Holy f*** I can't seem to find a satisfactory pair of shoes these days.
I just want a black leather shoe, with the inside comfort of a skate shoe. I don't want any 80s multicolor patterns, pimp looking crocodile skin, pointy toes, shoelaces, or other stupidity on the shoe. This shoe would have to be usable as an everyday shoe, a business shoe, a club shoe, a date shoe, a sneaking around at night shoe.... etc... It can't make 'stomping' noises everywhere I go, either. I have such a shoe, but it's 7 years old and they don't have it in the store, the company doesn't mention it on their site, can't find it on ebay or even on google. To the best of my knowledge it's called the "Royal Elastics DLX" - I have two pairs of them (from Universal Store and Reebok Outlet). I have found a shoe called this on the net, but it didn't look like the same shoe. I have bought several Royal Elastics shoes since then, and they have all been utterly s***. Particularly they make them heavier now, out of plastic instead of leather, with a loud 'stomp' noise, and they add distinctive gay patterns to the shoes now which make them impractical. Seriously is it me, or are shoe designers stuck on some 30 year long LSD trip where they don't realise that people don't want f***ing hypercolor pink streaks on their shoes. Or an all black shoe with a WHITE toe?? Do I have to get a job as a clown to wear modern shoes??? It seems that for a black leather shoe that looks sensible your only option is to go the 'old man shoes' that feel like your wearing cardboard boxes on your feet. Theres no shortage of 'old man shoes' - Universal Store is even trying to flog old man slippers as a legitimate shoe. Could I get that DLX shoe replicated somehow??? Is there someone who will make me this shoe? I can't find a pic of the shoe but here are some similar ones (just imagine it a bit blacker and plainer looking) http://www.readyjetgo.ca/auctionimages/royal-men-1.jpg http://www.productdose.com/images/custom/sneakers2/royal_elastics.jpg http://www.groovyshoes.ca/Scripts/prodView.asp?idProduct=3234 http://shop.yumetenpo.jp/goods/d/news-week.jp/g/royalelastics02214-102/index.shtml This is the closest one: http://www.fixins.com/sneak_news/images/10_7_02a.gif except the logo and royal elastic name are far more subtle, and it doesn't have the stripey grooves in the side that make it look cheap. Next week we'll have a word about shirts. |
| #0 12:16pm 22/06/09 |
XandraX
It's really hard to buy clothes and shoes these days that aren't blatantly marketed to the homosexual community. It seems all the stores are trying hard to be "trendy" but are in fact ignoring the vast majority of us.
Is there anything on this page that takes your fancy? http://www.betts.com.au/catalogue/Traditional_1_1.aspx They're at Chermside and I've found their dress shoes very comfy. Their AirFlex shoes are basically dress shoes with the running shoe style gel in the sole. |
| #1 10:39am 21/06/09 |
Royals used to be awesome and exactly what you want but have had s*** designs for a while now imo. Nothing will ever be as comfortable as skate shoes however! Some generic black leather dress shoes I got some David Jones are probably the most comfortable pair of shoe with no padding I've ever had. Seems if it fits perfectly no padding is required :p
Oh or RM Williams boots are pretty much the s*** and will last a hundred years but I dunno if that's the look you're after. last edited by reload! at 10:44:35 21/Jun/09 |
| #2 10:44am 21/06/09 |
Gesthemene
I know they're not fashionable, but they're f***ing comfortable and survived walking all around Italy. Also, they come in sizes big enough for my feet.
http://www.hushpuppies.com/US/en-US/Gallery/NV/dress/MEN.aspx Give them a shot, you can normally get some decent ones in Myer. |
| #3 10:43am 21/06/09 |
Turn gay.
| #4 10:49am 21/06/09 |
black leather shoes for clubbing is where you fail
| #5 10:54am 21/06/09 |
Is there anything on this page that takes your fancy? http://www.betts.com.au/catalogue/Traditional_1_1.aspx No no no! Those would be the cardboard box shoes I mentioned. They either have shoelaces, or are too pointy, and they all seem to have a base made of something as hard as wood. Suitable for school kids, or old men with no style. They have to be stylish - just not multicoloured with stripes and bands and logos. It would probably help if I posted the shoe I had in mind. black leather shoes for clubbing is where you fail You clearly have an impression of what a black leather shoe is that fails. You are the type of consumer that causes the PROBLEM. last edited by thermite at 11:03:24 21/Jun/09 |
| #6 11:03am 21/06/09 |
I can't buy shoes in Australia, period
Since the age of 12, I've found *two* pairs of white shoes for sale in Australia that actually fit my feet There's been times when I was walking around in shoes a few sizes to small for me just because I had no other choice I will order every pair of shoes online from either Canada or the US from here on in because Australia is gay at making stuff to fit tall people thats my story, teq - size 18 shoes ps. http://www.skateamerica.com/store/View-All-Shoes-Shoes_C1084.cfm |
| #7 11:16am 21/06/09 |
Crusty old man
| #8 11:18am 21/06/09 |
CeMaX
f*** all that other bulls***. AF1's
| #9 11:24am 21/06/09 |
teq - size 18 shoes Surely there are clown stores in Australia. |
| #10 11:25am 21/06/09 |
black leather shoes for clubbing is where you fail |
| #11 11:40am 21/06/09 |
It's the Daewoo of clubbing shoes.
