What's the deal with new tv's these days? The image is no where as good as it used to be on the older ones. It's like the pixels are massive and the picture looks chunky as. And there is always that crappy ghosting effect going on too.
Why don't they just make them like CRT monitors, only bigger??? Even watching DVD's the picture is crap. /end rant |
| #0 08:21pm 23/09/05 |
Get a digital set top box, DICKFACE!
Problem over. |
| #1 08:31pm 23/09/05 |
Don't sit so close gumby.
Also Digital. |
| #2 08:38pm 23/09/05 |
digital is s*** and totally not worth the money
| #3 08:51pm 23/09/05 |
f*** spending money on digital. Intarweb tv is where it's at.
PS. And you all suck, except for scooby. 8-)~~ |
| #4 09:22pm 23/09/05 |
idonwananame
new cheap tv s r crap forget plamsa but some lcd and hd crts r awsome
| #5 09:29pm 23/09/05 |
Tael
digital is s*** and totally not worth the money$80 for a SD set-top box is hardly a lot of money compared to the cost of a cheap DVD player. |
| #6 09:52pm 23/09/05 |
My 12 year old mitsubishi cains.
It broke 2 years back cost 150 to repair, when I asked the techie if it was worth it he said they don't make TVs like this anymore, its worth it... and I thought wtf its a japanese s*** tv ... apparently they are worse now! |
| #7 10:01pm 23/09/05 |
President Dick
For picture quality you cant go past grundig or panasonic for standard TVs, plasma is a joke, especially the LG models which everyone seems to have. If you absolutely need a slimline TV the pick of the lcd brands is sony but if you want a decent cheap alternative go the AWA for $1600 or so, its all LG parts which are better than their plasma efforts.
Oh and definatly get digital, you won't go back once you get used to the quality of the picture. Good SD brands are signalmax and phoenix, easy to use and not that expensive, the cheap brands are cheap for a reason, and for some reason the panasonic model sucks. For HD get a Strong box or if you can't find one I spose you could go an LG but they can be a bitch to use as far as the remote is concerned, depends on how savy the users are going to be. |
| #8 10:08pm 23/09/05 |
sony t.v.'s have nice tubes in them, sony wide screen t.v.'s are the one to go for..
| #9 10:50pm 23/09/05 |
heh yeah LG remotes are shockers
| #10 12:07am 24/09/05 |
Gee Rev, and here I was all nice and happy with my 42" HD Panasonic Viera.
Now what do I do? :p |
| #11 12:17am 24/09/05 |
digital is s*** and totally not worth the money My house is a testament to that being completely and utterly untrue, and you should know it mang. That is, unless you think that $200 is too much to pay to get rid of ghosting on every channel, so bad that you dont want to watch tv because it just looks like absolute ass. |
| #12 12:42am 24/09/05 |
benneth
Intarweb tv is where it's at. and what program do you use? |
| #13 12:43am 24/09/05 |
I always thought tv's had the same ammount of dots in them no matter what size the screen is so if the tv's really big the picture is going to look like ass on toast with goatse pie for desert unless the tv is HD?
| #14 12:47am 24/09/05 |
I got a 100 dollar set top box the other day and its such a relief to finally have a decent picture. 100 dollars well spent. We have had digital on the other tv for ages and it was always a pain watching the analogue tv.
Point being, a set top box is worth it if you have s*** reception. |
| #15 03:19am 24/09/05 |
I have the tv playing thru the vcr and with the old tele hooked up it was crystal clear. Now doing the same with the new Sony it's all crappy looking. It's got nothing to do with having a box thingy hooked up to it, it's the way the tv is made. I guess if you could sit about 10 metres away it would be alright but that ain't gonna happen here. Just go to any store that sells tv's and look at them and you'll see that they are bright as and look like complete ass. It's like when you see a tv in a movie and the picture looks all bright and weird.
Anyway, it looks like ass and a PC monitor looks a million times better. |
| #16 03:26am 24/09/05 |
Interlaced screens look better for interlaced material, non-interlaced screens look better for progressive video. Simple as that.
