Topic: Best Albums of 2002 (so far)

I have purchased a few brilliant CD's already this year, and I was wondering if you guys could recommend some more.

Anyway, here is my Top 3 Albums for the year so far...

1. Zero 7 - Simple Things

http://images.amazon.com/images/P/B00005R5M6.01.MZZZZZZZ.jpg

"Simple Things, the first LP by British programming duo Zero 7 is one of the most imminently listenable albums to come along in a very long while. The whole album is layered with downtempo, almost ethereal beats that will undoubtedly take the edge off any migraine until you're awash in a sea of contentment. Zero 7 (aka Henry Binns & Sam Hardaker) say that the true joy of their music comes from the talented core of guest vocalists found on their debut album. This statement proves true as these vocalists bring out the amazing beauty of this disc. Among the standout tracks on the album is the sultry 'Destiny', a sensual collaboration with Sia Furler, which feels just as at home in a smoky jazz bar as it does at a candle-lit bedside. Other great tracks include 'I Have Seen,' featuring male vocalist Mozez and the beautiful bonus track 'Spinning,' featuring Sophie Barker. Simple Things is more than just electronic music... it is music that creates a most beautiful atmosphere."

2. Dirty Vegas

(Self Titled)

http://images.amazon.com/images/P/B000066HP6.01.MZZZZZZZ.jpg

"Dirty Vegas is no one hit wonder. This is one of the best albums of the year. Here is modern musical alchemy pushing the edge of two popular genres- acoustic rock and dance. The British trio is comprised of Steve Smith (vocals/percussion/guitar), Paul Harris (keyboards/production) and Ben Harris (guitars/production). It's tempting to say that Steve's soulful singing and talented songwriting are what make this album shine, but the beats are what really complete this gem."

3. Paul Oakenfold - Bunkka

http://images.amazon.com/images/P/B000067G5Y.01.MZZZZZZZ.jpg

"Despite Paul Oakenfold's status as "the world's most successful DJ" (according to the Guinness Book of Records, no less), and producing bands like the Happy Mondays and U2, Bunkka is his first real stab at solo superstardom. Abandoning the podium trance with which he made his name, Bunkka sees Oakenfold marrying Hybrid-like breakbeats with rock, hip-hop, and progressive house--not to mention a healthy dose of pop. Add an impressive list of guest vocalists--Tricky, Nelly Furtado, Ice Cube, Perry Farrell, Hunter S Thompson(!)--and a slew of radio-friendly tunes, and it soon becomes clear that Oakey has gone straight for the populist jugular.

Best Compilation:

Ministry of Sound - Chillout Annual 2002

It's all pure class, and that impresses the bitches. trust me
Nathan
first!
Azaria
Orbital - The Altogether
exocet
That's not 2002, that's late 2001.
First of all impressing the bitches is of paramount importance.

My Top album would be:

Adam Freeland : On Tour (DJ Complilation) The Nu-Skool Breaks Masta! Yes it is a compliation but it still rawks.

Rennie Pilgrim : Selected Werks

Groove Armada : Good Bye Country, Hello Nightclub

Oh and the Morcheeba album is sounding pretty good, haven't heard it all though.

The track featuring Slick Rick is classic.
Scuzzy
sadly none of the Music cd's I buy realy compare to the feel from some of the live sets that people reccord.
and you cant fit a two hour set on a cd :)

recent cd's that have been ok for me...
Godskitchen - Journeys (compliation)
Timo Mass - Loud
the new chili peppers album is the win =) !
I really wanna get hold of that cd called 2 Many DJ's. Anyone bought it yet?
Denny
StreX: i just heard one of the Zero7 tracks this morning and i must say it did sound promising.
| e p i d e m i k |
Red Hot Chili Peppers - By The Way
Ministry of sound
Nelly - Nellyville
Simple Things sounds interesting.
RHCP - By The Way
Gorillaz - Gorillaz
Sevendust - Anamosity
System of a Down - Toxicity

best cd's i've ever purchased IMO :D
redhat
blade 2 soundtrack
Kylie - Fever.
Timo Maas - Loud is my #4 album, but my favourite Honda cranking CD (fav track - Shifter) >:)

mission knows his s*** :)
Morcheeba rocks aswell, always been lounge classics.
Groove Armada : Good Bye Country, Hello Nightclub is brilliant aswell, but you expect that from GA.

