korbs
I've never posted here before, but i look in on the forums occasionally and the thereat about the "most highly trined soldiers" was really interesting. I've been seriously thinking about joining the Army reserve for a while now and since i know there are a lot of QGL dudes that are already in the Army (like some of the [SAS] dudes) i just want to know a bit more about the reserves. like, does it interfere with studies much (i'm a full-time student) ? what would be the best 'unit' to join? (like the armour devision or the recon division) and just what you reckon of joining the reserves, is it worth it ? cheers -------------- a bus station is a place where buses stop. On my desk I have a workstation. |
| #0 07:12pm 23/06/01 |
[NOD]Kane
icq me i will tell ya about it got all the info here icq:33996217 |
| #1 07:17pm 23/06/01 |
If you do not want to dedicate your entire life to being a soldier, but still want to be a part in the defence of your nation - Be a Reserve soldier. It is generally not called the Reserves any more, you are either a Full-time or Part-time soldier. As some of you may know, I have been a Part-time soldier for the past 4 years (and still serving). I joined the Army (Infantry) when I was 17, and I thoroughly recommend joining up. I have no regrets. If you are in University, I suggest you join QUR (Queensland University Regiment) as they are pretty flexible in regards to Uni s***. I know heaps of guys in QUR and it fits in perfectly with their Uni life. Their headquarters are at the St.Lucia UQ campus (Walcott St) and the best time to rock up there would have to be Tuesday afternoons, and speak to someone about recruiting. Do it for yourself and your country korbs :) |
| #2 07:44pm 23/06/01 |
Toll Booth Willy
w000t I can join the army and be as big as Strex! and I can get shot by real AK's too GOODIE! |
| #3 08:09pm 23/06/01 |
Lyco
We all know strex is a short arsed pansy, not hard to be bigger than him ;) |
| #4 08:06pm 23/06/01 |
Silent-bob
i agree with toll, i cant wait to get older so i can join up and be just like you StreX.......then when a war comes i get to die! YAY! |
| #5 10:08pm 23/06/01 |
RaStiS
Give me a bell on icq (110526050).I left the army last year as a recuit instructor. 10 years Army Reserve (Choco) and proud off it. Things have changed since the introdution of Common Induction Training it's a the same basic training as the regular army. But if your fit and keen pop into the recruiting centre in town. Labore Naveta Laderia |
| #6 10:20pm 23/06/01 |
Toll Booth Willy
You see thats the catch. 'if your fit and keen' hehe sif 3/4 of us are half that :) but I have to agree you learn some funky skillz you wouldnt learn in other places (well not usually) |
| #7 11:02pm 23/06/01 |
Koopz
any fat tard can be fit if he really needs to matey. *looks over at Cyberdogie* |
| #8 08:38pm 24/06/01 |
BOB the Fruit
I'm considering the Army as a career. Not like full on, I would like to try and do something in the IT industry before I try for the military. Talking to Primal and Taipan, I get the impression that it's alot of fun, but still hard work. |
| #9 09:44pm 24/06/01 |
StopShootingMe
NOOOOOOO!!!! BOB, Youre a young man (probably) dont do it to yourself! Join the Army, but dont do IT!!!! SAVE YOURSELF!! ITS TOO LATE FOR ME!!!! AHHHHH!!!!!! |
| #10 10:08am 25/06/01 |
[NOD]Kane
there nit nothin wrong with the rmy, i m going full time next year. |
| #11 09:52pm 24/06/01 |
BOB the Fruit
I'll just avoid Strex and his brown gold diggers :P |
| #12 09:54pm 24/06/01 |
[NOD]Kane
ok now u re putting me off joining, hehe, jk |
| #13 09:57pm 24/06/01 |
Toll Booth Willy
I'd hate to join the army, cause when someone starts yelling orders at me I just turn off, then I'd get slawed by the sargent, untill I got pissed off enough to slaw him back, then head spank me and give me 500000000 push ups, which I would only do if under physical threat...Then I'd probably get pissed off some more and just go AWOL, and spend the rest of my days hiding under a desk hopeign Strex wont find me and cart me back off to the army.. |
| #14 11:12pm 24/06/01 |
