Topic: odometer (re)winding scams
seems a large holden dealership has admitted rolling back odometers using a diagnostic tool supplied to them

dodgy

dodgier

i keep expecting these stories to be about imports (everyone says import odometers get rewound due to unusally low kays on most examples) but they never are

the last big scam with this trick was some guy selling toyota camrys (mostly) as nearly new family cars, when really they had done hundreds of 1000's of kays and had their odometers adjusted to make them worth much more than they were

ud be pretty pissed off if you bought one of these cars from the dodgy gmh dealers

ud want resitution, who knows how many days your "new" car got thrashed at the dealership having its clock rewound each nite :(
ud
u would

last edited by Spook at 14:09:43 06/Jul/04
wouldnt worry most import owners anyway, considering the amount of parts that get upgraded/replaced anyway
benneth
the problem with this report is that atm only GMH are apparently in the s***, however obviously every bloody car manufacturer would be able to do it.... i mean they make the bloody cars you'd think they would know how to do it. and i would assume all of them tamper with odometers.

the one question with the GMH article is that they say that they can only wind back a odometer which has only traveled up to 100kms. however who knows they probably wind back more.

meh.... i'd still buy a Holden anyway.
wouldnt worry most import owners anyway, considering the amount of parts that get upgraded/replaced anyway

it would worry me
i want what i payed for
lay-z-b
and this is surprise to you ... why???
Irhabi
that's not supprising...wouldn't put anything past car dealership's..
lay-z-b
supprised

got grammar
asif ud ever buy a holden
Oh f***ing type properly, you Neanderthal.

"You" "Would" "You'd". IT'S NOT f***ING HARD.

last edited by Pharcyde at 11:00:44 20/Aug/04
ud
went to a certin imports/exotic cars joint in town one day to ask about trading in my mates RX-7, and the guy there had a quiet word with us about rewinding the clock. yet insisted that all of their cars were genuine.
http://heardy.com/new/Onioninfoabbreviations.jpg
ud want resitution, who knows how many days your "new" car got thrashed at the dealership having its clock rewound each nite :(

mate was driving past a mitsu dealership at 2am one night, saw a brand new Evo 8 get reversed out the driver way, taken for a hot lap, then re-parked.

Sif it matters - only f*****s buy commodores anyway.
Boofe
Sif it matters - only f*****s buy commodores anyway.

And the bogans buy Volvo's?
you Neanderthal.

haha, thats golden coming from you

last edited by Spook at 17:02:28 20/Aug/04
Boofe
Spook stop dragging your nuckles along the ground, your upsetting the chimps!!! :P
Glenny
Its not illegal to wind the clock back in Japan..
i reckon it is

the japs dont do it

local guys do foolio (if they do it at all)

i was completely happy with the amount of ks my car showed when it was purchased
Did everyone know that Anarot spelled backwards reads "Volvo" ?
Ny dad bought an 89 camry from the fowles auction and apparently it had only done 63000 km's.

Say Aye if you think he got jipped.
..... wind back the odometers of Holden Commodores if they had done less than 100km.

I'm safe then, mine's done over 200,000. It's gone so far it doesn't even work anymore, fagget odometer.

Ny dad bought an 89 camry from the fowles auction and apparently it had only done 63000 km's.

Say Aye if you think he got jipped.

another one of our cars had gone around the clock and gone back to 0 on it's own because it'd gone so far. Mind you it had a new engine (or reco'nd) put in it at some stage.

last edited by WhoopAss at 20:00:01 20/Aug/04
Well just say somehow you did actually find out that you're odometer has been rolled back a fair bit and you believe you were sold out, my question is what can you actually do about it ?

Km's - -
my question is, how the hell would you find out? I mean the electronic ones you just plug them in and hit a number into a device & it goes to that odo reading, the old manual ones you maybe had to break appart & leave evidence of tampering, but what evidence is there with electronic ones?
Laws in Japan for winding back odometers are much harsher than here in Australia, because vehicle registration is based on how many KM's the car has done.