| #12 11:45am 21/06/09 |
I don't want any 80s multicolor patterns, pimp looking crocodile skin, pointy toes, shoelaces, or other stupidity on the shoe this is the wrong attitude also best gd shoes ever http://i182.photobucket.com/albums/x56/maxe1/USA/IMG_9636.jpg at least for now |
| #13 11:51am 21/06/09 |
I have no hope of finding a manufacturer with a clue if the average person is happy to wear the 3-stripe adidas shoe invented in the 1920s.
| #14 12:01pm 21/06/09 |
| #15 12:33pm 21/06/09 |
You have a turbo on your monitor?
Cool. |
| #16 01:16pm 21/06/09 |
You are the type of consumer that causes the PROBLEM. it's only a problem with the odd c***s that want to wear black leather shoes out clubbing |
| #17 01:22pm 21/06/09 |
Old-skool Converse One-Stars for the win.
http://i39.tinypic.com/16by3kl.jpg I can't buy these anymore /cry |
| #18 01:38pm 21/06/09 |
I like Maxe's kicks.
| #19 01:50pm 21/06/09 |
This shoe would have to be usable as an everyday shoe, a business shoe, a club shoe, a date shoe, a sneaking around at night shoe.... etc... It can't make 'stomping' noises everywhere I go, either. You obviously have not been to a club in many years. |
| #20 01:51pm 21/06/09 |
funky
onitsuka tigers = win
| #21 02:11pm 21/06/09 |
I can't buy these anymore /cry hahah are you 14 years old or something who wears that s*** |
| #22 02:22pm 21/06/09 |
putting all this emphasis on wearing trendy skate shoes - you make it sound like you will stay 18-24 forever.
Nothing wrong with black leather, it's so adaptable. |
| #23 04:26pm 21/06/09 |
Crusty old man
This thread makes me uncomfortable... this much conversation about f***ing shoes...
| #24 04:30pm 21/06/09 |
I am 24, so .. whats your point?
having size 18 feet pretty much limits me to wearing skate shoes 4 lyfe y0 |
| #25 04:33pm 21/06/09 |
louie
the new range of tan/beige dunlop volleys at k-mart are exciting at $24.83 a pair !!!!!!!!
| #26 04:36pm 21/06/09 |
Size 18!
Are you some sort of freak, how tall are you? |
| #27 06:19pm 21/06/09 |
HyperJ
Peter Werth Shoes I had a pair similar to those which I must have just about worn everyday for 2+ years, damn comfy. |
| #28 06:20pm 21/06/09 |
That's a little better, not sure I like the stitching, texture of the leather, and how the tongue part comes all the way out to the toe though.
| #29 06:24pm 21/06/09 |
I found some that might be alright.
http://www.zushoe.com.au/catalogue/zu_fashion_casual/FIRE_4.aspx http://www.zushoe.com.au/catalogue/zu_fashion_casual/JASPER.aspx and perhaps one day when I'm a superhero http://www.zushoe.com.au/catalogue/zu_fashion_casual/BRIDGE_2.aspx |
| #30 07:07pm 21/06/09 |
Nothing wrong with black leather, it's so adaptable. yeah they go with all sorts of black pants but thats about it |
| #31 07:20pm 21/06/09 |
6'8", so I can't buy a lot of clothes that fit properly either
shoes - no chance, clothes are hit & miss |
| #32 07:22pm 21/06/09 |
Tailor made stuff gogogo.
| #33 07:26pm 21/06/09 |
http://www.zushoe.com.au/catalogue/zu_fashion_casual/BRIDGE_2.aspx
that is the worst shoe ive ever seen |
| #34 07:28pm 21/06/09 |
the new japanese safety boot ^
| #35 07:29pm 21/06/09 |
mantrap is right, I can't believe we are talking about shoes here
| #36 08:43pm 21/06/09 |
I can't buy these anymore /cry ditto.. I'm 30+, but it's not like I've lost the ability to move around and apreciate footware that makes the s*** just happen eh. I was wearing Colorado shoes that were even more comfortable than my old skate shoes ~6 years ago.. they lasted 4 years which is good considering the miles I put them through. The things were as comfy as snowboard boots when I bought them eh. I went back to Colerado a couple of years ago to replace them though it seems they've either switched designs or manufacturers as these are a far, far less comfortable shoe. (my bad - was in a rush and didn't pay attention to the feel of the situation... just depended on the brand of the goods to deliver) I like feeling like I'm ready to throw the board down and pwn a 10km long run thru the snow whenever I'm walking around town eh. The brand built up something that wore long/well, and was surely recognised and felt by consumers that stuck with it.. these Collies just don't deliver like the brand once did. I've kept my old ones for gardening/mowing the lawn. Greatest shoes I've ever worn. I should've bought last edited by koopz at 21:27:58 21/Jun/09 last edited by koopz at 21:34:32 21/Jun/09 |
| #37 09:34pm 21/06/09 |
http://www.juliusmarlow.com.au
I find Julius Marlow are the best. They're normal not super gay, very comfy, and inexpensive. They're actually a lot cheaper than the RRP on their website. Forget shoes - where the f can you find a normal pair of jeans these days? My last attempt landed me some Industries which have no arse on them so they show your boxers sticking out the back??? Had no idea until I'd got them home :( Worse jeans evar. |
| #38 09:47pm 21/06/09 |
im quite a fan of Windsor Smiths, i got a pair of black leathers from them for my high school formal. now 4 years later i still wear them for work. https://www.windsorsmith.com/
| #39 10:08pm 21/06/09 |
maxe just because they were in fashion when you were 14 doesn't mean I'm 14. fashion comes and goes, style lives on forever.