What do you want to do in the army??? There is lots of different units(regiments) in the army, all teaching different skills... i.e. driving, diesel mechanics, engineers, adim, cooking, medical, M.P., grunt work, recon, armoured, signals, troppo(maps), firing big cannons, etc.. etc.. One good thing about the reserves is if you want to change units to learn new skills, you can.. I have done all the grunt work i wanted to do and now i drive armoured vechicals... bugger walking... |
| #15 11:33pm 24/06/01 |
Toll Booth Willy
YEAH, be the driv0r for those vehicals, be the target of heavy fire :) |
| #16 11:39pm 24/06/01 |
BOB the Fruit
LOL Yeah, people don't shoot at infantry when a tank is trundling towards them :) |
| #17 12:24am 25/06/01 |
Cyph
sif doing recon wouldnt own, you like, learn all those nice little recon skills, and tracking etc i think? its like, scout out whats happening before going into a place, would own :D |
| #18 12:31am 25/06/01 |
Toll Booth Willy
yeah, and carrying all that extra comunications gear would 0wn t00! lol /me sters em up some more |
| #19 01:02am 25/06/01 |
Cyph
"Need an airstrike on toll booth willy's location, please destroy and annihilate" |
| #20 01:36am 25/06/01 |
Silent Remorse
Everyone's like "Oh yeah! I'd love to learn medic/scout/intel skillz so I could be big and cool and shoot guns and be an army dude." Hmm, I'd REALLY love the life of the army and war! Ya know, sleeping on mud, being shot at, eating snails when you finish your peanut rasions which was suppost to last you a week, going on suicide missions, being ambushed by snipers, getting new, exciting, exotic and fatal diseases, being hunted, shot down, tortured, ordered, suffering week after week of "training" (involving live fire exercises, running 20kms, getting up at 4am, s*** food), carrying 80% of your possessions on your back, losing contact with friends and family, communal showers with guys, be on the front line in a battle and have a 99.9% chance of DYING! f*** people - Life in the military isnt just going to a barracks for an hour a week and shooting a gun. If you have an obsession with protecting people, try joining the police force. They actually fight against crime, rather then become the suicide squad in the middle of the desert that is surrounded by land mines and arab guys with machine guns. What a life, What an achievement. Yeah guys - protect your country, and die when you are 27! |
| #21 01:37am 25/06/01 |
Cyph
you've got issues sr. all i said is that i wouldnt mind learning recon skills, because that'd be handy to know anyway. |
| #22 01:39am 25/06/01 |
Cyph
sif i'd join up anyway, but still, it'd be handy to know =/ |
| #23 01:40am 25/06/01 |
Silent Remorse
It wasnt aimed at you cyph. I guess I'm just pissed off at people just saying that the army is just piss easy to do, ya know, like an everyday 9 - 5 job. My mate was badly wounded in a training mission in the army (shot twice in the leg and the arm in a live fire exercise) and while he was ok, it just freaked me out after some of the other stories he told me. He lost like all contact with his family and friends pretty much and turned into a total c*** after a year (before he was injured at least). He's still there but he has a different attitude on it and so do I. |
| #24 01:47am 25/06/01 |
Koopz
it's certainly a character-building experience that I'm considering. |
| #25 01:48am 25/06/01 |
Koopz
and judging from the report on 60 minutes tonite, if you find 50 bucks... be sure not to keep it |
| #26 01:50am 25/06/01 |
Sprinkles
I wanna be part of operation human shield |
| #27 02:32am 25/06/01 |
Mick
u are so gay ross |
| #28 03:04am 25/06/01 |
Mick
u are so gay ross |
| #29 03:04am 25/06/01 |
Sprinkles
At least im not a double posting poofta |
| #30 03:59am 25/06/01 |
Typodemon
If I joined the army, I know I would appreciate being taught how to dig. Digging foxholes ,pooholes and digging dirt to fill up sandbags. Then when you finish digging, and they cant work out anything else for you to do. They make you run. Run and run, like a free little animale that likes to run. Army sergents love to run. Well not themselves, but they love to make you run. If all else failes, you get to clean. Yourself, your barracks, the mess, some room, the sergents room, the toilet, the road, the grass outside, the poohole room, some foxholes, your weapon, the Lieutants gun, your lieutants poohole, the emu pen, your bed, your boots, your uniform, some doors, some trucks/tanks/helicopters, some bombs, if you are realy lucky you might even get to clean some rocks. Then if they cant make you run, dig or clean things up, they find something else to do. Because nothing is more scary than 250 guus with automatic weapons, and grenades who are bored. (this was a work of semi fiction.) |
