thre3dee
i made this after watching a bit of Battlestar Galactica.
its based on one of the fighters. a few of the polys need to be fixed tho Low poly model has around 3800 polys but rendered has 60k+ polys. http://img157.exs.cx/img157/6171/SpaceFighterXtraGunBack.jpg http://img157.exs.cx/img157/2193/SpaceFighterXtraGun.jpg |
| #0 09:27pm 15/02/05 |
Billy Hardball
I like it but give it more panelling and colours!
| #1 09:31pm 15/02/05 |
thre3dee
yeah its basically just the model with some basic materials so far.
| #2 09:33pm 15/02/05 |
doesnt have enough guns, and turbine engine theoretically wouldnt work in space, theres no air to compress.........
| #3 09:34pm 15/02/05 |
Maybe the turbine engines are for when it's not in space. Wings wouldn't do much good either.
| #4 09:37pm 15/02/05 |
thre3dee
hey its looks good thats all that matters :P
this is just something i made when i had nothin else to do so yeah. |
| #5 09:40pm 15/02/05 |
thre3dee
iu could blend the engines into the body making them "ION JETS" or something cool sounding
| #6 09:42pm 15/02/05 |
Lynx
Not as cool as your other space probe
| #7 09:42pm 15/02/05 |
| #8 09:45pm 15/02/05 |
Did you make this in Med102 this afternoon? Some guy next to me was making a cool looking space fighter thingy of some kind during the tutorial.
| #9 09:45pm 15/02/05 |
thre3dee
nah i made it on sunday
i had the file open a couple of times during the tute *EDIT: where were u sitting khel? last edited by thre3dee at 21:50:00 15/Feb/05 |
| #10 09:50pm 15/02/05 |
Melissa
looks like a viper with a body kit
you have about as much creative potential as i do, ie. zero |
| #11 09:53pm 15/02/05 |
I'm in tute 4, up near the front, second row in (going from the door).
Tute 4 sucks the wang, means I have a 5 hour gap in between the lecture and the tute :( Spose it wont be so bad once I have some stuff I can actually work on, but right now, it sucks the wang. |
| #12 09:55pm 15/02/05 |
Protius-X
I think it looks cool. I don't know what the f*** you're on about manlissa, I see no viper there.
| #13 09:55pm 15/02/05 |
thre3dee
looks like a viper with a body kit hmmm how did i win $2000 worth of software with this little creative potential? |
| #14 09:56pm 15/02/05 |
thre3dee
must have been sumone else coz im in tute 3
| #15 09:56pm 15/02/05 |
looks like a viper with a body kit Well, considering he said "i made this after watching a bit of Battlestar Galactica" in the first post, its not suprising that it resembles a viper :P I don't know what the f*** you're on about manlissa, I see no viper there. The fighters in BSG are called Vipers, it wasn't a reference to the car (if thats what you were thinking). |
| #16 10:02pm 15/02/05 |
Protius-X
Ooohhhh... well I'm not a fan so I wouldn't know. Barely watched the show on sunday either so yeah... don't even open your mouth manlissa.
| #17 10:04pm 15/02/05 |
thre3dee
its called teaching urself how to model spacecraft and the like. it doesnt HAVE to be 10000% original coz it aint meant for anything other than learning.
| #18 10:05pm 15/02/05 |
step
I think its quite good, what program did you use?
| #19 10:39pm 15/02/05 |
The laser are too big but I liek the BSG influence.
Watch the old stuff too some very stylised designs there. |
| #20 11:18pm 15/02/05 |
I reckon it looks good. Once it's had a skin put on it'll look f***ing cool.
8-) |
| #21 11:33pm 15/02/05 |
can u post your last project you worked again on thr3dee? that really cool little space ship thing :D
| #22 11:40pm 15/02/05 |
WhiteWolf
the jets are ion jets, collecting space dust etc. to convert into ionic energy. the wings are for two reasons, 1, they have solar pannels on them to charge the ion jets, and 2, for independent planet landing.