as far as black leather shoes goes florshiem > julius marlow > windsor smith > all else. |
| #40 10:43pm 21/06/09 |
how much for the gazelle maxe.
| #41 10:52pm 21/06/09 |
I got some work boots, they're low ankle ones not the high ones that cover your ankles, they're big boots but the soles are soft rubber and can be sneaky if you need to be just ask the people I work with. They were also way more comfy than I expected but some of those inner sole things make them even more so. I think they're leather.
edit: wait, I just re-read a certain line I don't want any 80s multicolor patterns, pimp looking crocodile skin, pointy toes, shoelaces, or other stupidity on the shoeYou don't want shoelaces? wtf? are you 5? Since others have posted their shoes, I'm feeling left out so here's a picture of my shoes (no work boots in this pic) http://i296.photobucket.com/albums/mm190/pointyfork/qgl/P1000425.jpg last edited by whoop at 23:22:04 21/Jun/09 |
| #42 11:22pm 21/06/09 |
i wish work would let me use my runners man, f***ing love those shoes with insets and everything... hush puppies are fair win on comfort.. had a nice pair.. didn't look like old man shoes then mum left them out in the rain... next time i went to use them, moldy as fk :|
| #43 11:28pm 21/06/09 |
If that's directed to me, my work boots are leather work boots, not pictured there. I wouldn't even dream of wearing sneakers to work unless I really hated my toes being attached to my feet.
| #44 11:54pm 21/06/09 |
kos
florshiem > julius marlow > windsor smith > all else. Florsheim +1, especially if you want a shoe that will actually last you years. |
| #45 02:16am 22/06/09 |
DM
Try finding a pair of decent looking, resonablly priced shoes that are size 20. I get 1 pair every 2 years or so and thats it. Only company that makes that size far as I know is nike.
| #46 02:30am 22/06/09 |
jum
it's only a problem with the odd c***s that want to wear black leather shoes out clubbing yeah, god forbid dressing any differently from all the other f***wits in these places |
| #47 04:51am 22/06/09 |
So this is a whinge thread because you can't find the ultiamte shoe that fullfills ever role that a shoe would ever have to do, where everyone else in the world just sucked it up and bought a few different pairs to suit the occasion?
Why don't you just get the f*** over it and buy 2 or 3 pairs of shoes, shoes to fulfill each specific purpose. I know leaving the house and having to decide which pair to wear will be a major headache for you, but everyone else in the world is able to do it, so i'm sure you'll cope. Grow the f*** up. On another note, anyone know anyone who has a decent stock of royals? footlocker in the city used to have heaps of them, but these days, they're lacking. |
| #48 07:17am 22/06/09 |
yer, the reebok seconds store opposite the mater hospital
they dont have a lot of sizes, but have a pretty good range |
| #49 07:20am 22/06/09 |
vbcoder
may i say, that basketball shoes are the gayest f***ing shoes i have ever seen. seriously, what the f***
| #50 08:21am 22/06/09 |
thanks spook.
| #51 08:49am 22/06/09 |
vbcoder
shoelaces are for ratards. pointy & shoelaceless are the f***ing bomb. chicks love them. why would you want to walk on fat ass shoes?
| #52 10:18am 22/06/09 |
how much for the gazelle maxe. got them in usa for 50bux |
| #53 10:28am 22/06/09 |
Julius Marlow's are the best shoes ever, well at least the best I've had. For non leather types I usually get Globes or something since they are the most comfy.
| #54 10:29am 22/06/09 |
sparrow
shoelaces are for ratards. pointy & shoelaceless are the f***ing bomb. chicks love them. why would you want to walk on fat ass shoes? So much fail in this sentence. |
| #55 10:34am 22/06/09 |
yeah, god forbid dressing any differently from all the other f***wits in these places yeah i'm sure EVERYONE else is the f***wit |
| #56 10:36am 22/06/09 |
sparrow
Ps there is so much girl in this thread. Seriously, you all know more about shoes and the brands you wear than most of my girlfriends. |
| #57 10:49am 22/06/09 |
i actually own more shoes than petal
| #58 10:58am 22/06/09 |
Ps there is so much girl in this thread. Seriously, you all know more about shoes and the brands you wear than most of my girlfriends. most guys know the brand of shoe they wear, so that they can purchase that exact same brand again, later. |
| #59 11:18am 22/06/09 |
i <3 clothes shopping
| #60 11:25am 22/06/09 |
That's the first sign that you're gay.
