Go Kevy!
$1,000 bonus per child if you receive FTB A. Shame we can't bang out a few more before December 8. http://www.brisbanetimes.com.au/news/business/rudd-unveils-104b-stimulus-plan/2008/10/14/1223750000133.html Mission tips big screen tele sales to increase on December 8. First home buyers grant also increases up to $21,000, depending on the property. |
| #0 01:34pm 14/10/08 |
i challenge infi to hate krudd after this masterstroke!
| #1 01:35pm 14/10/08 |
Mission tips big screen tele sales to increase on December 8 What, just before Christmas!, never.... |
| #2 01:36pm 14/10/08 |
i don't get anything :\
| #3 01:38pm 14/10/08 |
whats FTB A ?
| #4 01:43pm 14/10/08 |
family tax benefit A (and B)
its just more free money that we get nothing for you to worry about young doob |
| #5 01:44pm 14/10/08 |
Crusty old man
So what is a FTB A eligible child?
Also, I'm buying my first house in January, $21k from the govt for a purpose built house would be f***ing awesome! |
| #6 01:47pm 14/10/08 |
Whats a purpose built house? and when do you build houses without a purpose
| #7 01:48pm 14/10/08 |
what about the c***s that aren't old or have families? f***in soft as
| #8 01:49pm 14/10/08 |
Mantra, if you currently receive fortnightly payments for kids, it's probably FTB A. FTB A varies depending on your combined household income.
FTB B is additional payments if only one parent works (I think?). Most Australian families would receive FTB A if they've applied for it. |
| #9 01:51pm 14/10/08 |
Your votes don't count paveway.
| #10 01:53pm 14/10/08 |
Nice, 2k for chrissy. How soft is it that we're prolly gonna stick it in the kid's trust funds tho!
FTB A is monies you get for having kids if the household income is less than about 100k, depending on the number of kids you have. |
| #11 01:58pm 14/10/08 |
what about the c***s that aren't old or have families? f***in soft asI think it costs a bit more than a once off payment of $1k to raise a kid ;) |
| #12 01:59pm 14/10/08 |
I think it costs a bit more than a once off payment of $1k to raise a kid ;) Only if you feed and clothe them. |
| #13 02:01pm 14/10/08 |
| #14 02:02pm 14/10/08 |
$21,000 to help build a new home? With the shortage of housing, why not make it $42,000?
| #15 02:06pm 14/10/08 |
Crusty old man
what about the c***s that aren't old or have families? f***in soft asI think "c***s" is the operative word there :) Mantra, if you currently receive fortnightly payments for kids, it's probably FTB A. FTB A varies depending on your combined household income.We don't get it paid regularly, but we claim it as a lump sum at tax time, so I'm hoping we're eligible. That's $5k... So plasma or LCD? :D Whats a purpose built house? and when do you build houses without a purposeAll I meant was that a house that wasn't established. I think the rules around that are a bit weird though. I seem to remember someone telling me that a house & land package can sometimes be considered "established" if it's part of an estate or something... So I meant that if I built a house according to my specs, then that would be built for my purposes. It would need gigabit lan throughout, a nice dark room for a giant govt funded TV and the rest I'll leave up to the family :) |
| #16 02:07pm 14/10/08 |
more handouts for "low and middle income earners" yay...whatever
| #17 02:08pm 14/10/08 |
lol boo hoo orbs :p
| #18 02:11pm 14/10/08 |
This is the worst idea ever. A once of stimulus failed in the US just 3 months ago and this will fail to stimulate the economy as well.
The way to stimulate an economy is via structural reform e.g. a permanent change in the rates of pension and middle class welfare. This will cause business to change the way they plan for the future. A once off cash injection is like giving a kid a glass of fruit juice for afternoon tea. They go mental for the afternoon and then crash before dinner. |
| #19 02:11pm 14/10/08 |
my tax dollar working hard for the actual benefit of the nation
wait, I mean the other thing |
| #20 02:18pm 14/10/08 |
for the benefit of kevin rudd, yeah. but hey howard was just as bad. it's called politics i guess.
| #21 02:19pm 14/10/08 |
All I care about is the free money.
Orrrr yeah. |
| #22 02:21pm 14/10/08 |
haha, sux it down orbs
| #23 02:21pm 14/10/08 |
I wouldn't go crazy spending that money since they still plan to rape the economy with their ultra stupid green crap in 2 years.
| #24 02:22pm 14/10/08 |
| #25 02:24pm 14/10/08 |
oh yeah emissions trading will burn everyone. thats no doubt.
| #26 02:26pm 14/10/08 |
Yeh I'm scared s***less of us 'leading the way' with this emissions trading stuff.
If everyone else ignores it, and turns out it was sunspots all along can we back the f*** out of it? |
| #27 02:28pm 14/10/08 |
It's like the first person to go skinny dipping. You feel like a dick if no one else does it.
| #28 02:29pm 14/10/08 |
my bro is pissed. he bought a house less than 2 weeks ago.
| #29 02:38pm 14/10/08 |
Crusty old man
"low and middle income earners"I wouldn't call myself that, but then I do have 5 kids, so it evens out I guess. I'm looking forward to the "green stuff", these companies are going to need software to handle all that emissions data, and they're going to need sustainability experts to hold their hand. And the more money I get through the door, the bigger my bonus, with which I will buy a big f*** off V8 :D |
| #30 02:43pm 14/10/08 |
but hey howard was just as bad. it's called politics i guess. omg what have you done with the real infi!? ;p don't worry about emission trading fizzling out though... the ipcc will surely fabricate some (more) bulls*** data to keep themselves in jobs. with how entrenched this garbage is now the global temperature would have to go into ice-age before the ipcc will admit they were manbearpigged. |
| #31 02:45pm 14/10/08 |
We bought a house a year ago - we didn't buy a mcmansion so its hard to tell at the moment if we would have been better off waiting. I reckon its been worth it not to have the little smartarse punch-in-the-face-candidate real estate prick invading our home every 3 months for an inspection.
for the benefit of kevin rudd, yeah. but hey howard was just as bad. it's called politics i guess. !! infi, you OK mate?! |
| #32 02:45pm 14/10/08 |
howard was the master. rudd is just a very fake and insincere imitation.
howard demonstrated how with a combination of sensible structural reform and cunning populism and dog whistle politics one man can control the entire country for over 10 years. rudd can never hope to measure up to howard. hell i wouldn't be surprised if rudd gets thrown out next election. |
| #33 02:49pm 14/10/08 |
WTF are they giving money to FTB recipients for?
