Topic: woman -> wifey
after 10 years (our aniversary was 4 days before wedding) of being with woman, we finally got married last saturday in the gardens

ill just say, that im not a wedding kind of guy. to me its as massive amount of money spent on a party for 1 day (we could easily have used the cost of the wedding for a home deposit) but it was something that woman wanted very much, so we did it. im also dont like attention particularly. u dont get more attention anywhere than at your own wedding.

we had been organising (i say we, i should say she) for the best part of 9 months. a solid 9 months that involed stuff being done, investigated or planned each and every weekend and during most weeks. in particular for the girls who had that many dress fittings it wasnt funny.

we ended up getting married in the gardens and having the reception at the cafe in the gardens. we booked the bit of grass in front of the cafe for the ceremony. it was awesome, except for offspring.

ill just say now, that woman was awesome. not only did she organise the whole thing, get us all looking flash as (boys and girls) but she overcame some MAJOR setbacks on the day in her stride, when im sure 99 percent of brides would have been devestated (ill get to them). oh and she looked unbelievable.

first of the dramas was that we discovered 2 weeks before hand that offspring were playing the riverstage, which was approximately 60 meters from where we had the ceremony. our ceremony started at 3:30pm so we thought we would be right (offspring concert started at 6), but sure enough, just as teh girls arrived, sound checks started and we had noisy guitars blasting us during the ceremony. woman was undaunted by this in any way, which if it didnt bother her, it didnt bother me, nice one baby! then the photographer (who we had paid 850 bux, for all digital shots) failed to show (he thought the wedding was on the sunday, nice one buddy, real professional) this would be a complete disaster for most couples/brides. woman again, wasnt overly bothered, if she wasnt upset by it, neither was i (i fookin hate photos anyway). we live in the digital camera age, and just about everyone there had digital cameras, so we have ended up with 1000s of pix, plenty of quality shots.

the ceremony was short (just how i like it) about 30 mins (although our celebrant pulled out on friday, the day before because we axed all his religious bits from the ceremony, i didnt want that garbage at my wedding). the reception at the cafe was awesome and i highly recommend them to any others looking for a reception venue (gardens cafe) our dj was also awesome (playing all his tunes beatmixed off his laptop using a logitech scratch wheel dohicky and traktor)

us, signing the deal
http://members.optusnet.com.au/davidbroughton/broughtons.jpg

headed off bright and early sunday morning on the honeymoon to melbourne to catch the footy at the G in the arvo (mel vs essendon, wifey and i both love footy), which was awesome;
ill just say that melbourne was unreal
so much to do, so easy to get around, public transport was awesome and well priced, the people in melbourne were unbelievably nice, i couldnt believe the number of times people would hear us talking touristy on trams and would offer us advice on better ways to get where we were going, places to see, things to do; not just a one off, but repeatedly, nearly everytime we were on a tram, train or even just walking the streets

then we headed off to hobart to drive arround tassie
hobart was ok, not nearly as much fun as melbourne
everything shuts in hobart at 6:00 at nite
i didnt see a single 7-11 (they are on every corner in melbourne)
the bottle-o opposite our hotel shut at 6 on a wednesday nite!?!?!?!
had more fun in hobart when we got out of the city and drove across tassie in our hire car (a magna :( even with tiptronic, it was still a front wheel drive slug, shame i didnt have the skyline down there as tassie roads were awesome, seriously awesome

we flew jetstar everywhere (i got all 6 of our flights for 30 bux each :) ) and was stoked with jetstar after we learnt their trick

if u fly jetstar ARRIVE EARLY FOR YOUR FLIGHT, like at least an hour.
jetstar dont allocate seat numbers, its first come first served (first 50 boarding passes issued get on plane first and choose their own seats) plus the people that check in your baggage, also board you on the plane, so they shut up shop out front earlier than u expect. we arrived 40 minutes before the flight leaving brissy and found out, we had only just made it by a minute or so, and if u miss the boarding call, u miss the flight

so all in all, a pretty good week and a bit

wedding was what i wanted (a big party, low on crap talking, big on drinking it up with my mates having fun) woman enjoyed herself, my parents and bro came down from cairns and enjoyed themselves, i hope any of the lads that read this that went enjoyed themselves also

after being and living with woman for 10 years already, i dont imagine married life will change much for me, from what it was before (i hope it doesnt, coz i liked how things were before)

oops, nearly forgot, went the cash pressies rather than gifts option and dont regret it one bit (said we wanted cash on invites)
as we are aready established as a couple we didnt want toasters and other crap like that, plus id rather give someone cash at their wedding, as it saves me having to do any shopping (which is always a good thing)

ill just say now the skyline should benefit nicely from the cash donations we received!