| #31 04:12am 25/06/01 |
ÅcîdReîgn
ahahaah, Mick's a double posting faget |
| #32 06:40am 25/06/01 |
Mick
why don't you shut the f*** up! |
| #33 06:41am 25/06/01 |
ÅcîdReîgn
why dont YOU shut the f*** up |
| #34 06:42am 25/06/01 |
Mick
Stop your bitchin |
| #35 06:43am 25/06/01 |
ÅcîdReîgn
whatever, Cedric |
| #36 06:44am 25/06/01 |
RaStiS
I have spent ten years in the Army Reserve. As I look back they were some of the best times in my life. I have found good mates and had a lot of good times. I got to visit a lot of intresting places New Zealand,France and the US to name a few. I got out last year and still keep in contact with a lot of the guys. It taught me lots of skills I apply in everday life and a lot of skills I can't but they always going to have them if I need them (anyone need a guy who can set up a platoon defensive position and run a comunication post I'm your man). And you guys that want to be in recce(RECON IS A FAGOT AMERICAN TERM)you want to be a little crazy because thats what it takes to do that job. Front Towards Enemy |
| #37 07:13am 25/06/01 |
PiR8
I sorta been thinking about going next year.... How much money you get?? :P |
| #38 07:51am 25/06/01 |
SR: you don't know much about today's army do you?? As for your mate, well you say it "s*** happens".. In lighthorse we are in a reconnaissance (B)squadron and we have recon scouts as well... After basic training you get put into recon scouts until you get trained as a driver, then from driver you can go to crew commander.. If you like recon scouts you can stay at that level if you want... The army has changed over the past 11 years i have been in, reserves have more rights than ever B4.. It does depend on the unit you go to for what you will be doing... By the sound of most peaple you think the whole army is just a bunch of gun happy grunts who like running through bushland sleeping in the mud, well we aren't.. If you want a for example "a desk job", you can get one and never go out bush sleeping in the mud... The army is a big place with lots of defferent jobs, please don't think that grunt work is the only thing you can do in the army.. BTW.. check out the site: 2-14lighthorse.com/ to see what i get up to.. :) |
| #39 05:12pm 25/06/01 |
[NOD]Kane
Now that is one of the first TRUE statments made in this forum hehe. |
| #40 09:38am 25/06/01 |
Asif you wouldn't want to fight for your country |
| #41 09:39am 25/06/01 |
[NOD]Kane
thats the way trog! |
| #42 10:04am 25/06/01 |
Silent Remorse
As if you wouldnt want to die because of some stupid mechanic faget's f***up and one of those nasty little bullets in your AUG flies out and kills you when you jeep runs over a rock. Hmmmm, Fun. |
| #43 10:12am 25/06/01 |
[NOD]Kane
yah, um i am sure u have been watching to many movies, outside your window there is a real world, the only thing the army is used for at the moment is peace keeping and natural disarsters, i havent heard of too many servicemen dieing on missions in the last 5 or so years. |
| #44 10:15am 25/06/01 |
Silent Remorse
Watch the news f***nut - Its a little thing called EAST TIMOR! Some soldier got killed when his gun let a bullet fly by accident in his transport. Actually check your information before you become a smart arse. |
| #45 10:20am 25/06/01 |
Dilbert
what if they brought back national service?? |
| #46 10:21am 25/06/01 |
[NOD]Kane
yah i said not many, ne way that could have happined on a farm with some guys shottie, accidents happin all the time, it was not a direct result of war! |
| #47 10:33am 25/06/01 |
Silent Remorse
I really dont see too many deaths of non-army people by badly engineered weapons in day-to-day work myself. |
| #48 10:41am 25/06/01 |
[NOD]Kane
well i have, it happined just 2 months back, a farmer shot himself in the chest with his shottie coz it was rolling around in his 4x4 |
| #49 10:42am 25/06/01 |
Guardian
The Army is stupid, war is stupider.. |
| #50 11:36am 25/06/01 |
Silent Remorse
Leave it to Guardian to sum up this whole thread in 7 words. |
| #51 01:39pm 25/06/01 |
muSShy