Jesus christ. Give it to carers for f***s sake. (on that note, I am not going to knock it back) |
| #34 02:52pm 14/10/08 |
Crusty old man
howard demonstrated how with a combination of sensible structural reformOk, understand what "structural reform" means. and cunning populismOk, I think I know what you mean there, although I wouldn't say he was particularly successful at that. and dog whistle politicsI'm guessing this means that he was very quiet about it? one man can control the entire country for over 10 years.Until his dog whistle breaks. |
| #35 02:58pm 14/10/08 |
Mass
They are giving it to carers, they get same as FTB A. Woohoo $4K before christmas, and I'll get the $5K baby bonus in the next few weeks. $9K will buy a sweet 60" plasma........just gotta slip it past the wife first.
| #36 02:59pm 14/10/08 |
dog whistle politics: the stereotpyical subjects of terrorism, immigration, dole bludgers and welfare crack down. once you blow the whistle middle australia goes bezerk and funnily somehow they are the only ones that hear it like a dog whistle is intended.
| #37 03:03pm 14/10/08 |
No silly, you buy it and then tell the wife about it (whilst hiding the receipt).
You might want to save 1k just to pay the power bill on that baby. |
| #38 03:03pm 14/10/08 |
Crusty old man
dog whistle politics: the stereotpyical subjects of terrorism, immigration, dole bludgers and welfare crack down. once you blow the whistle middle australia goes bezerk and funnily somehow they are the only ones that hear it like a dog whistle is intended.Right, thanks for that. I guess it took 10 years for the generation gap to close up a bit. |
| #39 03:07pm 14/10/08 |
Mass
I figure with a 60" plasma I will have done my bit for carbon trading. I won't need to run any heaters in winter.........thats how it works right?
| #40 03:10pm 14/10/08 |
I know they are giving something to carers, but it would be better to give more to carers than more to families
| #41 03:12pm 14/10/08 |
Crusty old man
I thought you'd go LCD Mass?
| #42 03:14pm 14/10/08 |
Mass
HA LCD. No I'm not a big fan of pixelation in sport and movies. LCD's are for computer screens and playing games, Plasmas are for watching movies and tv. Yes yes I know Obes, your Bravia is awesome.
| #43 04:01pm 14/10/08 |
Hi 5's Mass.
| #44 04:16pm 14/10/08 |
My Bravia is awesome too :D
| #45 04:19pm 14/10/08 |
Hi mass you're an idiot.
I have a Samsung plasma. And if you don't think Sony Bravia's look nice your on drugs (and that from a bona fide Sony hater) |
| #46 04:44pm 14/10/08 |
Hay guys lcd makez evrythng pixlated!
| #47 04:47pm 14/10/08 |
Lets not turn the grand news of free loot to people who get laid into a LCD v Plasma thread.
| #48 04:49pm 14/10/08 |
we should, so that fools arent parted with their cash on shonky plasmas, when they could be buying glorious lcds!
motion blur lolz, but not on my monitor hurr |
| #49 04:58pm 14/10/08 |
lol everyone should get their $1000 and go and withdraw it from the bank
| #50 05:02pm 14/10/08 |
That's the idea, isn't it?
| #51 05:10pm 14/10/08 |
If I voted I would outraged I think but since I don't I don't care.
| #52 05:21pm 14/10/08 |
This thread used to be cool.
Also, +1 Sexy Bravia |
| #53 05:21pm 14/10/08 |
If I voted I would outraged I think but since I don't I don't care. it's still your dollars going into spook's pockets |
| #54 05:22pm 14/10/08 |
it's still your dollars going into spook's pockets true but if I got upset by every hand out handed to people who make the mistake of thinking that when they have kids they will be so much better parents then their parents but in fact they make the same mistakes and raise annoying little c***s who need a good drowning I would be a rampaging mass murderer. It was a long sentence I know but I felt it needed to be said that way. My belief is if you have kids you pay, don't ask for a handout because you should have asked for handjob instead. |
| #55 05:28pm 14/10/08 |
the little smartarse punch-in-the-face-candidate real estate prickHeh, and thats pretty much why i decided to buy and not rent. Seriously, there are some f***in annoying people in society, but there aren't too many people that are punch in the face candidates like real estate agents. Also, this sux. Paid $20k tax last financial year, now i get nothing from krudd. Well as they sad, Kevin 07, gone in '11. |
| #56 05:29pm 14/10/08 |
Cool, if there's anything this planet needs its more people.
f*** this is a gay idea, I can't wait for the next election so I can not vote for him again |
| #57 05:33pm 14/10/08 |
hahhahaahahhahah Dirtyape speaks the Truth |
| #58 05:33pm 14/10/08 |
Not just Spooks pockets.
Thank you all for the extra $'s. I'll be sure to spend it on booze and recycle.
I don't ask for handouts they just seem to keep coming though. I agree, that if you have kids that is your choice and you should pay their way until they can afford to pay their own way. Still, I'm not going to knock back a couple grand. last edited by Tollaz0r! at 16:40:19 14/Oct/08 |
| #59 05:40pm 14/10/08 |
My belief is if you have kids you pay, don't ask for a handout because you should have asked for handjob instead. So who pays for all the old c***s? Cool, if there's anything this planet needs its more people. We could probably do with a few less, but as a nation Australia isn't exactly making like Chinese bunny rabbits is it. It also might be wiser to plan that population reduction s*** over a few generations rather than let it happen all at once... last edited by Hogfather at 16:42:17 14/Oct/08 |
| #60 05:42pm 14/10/08 |
All this middle class welfare is madness. As much as I loved JH I totally disagree with middle class welfare the more I dwell on it.
It's just so f***en stupid. If you want to have a higher quality of living WHILE having multiple kids then go out and earn some goddamn money. The welfare encourages people to live beyond their family's normal means. Middle class welfare just entrenches this sickening entitlement mentality that is poisoning Western society as we speak. |
| #61 05:42pm 14/10/08 |
Pfft, thick plasma glass screen ftw. Don't have to worry about little Toll-girl touching the LCD screen. |
| #62 05:42pm 14/10/08 |
why doesn't he stimulate the economy with a massive capital works project? fix up the ports, create better inter capital city rail links, hurry up and build the FTTN/FTTH network etc? oh that's right, those kinds of things benefit everyone not just his target demographics. |
| #63 05:44pm 14/10/08 |
It's just so f***en stupid. If you want to have a higher quality of living WHILE having multiple kids then go out and earn some goddamn money. The welfare encourages people to live beyond their family's normal means. id like to earn moar money, but i dont have any high level government contacts for mad hookups so ill just take what cash the government gives me |
| #64 05:45pm 14/10/08 |
The welfare encourages people to live beyond their family's normal means.Even worse (IMO) is it encourages people to have children for foolish short-term benefits. A few grand over the course of raising a child is nothing, but the sort of people that need/want that sort of money will think it's a great idea and it will just encourage them to have more children, which will just make their lives harder in the long run. It'll make OUR lives worse too because there'll be even more people struggling and more welfare systems in place to cater for all these kids whose idiot parents spent their baby bonus on plasma tvs instead of investing in their future. |
| #65 05:47pm 14/10/08 |
where is the uptopian space society that we can escape to when we decide we've had enough of the crazy down here ? I spent the better part of my life being lied to consistently by scifi authors.
| #66 05:50pm 14/10/08 |
So who pays for all the old c***s? Meh what do I care, I know that governments will always subsidise people who have kids and they will pay. Kids and old people are like balloons, they are best when they are blown up. |
| #67 05:51pm 14/10/08 |
Yeh, everyone who gets family tax breaks or bonuses is a deads*** rollie-smoking plasma whoring scumbag. None of them are straight up people thankful for getting a hand to raise the next generation of tax payers.
| #68 05:52pm 14/10/08 |
None of them are straight up people thankful for getting a hand to raise the next generation of tax payers. So how did they do it before the hand out? |
| #69 05:53pm 14/10/08 |
I think it would be much better to organize $1000 worth of financial planning for low income families (in other words ongoing), then to give out a random $1000.
