Topic: BCF fishing ads are retarded.
Anyone else find the BCF fishing ads retarded?
the ones where people have hobbies that dont involve camping and fishing and they get mocked for them?

im against all of them cept for the wow paying out one, which i agree with

i dont like boating, camping or fishing
I like boating, camping and fishing all equally
I still find their ads quite retarded but I'll continue to shop there because they do good deals
Posting on a forum about BCF adds? That's not living!
Some Fat Bastard
I own a boat, go camping and love fishing......that's a life. However I never shop at BCF, too expensive. Living at Wynnum (which is why I moved here, close to the Bay) I visit the cheaper Chandlery stores for my boating gear, KMart for fishing gear (heaps cheaper, but I have everyhting already, just for tackle top ups) and don't need anymore campin' gear, I've got it all.

I only just refitted out the boat this year. New floor, carpet, electricals, trailer leaf springs etc etc.

I thought they were kind of funny.
I go camping a lot, yet still fit into 2-3 of the people they're mocking.
How does a 14/yo kid have a choice to just go out camping on the weekend? pretty sure he cant just go, ah might head out for the weekend, grab the fourby and hook up the tiny and go fishy, oh wait I dont have a licence or a car or a boat.

Also I hate those ads with the guy from bcf advertising some house and land packages at bribie island or somewhere northside with canal type houses. Crapping on a bout how great it is and its like being on holiday all the time, yeah we know dude, rich people have it better.
it's not targeted at rich people
if you can afford a 500k house in Brisbane somewhere, you can afford a 500k canal house at Bribie ..

it's for sea-change folk
Twinsen
I am going to sue them for discrimination!!......Ohh wait....that's right; we're not in America.
I think it had average house/package was like 675 or something.
Yeah they're stupid because how is sitting out in the middle of the ocean with a bit of string in the water wasting your life any less than say, sitting at home playing video games? If I want a fish I'll go buy a fish not wait for one to come nibble on my piece of string.

Yep, sitting out in the middle of the bush in a freezing cold tent being eaten alive by mosquitoes & getting bitten by sand flies oh yeah sign me up for that s*** because it sure does beat sleeping on a comfy bed and hey I've always wanted to catch malaria & be scratching from head to toe. f*** yeah!

If I could reach into the radio and punch that f***** in the mouth I wouldn't, I'd shove a f***ing fish hook through it instead and use him as bait.
for most of us whoop, it's the few seconds/minutes right after your reel starts spooling and your rod is reefed down towards the ocean
that makes everything else worth it
.. you know the whole sitting around, talking s***, drinking piss with mates part
who would wanna do that, I mean seriously
Some of the blokes I see shopping at BCF whenever I go look like their version of living is sitting on the couch drinking beer and working on the gut.

Edit:

And oh yeah, BCF are wayyyyy overpriced. I'm normally only in there if I need a boat part I can't easily find on a Saturday arvo or something like that. Croc shoes for $50 on special? Seriously?

last edited by Syco at 21:05:21 21/Dec/09
i like fishing (even though im a total noob).

i also like gaming (superhappymegaprogamer++).

i haven't heard the ads in question.

in conclusion, dongs.
Twinsen
It's sort of like getting laid, no one wants to go out on a date and have conversation, I just want to get down and dirty... so in a way getting laid is like fishing, you gotta prep the rod, use some bait and wait patiently until it bites.

Then metaphorically speaking you eat the fish..... maybe thats why they say it smells like fish? crazy!

last edited by Twinsen at 21:07:25 21/Dec/09
for most of us whoop, it's the few seconds/minutes right after your reel starts spooling and your rod is reefed down towards the ocean
that makes everything else worth it
.. you know the whole sitting around, talking s***, drinking piss with mates part
who would wanna do that, I mean seriously

Me, whenever I went out fishing with mates I came back wanting to kill myself because of the terrible migraines and sore back I got from sitting on a hard seat all goddam day.