*shrugs* i don't really know, but i guess thoes could be used as excuses :P |
| #23 01:23am 16/02/05 |
What program did you use to make this.
| #24 02:09am 16/02/05 |
imho, cockpit canopy looks too retro...
| #25 05:42am 16/02/05 |
i think he used 3dsmax
| #26 07:07am 16/02/05 |
fingers
either your all way up there and have the merit to be able to put 3d's work down or your all a bunch of cocky wankers (excluding the few who positively commented on his work).
it looks awesome and your mastery of 3dmax is awesome. i know this aint anywhere near what you have created in the past (like that little ball thing or whatever it was that won u the money). U have a pretty bright future with regards to animation etc. i hope to see u on the credits of major films in the future :P |
| #27 12:48pm 16/02/05 |
Looks pretty good, but as others have pointed out, the engines don't appear to be something that would work in space. When I look at a model or even a drawing of something, everything on it should have a reason/meaning. i.e. if you're designing a space fighter, do some quick research into the technologies ( even if just in sci-fi ) that would be used to power the fighter, then translate that into your model ).
Wings are good as they give you a flat pointing forwards area to store/fire projectiles from ( although tubes like on a sub would be just as good, but probably not as visually appealing ). as well as somewhere to mount energy weapons without needing turrents etc, perfect for a one or two man craft. Also in the event of being hit and the possibility of an emergency landing on a moon/planet with gravity/atmosphere can be used for gliding purposes. |
| #28 12:57pm 16/02/05 |
zoom! the model looks very cool 3d! :D as most ppl have sed... needs a mad skin to finish it off :D
it's a bit pointless all the people saying stuff like 'turbine engines in space!?' 'what are the wings for?' & trying to make it 'realistic' because honestly... what would be the point of a small single man fighter in space combat? it is just asking some guy to go out into space, hardly protected to die. any enemy could just throw a couple of tons of gravel in the direction they were approaching from & it would perforate them. :P so yeah.. essentially it just has to look cool & like a fighter aeroplane that we all recognise. |
| #29 01:32pm 16/02/05 |
zoom! the model looks very cool 3d! :D as most ppl have sed... needs a mad skin to finish it off :D What is the point of a single man with a rifle when any enemy could just airstrike against him? |
| #30 03:45pm 16/02/05 |
That looks pretty cool. The outside guns could be made to look meaner (they remind me of those lego guns :P). The shape of it is very nice.
| #31 03:59pm 16/02/05 |
What is the point of a single man with a rifle when any enemy could just airstrike against him? not really a good comparison is it? :D the man would be effective against ground forces of a similar nature. it doesn't cost millions to put him there or keep him alive. but why, in space, would anyone bother to build small single man fighters? i can't forsee a reason why you wouldnt just make the ship huge with heaps of armour, guns & feul...in a sphere shape for structural strength & so bits like your guns dont just get shot off. it would be just as manueverable & fast... coz it's space. i know i am just theorising as is everyone (tis sci-fi after all) but i've always thought the single man space fighter idea was just a hollywoodism so they could have dogfights :P |
| #32 04:49pm 16/02/05 |
100 relatively cheap small manouverable fighters may be able to take out that one behemoth of a ship.
| #33 05:10pm 16/02/05 |
it would be just as manueverable & fast... coz it's space.assuming if you have engines powerful enough to manuver a big hulking spaceship. just because it is a weightless environment doesn't mean mass no longer exists. |
| #34 05:10pm 16/02/05 |
WhiteWolf
not really a good comparison is it? :D the man would be effective against ground forces of a similar nature. it doesn't cost millions to put him there or keep him alive. but why, in space, would anyone bother to build small single man fighters? i can't forsee a reason why you wouldnt just make the ship huge with heaps of armour, guns & feul...in a sphere shape for structural strengthdidn't he just contradict himself? the man would be effective against ground forces of a similar nature erm, so would the ship it doesn't cost millions to put him there or keep him alive the ship would be ALOT cheaper to produce than the huge ship. remember the bigger the vehical, the higher the cost. (in fuel, production, resources, etc) i can't forsee a reason why you wouldnt just make the ship huge with heaps of armour, guns & feul...in a sphere shape for structural strength you wouldn't make a huge ship because 1. not everyone is going to get on and off a planet at the same time when thies ships come along, 2. the price not only to build and run thies things would be enormise, don't assume that only super powers want a portion of space 3. its just not tacticaly sound.(ie, so you build this huge mother f***er, and for the same price, they build 1000, little mother f***ers the little ones have a tactical advantage to you. if your fella gets destroied, then what the f*** are you going to do?) it would be just as manueverable & fast... coz it's space.... the amount of power required to give them the same manoverability would be insane :/ |
| #35 06:48pm 16/02/05 |
spelling ftw!!
| #36 06:54pm 16/02/05 |
WhiteWolf
sef!
| #37 06:59pm 16/02/05 |
AdamtehGreat
you gonna UV map and texture that Nick?
