Topic: ABC's Good Game presenter, Jeremy Ray, axed

Don't mind that show at all. Don't plan to turn on the TV to watch it but whenever it's on I watch it all.

Jeremy Ray axed
Seems all pretty harsh. Fine if you want a chick. I don't think that's sexist. One bloke, one chick - represents the population last time I checked. It all just seems to have become like a nasty bitch fight though. You could argue that having two blokes presenting is sexist.

Ray said in a phone interview yesterday there had been occasional disputes over how long the show's game reviewers should play a game before preparing a review.

Out of interest, how long do AGN/QGL reveiwers play a game before a review? I reckon it should be at least half a day (very least). I know there's probably a lot to get through, but it's important to guarantee review fairness and accuracy.

Ray's co-presenter Steven "Bajo" O'Donnell chimed in on the message board to reject any suggestions the show was changing focus or direction. But he said the Good Game team was forbidden from saying more about why Ray was dumped as host.

“It feels unfair to us that we can't say our side of the story, but that's the position we're in and we understand and respect why these rules are in place in our workplace, or any,” O'Donnell wrote.

Interesting.
I haven't read the article but I watched this weeks episode and thought she was hot... And did a good job.

If he was kicked off the screen for political correctness that's bs. If he moved on to doing backroom stuff like they said on the show that's fine.
Pinky_Threads++;

no idea whats going on ITT

last edited by tequila at 11:48:39 30/Oct/09

Pinky_Threads++;

w0rd sister, but please don't use underscores in variable names, it's against our coding guidelines, kthx
not in LOLCODE amirite?

btw, Stephanie Bendixsen is hot - so I'm all for her being on tv

http://c1.ac-images.myspacecdn.com/images02/70/m_28b63f4dccf7456f885737c08f66bb10.jpg

can't you just picture her wearing a playboy bunny outfit?
cJay
This just wont be the same without Junglist! I'm off it and I don't like the asian chick if thats the replacement! OIC ^ yeah she's pretty hawt, move on nothing to see here.

last edited by cJay at 11:55:38 30/Oct/09
groganus
Out of interest, how long do AGN/QGL reveiwers play a game before a review? I reckon it should be at least half a day (very least). I know there's probably a lot to get through, but it's important to guarantee review fairness and accuracy.

SP - the game you should be completed
MP - depends on game

MMO - Should be reviewed in a blog style focusing on gameplay between leveling areas.. such as 1-10 10-20

Yeah, she's a cutie, but still, you don't get rid of your founding presenter.

No doubt there were a lot of behind-the-scenes issues though, as always.

not in LOLCODE amirite?

HAI
CAN HAS STDIO?
VISIBLE "HAI WORLD!"
KTHXBYE

ON CATURDAY
IM IN YR BED
I IZ SLEEPIN!!10
VISIBLE "Z!"
KTHX
KTHXBYE

It seems to be more like BASIC actually.
Good Game is an entertaining show without being too nerdy.
Adding a hot chick is something you would expect a commercial station to do.
Im wondering if the push has come from the gaming industry itself.

Why not just promote the asian chicka ?
Theres a pretty long thread on Whirlpool about this.
How do you put pressure on the ABC ?

I think incidents like these are demeaning to women because rather than winning on merit this chicka has won the job not because she is better than junglist but because shes a hot chicka.

Why didnt they give the job to Miss Megabyte !

One bloke, one chick - represents the population last time I checked.
Does it represent the demographic of their target audience though, which is overwhelmingly male I'm sure.
You could argue that having two blokes presenting is sexist.
We should go ahead and make sure that 1/2 of football presenters must now be female then I suppose...Have we thought about mulims and black people?
Special Text
It all depends on the game, how much depth it has an how long it should take to get a reasonable perception of everything about it.

eg: I only spent maybe 4 or 5 hours with Wii Sports Resort before giving the verdict wheras K-Man recently spent weeks playing Aion before finishing his write-up.

Any games that have really solid storylines, like Mass Effect, Uncharted or Half-Life 2 for example, I will always like to play them until story completion at the very least before getting a review up.

