Topic: QGL Landcruiser Park Sat 8th Oct - 9th
No real details have been decided on yet... but it will be on the 8th... anyone with a 4wd is welcome!
k so ima get my tyres before then woot
im in!!
Been here camping and 4WD before. Good place!
I am 100% out for the Saturday, I might make it on the Sunday (but I doubt it)

Heading up to Sundown on the Wednesday.
SirGollum
*cough* Jimny's scared *cough* :D
sif scared ... I don't wish to embaress anymore patrol owners.

I can probably make it either late Saturday night or early Sunday morning...
Also relaod ... why aren't you coming ? mummy needs her car to go shopping ? or a younger sibling needs to be picked up from their soccer game ?
SirGollum
Seriously...would be good if u could make it Obes...just wont be fun without the Jimny :)

Obes, I may not have a masters in English literature, but I sure as hell can't see where he wrote he wasn't going.
He also didn't say he would be going. And my claim he isn't going should encourage him to say one way or the other. And my guess is he won't be.
asif you wouldn't go obes
just buy her some flowers or something instead
fuk obes thats s***
totally s***

my toast has popped :D!!
damn if only i were in qld.. Could bring my dirt bike and come 1WDriving with yas.
hah I will be there for atleast part of it I hope ... maybe you can have the drunken gay orgy (patrol owners enjoy that thing or so ditch tells us) when I am not there ?

Also my car is all fixed after the weekends bashing.
'part'... 'you hope'
not good enough obes

you should've had more sex when you were younger so it wouldn't be such a novelty now

http://maxe.ausgamers.com/images/ohsnap.gif
Jims just cranky cos he's too old for sex now.
do you want to have sexies Obes?
http://users.bigpond.net.au/fuknukle/pics/picperfect.jpg
i sure do now
'Joyyy, where are you?'
'ive got something for you'
'close your eyes and open wide'

last edited by Fuknukle at 16:26:58 19/Sep/05
just sold my landcruiser on friday. Just remember you cannot take dirtbikes into landcruiser park if you were thinking about it fuknuckle.
what are you buying to replace it!
Not a 4wd lol
I just want something to get me from A-B.
Bj
its always entertaining to see how miserable and worthless Obes must be with his replies and how often he baits

get a life you stupid old c***
take a chill pill, all he's doing is taking the piss from someone who takes the piss from him
all he's doing is taking the piss from someone who takes the piss from him

the nurse is gonna get pretty annoyed with that after a while
Qmass
obes always attacks reloads car becuase even though pajeros are s***, obes' car is a chicks car which is much of a muchness.
obes rocks..

burt you're raced!
Nah reload s*** talked my car

I find it humourous that in reality he was in no position to be giving s***. I also find it humourour that his little team of lovers come to protect him.

qmass .. its not reloads car its reloads dad's (who we are yet to confirm wasn't actually his birth mother).
I don't understand why I have to own a car to say yours is girly and s***. By that qualification you can't go attacking my dad when you were a rape baby.

He was a test tube baby actually, reload, he has 2 dads which both spunked into a glass, they mixed the jizz together, and randomly got a kid.

Such is love.

I don't understand why I have to own a car to say yours is girly and s***.

If you cant manage your own finances, chances are you're too immature to be able to comment seriously on someones cars' sexuality.

read: sig

last edited by casa at 13:34:25 20/Sep/05
SirGollum
Why do geeks have to bitch so much ? Does anyone manage to stay on Topic on this forum ?

So in keeping with the General 4x4 theme :) ...

Ive seen Suzuki's go some scary places and one would think that would break a little car like that...But they do it and come back for more ;) They do have some pretty big limititaions (Low down torque mostly), but nothing some good mods cant fix :)...all in all Im a pretty big fan of the ol Zukes. But then again...i like the ol Subies too...another grossly underrated car IMHO.

Now ....erm...Pajero's.....They old 80's models ones SUCK BALLS!!!...no power, power, no flex, weak motor, weak drive train....you name it, it breaks on a old Paj.

The Ones after that came with a 3.0 or 3.5 V6 are pretty cool, selectimatic 4x4 or awd, pleanty of grunt, nice and comfortable....still no hardcore machine...but thats not the idea of them.

theres my 2c depostied :)

PS... So Jim, I guess the Patrol orgy is on Sat night now ? ... Chics dig White Patrols ;)

I wish they sold the diesel jimny's over here. Something to do with the quality of Australian Diesel fuels and small diesel engines .. or some crap.