GimMix
Congrats.... now babies :/
Nat
congratulations spooksy! nice skyline, nice woman...ur living the great australian dream old son!

tis a cause for celebration Family style methinks :)
ta lads
nah, no kiddies for a bit

im not done partying (despite what woman thinx)

plus im not good at sharing my toys :)

ive gotta chase myself down a secondhand xbox, to build my mediaplayer/portable games machine while im still on holidays

got another couple of weeks off work to boot! :)

i like the idea of celebrating Family style though
mite head out friday nite

last edited by Spook at 10:03:12 29/Jun/04
infiNex
plus im not good at sharing my toys :)

just buy wife a dong too ;)
cool so who gets the back doors and who gets the front doors when it all goes pear shaped? :p
im taking the car and the computer
she can have the rest
linkin
why didn't yas get offspring to play at your wedding??? lol
congrats - more pics pls.

and based on that story, my woman would have lost the f***ing plot, stupid f***ing weddings.
geez, glad it all turned out ok with those big issues. Congrats too.

The only real problem we had on our big day was the organist turning up only to discover the organ wouldn't work...there was some mad ringing around to neighbouring properties - that turned up an electronic keyboard. However, after getting that to the church, it didn't work either. Finally we ended up walking down the aisle to CD-music :)
was your DJ's name Bonney by any chance?
nah, djs name was mark

very happy with his work

music at wedding was awesome*

mp3 goodness

*when we couldnt hear offspring warming up
which only happened during ceremony, reception was rockin
although i did ask him to play better off alone, and he didnt :(
epi.
Congrats :)

ah ok, yeah congrats too

my gf said to me once "so when we get married.." (she had this all planned out), I freaked out and she was kidding, but yeah.. 18 is no time to be even considering marriage ;)
Congrats Spook to u and 'woman' (shes easy on the eye!)

I'm usually one of the more vocal anti-marriage trolls here.

Personally I think it's just a piece of paper. But I realize chicks dont see it that way. Also I'm against it 'cos so many ppl just rush into it etc etc.

This obviously not the case with you guys. I think that a couple SHOULD live together for at least say 5 yrs b4 taking the plunge. Marriage is a very very serious thing more so than ppl realize. Not just as it involves children but also legally and financially.

Anyway enough serious stuff. Good luck to you both. You have my blessing.. ;)
linkin

Congrats Spook!!!
ur a mad c*** spook

congrats..

whats her number?

i like the idea of celebrating Family style though
mite head out friday nite

Snakeman and I are heading in with a few chicky babes if you wanna meet up Spook.

Also, congratulations on the wedding. You sound exactly the same as me. If I ever get get married, haha, I would do it like you without all the religious nonsense. Just have close friends and thats it it. Also, you're wife is a honey bunny.

^ Not as good as Mandy though Rev ..eh?

;)
Hehe

Well, Mandy will always be my favourite. I'm sure Spook loves his wife more than her though.

f***ing kick ASS spook! :)
Im glad the set backs didnt phase you/your wife(like the sound of it? ;)).

Enjoy the rest of ya lives together! :) Definately all the best!
I just showed my fiance this thread and she was nearly in tears and it didn't even happen to her ffs - f*** I hope nothing goes wrong on our big day!

PS: gimme the name of your photographer and celebrant so i can rule them the f*** out of the equation immediately, I don't want any religious BS at my wedding, if I did I'd be getting married in a church.

Congrats spook.

