ggb
hihi
i need some help with what to do about a dog that has killed my 4 chickens. The dog is from a house about 100 meters away. somehow it got under my house where i keep them and there is lots of feathers but no chickens. i went past the house where the dog is and there are feathers in the yard lots. Can i sue the owners for what the dog did ? Will the council do anything about it ? so very sad T.T |
| #0 02:01pm 28/06/03 |
tn~
Chickens aren't that expensive these days, I get a 1/4 chicken and wedges for like 2 bucks at woolies. Probably not worth suing over.
| #1 02:02pm 28/06/03 |
tox
call harry.
i had the same problem once, couldnt fix it. |
| #2 02:03pm 28/06/03 |
Take some photos of the feathers in their yard before they disappear
Sad about the chickens, but it was funny as the way you said it :)~ "lots of feathers but no chickens" |
| #3 02:03pm 28/06/03 |
tox
| #4 02:09pm 28/06/03 |
DeFCoN
well i guess the owners are responsible for the dog, and if the dog got out of their yard, and destroyed something, its entirely the owners fault i think.
| #5 02:05pm 28/06/03 |
lol lots of feathers but no chickens.
maybe lodge a complaint with the city council ? |
| #6 02:11pm 28/06/03 |
You have the right to claim damages for the chickens from the dogs owners if you can prove that it was their dog who did it, ie take photos of the feathers in their yard. (btw, in a human trial that would prolly be considered circumstantial evidence).
A dog that kills chickens is useless. As I grew up on our farm, if ever one of our cattledogs killed any of the chickens it signed its own death warrant. Kill it |
| #7 03:02pm 28/06/03 |
Scuzzy
hihi
| #8 02:16pm 28/06/03 |
Chickens aren't that expensive these days, I get a 1/4 chicken and wedges for like 2 bucks at woolies. hahahahhaa |
| #9 02:21pm 28/06/03 |
Splat
WE had the same prob. a dog got in and bit of my chickens tail. it was like bald on the ass, quite funny. The owners offered to replace the chicken
Rather than pressing charges, why dont you go around to their house and talk to them about it forst and see if theres something that you both can do to fix the prob ? |
| #10 02:56pm 28/06/03 |
Excruci@ting
The council will do something about it. Give them a call.
Chickens aren't that expensive these days, I get a 1/4 chicken and wedges for like 2 bucks at woolies I cacked myself :) |
| #11 03:08pm 28/06/03 |
Splat
i cant remember when woolies turned into red rooster.
| #12 03:15pm 28/06/03 |
hihi
If the dog comes back into your yard take photos of it or set up video surveilance to catch it eating the chickens (if u get more chickens). Maybe the owners were sick of ur chickens cockadoodle dooing or cluck clucking at 4am so let the dog into ur yard to eat them? WE had the same prob. a dog got in and bit of my chickens tail. it was like bald on the ass, quite funny. ahha so fkn funny was the chicken harmed other than being balld? |
| #13 06:55pm 28/06/03 |
bonsai_boy
Chickens aren't that expensive these days, I get a 1/4 chicken and wedges for like 2 bucks at woolies.
the funniest thing i have heard this year .... |
| #14 09:48pm 28/06/03 |
That's a pretty funny story ggb. I know I shouldn't laugh.
Maybe you could poison a chicken carcass and when the dog comes back again for more it'll be sorry it ever did. No more dog problems and the chickens will live to die another day. 8-) |
| #15 12:04am 29/06/03 |
Splat
WE had the same prob. a dog got in and bit of my chickens tail. it was like bald on the ass, quite funny.nah but they can die from shock and s***, she went off the lay for a while but she neeed to stop getting laid cus she was getting slutty |
| #16 12:04am 29/06/03 |
WTF
What's the chance of both of us posting at the same time???? Crazy s*** happening. 8-) Also, jinx. |
| #17 12:05am 29/06/03 |
hahaha, id take this thread seriously if everyone stopped saying "chickens"
| #18 12:10am 29/06/03 |
What if we started calling them chooks?
| #19 12:12am 29/06/03 |
tox
or chookens?
| #20 12:17am 29/06/03 |
Breed some uber-chickens, preferably with lasers, and let them march back to the offending canine and peck it to death.
