BiKESEAT
I'm in a team of students at the University of Queensland that completely design and bulild an open wheel race car from scratch. There is about 15 of us in the team, we build this car to the Formula SAE rules, and then go down to Melbourne at the end of the year to race it against other unis from around Australia and the world. This is the second year UQ has done it, and our car is looking quite good
We are limited to a 600cc engine with a 20mm restrictor on the inlet manifold. We use a CBR600 engine, built our own throttle body, restrictor, aluminium plenum and runners, extractors, and injection rail. It runs off a Motec M4 with sequential injection (lots of fun to play around with ) Final power was a touch under 80hp on a engine dyno. The chassis is completely hand made, as is the suspension, we have custom made brake calipers from QMI, made our own carbon fibre seat... the list goes on Total car weight is approx 270kg. Was a heap of fun building it up through the year, eventually got it in an almost ready to run state for the Indy display day on Thursday. Had our first test on Saturday and nothing too serious broke... woohoo Now have to change a few things and then get into some driver training for the comp It'll do 0-100 in 4.2 seconds, with a top speed of 140kmhr. We race on a very tight course hence the low top speed. Anyway check out Here for some pics etc |
| #0 11:53am 30/10/02 |
Bucket
Congrats mate. Good luck champ. http://www.uq.edu.au/fsae/Team Logos/team-photo.jpg (fixed by cyph, cause he's a mad cainer!) |
| #1 01:42pm 30/10/02 |
oh bucket :(
| #2 11:54am 30/10/02 |
ahah its broken.. the forum that is :p
heh the car looks like a giant Go kart :p that or a tiny forumla 3 car.. what happens to it after the race?? will it be up for sale or what? (hrmm i'd like a little race car :p) |
| #3 11:56am 30/10/02 |
Cailean
I want one.
| #4 11:57am 30/10/02 |
Man, when I go to uni I get told to write essays and make web pages.
Noone asks me to build a f***ing indy car :( |
| #5 12:17pm 30/10/02 |
| #6 12:20pm 30/10/02 |
looks good, even though those pictures are old ;)
um didnt you know red paint makes the car go faster? look at michael schumaker's car, he wins 95% of the time. atleast it has heaps of stickers to make it go faster. and a nice exhaust. Sifn't get a momo sterring wheel. Drive with comfort I say. is it auto or manual? and how much has it cost so far? even though its sponsered. |
| #7 12:28pm 30/10/02 |
and someone knows where to put the holden sticker :D
on the top of course ;) |
| #8 12:26pm 30/10/02 |
good job.. how much did it cost?, i didn't read your whole post, if it had it.
| #9 12:59pm 30/10/02 |
that is awesome!
| #10 05:05pm 30/10/02 |
- [ epidemik ] -
gw dude, that rocks
| #11 05:25pm 30/10/02 |
BiKESEAT
All up cost for us was about $30k. We have to do a complete prototyping cost report on it which is about a 4000 line spread sheet, that has to come under $60k, and takes into account every operation required to make every part on the car.
Next year we'll be keeping this years car as is and building a completely new one. Might take off the restrictor, get 130hp and go hill climbing :) |
| #12 05:50pm 30/10/02 |
FishWick
fully sik bro! fkn nice job there m8 :D
| #13 06:10pm 30/10/02 |
Decimate
well done, that looks excellent!
| #14 08:00pm 30/10/02 |
MtX
omg pod filter above the drivers head
ownage =P v.nice |
| #15 08:05pm 30/10/02 |
§PLAT
mod it up. put some fluros and subs in there!
| #16 08:21pm 30/10/02 |
- [ epidemik ] -
how long did it take to make ?
| #17 08:44pm 30/10/02 |
§PLAT
http://www4.tpg.com.au/users/austcorp/car.jpg
Grittith has an entry to, but we put subs on the back |
| #18 09:01pm 30/10/02 |
b00n
yeah that is pretty rad
| #19 09:10pm 30/10/02 |
BiKESEAT
Haha funny stuff. That is actually last years car... as you can see in the first pic this years has side pods for the electricals / radiator. Cleans up the area around the engine a s*** load :)
And yes, this year we have a K&N filter as opposed to the super cheap one from last year :) |
| #20 09:32pm 30/10/02 |
BiKESEAT
epidemik: We've been working on it virtually all year, with big push last week inluding a few all nighters. AS you can imagine, as 90% of the parts on the car are custom, we have a s***load of machining and general making of stuff to do.
| #21 09:34pm 30/10/02 |
Bravo!