Youve got a very pretty woman that sounds like she's got a good head on her shoulders. Not a drama queen "GOD DOES NOT WANT ME TO GET MARRIED" kinda thing after all those setbacks.

gwm8
congrats spook! best wishes !
=D

spidz in case you didnt know - thread aint about you so f*** off
^ tard

top stuff spook :]
i've come to expect comments like that from d[o_0]b aka kats alter ego.
spidz in case you didnt know - thread aint about you so f*** off

f*** off d*******, this is a discussion forum.

Topic: woman -> wifey

Therefore discussion on that topic. And im sure spook doesnt mind hearing about other people and their experiences.
you can expect comments like that from me becuase i have a low tollerance for arrogant people with low IQ's and big mouths - it s***s me how you have to state on seperate occasions how you hope to god your wedding is nothing like spooks, you say it as if you putting him down and placing yourself on another level.
ok fireblood i dunno if your brain dead or just plain stupid. spidz isnt married yet - so what experiances are you talking about?

also wd on reading the topic mate
Hey d[o_0]b...

http://www.members.optushome.com.au/gpahl/growup.jpg
less action quake 2, more life rev
GaZ_^^^
Congradulations Spook, all the best matey.

Ps. you suck at ra3 doob.
I don't actually care if my wedding goes to plan - I was more pointing out that Spook is very lucky to have a chick that aint a drama queen. As much as I love my mrs I know s*** like that would affect her and the day would be ruined.

and it seems spook showed as little interest as me about the planning of the wedding.

so kindly f*** off and don't ruin the thread, make a new thread to complain if you like.
well done spooky~!~!~

all the best for you and your wifey!

ahaha i bet not before long, there will be a lil spook running around ....
ok fireblood i dunno if your brain dead or just plain stupid. spidz isnt married yet - so what experiances are you talking about?

But he is getting married.....and he just said he knows what it would be like for his mrs. You dont need to be married to share the experience of loving someone you could easily spend the rest of your life with.

Kindly f*** off.
lets stop this feudin and fussin eh?

i dont mind spidz comments at all

half the reason i made the post was so that people could benefit from my experiences!

yep thats two weddings on QGL lately that I've learnt alot from and will be passing messages onto the bride to make it look like I'm making an effort.

now what were the names of the photographer and celebrant?

PS: how long are we walking until we see a mini spook?
also, i forgot to give mad props to decimate for taking heap of kik ass pix for us that turned out awesomely

heh, especially now hes my bro!
photographer was david allen (i hope i dont get sued for this)

tis a shame, coz my only request for photos were digital (albums are a rip off)

if i got all the pix digital i could have chosen which ones we wanted, done some simple image manipulation ourselves (deci is pretty handy with photoshop)

photographer was a good price, was gonna give us everything on a cd straight away (most photographers wont even give u negatives for like 6 months after the wedding)

shame he cant use a diary

celebrant (this gets confusing bare with me) was only there do the legal bit of the ceremony

we had our friends dad do the ceremony and he was organising the legal celebrant (who was full churchy, admittedly the guy that did the ceremony was churchy as well, but it didnt bother him that we didnt want no god stuff done)

the guy we found at short notice did the job well

yar, this all sounds confusing, but unfortuantely it was one of the things i half organised, so its entirely my fault

this should be a good example to woman why i should not be allowed to organise anything even remotely important

womans still got the rod for antoher 12 months and i wanna get a house sorted before we even think about kids, so they be a few years off

last edited by Spook at 12:50:01 29/Jun/04
oh guys lighten up im only having a playful fish =) not actually having a go at anyone
operator

Congrats again Spook! You two are perfect for each other :)
the perfect couple!?!??!?
thats cool, so you can get someone to do most of the ceremony for you and just have a legal celebrant on the side who does the legal shizzle at the end?

that sounds like an awesome option as then you get someone you know well to do the celebrant stuff which would be way more comfortable for me anyway - nice info!

and photography is exxy indeed, thats something we are currently arguing about now as I want to take the same option you did - but the woman wants an album. If I had any photoshop skills I could be a tad more convincing.

and I'll pass on your warning about letting the guy organise stuff, cause I've been left to organise the honeymoon and the mrs doesn't understand why I'm looking at all these golf brochures :P
thats cool, so you can get someone to do most of the ceremony for you and just have a legal celebrant on the side who does the legal shizzle at the end?