I would join the army if I could score a sweet deskjob and be able to work my way through the ranks. If I was to join as a reserve how much freedom of movement can I expect through the ranks. I understand that some people would obviously progress alot faster but if I did things right how far can you go? Cause the way I look at it and the rest of the young fellas who come onto this forumn should be thinking about is how far you can go and what money can you get. About the moral issues. We need a strong army and if little d******* f***in raving f*****s kept on bagging it like what some of you have done here and take the same attitude about the army we would be FUCT if there was a war. Which with how FUCT up the world is it wouldnt be wrong. Another note from an outside looking in is I see how much of my TAX money (which is too much) and the rest of Australias TAX money goes into our Country Defence each year and if there is a way you can receive a job, training and experience out of the Army I think you would be silly not to explore your oppurtunities. About Dying. If you are dumb or a bludger or are crazy, cause you will be in the front line thats how life goes. If you are intelligent you will have a desk job or a commanding job in the army (I guess if you work for it) and you wont have to be part of any real battles. Just like if you stayed in the real world and were dumb you would drive an XD Falcon have 6 kids and rent a $120 a week house. So its not like you are losing out. :P ME DUMB, ME GO ARMY, ME DIE ICQ: 14231622 if ya can tell me details about progressing through the army and **HELPFUL** information. TA Dave |
| #52 02:31pm 25/06/01 |
StopShootingMe
Silent, you suck. That particular incident in ET was the result of one of the guys not clearing his weapon properly (prolly just off patrol, dead on feet, not thinking), not because the Steyer is in any way a poorly ebgineered weapon. get your info from a source other than Full Metal Jacket or platoon, loser... AND PEOPLE IN CIVILIAN LIFE SHOOT THEMSELVES ACCIDENTLY ALL THE TIME IDIOT!!! |
| #53 02:37pm 25/06/01 |
SR, you really are a bitter person towards the army aren't you?? The person who shot himself in question was a member of 2 CAV, based in darwin.. It happened in the back of an ASLAV/APC at ET, they were bugging out from a patrol i think..(the events leading up to the accident is restricted).. The peaple in the back of the APC got bouced around from the rough terrain and his weapon went off... It was a sad day for all RAAC personnal when it happened..... poor bloke... :( |
| #54 05:45pm 25/06/01 |
Silent Remorse
Jesus Christ you cant procecute me for being against an organisation which main aim involves the defence (or offense) on behalf of a country. And instead of this being in discussion and peaceful resolution - There is pure force and killing. Sacrificing lives so one country can say it has bigger balls then the other. I just dont like the army ok? I have my reasons and my opinions so lets leave it at that. |
| #55 06:43pm 25/06/01 |
RaStiS
11 years thats a long time in the GRes Primal. Armoured recce is completly different and was only handed to Cav units when the SAS Long range vehicle Recce Squadron was closed down by the army 5 years ago. But as I told the Cav boyz on my Sgts courses "I love the cavalry nothing atracts fire like a big metal box moving on the battlefield.And while there shooting at you they leave me alone to do my job." Front towards enemy.......... |
| #56 06:52pm 25/06/01 |
BOB the Fruit
I hate people who go "oh, stupid army, all they do is blow things up and kill people, it's so dumb". Well, f*** YOU. Those people are risking their f***ing lives for you whingy bastards. They are trying to prevent some crazy f***s from some other country comming into your home, raping your mother and sisters, shooting all of you in the head, and leaving you in a ditch to rot. Soldiers DIE trying to defend their country and their people. I'm only 17, and if the Army wanted me to go and help defend our land from masses of crazy foreign f***s, then I would gladly take up arms and help. Jesus Christ, stop your f***ing bitching and show some f***ing respect. |
| #57 07:28pm 25/06/01 |
Koopz
amen |
| #58 07:37pm 25/06/01 |
Guardian
I agree with Silent Remorse, the Army is stupid.. |
| #59 07:39pm 25/06/01 |
Guardian
I agree with Silent Remorse, the Army is stupid.. |
| #60 07:41pm 25/06/01 |