DDiS - CRD
2004 onwards
Turbo Diesel Injection
4 Cylinder
Displacement - 1461cm3
Power - 48Kw @ 4000rpm
Torque - 160 Nm @ 2000rpm

Compared to mine
M13A with VVT
2005 onwards
Electronic Fuel Injected with Variable Valve Timing
4 Cylinder, DOHC, 16 valve
Displacement - 1328cm3
Power - 62Kw @ 6000rpm
Torque - 110 Nm @ 4100rpm

Haha! pwnt!

Also, where's my invite Obes? Crusty old man...
f*** off c***s, i got a seat with obes on this trip.

f*** OFF I'LL STAB YOU

YES YOU SAINT and BAD AND MANTRA.!!@#%#$%#$@
heh sirgollum
I dunno about chicks but I know obes digs white patrols

should be a good trip, lookin forward to some new trails
ahahahaha, hahahahah , ahahahahahaha

the '84 subaru has more power and torque than the '05 jimny, ahahahahahahaha.

heh the subbie also doubles as a grader its so low!
Ditch
Cock Gobbler
I love it how you continue to mention me in your posts Obes. I must have had a big influence on you.

Cock bag.
Ditch
Cock Gobbler
Hey wow I never noticed I'm a Cock Gobbler. Ha thats awesome. I know everyone is jealous now.

last edited by Ditch at 11:35:14 21/Sep/05
Are you signing your post cock bag, or am I a cock bag.

And what is a cock bag I looked on google and couldn't see.

ps. you had no influence, you are just a runnign in joke now. And its enjoying to see how much you edit your posts.
Ditch
Cock Gobbler
I actually edited that last post because I wrote Cock Cobbler instead of Cock Gobbler. Very amusing indeed, but yes I made a spelling mistake. I'm going to hell.

OMG you don't know what a cock bag is? Obes you need to get out more old man.
which one is it ditch?
Ditch
Cock Gobbler
Ho ho ho.
Hey Jim, my brother was at Moorooka Nissan yesterday looking at Navaras and the salesman he was talking to (Peter I think was his name?) was apparently the same guy who sold you your Patrol. Matty mentioned he knew someone who'd traded a Prado in for a Patrol and the sales guy remembered you.

But yeah, hes leaning hard towards the Navara now, one of the old models cos he can get a real nice price at the moment cos they're trying to get rid of them before the new models arrive, $45k fully optioned (and then some) is the initial quote he got, thats without trade and my brother reckons he can screw them down a few grand lower than that yet. I told him about this planned outing and now hes wondering if he should get it before the 8th :P
Landcruiser park would be a tuff first outing for him but its good in terms of the guys that are going aren't idiots or yahoos and would probably find some good trails for him to learn on
heh yeah peter was his name

what'd matty think of the rodeo? it came up pretty good in the off-road part that ute comparison, not that it was a very comprehensive comparison. I've got zero experience with any of the 4wd utes
SirGollum
Dont worry Jim...Your part of the Patrol clan now....which means eventually you will roll yours and turn it into a ute anyway :)
Yeah, he looked at a Rodeo, but I think it was a bit outside his budget. At the moment its between the Navara, the Courier and the Triton. He was reading a review in another magazine, Outlander? Something like that, and they compared all the 4wd utes and the Navara came out right at the top for off road performance. It also came out near the bottom for on-road performance though, which is why hes still wavering. Not that its terrible on-road, hes test driven one and didn't mind it, but out of all the ones hes driven, even he agrees its the worst on-road. He much preferred the Triton on-road, but then it didn't rate as high as the others off-road and I was saying to him it'd really suck balls to pay that much for a new car and then find out it can't do all the off-road stuff you want it to.
Tell him to buy an older white patrol ute ... then he can laugh at Obes.
why would you buy a piece of s*** like a navara or triton, nissan patrol td coil cab ute, nuff said, case closed.
white patrol owners push back
I have no idea what a nissan patrol td coil cab ute is, but unless its $40k or so brand new, then thats probably why hes not getting one. At the moment he has a quote from Mitsubishi for the Triton loaded with extras for $41k, and he thinks he can get the Nissan guy to match it (or come pretty close) for a fully loaded Navara.
Look at the flex on my brother's new 4wd
http://www.digitalpants.net/pics/AirLocker_comp_newpic.jpg
Dont worry Jim...Your part of the Patrol clan now....which means eventually you will roll yours and turn it into a ute anyway :)
I tried to roll it on cooloola beach last weekend to no avail =]

