Topic: White Van Speaker Sellers
Heh, I ran into these guys again today - I'd run into them before like 3 years ago (different guys I'm sure) doing that thing where they just drive up to you and offer you 'home theatre speakers'. I was just walking back from Subway at Indro Central so if you're in the Western Suburbs keep yer eyes peeled!
defi
bout 2 years ago a pair of them came up and asked me if i wanted some for $300, i pulled out a $50 but they said get another one of those and u got a deal. i was so poor
err wait aren't these speakers dodgy as f***, and also why would you wanna buy them?
tominator
Was it that the speakers these people were selling crap or something? I've forgotten what the deal was with them.
shrapse
Mmy dad's mate did that once, got like 2k worth of stuff, then cancelled the check and never heard from the white van people again, heh.
Morax
HAhah I saw them at Acacia Ridge about a month ago lol. Wanted $300 also.
http://www.kuro5hin.org/story/2004/4/9/224439/1810
defcon
yer i've seen those guys, they pulled up next to me at some lights, trying to sell me a home theatre system, i laughed at there faces.
http://qgl.ausforums.com/?agn=thread&id=1844445

amazing that people would still buy speakers from them!?!?!?
Ditch
wish they were in tassie, id wip out a $50 and ask em wat they got, cant be bad for $50 :P
yeah they're a total ripoff selling absolute s***e!
afro
thise guy and chick asked me last yr sometime
i offered em 50 and they like pull over nex street n we'll sort somethin cept i drove off.
reason he gave me was hes a delivery driver and flogged one off supplier
dodge ass white van people
möoby
ha! a flat mate got some about 3years ago, think he paid $200 on the south side. they were awesome.
i drive a white van

maybe i should sell speakers
i just want to fit in :<
So what's the deal with them? I have had someone offering me some too.
Why do they always drive a white van? Is it because that's all people remember?
cheap to hire
Gavmo
Ive run into them a few times actually

Once at indro, twice at toombul.
ive never seen these people

must be a west brisso thing

perhaps thats where all the suckas live
hUON
The deal with these guys...

There is (usually) nothing dodgy about the speakers (not stolen or anything) but they are very low quality.

The scam is that most people don't know the difference between the specs of a $2000 speaker and a $20 speaker, so you trust the guys in the van when they tell you the specs on the speakers are similar to the specs of a $2000 speaker. You think you are getting a bargain at $100 - $200, but you are getting ripped, because the specs on the speakers are actually similar to specs of $20 speakers.

last edited by hUON at 18:53:41 24/Sep/04
must be a west brisso thing
First time I saw 'em was in East Bris!
Must be a whole Brisbane thing then.

PS - sif post time limit me ffs :P
I think that feature was added just for you even.
stagrrr
everytime i see this thread i think it says van wilder, and i think yay! but then i realise its about speakers, and i think ghey
we bought some years back, they go hard and are still going hard to this very day - he wanted like $2500 for about 6 large speakers, we checked them out and they werent too bad, gold inputs etc.

dad got $600 cash out of his wallet and after saying no.. but a bit more etc.. then dad walks inside, they go 'ok ok wait, chuck in 30 bucks on the side for a carton of piss for us tonight and you've got yourself a deal'

they took them upstairs, took them out of the box, set them up to current surround sound system (which was mad except the old+ speakers), took the rubish to the bin, left with $630.

all in all, not a bad saturday afternoon.
you got boned dude

I'm sure you're just trying to come to terms in blowing over $600 on some crappy speakers but wow :(

poor sod
I got hit in Jindalee about 6 months ago, in the carpark of the Homemakers centre.

My mate has been hit twice. Both times around the Stones Corner area.
they came to my work in slacks creek about a year or two ago. They claim they're the same speakers used in movie theatre's ahha I had to laugh when I heard that s***. I figured they must be stolen or something. The story I heard with those (probably from here) is that they did sound awsome if you kept the volume down low, turn them up and they distort/blow.