Material maps don't really cut it ;) |
| #38 07:37pm 16/02/05 |
Ecstasy
WhiteWolf, how old are you?
| #39 08:02pm 16/02/05 |
You guys clearly haven't seen star wars.
Everything is explained. |
| #40 08:07pm 16/02/05 |
thre3dee
i used 3ds max.
Um i just got Atomic Mag #50 in the mail and I've gotten Artomic Of The Year with the pod below. I've won 3ds max 6 worth over $9000! I was like HOLY CRAP! http://img201.exs.cx/img201/715/artomicpodproject3is.jpg last edited by thre3dee at 21:02:12 16/Feb/05 |
| #41 09:02pm 16/02/05 |
Lynx
Holy s*** cus, congratulations
EDIT: That's what I (and others) were talking about. So cool. Also have you got a background of that pod avalible? last edited by Lynx at 21:18:33 16/Feb/05 |
| #42 09:18pm 16/02/05 |
Protius-X
You deserve it champ!
| #43 09:19pm 16/02/05 |
very nice work
| #44 11:46pm 16/02/05 |
Wheres hemerage's post?
My hemerage sucks cgi image is waiting patiently. |
| #45 11:51pm 16/02/05 |
Wow well done doode, congrats. I also like your current work. |
| #46 12:00am 17/02/05 |
WhiteWolf
WhiteWolf, how old are you? is this general curiosity? or is there a specific reason why? im 17 btw (18 in 4 1/2 months, but who is counting :D) |
| #47 12:09am 17/02/05 |
Irhabi
those renders look awsum....nice work thre3dee, i have to say that is some artisitc s*** :)
you got some tallent me thinks..... |
| #48 01:28am 17/02/05 |
I think to make really good designs on anything you have to ask yourself why does this *thing* have these features.
Why does it have long wings? Is it so it can fly in an atmosphere? If not, why would you have long wings? Why does it have gay boxy wing things that attach off of it? Would that impede your ability to fly in an atmosphere? If it isn't intended in the atmosphere, why does it need them? Why does it have some spade thing on the noze? How would that effect it in said atmosphere? If it doesn't fly around in an atmosphere why is it there? What is the anus on the back of the ship for? Although, I know your pain here ... does does go on the back of 'space fighters' that have a major flat feature on the rear. What ist he indentation in the nose piece for? In early jet fighters they used that for an air intake system, excelt it looks like you have turbine engines which are wing mounted. Why is it their? Why do you have your weapons mounted at the most extreme angle? Why are your engines so heavly exposed. Note, I am not trying to bag your work :) I just think that products need to be designed before being implemented :) |
| #49 02:16am 17/02/05 |
You're a fat nerd ok.
| #50 07:10am 17/02/05 |
Nice work dude. |
| #51 09:39am 17/02/05 |
f*** me typo .. get a life
Its art. It looks cool. |
| #52 09:58am 17/02/05 |
Onya Obes :)
BTW, congrats thre3dee, I like your pod. The 1st one reminds me too much of the classic battlestar galactica fighters. last edited by E.T. at 10:18:33 17/Feb/05 |
| #53 10:18am 17/02/05 |
yeah typo, f*** off with your opinions and constructive comments/critisim! fanboys need only apply!
Good art is more than just colours splashed on the canvas, it has meaning and purpose and is consistant in itself. |
| #54 10:20am 17/02/05 |
Bad
typo, dude you need to take a chill pill and stop being a faget mate.
thre3dee - that is totally sweet and congrats on your win aye! last edited by Bad at 11:18:48 17/Feb/05 |
| #55 11:18am 17/02/05 |
thre3dee
i don't give a crap if it works or not. its not like i'm designing for a copmpany or film or anything geez typo. i aint an engineer
| #56 11:22am 17/02/05 |
details, they seperate the men from the boys.
