$0.99 or not
Lits
wut
Depends how brave you are.
Yeah just do that, get a friend with an ebay account to crank the bidding up if its going too cheap, thats what my wife does.
The reserve price is your fallback, gees.
^ shill bidding

I do it too, ebays f***ed and I dont mind rorting their gay system

whats the go with not being able to set a reserve?
whats the go with not being able to REMOVE f***ING PAY PAL PAYMENT OPTIONS!@!@!@!@!@!@!@$#@!@$!@%$!@%!@%
yer, the whole pay pal thing is pretty gay these days;

ive had a few sales pulled coz i specified "No paypal"

ive got an accoutn with paypal, just i got a couple of sus emails, which i forwarded off to their security mob, never heard back, so i deem them not safe to use;
RockitMan
Depends on the type of item and how popular it is. If it's a very popular item like an iphone or Wii or something then starting at 99 cent is good. If it's an odd thing you're selling then set a higher price.
whats the go with not being able to REMOVE f***ING PAY PAL PAYMENT OPTIONS

They actually tried to remove all the other payment options and make it paypal only, they trialed it somewhere and everyone chucked a stink as expected, they said it was to protect everyone becuase paypal is secure and payments can be taken back etc.

Obviously this is all just bulls***, and obviously done becuase ebay owns paypal and would make a f***load from the paypal fees.
paypal gives you $20k insurance (and stops the scammers) so quit your bitching.
ive had a few sales pulled coz i specified "No paypal"

I won't buy off a seller who says no paypal. Paypal as an option is a requirement of ebay isn't it (I always report auctions that say no paypal)?
I'm with Obes - Paypal pays for itself in security.
shame their security team is so s*** at responding to client requests
yes but they take a % of your earnings without even asking, much like a pimp or the government

They actually tried to remove all the other payment options and make it paypal only, they trialed it somewhere and everyone chucked a stink as expected, they said it was to protect everyone becuase paypal is secure and payments can be taken back etc.

yeah, "everyone" was the ACCC and they had to back down, whilst trying to save face
it was funny.
ive noticed a few trends when ebaying... been looking at ebook readers. some had starting bids of $250, and got no hits.

ones with lower or no starting bids, got alot more activity and went over $250.

i thought about writting an app to monitor this activty, spot trends etc. but it prolly already exists.
moobs, thats exactly what im interested in:

ive been having a chat with old mate who was laughing at me for starting all my goods at 99c, whereas i reckon that gets the business in:

i would be put off on any goods on ebay that come with a hefty starting bid

id love to see some numbers, comparing results
reserve is only for cars (not even car parts). its retarded.

you losers should read into paypal insurance. its a scam.
your culture should have more respect for women
fond memories of ebay and my wow accs till blizzard banned it :|
i agree teq
RockitMan
It's a well known fact that auctions starting at 99cents attract much more attention and higher end results - Ebay even advertises this fact.

People put an early low bid in or watch an item when it's cheap and then get caught up in the heat of the moment and can't stop themselves.

teq is right. Funny, I didn't hear a word about this while it was happening.

I'm on the PayPal bandwagon though, in general.

I did have one problem once where I couldn't log in. I kept getting a blank screen. I tried to resolve it with tech support, but forget it. I kept getting the same automatic response letters over and over and over suggesting things like, "clear my cookies" over and over again. It was tragic. It was clearly a web-site issue, which I tried to explain.

In the end I had to make another account, which has it's own pitfalls, because you can't verify two PayPal accounts against one bank account. *sigh*

I went back six months later and my original login problem was finally fixed. (I tested it every few weeks and it was broken for a long time).

I wish I had have kept the automatic emails. Would have made a good blog article. And whenever they sent me an email they sent me a follow up survey asking me about my experience with tech support, which I constantly replied 'Terrible', 'No, the suggestions didn't solve my problem', etc, etc. Hahaha. Nothing came of it.
The f***ing australian government monitors my paypal, they know how much money I have there :/
moobs, thats exactly what im interested in:

hmm, ill have a look on the weekend on how hard it would be to develop.
it exists already ^

theres heaps of ebay monitoring apps out there, most of them are crappy java/windows based things

some of them just monitor your own account, some of them will increment your bids automatically so you dont have to be there, some will just aim to get the best price

some will trend how much items sell for etc
any links?
cant remember the name of the one i setup to be honest, someone paid me a nice amount of money to do it for him though
I remember it being horrible because I don't run a single windows server anywhere in the world, so I ended up running it off an old desktop in my house on a dsl connection

the software he gave me only kept track of his account though
it would;

* list items that he published to the software (template driven)
* report how much profit they were making for him
* provided an API to use when creating a webiste

so basically he could register a .com and put a "shopping cart" on there, which drew all of its information from this software - but as soon as you click "buy it now" it asks for your ebay info etc

kind of annoying really