Max pushups: Max chinups: Max situps: BMI: I suppose if you're Max pushups: 45 Max chinups: 19 Max situps: 50 BMI: 19.5 |
| #0 07:58pm 24/10/08 |
What type of chinups, what type of pushups, what type of situps.
| #1 08:02pm 24/10/08 |
The type you do on one finger while fighting off a gorilla and a tiger at the same time.
| #2 08:08pm 24/10/08 |
Speaking of fitness, what's a good way to lose my gut. I go to the gym most days but I don't do anything crazy there. 30 minutes on the rowing machine and 30 minutes on the bikes then go home.
So I'm happy with how I am but for some reason it's taking ages to lose weight around my stomach. Also know that just doing those two things isn't gonna be the best for losing weight there either. last edited by Reverend Evil™ at 19:11:39 24/Oct/08 |
| #3 08:11pm 24/10/08 |
Max pushups: 46
Max chinups: 20 Max situps: 51 BMI: 19.6 |
| #4 08:23pm 24/10/08 |
also is that the amount of pushup situp and chin ups in minute?
| #5 08:23pm 24/10/08 |
damn, cant embed this youtube video but here is something for you phooks
also Rev, that gut is to stay there for life, welcome to the middle ages! http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=VQXECBdPgEA |
| #6 08:24pm 24/10/08 |
Max pushups: 0
Max chinups: 0 Max situps: 0 BMI: 24.2 sif exercise. |
| #7 08:26pm 24/10/08 |
God damn Olivia Newton-John was gorgeous back then
| #8 08:32pm 24/10/08 |
Max pushups: 23
Max chinups: 1 Max situps: 15 BMI: 24 |
| #9 08:32pm 24/10/08 |
Hybr|d
Max Pushups: 47 in 1 Minute. No clue about max, might try now.
Max Chinups: 12? 15? 90kg bw + 15kg plate x 8 Max Situps: Infinity ? =\ have no idea |
| #10 08:37pm 24/10/08 |
bmi is 100% useless
my bmi (33.8) theoretically makes me morbidly obese but i'm not - 6'8" & 300lb http://www.nhlbisupport.com/bmi/ |
| #11 08:45pm 24/10/08 |
ISWYDT bah.
also rev, just eat healthier. few hours exercise/week should be fine if you're not eating maccas every 2 days. last edited by Phooks at 19:47:51 24/Oct/08 |
| #12 08:47pm 24/10/08 |
crazymorton
14 schooners a night ain't helping rev!
oh wait thats me............ |
| #13 08:49pm 24/10/08 |
BMI: 24
As for the rest, pfft bwahahahahaha I can do over 500 hulahoops on wii fit though :D |
| #14 08:59pm 24/10/08 |
Rev, that gut fat is really hard to get rid of. It is one of the last places to go, so you'll have to exercise heaps to get to it.
| #15 09:10pm 24/10/08 |
i'd watch that video kat
| #16 09:15pm 24/10/08 |
Chinups depends on how strict they are done.
I max out around ~35 really good ones (full dead hang/extension/no swing each rep), but could probably do 70 - 80 quick reps how most people tend to do them. Pushups/situps, never do them. BMI: 18.2 |
| #17 09:39pm 24/10/08 |
heavy_rocker
Max pushups: 30
Max chinups: 16 Max situps: 52 BMI: 6.7 |
| #18 09:49pm 24/10/08 |
in a minute
max sit up: 75 max pushup: 45 max chinup: 12 |
| #19 09:58pm 24/10/08 |
Rev isn't fat. He's hot
| #20 10:13pm 24/10/08 |
Aww, shux Kat. You're not too bad yourself.
grrrr |
| #21 10:17pm 24/10/08 |
Oh you! re-reow |
| #22 10:17pm 24/10/08 |
eu4ia
Max pushups: 100
Max chinups: 15 Max situps: 30 BMI: 19.1 If you've always sucked at pushups, I can't recommend hundredpushups.com enough. |
| #23 10:18pm 24/10/08 |
Dunno WTF Pushups/chinups/situps prove other than that you work on those muscle groups. Buggered if I know how many I can do but I'm going to guess only a few people here have a VO2max above 64ml/kg/min or could complete something like the 6 hour race I'm doing tomorrow, or put out a minimum of 550W for a 1 minute interval. Current BMI is at 20.2.
