Term
Vivendi Universal Australia are giving Ausgamers readers a chance to win one of 5 Game giveaways valued at $500 dollars each for answering a few simple questions on the upcoming highly anticipated Massively multiplayer game, World of Warcraft. You don't need to be an Ausgamers member to answer, just need a few details, and to complete several questions to be in the running, however it is reserved to Australian and New Zealand residences only! The purpose of this survey is to get some feedback from the Australian game community on how you would like to see World of Warcraft released and supported in Australia. Having been on the beta for the last few weeks I can tell you, its a game thats well worth the wait, very addictive, just ask my Wife! :) To fill out the survey and go into the running to win one of five games packs from Vivendi Universal, head on over to the World of Warcraft Survey and answer the questions. The more we get the better so don't be shy!. If you've been living under a rock and don't know what World of Warcraft is, head on over to the Offical WoW site and have a read! |
| #0 02:54pm 26/07/04 |
just ask my Wife done and done =P |
| #1 02:13pm 26/07/04 |
The last question..
on US-based servers, with US Dollar billing and US based Customer Service, or would you rather wait an additional 6-9 months for a local Australian service? Please note that a local service would probably initially be limited to Billing and Customer Services onlyIt would take them 6-9 months just so you can pay in australian currency? wtf? |
| #2 02:20pm 26/07/04 |
That last question is something I seriously hope they're not considering.
4 weeks I *might* be willing to wait. Depends if chactors would be transferrable from one account to another, or an account was transferable between using different currencies. However, I'm sure as hell not going to wait 6-9 months, giving everyone else a huge advantage/head start, just so I can play in AUD. Besides, what's the bet that by paying in AUD we end up paying something stupid like AUD19.95/month which they'll claim is equivelant to USD9.95/month (or AUD14.95 vs USD6.95). If the paying USD is cheaper, plain and simple, I'll just pay that amount. |
| #3 02:34pm 26/07/04 |
Do you think the survey would be up if they weren't seriously considering waiting 6-9 months just for AUD billing and support?
| #4 02:39pm 26/07/04 |
spam it on all your forums and s*** too or something
| #5 02:49pm 26/07/04 |
Why they don't get a local company (read Telstra or Optus) or any large telco with the infra structure to bill and host the servers, like a franchise, that way they could release local server at release date not 9 months + just for AUD billing, big f***en whoop, VISA already do the currency conversion.
| #6 03:02pm 26/07/04 |
I think the point is ... they may not release it all if having our own server is that big of a deal.
| #7 03:09pm 26/07/04 |
I dont really want an australian server, can you imagine how boring and empty the world would be? I'd rather play on a nicely populated US server any day, its not like its unplayable on a US server, far from it, its perfectly playable.
It would be nice for them to release the game itself locally though and have some Australian based support for it, but realistically its probably just as easy (and half the time, cheaper) to import it from somewhere like DVD Box office. |
| #8 03:31pm 26/07/04 |
YoungNastyMan
I reckon I'd be playing overseas regardless. Especially if there was a wait! must .. have .. now~
| #9 03:38pm 26/07/04 |
done and done...
oh yes and i have a mate who is playing the beta who said he saw you in there... that is all |
| #10 03:42pm 26/07/04 |
nikloas
as long as the game comes out i will be a happy happy man!
| #11 03:44pm 26/07/04 |
YoungNastyMan
The big question is, when are they having a beta for regular aussie civilians to try and sign up for?!
| #12 03:48pm 26/07/04 |
Greazy
Never, well maybe when the beta is open.
| #13 04:35pm 26/07/04 |
isnt australia included in the european beta?
| #14 04:41pm 26/07/04 |
No, Europe is included in the European beta, hence the reason its called a European beta.
| #15 04:50pm 26/07/04 |
We can join the open beta when it happens. It will also be used to guage interest in the game here aparently.
| #16 04:54pm 26/07/04 |
suprsonic
everyone vote local server important!@##$
| #17 05:12pm 26/07/04 |
No, Europe is included in the European beta, hence the reason its called a European beta. why then can u choose australia when u sign up? |
| #18 06:12pm 26/07/04 |
If you have a look, you can choose any country in the world when you sign up, but the beta is only open to people from Europe.
| #19 06:46pm 26/07/04 |
good work dude... you need to look outside some more...
| #20 08:04pm 26/07/04 |
I've been in one of the oldest and most prestigeous WoW guilds for over 20 months. What |
| #21 08:13pm 26/07/04 |
it's so prestigeous, no ones heard of it, RULZ.
it must be great to be in the best most prestigeous clan not playing the game they want to. |
| #22 09:09pm 26/07/04 |
How the f*** can you be a guild for a game that hasn't even been released yet?