If you wanna check out Zero7, get the tracks DESTINY and SIMPLE THINGS.

Bangers
Busta Rhymes - Genesis
Fat Joe - Opposites Attract
| e p i d e m i k |
lol kylie
Ive only bought one album this year.

First CD Ive ever bought:

Miguel Migs - Nude Tempo vol 1

http://www.shopsolid.com/naked/images/cd_010.jpg
God's Kitchen

It's a f***en AWESOME compilationg of trance / dance.

oh and I haven't bought it (but am going to): Open Spaces. such a mellow compilation
Best albums of 2002 so far. now with more added bulleted list!

• No Use for a Name - Hard Rock Bottom
  • Ataris - Anywhere but here remastered
  • Grinspoon - New Detention
  • Bad Religion - The Process of Beleif
  • Millencolin - Home from Home
    SacredSperm
    I can't think of anything really interesting thats been released this year. Hrm. All my cd purchases have been of older stuff.

Anyway, that Zero 7 cd...they the same guys who did a remix of Radioheads' Climbing Up The Walls? Because that was pretty good.
    Lithios
    hm..
    best albums ive bought this year would have to be

* Irv Gotti presents The Inc.
    * Busta Rhymes - genesis
    * R Kelly and Jay-Z - Best of both worlds

awesome stuff

Blind Guardian - A night at the opera.
    Down - II
    Slayer - God Hates Us All
    RHCP - By The Way
    and soon to be added to this list is.

Fear Factory - Concrete, to be released July 29th, ff's final cd ever.
    OM3GA
    Oakenfold - Bunkka
    Layo & Bushwacka - Night Works
    Timo Maas - Loud
    Muse - Hullabaloo
    Tricky - A Ruff Guide
    Vex Red - Start With a Strong and Persistent desire
    Verve Remixed
    N*E*R*D - In Search Of...
    X-Press 2 - Muzikizum
    last but not least
    BT - R&R
    OM3GA
    Concrete isn't a new fear factory cd, it's the first cd they ever recorded, it's just been remastered and mixed i think
    i never said it was a new ff cd. I only said it's being released on that day, and it's gonna rawk.
    OM3GA

yeah it's gunna be better than digimortal
    whoa! congrats on your awesome taste in music omega
    do you listen to JJJ alot? cos they play stuff from every album you mentioned.

NERD has such a fresh hip-hop/rnb sound, good melodies. they rock.

and does BT have a new album out?!@ awwwyeah

one of my fave tracks ever: BT - Dreaming.
    bk
    * Tiesto - In Search Of Sunrise Vol.3

absolute masterpiece of soft, vocal, progressive trance, with a touch of chillout, the set beautifully buildsup creating the feeling the In Search Of Sunrise series are reknowed for.

(compilation btw)

if i had to pick a album..

* Tiesto - In My Memory

each track on this album is innovative and original, and full of the awesome tracks he'd been hammering in his livesets, from the opening classical intro of magik journey, through to the anthem that is urban train, this cd is full of quality productions.

so i like trance, sue me :P

honourable mentions:

* y4k next level breaks - freq nasty
    * ltj bukem - progression session 6 (maybe not 2002?)

also, BT was working on his new album when his house got robbed and all his s*** got stolen.. everything from his guitars to his drum kits to his synths to his pc that all the stuff was stored on :/

that was earlier this year, not sure if he got any of it back or whatever :/

BT was working on his new album when his house got robbed and all his s*** got stolen..

