Ally
Hey Guys, I'm Ally from PR at Dreamworld. Thought you may be interested in our behind the scenes blog for our new V8 Supercars simulator attraction. The attraction is a full motion based platform simulator with a 180 degree fully immersing screen and it’s never been anywhere in Australia. Check out http://v8supercars.dreamworld.com.au/ for all the behind the scenes info - our engineers will be blogging about the technical and systems aspects of the attraction throughout the coming weeks so subscribe to the RSS feed if you're interested. Cheers, Ally. Media Release Dreamworld partners another Aussie icon and unleashes V8 Supercars power. 14 November 2008 In a continuation of its strategy to align with powerful brands and Australian icons, Dreamworld has announced a partnership with V8 Supercars Australia to bring the first full-motion virtual V8 Supercars experience to the country on December 17. Racing fans and gaming enthusiasts will have access to all the behind-the-scenes details of the attraction launch via a Dreamworld blog - http://v8supercars.dreamworld.com.au - from Monday, November 17. In what amounts to a “so real, it roars” experience, fans will be able to put themselves in the driver’s seat of one of four replica V8 Supercars associated with leading drivers. The line-up of cars and drivers will be announced on the Dreamworld blog. Fitted with collision detection and real dynamic mechanical vibration, the virtual ride straps challengers into a V8 Supercars racing world, with motion cues supporting on-screen action. Drivers will feel the vibration of the motor and the pull of the controls against asphalt as they pit themselves against three other simulator cars and 21 computer-generated racing cars over a six minute virtual race. Guests can challenge their favourite V8 Supercars drivers, the leaderboard, and each other. Three computer generated tracks mapped on actual racing circuits will be available on large display screens, with the first two tracks preparing drivers for the holy grail of all Australian circuits; Bathurst’s Mount Panorama. Dreamworld General Manager of Operations, Rob Buchanan said the new attraction would add to the strong line-up of powerful brands already in park including The Wiggles, the Mick Doohan Moto-Coaster, Nick Central and Big Brother. “V8 Supercars is a powerful iconic brand that has streamed into the Australian culture through more than a decade of racing and live television broadcasts. “Most Australians have grown up with the roar of the V8 engine on weekend television and the popularity of the sport today cuts across all demographic groups; from kids to mums and dads and grandparents. The V8 Supercars fan base also extends to our key source market of New Zealand and the emerging travel markets in the Middle East.” Dreamworld takes a collaborative approach to attraction development said Buchanan. “V8 Supercars has been involved in all facets of this development from attraction design, liveries, track development and mapping to bring an authentic V8 Supercars race to the public. The attention to detail is incredible and extremely realistic. Contestants will put themselves in the driver’s seat and actually feel the bitumen push against the steering wheel as they work through turns. “Just like a real race, they will also experience the jarring impact of a crash at high speeds.” |
| #0 12:22pm 18/11/08 |
[this post has been sanctioned] |
| #1 12:25pm 18/11/08 |
imo it won't be convincing unless you can play greg murphy and punch on with marcus ambrose. or vice versa.
grabbing someone by the helmet and punching through the visor is something no game has really captured yet. |
| #2 12:30pm 18/11/08 |
Reason: Spamming |
#3 01:13pm 18/11/08
I can't see anything (easily) on the web site that shows me what it is. The YouTube channel just has some boring vid and the Flickr channel has a picture of logos and a big jolly man.
| #4 12:48pm 18/11/08 |
http://v8supercars.dreamworld.com.au/index.php/2008/11/17/why-a-v8-supercar-attraction/
Why is it left hand drive? Edit: or is that a stock photo of an "American lefthand turn" simulator which will use the same technology? last edited by scuzzy at 13:33:09 18/Nov/08 |
| #5 01:33pm 18/11/08 |
tl;dr.
No pictures or video, no care. |
| #6 01:35pm 18/11/08 |
[this post has been sanctioned] first time eva!? |
| #7 01:58pm 18/11/08 |
The lack of actual footage or photos doesn't inspire me. As if you wouldn't pay Sega truckloads of cash to 'update' Daytona 1 with V8 supercars and add in a Bathurst track or something - Probably end up being a slight bit cheaper in the end..
| #8 02:47pm 18/11/08 |
Yer datona is a classic.