Some other things: - LCD and Plasma technology for consumer televisions has a long way to go to match the long engineering history of CRT - LCD and Plasma TVs will look "pixelly" when viewed from about 2-3 metres or closer...particularly when showing SD (either analog or digital) - Display TVs will often be set at factory settings and not optimised for the environment it is placed in. In some cases, the input signal is split numerous times to show the same show on each TV - this is a retarded practice (causes ghosting and general picture degradation when using analog inputs). - SD TVs, or HD TVs when displaying SD will often try to do crazy, stupid s*** to the picture to make it look "sharper". I've seen stuff like stripping away the interlacing of the SD signal and "doubling" the lines (apparently people don't like the "flicker"). If possible, turn all that "correction" off. - Watching free-to-air retransmitted through Foxtel = additional MPEG recompression. - Free-to-air HD is quite often just up-res'ed HD...and ch7, last time I checked, still had no clue (transmitting 576p???) - With the exception of some of the newer (and really expensive TVs/projectors), the actual resolution is 720, not 1080, so the tv is downres'ing HD content (which may be just 576 up'ed to 1080). So the quality of downres'ing is a factor (if we're talking blocky, pixelly artifacts) - When creating HD MPEG-2 ATSC streams for broadcast, tv stations still largely suck. No different here. Some HD programming is great...but mostly it looks dodgy. - That said, whoever said digital TV sucks is smoking crack...or probably doesn't own an HDTV+HD-compliant STB. Also, watching movies/tv shows at your computer is gay. :) |
| #17 04:02am 24/09/05 |
Anyway, it looks like ass and a PC monitor looks a million times better. Only cause you spend every waking moment infront of a PC monitor Rev =P |
| #18 04:16am 24/09/05 |
idonwananame
36" ws hdtv toshiba 100hz (crt) best screen ive scene.
watch some digital hd it awsome but plays other format great also. about $5000 worth but and 80+ kgs when u get an lcd screen check what the interpolation is like thats what makes it look chunky ,there is no rating for it as far it as far as i know got to do a visual test or read a review of it |
| #19 05:50am 24/09/05 |
| #20 07:14am 24/09/05 |
when I asked the techie if it was worth it he said they don't make TVs like this anymore, its worth it... and I thought wtf its a japanese s*** tv ... apparently they are worse now! obviously he is gonna say that to you ... he's not gonna say just get a new one ... and turn you down... you still have alot to learn old man. |
| #21 07:24am 24/09/05 |
If u get a digital set top box does that mean your reception will be fine wherever u are?
My room is at the bottom of the house and reception stinks with the crappy aerial i have... |
| #22 09:57am 24/09/05 |
The way it works is you get picture, or you get nothing. Sometimes if the signal is poor, but not poor enough, you get garbled blocks of glitches that essentially makes it unwatchable.
The good news is that you can often get away with using a pair of cheap arse rabbit ears over a roof antenna, and wind up with pristine picture running at minimum signal strength. :) My advice would be to test first if you can... |
| #23 10:01am 24/09/05 |
So that's your opinion on the new DLP/LCD "slim line" rear projection TV Creepy? You seems to know what you're talking about and I'm sort of looking around and tossing up between this and LCD TV?.
| #24 10:09am 24/09/05 |
jD
Do you mean the new Gran Wegas Opec? They seem pretty flash and are 'quite' reasonably priced. I want to buy a nice Sony, prolly 76cm ws, but I keep thinking if I'm gonna spend over a grand I may as well spend more and have it for 10-15 years. Then I think in two years there'll be even better technology and it will be cheaper :(
Plus I could go one of those $1200 DVD recorders/160GB Hdds. I'd rather pay the extra 600 and not have to worry about recording onto disc. |
| #25 10:45am 24/09/05 |
Opec - I'll be honest in that I haven't looked closely at the latest series of DLP/LCD rear projection sets...but they'd certainly be a step over pure LCD (damn flyscreens). If they're anything like their regular projector counterparts, should be nice. Admittedly, I'm a CRT purist at heart. :)
I'll do some looking up.. |
| #26 10:54am 24/09/05 |
idonwananame
it all depends on what u want tv for.