Sitting around talking s*** can be done most anywhere and I guess it just takes a bit more to excite me because having a water dwelling creature hauling ass away with my lure doesn't turn me on in the least. I'd rather jump out of a plane or go go-karting (which I do, the kart bit haven't been sky diving yet) & do something active. I fail to see the difference between sitting on your ass at a computer or sitting on your ass in a boat.
Twinsen
How's this for a paradox? Playing a fishing game on the computer??
you've just gotta prepare properly, take heaps of water, chuck sunscreen on, take a cushion if you're normally on a comfy seat all day
s*** it's not rocket science, make yourself comfortable

my mrs loves camping but will only sacrafice going w/o a shower for a day or two
we do overnight trips no worries and even long weekends, but going for longer requires a bit more prep
I got a camp shower (@BCF, good deal) so we can go away for longer, it seriously breaths new life into camping just because of the comfort level

camp shower btw RRP $450
on sale at BCF for $300
$50 off for club members = $250 = bargain

http://www.shopferret.com.au/cheap-34956021-Coleman-Hot-Water-On-Demand-Water-Heater-%28-2300B700XA-%29.html

escription: This Coleman Hot Water On Demand (HWOD) is a totally portable running hot water system. The unit has a built in water pump that is rechargeable and can be charged in your car while driving or at home (charger leads included).Water is pumped through the system then passed across the gas burner inside the unit where the water is heated in seconds. Providing you with instant hot water to make hot drinks and for washing up.
Available from Power Buys, Victoria

anyway, my point is fishing can be enormous amounts of fun or it can be incredibly boring but it's like anything - you need to go in with the right mindset and be prepared

last edited by tequila at 21:20:03 21/Dec/09
It might be fun it might not be my point is about the ads saying sitting on your ass at a computer isn't living when you're doing the exact same thing sitting waiting for a fish, sitting on your ass. The guy advertising needs a smack in the chops.

I like boating, camping and fishing all equally
Me too. I like them equally a minimal amount (ie, zero).

Actually that's not true, camping is OK. Even boating if I'm out of my mind on anti-nausea pills. But fishing?!
BOOST
I love the TV ads where they mock the kid playing games then say "thats not living! This is living!" and show a 100k worth of boat towing a wakeboarder. Stupid poorby kid, azif not buy a boat and go wakeboarding!
completely understandable
I've got a few different sets of friends for different occasions, I got mates who I could go and shoot pigs with and I've got mates who I could go to a black tie event with

at the same time I've got mates who like to climb rock faces w/o ropes etc, we just know better than to invite each other fishing/rock climbing
I don't like boating, camping and fishing all equally.
I love the TV ads where they mock the kid playing games then say "thats not living! This is living!" and show a 100k worth of boat towing a wakeboarder. Stupid poorby kid, azif not buy a boat and go wakeboarding!

Yeah thats what I was saying, stupid kid whats he thinkin.
Dodgymon
I personally love the ads. And the wow one used to be me except I didn't ever play wow.
2 years ago bought a cheap jetski and seriously was the best thing I have bought in ages. Now I have a near new jetski and boat and I use them almost every weekend.

These ads remind me of what I used to be like and seriously I am loving life a lot better because of it. While I am not much of a fisherman and most of the time I just get frustrated and give up, I do however love wakeboarding and tubing etc.

I have also lately been dancing with death on one of these.
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=HBa9wdOANHw

Also whoop your doing it wrong.

last edited by Dodgymon at 22:34:56 21/Dec/09
Being from Cairns, boating and fishing were a big part of my growing up. Not so much camping though. I enjoy them, but I can also enjoy sitting around playing video games all day. So yeah, I think the ads are dumb.

Also, BCF is an anagram for CBF. Just sayin'.
I hate boating, camping and fishing equally.

Not that it's that bad, just too much much f***ing around.....

Every now and then on my brother in-laws boat is ok since I have to do nothing but get on and then get off.
I would enjoy boating and fishing if someone else provides the boat and fishing gear and also baits the hook for me

I hate everything about camping

21/m/rap
i got a 50 voucher to bcf

Bought a 45 tent and 8 of sunscreen

Tent's a winnar!

I hate that ad = it's a good ad

Since we're talking about it, it's even better

All this talk makes me wanna go fry outside in the sun
camping is good fun :)

boating and fishing I can do without, unless its someone else's boat and rods
after years of exposure to all 3 as a child i now hate them all with a passion.
Even when I don't catch a single fish, I still love fishing.. just something about relaxing out in the open water throwing lines out with m8's drinking beer. it's the s***!
Some Fat Bastard
You can do all those things and play video games. If you find you have no time outside of playing video games, well then you suck.

