Ezn
hey
i just saw about 6 different cars with lights (neons and LED's) and the whole time im thinking... isnt that highly illegal... in queensland anyway. I was thinking about getting those little jet lights that replace your windscreen wiper jets but they have RED LED'S in them and i was just wondering if it is illegal.. does anyone know what the law is as far as adding lights to your car, and if you get caught what is the penalty. cheers |
| #0 05:49pm 29/04/04 |
supreme
wat kind of lights? like undercar what? and yes having neons under/inside you car while moving is illegal. and im pretty sure those led washers would be too. its all about officer discression if he has a bad day u get a ticket
| #1 05:51pm 29/04/04 |
Ezn
f*** the PO LICE
| #2 05:53pm 29/04/04 |
Yeah, cops suck... seriously.
I was just about to get some of those bonnet LED's... still am :D last edited by CHUB at 17:55:22 29/Apr/04 |
| #3 05:55pm 29/04/04 |
yeh, officers suck for giving you tickets for breaking the law
if this thread gets any stupid, it'll get locked |
| #4 05:58pm 29/04/04 |
i hope you get the LED's on your windscreen wipers and I hope you get pulled over and your car is impounded - one less tard on the road.
I also hope that you say f*** the police to a cop and while you car is impounded you will be pounded in the arse by your cellmate in the lockup. |
| #5 06:03pm 29/04/04 |
Can someone please explain as to why you would want to have lights on your bonnet that do nothing?
| #6 06:03pm 29/04/04 |
simE
My mate has white led's on his windscreen wiper things, sounds rather gay to me, i havent seen them myself but he reckons they look pretty awesome
| #7 06:07pm 29/04/04 |
Can someone please explain as to why you would want to have lights on your bonnet that do nothing? It is meant to make up for other deficiencies in the individual. |
| #8 06:14pm 29/04/04 |
Parag0n
Filthy ricers
| #9 06:17pm 29/04/04 |
Adding any type of neon to your car is illegal
| #10 06:23pm 29/04/04 |
It is meant to make up for other deficiencies in the individual. Like you mean they aren't very bright? |
| #11 06:24pm 29/04/04 |
I've got the red washer lights on my bonnet, they looked good for about a few days until they just decided to stop working.
Damn Cheap $15 ones.... |
| #12 06:29pm 29/04/04 |
applor
I was told neons under the car are only illegal in blue or red...
| #13 06:32pm 29/04/04 |
NaK0r
what if the officer is colour blind and gets ur "green" neon mixed up with a red one ^_^
| #14 06:34pm 29/04/04 |
I got in trouble for blue neons... too much like cop lights.
yeh, officers suck for giving you tickets for breaking the lawOr they're corrupt f***ers, that aren't out there to protect society, more go on a powertrip. last edited by CHUB at 19:01:21 29/Apr/04 |
| #15 07:01pm 29/04/04 |
Eye
Any form of after market light is illegal in the eyes of the law. They deem it uncessesary and could make people think your car looks like an emergency vehicle. Well thats what the copper said to mate as he defected him for blue parker lights.
| #16 07:00pm 29/04/04 |
They look gay and add unnecessary weight/drag, so tell us again what the attraction is??
| #17 07:09pm 29/04/04 |
supreme
i really dont think the weight of them has much effect on the car unless your going for a drag car setup where it wouldnt really matter even then. so er what are u on about?
| #18 07:12pm 29/04/04 |
The point is, no matter how much weight it is, its still unnecessary - same as 200 kgs worth of stereo gear to annoy your neighbours is UNNECESSARY in a car.