| #57 12:51pm 17/02/05 |
nah they seperate the anal retentive f***wad dick sucking ass squelching cum gargling dick s*** cock c*** f***ing f*** f*** dicks s*** bitch tit cockspank gaymagnet poo poo nerds from cool people
| #58 05:33pm 17/02/05 |
^^ Too much detail
| #59 06:07pm 17/02/05 |
[quote]i don't give a crap if it works or not. its not like i'm designing for a copmpany or film or anything geez typo. i aint an engineer[/quote]
I could have just did what the vast majority of the forum did, pander to you without any considerations or just flame you like a f***bag. Instead I asked for any justifications for features that seem wierd or out of place as a way to help you self reflect on your work. Sorry, I won't do that again ... OMFG IT AMS TEH AWESOME LOLOLOLOLO!!@#%%!%@#$!@# Feel better now? |
| #60 06:09pm 17/02/05 |
f*** me typo .. get a life It could look so much cooler, that was my point. |
| #61 06:12pm 17/02/05 |
your gay
| #62 06:16pm 17/02/05 |
your gay only after riding your boomstick |
| #63 06:17pm 17/02/05 |
my boomstick is lucious
| #64 06:18pm 17/02/05 |
at times, even luscious
| #65 06:19pm 17/02/05 |
nah they seperate the anal retentive f***wad dick sucking ass squelching cum gargling dick s*** cock c*** f***ing f*** f*** dicks s*** bitch tit cockspank gaymagnet poo poo nerds from cool people And that children is what extended contact with a MMORG does to your vocabulary. |
| #66 06:42pm 17/02/05 |
maybe you can enlist the assistance of the children you're addressing to remove the telegraph pole from your AZZ
| #67 07:23pm 17/02/05 |
I think to make really good designs on anything you have to ask yourself why does this *thing* have these features Who cares dude. Look at the stuff used in Star Wars. All these vehicles are different yet all move around the same. http://www.members.optushome.com.au/gpahl/starwars01.jpg http://www.members.optushome.com.au/gpahl/starwars02.jpg http://www.members.optushome.com.au/gpahl/starwars03.jpg http://www.members.optushome.com.au/gpahl/starwars04.jpg http://www.members.optushome.com.au/gpahl/starwars05.jpg |
| #68 07:38pm 17/02/05 |
Looks awesome... and to typo who spoke of the air dam at the front.. who gives a s***, it looks rad =)
It has wings, just assume it flies through normal atmosphere or whatever you want. Nice work three! last edited by Loki at 20:31:39 17/Feb/05 |
| #69 08:31pm 17/02/05 |
i agree with typo, it needs more breasts
| #70 08:43pm 17/02/05 |
Xyzzy
Welcome to QGL Forums. Please check your intelligence at the door and beware the rabid f*****ry.
| #71 08:51pm 17/02/05 |
Dante please don't tell me you sat there and thought hmm that ship is not practical ?
| #72 09:50pm 17/02/05 |
Here is the one it reminds me too much of. Again, I really like the POD though. Your global shading work is nice as well.
http://images.ausimages.com/upload/2005-02-17/TN_viper2.jpg last edited by E.T. at 22:49:53 17/Feb/05 |
| #73 10:49pm 17/02/05 |
step
nice pic :S
| #74 10:46pm 17/02/05 |
Hehehe
ROFL |
| #75 10:47pm 17/02/05 |
step
keke owned myself too :P, no idea why it doesn't work tho
last edited by step at 22:48:38 17/Feb/05 |
| #76 10:48pm 17/02/05 |
In early jet fighters they used that for an air intake system, excelt it looks like you have turbine engines which are wing mounted. Why is it their? one of the first things i noticed |
| #77 10:56pm 17/02/05 |
Basically its a space fighter, at that point begins the suspension of disbeleif. I am guessing that between now, and the point at when we have intergalactic space travel there might be design concepts that we dont understand now.
Aesthetically I think it looks good because of the mix of retro but aggresive styling. From an engineering standpoint, I'll wait until we have space fighters before commenting. |
| #78 11:06pm 17/02/05 |
OMG!!!
I can't believe people are whinging about the design. Who gives a toss? Seriously??? It's a work of fiction, which means it isn't real. Stupid nerdy dorks!! |
| #79 11:57pm 17/02/05 |
well, this is a forum that caters for nerds...
| #80 12:33am 18/02/05 |
Lynx
Arrrhhh, it's not nerds, it's geeks.