Expecting reviewers to never spend more than 1 day on a game review is just downright wrong - it's not like a movie review where you only need to sit there for 2 hours but the GG producers are obviously stuck in that old-media mentality.

last edited by Dan at 14:31:04 30/Oct/09
I don't watch this show but that sucks. I know for a fact that junglist attended LANs regularly and was a gamer. Whereas this chick is just in it for the tits.

Anyway I don't quite understand why you'd watch a tv show for a hot bitch when internet porn is ready to roll :) Also why watch a games tv show when the internet has way more up to date stuff.

THEY TOOK HIS JOB! DURR DUR DU DURRRR
Just watched the ep on iview and she did a cracker of a job as a presenter. I actually don't like the Bajo guy at all, he's enthusiastic but moves around like he's having a fit while talking. The yank was much better.
THEY TOOK HIS JOB! DURR DUR DU DURRRR

lols :D dey tewkiz jewb!@#! :D

never seen the show so i don't much care.

Just watched the ep on iview and she did a cracker of a job as a presenter

Just watched full Oct 26th show now on iView as well (you convinced me) - yeah, she nailed it. And the producers nailed it making her entrance look natural with a storyline and so on (rather than just out Jung, in Hex). Nah, she'll be good.

I still feel a bit sorry for Junglist though. I'm sure there must be some under-current of other problems that exacerbated into an unbearable state. For example, why did Jung go and not Bajo? It could have gone either way if they wanted a chick.
I think its funny all the nerd rage it's provoked, the show is (or at least seems) pretty heavily scripted, how much input do the on screen reviewers have? If they are just reading scripts i'd rather listen to just about anyone read it than Junglist with his stupid ameraussie accent.
It was a bit sudden, and I can understand why people were pissed. I really liked his reviews.

But she seems like a decent presenter and if its going to grow the show then best of luck to them. They really need to redo the opening credits though, they are looking seriously outdated atm.
jadz0r

This just in

The ABC has denied sacking the host of a video gaming TV show over his gender, instead putting the dismissal down to performance issues.
sad to see junglist go, he was the more serious half of the show. i felt like i could trust his reviews.

having said that though i would definately like to frag Stephanie Bendixsens clam.

http://www.facebook.com/group.php?gid=189532430599&v=wall

last edited by d0mino at 18:20:25 30/Oct/09
Whereas this chick is just in it for the tits.

You say that as if it's a bad thing.
Obviously yet another tit hater
Crusty old man
Whereas this chick is just in it for the tits.
I disagree with this. Not that I don't think she's nice to look at, but she has played games, and seems to actually give a s***.
i guess some of the jokes were auto cued but either she has had really good training, or shes a natural because she hardly ever dead-pans the camera, I reckon she will do good, but I am sad to see Junglist go. He liked Concord Dawn :D
FocaL
The show had one gamer (Junglist) and one actor (bajo).

Now the show has two actors.

if they wanted to add a female to bring some sex appeal to the show, they didn't have to axe old mate
he got the can for something else
Interesting.

Yeah, when it was announced 2 weeks ago.

It's cool Pinky, we can still be CBA buds.
To actually contribute something though, I thought Hex was alright as a presenter (not that I am regular watch of GG). The only thing I thought she could improve was that she sounded almost happy that those people had been retrenched from their gaming company/(ies).
Why didn't they drop the other f*****? I liked Ray a lot more than the cheeky bogan.
watched it lastnight on tv. chick is so much better than that jung fag. always disliked him.
Saw it last night. The chicka did a good job but its a different show now.
The show has lost a bit of cred and gained some eye candy.
gg junglist
Zy, everyone knows girls have no clue about gaming.
I've only seen a couple of episodes and I can't stand the show. Both of the reviewers are a bunch of dorky c*******s who have no charisma, charm or presentation skills.

If the show now has a pair of tits, it can only be an improvement.
Don't mind the show a lot, catch a cast of it when I'm bored.

Don't care at all that they replaced one of the presenters.
wtf.
I was expecting her to be wildly gorgeous after the way you loons were going on.
Seems awfully like a scene girl..

last edited by Damo at 19:15:38 01/Nov/09
That girl looks a bit chunky, and her whole back story seems a little contrived to account for her knowing a Chinese dick's worth about gaming.