You can't, that's how. Maybe you could call yourself a bunch of loyal followers, planning on forming a guild once the game goes live - but you are not officially a WoW guild until you are playing WoW, imo. You also talk like you are speaking to people who give a s***. You aren't. |
| #23 09:51pm 26/07/04 |
www.guardiansofazeroth.com
been around for a while. its a pre-game guild! Not everyone can play the game all the time, does this make them not part of the guild? |
| #24 09:55pm 26/07/04 |
Not everyone can play the game all the time, does this make them not part of the guild?but it hasn't been released? and the beta hasn't been running for 2 years so how does one become a member of an 'active' guild for a game that isn't 'active' itself |
| #25 10:36pm 26/07/04 |
just like this is an "active" forum. he didnt say the game was active....rather that the community is active.
| #26 10:55pm 26/07/04 |
I’m just hoping that they don’t think "oh well they ausies will just play on the US servers" like we have to with most other mmorpgs and bnet. if they cant be f***ed to do it themselves they should ask game arena or someone else to do it for them I’m sure there are game server people who would be jumping at the opportunity to have the server called “Australia World of Warcraft hosted by 'your isp here'" It isn’t about not being f***ed to do it, it is that hosting in Australia is very expensive, and we have a tiny player base. The tiny player base is a big thing … In EQ players would be logging on and logging off 24/7 so even off peak had a couple of thousand players playing at any one time. In Planetside however (which had both US and an Euro server) at 11pm the last of the americans logged off and the first of the aussies logged off, but nobody would be replacing them as they where logging onto the Euro server. This essentially killed most gameplay at night for Planetside, and you would end up wondering around trying to find someone to kill. Quite frankly playing with a few hundred ms ping isn’t a problem when it comes to a MMO … I don’t see what the problem is playing it on the other side of the pond. |
| #27 11:43pm 26/07/04 |
the fact is, atm it's a guild of forums posters, not a guild of wow players.
so, so far they've selected their "elite" guild based on their forum posting power !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! |
| #28 11:45pm 26/07/04 |
selected their "elite" guild based on their forum posting power Most of the people posting have had prior experience in MMORPGs. And we all know MMORPGs are mainly dedication. If you can spend heaps of time, then your all good! :) The guilds have got a kinda difficult entry procedure. And prior experience is usually required. |
| #29 11:51pm 26/07/04 |
Borgarden
sounds like a stupid guild. id rather talk about games to come out in a game forum, not a forum about a game that hasnt come out yet. i wouldnt mind if it was a warcraft forum for all warcraft games... but talking about a game that isnt even out yet for 2 YEARS! man, that would be so boring and gay.
oh yeh, and i cant wait for it to come out. there are going to be so many ppl playing it, its gonna kick ass. |
| #30 09:49am 27/07/04 |
Borgarden
im gonna play it so much, i'll need eye surgery... again.... :P
| #31 10:06am 27/07/04 |
Borgarden
i just came backm out of a coma...
| #32 10:09am 27/07/04 |
sprayNwipe
It's actually pretty playable on a US server - I usually get around 250-300ms, and I don't even notice any lagging unless they're doing testing on the server, or testing lag code and bumping us all up to 1000ms.
| #33 10:51am 27/07/04 |
KappA
if i signed up to the Euro beta, and put down Australia, do i still have a chance?
| #34 11:09am 27/07/04 |
Nope, not really. Australia is not included in the euro beta. First offical chance we get is open beta.
Also being in a pre game guild is retarded. I mean atm you don't even know if the game need big (72 players) EQ sized guilds of hardcore players (6 hours a night 6 days a week ... or more) or if its daoc'esq ie. small reliable groups (8 or so players). |
| #35 01:17pm 27/07/04 |
So, going by that survey, does this mean that Vivendi / Blizzard are actually contemplating releasing the game 6-9 months later in Australia, and only letting Aussies play on Australian servers, and not even giving them the option to play on US servers?
I don't want to play on an Australian server, even if there was one. And I sure as f*** don't want to be FORCED to play on said Australian server, and I DEFINATELY don't want to have to wait another 6-9 months for the game to arrive on shelves over here, so I can be forced to play on said Australian server. |
| #36 03:34pm 27/07/04 |
I don't want to play on an Australian server, even if there was one. And I sure as f*** don't want to be FORCED to play on said Australian server, and I DEFINATELY don't want to have to wait another 6-9 months for the game to arrive on shelves over here, so I can be forced to play on said Australian server. So import a copy from the US? |
| #37 03:37pm 27/07/04 |
I'd like customer support for the price of a local call. I don't care about having an australian server tho.