Fair's fair. |
| #21 12:24am 29/06/03 |
Scroteus Maximus
Breed some uber-chickens, preferably with lasers, and let them march back to the offending canine and peck it to death. Why bother with the lasers if they are just going to peck it to death? |
| #22 12:28am 29/06/03 |
Eljeh
eat their dog...
| #23 12:31am 29/06/03 |
Why bother with the lasers if they are just going to peck it to death? Geez, where do you come from, Planet Stupid or something? The lasers are for sighting... |
| #24 12:32am 29/06/03 |
Scroteus Maximus
HAHAHA, how stupid of me!! duh!
| #25 12:34am 29/06/03 |
Eljeh
- or next do the deed before the dog does: 1. Preheat oven to 350F. Prepare stuffing according to package directions. Sprinkle chicken with salt and pepper. Spoon stuffing into cavity. Tie legs together. 2. Place chicken on rack in a roasting pan. Roast until meat thermometer inserted in thickest part of thigh registers 180F, about 2 hours. 3. To roast the garlic, in a small bowl, combine butter and olive oil. Cut garlic heads in half, do not peel. 4. Brush butter mixture over cut garlic heads. Place garlic on a small baking sheet. Roast alongside chicken. 5. Fill a medium bowl with ice water. Using a vegetable peeler, or a sharp paring knife, peel carrot into very thin strips. In a small saucepan, bring water to boil. 6. Drop carrot strips into boiling water until they become limp, about 10 seconds. Remove strips and plunge into ice water, set aside. 7. Gather some green beans, wrap a carrot strip around each bunch and tie with blanched green onion stalk. Serving with chicken 1. Transfer chicken to a serving platter, let stand for 15 minutes before carving. Transfer stuffing to a serving bowl. 2. Arrange green bean bundles around chicken. Place roasted garlic heads on a decorative plate. |
| #26 12:44am 29/06/03 |
Eljeh
| #27 12:46am 29/06/03 |
xel
The dog stole the chickens for its owner.
| #28 12:54am 29/06/03 |
Grosby
ggb - call the council. The dog got out of it's yard and damaged property.
Mind you, it depends on what you want for the dog. If it's proven (which it will be) then they dog has a good chance of being put down. Or call the police, either way it's not a legal thing to do |
| #29 06:54am 29/06/03 |
Get Steve Irwin in. He'll remove the dog to a safer location were it can't cause any trouble.
| #30 07:34am 29/06/03 |
StopShootingMe
Cor, a Jabberwokkie!
I'm gonna jam my thumb right up his arse, then he's gonna get really pissed off! |
| #31 07:48am 29/06/03 |
phat_splif
if u c da dog in ya yard,grab it put it in a box ,and chuck it in da pound
thats what i'd do |
| #32 10:57am 29/06/03 |
amms
I would probably take some photos of the feathers in your yard and in theirs making sure that you can tell that it is there yard by having some of the house in the photo or something, and then approach the neighbour about it. If they seem hostile or do not want to sort anything out with you then I would look into making a formal complaint with the rspca or council.
I have chickens and I would be trying to take some sort of action if someones dog ate any of them. |
| #33 12:09pm 29/06/03 |
exoiieee
T.T ...? |
| #34 12:24pm 29/06/03 |
DeFCoN
its a face T.T, sorta like ^.^, but with tears.
| #35 01:43pm 29/06/03 |
ggb
hihi
i took some photos of the dog in front of the house where all the feathers are and have made a complaint to the council. My neighbours bf went up and seen the owner and at first she tried to deny that it was her dog (hard to deny with all the feathers in the yard) then she said that the dog had got out late on thursday night. she was very sorry and has agreed to pay $100 to replace the four chookys. looks like it's time i had a big dog-proof pen built for them. thx to the ppl with suggestions. T.T = sad/tears |
| #36 01:46pm 29/06/03 |
$25 a chook?
Tell the dog to come over and eat mine. |
| #37 01:49pm 29/06/03 |
all u need to do is simply eat the dog.
| #38 03:16pm 29/06/03 |
xel
It will be pretty mean to have them put down their dog or something. I'm sure they love their dog very much.
You might make matters worse. |
| #39 03:22pm 29/06/03 |
And im sure she loved her chooks very much.....
But lets not hurt any feelings now |
| #40 03:25pm 29/06/03 |
Grosby
xel - it's pretty mean keeping a dog in a yard when you can't contain it - and it's pretty mean to have one that goes into others yards and kills their pets.
Think about it. And don't say "What dog can resist chicken?" because "what dog can resist a child running past?" |
| #41 05:52pm 29/06/03 |
RazorWolf
The owners of the dog has a legal responsibility to keep it in their own yard.
