When: 17th of October
Where: Ormeau, QLD
Meet: 8.30am Yatala BP

View Larger Map

I had this idea where we produce some kind of satirical video of 4x4s pretending to be rice burners, we could .. i dunno, pretend to have loud exhausts and blow off valves
then we'll post it on the internets

would the davwoo make it tehre?

i havent done much 4 wheel driving in it, but im thinking "yes"
you would have had more luck in your 4 door

needs more powah
that jokes been done already by ricers on 4wd's sorry
10/11th i'm going to be down in Levuka, 17th+24th i'll be in Cairns.
I'll just have to catch the next one.

One of the stars of said vid is now one of the subjects its mocking.
we haven't really come up with a date yet, it could very well be the 30th~
does anyone else have availability problems with any of the dates?
One of the stars of said vid is now one of the subjects its mocking.

yeah what a fag
So when are you buying a 4wd pave?
when i can afford a gtr nf

buy an sti, skirt
he will catch one eventually

oh snap
MatchFixa
Let me know how many bull bars i need to attach to my festiva in order to look cool & tough like you teq.
the answer is 7
have you seen the new wrx casa?

the ford focus xr5 turbo looks better than it
MatchFixa
With your mum sitting in it too - and that's gotta say something.
I'd sooner drive his mum than a new wrx
sLiNky
Count me in for any of those dates
ItsMe
Will there be jumps?

http://members.iinet.net.au/~billhiggins/public_html/photos/3.JPG

If so count me in.
The later the better for me probably, gotta get around to the lift, bash plates, bar and probably a set of offroad tyres.
itsme;

that photo is shopped

I can tell by the pixels and have seen many shops in my time

more jumps the better imo, i'll watch
thats a real photo teq.

chugger is the best car i have ever been in.

nice driving itsme.
MatchFixa
wow that is actually andrew catching air in the Chugger!

You look like you've gotten even bigger since last time i saw you.

What are you like 7 foot or something now?
Haha awesome jump itsme, massive air.
Heres a lil one of me most here have already seen it.
ItsMe
My now slightly bent front axle says otherwise teq.

http://members.iinet.net.au/~billhiggins/public_html/photos/5.jpg
ouch

where was that photo taken?
ItsMe
Janowen last weekend. They have quite a few jumps there with nice run ups. Unfortunately we forgot to take the camera into the "play" area where there were bigger jumps.
that's f***ing rad itsme
I know it's a Landcruiser and all but surely that must f*** the car good and proper :/
ItsMe
The car was already f***ed beforehand hence why we were doing jumps. The exhaust ripped off and a slight bending of the front axle was all the damage sustained for the weekend where our motto was, "If we see brake lights the driver gets a punch in the balls". A pajero had a go at a smaller jump and blew it's steering box.
so who got punched in the balls ?
http://unix.org.au/~brett/hilux/liftkit/high.jpg

im ready
alright, next Saturday 8.30am - Yatala BP

View Larger Map

4x4 meeting at the Yatala BP? Do you guys then drive off through suburbia and pick up the kids from school together.
^ lol ^
hardware
ahahaha
nice^
yes, we drive straight through suburbia en route to Ormeau where the kids are playing soccer ;)
sLiNky
So not this saturday (10th) but the one after (17th)?
I'm working this Saturday at the Home Show :(
17th of October, next Saturday peeps
Come and watch a hilux pull a patrol out of (hopefully) some mud
Yeah, that's too far away to commit to at this stage.
bump
Whats happening with this is it still on? Whats the plan?
yep, need to test out my new tyres

