Topic: Over the 0.05 limit the next morning?
Seven
Dirty news.com.au link

Drug and Alcohol Services South Australia drug, monitoring and research director Jason White said still being drunk the next day was a "significant problem".

The Advertiser tested three friends with a breathalyser, supplied by drivingmate.com.au, over the course of a night out and the next morning. One still was over the limit the next morning.

I've had this a couple of times. I feel great in the morning, but after realising how much I had to drink, it was possible I was still over 0.05.

Tips, stories, comments?

I removed the [news], plz don't use that tag; it is reserved for our news

edit: on topic, well duh - a) realise that sleeping doesn't magically make alcohol leave your bloodstream and b) don't drive while there's even the remotest possibility you're over the limit
I thought everyone knew this? North QLD Cowboys player got done the morning after his wedding when he was driving to help clean up.
yeah I can generally tell that I'm still over by the fact I'm sweating bourbon
then there's the whole massive headache/pasties/dehydration etc

if you have to ask yourself "Am I still over?" there's a pretty good chance you are
don't drink and drive kids
I had a big big Saturday night, woke up about 11 drove to my aunty and uncles for lunch and was driving home at about 4-5 Sunday afternoon, went through and RBT, blew 0.03 the cop asked me if I'd had any drinks at lunch time, I said that I'd had nothing since the night before but obviously he didn't know I'd been driving before that.
f*** doing anything the morning after a night out except sleeping, eating s***loads of toast and berocca and watchin old westerns
i have to admit, this is my main concern about getting caught for dd

coz i smash such large volumes of booze, im sure im over most next days

would like some easy way of knowing for sure
8 hours from bottle to throttle just isn't long enough when youre putting bourbons away like a champion

i assume im still over until at least midday the following day after a smallish night, and 2 days after from a big night. a big night being one that doesnt end until 5-7am, small night one that finishes around midnight
Seven

A home breathalyzer could be a good investment.
a car based one might serve you better
hef
imitation: the EXACT same thing happened to me this saturday.

Went out on Friday night - got buckled till like 4am.
Slept for a few hours - drove to Brisbane to see someone at like midday.. then on the drove home - got pulled for an RBT just near the PA hospital.

Blew 0.032 at like 5pm. Was very suprising seeing as though it was like 13+ hours after I had anything.

Lost my license once before for DUI, i got done 0.053.. yes thats right, over by 0.003 (was a few years ago, got 1mth suspension, $150 fine). I had actually blown 0.06 roadside apparently, but after the 20-30mins it took them to get me to the station to do the proper test, it had dropped to 0.053.

So glad I didnt go over again on Saturday :O

My brothers girlfriend got done the next morning on her way to the gym, ironically enough she was feeling s*** from the amount of piss she drank the night before and went to work it off. Lost her license for 6 months.

last edited by casa at 14:02:27 21/Dec/09
if you drive in the morning after a big one you get everything you deserve. :)
Had an absolute f***ing bender on friday night, got home @ 3am.. woke up at 7am to go to work.. I couldn't walk straight nor could I keep anything down unless I was lying down so I stayed home.. then missus nagged me to go to bunnings with her (she drove), ended up rushing to hj's to puke my guts in the toilets.. f***ing classy.
hef

I got dragged to the airport DFO.. felt squirmish so i ran to the toilets to find that there is only 1 s***ter?

So i puked for 5 mins in the basin. the red powerade i was drinking made it look like a murder scene.
i figure, if im gonna get done the next morning when i drive home/pick up my car, f*** it, i'll have some fun driving home that night

The body on average takes 1 hour to process 1 standard drink and nothing can speed that up so if you woke up in the morning and worked out you roughly had about 10 pots of heavy beer (with 1 pot being 1 standard drink if its 4.9% alc) and then 10 bourbon and cokes then you'll need about 20 hours since the first drink to have all the alcohol out of your system.

So you start on the turps at 6pm and you'll need until 2pm the next day to clear it all out.
funky
yeah a good friend of mine got done drink driving on a sunday afternoon, we'd had a 21st the night before and we went and played footy on the sunday arvo, he was driving home from that about 5ish and blew over .05 - was just lucky no one else was driving his way cos we all would have been over i reckon. that was what made me realise that the next day is bloody deadly for dui's
The body on average takes 1 hour to process 1 standard drink and nothing can speed that up so if you woke up in the morning and worked out you roughly had about 10 pots of heavy beer (with 1 pot being 1 standard drink if its 4.9% alc) and then 10 bourbon and cokes then you'll need about 20 hours since the first drink to have all the alcohol out of your system.

thats s***

i process alcohol way quicker than the average

ive been rbt'ed after drinking a 6 pack of full strength heavy beers and was fine a couple of hours later

i need a home breathalyzer

i think i need to buy one of those
Seen one on an autobarn ad for 150 bucksodd. Thinking it could serve two purposes - awesome drinking game AND driving indicator.
if you drive in the morning after a big one you get everything you deserve. :)

i drove home one morning pretty pissed & thought i deserved a bacon n egg breakfast... didn't get one though :[

Doesn't your metabolism slow down when you're asleep?
yea my mates mum bought him a breathalyzer for his car for this exact reason

we used it to scull straight spirits and see who could blow the highest.. haha

think highest was .45

obviously after a shot, so not accurate
that's an average spook, you're a bigger dude so your blood alcohol content would rise slower than if a 45kg azn chick was drinking the same amount.

you keep relatively fit too? that also helps iirc. where's one of the resident scientists/biologists?
I have an easy solution to the problem of "am I over" the next morning. What I do is, I have a big ol' swig of scotch, then I don't have to wonder whether or not I'm over. I know I am.
Doesn't your metabolism slow down when you're asleep?