I can't stand it when people get the two around the wrong way. |
| #81 12:44am 18/02/05 |
WhiteWolf
OMG!!! i don't see how people don't understand. the picture needs to be self explanitary.. this ship isn't. it just doesn't look right. its a great peice of work, but it isn't anything special atm, because it doesn't make sence. your skill is on the mark threedee, but you need to pay extra attention to detail to make it all it can be. |
| #82 01:03am 18/02/05 |
the picture needs to be self explanitary.. And thats where I dont agree with you. But everyone is entitled to their opinion. last edited by shad at 01:07:37 18/Feb/05 |
| #83 01:07am 18/02/05 |
Its a piece of 3d art, not a prototype for a real space fighter or something. Its all about how cool it looks, I dont care if it makes sense or not, thats where the "fiction" comes from in science fiction :P
| #84 01:59am 18/02/05 |
Only a nerd would argue the differences between being called nerd and geek. In this case typo is clearly showing his nerdiness. /me goes back to watch star trek |
| #85 02:10am 18/02/05 |
Apparently not. Then again, I don't see the difference between a picture, a painting, a 3d model or any other product that someone might want to put up somewhere for review. Every piece should be thought about, if only so you (the designer) knows why it is there. Its a piece of 3d art, not a prototype for a real space fighter or something. Its all about how cool it looks, I dont care if it makes sense or not, thats where the "fiction" comes from in science fiction :P Even good art has some sort of intention behind it. Sure, their are some people known to be able to just spring together something that is totally wicked without forthought or effort, but they sure are not the norm. Having something that looks wicked cool is important, but just slapping on stuff without intention has the very real risk of being a major waste of time. I am sorry if I have offended the board by not just trying to rub the OP's nutsack and just lay down the complements; all I attempted to do is try and get the OP to reflect on the design of the work. Does a air damn (or what ever the thing at the front) look cool? To some people maybe. That isn't what I was interested it, what I was interested was why the OP put it there. What makes things look natural to a persons eye? Why does a viper look a lot more plausable than the OP's first listed pictures? Heck, why does the probe look more plausable than his space fighter? -- Without reflecting on your work, and/or getting other people to reflect on your work I don't know anybody else advances their own abilities. Having a bunch of people who just post things to make you feel nice but offer nothing constructive to improve your design/art/product basicly just wasted your time. Sure it may feel nice to get OMG WAY TO GOES MAN!!!, and it may hurt for someone to challenge your ideas, but in the long term being challenged is what makes you better. |
| #86 03:07am 18/02/05 |
In this case typo is clearly showing his nerdiness. I was trying to help another designer make better designs. I learned from my mistakes though, I'll stick to mindless praise or being a flaming f***bag from now on. |
| #87 03:08am 18/02/05 |
I'd just like to point out that in his original post, thre3dee didn't say that the craft was for space flight. He also didn't say that the ship relied on turbine engines. It could be for atmospheric flight, or it could have some sort of "roxx0rz 1337 Ion engine" propulsion device that just happens to look like a turbine engine. Maybe we all should have thought of that before flaming/bagging/correcting. Anybody who thinks they can do better, put your money where your mouth is.
On a side note, I just started learning 3dsmax today, and I made the apple ^_^ BTW: kudos, i think it's kewl. Also: grats on the win!!! I saw that pic in atomic yesterday and i was thinking "ZOMGWTFBBQ HOW DO YOU DO THAT???!!!111oneonetwo". Major grats. last edited by Crizane Tribal at 04:01:16 18/Feb/05 |
| #88 04:01am 18/02/05 |
Then again, I don't see the difference between a picture, a painting, a 3d model or any other product that someone might want to put up somewhere for review. Every piece should be thought about, if only so you (the designer) knows why it is there. So what if its there to fine tune your skills as a 3d modeler. last edited by shad at 04:12:19 18/Feb/05 |
| #89 04:12am 18/02/05 |
I'd just like to point out that in his original post, thre3dee didn't say that the craft was for space flight I'd just like to point out that reading topics can make things easier to understand. Topic: My new space fighter design If he had posted: My new thingo, then I probably would never had posted.
