Topic: Goddammit I hate I'm pissed at my Flowerhorn...

Motherf***er just killed my Saratoga that I had just bought on Saturday

$100 meal

SONOFABITCH!!!!!!!!

He hasn't been able to do in the two red devils (breeding pair) an they're remaining 7 babies (now an inch long).

I could have sworn (wait - I did swear, still am...) that the Saratoga would have been tough enough to survive. I guess he needed to be bigger than 6" to cope with a 12" Male Flowerhorn..

/end rant
are these birds?
are they fish?
shaz
They're fish.
Where did you get your saratoga?
rodolphe
fukn A

expensive feeder fish dude

i get upset when I lose a $5 fish...
teach it a lesson by flushing it down the toilet
Where did you get your saratoga?
Umm an aquarium store next to Rocklea Markets (nextdoor to Subway). There were another 10 or so in the tank so if your after one, that's the place to get one...

teach it a lesson by flushing it down the toilet
Believe you me I seriously considered it
rodolphe

why you would want to let a beautiful native fish mix with an immigrant...
man that sucks! but its the risk you run having all killer fish eh :P never underestimate an enraged cichlid to do some crazy damage! when i was in high school a mate of mine threw a big 25cm red devil into his old man's tank full of white pirahna, expecting the pirahna to maul it... instead the red devil went nuts n killed 4 pirahna before my mate netted it :P
if it were me... i'd ditch the flowerhorn... ugly fukrz & get a Dovi Cichlid (wolf) they are much nicer looking & are still a killer ;P
Fizzer
Lol herm RQR-[OBAF] owned by a fish ;)
^^ Cause I want a bad ass tank that your not game to put your hand in that's why =)

Ah well, have to get one up to size before he goes in with the rest of the monsters...
shaz
My brother is obsessed with fish, I'll tell him where you got it he might be keen. We have a red devil and we put a baby white oscar in with it and it got killed :( Whenever my brother washes the tank he gets bitten, I saw him punch the red devil once lol.
sif fish I gave up on those c***s ages ago. f***ers always die
this thread needs pics

for now it's worthless
rodolphe
yer dude, go and buy another one and have the digi cam ready, we need pics + vids :D
Hermi, I have a 35cm Saratoga I have been thinking of selling before he outgrows the tank. what size tank would you be putting him in ?

I also have a 25cm Murray Cod who had go to in his own tank coz he beat up on the Saratoga ( bit my GF on the finger once too when she was changing the filter ). He'd be good for a f*** off don't put your fingers in tank.

last edited by stinky at 14:37:19 23/Feb/05
1,500 litres =)
My tanks 6'x 3'x 3'

Some older pics, I'll have to update them with some new ones...

http://www.users.on.net/~thevault/HERMITech/Fish/Images/Cheers.jpg

Had to get rid of the Oscar and the Festae just wouldn't eat so she died

http://www.users.on.net/~thevault/HERMITech/Fish/Images/Quaker.jpg

How old is he?
Is he a jardini or leichardi?
An I guess

How much?

I ain't giving that prick another meal that expensive (all in one hit anyways - that was the equivalent of 70 gold fish + untold entertainment hours....)

last edited by HERMITech at 14:43:52 23/Feb/05
I *think* he's a leichhart, but I can't remember *shame faced*. We've had him since March or so last year and he was quite young then.

No idea how much he'd be worth ... make an offer and I'll see what the Woman thinks.

This is him ( albiet quite some time ago )
http://xesla.ro/gallery/gallery/Fish/20040727/DSC00984.JPG
We've had him since March

*sigh* 5 days dammit ah well, knew it was a risk...

Well, I'm all outta cash at this stage. Got rego next month an my usual car payment this pay (next week) so I couldn't make an offer for at least a month.

That said though, I've seen em down at Pet City at that size for around $200 Just couldn't bring myself to spend that much on a fish (cause you all now know what can happen in my tank).

Fish stores are such a rip off when selling stuff to them (yeah yeah, I now they have costs etc) as they only give you around 1/3 of what they can sell em for..

There's a shop right next to Pet City that sells fish,quite cheap too...for a bit extra you can get chips or potato scollops with them too.
You forgot to mention how good his calamari is...
shaz
I just spoke to my bro he reckons you can get saratogas from the farms for $30 or $40 dollars and that he'd been biding his time because he needs a new tank but he cant get transport for one.
Shaz, really?? Cool! Where bouts are the farms?? I've can cover the transport side of things (provided they aren't too far away
Yeah I'm with Hermi ... where abouts is the farm ?
i see

last edited by acetame at 17:39:03 23/Feb/05
shaz
Apparently there's a farm out in Noosa, my bro needs someone with a bullbar to tow a 6ft tank he wants. I'll find out where this farm is though.
rodolphe
saratoga farm, read up
shaz, if he's buying a tank, tell him to go to Aquariums R Us they make them and sell to a lot of aquariums and also to the public. They can deliver.
i can tow his 6ft someone around the farm, my tank has a towbar

last edited by jmr at 17:59:59 23/Feb/05
shaz
Yeah, I don't think he wants to spend so much on a tank because he's tight.
I think he wants to buy one of some guy who is selling one cheap.
Denominator
shaz I can throw a 6foot tank on me ute for a price

last edited by Denominator at 18:40:42 23/Feb/05
I had my tank custom built by a guy at Kingston, I've still got his number if anyone wants it. I paid $550 for it. He's also built tanks 18 feet long which was segmented around a corner ! No leaks

Noosa eh? Well within a quick drive.
CeMaX
What size is your tank Hermi, i'm looking for a 8x2x2
What is a flowerhorn? And what is a red devil? I know they're fish (well, I know now), but got any pics of them or anything?
Furgle
Flowerhorn is a hybrid, Parapetenia trimaculata crossed with a Amphilophus species. They then back cross with other Amphilophus species to get the solid colors and head form.