| #61 11:27am 22/06/09 |
definitely the gay is strong with all this shoe discussion.
| #62 11:42am 22/06/09 |
OH NO PEOPLE HAVE A PREFERENCE ABOUT WHAT THEY WEAR
MUST BE FAAAAAAAAAAAAGGSS I ONLY SHOP AT WOOLWORTHS BECAUSE ITS THE CLOSEST STORE TO MY COMPUTER that what you guys sound like |
| #63 11:49am 22/06/09 |
Hey I just want one good shoe. It's people like grirriri trying to convince me to start a COLLECTION so I can dress according to mood.
| #64 11:49am 22/06/09 |
Regardless of what you "I-am-a-man-and-don't-understand-fashion" types like to think, shoes say a lot about you.
The shoes the OP is describing say 'I have given up, it's all too hard'. Cool shoes are essential to look and feel good. And saying it's gay to care about shoes...well ask any girl and she'll tell you shoes are a massive statement about who you are and whether you get a second look (if that's what you're after). I pretty much exclusively wear skate shoes in my own time because that's the culture I want to be identified with. However, Adidas Gazelles, Tigers and so on are also perfectly acceptable in my book. Other brands/types are too conservative and boring for me. But if that's what you like to project, go for it. |
| #65 11:59am 22/06/09 |
The shoes the OP is describing say 'I have given up, it's all too hard'. How so? If I'd given up why would I come here offering hundreds of dollars for a shoe maker to build me this shoe? I have found the shoe I want and I'm not giving up on it and switching to adidas you knob. |
| #66 12:06pm 22/06/09 |
plenty of lols all round in this thread
| #67 12:20pm 22/06/09 |
part of what vege said goes for all clothes
girls can tell instantly by what you wear, if you take pride in your appearance, worth a second look etc you can go on the 'zomg it's what underneath that counts' etc etc which is soft and pretty naive in reality first impressions make a difference, whether you're trying to pick chicks up or going for a job interview last edited by paveway at 12:32:50 22/Jun/09 |
| #68 12:32pm 22/06/09 |
paveways clothes say "hey baby I'll do you and your boyfriend at the same time"
| #69 12:41pm 22/06/09 |
maxe nothing says you're a poofter more than skinny leg jeans
i for one, do not wear skinny leg jeans. |
| #70 12:55pm 22/06/09 |
I can't help that think that people who walk around stairing at peoples shoes in nightclubs and judging them on them have enough issues for me to not want to take them home for a night of lurving.
| #71 01:03pm 22/06/09 |
i can't help but think how retarded you'd have to be to look at it like that ^
it's about the whole package lol package |
| #72 01:06pm 22/06/09 |
i can't help but think how retarded you'd have to be to look at it like that ^ What other way is there to look at it? Lift your head a little and look at the arse, tits and face and you might find yourself enjoying yourself a little more. Oh, and probably will stop running into low beams. |
| #73 01:06pm 22/06/09 |
haha, only girls look at girls shoes
| #74 01:10pm 22/06/09 |
haha, only girls look at girls shoes Is the same opposite true? If so I might start wearing dunlop volleys, I don't want some dude in girl cut jeans (Where do they fit their balls in them btw? The GF accidentally bought me a pair once, most uncomfortable piece of clothing I've ever owned. Maybe if I add the girls white studded belt or cloth strap type it'd help?) looking at my feet and thinking I'm awesome. Edit: Man up guys :D last edited by Syco at 13:16:05 22/Jun/09 |
| #75 01:16pm 22/06/09 |
girls look at girls shoes and guys shoes
i look at guys shoes too, usually so i can laugh to myself about how terrible they look compared to my shoes |
| #76 01:17pm 22/06/09 |
So, has the line "Nice shoes, wanna f***?" made a comeback? :)
| #77 01:18pm 22/06/09 |
sparrow
...well ask any girl and she'll tell you shoes are a massive statement about who you are and whether you get a second look (if that's what you're after). girls can tell instantly by what you wear, if you take pride in your appearance, worth a second look etc Do you two honestly believe this? If so, enjoy the type of girl you're attracting! I don't give a crap about what shoes a guy is wearing, and it certainly isn't what provokes a second look. |
| #78 01:25pm 22/06/09 |
sparrow, I just had a little dialogue going on in my head (I missed the post you where replying to) reading your post it went:
*Paris Hilton accent* Oh my god like the shoes he was wearing like they where like just totally like awesome. -Son: Hi mum and dad, I'd like you to meet my soon to be wife. -Father: *facepalm* |
| #79 01:32pm 22/06/09 |
I wear shoes for comfort not looks.
