Topic: Need a CS LPB server!
Primal Fear

is there any chance of making one of the cs servers a
LPB only? i mean HPB's got there own server why not lpb's also? , myself i find hpb's lagg ya out,framerates drop bellow 30fps , they also take twice as much ammo to kill...just is not fun :(
Spook@work

funny, that never happens to me when hpb play on same servers ????
maybe your pc is s***
Primal Fear

lol P3 800 256mb ram geforce 1 drr is s***? i think not
oh and strange you dont get those drops in fps plaing all cable users......funny that huh?
Spook@work

with that setup if yer fps drops beneath 60 id take it back to the shop and complain its broken

my little duron and geforce2mx dun go beneath 60fps reguardless of how many hpbs are on server

f***pot
and i dont see any possible way hpbs could drop your fps

if there were a few of them in your vision it _could_ be possible
f***pot
yeah but isnt that just because it puts more load on the system? like, it would be the same if lpbs were on your screen?

i thought the new netcode did away with fps being determined by network conditions
Primal Fear

ya SquakyD i mean like a few 3+ its network lagg :(
oh and spook this is in close combat it drops to about 20-30fps , from a distance its fine 99 fps
Axis

primal i totally agree with you tha twe shoudl have an lpb only server, and i totally agree with you that dial uppers take double the ammo to kill, however i dont believe it drops your fps....HOWEVER, i understand why you think they do. because dial uppers dont' move smoothly, their lag means they jerk across the screen cause they don''t get the constant uninterupted stream of data us cablers get. therefore when one runs across your screen it looks like you have s*** fps, but really they are just jerky. however it doens't seem jerky on their end cause of the netcode.

thsi si really really gay, because some players are really hard to snipe when they jerk form place to place, and just generally hard to kill, cause they are one place, then another,then another, hard to track and hard to hit, in really close combat they can fully teleport behind you.

Primal Fear, you should play on netgamer, its pretty much all LPB I'd say.

btw your argument went right out the window with this comment:
i find hpb's lagg ya out,framerates drop bellow 30fps

btw Axis, when you see a dial upper jerking along its because they have their rate set too high, and their connection can't keep up with it. Unfortunetly most of them don't even know what rate is so the majority just jerk their way around the whole map like a datsun 120y with a banana up the exhaust.
Duke

i tihnk it would be better to just make all 3 servers open to hpbs an lpbs

rubber_band

Duke: Yes.
ArcticRanger

f*** off actually i find my fps drops around HPBs as well its probably our monitors primal fear ...
Maccas

What is the recommended rate for a cabler... I use 8500 and it works pretty good but what do you guys use.
sKryBe

Nitro, you're probably right. But as a HPB I wouldn't know if my avatar was jerking all around the screen like you say. I don't see that. Well, I have once, all of a sudden everyone went up to about 600 ping and it was a big lagfest with people sorta teleporting from spot to spot.

Anyway, I thought the default rate (3500 IIRC) was about right for 56k modems? If not, what is the recommended setting?
Sprinkles

I hate HPB's its such an advantage to play on

most rates are capped at around 5k anyway

yeh, I hate those HPBs and their stupid high pings
Sprinkles

Its soooo cheating the way they lag right infront of you and dont shoot I MEAN THE NERVE OF THE PRICKS!

They think we hunt in packs they freeze cause they think our vision is based on movement but the attack doesnt come from the front it comes from the sides from the other HPB's you didnt even know about. WHAT THE f*** ARE YOU ON ABOUT
Duke

i played on my friends cable an i found it heaps easier to play on....no huge lag spikes which accounts for most of my deaths on bad nights with powerup

but doesnt the netcode works both ways
i mean if it it makes all movemetn smooth for hpbs i dont c how it doesnt do the same for the cablers
Sprinkles

A lot of a time a HPB will see an LPB walk around a corner before they are and see them go back when they are already halfway across the map. That is annoying the client prediction goes to like 23 metres :P
axe

FYI, spuds work better than bananas.
up the exhaust i mean

I play with a 20k rate, some guys i know play with 15k.

Some of you people need to f*** up (sorry).

Its a bitch to play as a HPB, and big challenge to play LPBs. I get to play on cable most weekends, and its a s***load easier. I do agree however that as an lpb taking on a hpb they do seem to take more bullets to kill but they are by far easier to kill.