If the OP was using tooling around attempting to learn a new technique then more power to them. In fact if this shared a topic that in some way that described that the post was about improving his modeling ability then I probably would never have opened the link. However, it appeared that the post was about the design of the 'fighter', as such I commented on it from a design point of view. Also, I don't see the actual harm in killing too birds in one stone. If the OP can make something that is wickedly cool and is well thought out before implementation that is only going to make the OP a better modeler than he is right now. I don't actually know why there is so much hate generated towards me towards this post, seeing I wasn't even the first person to bring up most of the problems. I was the only person who talked about it from a design point of view. I understand that I am not the most popular person on the boards, but sweet f*** it wasn't like I was trying to make the OP quit modeling. |
| #90 04:32am 18/02/05 |
I'd just like to point out that reading topics can make things easier to understand. Touche typomart... There's still the fact that he didn't say those are jet turbine engines.Tthey just might look like it. How about you post something as good/better before you lecture? Put up or shut up. Kudos again, 3d. |
| #91 05:22am 18/02/05 |
Maybe the engines are really efficent scoops that scoop up space dust and whatnot, accelerate them and spit them out the back of the engine. The engineer that designed it was a huge fan of 1900's jet engines ;P
| #92 08:49am 18/02/05 |
It's a work of fiction, which means it isn't real. |
| #93 10:09am 18/02/05 |
thre3dee
hey everyone this was just something i did while i was bored! is it that hard to believe?
maybe when i'm doing it for an design assessment or something i might actaully think about that kinda s*** but who gives a crap? seriously. GET OVER IT! |
| #94 10:54am 18/02/05 |
Heh if you apply the same analytical critisism to any the Sci-fi you're gonna find something wrong with it, some pretty bloody big holes.
But the word "design" in this case is use in an artistic expression term not an engineering term, I don't see how you can get them confused seeing that the 1st post clearly distinguised this. I mean he said:
Which to me clearly refers to sci-fi therefore logically his design is not really going to be anything an engineer such as yourself could/should take seriously, it's not like he's with NASA and trying to design an actual Space craft. It's like using the word "designing" in a fashion clothing context. Some of those clothing are impractical for everyday wear however, some people they can see artistic value in it. Often that actually inspires other designers to come up with an alternative design from the original which is more practical, look better or whatever - the point is science without imagination is useless. Anyway I didn't think your comments were overly critical anyway, it's constructive from an engineer's point of view unfortunately it doesn't apply in this context. /me goes back to watch star trek last edited by Opec at 11:32:56 18/Feb/05 |
| #95 11:32am 18/02/05 |
Opec don't bother tryign to discuss this logically with typo.
It will only result in line by line analysis of your posts and the end result will still be typo thinks threedee is makign a space ship and not a cool piece of 3d art. |
| #96 11:40am 18/02/05 |
Xyzzy
No i sat there and thought.. hmm are those engines completely separate and bolted on for a reason? oh and after reading some of the responses i thought... Once more QGL shows a lack of understanding regarding the phrase "Constructive Criticism". P.S. To OP.. the intelligence/rabid f*****ry wasn't directed at you, rather at the regular trolls flaming those giving constructive feedback. That would have been made obvious in the next paragraph that i deleted for reasons of sanity. The model looks cool if a little weird in places. Which is what Typo was getting at. |
| #97 05:30pm 18/02/05 |
engineer such as yourself could/should take seriously, it's not like he's with NASA and trying to design an actual Space craft. While I do a lot of engineering subjects, and my degree is apart of engineering it is also a design degree. One taught by real designers. It's like using the word "designing" in a fashion clothing context. Some of those clothing are impractical for everyday wear however, some people they can see artistic value in it. Often that actually inspires other designers to come up with an alternative design from the original which is more practical, look better or whatever - the point is science without imagination is useless. In your example, fasion designs have intention behind it. Some of it is wacky and implausable, but if you talk to the designer they are attempting to try something. Maybe they are trying to get people to look at clothes in a different way, maybe they are exploring colours, shapes or materials, or maybe they just had a massive acid trip the night before and wanted to express it. All good art has intention. Again, if the OP was just showing off his model ... it looks cool. If the OP was talking about design, even the conceptual design (which is what I was talking about, which of course is vastly different from engineering design) then my points were intended to see what the OP was thinking while they were doing it. hey everyone this was just something i did while i was bored! is it that hard to believe? Again, I'm sorry if your orginal intent was to just show off some sort of funky model. I assumed (due to the topic) that this was about the design that you had made, and not the model. If I had thought the sole point of this thread was just a cock waving exersize about your ninja modeling skilles then I apologise. I am sorry if I made you cry or feel bad about your work. That wasn't my intention, in fact my honest intention was to bring context to your out of context image, and then maybe spark some sort of discussion on things ... hopefully to improve my knowledge of design stuff, and maybe to help you expore your own work. It will only result in line by line analysis of your posts and the end result will still be typo thinks threedee is makign a space ship and not a cool piece of 3d art. There is a big difference between just wacking s*** together and art. Sure wacking s*** together can help you lean stuff, but even art has intention. Again, sorry for actually trying to engage someone as a designer ... from now on I'll stick to trolling and flaming. |
| #98 05:37pm 18/02/05 |
He wasn't designing a space ship!