IT WAS BUCKET!!
    Nelly - Nellyville
    cmon
    c'mon it ain't that bad trog.
    OM3GA, is that Muse - Hullabaloo CD the new one that Triple J have been talking about? I found it in the shops and wasn't sure; is it just b-sides and live versions of the songs from the first two albums?
    HAPPY_NEW_YEAR
    ITS IN MY SIG

LAGERED ELEVATION

JinX
    not 2002 but best cd i have bought this year: Tool - Lateralus
    sKryBe
    May not be the best album but it's my current fave:

Tenacious D - Self Titled

And I think I've only bought two other CDs all year:

Jimmy Eat World - Self Titled, &
    Rush - Vapour Trails.

Not a lot of music had impressed me enough to buy lately :(
    OM3GA

i love nerd, there are different versions of their cd, but the first was never released, the second is the one that was released here, with live beats, the other version was all digital beats, the BT cd is a Rare and Remixed, awesome Way Out West Remix of Shame and heaps of other cool stuff on it... not really new but good all the same... good for people who wanna get into BT, the only problem is it was released in Australia, so u have to import it, and the muse is is awesome, the first cd is b-sides and the second has song from the live dvd, but not all the song... u have to buy the dvd, the dvd is unreal i think matt has some serious moves on stage, remember how good they were at livid
    Muse question ? :)
    OM3GA
    yes muse... very good yes... the new muse songs they been playing on JJJ are the double a-side singles (Dead Star & In Our World) but they r on the live cd... but u have to buy the singles for the studio versions
    Been listening to MOS Chillout StreX and yeah there are some gold tracks in there, like Libertina. Inside all the People had a beauuutiful intro but turned into some indie rock track :/
    Lupin
    Oasis - Heathen Chemistry.
    GoauldMember
    i dunno where the f*** you people hear of 90% of these songs and albums
    rad! talk about thread revival

Inside all the People had a beauuutiful intro but turned into some indie rock track :/
    yeah, the vocals are weird in that song, but it really grows on you. i know what you mean about the intro/lead up, it is maaad. get the Harvey Big Producer Extended Remix goes for about 10 mins, but it builds and dwells beautifully before the vocals kick in at about 4:30.

i have the new MOS Chillout Session 3, which is more poolside/beach haus. has some classic s*** on there like Air - All I need. very f***ing good compilation, as you'd expect.

goauld, broaden your musical horizons further than B105 and you may be pleasantly surprised.

Speaking of radio stations, TripleJ is so good it makes me cry.
    Ministry Of Sound Chillout is all good :)

Also check out "Hed Kandi - Ibiza" similar to the chillout sessions, not sure what label it's on though :(

My other current faves would be:

Kid Kenobi - Clubbers Guide to Breaks. The only bad bit about this compilation is some tracks on disk one have been played to death.

Groove 4 - Dance Naked To

Kruder Dormeister - The K.O. Sessions

Moorcheeba - what ever it's called.

A few more, but brain is sore.

tim...
    Thank You Dan for being the only one to mention anything decent thats been released this year. Although I lost a lot of respect for BadReligion after their no show for livid so that album leaves my list. Also Pacifier self titles is great.

The new fooies album which I've been listening to is ok as well, probably rates a mention, and the new pearl jam one has got some goods as well.
    tim...
    oh yeh and the rest of you are queer boy ravers, do you need any more glow sticks....
    GeNociDe
    Chilli Peppers - By the Way
    Papa Roach - Lovehatetragedy

honourable mention to Incubus for Are You In.
    Run along Tim, the pack is getting out of sight.
    I could never hate BR, Im sure they had a good reason for pulling out of livid.
    The murpheys still made my day anyway :)

Id have to add

• CKY - Infiltrate, Destroy, Rebuild
    • Goldfinger - Open your eyes
    • Transplants - Transplants

to that list as well, all top stuff, hope i never get too old to like this kinda music :)
    Yeah they have grown on me StreX but it's still a waste of a nice little melody imo. I'll check out the other mix.
    yeah mission, i have clubber guide to breaks. funky s***! kid kenobe included tracks like 'wheres your head at' etc, cos he wanted it to be a an album that newbies could get into breaks with, and not feel so alienated.