I'm a low income family (not for long tho, stupid uni finishing making me work) and we don't have debts and we have constantly increasing savings account. While $1000 a kid would help, most of it won't get spent and it will be put into a high interest savings account, so really the immediate benefit is kinda small. last edited by Tollaz0r! at 16:58:18 14/Oct/08 |
| #70 05:58pm 14/10/08 |
it encourages people to have children for foolish short-term benefits Agreed... It should definately be presented as a discount on the basic equipment needed to care for your newborn baby. So many young women are having babies just because they want the quick money... its disgusting. |
| #71 05:59pm 14/10/08 |
Didnt say they didn't do it, or they couldn't.
Things are different now, financially a fair bit harder. Back in the day you didn't need two average incomes just to pay off an average mortgage over thirty years. Kids also cost much more to raise these days. In order to give them a good start I'll be spending many thousands of dollars in education, because the public school system these days is so woeful. So many young women are having babies just because they want the quick money... its disgusting. Do you have actual statistics or facts to back that up or did you get your infos from Today Tonight? last edited by Hogfather at 17:00:51 14/Oct/08 |
| #72 06:00pm 14/10/08 |
Need to update the QGL blamegen.
Everything is either the fault of Valve or the government. |
| #73 06:01pm 14/10/08 |
where is the uptopian space society that we can escape to when we decide we've had enough of the crazy down here ? I spent the better part of my life being lied to consistently by scifi authors.and porn stars |
| #74 06:04pm 14/10/08 |
Everything is either the fault of Valve or the government. Fault? Where did I blame the Government for anything infi? Its just the way it is. Lots of stuff costs more these days, raising kids is one of them. With two kids under five we don't need any government assistance - and don't get a lot as it is. But I can really see how s***ty it would be for 50k/annum guys in city areas trying to do the righty by their kids. Actually, it would be nearly f***en impossible to get ahead. |
| #75 06:06pm 14/10/08 |
Kids also cost much more to raise these days. In order to give them a good start I'll be spending many thousands of dollars in education, because the public school system these days is so woeful. So we the public should subsidise your kids going to a private school? This is your choice and your choice alone and therefore I feel you have lost any right to a handout. Sorry but I think when there is a public option and you choose private you should pay not us. |
| #76 06:09pm 14/10/08 |
Yeh, everyone who gets family tax breaks or bonuses is a deads*** rollie-smoking plasma whoring scumbag. None of them are straight up people thankful for getting a hand to raise the next generation of tax payers.well, I wasn't saying that - I'm sure there's a lot of people that use it well, like whoever it was that was putting it in a kids trust fund (was that you? cbf looking back). That's actually a good idea and will be good for everyone, because its a long term plan. The problem is I suspect most people don't see it like that (as evidence I cite the other thread about credit card debt and the squillions of dollars of debt most Australians have - because they want the short term benefits of getting something NOW and can't plan for the long term). |
| #77 06:10pm 14/10/08 |
So we the public should subsidise your kids going to a private school? This is your choice and your choice alone and therefore I feel you have lost any right to a handout. Sorry but I think when there is a public option and you choose private you should pay not us. If there was a viable public option then I would agree with you. Hell, I'll f***en fly you up to Cairns and put you up in the Novotel if you can show me a public school on the south side of Cairns that you would willingly put your child into. The problem is I suspect most people don't see it like that (as evidence I cite the other thread about credit card debt and the squillions of dollars of debt most Australians have - because they want the short term benefits of getting something NOW and can't plan for the long term). Again, this is Today Tonight sensationalism and unworthy of you trog. While the d*******s you're thinking of might be like that, I reckon most people are pretty responsible. If a few (thousand) bogans buy big screen TVs, who cares? It just goes back into the economy anyway, GST, other taxes, wages. I will cede ara's point tho that this particular money could have been btter spent. I'd love to see a massive capital works program, in particular addressing public transport infrastructure. last edited by Hogfather at 17:16:51 14/Oct/08 |
| #78 06:16pm 14/10/08 |
If there was a viable public option then I would agree with you. Hell, I'll f***en fly you up to Cairns and put you up in the Novotel if you can show me a public school on the south side of Cairns that you would willingly put your child into. Depends on what you class as a viable option. I could not agree with you more on the state of our schools. But the public have nobody else to blame but themselves. This reminds of the simpsons with the teachers strike. The parents want a top grade education but they won't pay higher taxes. |
| #79 06:23pm 14/10/08 |
I don't disagree with you DA - I think that all levels of teachers from arse wipers to university tutors are underpaid, some more so than others. I'd trade FTB-A, baby bonus, and this latest pile of money for a better public education system.
Even seding your kid to a good public school usualy means a good pile of out of pockets because the good schools in better areas make up for the shortfall with voluntary cntributions. Its just one of a wide range of issues that make child rearing more expensive. |
| #80 06:32pm 14/10/08 |
Crusty old man
why doesn't he stimulate the economy with a massive capital works project? fix up the ports, create better inter capital city rail links, hurry up and build the FTTN/FTTH network etc?He is, one of my clients is the dept of infrastructure and planning. Inner city rail and a major program of infrastructure works are in planning stages right now. This is also happening in Perth with a number of projects around improving ports. Both these programs wouldn't happen without funding from the feds. Also, I knew a girl that probably epitomises the plasma TV buyer, but that certainly isn't me. I didn't ask for Kevs xmas bonus, and it s***s me that people seem to think that having kids is a purely financial decision. If it was, no one would ever have them! I also like the suggestions of $1k of financial planning advice, discounts on newborn baby items etc etc At a purely financial level, that would probably double if not triple the costs of administration, and may well not fulfill a financial need for a young family. There's a point where people need to take responsibility for what they do. If some clowns go and buy a plasma with their baby bonus, it's not going to change the fact that they're clowns and they're probably not ideal parents (massive generalistion there). The downside to that is that we have some bogans with nice TVs. The upside is that we have some young families with a better financial outlook, and I seriously believe that the latter is more prevalent. Kids are people, that will grow up, hopefully to be contributing members of society that will probably whinge on a gaming forum about people that have kids. ps - I'm not going to buy a TV with my 5k, I'm going to stick it in the bank to help with the enormous house I'm about to buy. |
| #81 06:34pm 14/10/08 |
Mantra is on a winner there, well said.