| #19 07:18pm 29/04/04 |
supreme
dude saying neons are unnessisary weight is like saying. "oh no man we have to leave our fones at home cause they will wiigh my car down"
| #20 07:21pm 29/04/04 |
dude saying neons are unnessisary weight is like saying. "oh no man we have to leave our fones at home cause they will wiigh my car down" You make bad comparisons. A phone is functional. You communicate with it. A neon light is purely aesthetic in nature. It does not increase the car's performance. It serves no other purpose than to look pretty. On another note, some people here dismiss ravers as glow-stick freaks but are ok with lapping in a glowing bomb? (just for the record, I don't like most ravers) |
| #21 07:30pm 29/04/04 |
Sparky
It serves no other purpose than to look pretty.In your opinion. :) |
| #22 07:32pm 29/04/04 |
In your opinion. :) I don't mind a strategically placed light that adds a bit of flavour, but some people go over the top... I don't like seeing cars/PC-mods that are so bright that they could cause .. f***ing .. star-tracking navigational problems on the Spirit rover on Mars :) |
| #23 07:36pm 29/04/04 |
supreme
well actually what i was trying to point out that it is such a stupid thing to say that neons are gay cause they are un nessisary weight as they weigh f*** all. they are not even something to consider with un nessisary weight unless you have like 500 of them
| #24 07:38pm 29/04/04 |
=-Firefrog-=
Wow, people have different opinions, some people like their cars to resemble japanese animation, some don't, their money so get over it all ready. And if its at all possible, you could feel free to help answer his question too!
I know the underbody ones are ok, so long as you don't have them on while moving, I've seen cars pull up to red lights, turn 'em on, then turn them off again when the light goes green, heh. Might be best to ring the police/dept of transport to find out a decent answer, I think it has not only to do with being mistaken for an emergency vehicle (like anyone would flag down a Civic, when they need an ambulance :p), but also driver distraction. |
| #25 07:55pm 29/04/04 |
as far as I know the neons are only able to be turned on when the vehicle isn't on the road, like, parked at a car show. I'm not sure about car parks, some guy was given a ticket for talking on the phone while driving in a gas station (someone on here I think) so they'd probably get you in carpark's too if they really wanted to be pricks. (unless I guess no one was in the car and it wasn't running).
Really though, why would you want them on while you're driving anyway? I dunno about those washer jet ones, just hook them up to a seperate switch so you can turn them off. (usually I think people just hook them to their lights or ignition). Saw one guy who hooked his to his indicators :) |
| #26 09:07pm 29/04/04 |
Eye
They look gay and add unnecessary weight/drag, so tell us again what the attraction is?? Idiotic post #1. The lights Ezn is talking about, weigh a couple of grams. Your statement is completely stupid as a result of this. Do drag racers take a massive dump before a drag race to free the little bit of extra weight in their body? The point is, no matter how much weight it is, its still unnecessary - same as 200 kgs worth of stereo gear to annoy your neighbours is UNNECESSARY in a car. Idiotic post #2. I'm sure people go out to their local audio specialist, and say "Hey mate, i'm after the latest and greatest in neighbour annoying technology. I don't want to actually listen to the music inside of my car for my own pleasure or anything, just purely to annoy my neighbours." s*** better take the engine out of the car, that might add some weight and annoy the neighbours aswell. |
| #27 09:45pm 29/04/04 |
victor bray is phat and still goes fast. mm mhmmmm
http://www.andrawa.com/wadragracing/multimedia/november16/bray3.jpg |
| #28 09:48pm 29/04/04 |
Eye
f*** look at all that paint and stickers. WONT SOMEBODY PLEEEEASE THINK OF THE WEIGHT??!?!?!?!
| #29 09:50pm 29/04/04 |
Parag0n
Hey I saw that crazy c*** Victor Bray at the indy :) Man that car made my ears bleed, shook the f***ing grandstand when it was idling, nearly blew us all away when he did a donut, his chev is rated at something like 3000 HP? I can't remember.
| #30 10:14pm 29/04/04 |
yeah saw a drag car like that at willowbank, can't remember if it was him or someone else. It was on the actual race track, not the drag strip, I thought drag cars couldn't run for more than a couple of minutes at a time? I dunno where I heard that, but it was doing laps of the circuit & as it got on the straight just let rip & sent everyone watching deaf :)
| #31 10:35pm 29/04/04 |
Parag0n
I thought drag cars couldn't run for more than a couple of minutes at a time? I dunno where I heard thatDrag cars have small surge tanks, just enough for a few quarter runs. |
| #32 10:54pm 29/04/04 |
yeh those fkn coppers s*** me too...turn your car into a christmas tree...it'll look cool.