I had the best pair of DC shoes ever and they are technically still going after 3 years of daily use... rode BMX in them, wore them everywhere, they are on their deathbed now though. I cannot find anything comparable, DCs are now made in Vietnam or China... and they all look like balls or the quality is horrendous. I tried and tried to find a pair somewhere, anywhere and if I could've found some place that had a bunch of old stock I literally would have bought 10 pairs. Alas I was not able to and it saddened me greatly... I still haven't been able to find anything close either :( |
| #80 01:35pm 22/06/09 |
Whatever happened to days when men didn't care what a woman thought? Is this the whole divorce generation coming through, in terms of being raised by woman and thinking like one too?
| #81 02:18pm 22/06/09 |
Whatever happened to days when men didn't care what a woman thought? Is this the whole divorce generation coming through, in terms of being raised by woman and thinking like one too? Could be it, having to have the perfect fancy shoe (previously a female thing), wearing female cut jeans (hand me downs from mum?), wearing low cut v neck pink tops that would be awesome on a girl but .... on a dude? How long till we're expected to wear makeup? |
| #82 02:20pm 22/06/09 |
wearing female cut jeans (hand me downs from mum?), wearing low cut v neck pink tops that would be awesome on a girl but .... on a dude? there is a difference between dressing like a poof like that ^ and taking a bit of pride in shirts/jeans and shoes etc those 2 things (v neck shirts and skinny leg jeans) s*** me to tears (unless it's a chick) |
| #83 02:34pm 22/06/09 |
i wear clothes that i dig
i drive cars that i dig i make fun of clothes and cars that i dont dig im totally comfortable with that |
| #84 02:47pm 22/06/09 |
The shoes you are asking for sound like ugly grandpa shoes.
A lot of girls do check out your shoes. It may not be the entire basis of the thought process for them but it does help if you are not wearing dirty ugly shoes. |
| #85 03:18pm 22/06/09 |
Ps there is so much girl in this thread. Seriously, you all know more about shoes and the brands you wear than most of my girlfriends. I don't even know the brand of the shoes I took a photo of, seriously I wear them and don't even know what brand they are. I'm too manly for this thread. |
| #86 05:49pm 22/06/09 |
im reading this thread while chopping down a tree
| #87 05:56pm 22/06/09 |
Sover
Dunlop mother f***ing volleys imo!
Nice tidy shoe, very comfy and no gay patterns. |
| #88 06:21pm 22/06/09 |
http://img15.imageshack.us/img15/6922/22062009011.jpg
just cleaned them all didnt realise how dirty they were :( |
| #89 06:34pm 22/06/09 |
I have: 1x sneakers 1x trekking shoes for travelling 1x footy boots 1x thongs (which I think I left in Europe, just realised I haven't seen them for a while) 1x Birkenstocks, which I wear everywhere and are the only form of shoe I give a s*** about I hate wearing shoes and everything about shoes, especially the buying of them but also especially talking about them. Also this thread. |
| #90 06:42pm 22/06/09 |
i like where this thread is going
tonight i will post all my shoes get ready |
| #91 06:48pm 22/06/09 |
1x Birkenstocks, which I wear everywhere and are the only form of shoe I give a s*** aboutThe only acceptable uses for these are on the feet of chefs or surgeons. |
| #92 06:52pm 22/06/09 |
i have like nice dress shoes and volleys and soccer boots and steel caps and thongs too, lets post them !
| #93 07:02pm 22/06/09 |
not bad exi except what the f*** at the black grey and pink :| I generally don't really care about colours, but a guy should never have s*** with pink on it, that's just a 100% female colour imo..
the amount of f***wit ~18year olds i see wearing vneck pink shirts half way down their chest, puffed / spiked hair thinking their top s*** just cracks me up. meanwhile this thread reminds me that i need to go get some good brown shoes last edited by Raider at 19:31:30 22/Jun/09 |
| #94 07:31pm 22/06/09 |
The only acceptable uses for these are on the feet of chefs or surgeons birkenstocks? you mean those fugly shoes that look like they might be comfortable if your feet are 100% callus? why would they be suitable for surgeons? what happens when they drop a syringe or the like? |
| #95 07:47pm 22/06/09 |
its light blue, they are just dirty
the pink tick is legit, ur not cool enough gayder. |
| #96 07:54pm 22/06/09 |
any of the open ones I dont know about but grown men shouldn't wear f***en sandals. Im talking about the clogs that help keep your knees and back from giving out after standing on hard floors for 6+hrs.
http://www.birkenstockusa.com/images/products/6019.jpg They are f***en ugly but they are comfortable which is all that matters. |
| #97 07:57pm 22/06/09 |
Alright, here's what you've all been waiting for. This is the shoe that made me start this thread. I give you - the holy grail of shoes:
http://i856.photobucket.com/albums/ab124/drfail/royal_elastics_dlx_1.jpg http://i856.photobucket.com/albums/ab124/drfail/royal_elastics_dlx_2.jpg And here are the piece of s*** shoes I bought to try and replace them: http://i856.photobucket.com/albums/ab124/drfail/royal_elastics_ironfist.jpg Minus the chunky base, the white, the gay, the plastic and maybe we'd have something here, but it's been dissapointing. |
| #98 08:42pm 22/06/09 |
those bottom ones are ok i guess
| #99 08:45pm 22/06/09 |
Someone can't tie shoe laces.
| #100 08:50pm 22/06/09 |
thermite, those original pair of shoes are quite possibly the most imbred pair of shoes i've ever seen.