StopShootingMe
BOB: HERE HERE, NICELY PUT!! IDEA:In event of war lets just drop Silent Remorse, Guardian and all their mates (if any) into the offending nation, wait five minutes, then move in to mop up the poor, miserable bastards too stupid to have run away... (In case anyone needs clarification, im aluding to Silent's and Guardians enourmous penchant for irritating ppl with stupid remarks, not their fighting ability) |
| #61 09:48pm 25/06/01 |
BOB the Fruit
I think the enemy troops would just say "Har har har, some enemy civilians!" and promptly unload several rounds into them all. |
| #62 09:47pm 25/06/01 |
StopShootingMe
Well... Thatd be funny too. :) |
| #63 10:31pm 25/06/01 |
Silent Remorse
Grow up guys - This isnt f***ing CS. |
| #64 10:55pm 25/06/01 |
BOB the Fruit
DID I SAY IT WAS CS?!?!?! IN ANY PART OF MY POSTS, DID I EVER RELATE REAL LIVE COMBAT TO A GAME?!? No. Cause it isn't a game. People DO die, but they do it for a reason. I'm saying that people have no right to complain and bitch about the 'f***ing military'. It's there to stop foreign countries from comming into our homes and killing our families. |
| #65 10:58pm 25/06/01 |
doc_holiday
2 of my mates joined up as a full time soldier last week, sofar theyv been yelled to s*** at by the corporals, and 1 got charged for getting another soldier to hold his f88 while he went to the toilet :/ |
| #66 11:06pm 25/06/01 |
Conan
A bit off topic but did anyone read that article in the Sunday/Courier mail (about 2 years ago) which involoved a 2 Soldiers, the drunk one having superior rank and physical strength, and of course a broomstick. I wont eleborate on what happened except that i didnt read the paper again for a month i was so disgusted. |
| #67 01:03am 26/06/01 |
clipto
I think its good that people join the army. Someone has to right? and I'm sure as hell not going off to die for some politition. Bob : you said these people are risking their lives to defend us right? not since ww2 man, has the australian people been under any threat, so im not sure what your talking about. As far as im concerned, these people are sheep like and are doing it, i dont know, to get some self esteem? extra money? f*** knows, of all the people i know who have joined i just cant make any sense of it, but few people that i know who signed up have really had anything going for them. Those that do however, prolly do it for the hell of it. Fair enough if there is a war where australia is threatened, but i cant believe people go off to some bumf*** place to die for other people in one case, and forget about some other place, we fight the easy battles these days, what the f*** ever happened to Tibet?. I sometimes wonder why the police and military do what they do, is it because they believe its the right thing? or because they are told to? maybe a mix? How different are our armed forces to the ones who marched on tinaemin (sp) square? Or the american cops who beat the s*** out of black people. I mean its not as though our police have the best rep. And our military would execute prisoners without thinking twice if they felt the need. I think its fair to say that one of the main reasons for the entusiasm of people to join the army these days, is cos there hasnt been a real war since, ww2? |
| #68 06:19am 26/06/01 |
clipto
i almost forgot this link, about some guy and the good old days of the gulf war. some story Another main reason i would never really join the military is all their stupid little rules and regulations, i left that bulls*** behind in school. |
| #69 06:25am 26/06/01 |
Guardian
The Army is stupid.. I have my reasons. |
| #70 10:17am 26/06/01 |
...and who can argue with that profound argument!? |
| #71 10:24am 26/06/01 |
StopShootingMe
...Bob : you said these people are risking their lives to defend us right? not since ww2 man, has the australian people been under any threat, so im not sure what your talking about... -Clipto Clipto youre an idiot. The idea of a defense force is that it acts, until the last extreme, as a DETERENT!!! You might as soon argue, that: Since im not sick, my immune system obviously isnt doing anything, therefore it sucks! Imbecile. |
| #72 10:35am 26/06/01 |
Guardian
You don't have to argue with it, you can accept that it's my personal comment regarding the topic. |
| #73 11:46am 26/06/01 |