khel: bummer about the rodeo price, had no idea they were exxy. Yeah I reckon if he can handle any not-so-great-on-road feel in favour of something decent off-road he'll be happier, he sure seemed pretty keen about the off-road stuff when he came out with us the other weekend. Bummer is that practically all the utes in that class that navara's are in have independant front suspension now, which is probably going to hamper them off road, although a front diff lock would help a fair bit - if they're available for those utes.

why would you buy a piece of s*** like a navara or triton, nissan patrol td coil cab ute, nuff said, case closed.
what's so bad about navara's? you can't jack them up sky high like the older hilux's cos of the IFS but are they really so bad for regular off-road stuff?
I'm sure that the coil cab utes are around that price khel, and Jim I just can't see why you wouldnt go the coil cab ute in terms of future modability, sure now he might not want to get fully into it but later on down the track he probably will and it gives him alot more room to move.

ok wait I just checked the price and they start at 50,000.
in that case, go 2nd hand coil cab :)
Independant suspension seems to be the norm now... even jeeps cherokees have them now right ?
yeah

will be interested to see what they do with the next model patrol
probably the same as the 100/105 series LC, mostly IFS except for a base model which retains the live axle
SirGollum
Yea ill be pretty sad they bring in the IFS Patrol :(

Have you seen any of the reports for the IFS Cruiser yet ? Theres been quite a few ppl saying its just not strong enough anymore....wheels are just 'falling' off when hit hard a few times. (large ruts etc)

So hows the work going on the Patrol Jim? Decided on mods yet ? Im hoping to have some crawler gears in time for cruiser :)
yeah I've seen plenty of whining about the ifs front end on cruisers, I think it'll fall on deaf ears though cos the family market is so much bigger than the 4wd-fan market - I guess as long as they keep providing a hose-out live axle version like the 105 series they'll keep most people happy.

as far as my mods go, still umm'n and aah'n over whether or not to stay legal =]
SirGollum
Legal...yea...its a big one :)

I honestly think you will get yourself into enough trouble with 2" - 4" and 33's.... ..I know i do :) also I dont think the little 3.0 Diesel wont push much more than 33's without crawler gears / Power upgrades.. My Petty has some pretty good low down grunt, and i reakon 35's would be to much for it.

A mate of mine had 35's on his 4.2 diesel for a bit, but went back to 33's cause it would stall everywhere on climbs etc.

But hey...6" and 35's certainly looks cool :)

yeah I'm considering some crawler gears regardless I reckon
a dtronic and a 3" exhaust is supposed to do wonders for the 3.0 too

a lot to umm and ahh about =]
Start with a couple of inches and 33's and then go from there. You may find it's enough, you may find you want more ...
A couple of inches just isn't enough to satisfy Jim, or so Obes told me.

i wonder if gays have the same ideas about penis size as hetero females?
obes speaks the truth
i wonder if gays have the same ideas about penis size as hetero females?

thats yours is tiny?

yeah probably dude, bad luck
I want crawlers for my jimny. They exist, made in italy called trialjimny gears.
wtf are crawlers?
reduced ratio transfer box gears, makes the car "crawl" because when you put larger wheels on it tends to wanna run away on you and then you gotta start using brakes which isnt really good.

last edited by spoon at 10:42:54 27/Sep/05
You definately need those Obes! Hopefully you'll be able to keep up with the subaru then :P
haha sif ... its you who needs to keep up with me!

Crawlers are also good even with out larger tyres for a slower more controlled low range for crawling over rocks etc etc (ie. they help remove the need for momentum, and also allow you to move at slowwer speeds)
good for driving up steep hills with your legs hanging out the window
Its all fun and games until a kid is run over.
how does that change anything
They can bounce up into the under carriage, the smell of human flesh cooking on a motor is distracting from the sound of the nature as you run over it.
all the more reason for big cover-all bash plates I guess
Hey Hey, I'm back.