| #101 09:31pm 22/06/09 |
yeah they are pretty s***.
| #102 09:42pm 22/06/09 |
here are some of my shoes
this is where i look like a hypocrite for saying other people wear kids shoes http://i182.photobucket.com/albums/x56/maxe1/IMG_5220_1024.jpg comfy, convenient, somewhat waterproof too. daily hack s*** http://i182.photobucket.com/albums/x56/maxe1/IMG_4439_1024.jpg super comfy, dont wear them that much anymore cos you cant rock them with jeans http://i182.photobucket.com/albums/x56/maxe1/IMG_4432_1024.jpg clubbing i guess. the only clubs that dont let me in for wearing these are the clubs i dont really want to go to anyway http://i182.photobucket.com/albums/x56/maxe1/IMG_1702_1024.jpg newest purchase, diggin them pretty hard plus some old stuff i dont really wear anymore http://i182.photobucket.com/albums/x56/maxe1/hdr/CRW_5148_49_501_1024.jpg |
| #103 09:45pm 22/06/09 |
this is where i look like a hypocrite for saying other people wear kids shoesyes, yes you do. |
| #104 09:51pm 22/06/09 |
yes, yes you do. you were right when you said that fashion was different from style you were wrong thinking those cons represented the latter, and not the former |
| #105 09:54pm 22/06/09 |
and thats where it becomes opinion, and where you become wrong.
| #106 10:03pm 22/06/09 |
qmass I have a pair of those in white, awesome.
| #107 10:52pm 22/06/09 |
qmass I have a pair of those in white, awesome.NO! NOT AWESOME! I think they look pretty stupid and I wouldn't wear them unless I was working. gb2scandanavia. (unless you wear them for work :O) last edited by qmass at 23:12:28 22/Jun/09 |
| #108 11:12pm 22/06/09 |
Crusty old man
Oh ffs people, I have 100 posts per page, and we're on page 2...
Man the f*** up and start talking about having sex with people all murdering small animals or both simultaneously! |
| #109 11:38pm 22/06/09 |
i had sex with mantra
| #110 12:45am 23/06/09 |
while wearing these of course:
http://earthskyknitter.files.wordpress.com/2007/06/crocs.jpg |
| #111 12:46am 23/06/09 |
Crusty old man
Those sandals are hawt....
NOT! |
| #112 01:54am 23/06/09 |
maxe, sorry but your shoes are all gay.
| #113 07:24am 23/06/09 |
The virgin is high in this thread.
Nothing manly about not looking after your appearence. Neither is wondering around the club aka THE JUNGLE (manly) like a bitch or sitting in the corner with 5 dudes (bitches). Keep telling yourself you are manly. You just look like a bunch of pussy virgins hoping someone is gonna see your stuff on the inside lawlll. Back in the old days cats used to get their shoes shined on the way to work and stuff. They were high maintenence dudes. RE: Skinny leg jeans - they are fine. They don't suit me because my middle name is QUADZILLA but they go good for some dudes. Clint Eastwood and James Dean wore skinny legs ffs the only thing un-manly is being a self conscious bitch that tries to blend in with the crowd. |
| #114 09:05am 23/06/09 |
btw thermite those things are f***ing horrid I can't believe you made a thread around them.
| #115 09:06am 23/06/09 |
sparrow
The virgin is high in this thread. I didn't understand any of this post. Only thing I got was you approve of skinny leg jeans, and so I'm naturally inclined to ignore everything else. |
| #116 09:48am 23/06/09 |
nitro spot on +11ty billion you're not awesome or manly because you don't care how you look, you just come across as a deads*** i think i've been ruined for skinny jeans (not that i could wear them if i liked then anyway) because the majority of people that wear them are little emo poofters with their fake black hair, fringes and peirced bottom lip etc last edited by paveway at 10:55:03 23/Jun/09 |
| #117 10:55am 23/06/09 |
maxe, sorry but your shoes are all gay. southsiders have no style |
| #118 10:44am 23/06/09 |
nowai
| #119 10:49am 23/06/09 |
R33's and daewoo's say it all imo
| #120 10:54am 23/06/09 |
you're not awesome or manly because you don't care how you look, you just look like a deads***shrug; its not about being awesome or manly - I just don't care. I dress like a homeless person most of the time and I don't give a s*** - 99.9999% of the people that are ever going to see me out in public, I don't give a f*** what they think about how I look. Any chicks that are shallow enough to care that I'm wearing birkenstocks or sneakers and not some pair of $200 pumas, made by child slave labour in Tadzikistan out of 30 cents of raw materials, I don't want to know anyway. I know how to get dressed up so I look presentable when its necessary... but my philosophy on clothes is, life's too short to waste time trying to find matching socks. |
| #121 11:00am 23/06/09 |
Any chicks that are shallow enough to care that I'm wearing birkenstocks or sneakers and not some pair of $200 pumas, made by child slave labour in Tadzikistan out of 30 cents of raw materials, I don't want to know anyway. That deserves my second Amen for the day. |
| #122 11:03am 23/06/09 |
ok deads*** was a bit strong
but first impression (ie. what they see, before they have spoken to you) counts for heaps. regardless of how shallow or not they are |
| #123 11:04am 23/06/09 |
goddamn i can't beleive the OP made a thread about those shoes. they are awful.