Still the whole attraction is the 'rumble' 'realistic' feature though. |
| #9 03:14pm 18/11/08 |
Resonate
Is there any extra cost in going on this attraction? And if so, how much? I mean only 4 cars with 6 minutes per race makes for some nice long queues during the summer holidays.
| #10 03:38pm 18/11/08 |
can we see it working ?
a picture is worth a thousand words. |
| #11 03:42pm 18/11/08 |
Lynx
Half way through the OPs post, I was thinking this thing needs chains, tasers and mace or I'm not interested. (Wait I'm thinking bikes here, ok how about smoke grenades, mustard gas and tire slicks)
Pity the mothers would be outraged and the pollies and media would be all over it like a itchy rash. last edited by Lynx at 16:45:01 18/Nov/08 |
| #12 04:45pm 18/11/08 |
Scorp
i think mrs PR / HR ally has gotten ahead of herself here...
although simulation gaming v8 cars large screen rss blogs it's got it all and it looks like they know how to market it (the right forum for it). hopefully ally didnt just single bomb this place, she will come back with more MEDIA to support her attraction and not crap taken from american left hand drives. i'm very intersted and this might get me to renew my annual dreamworld membership. |
| #13 04:22pm 18/11/08 |
Maybe if Dreamworld didn't look like a construction site every time I went there, I may have been interested. And I don't know what the construction is for since all the buildings look dilapidated, have no immersive atmosphere, and just generally look like someone with little to zero Rollercoaster Tycoon experience must be managing it.
| #14 04:24pm 18/11/08 |
^ LOL job application: Must have finished rollercoaster tycoon 1,2 and 3.
| #15 04:33pm 18/11/08 |
Ally
Hey Guys, Rest assured, more video,pics etc are coming...the blog is only 1 day old and the attraction is in the very early stages of construction - the cars have not been delivered yet and we are in the process of renovating the 'Cyclone Shed' next to Flowrider into the home of the attraction which will feature a winners podium etc. The blog is a 'making of' site so as we get more images, video of construction etc we will most definitely post them up there - the video up at the moment is just a very rough clip to show where we are building it. The left hand drive photo is of the american simulators as this attraction will be the first of it's kind in Australia - we will post photos of the left hand drive when the simulator cars are delivered.....again though, this is stuff that engineering and operations will be blogging about in the weeks to come. Just asking for a little patience as yet - the good stuff is coming. We will all be regularly updating the blog site with footage and info on installation and any problems we encounter with the systems, conversion of Bathhurst footage and making the cars right hand drive etc. Allyxx P.S. It's Miss, not Mrs - you're making me feel old! :) |
| #16 04:51pm 18/11/08 |
pics or lying
| #17 04:53pm 18/11/08 |
Oh no - female posting on a gaming forum!
| #18 04:55pm 18/11/08 |
Red
beaten. and seconded.
Also, does anyone else find the term 'Blogroll' is a little too close to 'bog roll'...? last edited by Red at 16:59:44 18/Nov/08 |
| #19 04:59pm 18/11/08 |
Ally
Paveway...what do you mean "pics or lying" ? I'm confused...and not lying, we will post more stuff as time goes on, promise :) Allyxx |
| #20 04:59pm 18/11/08 |
Oh right a making of blog, well it'll be interesting to keep a watch on it although the audience of this forum (and most internet/gaming ones) have little to no ability to maintain an interest so if its not here and now then the boat might've been missed.
I'd suggest once the site has some content then make a new thread or bump this one to re-stimulate the interest. PS: Didn't Nova work at Dreamworld as a costume designer? (not directed to you Ally but to the general gaming community.. mostly blahnaananananana) |
| #21 05:04pm 18/11/08 |
Ally
For those who have asked to see what it will be like - here is a Youtube link to footage of the american nascar simulators - the screen colours are a bit washed out but that's just how it turns out when you film it. Much more vivid in person. http://au.youtube.com/watch?v=l2pktbjGwqs |
| #22 05:05pm 18/11/08 |
Needs huge bumpers that pump the car frame when you hit a wall or something..
Nah looks pretty sweet! |
| #23 05:20pm 18/11/08 |
Anono
again will admission cover the cost of the attraction or will there be a "ontop" fee to take the ride?
| #24 05:52pm 18/11/08 |
I'd imagine its just like the other arcade machines.. which cost money ontop.