Yup.
crazymorton
i had this debate recently with my wife. re "standard drinks" etc
the reality is everyone is different, size blood type, metabolism, gender, time of month (yes that's right ladies), plus a million other factors contribute to the processing of alcohol from your system.
imo the "standard drinks" detail on bottles etc is false (or flawed) advertising. no two people are alike and even though most people might consider this in their decision making there is also a large majority who believe the "standard drinks" spiel as gospel.
so they assume if they've had 2 SD in the hour they are safe.
safest bet is never ever assume cause you never never know!
stay home or take a taxi and save someone else's life because in most cases the drunk survives and some other poor bastard cops it!
i think mandatory labelling of alcoholic products with their alcohol content as measured by standard drinks is awesome and all you can really expect from the manufacturers/regulatory bodies.

if people are too stupid/lazy to understand exactly what that means, and that different substances affect different people in different ways then that's their problem. i mean, it's not like it's a secret. in every single alcohol PSA i've ever seen it makes that abundantly clear - not that you'd need a PSA to work it out, just having a few drinks with a group of friends will make this pretty obvious to most people.
Strik3r
i dont have science to back this up, but im fairly sure that if you drink say a dozen standard drinks over a 2 hours period, then 4 hours after you finish drinking do a BAC test, you would have LESS than if you drunk 12 drinks over 5 hours, then took 1 hour break before doing the BAC.

could be wrong though :>
Seven
I believe you are correct Strik3r. Alcohol stops/slows metabolism, so a longer break without drinking will sober you up faster.
Strik3r
excellent, my drunk-o-meter hasn't been lying to me all this time.
I got done the next day for DUI way back when I was 19. I went .06
Cost me my job.

No such thing as "work permits" back then.

we used it to scull straight spirits and see who could blow the highest.. haha

think highest was .45

obviously after a shot, so not accurate
Yeah, that's a bit too high.

0.45 the guy would be blacked out basically.
taking drinking advice from a guy named tequila seems like a bad idea to me... if it sounds like good advice, is that a warning that i'm still drunk?

edit:
i had one in my car for times when i realise a party sucks or drinking out late seems like a bad idea and a midstrength would do.

But they didn't seem too accurate without spending over $100 anyway, i had some 4th model from the lowest one, and it would give different readings depending on the angle, the blow speed, the moon etc. I'd try to take ten samples, remove the outliers and take the average. If i couldn't figure that out i'd just sit down for another couple of hours till i'd try again.

last edited by skythra at 01:44:46 22/Dec/09
f*** 0.05 anyway

surely being impaired should be the issue, not some retarted arbitrary level
f*** 0.05 anyway

Thats kinda what i was thinking, I have no idea how it all works, but the fact that you are still over the limit the next morning, when it could be 8 hours after your last drink, are you actually still impaired? I know its still in your blood, but is being say 0.06 8 hours after a big drinking session the same as being 0.06 1/2 hour after having a few drinks? does it affect your driving the same?
f*** 0.05 anyway

Tell that to the stupid drug driving laws... testing for trace amounts in someones bloodstream regardless of impairment.

The penalty for trace amounts of drugs in your system is larger then the highest BAC readings, so you're better legally sculling an entire bottle of vodka then driving at 0.3 then smoking a joint and driving 5 hours later after you have sobered up.

Stupid :S
reckon;

ive said it before and ill say it again;

"field sobriety tests"

test for impairment!!!!
The rate at which alcohol is excreeted/metabolised is hugely variable. Based on age, metabolic rate, how often you drink, body mass.

Aparently an overweight slightly older white male that drinks often will process it quicker then a young fit asian chick who only drinks once a year.

I am sure some med student can prolly dig up a book on it or something
problem with field sobriety tests is they are so subjective.

1. how would you define DUI
2. how would you test for it
3. how would you ensure consistent application of the test
4. how would you scale punishment with any degree of scientific rationality.
HerbalLizard
Had a hanous night the other night with the shot-ski and a bottle of Jäger, followed by some merlot and a few jars. Next morning was pretty chirpy but defiantly felt pissed. Did the usual walk to work.

Got to work had a chat with a work colleague and then said excuse me while I vomit and raced to the s***ter to expel the ruffians causing the disturbance and it was one of those loud violent spews too. Boss ask to drive the truck out to a client site and I explain that it wouldn't be happening until tomorrow or maybe the next day due to the prior nights antics. "That was irresponsible" he said, "yeap sure is much like that time you got arrested in Mexico and had to trade your watch to get out of prison for drunken disorderly behaviour"

I believe to recognise that you had far to much the night before and be smart enough to see that there would be some follow through the morning after

last edited by HerbalLizard at 10:22:15 22/Dec/09
Was the Boss unable to work the next day?
HerbalLizard
Nope he was too busy trying to get back to his hotel without beinh arrested for something else. I did ask if he took in a donkey show though

last edited by HerbalLizard at 10:24:35 22/Dec/09

last edited by HerbalLizard at 10:25:11 22/Dec/09
problem with field sobriety tests is they are so subjective.

1. how would you define DUI
2. how would you test for it
3. how would you ensure consistent application of the test
4. how would you scale punishment with any degree of scientific rationality.

the yanks seem to have it sorted

hahah talented drunk :D

(edit) an oldie but it still makes me larf :D

last edited by demon at 11:26:06 22/Dec/09