:) |
| #33 11:09pm 29/04/04 |
whats a surge tank?
sounds like something from red alert why cant i make a funny without this f***ing edit tag appearing. last edited by scooby at 23:14:54 29/Apr/04 |
| #34 11:14pm 29/04/04 |
I'm laughing at the anti-rice bandwagon-riders ridiculing car neons from their neon equipped PC.
I've seen SOME cars with various neon setups that look bloody fantastic, and some that look s***house and/or tryhard. And let's not bring the law into it too much - there are perfectly legal cars out there with HID lights that are far more distracting to another driver than some mild neon lighting. Most of these kind of rules exist to prevent complicated and subjective rulings - it's easier just to say "no aftermarket coloured lighting" than assess the relative safety impact of each type of light. |
| #35 12:18am 30/04/04 |
i riced my car, ran it into a brick wall and thanked f*** i was controlling it remotely.
I love remote control cars. they are where its at. lol my case is so basic.. its so flexible ive gone through three seperate mobo's off warrenty cause in reality my case bends as i go lanning and the mobo breaks.. just enough transisters to stop full functionality... so its perm-underclocked. im not only a car ricer, im also a case ricer =( and i end up with the same results: f***ED INSIDES. also that pic makes the car look like it has no wheels. |
| #36 12:30am 30/04/04 |
Im asian so its perfectly ok for me to rice up my car, even though im middle eastern from the continent of asia.
I've got red neons located on the floor and near the red pedals with the neons hooked up to a switch. Looks awesome at night especially when they reflect off the silver mats. Fly lice with chicken wings duma. |
| #37 01:40am 30/04/04 |
lol Psycho.
| #38 02:52am 30/04/04 |
OK time to derail the thread.
Whats the earliest film you have seen that had cars with neon's underneath? Oldest film I can remember atm is The Crow with the yellow neons. |
| #39 03:04am 30/04/04 |
i was gonna say fast and furious, but then I saw what you wrote and I'm gonna go with the crow also.
| #40 03:10am 30/04/04 |
Personal its not the cop that suxs but the f***en idiot who wants to attach a neon light to their car, for what possible reason would you do this? It has zero performance enhancing characteristics, the only people it impresses are those impressed by prety lights and think Fast and Furious 2 and Biker Boyz are good movies. Perhaps instead of getting neons you could actually go to Mount Cotton and actually learn how to drive properly with the money instead.
Thinks that should be outlawed, DVD players visible to front passengers, car stero systems that can be heard that belong in your lounge room not 12^3 meteres of living aread, modifiactions of any kind done whitout a pit inspection, too many times I hear of people bumping up their engines performance without increasing handling and breaking now thats smart. And for the grand finally, aero kits on cars, why? Because at 100-110km/h they have absolutely zero performance if anything they create drag. Now those little ones they design to disrupt the air for low speed are ok its the big arse whale tails and airdams they put on cars I f***en hate the poxy things but they aren't a saftey issue so I'll allow them even though I personally hate the f***en things. |
| #41 09:47am 30/04/04 |
RICE
RICE RICE RICE RICE RICE OMG Get Over It Get a nice car don't be a tryhard. |
| #42 09:56am 30/04/04 |
OMG more like grow it then put it on a f***ing plate and eat it.
