Topic: Kids TV rant
With Kids TV these days being utter crap aimed purely at marketing toys & dvds, books etc
I've taken it upon myself to build a library of kids entertainment for my boy
I've got a few so far but I need to enlist a few more memories for the more obscure ones

The kinda stuff I want him to watch is the shows that were genuinely trying to be entertaining for kids and not just trying to sell their lunchboxes / stuffed toys etc

* Sesame Street (here's hoping they sell a complete box set of this somewhere)
* Play School
* Rug Rats
* TMNT
* Duck Tales
* Chipmunks
* Talespin
* Rocko's Modern Life
* The Ferrel's
* Winnie the pooh
* Daria (bit older)
* Pizza Cats
* Thomas The Tank Engine
* Postman Pat
* Brum! (beep beep)
* Pinky & the Brain
* Dangermouse
* Bannan Man
* Super Ted
* Aladin
* Anamaniacs
* Babar
* Garfield
* Gargoyles

http://www.polyvore.com/cgi/img-thing?.out=jpg&size=l&tid=964773
with all the additional tv channels and foxtel, we're super covered for spook jnrs tele

shows we love and watch
little einsteins
handy manny
wiggles
bo on the go
winnie the poo
mickey mouse fun house
dora the explorer

channel 709 for the win
tintin
captain planet
widget
bangers and mash
yo gabba gabba = best kids show ever (it's on nick jnr)

what about the old warner bros cartoons before they got all stupid after the 80's/90's ?
hardware
Postman Pat parodies
Where's Wally
Disney classic torrent for the win
Carson

Banana Man
The Trap Door. I f***ing HATE that show.
Count Duckula
Pinky & The Brain
Silverhawks
The Tick
Thundercats
He-man
hardware
Trap Door!

Isn't that like 58GB or something chronic?

/edit: Post Limiter... more like Rage Maximiser
I recently watched "1001 Rabbit Tales". It's a Merrie Melodies movie starring Bugs, Daffy, Sylvester, Tweetie, Yosemite Sam, etc...
Definitly recommend Merrie Melodies cartoons.
With Kids TV these days being utter crap aimed purely at marketing toys & dvds, books etc

Yeah wtf, back in my day they never made shows to flog f***ing toys

http://images04.olx.com.ph/ui/3/42/02/60244002_2.jpg

http://pasembur.files.wordpress.com/2009/02/he-man.jpg

http://yg.typepad.com/photos/uncategorized/tmnt.jpg

http://www.collectiondx.com/gallery2/gallery/d/11800-6/Voltron1.jpg

http://www.failedsuccess.com/images/toy1.jpg

http://pulse.wyldware.com/toy/MSK_TOY_CON.JPG

but seriously when my girl is old enough I'm gonna track down all the old looney tunes cartoons, they don't seem to show them on tv anymore

last edited by WetWired at 12:57:18 30/Jan/10
MatchFixa
Drawn Togeher.
My 4 year old loves Pinky and the Brain and futurama.

HUHU, Narf

Gotta be carefull which episodes of futurama she watches, she balled her eyes out the first time she watched the one were fry finds his dog fossilised and it ends with the scenes of the dog outside the pizza store alone.

groganus
kids cartoons were always about selling toys, though when pokemon came along it took it to a whole new level...

In my eyes though i think its brilliant, i love watching the 6 year old get into a show then beg for the toys, hes a transformer nut and i love me transformers. He got into ben10 for a while, but soon grew out of it, other then that he doesnt watch to much tv so he really has nfi except for what the other kids at school tell him.

I personally have a s*** ton of kids movies for him to watch, he has his own folder on the computer and he loads up what ever he wants. Mostly watches transformers over and over and over again.
RockitMan
X-Men. I have a spare copy of the entire animated series if you want it. Was the coolest cartoon evar as a kid.
What ? no Lazy Town ?

lazy town is also awesome

FocaL
ben10 is like crack cocain for little boy.
wonder showzen
My little guy loves Ben10. he has the omnitrix, bent10 undies, boxers, shorts, bag, etc etc etc

what about the old warner bros cartoons before they got all stupid after the 80's/90's ?

oh snap that's a big one

bug bunny, road runner, tassie devil, chicken hawk (?)
the two bears that steal picnic baskets etc

hopefuly someone has made some boxsets of these

X-Men. I have a spare copy of the entire animated series if you want it. Was the coolest cartoon evar as a kid.