It would be better to have a simultaneous release here and the US than having them wait 6 months to have an aus server/cs release. |
| #38 03:41pm 27/07/04 |
So import a copy from the US? I'm just hoping that, if they do end up making an Australian server, they don't FORCE Australian IP's to play on that server. Just like they detected what your IP Address was for the initial beta signup, to make sure you were from the designated beta region, I hope they don't do something similar, so when an Australian loads up WoW (Even if the copy is imported from the US), they don't say "Oh, you have an Australian IP - Here is your server." |
| #39 03:41pm 27/07/04 |
i don't even know HOW you got that from the survey phar, but it'd kill the game for most australians, being limited to the server you can choose.
| #40 05:04pm 27/07/04 |
SuperGreen14
that would be pretty silly.
| #41 05:48pm 27/07/04 |
keep away from this game greeny
| #42 07:15pm 27/07/04 |
Q: What are the plans for continuous challenges for players who hit the level cap? /drools |
| #43 07:23pm 27/07/04 |
SuperGreen14
i knew i would get in trouble anytime i posted on this thread spook.
*sniff. |
| #44 07:24pm 27/07/04 |
SuperGreen14
sounds nice Dave, won't really work.
not enuff ppls in OZ to populate a decent server here 24/7. and chances of being able to port a character u spent the first 6-9 months on from a US server = sfa and none. |
| #45 12:03am 28/07/04 |
jellygoose
yeah typo I guess ur right as long as there is aus tech support the lag doest really matter in mmorpgs i have played diablo2 for years with the 300ms, also I don’t really see the point of these huge guilds with 100's of people when the max group size is looking to be about 5 players.. I would much rather be in a small guild that is exclusive with a few good players rather then dominating in size and full of 14yos.
| #46 11:17am 28/07/04 |
Its not something you have to learn to live with at all, its something you dont even notice. We're not talking about Quake here, ping doesn't have all that much effect.
I've played WoW with a 2000ms ping before, and while it was starting to become a bit noticeable, it was still playable. |
| #47 01:50pm 28/07/04 |
I am thinking about making my debut into mmorpgs with this game.
| #48 02:05pm 28/07/04 |
So let me get this straight, you're telling me I'm wrong, about a game I have played, that you have not played? And then as an example to back up your argument you use Diablo 2, which is not an mmorpg, and bears very little, if any similarity to World of Warcraft at all?
If you're going into this expecting World of Warcraft to be Diablo 2 with thousands of players then you're going to be in for a bit of a shock. |
| #49 02:16pm 28/07/04 |
Borgarden
hes right, its way different. for a start, i dont even think many people will be able to get their comoputers up to playing it, then there is the internet connection, as i dont think people with 56k modems will enjoy themselves over the net, so cable will be needed eh. theres gonna be some major changes...
| #50 02:21pm 28/07/04 |
Borgarden
man, i hated diablo 2... it got so boring. and all they did was add patch after patch, no its up to like version 2000.5 :p just make a diablo 3 u a******s!!!
| #51 02:25pm 28/07/04 |
this is one of those gay threads that never dies =(
| #52 03:58pm 28/07/04 |
YoungNastyMan
this is one of those gay threads that never dies =( it's stickied :P |
| #53 04:02pm 28/07/04 |
KappA
how did u get into the US beta term? did u say u were from aust?
| #54 04:09pm 28/07/04 |
I really want to be a hero class dude :P
| #55 05:13pm 28/07/04 |
how did u get into the US beta term? did u say u were from aust? He runs Mammoth Media which runs game arena ... they got some beta copies. |
| #56 06:30pm 28/07/04 |
The only thing I really noticed with lag was picking up items off a corpse. That was mostly because I was use to the way EQ does it. Either they can fix that or leave it the way it is, it didnt take long to get use to.
| #57 03:00am 29/07/04 |
Buy me a mechanical squirrel please term!
| #58 11:11am 29/07/04 |
Genesis
I love WoW (Yes, im in the beta but breaking atm .. waiting for next patch). I'll be playing a Horde Druid on the PvP server most likely when game comes out.
Poorly written survey though .. I give it 3/5 potatoes. |
| #59 12:33pm 29/07/04 |
Yeah, Druids are pretty cool, I really enjoyed playing my NE druid. I'll probably either be a druid or a warlock when it goes live, just waiting to see what changes they make to the Warlock (apparently the class is going to get a bit of an overhaul before the end of the beta).