BOB the Fruit
Clipto: And when the next world war occurs? Sure, we might all just get crispy fried from nuclear weapons, but if not, then who's going to defend us if we had to military? Will you still be arguing about how futile a defence force is when some germans, or japanese, or russian or AMERICANS (who really gives a f*** what nation) come into your home and kill you and your family? |
| #74 01:12pm 26/06/01 |
Rips#
If you're really interested in an Army Career and are curious of what it has to offer you, join the Australia Army Cadet Corps. I'm sure there's QLD Units but can't say I've ever heard of them. It's an ADF organisation for 13-18 year olds and I can tell you that it's the most underaged fun you can have. I got to use an AusSteyer at age 13! You get to do stuff like obstacle courses, explosives demos (this was cool stuff!), contact drill, target practise, first aid, basically experience everything the Army encompasses cept you don't get to drive vehicles, heh. There's also room for promotion (Sergeant, etc) which leaves you in charge of cadets in lower ranks. So yeah, give it a go guys, see what you think. |
| #75 03:36pm 26/06/01 |
knoted
I reckon sending all these lazy bastards to basic training would do them all the world of good. |
| #76 03:50pm 26/06/01 |
StopShootingMe
But if you do cadets, for Gods sake dont take yourself seriously. If you do and then go Basic training, youll be murdered as soon as you try talking to the (real) sargents corporals etc as equals... :) Or if you try to sound like you know s***... |
| #77 05:26pm 26/06/01 |
Rips#
I'm not saying it's gonna make you tough, just saying it's a lotta fun and the best idea to get a feel of the way the Army works before making any commitments :)) 10% of cadets go on to join the Army. Also if you've done Cadets, the ADF Recruiting will take you more seriously in your application. |
| #78 11:17pm 26/06/01 |
Silent Remorse
How come all you pro-army guys have to totally push us over when we say we don't support a movement which rips money away from education and health? I bet you have complained at one point that UNI costs too much, or your public school is a piece of s***? Or if you are old enough to have kids... That health costs too much? Medicare is worth nothing anymore? Thats because the government is shoving money to an organisation just so they can get some new weapon that can kill people faster and better or some equipment so they can pee in the bush without getting noticed or something. The CS thing was related to certain people's obsession with weapons and the army. While I fully support the fact that "people kill people, games dont kill people" thing, I have to admit that a lot of kids would like to fire a steyr in real life after playing CS for 3 months non-stop. If you feel you have to join the army to protect your country "As Turkish said in snatch perfectly "From Who? Ze Germans???" then so be it. Just be willing to spend you weekends wallowing in mud and feeling big. Or when the time comes that you have to jump on a plane because some old general decides he wants to be a UN supporter and end up being dropped over Japan in a "peace keeping" mission and end up being ripped to pieces by machine gun fire. Just dont complain about it. |
| #79 12:04am 27/06/01 |
korbs
Silent Remorse: I agree on your point about the military cosing too much. Although Australia spends comparitively little on military to anywhere else in the world. Countries like India and Pakistan spend billions on military while the majority of their population live in poverty. Australia only really spends enough to 'keep up' with other militarised nations, simply as a deterent against attack. What is the point of having cheap university and great healthcare, when your living under threat of force ? In terms of military spending though, America is the main culprit. If they took all the money they spent on national defense (like flying spy-planes over china!) for ONE WEEK, they could feed the entire third world for 2 MONTHS. Lastly, you seem to think that politicians just recklessly send people off to die (ie, starship troopers) on 'peacekeeping' missions, that just bulls*** mate. Australia would only ever get involved in a conflit if it directly affected us or as part of a United Nations force. the UN is an NGO (non-governmental organisation) and is only concerned protecting human rights. So if the i was asked to go overseas and serve as part of a UN peacekeeping force, i would gladly go (and possibly risk my life) becasue i believe that human rights are something worth fighting for. If you ask anyone in the military, i'm sure they'd tell you the same. |