i don't put any effort into what i look like/wear unless i'm going out or meeting someone important or something. doesn't mean i look like a deads*** or anything, it's pretty damn easy to look alright without putting much effort into it for day-to-day s***. if you can't do that then you have bigger problems anyway. pave, nitro n those do sort of sound like f***tards lecturing others on what they wear over the net, but really it shouldn't be that hard to look mad decent without putting too much effort in. edit: and that doesn't mean wearing whatever's in style or what the homos at the mono are wearing. it means wearing whatever the f*** you want as long as you like it and can pull it off. last edited by taggs at 11:12:19 23/Jun/09 |
| #124 11:12am 23/06/09 |
sparrow
ok deads*** was a bit strong Sure, but not your clothes or shoes. |
| #125 11:28am 23/06/09 |
ok if that helps you sleep at night
when you see a hot chick dressed well, you'll be turning your head 180º as she walks past as oppose to the same chick in trackies etc i know for a fact when i see a chick out thats dressed really well she'll catch my eye before others around her why doesn't that work both ways? still hoping being a nice guy is going to work out for you sparrow? last edited by paveway at 11:33:04 23/Jun/09 |
| #126 11:33am 23/06/09 |
but first impression (ie. what they see, before they have spoken to you) counts for heaps. regardless of how shallow or not they areThat's one of the reasons why I don't bother - so when people actually talk to me they realise I'm not a deads*** and learn to not base their opinions on how people look like the time I bought my car a few years ago, I walked into the caryard in shorts and a singlet... the first guy didn't want to know about me, then I spoke to some other super helpful guy that obviously didn't discard me immediately on sight. After about 60 seconds of actually talking to me, he realised I was ACTUALLY there to buy a car RIGHT THEN, which I then proceeded to do. I bet the next time someone walks in in a singlet that first guy actually bothers to talk to them. I tested the theory again slightly on thje weekend at Nissan - I wasn't even dressed badly, just had my bandana on and didn't look like a rich schmuck - noone wanted to talk to me other than to make sure I wasn't going to get my fingerprints on their shiny new cars. losers |
| #127 11:34am 23/06/09 |
nissan have the new 370Z and GTR on their showroom floors so they think they're all king s***.. not all nissans have gtrs actually, only moorooka in brisbane..
| #128 11:46am 23/06/09 |
i dunno. it's fair to assume that some girls would put 100% weight on their first impressions of you, some wwould put 0%, and the rest would fall somewhere in between.
putting heaps of effort into your clothes to try and get girls to notice you is a pretty s*** reason imo. if you have a clue then you'll be able to look presentable without putting too much effort in. if you've got what a girl is looking for i don't think your choice of shoes or whether or not you have the latest ksubi jeans is going to overly bother her. |
| #129 11:47am 23/06/09 |
sparrow
still hoping being a nice guy is going to work out for you sparrow? Yeah, cause I'm a nice guy ;) Worked out pretty well for me so far :D +1 for what taggs said |
| #130 12:14pm 23/06/09 |
Go to Hype in the city, if you can't find shoes there that you like, chances are you shouldn't be wearing shoes then. Or you don't have feet. But chances are you're just a f***en grot. |
| #131 12:16pm 23/06/09 |
Appearence has a big effect when dealing with both men and women.
With women, showing you understand fashion shows you understand women. That said, if you understand it more then her then that's a problem lol. I do sound like an arse and hope you all take it with a pinch of salt but I can afford to be because I used to be on the other side with this debate. I never used to give a s*** about my appearence when I was younger. The last thing I wanted to do was draw attention to my looks. Then I started trying different clothes and hair cuts etc. At first everyone points at you because they can tell you are trying to make an effort but it is something that you perfect over the years until you find out what really suits you and you will feel like a million bucks. Most people are too scared of drawing attention. It is natural to take care of your appearence. Just look in the animal kingdom. If you are scared of drawing attention to yourself then you have an unhealthy ego. Ego's are often too big but they can also be too small. I notice some people on here try to take this holier-than-thou attitude with these so called "shallow girls" blah blah meanwhile they sit there posting their spoot shrines on the internet. If any of those spoot girls approached them in real life I doubt there would be much resistance! It's really funny to generalise so many women as shallow for taking an interest in your appearence or 'manliness', yet I'm sure you are sick of the nerd stereotypes. That, to me is shallow to generalise so many people you could have the opportunity to meet yet you never will. |
| #132 12:28pm 23/06/09 |
i think i've been ruined for skinny jeans (not that i could wear them if i liked then anyway) because the majority of people that wear them are little emo poofters with their fake black hair, fringes and peirced bottom lip etc dude you dont have to get skin tight skinnies, just get some straight cut s*** my jeans arent even skinnies , they just arent the baggy jay-hova thug life s***s i used to wear |
| #133 12:30pm 23/06/09 |
you only need to draw attention to yourself if you want it; or if you're < 6foot tall
| #134 12:31pm 23/06/09 |
nitro knows what is what
any edge you can get over the guy next to you is +1 dude you dont have to get skin tight skinnies, just get some straight cut s*** i prefer flaired jeans, i was devo when levis stopped making 520's but they have hit back with 522 flairs now |
| #135 12:36pm 23/06/09 |
if you are wearing an item of clothing that a chick digs, you sometimes get a compliment and sparks a conversation.. If you make the first move however, it shouldn't matter what you're wearing as it's your personality that wins them over..