zomg yes pls, holy crap I wanted to shoot lasers so badly from my eyes when I was 10 years old

last edited by tequila at 13:48:11 30/Jan/10
lewd
im watching robotech : the macross saga at the moment.
cheesy as, but great storyline.
he-man 2002 is ausome as well......

others that are gold include

ulysses 31
biker mice from mars
dino riders
batfink
fraggle rock
the real ghostbusters

and for the very young :-

teddy ruxpin
vicki the viking
kimba the white lion
my pet monster
denver the last dinosaur
hardware
the two bears that steal picnic baskets etc
Yogi Bear. And that was Hanna-Barbera not Warner Brothers.
Yeah wtf, back in my day they never made shows to flog f***ing toys

yeah you're probably right, I don't think its really comparable to the kind of marketing they do now-a-days though
I can honestly say I never had nor wanted a TMNT figurine or lunchbox, even though it was probably my #1 fav show when I was 5

I did however have the NES (maybe SNES?) TMNT game, I would still play that If I had it ;(
Kilos

Seriously!

Daughter aside, these movies still rule so f***ing hard.
seed damnit!
yeah robotech , starblazers, astroboy, monkey magic

i liked those that dealt with more adult themes, like love, death and betrayal.. i think ben 10 does this well. i can't stand those asian cartoons based on card games.. the duels are just too wtf

for comedy though it was tic man, count duckular, goodies :)

but... i'd let my kid watch what they want (within reason of course). it seems a bit presumptuous/stifling saying everything today is s*** and your kid is going to like what you liked as a kid

swat cats
centurions
im not going to stop them from watching pokemon etc, but I'll make sesame street very available to them
I reckon kids are too sheltered these days, their cartoons don't deal with anything except for finding toys and buying things to go fight other things

or dancing and then finishing off with "if you want to keep dancing go buy our dvd!!!!1"
dinobots

/end thread
hardware
teq, if you want to make it proper un-pc then steamboat mickey
the whole theme of the show? make music by abusing animals and load stuff onto an unsafe boat by using unsafe loading practices.

stamp out PC properly teq. Also for some community education wesley.swf 1-8 for the complete effect
The chick from lazy town grew up to be a Lesbian
stephanie?

haha oh man how could I forget scooby doo!@?!@$

@hardware; his grammy gave him a "Golly Wog" just this week
he loves it

http://www.thetoyzone.com/wp-content/uploads/2008/07/golly-wog.jpg
hardware
good job grammy

shoulda given him a packet of those chocolate gollywog biscuits too
but noooooooooo
now they're scallywags
i suppose it's still relatively accurate

last edited by hardware at 14:53:31 30/Jan/10
Tintin ftw!
Nerfbringer

Not all new kids shows are rubbish, Avatar The Last Airbender is way up there in my favourite shows (alongside the sopranos, rome, deadwood, battlestar.. yeah I'm just trying to say I don't just like kids shows) and the new 3D Clone Wars has had some great episodes. However if I ever have kids they are being raised on Batman the Animated Series.
^ Batman, nice
spider man, super man etc

*adds to list*

I guess kids movies would be pertinent too,

sandlot kids
goonies
home alone [1-9]
no kim possible no care. I've got the Goonies on DVD and I still watch it to this day, also when I was a kid I just about wore out the VCR playing Spaceballs over & over. There'll always be a special place in my heart for Chip 'n' Dale: Rescue Rangers, Ducktales and Tailspin. Buggs Bunny can FOAD, that cross dressing trannybunny confusing kids sexuality.

"James, why are you wearing my dress?"

"Buggs bunny's a boy and he wears dresses mummy, why can't I?"

edit: Also Ghostbusters, including that dodgy copy with the big monkey & the talking car (no I wasn't on acid when I was a kid).

last edited by whoop at 16:13:48 30/Jan/10
chip n' dale <3
also smurfs, scrooge mc duck?
darkwing duck!
lets
get
DANGEROUS.

btw my opinion on kids shows might not be worth much since I watched aliens & terminator & stuff when I was a kid so yeah, not really sure exactly what's appropriate for normal kids :p

Oh and "IT". every kid should watch that, put the fear of clowns in everyone.
lewd
martin shorts ed grimley cartoon was pretty damn good.