8.30ish yatala BP
just grab a park out the back somewhere

last edited by tequila at 15:11:28 14/Oct/09
forgot about this and dropped off my pedes and a bunch of other tyres at fourbys for sale
but I still have my trusty mtz's so it's all good
thats how im rolling too

this is why i need diff locks, from saturday @ glasshouse mountains power line track

sorry but the 4A-GTE isn't going to be in the feroza in time. Maybe next QGL offtrack
Yatala BP is bogan central. Not a pleasant place. Your 4x4 will get smashed by a Datsun.
in other car news my riceline is tuned tomorrow

i win
vbcoder
man, whoever was shooting that video sucks balls
Crusty old man
I have a feeling my new 2nd hand forester isn't going to cut it :)
Yatala BP is bogan central. Not a pleasant place.
wot
^ The Yatala BP is one of the closest things to a shopping centre south of Loganholme and north of Helensvale, imagine all the regular car bogans you normally get at a BP, except more, plus a bunch of feral middle aged single mums with the g-banger hanging out, and gangs of teens clad in black hanging around - probably from Eagleby. f*** that, Yatala used to be about the good pies.
dunno, I just go there, get fuel and munchies and meet up with mates and I'm gone
what do you do there?
fuel, maccas, dunny, and then staring at and judging people - this combo means I also have to repark the car from the bowser to a proper spot which maximises my experience.

last edited by thermite at 18:53:35 14/Oct/09
bet he likes to f*** "feral middle aged single mums with the g-banger hanging out"
yeah can't say I've ever spent more than 30 minutes there
the only time I ever go through yatala bp is when I need fuel or I'm meeting people before going somewhere else

imo thermite you have too much time on your hands
gamer
I dont support anyone have a spare drivers passenger seat and wouldnt mind dropping me back at the bp (where i'll have to leave my car)?
SirGollum
Room for one more ?
nah no fords with holden engines allowed
What about Jeep's with German engines!?
SirGollum
ahaha, dam, Ill swap it out for the mighty ZD30 then .... would that help ?
double the hand grenade pleasure, I like it
SirGollum
Should I order us a tow truck for 8:45 ? ;)
nah I only get towed by mavs
s'ok, all of your patrol recovery needs shall be catered for by team teq & toyota
sweet deal
hey worst case we call yours mrs to bring the bimmer down
amirite or amirite?
=]

Pfft, She'd take the Jeep and show you all up.
jeep is gone :(
being replaced by a mini in a couple of weeks

which reminds me, I kept the stock suspension bits for ya in case you want them for some crazy reason. can't recall whether you kept yours or what. just the coils and shocks, hers was only a 2" lift
I kept my stock Shocks and Springs, there in the shed somewhere... I think.
I dont know why though, but I guess it's nice to have if I ever get a defect notice or something...

Also, the reason I couldn't come to this was because I was going to pick up my Jeep, unfortunatly thats not happening for now...
Havent found out what i'm doing tomorrow yet (may have something else on.) Could ride Nav if someone had a spare seat.
I kind of have a spare seat
some asshat tried to smash my passenger window - it shattered but has so far remained intact. I'll prolly have to bust it out for tomorrow though cos I can't see through it and I might run over a hilux or something

so if the seat isn't covered in glass, it's yours :D
lol ^
I might run over a hirux or something

fixed!
SirGollum
Yea, I could have a spare seat too... So youve got a choice between nice and comfy or loud and bumpy :)
your patrol isnt even off road yet and its falling apart?
Hey, Looks like i'm getting boozed at the races tomorrow :o
Will have to catch you all next time, hopefully with my Jeep next time round.
not a bad run, thanks chaps
minor carnage to most vehicles, pretty much the norm for ormeau
Great job QGL!
i hear fords make pretty good hilux recovery vehicles
dirty old holden powered fords
gotta watch em
good day lads, we'll do it again one day when I get lockers
poor hilux got bashed around a bit :(

http://unix.org.au/~brett/hilux/ormeau/17-09-09/resize/IMG_1085.JPG

http://unix.org.au/~brett/hilux/ormeau/17-09-09/resize/IMG_1080.JPG

http://unix.org.au/~brett/hilux/ormeau/17-09-09/resize/IMG_1074.JPG

I will never disrespect the patrol again after seeing it climb what was quite possibly the most gnarly 4x4 track I've ever seen with my own eyes
heh raggin on each others brand of truck is all part of the fun ;)
specially when it's a rover
cept when they gang up like that mob today, see how friendly I was to them
Haha you love Rovers, Gives you something to pull amirite?? :)