morcheeba's new album, charango, is another instant classic. fav track - Sao Paulo. listening to that i can so imagine sitting in a dingy brazilian bar on a hot dusty afternoon drinking corona's :P

i have a few albums from the HedKandi series (chillout editions), they are very good aswell although a little expensive. i still prefer the ministry.
    Denny
    gg reviving an old thread johnny :P

but anyway i finally got around to listening to some Zero7 and i'm knocked out, this is exactly the sort of stuff i like, i don't want f***ing insanely loud bass and crazy f***ing rythms.

I'd describe it as lounge music but it's so much better. Also i've been getting into Air - Moon Safari, i know i'm behind the times but i can't believe how good their s*** is.

I'm a bit of a techno/electronica newb so how would you class Zero7 in that regard, i'm thinking house but i could be way off :)
    HedKandi series (chillout editions), they are very good aswell although a little expensive.

I have "special" copies so I dunno about the asking price :)

And your right about dropping in some well known tracks on the Kid Kenobi CD, it's disappointing when there are a lot iof other *better* tracks in there. Numbers 1,2,and 3 Rock as does 13.

By better I mean not so commercial.
    So far, I'd have to say:

Grinspoon's new album
    Muse - Hullaballo (asifitduzzenroxjoo)

That's about it. I haven't really heard much else that has blown me away. Looking forward to new Pearl Jam.
    GoauldMember
    I just obtained "destiny" by zero 7 and it's pretty awesome! Sounds like they went to effort to make it. Better than the s*** you normally hear in music where it's just some abos beating clapsticks together and mumbling, or some long haired fagit yelling whilst shoving the microphone down his throat.
    dke
    NIN - And all that could have been.
    JinX
    Disturbed - Believe
    Denny
    yeah Destiny is one of the best and probably the one with the most commercial appeal. "I have seen" and "Simple Things" are also brilliant tracks (i'm partial to tracks with vocals)
    power
    this thread is old but anyway

motor ace -shoot this

grinspoon - new detention

something for kate - echolalia

and prolly a whole bunch of others i haven't been able to buy
    w00t denny and goauld have seen teh light!

destiny is a gorgeous track, it was even featured last night on smallville when that chick (lara?) was trying to f*** clark!

dunno what style you would class Zero7 as, i would define it as lounge grooves. atmospheric chillout shiznits.
    OM3GA

James Lavelle - GU023
    Steve Lawler - Lights Out
    The Streets - Original Pirate Material
    The Vines - Highly Evolved

and all the peoples album i mentioned can also pull it off live... and to that git that man fun of ravers get a life mate... music is music.. it's all good... some people talk forever to realise that... but personally the only music that really sucks is the whole punk/pop s***.. and STEVE LAWLER was unreal live... what a set... best sundex ever
    riot'us
    The Butterfly Effect - EP

Their first full album coming soon should be rad. :)
    power
    i'd love to get the streets album.....so fresh and original
    the streets? no whey! i cant stand that dirty pommy wanker with the most offensive accent talking over s***ty garage loops.
    Denny
    yeah, i actually noticed the song playing in teh background last night and i mentally passed out some props to those boffins who work on smallville for having taste.

am i the only one who doesn't see what the big deal is about The Vines?

Sounds like the very worst kind of angsty rock.
    f***ing a, the second I hear the street's pathetic attempts at music I change the channel instantly, or sometimes just turn it off in case the channel I change to is playing it and I have to listen to any more of it. Its fresh and original in the same way that any lamer talking into a mike in a boring manner whilst totally out of time with the "beat" is fresh and original, sure.
    Gunman-187
    nick skitz 11, and 13

taht new madonna song for the james bond movie. she did a good job for once.(not like music)

um heard one on the radio I really liked alot, but the tossers dont say "Well that was blah blah blah. (not after every song, more like every 5-10 songs)

f*** this I'm too tired, I'm going to sleep on the job.
    OM3GA
    There is no really big deal with the vines, they just rock and they rock hard. the streets on the other hand are a taste u really have to get used to, i hated it at first but the more a listened to it the more i got to like, although they went off at livid the crowd was lovin it, f*** OFF U POMMY TWAT!... if u saw them at livid it would understand that :)
    she did a good job for once