I've enjoyed playing melee classes (Warrior and Pally, haven't tried a rogue) a lot more than I thought I would too. Usually in these sorts of games I never go melee and dont really like it, but I've had a suprising amount of fun with my Orc Warrior and Human Pally. I dont know if I'd play one as my main once it goes live, but it'd be a fun alt to have :) Also interested to see what Hunters are like, they sound quite interesting. |
| #60 02:04pm 29/07/04 |
Genesis
I got my Warlock to level 20. I think they do really well in groups as a second tank / crowd control. I can solo things sometimes 5 - 7 levels above me using the right tactics.
From what i've been seeing from the developers on the forums they are looking at giving the VoidWalker (tank pet) a new look and adding some more pets. Pretty sure they will look at the torment spell as well as it doesn't scale to well as you level causing your pet to have trouble holding aggro. Druids need alot of improvements but they are far from being a bad class. They just dont perform at the same level as the other classes but they do just fine. Shapeshift needs its mana use removed :\ Of course Blizzard said they are looking at all of that which is why i'm waiting for the next patch. mmm inc Hunter class also next patch! |
| #61 02:57pm 29/07/04 |
Genesis
Warlock's aren't really great for PvP. Only really way to beat someone is using fear (get them off you) and that other spell which makes them untouchable for a period but stops them attacking back. Put pet on person and kite (run) like crazy letting your pet slowly beat down the mofo.
Also debuff them with your insta debuffs. One of them is a DoT (mm insta cast DoT) Easier with the Succubus (more damage and ok health. Has a nasty behind attack perfect for kiting) than the low damaging void walker. Voidwalker damage is laughable. last edited by Genesis at 15:17:35 29/Jul/04 |
| #62 03:17pm 29/07/04 |
I didnt like the driud much, like they say on the wow forums, its either a bad warrior or a bad rouge, and as a caster he isnt that great. Thats why I like the druid though, hes not meant to be awesome at any one thing, hes more a jack of all trades. Yeah, it needs some tweaking with the shapeshifting to really be effective (ie removing mana costs and other limiting factors) but you've always got something to do in a group. You'll never totally replace a warrior or a rogue or a healer, but you can add support wherever its needed. If the group doesn't have a tank, you can fill the role. If the group needs a healer or a secondary healer, you work there too. And if they just need more damage output, you can do that too. I dont bother reading the forums much, people tend to cry about every class. If it was up to the people on the forum the druid would be as powerful as a warrior in bear form, as good as a rogue in cat form and as useful as a priest in druid form. But then why would you choose a warrior or a rogue or a priest? last edited by Khel at 15:25:46 29/Jul/04 |
| #63 03:25pm 29/07/04 |
I reckon they should do what CoH did with quests, and make it so anyone who joins a group who currently has a quest set as 'active' automatically gets the quest and it's benefits as well provided they're with the group when the quest is completed. At the moment if you miss a couple of sessions and your friends keep playing, you have to play quest-catchup which is boring for everyone who's already done them.
| #64 03:41pm 29/07/04 |
Genesis
Jim, heard of the cosmo ui mod? It has quest share so you can at least view other party members quests as well as see the status on it (i think).
I wont play WoW without cosmo installed. |
| #65 03:55pm 29/07/04 |
YoungNastyMan
can't believe you're an MMO ho now Term, after all these years! :)
| #66 01:14am 30/07/04 |
Tim Tibbetts
How did you guys get into the WOW beta anyway, is it because you're "special. If you give me your spot for a week, I'll bake you a cake!
last edited by Tim Tibbetts at 07:03:22 30/Jul/04 |
| #67 07:03am 30/07/04 |
I'm still waiting for my beta invite Term *hint* *hint*
| #68 08:24am 30/07/04 |
Prophet
500ms is playable. How you managed to play at 2000ms is beyond me. Happened last night for some reason and i died before i knew wtf was going on.
Mages + Talents = awesome. 2 mages + a warrior = warrior doesnt get a chance to hit the mob :) Pyro Blast at level 33 (what i am) crit hits for around 800~. You also get 40% added to that if you crit it (through a talent)...1100+ damage in one shot = the win :) Auction system is good, shame the times keep changing, i've had something selling saying it's got 2 hours left, the browse screen is displaying it at 1 day + :) What characters are you playing fellas? |
| #69 03:52pm 30/07/04 |
SuperGreen14
is there a gnome trader/scientist/inventor at all ?
| #70 05:49pm 30/07/04 |
Engineering is a trade skill, which lets you do all the tinkering and building inventions (like mechanical squirrels and exploding sheep).
| #71 06:06pm 30/07/04 |
i want to know how both prophet's posts say he only has one forum post, yet his agn total incremented.
| #72 03:14pm 31/07/04 |
Prophet
Because it counts from GA
| #73 12:30am 01/08/04 |
Because it counts from GA I think he is asking why you have two forum posts that show your postcount on qgl as 1. |
| #74 12:52am 01/08/04 |
Prophet
oh.