People who don't have kids for financial reasons don't know what they are misisng out on. We've down it tough (not too tough though) when the kids were young and I wouldn't change that for anything. There's far more to life than money and if money is your main concern in life, you're doing it wrong. |
| #82 06:41pm 14/10/08 |
People who don't have kids for financial reasons don't know what they are misisng out on. yeah they do. family tax benefit A and B, baby bonus, various tax benefits for dependants, child care rebates, etc. |
| #83 07:26pm 14/10/08 |
Low and middle income families will receive a Christmas bonus of $1000 per childchild = under 16s right? |
| #84 07:29pm 14/10/08 |
yeah your family doesn't cut it greazy
| #85 07:30pm 14/10/08 |
f*** buying an LCD or plsma, buy a projector. Sure, you might not be able to use it during the day but damn they look like sex when watching movies on them. Much rather one of them any day.
| #86 07:36pm 14/10/08 |
you shut your f***ing mouth apeboy or i will do it for you. gonna go punch my wife in the belly so she can give birth soon.
| #87 07:37pm 14/10/08 |
Middle class welfare just entrenches this sickening entitlement mentality that is poisoning Western society as we speak.this |
| #88 07:44pm 14/10/08 |
ease up girlfriend
| #89 07:46pm 14/10/08 |
ive been talking to wifey, and we're probably going to use this morning to buy our third lcd tele, just coz
| #90 07:47pm 14/10/08 |
If a few (thousand) bogans buy big screen TVs, who cares? It just goes back into the economy anyway, GST, other taxes, wages.Yeh, that's the problem - it goes back into the economy AT THE EXPENSE OF THE KID. Basically if you're not prepared to have a kid and raise it properly and do all the basic things like teach it right from wrong - which so many parents seem to be unable to do, like the parents of this f***ing kid who went on a rampage in an Australia zoo recently. What the hell?!?! I'm not saying everyone who hears about the baby bonus will run out and have kids just to buy new toys. I'm just saying if even ONE person does it for that reason, it's too many. Anyway, I'd be much happier with less people on the planet. |
| #91 07:55pm 14/10/08 |
Not all couples with kids earning under 100k a year combined income are bogans that have kids just to buy plasmas, thats exactly the situation I am in, i got the kiddie bonus for both my kids, and im gonna get this payment, and I dont have a plasma or lcd tv and wont be buying one when i get this 2k.
Both me and my wife work fulltime earning a bit under 100k combined, have kids in fulltime daycare, pay a decent mortgage and all the other costs associated with having kids. I can tell you now that this 2k wont be spent on luxuries, just expenses. Yes we decided to have kids, we dont expect the government to pay to raise them, but a bit of help along the way is appreciated. To all the single people with no kids, you guys have no idea how easy you have it. last edited by `ViPER` at 19:33:26 14/Oct/08 |
| #92 08:33pm 14/10/08 |
To all parents with kids, your fault your bring your crotch spawn into this world lol suck s***
| #93 08:39pm 14/10/08 |
yeah i do actually
i drink what i want, i snort what i want, i f*** what i want |
| #94 08:40pm 14/10/08 |
To all the single people with no kids, you guys have no idea how easy you have it.Au contraire, I know exactly how easy I have it - because that's the way I like it :) |
| #95 08:41pm 14/10/08 |
To all the single people with no kids, you guys have no idea how easy you have it. what is annoying is that old mate kevin didn't give us the heads up 7 months ago when we could have done something about it. |
| #96 08:42pm 14/10/08 |
what is annoying is that old mate kevin didn't give us the heads up 7 months ago when we could have done something about it. I assume that was a joke. FYI, you'd probably spend more than 2k before youve even had the kid. Correction, you definatly would have spent more than 2k. |
| #97 08:45pm 14/10/08 |
The smartest thing to spend the 3billion for this baby s*** on would have been wiping hecs. (or help or whatever the f*** its called) Whole bunch of young, middle class people with no debt all of a sudden can burn some more cash on disposable s***, as they are prone to do even with hecs debts...
ECONOMY STIMULATED! |
| #98 09:03pm 14/10/08 |
Love it how people get worked up about their tax dollars going to people with kids, as if no tax dollars were spent in raising them.
We are so heavily taxed we have a "surplus" and we are going to be taxed even more with the emissions trading. May as well spend the money somewhere and to be honest I don't think single shmucks with no dependents and seemingly no intention to invest in the tax future by squeezing a little tax payer out are really worthy of free hand outs. |
| #99 09:07pm 14/10/08 |
Anono
what sort of tv can you get for $4100? thanks Krudd, your still not a good thing for the country and no way will you get my vote, but the money is nice while we can get it.
| #100 09:14pm 14/10/08 |
What deadlyf said
| #101 09:16pm 14/10/08 |
That should just about cover the extra tax on Alcopops.
I like that Krudd guy. Hes really going places.... |
| #102 09:26pm 14/10/08 |
i drink what i want, i snort what i want, i f*** what i wantSemen, feces, men. |
| #103 09:27pm 14/10/08 |
I assume that was a joke. FYI, you'd probably spend more than 2k before youve even had the kid. Thats what the public health system is for. Clearly you have no idea how to manage your finances, for a start you want to waste your $1K cheque on bills. You've got to think of a family more like a business. If your children aren't generating revenue after a couple of years then theres a problem. Theres plenty of work for them to do. If they aren't too hideous, get them in a few television commercials. The benefit there is you can claim upkeep of the child on your tax refund. If they aren't photogenic, then there are always medical trials. Vaccines, new drug formulations or even experimental medical treatments. Plenty of money to be made. And as a benefit, your child will typical undergo thorough check-ups throughout the trials, saving on medical bills. Consider starting a business at home, where the childs small and nimble hands can be put to good use. Fruit picking, small scale clothing manufacture, and so forth. Theres no reason to think of a child as dead-weight until they can do a paper route. You just have to be imaginative. |
| #104 09:29pm 14/10/08 |
aahhaahahha
| #105 09:34pm 14/10/08 |
I aready get a bunch of handouts I don't need. Now I might get another $2k in December to go with the $5k Baby bonus I'll pick up in November.