| #80 02:11am 27/06/01 |
clipto
stopshootingme : im an idiot? your an abusive wanker who doesnt even read the post, but i suppose if you did you couldnt just flame and feel important about yourself, and then where would you get the self esteem you lost while getting the s*** kicked out of you by the bigger girls in school right? fact of the matter is, i disagreed on bobs statement that they were risking their lives, because right now they ARENT. They dont get cred for RISKING THEIR LIVES until they actually do it, and to give them cred pisses all over the sacrifces of past generations that DID RISK THIER LIVES. When was the last time we lost a man to the enemy? BOB : once again, read my post, i never said a defence force was futile, although i could have and made a good argument of it, however id have been wrong, but i didnt, so im not. Once again, i think its good that people join the army, someone has to... and it sure as hell isnt going to be me and hopefully wont be anyone i give two s***s about. stopshootingme : It makes you look stupid when you get abuseive in your retort, and it doesnt do anything for your argument either. |
| #81 07:28am 27/06/01 |
rabo
what's everyone's on the air force? I've sent my forms off and am waiting for my testing day and just curious whats your impressions? |
| #82 12:38pm 27/06/01 |
knoted
who really cares what they think rabo, most of them don't have a f***en clue |
| #83 02:08pm 27/06/01 |
StopShootingMe
Rabobank: If i joined the ADF, id be trying Air Force, what have you applied for? General Entry, ADFA? PS Clipto: I repeat, youre an idiot. |
| #84 03:05pm 27/06/01 |
rabo
I'm going for Direct Entry Officer, Airbourne Tactican. I think the Air force is the way to go. |
| #85 01:40pm 29/06/01 |
rabo
btw i dont really care what they think, I'm just seeing what their opinions are. |
| #86 01:41pm 29/06/01 |
cycosis
i'd rather be in the army than a boring s***ty deskjockey 'grandpa, what did u do with your life' 'well mate i sat in an office everyday for my entire life' gg. |
| #87 07:06pm 29/06/01 |
Koopz
I'm chatting with a friend who's now in his 15th year of the res' atm... Apparently the govt has a scheme that pays your workplace $781.oo per week (if your full time employed) while you are away at training. Can any of you guys substantiate this? I'd take his word for it, but it could be the piss talking... I'm looking for linkage on the matter, but nothing's come up yet... |
| #88 10:26pm 13/07/01 |
StopShootingMe
So.... I knew this day would come, this damn thread has come back to slow down the servers again... Koopz: yah there is a scheme along those lines man, i dont know the details, also there are things that prevent your employer from resticting your participation in the ADF, as well as preventing slaw from your boss about having to go off and get whooped upon for a week or two... Ask your friend... |
| #89 10:40pm 13/07/01 |
me thinking of joining the reserves, was gonna go full time last year but decided to do tafe, hmmm police wouldnt be a bad job either but me thinks me get to trigger happy and shoot someone :P |
| #90 10:48pm 13/07/01 |
Goa`uld!
I hope you army f*****s get sent to war and you die. I can't believe people are allowed to voluntarily join the army. Such a gay country. |
| #91 11:52pm 13/07/01 |
ummm u idiot, obvioulsy the person that joins takes that into consideration before hand!! |
| #92 11:57pm 13/07/01 |
Goa`uld!
It's like an alternative to teenage suicide. |
| #93 12:01am 14/07/01 |
well its there decision to make not yours :P |
| #94 12:05am 14/07/01 |
Nik nak
I am at ADFA Rabo ... I am in the Army, however i was also accepted as a Airborne Tactician (navigator). I ended up pissing it off because i realised i wanted to fly not tell someone where to fly etc ... So i am now processing my Pilot RAAF transfer - do the flight testing in a couple of months hopefully. ICQ me at 44618235 if you have any Q's. Norak |
| #95 12:57pm 14/07/01 |
Koopz
* N U K E D * By Koopz |
| #96 11:11am 31/08/01 |