Lucky for me I don't ever listen to the stereo so not even tempted to buy them :)
I can't wait for them to try and bargain with me only so i can try and sell em my own dodgy s***.
I have never even seen these guys, is this like some kind of big city-wide practical joke you guys are trying to pull? Invent mysterious white van driving, speaker selling con artists?
Yep people make up this s*** so it gives them something to talk about on boring public forums.
B@ssM@n
A Current Affair did a special on these guys years ago. They bought a bunch of them and had them professionally tested in an acoustic chamber.

Turned out the drivers were cheap asian copies of good gear. The magnets were the best part, made out of such cheap material that they had massive heat problems.

They also farted out at high volumes. :/

I was hit twive by these guys - once in Sunnybank Plaza carpark & once walking to UQ. I was thinking of just keeping the cabs & replacing the cones, but even they were s*** :(
sikgem
I'm with Khel... I've never seen or even heard anyone mention these kinds of people. Perhaps you guys look gullible? :D
they just avoid you hunter coz you drive a f***ing piece of s*** and they know you will have no money

ok

you just look poor

coz you are

last edited by existence` at 09:50:20 25/Sep/04
I got hit by them in 1999 in st. Lucia, and a mate of mine was dumb enough to buy some.

I then got hit by them again last year, but of all places it was out the back of JB Hi-Fi in Burnett Lane which is that lane thats runs paralel between Adelaide and Queen Street in the city. They claimed that they were delivery drivers for JB and the supplier had given them one too many systems that weren't on the invoice to deliver to JB.

I said 'You do realise there is a police station 3 doors down don't you?' and they said, 'exactly do you really think we would try and sell dodgy s*** here of all places'

I kinda believed their story but didn't look at the gear anyway.

now I notice someone else copped the delivery driver story, I realise it was those guys again!
'm with Khel...

Come on khel, I always new you liked a bit of the cock but did you have to stoop that far. :P
WhiteWolf
You sound like a faget existence(insert homosexual ` here), now go back to cs.
Sparky
They drive around the Woolies carpark at Toowong all the time. Dirty van people.
Ive run into them a few times actually

Once at indro, twice at toombul.

You must be a f***ing s*** driver then.

last edited by mongie at 17:22:05 25/Sep/04
I got hit by them
haha sounds so dramatic hehe

These dudes hit me up and tried to tell me that B&W were good for a budget home setup, but the speakers they sell were an 'INDUSTRIAL home theatre setup' hahahahaha
ok, mates old man got stung to the tune of 2600 bux
just recently;

it would be funny if it wasnt so much money

becareful peeps

i wonder if this is actually illegal?
don't think its illegal since the speakers aren't stolen.. they're just s***..
2.6k... f***ing c***s

track them down and f*** em up
wolfieee
The run a warehouse out of the Gold Coast, they way they sell isn't unusal when you compare it to some of the sales tactics other companies use.

The warehouse is located on Leda Drive in Burleigh Heads.

They can supply you with a full written invoice with ABN if you stick it to them, but why would you when you can take cash in hand work and dont have to declare the tax.

The couple of people i know who bought off them bought the fleetwood audio brand, they bought two big upright speaker towers and a full 7.1 surround sound system and both have quite decent audio quality and were reasonably priced as well.

If you get hassled by them, make up your own mind :)
for 2600 bux they would want to be f***ing good speakers

they told old mate they were worth 8g

all we have is a mobile phone number

i wonder if u can just get your cash back ?
Mighty Mouse
I doubt they'd hook you up with invoices/reciepts... so once they get ur dollars that's it dude :)

A sucker's born every minute harharhar
My mate has bought speakers off them... but my mate thought they were legit! Anyhoo he got a good bargain and they still work. This was about 2 years ago at UQ.
they keep coming down my street (just off park road at milton) and trying to sell to the bnusinessmen on their lunch breaks. quite amusing)
I say the next time they do it to you in a car, follow them spy style an find out where there complete stash is an then "watch it fall of the back of a truck" with a video camera present an sell the story to a current affair for decent bling so you can then go out an purchase uber speakers legitimately

=)