| #75 10:45am 01/08/04 |
Jerds
Well, I know of around 18 Aussies playing (mostly Brisbanites!) that are in my guild, The Night Owls :
http://www.thenightowls.net The name reason being the time Aussies have to play (and the leader's hubby is Dutch). :) I think an Australian server has Pro's and Con's. The larger player base and economy on an US server is of course appealing - but at the same time - an Aussie server that all of Oceania logged on to would populate quite well as well I would say. Term is right, latency is not really a major issue, although it does get a little annoying in PvP situations with beyond 800ms. :) Most of the time I'm getting around 357ms or something. I couldn't believe it when I saw term-newb messaging the General channel with some jizzy question! There are more Aussies out there than you realise! Just keep an eye out for Jerdsia. She's the sexiest Priestess in Azeroth. |
| #76 06:42pm 02/08/04 |
term... r u testing the ausgamers servers for a possible aussie server???
| #77 06:58pm 02/08/04 |
step
nOOoOOoOo Jerds is playing it, the game is ruined, RUINED!
| #78 08:58pm 02/08/04 |
Jerds
:}
:} :} :} |
| #79 07:51am 03/08/04 |
all you obsessed faghats in clans for a game that hasnt even been released yet have utterly ruined it IMHO
| #80 02:24pm 03/08/04 |
Mei
[quote] all you obsessed faghats in clans for a game that hasnt even been released yet have utterly ruined it IMHO [/quote] My guild, De Nachtuilen will be recreated when WoW goes live, and hopefully have a long and happy life... since I'm the leader, and I plan to keep playing after that time, I can tell you that for certain. :) Hello by the way, Jerds pointed me in this direction. Good to find an active local gaming community! :) |
| #81 01:26am 08/08/04 |
5 years of trying to fit working and raiding on US times has been difficult. Why didn't you join AU raiding guilds? |
| #82 01:55am 08/08/04 |
who won the compitition??
| #83 07:40am 08/08/04 |
Jerds
Your mum.
| #84 09:24am 08/08/04 |
Nomisi
Been a week now, any word on winners ??
| #85 01:33pm 13/08/04 |
slack
gimmie free wow, there's no f***ing way i'm paying for that game =) winners prease! |
| #86 01:54pm 13/08/04 |
ummm winners were sposed to be announced last friday...
| #87 02:46pm 13/08/04 |
Supergreen
there was a competition ?
| #88 03:05pm 13/08/04 |
MrMac
Guess it's still going as they just sent through a request for another survey!
| #89 12:11am 14/08/04 |
Greazy
Im level 85 Dragon on the CSvE server!
:( Most of us dont even have accounts |
| #90 04:29pm 15/08/04 |
applor
Hey, I wish I'd seen this post earlier. =) lvl50 Night Eleven Warrior on the PvP server, named Adanedhel. |
| #91 05:23pm 15/08/04 |
I've started a bunch of characters to try out all the classes, never really put the time into advancing one past level 13/14 until recently.
My current character is a level 28 troll mage on the PvP server called Shakaza. |
| #92 06:05pm 15/08/04 |
have they released the patch with hunter class yet?
| #93 06:18pm 15/08/04 |
Not yet, its "coming soon". Its supposed to go live any day now though, bunch of other stuff being added with it as well like real zeppelins and boats to travel between the continents, and the ability to share quests you have with your group (currently if you group with someone who doesn't have quests that you have, they either have to run around and find the npc that gives it themselves, or get no xp).
| #94 06:41pm 15/08/04 |
Term
Patch is out and they have absolutely totally owned the mage with nerfs...
so much so that I dont know if I'll bother even trying my lvl 38mage anymore |
| #95 07:35pm 18/08/04 |
I dunno, they didn't own mages as much as I was expecting them too. Invis is gone, which was nice to have, but realistically mages shouldn't be going invis and stealthing up on people anyway, thats what rogues are for. I'll probably miss the unlocking spells, I found them handier and more interesting than invis anyway.