if just want to watch dvds,standard dif stuff a everyday crt or some plasma and lcds be fine but, if u want to watch HD digital, HDdvd ,bluray,ps3 look at HD crt, or high end lcd or projecter but they are gonna cost ya |
| #27 11:02am 24/09/05 |
eu4ia
If you want a CRT TV, you can't go past a Loewe. The Germans know how to make a really good soft picture. You'll pay a fortune for one, but all Loewe makes are TVs - not like these other companies that spew out a whole range of products. I wanted a Loewe, but couldn't justify the cost.
Only place you can buy them: Todd's Hi-fi and Stereo Supplies. |
| #28 11:34am 24/09/05 |
My Sony 86 cm HDTV with a Toshiba HDTV set top box matched with new quad cabling and UHF arial I had put in is absolutley awesome.
Very much looking forward to watching the footy this arvo, with sound cranked. I'm a CRT purist at heart. Amen to that brother, nothing comes close really. last edited by Psycho! at 11:53:02 24/Sep/05 |
| #29 11:53am 24/09/05 |
idonwananame
I'm a CRT purist at heart. hahah enjoy a cathode ray tube pointed at ya head lcd will get better a top shelf crt has a great picture but |
| #30 01:25pm 24/09/05 |
jD I meant LG style slim line LCD/DLP rear projection one, you know they look like Plasma/LCD in thickness and size only at a fraction of the price. They're based on the old rear projection tech in the early 90's naturally with a hugh leap in technology so the output quality is infinitely better than the old rear projection.
From what I've heard bang for bucks, these new rear projections s***s all over plasma/LCD. They can get very large (since they're based on projection type) and you can *reasonaly* repair them i.e. if the blubs are blown you can replace them where as LCD/Plasma you just have buy a whole new set. That's why I'm considering this type of TV set instead of the LCD/Plasma because they're more economical to buy and in terms of picture quality they're quite good if not better than LCD/Plasma (subjective of course). Creepy, yeah any input will be greatly appreciate mate :) Edit: here's the example of rear projection I'm talking about from LG last edited by Opec at 13:51:12 24/Sep/05 |
| #31 01:51pm 24/09/05 |
all our tvs are sony in this house. Sony tv's rock, no doubt.
Dad recently bought a huge Rear projection tv... something like 136cm, i'm not used to the picture being so huge :( |
| #32 08:33pm 24/09/05 |
step
I've seen one of the Sharp Aquos LCD tv in action, and i was very impressed.
But if you can hold out, the longer you wait, the better plasmas and lcd get. |
| #33 08:28am 25/09/05 |
Pingu
pretty much like any piece of technology. (Talk about stating the obvious)
| #34 09:28am 25/09/05 |
Erik-the-Red
Plus I could go one of those $1200 DVD recorders/160GB Hddswhere are you getting those prices, they're like $900 for a 160gb. jD I meant LG style slim line LCD/DLP rear projection one, you know they look like Plasma/LCD in thickness and size only at a fraction of the pricethe DLP are still about a foot and a half deep, nowhere near as thin as a plasma/lcd. new cheap tv s r crap forget plamsa but some lcd and hd crts r awsomeanyone who says plasma's are crap obviously hasn't made it past the front row of display models in a store, and all he's ever seen is cheap and s***ty panels, like samsung, LG, celestial, and all that s***. If you're after something quality, u need to pay a little more than rock bottom price. the Fujitsu plasma, which isn't even a true HD panel, it's 852x480, yet the image quality on it blows the hell out of any other panel, HD or not. similar with the LCD tvs. they always look crap cuz they're not set up properly. too much brightness, wrong resolution, etc. |
| #35 10:33am 26/09/05 |
Not the old ones doode, the newer ones are very thin. Not as thin as LCD/Plasma but a hell of a lot thiner than the old ones - the one I'm talking about is about 10cm thick. |
| #36 11:16am 26/09/05 |
| #36 |