At least idiots voting this bloke in benefits me directly, despite the country going down the gurgular! I already have 2 x LCD's - what do I buy?! |
| #106 09:48pm 14/10/08 |
Crusty old man
Yeh, that's the problem - it goes back into the economy AT THE EXPENSE OF THE KID.But that would happen anyway. If the parents are morons, they'll continue to be morons, and there's very little we can do about it. What I'm trying to say is, the people that do make good use of this money far outweigh the numbers that don't so taking it away isn't going to stop moronic parents buying plasmas. I would all be for licensing for parents though. Make the job of making and raising people a privilege. It'll never happen though... Also... Theres no reason to think of a child as dead-weight until they can do a paper route. You just have to be imaginative.Holy s***! I'm sitting on a gold mine!! last edited by Mantra at 20:52:48 14/Oct/08 |
| #107 09:52pm 14/10/08 |
What I'm trying to say is, the people that do make good use of this money far outweigh the numbers that don't so taking it away isn't going to stop moronic parents buying plasmas.Well, I'd like to see some statistics on this before I believed it as a certain truth. In any case, as a taxpayer I just don't want to be paying people for having kids that will require more services that will consume more of my tax dollars, etc, etc. Anyway, where's my free money for being a positively contributing member of society that obeys the rules, pays s***loads of taxes, etc, etc?!@! |
| #108 09:54pm 14/10/08 |
First, get the Power. Then get the Women. Then have the kids, and then that is when you get the Money.
| #109 10:05pm 14/10/08 |
NICE GUYS COME LAST, have a couple of bastards.
| #110 10:05pm 14/10/08 |
What I'm trying to say is, the people that do make good use of this money far outweigh the numbers that don't so taking it away isn't going to stop moronic parents buying plasmas. Personally I'd like to see some checks and balances in place. The money should be quarantined, to stop parents buying plasma TVs. LCD TVs these days have higher resolution (atleast in the smaller sizes), lower power usage and a longer life. Only real downside is the colour reproduction. Any parent buying a plasma with their baby bonus should have it taken off them. imo. |
| #111 10:06pm 14/10/08 |
I agree with NF, i think we can all remember this study i found on the internet. http://dingo.net.au/lcdorplasma/ |
| #112 10:38pm 14/10/08 |
In any case, as a taxpayer I just don't want to be paying people for having kids that will require more services that will consume more of my tax dollars, etc, etc. That just doesnt make sense, if Australian people dont have kids, then the government will just allow more immigration, A country with a declining/aging population wouldnt work very well. |
| #113 10:49pm 14/10/08 |
Crusty old man
In any case, as a taxpayer I just don't want to be paying people for having kids that will require more services that will consume more of my tax dollars, etc, etc.Everyone seems to be missing the point that we were all kids once... in fact I can remember when you were a punk teenager and not offering an awful lot to the good of the nation! :P Lots of tax dollars went into your upbringing and mine. It's an investment in the future. If we don't have kids, we don't have anyone to replace the old dying people, and we don't have anyone to build the houses, make the gaming websites etc etc... You can thank me for my contribution to the future of our country now. It's ok. |
| #114 11:04pm 14/10/08 |
Immigration isn't the goolden bullet either, we're pushing that answer to the limit as it is.
Would be nice and easy if humans weren't so tribal, and maybe one day we won't be, but that's just not now. |
| #115 11:12pm 14/10/08 |
If we don't have kids, we don't have anyone to replace the old dying people, and we don't have anyone to build the houses, make the gaming websites etc etc...You're just not thinking about how cheap property will become when there's noone in the country |
| #116 11:21pm 14/10/08 |
You're just not thinking about how cheap property will become when there's noone in the country Yeah no one, except the billions of chinese people that would soon take us over. |
| #117 11:25pm 14/10/08 |
Immigration isn't the goolden bullet either, we're pushing that answer to the limit as it is.wat |
| #118 12:20am 15/10/08 |
sunrise told me that we're against more immigration anyway
| #119 07:29am 15/10/08 |
as soon as unemployment rises, they'll cut back on immigration.
| #120 08:17am 15/10/08 |
* likes politics*
* needs to find the negative in all situations * |
| #121 09:18am 15/10/08 |
as soon as unemployment rises, they'll cut back on immigration I have done a detailed study into immigrants and I have concluded the vast majority come from overseas. |
| #122 11:21am 15/10/08 |
Rudd can suck a cock.
I'm still waiting for uni students to get ANYTHING. |
| #123 11:30am 15/10/08 |
so rudd headjobs for all uni students would be your proposal? :D
| #124 11:37am 15/10/08 |
I'm still waiting for uni students to get ANYTHING. You should have voted for Kodos |
| #125 11:41am 15/10/08 |
I would actually like to have seen some of this go to uni students.
It's one of the most over looked areas of society that uni students on the whole are considered well below the poverty line. Hell, helping with uni might just encourage more people to get go there and learn. |
| #126 12:07pm 15/10/08 |
A couple of things would really help with uni students.
For your first undergraduate degree: * Double the personal income threshold. * Relax the independence test for living away from home students. How the hell is a family on 35k(!) supposed to support a student thousands of kilometers away? That's beyond retarded. |
| #127 12:20pm 15/10/08 |
I'm still waiting for uni students to get ANYTHING. Umm HECS? Have fun getting a personal loan for 20-40k and having to pay crazy interest rates for it. And then having to have a job to support yourself while studying so you can make minimum repayments |
| #128 12:54pm 15/10/08 |
* Relax the independence test for living away from home students. How the hell is a family on 35k(!) supposed to support a student thousands of kilometers away? That's beyond retarded. When I was going through uni, the independence test was like $17,000 as long as you earned 17,000~ in any year since you finished highschool you could claim centerlink. But the limit of your earnings was stupidly low anyway. Seriously I don't really understand a lot of the uni students mentality. Oh no its so hard to study 4 subjects I can't work on top of that as well. Try working 4 days a week and doing 3 subjects and tell me how hard it is. (Even that was f***ing PISS compared to post-grad while working fulltime) I worked 20~ hours a week at a supermarket, and I got probably 300~ NET a week. Get some student accomodation 120 (incl amenities) and spend the rest on food/books whatever. Or live at home for the double win. Or drop down to 3 subjets and work more. Or have less of a bludgey LIFE and work more. |
| #129 01:00pm 15/10/08 |
psst, uni students think HECS is harsh ;)
| #130 01:03pm 15/10/08 |
yer, what a bunch of whingers:
i cant ever remember being upset about my hecs debt, i never really noticed it: even paying it back was pretty painless: |
| #131 01:11pm 15/10/08 |
Umm HECS?I want free uni. |
| #132 01:26pm 15/10/08 |
I think HECS is a great system, so no complaints from me there. But I do think that some sort of assistance to students as low income earners would be great. It's not necessarily that we're lazy as I think ?Fireblood? may have said (of course some are), but for me, I can't necessarily work more than I do because of my timetable, and the fact that a lot of casual jobs out there want me to have much more availability and flexibility in my hours than I do
| #133 01:29pm 15/10/08 |
The government gives Uni students enough to live, just. You aren't meant to be getting money for entertainment and other luxuries.
There are easy jobs to get as a Uni student, try doing tutoring. Packing shelves, whatever. Austudy allows you to earn a more per fortnight before losing some of your Austudy then other payments like Newstart. Austudy comes with a hefty Income Bank, that is lets you earn over the normal amount and not loose Austudy (up to $3000 last time I checked). To get the most out of your Austudy you need to work 5-10 hours a week. |
| #134 02:09pm 15/10/08 |
I do do tutoring. Also, not everyone is eligible for AusStudy etc. So the government gives you nothing otherwise. (I'm not asking for money anyways, but I do think it'd be nice) I don't need money for entertainment either. I don't go clubbing or drink etc. If I had money it would actually go towards uni books etc
| #135 05:17pm 15/10/08 |
I just want to say to all the ppl that got no BONUS Payment that when i Spend the money it will be helping to keep the economy afloat.