They totally assf***ed a lot of the ice abilities and talents; increasing cooldown on nova and decreasing its effectiveness, decreasing effectiveness of the chill effect on frostbolt and frost armour and decreasing effectiveness of a lot of the ice talents. I was expecting the fire spells to cop most of the nerfing though, and they haven't really copped much at all. Pyroblast has been toned down, but then everyone was expecting that, that spell was far too deadly. On top of that though they've fixed some problems with Arcane Missiles, increased the damage of Arcane Explosion so its doing what it should, made Cone of Cold more useful, and fixed Polymorph so mobs you poly dont wander half way around the dungeon pulling adds. So realistically, Mages haven't lost a whole lot of their damage potential. They can't go stealthing up on people and dropping a hugely over-powered Pyroblast on their heads any longer, but it was pretty obvious stuff like that needed to be toned down anyway. I was expecting them to at least hit the fire spells with the nerf bat a bit, but Mages still get to play with full damage fireballs and fireblasts. Its going to be harder to solo without all the quite so awesome frost effects, and I am going to feel the changes they made to Nova I'm sure, but I think overall Mages haven't fared too badly at all. |
| #96 11:42pm 18/08/04 |
Patch is out and they have absolutely totally owned the mage with nerfs... Can I have your beta account? Just to put Terms little teary into perspective, this quote from another board sums up everybody elses feelings of mages. Seriously, f*** mages. I cannot tell you how impossibly gay it is that in a group the mage was always the f***ing scout, those a******s could walk right through mobs while a rogue sat with his thumb up his ass because stealth was virtually useless for advance scouting. Mage invis was the last straw in totally removing the Rogue's class identity as unique. Hi, I am your superior DPS, scout, and lockpicker, suck my magic dick. This poster continues, but he is replying to someone saying that people should have just found a warlock for the see invis spell. Oh, and believe it or not it is not always possible to find a warlock in a reasonable amount of time, and there is no other class ability that you must seek out a single other class to be able to guard yourself from. After playing on the PvP server with the level 50 gankmage fags with greater invisibility doing gay s*** like camping the northmost camp in Stranglethorn, or the ore node at the enterance to the badlands, mages in PvP were just f***ing queer. Now maybe they'll have to think about survival like the rest of the classes. Boy are they gonna get assf***ed after the patch, there is a lot of resentment out there... Short answer, welcome to MMORG's term. Get a Helmet |
| #97 07:11am 19/08/04 |
Genesis
Warlock class is being focused on next. Depending on what they do with that depends on if i play WoW.
Mages needs a kick up the arse. Welcome to the wonderful world of mmorpg nerfs and balancing :p |
| #98 10:32am 19/08/04 |
I dunno if you could really call it a nerf anyway, I mean the games still in beta, its in a constant state of change and nothing can really be taken for granted as being final.
When you look at the changes in the context of the game as a whole, they're all changes for the better. Mages can no longer run around being one man armies (I mean come on, I could solo mobs 3 levels higher than myself at level 28, thats all wrong), and there is now a lot more point to being a rogue. I like the changes they've made to priests too. Heals are cheaper, which is good because without drinking in combat they're really going to have to work at conserving mana, plus the 30 second timer on Holy Shield should actually make them killable in pvp and the decrease in damage for smite might convince a lot more priests to actually be healers when they're grouping, and not wannabe nukers. |
| #99 11:45am 19/08/04 |
Hearing you guys talk about it makes me want WoW more than ever :(
They haven't hinted at any vague release dates yet, have they guys? From the way things sound, we'll be very lucky to have it before the year is out. |
| #100 11:54am 19/08/04 |
who won the prizes from the survey?
| #101 04:09pm 19/08/04 |
yer who won?
| #102 04:45pm 19/08/04 |
I dont think anyone minds you killing mobs higher level than you, but a mage could kill multiple ELITE mobs that were higher level than them.
last edited by shad at 16:49:46 19/Aug/04 |
| #103 04:49pm 19/08/04 |
Also not sure if anyone has mentioned it but invis as far as i know is being returned but not in an insanely uber form.
And it's also a beta, if you have that much of a problem, use /suggest. And shamans need their talents and to probably be toned down in pvp, purge is insane as a insta cast with next to no cooldown. |
| #104 04:55pm 19/08/04 |
applor
The changes to the mage are very welcome. They were far too overpowered in the last version.
They really did change/add a lot of things in WoW, I was quite suprised at the change in how armour works, its up around the values used in D2. Removing sp costs for dual wield and plate armour is welcomed, and the new paladin warhouse mount looks great, they appear as nights now. So much stuff to comment on but I must go and explore more now. I miss the auctioneers in SW tho:( |
| #105 05:39pm 19/08/04 |
I dont think anyone minds you killing mobs higher level than you, but a mage could kill multiple ELITE mobs that were higher level than them. Yeah, its not so much that I could kill mobs 3 levels higher than myself, its the fact I could kill them before they even managed to get within melee range, with absolutely no danger at all to myself. Half the time I could solo quests which were orange to me, if they were just kill quests. And shamans need their talents and to probably be toned down in pvp, purge is insane as a insta cast with next to no cooldown. And the ability to wield spears :P |
| #106 05:46pm 19/08/04 |
I'd love to see you kill something on a mage that's even 2 levels lower than you before it got to you once you're above level 20 or so. You'd only do it if you got a crit or a stun. As for multiple elites 3 levels higher?! haha what game was that? It wasn't WoW. elites are far easier for warlocks than they are for mages due to the tank pet with a taunt.