'hotdog weiner franks, for snacking' !!!!!
hardware
http://cdn.buzznet.com/media-cdn/jj1/headlines/2006/03/cops-cartoon.jpg
No idea how old I was when I watched it and I cant even remember what happened in it... but I remember Mysterious cities of Gold being a show that I really hung out for.

Thunder Cats is another I can remember.
HerbalLizard
Thundercats for sure

Gummy bears
Voltron
Ducktales
Most if not all of the pixar / dreamworks etc style movies
Danger Mouse
Trap Door
Super Teddy (Super Ted?) With his Banana side kick.
Dr Who
Crusher
You forgot heaps of awesome kids shows....

Dastardly and Muttley
Rojer Ramjet

And there were heaps of awesome long series cartoons..

Kimba the white lion
Ulysses
G-Force
Voltron
Anyone remember "Puddle Lane" I used to love that s*** when i was younger.
I think it was a magician and a puppet dragon and he'd stir his finger in a magic water well and then a random story would be shown.
Roger Ramjet
the goodies, monkey magic and old skool ninja movies will do fine...

oh i thought Round The Twist was pretty cool, the show with the lighthouse???
johnson and friends
the raggy dolls
lewd
^ and

And there were heaps of awesome long series cartoons..

Kimba the white lion
Ulysses
G-Force
Voltron

all already mentioned.....and its ulysses 31.
ok, so u did well with g-force, but its actually called battle of the planets (english) or gatchaman (japanese).

i used to be in love with all princesses on all cartoons who had princesses.

last edited by lewd at 07:56:18 31/Jan/10
Crusher
omg yes, the sooty show was awesome!
Crusher
all already mentioned.....and its ulysses 31. ok, so u did well with g-force, but its actually called battle of the planets (english) or gatchaman (japanese).

ZOMG CORRECTED BY THE INTERNET NAME EXACTNESS POLICE
Mr Squiggle!@
lewd
@crusher.
its not hard to get it right..........

and some people may be searching for these titles to buy/download.......
Tales from Fat Tulips Garden... classic I was trying to explain this to a pommy the other day. I failed in re-enacting Fat Tulip and she didnt know the f*** I was on about.
bepatient

swat cats
+100

I loved this show more than life
that was mentioned in the op
little einsteins

That's a pretty messed up thing to do to a kid Spook,
Was that before or after Einsteins balls dropped ....

off?
http://file.upinthisbit.ch/cda8fb12_baby.jpg
lewd
^ nice one...
he has a cat called tc?
rides in the basket on front of hunters bike?

'words and pictures' as well......

who could forgot 'and they swim and they swam all over the dam'??!?!!!

u making some good calls kat. keep it up !!!!!!
XaartaX

Mysterious Cities of Gold.
Grassy
f*** yeah, Mysterious Cities of Gold was awesome...it's out in a 6 dvd boxset too.

Showing my age abit but here's some others I remember watching:

Roobarb and Custard
Marine Boy
Danger Mouse
Atom Ant
Thundarr teh Barbarian
Captain Caveman
Fat Albert
Inspector Gadget
Smurfs
Tigersharks
Battle of the Planets
Secret Squirrel
Abbot and Costello
Jabberjaw
Moby Dick and Mighty Mightor
Space Ghost and Dino Boy

In any case you'll find more here - Big Cartoon Database

XaartaX

f*** yeah, Mysterious Cities of Gold was awesome...it's out in a 6 dvd boxset too.
Yep was in there the moment it was out to get it.
I tried to get my eldest into The Goodies

meh

some day
Marine Boy

Farkkk, Now That's an old cartoon! I think Kimba The White Lion is the only older one that I have fond memories of.

For the record, I remember discovering the hard way that Juicyfruit wasn't Oxygum when I tried it in the pool. Only took a small lunfull an coughed it out unfortunately for the rest of you :)
Oh oh oh

"The Magic Roundabout"
last night I chucked on "The Goonies" (first 2 minutes of it) for my mrs and said I'd give her $10 if she could correctly guess the movie (she got it)

anyway I ended up watching the whole thing right through, unintentionally
I <3'd that movie

while watching it we came up with a few more similar movies that kids would love and just kinda go "yep, that's totally plausible"

The Goonies obviously, followed by Casper and .. and .. er memory fail, Peter Pan / Captain Hook / Tinkerbell?
the one where the kids run the show and they eat paint etc

anyway, awesome movies for kidlets imo