That will help everyone. So in a way Whatever i Buy I will be spending OUR money on behalf of you guys and we will all benefit. *Hugs* |
| #136 08:50pm 15/10/08 |
I worked all through my Uni degree. So did most of my mates. (All full time Uni)
Harden the f*** up. If you find Uni that hard or too hard to fit in around work. Dont go to Uni. Do something else that doesn't require as much effort. Not everyone needs to be a Uni student, and the government certainly doesn't need to encourage even more people to go there. There has to be someone to walk the highways and pick up the trash. This is the reason we had the Tradie shortage, Slightly above average Students would of happily became Tradies in the past (and done very well) but now these same people see Uni as the be-all and end-all and they have to go there. Then get sub-par results/drop out/switch course 4 times/do a bulls*** arts degree. Which costs the country. Also CHUB, what the f*** you whining about? Didn't you just buy a 5 GRAND Sky diving equipment set? Along with all the other s*** you say you buy/have bought. 7/10 billions dollars will be gone by the end of Christmas and by February we'll be right back where we started, in the s*** again. last edited by Scooter at 20:15:27 15/Oct/08 |
| #137 09:15pm 15/10/08 |
It's not necessarily that we're lazy as I think ?Fireblood? may have said (of course some are), but for me, I can't necessarily work more than I do because of my timetable, and the fact that a lot of casual jobs out there want me to have much more availability and flexibility in my hours than I do While I understand its tough for some, and I am not trying to knock it, but I hear about people who say its so tough working around timetabling etc. I see those people as complainers (we all are complainers). I have a friend, doing nursing fulltime at uni. She works 20+ hours a week around her uni timetable. If that wasn't hard enough, when she goes on prac (2-3 weeks) she can only work weekends or nights (try doing 5am - 1/2pm prac shift, and then going to work 4-10pm). She doesn't get/want support from government, and she always has enough money to do what she wants to do (ie go to Fiji, save money for prac time, have days off for birthdays etc) It can be done, some people just don't have the drive for it. |
| #138 09:14pm 15/10/08 |
Oh, I couldn't really care less about my situation, was only commenting on it after the other comments towards uni were made. Doing uni + prac + your normal job definitely sucks, I've been there too, but it will definitely pay off in the end and there's really no way around it
| #139 09:23pm 15/10/08 |
why is it that everyone wants something for nothing?
get a better job, get ahead in life on your own two feet |
| #140 10:04pm 15/10/08 |
yeah guys YEAH
| #141 11:51pm 15/10/08 |
* Relax the independence test for living away from home students. How the hell is a family on 35k(!) supposed to support a student thousands of kilometers away? That's beyond retarded. Easy. They want you to send them to JCU Cairns. :) *runs* |
| #142 11:55pm 15/10/08 |
get a better job, get ahead in life on your own two feet that's not the American way |
| #143 11:55pm 15/10/08 |
$0.02
I know how f***ing hard and expensive it is nower days to bring up kids. I dont earn enough and that's why I'm not having them EVER! $1k a kid pfft get real kruddy. Also I think anyone that pumps out more kids in this insanely over-populated world for cash is a f***ing retard and should be chemically castrated. Throwing more free money at the housing crisis....EPIC FAIL! All its gonna do is let the tradies and builders pimp their utes. Average ppl who want to pay off an average home wont be able to afford it, even with the lousy 14k ...why because average houses cost to f***ing much. |
| #144 12:23am 16/10/08 |
kr0wb4r
* Relax the independence test for living away from home students. How the hell is a family on 35k(!) supposed to support a student thousands of kilometers away? That's beyond retarded. If you have to live away from home to go to uni (your parents place is more than 90 minutes travel from your uni) You can get living away from home allowance, and receive as much as aus study. Not 100% sure on the rules, just call centrelink and find out. |
| #145 02:15am 16/10/08 |
The bonus money for kids this year is for the purpose of spending to help keep the economy moving. That whole package is an attempt to keep Australia from moving into recession. Apparently. |
| #146 07:06am 16/10/08 |
First home buyers grant also increases up to $21,000, depending on the property awsome, im looking to buy in 6months. whats the "depending on property"? |
| #147 03:24pm 16/10/08 |
you have to build it
| #148 03:26pm 16/10/08 |
14k to buy, 21k to build
| #149 03:28pm 16/10/08 |
krudds awesomeness with my free money almost makes me want to forget about his silly net censoring thingy, almost
| #150 04:10pm 16/10/08 |
it's not your free money. you already paid it to him in taxes you imbecile.
| #151 04:13pm 16/10/08 |
did you get free money?
| #152 04:15pm 16/10/08 |
it is free money
| #153 04:17pm 16/10/08 |
did you get free money? no, but then again i am not (yet) saddled with the 18 years plus of untold expenditure associated with raising a child. enjoy your free money. |
| #154 04:26pm 16/10/08 |
and i hope your kid lives with you till they're 30 and you can't get any more free money!
| #155 04:26pm 16/10/08 |
We'll just bum off the kids when they are earning the big monies that we push their sorry little lives into.
| #156 04:49pm 16/10/08 |
go back a page or two and read my suggestions infi. you might change your mind on fatherhood.