yup!

that sounds like an awesome option as then you get someone you know well to do the celebrant stuff which would be way more comfortable for me anyway - nice info!

my plan ezakery!

we're buying stuff to do our own album. We want one, but we don't want to pay $1500+ for it. $500-700 or so is reasonable for something that will last.

last edited by orbitor at 13:03:15 29/Jun/04
yeah I can't believe how f***ing expensive it is to get the photo's done.
Spook looks like Damien Fleming.
http://members.optusnet.com.au/davidbroughton/broughtons.jpg
http://www.rediff.com/worldcup99/australia/stats/flem1.jpg

Spook is a specialist batsman though :P
Hey Fleming was pretty f***ing handy with the bat :P
of course he was - hes a victorian
Just invite a heap of people from the 'digital camera' thread.. surely with 10 or so ppl all taking photos you're bound to get a few good ones :p
im actually more of a bowler these days :)

will be good to get back to all my sports that suffered due to lack of time during runup to wedding (squash, cricket, netball)

back to indoor cricket tonite and i cant wait
Gotta love the netty....:P
Corrupt
I'm not for the expensive marriage s***.

I just want to get the papers done and go on a honeymoon once the papers are out of the way.
Congrats Spook!!!

f*** you guys have been going out for a long time.

Happy to see you're in good spirits about it all - makes it a job well done and one done well:)

Grunt
DUZZZZZZZZZ.. You've done pretty well for yourself..

"spook looks like damien fleming"
HE IS!$!@!^@&!

congrats and goodluck..

amms
Congrats spook, im glad everything went well despite all the mishaps.

Inso and i are getting married in March and i think i would freak out if the those things happened at our wedding. We just booked our photographer, it's hard to find someone that is nice, good and doesn't cost a fortune. Mind you i think that the word wedding makes everything expensive :)
orbs/insos oldies must be stoked! (and broke)
both their boys getting married within 6 months!
amms, you're getting married at indro golf club aren't ya?

no chance of Offspring playing in the background there ;)
Insolence
12 months actually, had to have a bit of space between the two.

Glad to hear it all ended up well after some of the dramas you faced on the day. Finally, now with this over and done with you can start sinking some serious $$ into the line, maybe even look at getting a 2 door conversion to make it the genuine article :P
sif its not the brides families job to pay for all the shiz.
lol @ inso, sifnt 4 doors rocking your socks!!! :P hehe
Trapper
its actualy 3 spidz mates, grosby got married on saturday too. she is just offline atm doing various things to her boy i bet.
sif its not the brides families job to pay for all the shiz

Yep, everything bar the booze :)
meh, we split it 50/50 with both sets of parents
Making the brides parents pay for the wedding is old school. Everything should be split between both families.

last edited by Reverend Evil at 10:51:19 30/Jun/04
its like you're saying what im thinking rev
Making the brides parents pay for the wedding is old school.
That antiquated rule went out the windows with when they started burning bras and getting equality. The whole concept in male dominated cultures was that the parents of the groom had to pay for his education and up bringing, thus he could provide for the bride to be. Hence it was the brides family's responsibilty to provide a dowry to the grooms family to help compensate for their expenses.

This was usually upper class only as the rest of us peasants where lucky to have enough off spring survive to look after us when we where old and fraile, so the Dowry was usually very limited like a few patatoes or a chicken.
Making the brides parents pay for the wedding is old school. Everything should be split between both families.

We had an old-school wedding then :)

Nah, her parents INSISTED on paying.
Big fancy white weddings with all the stupid pre function formalities is an illusion generated by an industry.

If you think traditional weddings had all the bulls*** that happens today, you're crazy.

Its nuts when people spend well over 10 grand for a single day to celebrate a thing that if you look at the odds won't be for a life time (sure it won't happen to you, your in love... just like all the other people who thought the same thing at their wedding and are now getting divorced).

Honestly I don't get it, it must be a chick thing, my folks offered my sister $x thousand dollars for her marriage to spend as she saw fit. Me I would have spent that money on house repayments or on a few weeks in europe added on to the Honeymoon. Instead she spent it all plus more on the wedding and reception.