I haven't heard the song, but I doubt she wrote it.
    OM3GA you have good taste :)
    OM3GA

dais... did u see Lawler at sundex?
    c0rr
    madonna got a decent producer a while back, some of her recent works have been noteable.
    .druid.
    well, i bought this single by this guy called .druid., called never forever

[/shamless self-promotion]
    No sorry omega.

My favourite album of the year would have to be:

http://auscube.net/other/airdrawndagger.jpg
    sasha.airdrawndagger

It was a bit of an anticlimax the first time I listened, but it really requires a decent pair of headphones and a few times through for you to appreciate the depth of each track.
    A lot of reviewers slammed it because it wasn't the commercial UNS UNS they were expecting, but rather something too sophisticated for their tastes.

As for tracks/sets:

Ariane - Eternity
    Cass & Slide - Perception (old, but I'd never noticed it before)
    Deceptions - Eastern Promise
    Hybrid - Beachcoma (another wasted intro :/)
    Hybrid - Kill City
    Hybrid - Sinequanon
    James Holden - I have put out the light
    James Holden - Nothing
    James Holden - Solstice
    Lyric and Natali - Over Emotion (Smart System Souvenir mix)
    Main Element - Take Me Down (Infusion Remix)
    Private Taste - First (Ashtrax ambient score)
    Slacker - Looky Thing (Eye Eye mix)
    Solid Sessions - Janeiro (James Holden remix)
    Ultraviolet - Heaven (Way Out West remix)
    Vini vs The Funk Monster - Dominion (Jason Sparks Mix)
    Way Out West Feat T. Kelshall - Mindcircus (Gabriel and Dresden mix)
    Way Out West - Stealth (Quivver mix)

Mostly prog house/breaks there.
    I'd list more but maybe you should go the the electronica forum instead.

Dj Méa - Live @ ID&T Radio Solid Grooves - [09.02.02] (best deep house I've ever heard, with awesome freestyle vocals from her to boot)
    James Holden - Essential Mix 20-01-02
    John 00 Flemming - Essential Mix 11-11-01
    Sasha and Digweed - Essential Mix live @ WMC 2002 (deep prog house from them)
    Erther - Astrotravelogue :]

yes it took me 4.5 hours to write this post
    Top effort druid :) It sounds funky and oldschool but it lacks structure.
    Listen to as much electronica as you can until you have a defined taste, then your producing will really improve.
    Did you use Reason or just a looper or something?
    scene
    You can't go wrong with Muse... most of the time. A few b sides were honestly quite bad. But Citizen Erased and In Your World live is where it is at. Come back to Aust. already!
    power
    yeah the streets don't hit you straight away they pretty much grow on you...
    - [ epidemik ] -
    Nikki Webster :P
    Holly Valance : Footprints

*Kiss Kiss*

This bird knows how to sing!

/End Sarcasim
    Best albums I've bought this year so far are

Queens of the Stone age - Songs for the deaf
    Vines - Highly Evolved
    Machine gun Fellatio - Paging Mr Strike

The MGF album really impressed me, it was kind of an impulse buy (on the recommendation of a friend) and its an awesome album. Real funky :)

I just got the new Foo Fighters album yesterday also, I've only listened to it a couple of times so far, not sure what I think of it. It was pretty different to what I expected, but I think its starting to grow on me now.
    tension
    spice girls should bring out a new album =p
    Silentnite
    Queens Of Tbe Stoneage- Songs for the deaf