| #157 04:51pm 16/10/08 |
Lana
First of all - to all of those who would be in NEED of this money for something other than a Plasma etc, and are not to receive anything, if I were getting enough to share around, I sincerely would. BUT To Jackie of CD - and everyone else having a go at families with children; Not all people with children who are on the dole intended to be there, I have three children an 11 month old, a 1yr old and a 3 yr old - If you have children then you know that just the basics for three young children that age are beyond what a Parenting Payment provides. When I decided to have children my hubby was in full-time employment earning decent money on mines as a machinery operator, he had an accident at work when I was pregnant with my third child - he is no longer able to work and is now on a Disability Support Pension. As all wise people do, we had some savings and hubby received WorkCover payments for some time, but with three crushed discs in his spine, we now have to take WorkCover to court to receive any further payment. SO with our family income reduced from $65k + per year to nothing our savings were destroyed in six months along with increasing debts for medical expenses as we could no longer afford private health insurance, we had no choice but to seek financial aide. WHAT would you prefer us to do - sell our kids on the black market so that we had little money and NO FAMILY? Hubby's pension and my payment combined gives us less than $36400k a year. So for those of you who DONT HAVE CHILDREN and are looking at making a career out of it - I suggest doing a little research, for example have a look at the Family Court website, on average it costs $248-$298 a week for basic necessities for children the same age as mine (THIS IS EACH!). That amounts to at best - $38,688 a year - so as you can see we were coping ok until hubby had accident but now a Government Bonus of what would add up to $4400 dollars for us leaves us with $2112 surplus after child expenses for the year - This is meant to cover our RENT (as we lost our house due to rising interest and RISING DEBT and DECREASING INCOME), ELECTRICITY, FUEL (As I work 2 days a week), MEDICAL, LEGAL (Due to WorkCover crisis) - Our rent alone is $10,000 a year... So you see what I am getting at.. If you wish to make a CAREER out of having children - then you best have your own surplus ready - because its not all as cruisy as it may seem on the welfare system, I would give my right arm to be able to work full-time and support my family and jump back onto the tax-payers boat, at least I would be able to worry a little less about where my kids next meal is coming from! There isn't a week that goes by where I am not in a mess of tears over it all at some point. But it is impossible for me to do any more than I am already doing - I have my three kids 4 days of the week and every morning and night before and after work, I work for two days, I am getting myself a degree via correspondence and am trying to get my own business running in my "spare time" Not all people seeking Government Support are "dole-bludgers" - I know that I work harder and do more in a day than some tax-paying check-out persons I know who sit there looking at the clock waiting for their shift to end and I know I have more worries than your average single, no child tax-payer too...you selfish buggers only have yourselves to worry about, you try worrying about where your kids are going to be in ten years time when the ground has fallen out beneath you - some people have just hit a rough patch and need a little assistance to get back on track... I am eternally grateful for the money I am to receive and it will be put to good use, I am sure that aged pensioners and carers who are most probably in the same boat - if not worse - then myself, will also put it to good use. I too, for the record, am appalled at the amount of forums that I have looked up where other people receiving this payment intend on buying a plasma TV or the likes, I believe that if they are in a position to be able to "waste" that sort of money like that then they are true "bludgers" of the system and should be treated as such. For myself, I hope that this money will be able to tide over the endless stream of debt collector letters I receive and that the Christmas Presents my local St Vincent De Paul centre will be providing for my kids this year are nice - my hope for others is that they have a fantastic Christmas none the less and that some come to see that as bad as things might seem, there is always someone worse off then they are and in true Christmas spirit I hope that they give up their spiteful, negative. selfish natures and realise this. I also hope that maybe the local pensioners I know here who have been through two world wars and a recession and have LOST ALL their self-retirement funds because of it and have nothing more than Spam on toast most days, might be able to afford just a little piece of your yuppie CHRISTMAS CAKE.
| #158 12:37am 20/11/08 |
^ worst first post ever.
(she had to sell her enter key to feed her kids) last edited by fpot at 01:23:33 20/Nov/08 |
| #159 01:23am 20/11/08 |
Don't worry, "Kevin Rudd is from Queensland and he is here to help", "ease the sqeeze" on "working families" and restore working conditions without "throwing a fair go out the window".
*Gestures towards nearest window with thumb* *Vomits* |
| #160 12:42am 20/11/08 |
Whoa angst much?
First of all, I sympethise with you and your situation. It must be tough. And totally agree, you are the type of people the government should give money to. Perhaps Income protection insurance may have been a good option? But bit late now, but as a machinery operator that could have always been on the cards. Good luck with getting your life on track. |
| #161 12:45am 20/11/08 |
Income insurance.
| #162 12:55am 20/11/08 |
Its good to know that even when your children won't be recieving christmas presents you can still get on the net to complain about it.
| #163 01:19am 20/11/08 |
Its good to know that even when your children won't be recieving christmas presents you can still get on the net to complain about it. Haha. Gold. :) |
| #164 01:34am 20/11/08 |
Some Fat Bastard
Its good to know that even when your children won't be recieving christmas presents you can still get on the net to complain about it.This coming from a tard who'd probably slit his wrists without the net. |
| #165 01:36am 20/11/08 |
This coming from a tard who'd probably slit his wrists without the net.This coming frome Some Fat Bastard who is a fat bastard thats fat and a bastard |
| #166 01:48am 20/11/08 |
The implication from nf is that somehow the finacial disaster is kruddlers fault ?
Atleast kruddler f***ed up America, Germany, Japan and the UK more then he f***ed up here ... |
| #167 09:25am 20/11/08 |
Yeah, enter key is quite useful in longer posts.
But isn't this handout supposed to be spent to stimulate the economy, like the thread title says 'A Christmas Bonus', whether it be on TV's or kids toys. The idea is to inject the money back into the economy to help avoid a recesion. I don't think it's intended as a releif package for struggling families. If it was, I would imagine there would be tighter means testing on who can receive it. As you said families will receive this that don't really need it. last edited by mission at 09:41:26 20/Nov/08 |
| #168 09:41am 20/11/08 |
This coming from a tard who'd probably slit his wrists without the net. lol way to totally miss nf's point But isn't this handout supposed to be spent to stimulate the economy exactly they want people to spend large with it last edited by paveway at 09:37:43 20/Nov/08 |
| #169 09:37am 20/11/08 |
Anono
we have a winner. Mission for getting it right and the other chick for getting it soo wrong/ i couldnt even get past the 2nd line before i skipped over the rest.
| #170 09:39am 20/11/08 |
a while ago the RBA dude was like 'we're f***ed if everyone saves this stimulus package'
the c***s should give me some, i want to buy a TV. i'd use it to buy a TV D: |
| #171 09:43am 20/11/08 |
We are currently renovating our house so ours is going into that to get a few more things done that we couldn't originally afford.
| #172 09:47am 20/11/08 |
more than Spam on toast most days Better than spamming our forums with dribble. |
| #173 09:59am 20/11/08 |
Spam: If you slice it three ways you get three quater pound burgers.
This is true, no need to go to Macca's when you can make your own quarter pounders at home. |
| #174 10:03am 20/11/08 |
our precious forums that we fight so hard to keep spam free
| #175 10:09am 20/11/08 |
i have 2 tvs, but im going to buy a third because its what kev wants me to do (plasmas lolz)
| #176 10:13am 20/11/08 |
the financial stimulation argument is total bulls***. it's like a sugar injection to a 3 year old: it will only last 15 minutes, is definitely not good for them, and ultimately they will crash in a heap afterward.
| #177 10:50am 20/11/08 |
i agree with infi
especially cos i pay a s***load of tax and i don't like it to go to the lower half of society |
| #178 10:52am 20/11/08 |
I think instead of cash, everyone should receive a free lpg conversion coupon for their vehicle in order to more expeditiously highlight it's futility as a future fuel
| #179 10:55am 20/11/08 |
jesus.. who let the news.com.au commenter on here?
| #180 11:26am 20/11/08 |
history has shown consumers (or in other words aggregate demand) very rarely respond to once off or temporary keynesian-esque stimulatory cash injections, whether they be tax cuts, transfer payments or whatever.