If I could get cable tomorrow I'd sign up without hesitation. Unfortunetly where I live (despite being in the middle of suburbia) I can't get cable. The HPB server that QGL runs is a great server for us deprived HPB's. The majority of HPBs around now are not doughy dole bludgers but genuine players that can't get cable in their area. Its nice to have a server where you can play on an even playing field, which I might add is the only server apart from lexicon (I think) that is HPB only. And to add to that the server is full non stop throughout and is played on by many HPB players who enjoy the level playing field.

Unfortunetly most of them don't even know what rate is so the majority just jerk their way around the whole map like a datsun 120y with a banana up the exhaust.

hehehe, thats awesome. Thats gotta be the best description I've ever seen for it...
MaDCaT

Would be great if they had a 20 player server!

I disagree with some of the cable players here...

If you have ever noticed a dial up'ers ping double when actually running around the map and in a fighting sitution.

Mine is usually about 180...but when I start running around etc.. it jumps to about 320ms..

So if I jump out from around a corner and start axing someone...the server still recognises as the LPB seeing me (HPB) first rather than me seeing the LBP guy first.

LBP's pings are lower too which actually means that all their data can be transmitted to the server quicker, which essentially means your bullets travel faster :(

You could fire off a whole clip in the same time it takes me to shoot about 15 rounds.

If cable and ADSL is anything like playing on a LAN, shooting at someone from side on should be a piece of piss.

Everyone knows that cable makes a newbie player look moderately good.
c0rr

Or you could change all the cs servers into tribes 2 server, rawkin
máxe

jerk their way around the whole map like a datsun 120y with a banana up the exhaust.

ahahahHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHHAHAH ROFL ETC
Axis

i dont give a s*** if dial up is s*** to palyon,we have the ability to create a rally niceplaying enviroment for those with cable, so do so. because i can play a really good game and kick arse but the secodn i die due to some hpb doing somethign really weird, like teleporting behind me or shooting me after im10 meters under cover, taking double the ammo to kill and then nailing me, then im s***ted off, because if there was an lpb only server then at least those of us with cable woudl be able to experience cs wiht the minimum amount of lag bulls***.
Maccas

I agree to get an lpb server. I got abused last night on ausgamers one for "coming into an hpb server to get cheap kills." There were threee other cablers in there all who weren't very good but they didn't get abused cos they were fragbait for the dialupers. Anyway I cant go into a server with someone on dialup without getting abused for having cable and having skill. So segregate them and have anyone able to go into the sa one.
c0rr

Well i dont think QGL/Ausgamers are obligated to give you what you want. Either way you could email an admin about it and they would prolly look into it.

PS, hurry up and die cs...
Axis

yeah i f***ing reckon, im pretty tired of dial upperrs whining that ionly win cause i have cable, then ya say "well 10 out of 12 people here are cable and im beatign all of them....so what does taht show ya?" of course they have no reply for that difficult little question.

funny thing is that the player i know that have gonef rom dial up to cable say its not really much of an advantage, just that its a little different. and some dial uppers taht get under 200ping and 0 packet loss say it feels just the same. but this is beside the issue. lets have an lpb only server.
Duke

how stupid is that

hpbs bitch about cablers have an unfair advantage

yet the cablers also bitch that the hpbs have an advantage

Axis

no,i dont think they have an advantage, i think that their lag does sometimes allow them to do unfair things. all im objecting to is a player that doesn't behave like all the other players, does strange unpredictable things like teleporting and s***, when i play online i want it to be as close an experience to playing on lan as possible, and an all lpb server would achieve this. just one lag death is enough to piss me off, i do not under any circumstances like to have to endure a death that isn't due to be being either out-skilled or f***gin up. if i do everythign perfectly and still die because the guy teleports behind me or shoots me 10 meters round a corner, then im pissed off.

Wow, Axis still plays CS?
How times have changed. Hope to see you at the next qgl. You should head down to ANZAC at the GC, we need some clans that'll give us some competition - SAS - pffft !!!!
Rukh

Maccas: You were playing on the Ausgamer HPB server and you're an lpb? And there were 3 other lpbs on?
Who's your isp?
I haven't seen 4 lpb's on at once on that server in a while. Because most lpb ip's are blocked by the firewall.
If I had been playing when those lpbs were on I would have kicked them all. It's a hpb server and that means no lpbs. Good or bad players.