Seriously, other than VO2max they're all meaningless figures. |
| #24 10:34pm 24/10/08 |
u r super awesome raven
| #25 10:37pm 24/10/08 |
My VO2max is 500litres/kg/second
| #26 10:38pm 24/10/08 |
that just proves you work out those muscle groups raven :p
| #27 10:39pm 24/10/08 |
heavy_rocker
i can't believe teh amount of geeks on this forum playing themselves up... you fkn little geeky kents
| #28 10:58pm 24/10/08 |
Jum
Max pushups: 0
Max chinups: 0 Max situps: 0.5 BMI: 32.6 if only they would legalise airsoft :( |
| #29 11:25pm 24/10/08 |
Matt
I ran a half-marathon recently if that counts. Not really going for muscle mass right now, more interested in endurance. Might start doing weights again soon to improve my windsurfing :D
| #30 11:34pm 24/10/08 |
This is my normal boxing routines + off day running
Max pushups: ~80 (on my knuckles, less if it's only palm), ~30 clapping push ups Max chinups: (I don't do chin ups really so I wouldn't know) Max situps: 100+ (double twist) BMI: 24 Run: Avg: ~3 km = ~20 minutes (it's normally a mixed kinda deal at boxing and I don't timed myself so..) 5.5 Km = 31.17 minutes (pb 28.21 minutes) 8.5 Km = 41.66 minutes (pb 35.3 minutes) 10.0 km = 53.51 minutes (pb 51.48 minutes) I'm running the 8.5 k twice a week, 10 km once a week. don't really do 5.5 any more I basically replaced it with 8.5 km with lots of hills in the run route. ~3 twice a week for my 2 hours of boxing session. |
| #31 12:59am 25/10/08 |
dunno what the gym is but im gangstar
| #32 02:39am 25/10/08 |
I do half hour most mornings on my cross-trainer. About 200 Calories. Enough exercise for me.
I use to do weights and pushups but can't get back into em. My BMI is about 23 and im 5'9". Rev, the only way that gut is gonna go is if you burn more energy than you eat. Doing muscle exercises will only make it appear bigger. You have to burn energy to get rid of it. I woulda thought rowing would cain your gut (not to mention your arms). But I don't know if it would burn energy like jogging since youre sitting down. Oh and eat healthier... As crap as healthy food is, a gourmet wholemeal salad and ham sandwich with cheese does actually taste damn good. |
| #33 09:07am 25/10/08 |
i can manage 15 dead-hang chinups on my first set at the gym...then like 9, 6 for the subsequent sets.
Pushups, i have nfi. Probably 50 odd? Situps - depends on technique eh? Probably manage 40 regular ones. 180cm @ 72 kg = 22.2 BMI. 12% BF. Rev: you can't spot reduce fat. You just gotta reduce fat everywhere by energy in < energy out and it'll come off you how it sees fit (ie. according to your genetics). For a guy, stomach fat is usually the last to go. |
| #34 09:14am 25/10/08 |
i know how you can get in shape rev, quit the wow
| #35 09:15am 25/10/08 |
Rev/Toll: No body part is inherently harder to lose fat from. Your body stores and removes fat on its own plan, and there's really nothing you can do change it. Targetted weight loss is also a crock of s***. As a general rule, the less fat you have, the harder it is to lose it. Think about it, if you're hefty and you start exercising, you're going to shed kilo's quite quickly because you use so much energy just moving and maintaining your body. As you lose weight, your body expends less kilojoules on moving etc.
If you're exercising that much and not noticing a difference, the problem might be intensity. How high is your heart rate getting? If you're my age (23) you really want to be getting your heart rate up into the high 130's and sustaining it for 20 to 30 minutes. It also might help if you increase your muscle mass a bit. Weight training doesn't really help you lose wait directly, but muscle costs your body kilojoules, so having more muscle helps increase your body's daily kilojoule expenditure. Diet is also a very important thing. Working out for an hour a day can easily be cancelled out if you go home and sit in front of WoW with a bag of Doritos and 2L of Coke :P It might be worth one visit to a dietician to get an eating plan (you might even be covered for this sort of thing if you're with private health cover). Also, do you really go to the gym as often and for as long as you think? It's quite easy to over estimate such things because they're such an ordeal. |
| #36 09:18am 25/10/08 |
I can lift approximately 12 stubbies.
