

Dont be a lazy tightass

Put on a spread for her. For the whole family.

My mother LOVES xmas. She spends 2 months planning her food for the day.
Everything from pasta to salad to stuffing to lollies to garlic bread.
Curried eggs Ham Pork Chicken ....

Are you sure your mom Wants you to do this ?
Suggest to her that you would like to help her do a great xmas dinner.

I bet she says yes !
mom

This is not America ... its mum, ma, mother, old lady, old chook. Pretty much anything except mom
even on occasion i call obes's mum, slut

she likes that kind of thing