I don't think anyone here actually sits playing games all day every spare moment. I know Trog likes to travel, well that's doing something, seeing something and experiencing something. I know some here love 4wd'ing, well that's doing something that must be heaps of fun and the comraderie is what most seek too. I'm all for people doing something that makes your body move and takes you somewhere new.

I love fishing, cause I'm good at it and always, always catch fish. Why? cause I hunt them, I learn about them, I treat them as much as prey as food. I also go to places I never would be able to without a boat. The eastern side of the bay on the water is magical, you feel like you're on a another planet. I like sitting in the boat, drifting, having a fish watching turtles and dugongs pop their head up. I like catching the odd fish I've never seen before, the colours etc. I like Fraser Island, Moreton Island, Stradbroke Island, I like rivers, creeks and streams, wherever there is water running or holding life I want to be there. I like to swim in crystal clear water. I like nature and to get to some parts of nature you have to go off the beaten track and out of the unit or motel. Part of the fun is roughin' it. Makes me feel less dependant on all those modern day worries.

Anyway, that's me. I'm sure you do what you do and that makes ya happy and that's all that counts.

Thank f*** someone else thinks they are retarded as well, they are f***ing s***. I do not have any inclination to go Camping, Boating or Fishing in place of anything I currently enjoy. stfu kthx.
Some Fat Bastard
^ EDIT: nah! thought better of it. I'm trying to stay happy and gay for Xmas. Whoops, that's right gay is no longer a word to use to express it's dictionary meaning.

last edited by Some Fat Bastard at 23:25:22 21/Dec/09
i dont like boating, camping or fishing
Get a life! Get down to BCF!
You're their target demographic for making fun of!

Bet lets be honest, you were never going to buy anything from them anyway, so they're not losing you. And the kind of people who are buying from there probably hate you... its pretty much win win.
Even when I don't catch a single fish, I still love fishing.

I like fishing, but if I don't catch anything, I feel like it's been a waste of time. I find few things in life as irritating as going fishing and not catching anything. A pointless exercise.
Dodgymon those things are insane, has someone got your qgl account details to post your R.I.P thread just incase?
Mantis
Have not boated much, doesn't really appeal to me.

Hate fishing, think it's barbaric and cruel. but each to their own i guess.

Love camping, do it at least a few times a year. Can't wait until i am off to fraser Island for a week on the 2nd. Got myself a hammock, some cartons of beer and the Zombie Survival Guide (also sticking with theme, the 2 Triffid books). Gunna be an awesome week.
i am too impatient for line fishing... i like spear-fishing though... no waiting! get in there n get the fish! :D
Haha the ads are target at all you f***ers

That's why you're all blowing up

I love them
fishing is barbaric?

do you eat meat?
demon, do you go Scuba spear-fishing? Or just out with the Snorkle?

Where do you go? I was looking into buying all my own Scuba gear (... for the past 4 years :p) because people I know go out Scuba-Diving all the time, but they usually go with Club/Shop dives and AFAIK most of the places they go you're not allowed to spear any fish...
Never been spear fishing before though would like to know more about it.

Do have my own boat, not that it's really set up for Scuba Diving, so pretty flexable with location.
Some Fat Bastard
When I catch fish I only keep those that are within the legal size, only my bag-limit and I bleed them no matter which species and place them straight into a slurry of ice and salt water to minimise the suffering. Can't say that about all livestock handling, especially battery hens and I'm sure most here eat eggs or Red Rooter or KFC which are from memory not free range chooks.

Anything after my bag-limit or I just have enough for a feed or three I throw back. I east seafood at least once a week.

last edited by Some Fat Bastard at 12:29:52 22/Dec/09
Some Fat Bastard
Another point is that most fail to catch fish cause they have no idea what they're after, where they should fish and when they shoudl fish. For instance to catch Summer and Yellow Fin whiting here's some tips.