Did you take them up mitsu hill?
nah we went up the right side

TOWER
OF
TERROR
tomsmum
pootrols are win
WOOOOHOOOOOO!
Thats thar s*** right thar. Totally Gansta :)

You remember my Rangie blew its power steering pump fanbelt going up there.
Ahh the memories.
heh yeh
not a great hill to have s*** bust on ya

I blew a sidewall about 5 minutes after driving it. would've sucked trying to change tyres halfway up that
hardware
teq i thought you were going to make that toyota last
tyres pop off the bead sometimes when you run low pressures off road
they pop back on pretty easily too, he was back up and running a few minutes later

and dents.. they can be repaired
or left forever - take your pick :D
I'm wearing it like a badge of honor (IFS Class)
tyres pop off the bead sometimes when you run low pressures off road
they pop back on pretty easily too

haha yea panel damage is totally hot. How HOT is Jims patrol, you just can't get that kind of detail in photos, must be seen in person :)
I wanted to come along but I was cutting down trees and had a bobcat around making a road through our property.
Do you have any panels left pete?
:P yea mate, I've even put my rear bar back on to stop the rear panels getting pulled off anymore.
Sadly the Rangie hasn't gotten much use lately. Can't really afford the $1000 dollar rego :( Just been using it on my property to pull trees and stumps out of the Brisbane river.

Should hear the roar the V8 makes, its like a tractor pull hehe.
My rear Dif is bleeding. Bloody rocks. I really need that lift kit :)

http://mongie.com/ulimages/bfi1255829228n.JPG

Also, I now know what was making the noise coming back on the highway. Front splash gaurd got pwned.

http://mongie.com/ulimages/bwy1255829350c.JPG

Nice work ET :)
Sexy Carnage
ouch ET

its only a Jeep though :P
It seems MrHardware that tequila jnr is going to be learning to drive in a s***box.
I've done a quick video edit as well but its taking forever to upload to Youtube. Mayabe I'm doing something wrong.
hardware
It seems MrHardware that tequila jnr is going to be learning to drive in a s***box.
yah
dented panels =/= vehicle pride!
my falcon is 9 and every single panel is original and straight and the paintwork is shiny as. you can't buy that, you earn it by being awesome.

last edited by hardware at 18:53:13 18/Oct/09
I get mates rates on paint & panel, its worth it for a good hill climb
kind of dumb comparing a road car's state to an off road car's state

complete crock of s*** dude, totally depends on the car's purpose
Bloody Youtube disabled my killer sound track :(
Oh well, here's the vid anyway.

kind of dumb comparing a road car's state to an off road car's state

that's hardware
Great vid - reminds me of the 4x4'in we used to do as part of the Mt Isa 4x4 club.. heading out busy, scaling up mountains, through creeks, etc - loved it all. Miss it a lot since moving out of there.
It does if its a 4 wheel drive. If it doesn't have dents it means its a soccer mums car for jumping the curb and killing children in 40 zones.

Awesome. I'd say I wished I lived in QLD so I could join in, but that would be a lie.
Jim didnt tip :(
Awesome. I'd say I wished I lived in QLD so I could join in, but that would be a lie.

Dont worry Chris, if we wanted your kind up here, we'd invite you. Did you get an invite?? :p

True that. It was called QGL day, not AGN day. Therefore I believe technically I wasn't invited.

Some nights one must cry one's self to sleep. There's nothing wrong with that. Real men can cry too.
http://unix.org.au/~brett/hilux/smashed-ormeau1799.jpg
well, the detailing makes it look all shiny if that helps Teq :)
here's the hill you missed out on ET
same car, same hill, different day tho =]

hey I should drop mine off at your joint for a free wash teq

http://jason.qgl.org/images/4wd/random/DSC01190-sml.JPG
Holy s*** Jim!
There is no way on earth I would have got up that hill with my car sitting as low as it is and only wearing ATR's.
haha mine looked much the same ^
a mate who owns a Jims car cleaning service dropped around and I fixed his laptop while he washed my ute

that tower of terror was nuts, its made me think seriously about getting a s***box 4x4 with coil sprung front & rears just as a toy
yeh that's what I should've done
jim you're far too balla for that old 80's s***