I think Luke was organising Skiing for the 9th so if thats on i'll be going Skiing.
I'm already working Sat and cant get it off (Had the last 2 and this upcoming off) so I don't think I will make it...
If Skiing falls through and there is still people going to be up Sunday I might make the Day trip.

I also Hit up ARB about some gear for my Car (Rear Locker, Lift, Winch Bar) wich looks to be ~$5000 all up...
I want all 3 but could only realisticly afford one or 2. Got Rego/Insurance for the Car coming up at the start of the year aswell >_>

Anyway... I was Wondering which Of the Lift / Locker would be better to get forst?
Or would it be better to wait till I could get them both?

I talked to some people about bigger wheels for my Jeep... and Apparently I cant... because when they turn in they will rub. One guy said you could offset the centre of the wheel to allow for bigger wheels. Then my mates said it causes a lot of problems (as did the Guy at ARB) anyone know whatr sorts of problems?

Yes... another question... last one.
My Dad got some Side Steps for his Jeep from Opposite Lock, but they looked kinda gay on the new model Jeep, and they were put on with gay brackets which made them not only look gay buy hang rather low giving him dick all clearance.
I was wondering if there was a better way to fit, Kingsley Strata Steps to a KJ Jeep Renegade 2005.

If not he was going to give them to me! (So dont think so hard about his problem) The Brackets don't fit my Jeep (XJ Jeep Classic 96) so what would be the best way for me to go about fitting them?
g'day scooter

bugger about having to work, I hope we didn't mess you around by earlier saying we'd do this trip on the first weekend in october :(

I'd go the lift for sure, especially if you can throw in some tyres too. You can prolly do without the bar if you're careful =] Can get a decent hand winch to keep you out of trouble for about $400 too.
As for the locker... on one hand they could be considered pretty much essential, but on the other hand it'd probably do you good to do without one for a while and get used to having to place your wheels a bit more carefully :) It's good fun to be able to overcome gnarly terrain without always reaching for the locker switch even if it does sometimes mean having a few goes at a hill at different angles before getting over it. Plus with a suspension lift and having two live axles you should end up with more wheel travel than you have now which will help out a lot. Throw some good tyres into the mix and you'll be sailing.

When you talked to people about bigger wheels, were they taking a possible suspension lift into account when they said you'd scrub? The only problems I can think of with offset rims might be something to do with steering adjustments - but get more opinions and ask them why they reckon what they reckon. Also, google up some jeep specialists in brisbane, jeep fans get pretty passionate about their cars and you'll probably find a jeep shop will know the car's ins and outs a lot better than a regular shop.

Only thing I can think of with the side step issue is getting some better brackets made up, or maybe even asking opposite lock to ungay them.
Locker rocker my boxer
SirGollum
Hey Jim,

Thought this might be a use to you.

http://www.outerlimits4x4.com/PHP_Modules/phpBB2/viewtopic.php?t=55618

Scooter..

I 'have' heard that the older XJ's, do have issues with fitting bigger tyres...Has something to do with the wheel wells being pretty small, and the fact that the car is a monocoque design, so a simple body lift wont do.

Also the XJ uses a 'slip' yoke on the gearbox (Like the Subaru's) meaning that if you were to lift it high enough to fit BIG tyres (35's) the tail shaft will fall out of the gearbox all the time :)

I think even fitting 33's can be a issue, needing atleast 4" - 5" lift. And because of the driveshaft angles i would imagine it would shudder like all F&*K on the highway.

So my recommendation would be maybe a basicly lift of say 2" and a 'little' bit bigger tyre...31" - 32"..and just make them aggressive (MTR's etc).