/ponder
heh, sad to say most marriages end up in divorce... lets hope it won't happen to the newly weds on here..
deathman27
Obes...I'd rather have the best day of my life with my girl, spending cash on whatever the f*** i wanted, doing everything we wanted - just for one day. It'll never happen again!

Sure, it'd be nice to pay off a house, but then what? You're never getting married again, you'll probably regret being a stinge. I, for one would want the honeymoon to be perfect...it's not everyday people give you money to do stuff.

And as for the "i don't see the point in marriage, they don't last now days anyway" bulls*** people keep spittin out... You're like my mum when she says "What's the point of buying a new computer, it's only going to be outdated in a year anyway!"

Aint no point to life if your main goal isn't being happy. Marriage shows commitment, and it's thought of to be a big commitment, i don't know why you wouldnt want someone to prove they're commited to you.

I learnt that off dr.phil
It'll never happen again

Hopefully for you it won't, but for a large percentage of the population, thats not true.

Funny bit is I said I'd spend it on a house (to live in together) or on the honeymoon you think thats a bad idea .. aparently... but then say you'd spend it on the honeymoon which is what I said... isn't it ?

ie. you agree but you don't ...
Rationally I think you agree, emotionally you don't, which is my point people don't think rationally about it. Emotionally I think you'll want to spend 10 grand (or more) so other people can eat and get pissed or so you have a dress she'll never wear again (hopefully). But if thats what you want and you can afford it, why do you care what I think ? Hell I like it when friends and relatives have rediculously big weddings as long as I get an invite to the function :P

And since you want to talk about day time television as a source for ethical and moral behavior, watch Opera's series on "bridezilla's".
10 grand is nothing nowerdays.

Thats like half a new car or 1 semi-decent used car.

Roughly 1 yrs rent.

An average salary pays more than that in tax per yr.

About 1/3 annual pay after tax for an average salary.

About 1/6 combined income for a couple of D.I.N.K's like what Spook and 'woman->wifey' are now.

1 modest but comfortable European Holiday.

About 1/30th of a very very used modest Brisbane Home 15klms from the city or inner-city apartment.

In other words f*** all.
deathman27
Obes, i have no idea what you just said, it was like reading a riddle. Deep down i think you're a pretty boring person, but some girls like that.

Good luck mate.
yar, its a stack of money
and yar, i would have liked to spend it elsewhere

but, woman wanted it and to make a relationship work, u compromise

we've lived together for 10 years (well, 9.5) so if were not going to make it now, we never will
deathman27 ... only reason you couldn't understand it is becuase you don't want to. I mean you have me confused, you disagree but agree all in one short post.

And slaps_forehead .. mind giving me 10 or 20 grand .. since its nothing and all ? course you won't becuase its a substancial nothing. (to say 10grand is nothing is one of the more bizarre things I have seen on this forum in a while)

But like I said if you want a big wedding more then the other stuff its your money, like I said I like it when friends and family throw big ones, means free food and booze for me. I was just offering a ponderance.
Personally I'd use it on house or extended honeymoon, then getting other people pissed and supporting an industry that thrives on creating "traditions" :p

we've lived together for 10 years (well, 9.5) so if were not going to make it now, we never will

Well at least you can be proud that your relationship has already lasted longer than most marriages :).

I live with my girl for about 7 years now no plan for marriages - she doesn't see what the fuss is and neither can I. As far as the law is concert she pretty much can take half of everything I owned now anyways so ;)

Congrads doode and good luck. Also nice photos.

last edited by Opec at 15:56:55 30/Jun/04
that fuzzy s*** on her wedding dress suggests something to me

i'll leave everyone else scratching their heads, but i'll give spook the thumbs up now

nice find =)
im also dont like attention particularly.
+ this thread... does not compute....
the brides parents are paying for my wedding - they're rich and my parents aren't, so thats the botton line.

and $10k doesn't get you far for a wedding :/
login
that fuzzy s*** on her wedding dress suggests something to me

That you won't know she's been f***ing someone else behind your back until it's too late? Maybe we're on a different wavelength.