Now beat Carmack into making a Amature Space Rocket :D |
| #22 09:36pm 30/10/02 |
mooby the golden calf
motec equip owns
what injectors are u using? |
| #23 09:36pm 30/10/02 |
I want to buy one of your cars!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
| #24 09:38pm 30/10/02 |
BiKESEAT
Bosch 280 series, 133cc/minute. With that hidiously expensive 5.0 bar bosch continuously adjustable pressure regulator, running at 4.0bar.
| #25 09:43pm 30/10/02 |
BiKESEAT
We had to add a cam sensor to to get sync siganl for the motec, lots of fun figuring out exactly where to drill the cam cover to get the sensor to line up just on the sprocket bolt :)
Oh yeah the whole thing is completely designed in Solid Edge (CAD package) before we make anything. |
| #26 09:45pm 30/10/02 |
What, you didnt make it on the fly. I lack respect now :p
Also, j0r! Hope you win. |
| #27 09:52pm 30/10/02 |
mooby the golden calf
Yeah, ive seen solid edge.
kool. sounds fun. |
| #28 10:01pm 30/10/02 |
mooby the golden calf
I wrote some dyno software for a motec setup
/story |
| #29 10:03pm 30/10/02 |
BiKESEAT
Dyno software? where for?
| #30 10:52pm 30/10/02 |
Golden<>Ass
What degree are you doing? Sounds awesome
| #31 11:21pm 30/10/02 |
BiKESEAT
Mech eng at UQ
| #32 11:26pm 30/10/02 |
§PLAT
Sifnt Engineering @ Grifftafe :P
| #33 12:09am 31/10/02 |
mooby the golden calf
Just for my old man. he made a fuel injection manifold for the holden red and blue 6. not the vk one, one that works.
so i was playing with the motec system, writing software for it. |
| #34 12:15am 31/10/02 |
man thats awesome
hope you guys loose to some NSW uni :P nar serious good luck :) |
| #35 12:37am 31/10/02 |
BiKESEAT
Cheers guys :)
We are the only queensland team :) |
| #36 01:25am 31/10/02 |
Cailean
| #37 10:48am 31/10/02 |
dear god, I'm sitting here in the hawken library killen a lil time (lecturer did a no show to my only fkn lecture from 8-10am.....)
and so I decide to check the QGL websites after I've made sure I have all lecture notes + previous exams etc etc and first f***en thread is @ UQ >:D just lucky there is some poon in that last picture :D :D Good luck man that looks f***en awesome. |
| #38 10:56am 31/10/02 |
BiKESEAT
Hehe yeah we got 50+ pics of us, the car and indy chicks from last thursday =)
| #39 01:09pm 31/10/02 |
Indy chicks huh? I'm telling Deb, George!!! :P /ends being a d*******. Thats awesome man, but I think you should scrap that Honda crap and get a Yamaha R6 engine next year. They you will get some REAL power! Seriously... if you watch the 600cc bike series in Aus you will see the R6 destroy all the other bikes with ease. |
| #40 11:36am 01/11/02 |
yeah but with a 20mm restrictor on the inlet the R6 prolly wouldnt go as hard as the honda on the same restriction.
| #41 12:55pm 01/11/02 |
MtX
pfft @ yamaha =P ( sept for R1)
go the GSXR600 engine! strap on a yoshimira race pipe and hoon away =P they actually made a concept car with a GSXR600 engine, its in GT concept aswell I think. |
| #42 01:07pm 01/11/02 |
Yeah squarky you're prolly right... suckful :( |
| #43 02:23pm 01/11/02 |