see barro-ricardian equivalence for a possible theoretical explanation why this happens. infi is right (in this thread, lol) last edited by taggs at 13:15:07 20/Nov/08 |
| #181 01:15pm 20/11/08 |
a while ago the RBA dude was like 'we're f***ed if everyone saves this stimulus package' this is part of the reason why the stimulus package is retarded. if people don't spend the stimulus then it doesn't accomplish anything apart from wasting tax payers' money. when people get extra money during times of economic uncertainty they tend to save more than they usually do, so that is a definate possibility. if they do spend it then all it does is temporarily raise aggregate consumption expenditure. temporarily raising consumption expenditure will do next to f*** all in terms of avoiding a recession. consumption expenditure in australia is fairly inelastic or constant at around 70% of GDP give or take a bit. consumption stays pretty constant even during recessions. what changes during recessions is that investment, particularly business investment, totally f***s right off. for investment levels to recover takes time; time for sentiments to change, costs of capital to fall (i.e. time for banks to chill the f*** out and start lending again), etc. the stimulus package does nothing in regards to this. but of course it would be bad politics to be seen to be doing nothing. even though that is essentially what they are doing, and really all they can do, in terms of the economic fundamentals. apart from f***ing up the deposit guarantee beyond imagination that is! edit: clarity last edited by taggs at 13:18:01 20/Nov/08 |
| #182 01:18pm 20/11/08 |
I think instead of cash, everyone should receive a free lpg conversion coupon for their vehicle in order to more expeditiously highlight it's futility as a future fuel:/ The secret is, if everyone gets on board, it will run out just like oil will. Or become stupidly expenisve, just like petrol and diseasel often does. I can't wait for the petrol/diseasel to run out, i'll be the one driving around while you all queue up for months at the local LPG conversion place. Also means you'll all have to catch taxis. HOW CAN I LOSE? |
| #183 01:33pm 20/11/08 |
By the simple fact that Oil wont run out in your lifetime?
| #184 01:48pm 20/11/08 |
Yeah, that's probably true too scooter.
| #185 02:00pm 20/11/08 |
Lana we'd like to introduce you to an enter key.
| #186 02:04pm 20/11/08 |
The implication from nf is that somehow the finacial disaster is kruddlers fault ? how did you spin that from this Its good to know that even when your children won't be recieving christmas presents you can still get on the net to complain about it. heres a hint, i don't imply, i state clearly. hes an example, you're a f***ing moron. |
| #187 07:50pm 20/11/08 |
To angry to use shift ? Or can't find it yet ?
| #188 08:21pm 20/11/08 |
you're a MORON.
that better? |
| #189 08:25pm 20/11/08 |
I can't wait for the petrol/diseasel to run out, i'll be the one driving around while you all queue up for months at the local LPG conversion place.cos lpg comes from the magical lpg fairy do you know how to make lpg from waste or straight vegetable oil? |
| #190 11:44am 21/11/08 |
haha i laughed at that comment aswell
ooooo look at me, the magical lpg fairly |
| #191 11:59am 21/11/08 |
LPG (well propane and butane) is sourced from two main areas, as a by-product of the oil refining process (so as long as there's oil, there's LPG) and also from underground reserves. At the current rate of demand, there's LPG there to last us a lot longer than Oil.
| #192 01:12pm 21/11/08 |
as long as there's oil, there's petrol and diesel first and foremost. in fact there's petrol and deisel without crude
once again, what this all means is that you're rambling! |
| #193 02:29pm 21/11/08 |
Electric is the answer. the problem is not with the answer, but how we power this answer. Heavy batteries and current electricity generation methods are the problems.
Geothermal + solar + sea surge + wind = endless supply Not today or tomorrow. But it'll happen. Carbon based fuels even the renewable ones aren't the long term solution. |
| #194 04:07pm 21/11/08 |
I'm working along the lines of deadly: I love it how the Gov't takes money off you in various taxes, and then when they give some back to you everyone gets all excited like the easter bunny has come... As far as policy is concerned; as a stimulus for the economy this kind of useless spending nauseates me. I don't see it as constructive at all. But, whatever, who am I. I hope the lash out of cash out proves me wrong. |
| #195 04:42pm 21/11/08 |
u didnt get any free money like i did, did you?
| #196 04:45pm 21/11/08 |
you don't understand that they are only giving the money they took from you earlier on back to you, do you ?
| #197 04:58pm 21/11/08 |
But they are giving some back that they don't need to.
The best bit is they are giving some of your money to me. |
| #198 04:59pm 21/11/08 |
heh, i'd rather give you some of that money
than have kids |
| #199 05:05pm 21/11/08 |
oooh, what am i going to spend paves money on?
| #200 05:28pm 21/11/08 |
Fizzer
I have three children an 11 month old, a 1yr old and a 3 yr old Just doing the mental math here.. 11 month old and a 1yr old thats gotta be the worlds shortest pregnancy. |
| #201 06:01pm 21/11/08 |
Anono
or you could use what limited brain power you possessed to do that math and work out that most ppl dont quote months after a child turns 1yo, meaning the 1yo could be anywhere between 12months and 23months old.
| #202 06:36pm 21/11/08 |
I've heard plenty of mothers calling their kids an '18 month old' or '13 month old' etc
| #203 06:42pm 21/11/08 |
Just doing the mental math here.. 11 month old and a 1yr old thats gotta be the worlds shortest pregnancy. or longest labour. |
| #204 06:56pm 21/11/08 |
Eagle
yay, money to everyone else!!!! me, thanks to new work place contracts and my employer getting scared over losing the workplace agreements (whichI din't really like anyway) but I'm getting laid off just in time for christmas. who cares if 'they're not allowed to do that' they just did. |
| #205 09:36pm 25/11/08 |
and to think, if the rules hadn't been changed to force employers to keep crap employees you'd still have a job.
| #206 10:38pm 25/11/08 |
Just doing the mental math here.. 11 month old and a 1yr old thats gotta be the worlds shortest pregnancy. |
| #207 10:42pm 25/11/08 |
and to think, if the rules hadn't been changed to force employers to keep crap employees you'd still have a job. thats ironical last edited by nF at 22:44:22 25/Nov/08 |
| #208 10:44pm 25/11/08 |
To the morons arguing that this isn't free money, answer this question.
If you bought something for $1000, received the item, and then got the $1000 back, would you consider that free? |
| #209 01:02am 26/11/08 |
Some Fat Bastard
^ I get 3 grand, you get? hahahahahahahahahahahahaha
| #210 01:11am 26/11/08 |
what?
| #211 01:14am 26/11/08 |
Some Fat Bastard
Just laughin, 3 kids = 3 grand.
| #212 01:17am 26/11/08 |
I yeah I get nothing but I also have no kids so I still win.
| #213 01:27am 26/11/08 |
Some Fat Bastard
You're not wrong. I'll only be laughin for a second or two then I'll be made to hand it over to the Leader of the Opposition and Treasurer (the missus) and won't see a cent of it, all goes to bills and school fees and then I'll be back to the grindstone. LOL.
last edited by Some Fat Bastard at 01:34:07 26/Nov/08 |
| #214 01:34am 26/11/08 |
having kids is a different kind of win!
| #215 06:55am 26/11/08 |
I just discovered that the $1k per child doesn't count for kids born after October 15 this year, so our new addition doesn't get me the $1k !
Luckily the bride was preggers before Rudd changed the Baby Bonus rules, so we still get that other free money! $5k baby yeah! |
| #216 01:24pm 26/11/08 |
hows the new little one going spidz? all good?
| #217 01:25pm 26/11/08 |
it's been a funny old year this year...
money's coming out of the wood from bloody everywhere :/ |
| #218 04:10pm 26/11/08 |