btw: http://jason.qgl.org/images/obes.jpg |
| #107 02:29pm 20/08/04 |
I'd love to see you kill something on a mage that's even 2 levels lower than you before it got to you once you're above level 20 or so. You'd only do it if you got a crit or a stun. Frostbolt.. Fireball.. Fireball.. Fire Blast.. Nova.. run away and get some distance.. repeat. The only time it goes south is if one of the frostbolts or novas was resisted. |
| #108 03:05pm 20/08/04 |
They really did change/add a lot of things in WoW, I was quite suprised at the change in how armour works, its up around the values used in D2. Are you saying that armour will increase the chance of an attack missing? or does armour reduce the the damage of an attack? |
| #109 03:18pm 20/08/04 |
Frostbolt.. Fireball.. Fireball.. Fire Blast.. Nova.. run away and get some distance.. repeat. The only time it goes south is if one of the frostbolts or novas was resisted.That's kiting, not killing a mob before it even gets to you. In fact due to the nature of frost nova (pbae) the mob needs to get to you for it to work. Actually killing an even-con mob before it gets to you on a mage stops somewhere just before lvl 20, even with both winter's chill and improved fireball maxed (which I have). I'm not denying they were a nice cruisy class to play, all I'm saying is that some of the claims made about what they can do are so grossly exaggerated that it's funny. What I'd have preferred is that other classes were brought inline with mages instead of scaling everything back to a slow, boring, painful grind like previous mmogs. They need to be relying on content to keep people subscribed, not by increasing the amount of time it takes people to reach lvl 60. The mage class had just enough nice perks that levelling was actually quite fun most of the time. |
| #110 03:39pm 20/08/04 |
Also, this:
(I mean come on, I could solo mobs 3 levels higher than myself at level 28, thats all wrong)Just about every class in WoW can solo mobs 1-3 levels higher than them. What's wrong with that? It's not daoc where taking on something a single level higher than you is often a gamble. It's not like the xp you get from killing mobs is worthwhile anyway - it's just a token amount compared to quests. You make it sound like mages had an xp-gaining advantage by being able to do that, when they don't. And: realistically mages shouldn't be going invis and stealthing up on people anyway, thats what rogues are forWhy should it be only rogues? God forbid that there be some diversity between class abilities in different games. Don't you want some variety? |
| #111 03:48pm 20/08/04 |
applor
Are you saying that armour will increase the chance of an attack missing? or does armour reduce the the damage of an attack? no, just that the values are like D2 in that they are much higher than before the patch. armour reduces damage, agility is chance to miss I believe. As for mage, they really were that bs. My warrior would lose to mages 3 levels below him without dealing any damage. They'd just be invis, cast pyro, thats half health gone. Now I can't charge. Run towards mage and before I can get into melee range hes thrown a second pyroblast and I'm dead. If I happen to absorb a pyro, he'd just cast frost nova to disable me and cast again. Or he'd just use poly which makes me useless for 20+ seconds. Even if I managed to get the charge in first, as soon as stun wore off he'd cast frost nova or poly and its just the same s*** as mentioned above. Only way warriors owned mages was with the bugged Mortal Strike ability. Of course now MS has been fixed, but mages lose invis and have been toned down so I think its quite fair now. Of course they still have conjure food/water which makes the cooking trade useless (happened to be the trade I chose first too:(. |
| #112 04:26pm 20/08/04 |
the only difference now is that there's less chance a mage will sneak up on you in an open area. you'll still get owned more often than not because you simply don't have the abilities to combat ranged attacks and crowd control. That's not a problem with the mage, it's an issue in the difference between class abilities. blizzard should come up with ways to counter abilities instead of just removing them from some classes and lessening the field of variety. I think a lot of people are wearing blinkers when they gripe about things that other classes have. They aim for the short-term fix by screaming for nerfs instead of asking for abilities to combat the abilities of other classes. What you end up with over time by nerfing is less variety/entertainment and a need for the next game to come out in the hope it'll be different enough from the current one to hold your interest.
| #113 04:35pm 20/08/04 |
jumb
who won?
me! |
| #114 03:46pm 31/08/04 |
really???
| #115 03:54pm 31/08/04 |
jumb
I think so.
| #116 04:16pm 31/08/04 |
Nomisi
Wow, still no winners announced.
