DigitaL
i just got my licence and now im on the market for a car! but i dont know which one. so heres the deal:
no 4cyc cars no hatchbacks no fords no holdens no V8s no older than 1994 and has to be under $15,000 wat shold i get? |
| #0 09:52am 29/06/03 |
supreme
import a ricey car from japan ude easly be able to get a sweet ride for 15k
| #1 09:59am 29/06/03 |
Grosby
I hear that pluck me dead has one on the market..
| #2 10:05am 29/06/03 |
sheep_pimp
perhaps a rotary?
Buy whatever car you want, not what someone else likes. Just keep in mind all the insurance costs of a nice car, especially for a new driver. |
| #3 10:10am 29/06/03 |
Well your obviously looking at a 6cyc Jap car judging by your list.
Magna or Camry or if your after something a little more sporty maybe MX-6. You've basically ruled out 90% of vehicles in your list. |
| #4 10:13am 29/06/03 |
phat_splif
where did u get $15,000 rowan??
u betta not ave stole it !!or ill hit u!ya poof |
| #5 10:50am 29/06/03 |
DigitaL
who r u
| #6 11:07am 29/06/03 |
get a kia sportage..
they rule. |
| #7 11:15am 29/06/03 |
exoiieee
Get a ((((((((((((((((((((((((suprazzzz))))))))))))))))))))))))))
| #8 11:16am 29/06/03 |
haha good call
| #9 11:19am 29/06/03 |
Edit: sorry didn't see the no fords, maybe you should just say no cars. you're pretty limited there.
| #10 12:25pm 29/06/03 |
sLinKy
You could almost buy a new Daihatsu Sirion 3-cyl for that price :P
| #11 11:26am 29/06/03 |
get a bike. the license takes 2 days and $380 and you walk away witha license(if you can ride)
they smaller and easy to store, and also quick. dont get a trail bike, just get a road bike. like a r6 yamaha :D or for $15,000 you could get a new toyota camry or maybe even a lancer :/ just wait till after july to get a car, because they will drop all the prices for old stock clearnaces, and you will get a better deal. plus more cars will come out by then, like the new astra turbo. |
| #12 11:40am 29/06/03 |
no 4cyc cars so you want a recent japanese or european 6 cyl? get a phat camry |
| #13 12:15pm 29/06/03 |
theres nothing phat about a camry
| #14 12:24pm 29/06/03 |
funky
the new astra turbo is out and its like 38k , bit outta his price range
| #15 12:38pm 29/06/03 |
and it's a 4cyclinder.
I have a V6 Camry. I give them the thumbs up. |
| #16 01:02pm 29/06/03 |
fat
new astra is s*** - anything astra, vectra or anything like that is pretty crappy - you could spent that 30 000 or so better elsewhere.
seriously if youve got like 15 000 to spend you could go a car like maxe's phwoar what a mean machine ive seen it on the northside haha. but if its only a first car you can get heaps of things - but also by saying no holdens no fords your cutting your options down by like half. but also it depends on if you want to work up a project car or something like that - you could build up a vh sle commodore easily - not hard... just depends what your into - youll be disappointed with a camry or something i reckon. |
| #17 01:04pm 29/06/03 |
Slabz
| #18 01:04pm 29/06/03 |
CodeBasher
no 4cyc cars Geez, whats left? Oh I get it. you be wanting a SEDGWAY! |
| #19 01:14pm 29/06/03 |
defiieee
rx7 series 4 with series 5 lights etc.. mmmmmmm
| #20 01:17pm 29/06/03 |
DeFCoN
well what type of car you lookin at buying, economic, sports, utility?
- if its your first car, i'd stick with economic |
| #21 01:42pm 29/06/03 |
fat
economic smechonomic.... asif it matters - as long as its not gutless - i reckon there is nothign worse than seeing a guy who is driving an excel, charade, sirion etc!!
| #22 01:49pm 29/06/03 |
You dont leave much choice. So you want a 6cyl, turbo? NA? You just got your license by the sounds of it your not going to have it very long :P I'll suggest a v6 Magna, or a jap import, for 15 grand you can get an auto skyline. Or a 300zx which is a v6, TT or NA.