Because of the limitations on lift etc, i would recommend spending the money in other places too, Locker, Bar work etc. Never underestimate how much bar work can help. Have a look at the front bar on my Mav next time i see ya (Maybe Next Sundown trip ??!?!)...it shows a LOT of use :).

cheers for the link, think I trawled through it the other night actually, lot of good info on those boards

and hey where's the ormeau vids :)
SirGollum
Hey Jim,

Ill try and put the vid of Mitsi hill up this weekend. Looks pretty cool :)

Its just a pity the Jimny wasnt there :D

last edited by SirGollum at 08:53:32 30/Sep/05
sweeeeeet

stalling, breaking off pieces of plastic and bashing diffs and side steps on a brand new GU, captured on film forever =]
SirGollum
hehehe...it doesnt sound 'that' bad on video :)....might have to put in some better crunchy sound effects :)
Well I was sleeping in! jeez ... btw any day trips planned for this weekend ?
maybe we could grab a couple of sound effects from obes' sundown video =]

obes: I'm up for a day trip somewhere, I could even go cooloola/rainbow beach again despite the actual 4wd'ing being lame. It's just such an awesome place to be out driving on a sunny weekend. But some actual 4wding would be good too
hmm im getting my diff fixed under warranty and new tyres on monday so im out this weekend, good to go next :D
Jim, if you go up that way hunt down the King's Gorge track ... is probably the closest you'll get to 4x4'ing on rainbow
yeah we found it last time

It was ok ...
yeah, needs more hills :(
We didn't do a lookout walk tho becuase jim pulled a heartlidge walking up a tiny little hill.
SirGollum
"If you cant drive it, its not worth looking at" :)

speaking of driving, a set of juicy 33" cooper stt's should be going on my car tomorrow
Given the number of other walking trails me and jim decided were actually roads that day we shoulda just driven up there.
or got a wheelchair
obes and I went for a quick burl through ormeau this arv, here's the new coopers
http://jason.qgl.org/images/newcoopers.jpg

Also Jimny went up a hill, that 1 landcruiser was being winched out of and another 3 backed out of.

My car is not a girls car damn it!
glenn, stinky: I had a lot more trouble getting up that hill today, seemed a heck of a lot more washed out than it was a couple of weeks ago - bashed the crap out of my sills and ended up having to do a bit of stacking at that last bit in the pic above

obes went up pretty easy in the jimny, got some scary altitude with the front right wheel when he went over that bit above, shame I couldn't snap it with the camera fast enough
after watching that video and seeing those pictures I'm just curious, if one of you can't get up a certain hill, is there an alternate route to meet up with everyone? and if not, do you all have to come down the same way you went up?

Just sorta curious about the logistics of it all
sometimes there's an easier way to go around a section, sometimes there might even be an alternate track that meets back up a few minutes later, sometimes you can use a winch as a last resort to get a vehicle up that couldn't otherwise get up and I guess sometimes you all turn around and go back cos it's just too hard for some cars :)
Cool, good to hear the jimny made it up mitsu hill. Did you have to use the lockers much Obes? Can't wait to take the Subaru over it.

Speaking of which, it's all toughed up now, bash plate is VERY securly attached, no more bailing wire for me :) A bunch of troublesome lift blocks are welded in place, the bullbar is welded in place, and well basically we just ran the welder over the car from front to back :)

Bring on Cruiser Park!! YEAH! :)
hmm so u have a welder.. nice.
i might ahve to invite u over and be a bastard hah
Actually no I don't ... Thankfully I have friends that do!
yea my mates workshop is an hour away so its much gay.
i'll get one sooner or later tho, once i get a job again heh
Speaking of which, it's all toughed up now, bash plate is VERY securly attached, no more bailing wire for me :) A bunch of troublesome lift blocks are welded in place, the bullbar is welded in place, and well basically we just ran the welder over the car from front to back :)

Bring on Cruiser Park!! YEAH! :)
chuckle :)
yeah I had to use lockers, no way you couldn't ... one section was extremely washed out.
crankin, my veehikkle is booked in for some suspension work on thursday
SirGollum
awesome!!...so waddid ya end up getting ?
4" adjustable tough dogs, 4" coils, panhards, caster plates, brake line adjustments, swaybars lengthened, rtc steering damper and a partridge in a pear tree

fourbys are doing the work, same place I bought the 33" coopers from on saturday. they rock, they bought my 5 patrol tyres, my 5 prado tyres and my 5 xtrail tyres too =]
I should get like commision from those f***ers, I recommended them to you and fuknuckle! Also get me a coopers sticker jim ya slut!
SirGollum
As promised ive just finished rendering the Mitsi Hill climb @ Ormeau.

Cause of the size of it (340Mb), i cant really post the link on a public forum. So email(glenh@ingenuity.net.au) or MSN(sirgollum@hotmail.com) me, and ill throw the link your way.

Thanks

Glen.
champion