He was making art! |
| #99 05:45pm 18/02/05 |
infiNex
once you get the concept that this is art, and that it is meant for appreciation by the human eye and not meant for intergallactic travel then you may be able get over this miserable and apparently all consuming hump in your life.
btw he has won an award for it so stfu. |
| #100 06:26pm 18/02/05 |
Actually he won the award for the POD ship (page 3 of this thread) which he obviously spent some time designing as it has blueprints with specifications for all the various attachments. can't really read them as the pic is too small, but it's there nonetheless.
| #101 06:46pm 18/02/05 |
thre3dee
here's a better (less practical) design.
http://img59.exs.cx/img59/5007/spacefighternew1xz.jpg |
| #102 06:41pm 19/02/05 |
you got any higher quality versions yet?
sweet work dude. |
| #103 06:43pm 19/02/05 |
thre3dee
not so "viper" esque now.
| #104 06:44pm 19/02/05 |
tominator
Maybe put some big arse rocket launchers on the wings :P
Looks great though. |
| #105 06:47pm 19/02/05 |
Not from a practical point of view, just aesthetically, I think the wings look a bit too long now. Maybe shorten the wings a bit and sling the weapons underneath the wings? The really long wings just look kind of odd with the small body.
| #106 06:51pm 19/02/05 |
Pros
- Extra engine - Wing guns look better than original Cons - Front looks squid like - Those extra things on the end of the wings dont seem to fit - The side engines connection with the body seems odd. First model is my choice aethestically. last edited by shad at 19:35:15 19/Feb/05 |
| #107 07:35pm 19/02/05 |
I doubt that thing could fly.
8-)~~ |
| #108 07:37pm 19/02/05 |
I bet it flies better than your mum!
| #109 07:52pm 19/02/05 |
James
One thing your all missing is that although its a 'space fighter' its also rated to fly in atmosphere and also can fly ing liquid that isnt to dence.
Im talking about battlestar galactica's fighters here... |
| #110 08:17pm 19/02/05 |
Gol
Just remember the racing stripes......
| #111 09:45pm 19/02/05 |
AdamtehGreat
Guys let me point out that Nick just won $6000 worth of 3d s***.
Let me also point out that he's JUST started 3D @ Qantm; thus texturing and UV mapping is limited. Hell, you can't expect him to be awesome straight away. For someone who's only really been teaching himself Max (and not for long too) he's done quite well to get into atomic. Congrats dude ;) |
| #112 11:52pm 19/02/05 |
Lynx
He's been doing it for some time, but that's no excuse for ALWAYS being good.
I've been flashing for ages and I'm still s*** at it. I envy him getting the artistic gene, and his work's amazing when he puts his mind to it. Like he said he was just tooling around when he made that. I believe this thread has opened my eyes to just how lonely and sad some people must be. The new design looks way cooler nick, a few good materials and lighting, and it'll look sweeet. Also shad, I agree it does look squid like, maybe a futuristic sub; these things don't have to be a space fighters always. I want to get into 3D modeling one day. last edited by Lynx at 00:16:55 20/Feb/05 |
| #113 12:16am 20/02/05 |
I'm too technical to be any good at 3d modelling or (especially) flash. Doing introductory 3d modelling and introductory 2d animation at qantm at the moment as part of my degree, and while I have no trouble with the technical aspects (like using flash and using 3dsmax) I suck so horribly at the artistic side that I can't make much that looks any good.
3d modelling isn't *so* bad, because as long as you know max well enough, you can make some models which still look good (but you need that artistic eye/talent to take it that next step and make models that look awesome/realistic). 2d though is proving to be absolutely painful for me, because before you can make a 2d animation, you need to draw all the s*** you want to animate, and I just can't draw. So yeah, mad props to anyone who can do that sort of thing, its impressive :) |
| #114 01:36am 20/02/05 |
Also shad, I agree it does look squid like, maybe a futuristic sub; these things don't have to be a space fighters always. They can be impellers, not jets! |
| #115 01:38am 20/02/05 |
Lynx
Totally agree khel, I hate not being able to draw.