| #23 01:51pm 29/06/03 |
R32 skyline turbo (or non, what ever)
inline 6 cylinder 2.0l 5/6 speed manual and 3/4 speed auto easily find one for $15k~ |
| #24 01:52pm 29/06/03 |
economic smechonomic.... asif it matters - as long as its not gutless - i reckon there is nothign worse than seeing a guy who is driving an excel, charade, sirion etc!! Hey! I drive a Swift (the Camry is our other car) 1l 3cyc of pure grunt :P It was given to us so I'm not complaining. |
| #25 01:52pm 29/06/03 |
DeFCoN
i drive a charade D:
*runs off in tears* but hey, $20 worth of fuel will get me going 2 weeks depending on how im driving :) |
| #26 01:53pm 29/06/03 |
I drive a 2.0l turbo starion (4 cylinder) and I get 600k's to a tank, 500 if I boost everywhere
| #27 01:55pm 29/06/03 |
If it's your first car get something cheap to run and reliable.
Cars cost alot of money to keep on the road especially if your not used to having that expense. The last thing you want is high running and insurance costs. |
| #28 01:57pm 29/06/03 |
nissan maxima or a skyline.
you're limiting your options pretty hardcore though. 4cyl cars arent all bad...just got me a bmw 318i :D |
| #29 02:45pm 29/06/03 |
get a foolysick.xxx crx bro!
or a sprinter! |
| #30 04:18pm 29/06/03 |
why not 4 cyl ? you could get a f***ing awesome 180sx for 15 000 grand
i would get an r32 gts-t 2.5l turbo an r33 is possible for 15 000 grand, but they are all usually aroun 16 000 or 17 000 if you can find a nice r33 go for it though |
| #31 04:39pm 29/06/03 |
phat_splif
test
| #32 04:48pm 29/06/03 |
i would get an r32 gts-t 2.5l turbo come again? =\ maybe you should stick to posting pics of GTR's and saying how they are the best cars ect ect........ |
| #33 05:17pm 29/06/03 |
Plecostomus
i would buy a mitsubishi FTO personnally. These cars are the best combination of performance, handling, size, efficiency and looks. 6 cyl NA. They usually cost $15-20k tho.
Thats gonna be my next car! :D |
| #34 05:37pm 29/06/03 |
wanna buy a pink one?
/me looks over shoulder. |
| #35 05:43pm 29/06/03 |
exoiieee
15 000 grand 15,000,000? That's a lot of cash! |
| #36 05:45pm 29/06/03 |
i would get an r32 gts-t 2.5l turbo umm they are 2.0L :) |
| #37 11:27pm 29/06/03 |
Gregory
man for yah first car u wont something that u can insure in ur name. cheap on petto and low running costs. new 4 cyclinders go well not like the old ones. wait till u are older to buy a r33 or something.
| #38 11:28pm 29/06/03 |
Gregory
i would get an r32 gts-t 2.5l turbo nah sorry buddy pritty sure they didnt put 2lt in the skylines only in the 180 and silvia. |
| #39 11:29pm 29/06/03 |
EvisceratoR
obviously u are a no-nothing tard then gregory
| #40 11:43pm 29/06/03 |
hehe all the cluey people come to this board :D
Gregory.. do some reasearch dude ;) |
| #41 11:47pm 29/06/03 |
Pluck Me Dead
I hear that pluck me dead has one on the market Grosby lemme alone =( Edit: By the way get a Honda Prulude or however its spelt. Seeeek Myght Seeeeeek... SUBWOOOOOFFAA |
| #42 12:09am 30/06/03 |
So in essence you're looking for your second car... I'd suggest a toyota carolla, cause god knows once you write off your skyline, you won't want to drive anything that exxie again...
| #43 12:02am 30/06/03 |
Dopefis
| #44 12:55am 30/06/03 |
tox
daihtsu 2L
| #45 12:56am 30/06/03 |
in about 10 hours im picking up an 87 soarer turbo.
its in awesome condition, 6 cyl 3l turbo, with exhaust, intercooler and more, paying just under 7.5k and it drives so nicely. people saying they want cars newer than 94 really restrict buying decent cars, because some of the older ones are extremely hardy and judging by your limitations you wont find anything better than a magna or a camry for that price range sorry. |
| #46 02:08am 30/06/03 |
mmmmmm.