Foo Fighters - 1x1

Linkin Park - Reanimation
    St@ckboy
    Reel Big Fish- Cheer Up

who needs 3 when you have one skankin album?
    KoRnIsH
    KoRn - Untouchables

Nailbomb
    Korn - Untouchables
    Filter - The Amalgamut
    Coal Chamber - Dark Days

coming up

new Nirvana album on Nov and Pearl Jam album but not sure if it's coming out this year.

btw: someone on the first page mentioned Toxicity. That came out last year otherwise it would definately be in the list :)
    yeah i though i would support australian artists, so i bought the machinegun fellatio album too and was pleasantly surprised.

i had heard JJJ play rollercoaster heaps, and that sounds funky. but my favourite tracks of the album are the two last ones - Just B'coz and Dirty f***ing Whore.

Actually, MGF - Just B'Coz is my favourite song of the moment. very smooth
    Nailbomb
    hmm well as far as Australian artists go then i'd have to say Grinspoon and Silverchair.
    Gobo
    Wyld Stallyns (self titled)
    I bought MGF after hearing some of the songs on JJJ and digging them - there are a few cool other songs on the album, but overall it annoyed me because there are just too many songs that have pointless swearing; everything about the band just seems to be tailored to use taboo words to increase the shock value, or something. Don't get me wrong, I've got no problems with swearing in music or whatever, its just that MGF seems to be totally gratuitious, which is a shame because they're actually a band that is capable of stringing together some really nice tunes.
    You are most excellent Gobo.
    You do realise that this is an old thread trog?
    SHOCK f***ING HORROR SUHAIB!

you can revive old threads if you have something relevant, interesting and notable to add (although its still at the admins discretion).

those are things of which you are totally unable to provide, suhaib, you spammer whore.
    cool i'm a whore now....
    yes, that means you can actually ask for money now after you suck that fat mans penis.

ANYWAY back on topic...

MGF do have alot of unnecessary swearing and rudeness, but it sounds so much cooler coming from a hot chick :)

"grab my boobs all big and bouncy / then spunk all over my botty!"
    sif.
    You don't realise how I had to sell my body to keep this thread from being locked Suhaib.
    dAhLi_LaMa|0wnsU
    The new Nick skitz is damn good listened to it last night and it had some wicked beats and great mixes

but top 3

Would be (in no partcular Order)

Songs for the deaf - Queens of the Stonage

Skitz Mix 12 - Nick Skitz

Push the Beat for this Jam - Scooter

Peace Out

Nate
    korn - untouchables
    xzibit - man vs machine
    Cholmah
    Although I'm usually more of a trance person myself, I really liked Disturbed - Believe.
    Reel Big Fish- Cheer Up

who needs 3 when you have one skankin album?

very true, cept this album is sorely lacking in skankin tunes, its a whole lot more rocky.

I much prefer the new Mustard Plug album, allthough work permitting im still gonna go see the fishies next month.

There really is way to many trance fans on this board, meh listen to what you like i guess, i just find your music droning, boring and lifeless, also, gay.
    Crunch
    Good thread. Might have to fire up some p2p when I get home... haven't listened to any decent new music in ages.
    I also find trance droning, boring, lifeless and gay Dan.
    ^Meta^
    he @ this tread, teenyboppers and p2p mofos

Sifnt trance, sifnt ftp
    i say
    sif guitars
    .druid.
    Top effort druid :) It sounds funky and oldschool but it lacks structure.
    Listen to as much electronica as you can until you have a defined taste, then your producing will really improve.
    Did you use Reason or just a looper or something?
    dais, nah i used buzz tracker, which is kinda lame, but it's free, and s*** loads of machines. no loops :)

i am aware of the structuring problem - that is something i cannot get around, because music is a hobby of mine, not really a full on obsession.
    all the tracker family of software ownz

used to luv mucking around with screamtracker, ripping off wavs from games;
    Why would you bother buying music?
    if people stopped buying it then people would stop making it you gimp.

If you enjoy some music, show some f***ing respect to the artist and pay for thier stuff.
    Oh well, stop making it. I wouldn't really care.