Not all at once though. My excersie is ride my bike to work everyday. Annerley to Gardens Point. Riding back up Annerley Road past Boggo Road jail is the only tough bit, even then it's not too bad. |
| #37 09:29am 25/10/08 |
How high is your heart rate getting? If you're my age (23) you really want to be getting your heart rate up into the high 130's and sustaining it for 20 to 30 minutes. I'm 21 and I maintain around 150-170 (depending on the interval I'm at on the trainer) for 30 mins. Sometimes I'm tired as hell so I have to take short breathers but I'm still doin the same 30 mins of jogging. I don't think the required heartrate for exercising goes down too much. Maybe 150ish. I think theres a table somewhere. |
| #38 09:35am 25/10/08 |
5.5 Km = 31.17 minutes (pb 28.21 minutes) no offence opec, but 5.5km in 31.17 mins must be slowish pace.. now i'm unfit these days, but i did surprise myself last week and ran just under 7km's in around 30mins give or take, but i had there someone to push me. i get really sharp pain in my nuts when i run constantly... i think i need special undies :( |
| #39 09:43am 25/10/08 |
we recently unlocked the free step class in wiifit
now you can turn the tv on and the wii remote beeps at you to sync your step movements |
| #40 09:53am 25/10/08 |
I can watch Dr phil and work out. It's awesome!
| #41 10:07am 25/10/08 |
None taken buddy, yeah it is not fast. I'm not really a strong runner (never have been) that's what I've been trying to improve to improve my boxing fitness :). Also that time is average, so it included my first few runs which were slow. Notice my PB is now 28 odd minutes so I've been improving :) This may sound like an excuse but, that 5.5 km run is actually quite a hard run i.e. it's mostly uphill run and steep hill sprints. I think with my fitness level now I could run fairly flat 5.5 route ~23 minutes. But yes definitely easier if you run with someone that can run faster than you, because you'll improve heaps if you try to keep up with them. I run with my mate who live in the area from work home and he's a monster runner. I feel quite good about myself that I could maintain about 1/2 metre distance between him and me most of the time now hehe :) Just went for a 10.1 k run this morning (with 50 metres hill sprint a the end), new PB 49:30. last edited by Opec at 09:39:31 25/Oct/08 |
| #42 10:39am 25/10/08 |
heavy_rocker
now i'm unfit these days, but i did surprise myself last week and ran just under 7km's in around 30mins give or take, but i had there someone to push me. i get really sharp pain in my nuts when i run constantly... i think i need special undies :( you really are a f***ing homo aren't you? get over yourself, leb |
| #43 10:42am 25/10/08 |
you really are a f***ing homo aren't you? get over yourself, leb Why don't you crawl back into the hole you came from, noob. |
| #44 11:24am 25/10/08 |
now i'm unfit these days, but i did surprise myself last week and ran just under 7km's in around 30mins give or take, but i had there someone to push me. i get really sharp pain in my nuts when i run constantly... i think i need special undies :( Yeah it always surprises me how easy it is to lose your fitness. Even after a week of not exercising (say from sickness or something) it always takes a few days to get back into gear. Also, I'm pretty sure you shouldn't have pain like that when jogging... |
| #45 12:16pm 25/10/08 |
I type at 65 words per minute. BMI is like 20.
Beat that Raven |
| #46 12:41pm 25/10/08 |
Good site eu4ia, I reckon i'm gonna try it out..
So do i start out on week 5? it doesn't say much about what to do if you can already do 20+ pushups. |
| #47 06:48pm 25/10/08 |
what do pushups do to help in real world though?
I have a heavy bike that i drop often, whats the best muscles to develop to lift it with less effort? |
| #48 06:53pm 25/10/08 |
I'm way fit.
| #49 07:05pm 25/10/08 |
i work at a fruit shop and spend 2-3 days a week lifting 40-50kg potato sacks around the place, free weights > all.
| #50 07:15pm 25/10/08 |
eu4ia
Good site eu4ia, I reckon i'm gonna try it out.. You said in your original post you can do 45 pushups, so if you're happy that those 45 were "good form" pushups, then yes, I'd say you should start week 5, third column. I could only manage 26 pushups initially. We had a number of us starting at the same time, so we all started at week 1 to keep in sync. We sent emails to one another on how we'd done each day and I think I would've bailed on the program if it wasn't for those emails. Same as any exercise, it's better to have a training partner to encourage you. Good luck with it! It's a nice goal to aim for. |
| #51 08:52pm 25/10/08 |
I have a heavy bike that i drop often, whats the best muscles to develop to lift it with less effort? Do deadlifts. So that's mainly lower back, glutes, quads. |
| #52 10:31am 26/10/08 |
Nice to see some of you putting in some hard work on your fitness. I kind of wish I was able to get back into training myself because I miss how good I used to feel.