I give tung 2 weeks before he crashes it. ^_^ |
| #47 02:30am 30/06/03 |
Swiss_Cheeseman
wow really it has an exhaust?
:P |
| #48 02:39am 30/06/03 |
^ me
| #49 02:39am 30/06/03 |
thanks for clearing that up
| #50 02:44am 30/06/03 |
mmmmmm.
I give tung 2 hours before he picks m e upf ror sechs. |
| #51 03:19am 30/06/03 |
Jigster/Jester
http://www.auto.vl.ru/gtclub/pictures/wallpapers/lancer.jpg
yummy!! i'd give it a dolla fiddy! |
| #52 03:28am 30/06/03 |
Bargain Child
Bedford Van.
| #53 03:39am 30/06/03 |
shrapse
that car is a plastic model
| #54 03:41am 30/06/03 |
no 4cyc cars
no hatchbacks no fords no holdens no V8s no older than 1994 no plastic models and has to be under $15,000 |
| #55 03:49am 30/06/03 |
nah sorry buddy pritty sure they didnt put 2lt in the skylines only in the 180 and silvia. teheee car noobs r funnay |
| #56 07:20am 30/06/03 |
kekeke my mums is a v4 roffle
| #57 08:31am 30/06/03 |
Gregory
teheee hmm i wonder what gave it away seems they have an Rb25det in them |
| #58 05:03pm 30/06/03 |
So you're saying the R32 has a RB25DET standard?
this also goes for HR30 and 31. |
| #59 05:42pm 30/06/03 |
Gregory
So you're saying the R32 has a RB25DET standard I am saying that yes they have rb2g engines in them some arnt DET some DE cause they aint turbo. i know skylines dont have 2lt engines in them stock |
| #60 05:45pm 30/06/03 |
nah sorry buddy pritty sure they didnt put 2lt in the skylines only in the 180 and silvia. that's not what u said there =\ |
| #61 05:52pm 30/06/03 |
Gregory
nah sorry buddy pritty sure they didnt put 2lt in the skylines only in the 180 and silvia sorry dude missed that what i ment was r 32 = rb25 de/det 180sx = sr20 de/det |
| #62 05:55pm 30/06/03 |
r32 = rb20
mate has a r32 with A RB26... can't get better than that.. it's a gts-4, it's basicially a gtr now. |
| #63 06:02pm 30/06/03 |
ahh haaa.....
so now R32's have RB25DE/T ? (gts, gts-t) o_O |
| #64 06:07pm 30/06/03 |
get a motorbike.
why pay 15k for a first car? You know ur gonna total it by racing it if it's stylie and 6 cylinders with some grunt. Pay $200 get an old peice of s*** and thrash the f*** out of it. THat's what I did. First car was a gemini and I hammerd that f***er into the ground, cracked the head on it, just slapped a new one on more oil & water and it was right to drive again. It took a hell of a beating. I know I wouldn't be wanting to crack the head on a 15k car. seriously, wtf could you buy for $15k with 6 cyl, eur/jap? heh, you didn't say no 2 cylinder cars, get a niki rofl. |
| #65 06:30pm 30/06/03 |
Cailean
Get a little two fiddy cock rocket.
| #66 06:54pm 30/06/03 |
yer, im a big believer that your first car should be s***
(dont matter so much then if u prang it) my first car was a 79 honda civic, me and the missus bought for $2200 everything on it broke down (and i mean EVERYTHING) and the doors used to fly open going around corners (door locks were busted) but i loved it as much as i love my skyline now (at the time, obviously the skyline beats it at everything) if u go buy a real flash first car it hurts all the more when u prang it (and yor more likely to prang it if u get something that goes) /* looks at redhat with his slightly bent 180 |
| #67 06:56pm 30/06/03 |
samwise123
get a nice old val or some thin bout 7000 for a good one looks nice pulls chicks and for that price have a bitta grunt good for a first car, my friend has got a nice val for sale 4 800 even that would be sweet but 15 000 could get you a very nice old car.... :)
| #68 07:37pm 30/06/03 |
swat0r
You should get a charade like deffy and I. They're only 3 cylinder and you didn't say no to that:)
Then you can save your $ til you turn 25 and get a nice sportscar when insurance doesn't cost a fortune. |
| #69 07:40pm 30/06/03 |
| #69 |