| #43 10:05am 30/04/04 |
cars with lights, what's going on in the world
GO VIN DIESEL |
| #44 10:54am 30/04/04 |
found this pic of gumby in action
http://www.cartpushers.net/antlaugh3.jpg |
| #45 11:19am 30/04/04 |
No need for neons if ya got one of these
http://www.drive.com.au/PHOTOS/PHOTO400/SSCAUS/AUDI/RS6/2004/4SA-4.JPG |
| #46 11:37am 30/04/04 |
NaBeL
lol when people are young they can do what they want they can like what they want .. if you dont like it go back to the 60's and shutup.
| #47 11:52am 30/04/04 |
hey, they arent putting neons on your car, why the f*** would anyone care?
| #48 12:07pm 30/04/04 |
I parked in the city the other day and came back to my car a few hours later and someone had put neons under my car, on the dash and on the wipers, I was all like wtf, so no maxe it isnt a victimless crime!
last edited by verticalseafoodtaco at 12:18:43 30/Apr/04 |
| #49 12:18pm 30/04/04 |
lol when people are young they can do what they want they can like what they want .. if you dont like it go back to the 60's and shutup.No you got that wrong, it should be when people are dumb! Why? 1. You can't drive with neons turned on its illegal, plus its distracting you from your task of driving safely. 2. You can't see them in the daylight. 3. The only time you can use them is when your car is parked, standing around next to a parked car is not all that much fun. 4. Neons on show cars at car shows is cool, somehow I don't think your car is a show car. As for going back to the 60's why, I like my cars to go fast and handle well, I don't see the need for neons as they represent no functional benifit and aren't esthetically pleasing, myself and many others don't go WOW! look at the neons on that car, I bet it hauls arse now. |
| #50 12:54pm 30/04/04 |
NaBeL
i dont have neons on my car..
and utill i got some sort of huge paint job and 456364564 inch wheels i wont. but some people do and if neons improves the look they 'yaay' for them. last edited by NaBeL at 12:58:17 30/Apr/04 |
| #51 12:58pm 30/04/04 |
DigitaL
As for going back to the 60's why, I like my cars to go fast and handle well, I don't see the need for neons as they represent no functional benifit and aren't esthetically pleasing, myself and many others don't go WOW! look at the neons on that car, I bet it hauls arse now. but some people would go WOW. i know cause ive seen it in action with my old car... |
| #52 01:03pm 30/04/04 |
it's all up to personal preference really
| #53 01:09pm 30/04/04 |
WOW! look at the neons on that car, I bet it hauls arse nowNot WOW what a cockmuncher. last edited by GumbyNoTalent at 13:09:42 30/Apr/04 |
| #54 01:09pm 30/04/04 |
fubar
you are legally allowed to have orange neons under your car while driving but no other colour.
inside your car you cna have any coulour but blue or red. but the neon it self cannot be visble from out side the car, so you can have them under the dash under seats etc. etc. |
| #55 01:23pm 30/04/04 |
parked in the city the other day and came back to my car a few hours later and someone had put neons under my car, on the dash and on the wipers, I was all like wtf, so no maxe it isnt a victimless crime!*wipes away tears* - best post I've seen in ages! |
| #56 01:30pm 30/04/04 |
Stokesy
Stokesy's Fun Tip: Instead of replacing your windscreen jets with blue LED ones, turn them sideways and use them to spray unsuspecting pedestrians.
| #57 03:41pm 30/04/04 |
supreme
ever been to bwcp? alot of that goes on and its pretty cool actually |
| #58 03:57pm 30/04/04 |
The bottom line is, it's there car and they can do whatever they want to it. Personally, I think they look sweet (especially huge ones under cars that light up the road).
| #59 04:15pm 30/04/04 |
Well I don't, whats sweet is a throaty exhaust not that just oozes HP and has that raspy crackle to it, now thats sweet.