As for this lpb vs hpb debate....c'mon, lpbs do have an advantage. A big one. And even bigger now with HL1.1.0.6.
Sure hpbs might be plagued with some lag spikes but that affects us as well. If it's a proper spike at any rate.
I don't see too many hpbs jerking around...though I sometimes see some lpbs and hpbs jerking around *only* when I'm up close and trying to awp them.....funny that...
lpbs can get the drop on hpbs. They can see and start shooting at hpbs before hpbs even see the lpbs.
It used to be not quite as bad for hpbs when we still had pushlatency which made it sort of playable. Valve in their infinite stupidity removed pushlatency however....

As for lpb only servers, don't Optus run some lpb servers for people with o@h? Maybe get Wireplay to do the same for bpa players
Axis

ruhk maccass was saying that he was in the normal lpb server and that hpb's were saying it was hpb only.
you have no idea the number of times im on cs server #1 and f***gin dial uppers tell me to get off because im on the hpb only server, f***gin ignorant f*****s, why are all dial uppers so stupid.

as for lpb's having an advatage no s***, but i paod fo rcable to have a near lan experience and if there are laggy c***s doing bizzare lag acts then it ruins the whole thing.
Duke

i thought the pushlatency was on auto mode now

personally i prefer to play the cablers..they r generally far better players then most hpbs...hpbs tend to be the newbies who havent yet bought cable..or alternatively cant get cable in their area cause foxtel stinged them i.e. me....i dont really c the point of the hpb server..i mean how many other hpb serbas can u find...

should just make it 3 open servers...the amount of tiems i c spaces in the hpb server when the other 2 r full an cablers r tryin to get on is more then i could be bothered to count
Rukh

Axis: k. Thought he was referring to the hpb server.

Duke: I generally find that cs#3 has more empty spots that either #1 or #2. In fact cs#2 I find it usually the busiest of the 3 servers and the hardest to get on.
As for puslatency being automatic now....I dunno. I do know that I found it a hell of a lot easier to hit people lpbs and hpbs alike when I could manually set my pushlatency. I like the hpb server. Sure I also play on cs#3 because it usually has a spot and also trog, stick and term play on that server, but I prefer playing on cs#2 otherwise. It's a more even playing field. Also for those lpbs that have paid for their cable and thus demand lan-like playing conditions as they've paid for their cable after all and thus should expect such things of course.....well the more hpbs playing on the hpb server the less hpbs there are to play on the open servers...

Or even better...

A closed server which permits only QGL lan attendees getting a password to it. This password could change once a month so as to keep the members updated. Obviously there'd be f*****s who give the password out, but it'd certainly be at a lower rate.

Hopefully mP will get our own server soon, and we'll be e-mailing passwords out to players who we deem worthy and changing it on a bi-weekly basis.
Duke

yer thats cause cs#3 keeps dropping ppl all the time

most times during round changes it times out 3/4 of the ppl there.

Axis:
as for lpb's having an advatage no s***, but i paod fo rcable to have a near lan experience and if there are laggy c***s doing bizzare lag acts then it ruins the whole thing.

Farkin hell man, I can only get sub 300 ping on 3 servers - the AGN ones. You on the other hand can play on any damn server you want and get a s*** hot ping. And of all the servers you can choose from you still want to bring down the only HPB server in the country just so you can get "the experience that you paid for".

Soz for the rant, just don't want to lose the server ;-)

As for the | mP | server Deeps, have you thought about making it a teamplay server? They've got them in the US and people rave about them in the cs forums. Its like forced teamplay, so if someone isn't play like a team and following strats they get kicked. Its basically turns out like a full on clan match server cept its made up of misc players. Sometimes they have nights where they meet in IRC before playing, have two captains and pick teams and stuff like a pick-up game. Only problem is you practically need at least one admin in there all the time to police it. But I guess with the password system it'd reduce the problem a lot.
Primal Fear

Well good to see some people share the same thoughts on the matter ... time to email ( 10000000000...)
emials to the admins huh? :P
Maccas

We dont want to take away the hpb server we want to make no 1 into an lpb server. The we have no more people that are jealous of our low pings abusing us.

That teamplay thing sounds good tho