(may or not be correct). |
| #25 06:19pm 18/11/08 |
Scorp
omgosh she posted again, this is going to happen... awsome :)
Ally, 'pics of lying' was just a joke about you being a miss and not mrs, sorry for that also. Very much looking forward to seeing this come about and watch the progress the engineers make. Extending this info to various other blogs and forums as well. Expect your blog hits to explode ;) |
| #26 07:00pm 18/11/08 |
Any gurls going to this newest attraction??
| #27 07:23pm 18/11/08 |
| #28 08:38pm 18/11/08 |
Ally
omgosh she posted again, this is going to happen... awsome :) Ally, 'pics of lying' was just a joke about you being a miss and not mrs, sorry for that also. Very much looking forward to seeing this come about and watch the progress the engineers make. Extending this info to various other blogs and forums as well. Expect your blog hits to explode ;) Woohoo! Blog hits a plenty coming huh? Thanks heaps! For everyone that's asking, it's $10 for the drivers seat and $5 for the passenger seat...kind of like FlowRider in that respect. |
| #29 10:46pm 18/11/08 |
Concept is pretty cool I have to admit, $5 for a passenger????
Umm, no Don't get me wrong, sounds like a fun idea apart from $5 for someone else most likely providing a poor experience doesn't seem worth it to me. |
| #30 03:22am 19/11/08 |
Nakor
didnt they have something similar at indy this year? only read about on the website, never got down to see what they were on about
| #31 03:36am 19/11/08 |
So you pay $69 to get into Dreamworld and then have to pay for attractions on top of that?
Are they trying to out-ripoff the Ekka or something. |
| #32 09:38am 19/11/08 |
omgosh she posted again, this is going to happen... awsome :) do you purposely try to sound like a retard? |
| #33 09:45am 19/11/08 |
And then you have to pay like $20 for lunch too Ticman. 4$ for a Drink and what not.
Terms of entry say you're not allowed to bring in outside food. They always had extra stufff you had to pay for in DW though. Ages ago they had the Dogem Cars exit into the Arcade area with all the Arcade machines (all cost money) and even things like the Air Rifle range cost extra to play. Still decent place for tourists/Visiting people to waste a day at, just sneak food/drinks in and only go on the free rides. Plenty of stuff to keep you going for the day. Scorp seems like he's trying to get Ally.zip |
| #34 09:53am 19/11/08 |
Ally
Hello everybody! FYI new blog is up from Ops - they'll also answer any q's you have systems wise. Marty our tech guy is ready and waiting to talk systems so anything you want answered, leave us a comment at v8supercars.dreamworld.com.au Ally. PS. You can see a pic of me at the blogsite for anyone wants picture proof I'm a girl! lol. |
| #35 01:42pm 19/11/08 |
Ally
Hey guys, Technical blog from engineers are up - check it out at http://v8supercars.dreamworld.com.au/ Ally |
| #36 04:31pm 20/11/08 |
Thanks Ally. I will hopefully be able to follow this development with keen interest.
| #37 04:39pm 20/11/08 |
why has noone posted the pic of ally yet?
has qgl lost its way? |
| #38 04:53pm 20/11/08 |
someone do it thats not hosted on flickr, it's blocked here where i am D:
| #39 05:00pm 20/11/08 |
Ally
Guys - Yesterday I posted a comment on Rob's blog - 'V8 Supercars Got to Get it' for the express purpose that it uses my gravatar and you guys can see my picture. Go to ... http://v8supercars.dreamworld.com.au/index.php/2008/11/19/v8-supercars-got-to-get-it/ and see the very first comment.....then leave some yourselves, engineering will answer all questions on the blog site. |
| #40 05:04pm 20/11/08 |
Ally,
is the costs still in debate? $10@6mins for the driver is OK providing that the machine is really that fun. The passenger should be free though. The running cost would be the same with or without them, so it is a bit dodgy charging for them. Add on top of that the entry cost to Dreamworld, paying the $5 to basically watch is a bit rich. |
| #41 05:07pm 20/11/08 |
ally, hey baby whats doing?
| #42 05:11pm 20/11/08 |
would do
| #43 05:12pm 20/11/08 |
Ally
Hey Guys, Some great questions are popping up here. Can we move them over to the blog site though? Our not so forum savvy operations people find it easier to reply to you there...and they're the ones with all the answers. Cheers, Ally. |
| #44 06:01pm 20/11/08 |
Reduaram
I'd hit it.
The old man is hot. |
| #45 08:17pm 20/11/08 |
Scorp
*BUMP*
So whatever happened to this? |
| #46 10:38am 30/01/09 |
Tarentagore
Unless I can purposely lose control, flip off the track and take out some bogans, count me out.
| #47 11:51am 30/01/09 |
| #47 |