| #60 04:27pm 30/04/04 |
Ezn
ok
when i first posted this thread i thought i might get about 5 responses max. Somehow i have had about 4 pages of SOME people acting like little c***s. This thread has managed to reveal a whole bunch of people who are angry and the world and want to take it out on the rest of us. If you read the first thread i just asked if anyone KNOWS if they are illegal i didnt actually ask if you liked them. So in conclusing if you have anything valuable to add to this thread then by all means do so. But if all you are going to do it BITCH then just SHUT THE f*** UP, TYPE WHAT YOU ARE THINKING IN NOTEBAD AND READ IT BACK TO YOURSELF then the person you are reading it to might actually give a flying f***. cheers cheers |
| #61 06:25pm 30/04/04 |
But if all you are going to do it BITCH then just SHUT THE f*** UPthis is an internet forum, you post a thread about neon lights then expect a heap of people to have different opinions about it if you don't like it, remove your thread. otherwise, YOU shut the f*** up |
| #62 10:45pm 30/04/04 |
Someone's getting a bit worked up... Relax, this is just a public forum.
In my opinion, only one person should be allowed to emanate a neon glow. He's been doing it since the 70's. Oldschool! http://members.rogers.com/lexyday/pics/yodasabre.jpg |
| #63 10:45pm 30/04/04 |
Stokesy's Fun Tip: Instead of replacing your windscreen jets with blue LED ones, turn them sideways and use them to spray unsuspecting pedestrians. I turned my rear washer jet backwards so it'd reach cars behind me :p (it's sort of almost on the roof, it's a wagon) last edited by WhoopAss at 02:05:15 01/May/04 |
| #64 02:05am 01/05/04 |
Coochie
In my opinion, only one person should be allowed to emanate a neon glow. ROFL MAYO!!! I think The Starwars Kid has also earnt the right. last edited by Coochie at 06:35:12 01/May/04 |
| #65 06:35am 01/05/04 |
Adam
Ezn it is illegal. Im all for rice and muscle, i own a ricer because it looks sweet as and the speed limit around town is only 60km/h so i have absolutely no need what so ever for extra hp that you would find in a muscle car. 4000hp engine ? I think not. There is a 1000hp engine which uses twin v8's. Victa bray wont be over 1000hp, possibly the 800 mark would be a bit more accurate. |
| #66 09:17am 01/05/04 |
Adam, what crack are you on riceboy???? The whole idea is to get to the speed limit as FAST AS POSSIBLE...
| #67 09:32am 01/05/04 |
Insolence
4000hp engine ? How can you look at that monster (not to mention its times) and claim it would only be making 800hp? Im sure with a bit of effort you could find the actual current hp of his car but this is all i could find with a quick search http://www.draglist.com/teamdrl/Victor%20Bray.htm Oh and i second this: The whole idea is to get to the speed limit as FAST AS POSSIBLE... |
| #68 10:57am 01/05/04 |
Parag0n
Victa bray wont be over 1000hp, possibly the 800 mark would be a bit more accurate. You're f***ing clueless, vacate this thread moron. |
| #69 03:52pm 01/05/04 |
my car has lights too!
but they normally face the gutter on a wet night :( |
| #70 10:39pm 01/05/04 |
Well I have a neon muffler tip. THe first one i had was blue and the cops busted me and said you are not allowed any blue lights, so then i went back and got a red light on the muffler tip. This is alright as red lights facing backwards are fine because they are classed as brake lights or parkers.
But i think neon lights look good. Plus everyone has different tastes, some light turbos, some like V8, if everyone like the same thing we all be driving the same cars. HOW BORING! Look at all the commo on the road, how many people try to do up there car so it looks different to everyone else? |
| #71 11:04pm 01/05/04 |
yikes 3100hp on victor brays car. One thing you gotta remember about production cars, is they have to be able to drive for more than 1/4 mile at a time.
| #72 11:11pm 01/05/04 |
except for maybe the lada.
| #73 11:16pm 01/05/04 |
I reckon people with lights on their car are as stupid as people with lights on their PCs.
well that's, what I reckon. |
| #74 11:19pm 01/05/04 |
so they can see in the dark!
| #75 11:24pm 01/05/04 |