In my opinion they should all be destroyed.

PS. http://www.equarium.com.au/ :)
rodolphe
I had a breeding pair of bristle nose and the male killed the female... weird.

eheh they are only worth a few $ though, when they are small, she was full-size though :o(
In my opinion they should all be destroyed.

You realise by saying that your also agreeing that all the various breeds of dogs, cats, horses, cattle that have been meticulously bred an crossbred for certain traits in order to create new *breeds* over the years should also be destroyed.

You can't say kill this one hybrid species the way you just did without saying kill all the other hybrid species that have occurred both by design and by accident

Unless of course your a hypocrite, then it's ok =)
Furgle
Dogs, cats, horses - the different varieties are different BREEDS, not different SPECIES interbred, therefore they are not hybrids.

All domestic dogs are one species, Canis lupus. There are hundreds of different breeds, but only one species. Another example would be with goldfish, they've been selectively bred, not hybridised.
Actually, Canis Familiaris is the domestic dog, Canis Lupis are wolves ;) but yeah, point taken I spose on the terminology.

Why the hate for hybrids though? Even though I felt like pulling the scales off mine yesterday morning (in the end I just slapped him around a bit an got bitten for my troubles) I don't hate him or his ilk.
What about a Liger or a Mule? should they be destroyed alongside the Flowerhorn ?

or how about my two pet Bengal cats? a cross of the Asian Leopard Cat ( Felis bengalensis ) and the Domestic Cat ( Felis domesticus/catus ) Do you wanna destroy them too ?
^^ now I rmember seeing your pics of the Saratogo ages ago, you posted a pic of a bengal sitting on the couch watching it an I said I was envious cause you also had the type of cat I wanted. Bastard =)

Where bouts you live anyway?
Furgle
Mules are sterile, no problem there. Cats... I'm not touching that with a 10 foot pole. We all know what feral cats are doing to our wildlife.

There are lots of hybrid plants and animals in this world -- nothing I can do about that, but in the aquarium industry they should have been rejected outright. As usual greed takes over and all sense goes out the window.

We have tight import restrictions and most asian rivers, the amazon, and the african rift lakes are becoming increasingly polluted. One day we will find that the only remaining specimens of a fish species in this country are those in tanks. We have an obligation to maintain pure strains in our species.

It's bad enough going into an aquarium and seeing a tank full of "Assorted Mbuna $9.00ea", all of which are hybrids of different species.
Yeah that was me! I'm out west towards ipswich ( not as far as goodna )
We have an obligation to maintain pure strains in our species.
/que Pearl Jam song

"thats evolution baby"
I can see your point furgle, but I don't know if outlawing hybrids altogether is the answer. Making a hybrid for the sake of it is probably not that great, but making a hybrid for a good reason ( disease immunity, hardiness, etc ) certainly has a place.
Protius-X
I had a goldfish once... mum smashed the tank with the ironing board... he died...
shaz
Even if only pure strains of fish were in our fish tanks they would have an extremely limited gene pool. There probably wouldn't be enough species diversity for them to survive in the wild anyway.
The good thing about hybrid species is, from what I believe, that they're fairly expensive so people are not likely to throw them into creeks etc. like they might have done in the past with other species.
My GF's brothers fish tank owns. It is huge, about the size of (Herm's * 1.5) maybe bigger. It is about half filled with coral and heaps of fishies, not killer ones like herms tho :(
shaz
Hey I just talked to my bro he said if someone drives he will take them to the farm. Email if you want to go mcfeast_11 athotmaildotcom.
sLiNky
i to owned goldfish. they grew diseases, floated upside down for a while and eventually died.
CeMaX, tank is 6'x3'x3'
Fully set up it weighs in at almost 2 tonne!

shaz - awesome, I'll get an email away sometime today =)
Denominator
2 tonne for tank, I hope its not on the second story or in a flat.

shaz- awesom have emailed you
Whoever goes up there let me know, I'll try and organise to come or give money to get a baby 'toga too.
^^ Done

Might be a good excuse for me to come have a look at your tank an some Bengals (oh, an meet you heh)
Lunch
heh funny reading this thread, have a 450 litre tank thats gone threw a few cycles and it wasn't doing much, only has a gouramie a few clown loaches and 2 apisto's in it. Today is the home of a baby Saratoga Jardini.

From Dwarf Cichlids to this. Should be interesting :)
How big a baby is it? Clown loaches can give small fish a nasty suck...

$5 bucks says the only thing in that tank within a few months is the Jardini =)

Unless of course you want me to drop "Petal" in
Lunch
heh the clown loaches are pretty big and them as with the of the rest of the tank and is going to be moved to another tank, although the few community tanks i have had, the clown's have been the best fish out of the lot. They are pretty funny if you dont keep them with a big school because they try and school with other fish and take on the same habits etc. Although I dont really see the point in taking risks with community tanks, each fish is different and no one really knows how other fish will react to each other.

Been looking for ages for a baby jardini. this one is only around 10cm in size so get the fun of watching it grow quickly and trying to make the little bugger eat pellets along with feeders.

last edited by Lunch at 23:07:14 25/Feb/05
rodolphe
i had a bara living happily with clown loaches for months, weird. the bara ate fish 2x the size of the clown's on a regular basis...
Yeah, it's all peaceful until you miss a feeding time....

Yeah, some fish just don't trigger attacks like others. I mean, you have to be a tuff fish to survive with "Petal" cause he even has a go at my 2 Plecos (which are almost 12" long now)