That said, I'd go her.
Zy likes fatties.
Hashy
Apart from not being terribly attractive, she's also not funny, has a poor screen presence and is gratingly desperate to sound relevant. She's way too good for this show.
she's hot as you poofs

Yeah she's decent and anyone that says otherwise needs to reassess their taste I'm afraid.

As for fat. That chick is in no way fat. She's not stick thin either, but she's defnitely not fat.
Hashy
pretty sure you're all in love with a character played poorly by an uncharismatic but above average looking woman

but seriously you guys watch this show lmao

ps: shes not fat by any stretch
I just said she's 'a bit chunky'. It's not a deal breaker, I'd hit it so hard if you could pull me out you'd be the new king of England.
Hashy
You wouldn't need to be royally appointed by God to pull you out of a fruit loop.
Wow, your mum isn't very good at keeping things to herself.
Hashy
My penis is small too *hi5s u*
neimad
Watched the last Junglist episode and the first Hex episode on iView. Jung's laid back style is a bit dull and Hex adds energy to the show.

Both Hex and Bajo present well and the change is a definite improvement.
inept
I'll just leave this here...
nose ring

fail.
yeah she would be fantastic without the peice of s*** there
i endorse injecting a bit of tits into an otherwise sausage-fest.
she has child bearing hips. perfect for hosting a show about video games.
Based on what I've seen, they should can the whole show.
I'm surprised about the whole thing.

So much geek e-rage.

hahah thunder thighs + nose ring = f*** that

what a grot
ok i'll retract my comment about being 'fantastic'

i was myspace angled by that pic posted above

after further investigation of the video earlier in the thread, she's not close to fantastic.
she has a bit of personality, is not your typical monotone male nerd, and seems genuinely interested in computer games. give her a chance and as for her being a fattie, all those size 4 breakables lol f*** that
Vorador

Awesome e-rage over such a s*** show
Nathan

Too much script reading IMO. David and Margaret have it right with a scripted summary followed by (at least what appears to be) unscripted discussion of the game.
CSIRAC
And margaret being a dumb bitch that says nothing constructive. yep!
post a pic of your girlfriend.

LOLOL, girlfriends are for guys who don't have enough skill to f*** a different girl every week or two :P
Chris
hang the f*** on there Zy! you just keep talking this new girl up, whatsername and saying shes hell hot. shes incredibly average, shes got big boobs thats it. you just keep adding post insulting junglist.. well i sir would like to see do a better job dick muncher. by the looks of things your probaly whatsername's younger brother or something and you feel its being a good brother by bagging whatsername's competition... junglist started GG bajo didnt, bajo came in later... and any hardcore gamers out there who actually want an opinoin on a game by a highly respected gamer, then my best guess would be junglist... so stop bitching that your penis is too small and you will never get any friends, Zy

Jeremy Im really sorry mate for whats happened and from what i hear and i dont know if its the truth but from what i hear you got f***ing ninja'd, worse them someone ninjaring your kill on S&D on cod4. Peace homie i always thought you were better then bajo and i hope you can find work somewhere else
Rumour is the big fella has had some talks with channel 7.
if the ABC couldn't put up with his tardiness on doing reviews or re-arranging his leave on their whim, he doesn't stand a chance at Channel 7 I wouldn't have thought.

It's not like all of his ABC fans are going to go and watch add-riddled paid-for reviews done by him on 7. It was the independence and freedom given to the show by ABC managers that meant he could rate rubbish as rubbish. I doubt he'd have that luxury on one of the commercial channels.
Chris came here to pick a fight.
He would on the 7Two channel.
lewd
shes alright....

+1 on the posting ya missus pic b4 ripping da birds but.
Hashy
shes alright....

+1 on the posting ya missus pic b4 ripping da birds but.
LOLOL, girlfriends are for guys who don't have enough skill to f*** a different girl every week or two :P
Geez, i'd hate to hear what your opinion is of those who are married 0_o
If you manage to please them, they'd stay around longer FYI