I used to pull 21 minutes for 5km while I was in the Army and that was considered average. One of my mates actually used to break 15 minutes regularly and seemingly without even trying. We also had a 48 year old WO1 that used to stroll in at the 17 minute mark the crazy old f***er. Sadly these days I am a good 20kgs over what would be a decent weight and damn near 30 kg's over what I was when I could do 5k's in 21 minutes. last edited by Taipan at 10:55:11 26/Oct/08 last edited by Taipan at 10:56:33 26/Oct/08 last edited by Taipan at 10:56:38 26/Oct/08 |
| #53 10:56am 26/10/08 |
Someone mentioned body fat earlier in this thread (?orbitor). How do you measure body fat? I have a BMI of 18.2 so I'm not exactly fat or anything, but I'd be curious to know how much fat is on me.
| #54 11:08am 26/10/08 |
If you want to do it in the most accurate way possible you'll have to go to somewhere that does one of those submersion tests (not sure of the actually name) They basicly take all your stats and then submerge you in a tank seeing how much liquid you displace. They then take all the data and work out what a fat pig you are.
Otherwise there is the simple pinch test which is pretty common although being horribly inaccurate. |
| #55 11:17am 26/10/08 |
Agent 99, the best way is to take photos and let qgl be the judge
| #56 12:22pm 26/10/08 |
skinning babies and small dogs gets the heart rate up my PB is 10/hr
| #57 01:13pm 26/10/08 |
My housemate has these scales that test your body fat percentage by running current through you. It's not the most accurate thing ever, but I imagine it's about as good as one of those calliper tests.
I normally do weight lifting on Monday, cardio on Wednesday (usually bikes, sometimes treadmill) and rowing machine on Friday. Since rowing offers a bit of resistance training nad helps build the arms/shoulders a bit, I like to space it out from my normal resistance training to maximize the gains. I usually walk a heap every day too (I don't own a car). The thing that bugs me is that I have a friend I work out with who is about 30cm shorter than me, and we lift about the same amount (I can do more on some things) yet his muscle mass looks bigger when he flexes. I'm guessing that's just a height thing (i.e. my muscle mass is just stretched over a further distance becausse of height) or something? |
| #58 02:40pm 26/10/08 |
what did you do with your old Fairmont, Crizane?
| #59 02:43pm 26/10/08 |
It died :(
Driving back from Caloundra, the head gasket gave out on the Gateway. I tried to push on to an exit so I could get to a servo, but it was just too far and the engine seized up. While I was hunting around for a new car I eventually realised that I was getting along fine without one, so I didn't bother replacing it. I miss that old pimpmobile, it was in such good condition :( http://img243.imageshack.us/img243/5461/1000903uh2.jpg |
| #60 03:02pm 26/10/08 |
haha Agent 99 comes back after a long absence to tell everyone she is a skinny bitch.
| #61 04:42pm 26/10/08 |
shutdown by kat.
| #62 07:14pm 26/10/08 |
Bugger eh Crizane.
Never thought of droppin another crossflow donk into it? |
| #63 11:36am 27/10/08 |
clevo mate
| #64 12:29pm 27/10/08 |
yellow_feet
The thing that bugs me is that I have a friend I work out with who is about 30cm shorter than me, and we lift about the same amount (I can do more on some things) yet his muscle mass looks bigger when he flexes. I'm guessing that's just a height thing (i.e. my muscle mass is just stretched over a further distance becausse of height) or something? Nah, you're just small |
| #65 02:16pm 27/10/08 |
Swimming in summer ftmfw
Just got the worst f***ing calf hematoma from a surfboard fin so I am not running or cycling any time soon Sif not include dips I'd say, though I haven't done any for ages Chins: 20 w 20kg's Dips: 30 w 20kg's Pushups: Lots they are boring |
| #66 07:43pm 28/10/08 |
| #66 |