1) These whiting like feeding in the shallow water between 8 inches and 6 feet.
2) They prefer sandy or muddy bottoms with either weed or lots of yabby or soldier crabs as they are bottom feeders, with an underside mouth used for scrapping sand and sucking up worms, yabbies and other crustaceans.
3) The making tide (incoming tide from low to high) is best as this is where feeding grounds are starting to be covered with water. The reason being is at low tide these sand or mud banks are genrally not covered with water which reduces the overfeeding of the site for at least half a day cycle. Thus more plentiful food supply as it's harder to get to, thus frequented by the fish when available. This is why King tides are even better as they cover grounds usually not covered for a whole month and thus have had time for the food supply to recover in plenty.
4) Use live bait like mud worms, blood worms, beach worms, pippies and yabbies. For dead bait use small green prawns (my least favourite approach)
5) Use a small long shank hook, I use size 6 (I prefer chemically sharpened) with a long trace between the sinker and the hook. Use a very light sinker to just get the bait to the bottom. In a boat drifting is more frutiful (except for winter whiting).
6) When the fish strikes don't yank the rod, raise the tip slightly and slowly. Let the fish take the bait and swallow it. After raising the tip to almost vertical just pull back a little bit more, don't whip and you'll have your fish. The best way to describve whiting is they are gut biters i.e. they east the bait and you hook the fish in the gut not the mouth. Take a lot of extra hooks as you can go through.
7) You can also use a piece of red tubing down on the line to the hook to a) increase visibility and 2) pretend the bait is bleeding and wounded.
8) Ensure your rod is at most a 3 wrap glass with a very light tip or for light surf rod a 4144 (4 wrap glass 144 inches long).

Now for Winter whiting, it's diff=erent, they prefer at least 10 feet of water or more and don't need the tide variations as much. However they are fewer in Summer and plentiful in winter. They are also a softer fleshed fish and are sweeter to taste than your typical sand or yellow find whiting. They are also much smaller but you have a higher bag-limit.

If you want to know about bream, flathead, squire, snapper, cod or anythign else, let me know.

Edited: Added tackle considerations and how to use your rod.

last edited by Some Fat Bastard at 12:47:18 22/Dec/09
QGL Fishing day?
Some Fat Bastard
Why not. I can take you to all my favourite spots in the bay, at the beach or in the rivers.
lol if you haven't clicked dodgymons link, it's worth a look.

The problem with boating (in particular), camping and fishing is it costs a f*** load to get all the gear if you don't have any and then you have to store all that s*** while you're not using it.

I'd rather just get a cabin at a caravan park, hire a boat if really needed and be done with it.
we've got a 21 foot cab cruiser perma-moored at SCYC too, excellent for getting out into the bay

keen+
Some Fat Bastard
I collected my gear over a long period of time. I have 7 rods and three different sized Alvey side-cast reels, plus one baitcaster for all different occasions and sites, beach, estuary and boating. I hate egg beater reels. It can add up but over time it lessens the impact. Plus once you've got all your major gear it's only tackle usually you top up with, line, hooks, swivels and even sinkers sometimes.

I bought my boat in '91, secondhand, it was a year old, but I had been fishing for a long time without a boat i.e. estuary and beach fishing. The other cost with boats is safety gear, radio and sounders which are generally can be had pretty cheaply nowadays.

I also use soft plastic lures and hard plastic lures. Catch a lot of flathead on soft lures like Mr. Twisters, the yellow ones with green flecks and two tails.
Some Fat Bastard
we've got a 21 foot cab cruiser
I've got a 17 foot Express (brand) aluminium runabout fitted out as a fishing boat with a 60HP Evinrude (It's a light boat which doesn't need anything bigger, saves a lot of fuel). They were made locally in Wynnum. The bloke has now moved to Fiji and is building them there. It draws only 8" of water thus I can drift over very shallow banks and navigate into waters a lot of heavier boats can't which allows me to catch the fish I want to catch.
demon, do you go Scuba spear-fishing? Or just out with the Snorkle?

Where do you go?

just the goggles n snorkel n flippers. i don't have a scuba license.

i just went n checked my speargun n sure enough the rubber is deteriorated n covered in cracks :( been ages since i last used it.

i used to go out (by boat) to the reef off dickey beach, caloundra... slim pickings though & that was like 10years ago :P i used to get a fe flatties n perch usually tho.

the most i've ever caught spear-fishing was fresh water in the condamine river. speared a heap of yellow belly jewfish.
Fishing is usually f***ing boring unless dynamite and drinking are involved.