So frustrating having this awesome image in your head but not being able to get in down on paper. End up screwing up the paper in embarrassment and throwing the abomination you just scrawled in the bin. |
| #116 02:28am 20/02/05 |
WhiteWolf
haha, lynx, that sounds familar, i just don't try anymore :P
i much prefer your second drawing threedee. I believe this thread has opened my eyes to just how lonely and sad some people must be. yeah, posting random crap on the net like impossible space fighters. "your art is good. your concept is bad" seems like a fairly standard qgl response. last edited by WhiteWolf at 13:21:47 20/Feb/05 |
| #117 01:21pm 20/02/05 |
Here is my 3D rendered SPACE SHIP! ;D
http://images.ausimages.com/upload/2005-02-20/TN_cassini_1024.jpg http://images.ausimages.com/upload/2005-02-20/TN_c1024_dev.jpg i stand by my original comment though... when a wedge shaped single man fighter is made for space combat you can all have a good laugh n say that i was wrong... until then i'm right n yur all stupid. He wasn't designing a space ship! why isn't it in an art gallery then OBES!?!? HUH!?!? WHY!? |
| #118 02:54pm 20/02/05 |
i'd feel cooler flying the second version
but i would like some turrets - even missiles as you have nothing that can shoot backwards |
| #119 03:51pm 20/02/05 |
thre3dee
i made it kinda yellow :P
oh and the wings are smaller http://img184.exs.cx/img184/1307/spacefighter5ud.jpg EDIT* maybe its like a kinda racing craft with guns to eliminate the competition... last edited by thre3dee at 16:34:48 20/Feb/05 |
| #120 04:34pm 20/02/05 |
Love the racing stripes.
Anakin would be proud. |
| #121 04:37pm 20/02/05 |
thre3dee
couldnt go past yellow and red stripes |
| #122 04:38pm 20/02/05 |
Needs some scorch marks or somes*** or bullet holes!
Or some grafted on panels...and it'd be perfect |
| #123 04:50pm 20/02/05 |
step
make it look liek a hotrod, black with red flames.
| #124 04:53pm 20/02/05 |
WhiteWolf
actualy, wouldn't the best colour for a space fighter be black?
| #125 05:28pm 20/02/05 |
Put a Type R sticker on it somewhere.
But seriously, that looks sweet. Some decals would be nice (squadron etc). |
| #126 05:53pm 20/02/05 |
Lynx
Make the cockpit glass and give us a pilots view!
| #127 08:16pm 20/02/05 |
thre3dee
from now on its gonna be a racing craft thingo.
i'm gonna make the cockpit and maybe make the windscreen a bit better shape. |
| #128 12:57pm 21/02/05 |
fawk yeah, that's looks nice mate =)
Give it some panelling for its texture and make it ya standard metallic grey =) Then it'll be complete.. oh yeah, and like eK said, throw in some scorch marks or *oops I hit a wall in the docking bay* dings etc. =) |
| #129 01:17pm 21/02/05 |
thre3dee
thx dude
i tried this full on metallica silver material that i made and it didnt look to good. i'm happy with the yellow but it could be slightly shinier maybe |
| #130 01:23pm 21/02/05 |
Strik3r
when u finish, if u want to send me the .3ds and texture files, ive got a project i started a while i go that i could quickly hack together that would let ppl fly this around in space ?
| #131 01:36pm 21/02/05 |
Threads like these make me want to learn how to 3d model.
I am a completely hopeless drawer, painter, sketcher everything basically :P Do you need those skills to do what you're doing or is it totally unrelated? last edited by fpot at 13:49:57 21/Feb/05 |
| #132 01:49pm 21/02/05 |
thre3dee
yeah u need to when ur actaully "designing" your 3d models etc. but i didnt do one single drawing for this. i just made a box and started extruding
| #133 02:53pm 21/02/05 |
that looks awesome :D
(where did you learn to use 3ds, did you look at tutorials and just try it out or did you do a course?) |
| #134 02:59pm 21/02/05 |
thre3dee
i just tried it out and stuff and got hooked
| #135 03:06pm 21/02/05 |