I'd hate to think that we were being lied to .... |
| #117 10:55am 09/09/04 |
sprayNwipe
blizzard should come up with ways to counter abilities instead of just removing them from some classes and lessening the field of variety. My Rogue can counter casters with Kick My girlfriends Warrior can counter attacks with about eight different abilities, as well as counter casters with Shield Bash My Priest can counter melee attackers with Psychic Scream and Mind Control, while protecting against casters with Holy Shield. There are counters, if you look. |
| #118 11:40am 09/09/04 |
nikloas
really getting excited about this game, got 9 friends lined up to play also!
and vivendi are quite sure its going to be here before christmas also (although with MMORPG who knows?) bout time australia got a mass release :) |
| #119 12:50pm 09/09/04 |
A December release date would be awesome... my last exam is on the 15th, and I start work anywhere between Nov 29 and March 31 :)
I'm trying to convert a few friends at the moment. |
| #120 08:14pm 15/09/04 |
applor
WoW starts to get quite boring and slow...
It's going to have the same problem as D2 - reach the level cap and theres nothing to really do. You *could* farm mobs thousands of times to get slightly better items but seriously I think theres better things to do with ones time. The only thing that might avail it is how/if they implement hero classes and what role they play. |
| #121 09:55pm 15/09/04 |
we were all gipped... they kept the prizes for themselves :/
| #122 10:34pm 15/09/04 |
Genesis
WoW starts to get quite boring and slow... That's why there is PvP, Expansions, Hero Classes (Yes they will be added), Battlegrounds (Added before end of beta), Trade Skills (Some people enjoy this), etc. |
| #123 11:46pm 15/09/04 |
applor
That's why there is PvP, Expansions, Hero Classes (Yes they will be added), Battlegrounds (Added before end of beta), Trade Skills (Some people enjoy this), etc. Yeah PvP could be good once they implement a reward system. but I can't see anything except experience happening and so when you're at lvl cap this doesn't help. Expansions will just add more of the same. Forgot about Battlegrounds, that could be cool. Trade skills are really just a means to improve your character and get to lvl cap. And at its current state tradeskills are pretty much useless as the items are second rate and far too expensive. It will be interesting in the next push when they remove skill points and make them buyable. I like limiting it to 2 professions. Theres a couple I forget in there, but thats pretty much all they have lined up. I guess I'm saying that atm there is nothing to do until they raise the level cap to 60. But then again it is just a beta. And blizz have said hero classes wont be implemented until well after release:( |
| #124 08:05pm 16/09/04 |
Genesis
Yeah PvP could be good once they implement a reward system. but I can't see anything except experience happening and so when you're at lvl cap this doesn't help. Anything but experience? http://www.darkageofcamelot.com is a example for you to look up :) And at its current state tradeskills are pretty much useless as the items are second rate and far too expensive None of them are finished. Enchantments got a complete redesign that no one has seen yet. I know Leatherworking is being worked on as well. Yes, it is beta but a very incomplete beta. |
| #125 09:55pm 16/09/04 |
jumb
For those wondering, I WAS the winner. In fact, I got the package today.
In side the package was: Warcraft III Battlechest Counter-Strike Condition Zero Homeworld 2 Ground Control 2 Lords of the Realm III As well as the above, being the major prize winner I also received a copy of both Diablo 2 and Diablo 2: Lord of Destruction signed by Bill Roper. |
| #126 09:06am 27/09/04 |
Supergreen
grats jumb !
and which two classes are the tradeskillers ? |
| #127 09:37am 27/09/04 |
Nah, all classes can still be tradeskillers. What he means is they've now limited it so you can only learn 2 different tradeskill professions. Before you could learn as many as you wanted if you were willing to spend the skill points.
| #128 12:23pm 27/09/04 |
jumb... do u wanna sell any of that...
warcraft 3 origional for example... or diablo 2 exp???? |
| #129 06:22pm 27/09/04 |
jumb
I've already opened the warcraft 3 pack.
I doubt I will be opening either of the signed boxes, as ive already finished D2 too many times :) |
| #130 08:40pm 27/09/04 |
i dun care if its opened... i just wanna play... if you can send me the cd keys... i'll be thankful
| #131 09:05pm 27/09/04 |
minrix
This is the dumbest things ive eva herd have a us server only for aussy umm only thing with that is ull have like 200 players compaired to the us servers with 1000+
and also haveing a local server it will probly been evan less im gunna try every way possible to play on a proper us server |
| #132 10:34am 11/10/04 |
ZMOG and i thought i coundnt construct a sentence
| #133 10:36am 11/10/04 |
ZMOG and i thought i coundnt construct a sentenceHail the new new king baby ;) |
| #134 11:12am 11/10/04 |
| #134 |