If this dog has infact killed your chickens (you have to prove it), then council will a) investigate and fine the owner of the dog. b) If it is clearly evident that this dog is beyond control the council/animal control will order the dog be put down. I had an issue with 1 a****** neighbour complaining about my dog "constantly barking" (which was clearly not the case) and the council had 2 inspectors "stake out" my house, and also handed out a neighbourhood survey to see if infact my dog was causing a nuisance. Turns out that She was the only neighbour complaining so they told her to stick it. The point is, the council do treat animal control seriously and will act if someone calls them up enough. In your case It'd be pretty safe to say that the dog's owner will get a fine at minimum and in the worst case the dog will be put down. It's always a good idea to talk to owner of the dog first. Maybe he will compensate you for your chickens. If the neighbour is an unaggreable then talk to your council. |
| #42 06:10pm 29/06/03 |
xel
Like if one of your cats accidently got out and killed your neighbour's pet mouse, and you might have to put it down.
| #43 06:49pm 29/06/03 |
Grosby
xel - 1. I wouldn't own a cat. 2. If I did own a cat I'd see to it that it didn't get out and kill the neighbours mouse.
| #44 06:53pm 29/06/03 |
xel
accidents happen
| #45 06:54pm 29/06/03 |
Jigster/Jester
Get a big animal to kill the dog!
| #46 06:54pm 29/06/03 |
xel
tiger
| #47 06:56pm 29/06/03 |
Grosby
xel - accidents wouldn't happen if the dog was securly contained in a yard.
My dogs are rarely left outside on their own, and when we go out they're kept in a secure 'run' so they don't get out as both of the dogs have gone over and under the fence. If they were to damage someone, or their pets/property I'd be more than willing to take responsibility and with what needs to be done. What is your opinion of dog attacks on humans? |
| #48 06:58pm 29/06/03 |
xel
My dog can only run away if someone accidently leaves the door open or didn't shut it hard enough so it doesn't close. But it happens only if the dog is in the house beacuse we only accidently leave the front door of the house open.
I hate it when dogs attack humans, but i also feel sorry that the dog has to be put down. I love dogs. |
| #49 07:06pm 29/06/03 |
doober
You should have grabbed some of the chickens that were running around loose on fred schonnell (near UQ for those not familiar) this afternoon :)
| #50 07:02pm 29/06/03 |
Why not just ask the dog owner for the money?
That is sad if you have to sue, sad on your part for going that far over a few cheap chickens.... or were they your friends? |
| #51 02:52am 30/06/03 |
Jigster/Jester
sif the guys gunna admit to lettign his dog go crazy!
| #52 03:03am 30/06/03 |
Your right Jigster/Jester take him to court then and sue him for all he has, because his dog may have kill $12 worth of chickens...
Be a man and front up to the owner, not a pussy and take them to court |
| #53 03:04am 30/06/03 |
[Q]
...and while your at it stop saying hihi.
| #54 03:07am 30/06/03 |
Jigster/Jester
im not sayign sue him, f***! but im just stating as if hes gunna admind to letting his dog go wild, stop beign a tard!
| #55 03:12am 30/06/03 |
stop beign a tard! |
| #56 03:14am 30/06/03 |
Jigster/Jester
yes mate, i wil reluctantly step away from the postion considerign u are a tard! |
| #57 03:15am 30/06/03 |
ggb is a she?
| #58 03:29am 30/06/03 |
Dopefis
my dog bit this japanese chick i took home. omfg.. the embarrassment is the worst thing ever. She was ok.. but lucky she didnt complain. poor little thing had a swelled up arm and s***..
:~~ |
| #59 03:44am 30/06/03 |
Why were you bringing home little japanese girls home?
| #60 03:51am 30/06/03 |
talon
I can think of one good reason :)
You guys should read the thread before posting though, he already has approached both the council and the owner and been compensated. I think it would be amusing though if they woke up one day to find a lot of fur and a collar in their yard but no dog... :) |
| #61 10:16am 30/06/03 |
Grosby
she.
| #62 10:25am 30/06/03 |
talon
Whoops - SHE :) |
| #63 11:51am 30/06/03 |
In most cases that I've seen it is stupid humans who cant read dogs. Just like a person if you piss them off they will retalitate, I know people who hit others, but sadly they dont get put down. :/ |
| #64 11:59am 30/06/03 |
ggb
hihi
the council will investigate within 10 working days. lucky i took some photos. i don't blame the dog so much as the stupid owner. Can you believe the dog was back again last night... Chickens from bald hills produce range about $20-40 depending on age and availability and breed. The 2 black chickens i had got had only been here 6 days. the other 2 were 3years old. i have recieved no compensation yet. anyone that loves their pets will know money does not replace the love. |
| #65 01:49pm 30/06/03 |
xel
What kind of dog is it?
| #66 01:54pm 30/06/03 |
anyone that loves their pets will know money does not replace the love. Yeah, and those chickens - damn they're loyal companions.... |
| #67 02:13pm 30/06/03 |
tn~
of course they are, i sleep with my chicks.
| #68 02:23pm 30/06/03 |
SakuraWars
haha deeper :p
Still, I get the point.. I know people that hate cats, but if someone were to kill mine.. I'd freakin' murder them. Not necessarily literally. Necessarily |
| #69 12:16pm 01/07/03 |
| #69 |