personally when I go shopping or whateva, i don't give a s*** what I'm wearing cause I'm not out to impress anyone.. When I go out with friends, I make an effort to dress appropriately for the occasion though. |
| #136 12:49pm 23/06/09 |
one of my advantages is not using the word devo
| #137 12:49pm 23/06/09 |
but you're married so any advantage gained is instant cancelled out
| #138 12:52pm 23/06/09 |
sparrow
With women, showing you understand fashion shows you understand women. Wow. Just no. You honestly believe that understanding fashion is the same as understanding women? Most people are too scared of drawing attention. I don't need to wear fashionable clothes to draw attention to myself, and I'm more interested in the type of person who notices me because of what I'm doing, not what I'm wearing. It's really funny to generalise so many women as shallow for taking an interest in your appearence or 'manliness', yet I'm sure you are sick of the nerd stereotypes. That, to me is shallow to generalise so many people you could have the opportunity to meet yet you never will. I love the nerd stereotype - but obviously everyone gets sick of stereotypes after a while. I enjoy proving people wrong when they assume I'm just a geek, or I'm just hot, or just shallow. However, you're welcome to the women who are talking to you because you have 'fashionable' shoes. I've met too many people who think that they have an advantage talking to me because they're dressed fashionably, when they're dead boring. |
| #139 12:53pm 23/06/09 |
reminds me
wore this ben sherman jacket out on the weekend that i hadnt worn before people were going apes*** over it. birds came up and were like hey cool jacket and i was like hey can i go in front of you at the bar and they were perplexed |
| #140 12:53pm 23/06/09 |
but you're married so any advantage gained is instant cancelled outkeeps me married? |
| #141 12:57pm 23/06/09 |
haha still completely missing the point sparrow
attention wise it doesn't have to be about wearing something totally f***ing out there or cutting your hair into a mohawk, eg. i don't wear black or grey shirts pretty much ever, generally have bright good colours or designs just that little things that grabs a chicks attention like a chick in a dress or whatever would grab your attention over some chick in jeans (not ragging on jeans just for comparison) works both ways is basically what the point of all this is. nitro's point about you c***s posting spoot shines was on the money |
| #142 01:04pm 23/06/09 |
sparrow
haha still completely missing the point sparrow So basically you wear nice shoes to get into chicks pants (or dresses in this case)? If that works for you, go for it. I've never met anyone worth knowing when I'm out clubbing who was attracted to me because of my clothes. Hence not giving a s*** about what I wear most of the time. |
| #143 01:11pm 23/06/09 |
With women, showing you understand fashion shows you understand women. LOL. most of what you were saying was pretty reasonable. then you busted that line out. edit: works both ways is basically what the point of all this is. nitro's point about you c***s posting spoot shines was on the money as opposed to you rocking up to every thread with a pic of a girl in it and posting pics of your own scrub conquests and expecting everyone else to comment on it. last edited by taggs at 13:16:49 23/Jun/09 |
| #144 01:16pm 23/06/09 |
read what i am saying dips***
i never said any chick wants to root anyone because of the clothes they wear, that is retarded no one has said that in this thread except you ah yeah as opposed to that taggs, one happened irl the other is nerds fantasy on the internet quite the opposite actually, how observant last edited by paveway at 13:19:10 23/Jun/09 |
| #145 01:19pm 23/06/09 |
Wow. Just no. You honestly believe that understanding fashion is the same as understanding women? Not what I said but I cbf going into it because you are too damaged to change your attitude. |
| #146 01:18pm 23/06/09 |
i never said any chick wants to root anyone because of the clothes they wear, that is retarded Yet it has been alluded to many a time in this thread. |
| #147 01:18pm 23/06/09 |
I listen to Blink 182, that s*** is deep.
| #148 01:21pm 23/06/09 |
just having a mild dig cause you always come across as such a tard in these threads :D
if they don't get what you're on about then like i said earlier they've probably got bigger problems anyway. dunno why you bother so much. seriously, most people here are agreeing with you and nitro to a certain extent. but some of the things that have been said are just so retarded. |
| #149 01:22pm 23/06/09 |
still talking about fashion and shoes and stuff in here. great work (fags)!
| #150 01:24pm 23/06/09 |
it can lead to root mmmkay... "hey nice shirt" "thanks baby, wanna f***??" "yeah sure"
| #151 01:26pm 23/06/09 |
we're not even being unreasonable, it's just tard turn it straight into
GIRL WILL ROOT YOU BECAUSE OF CROCODILE ON YOUR SHIRT etc |
| #152 01:28pm 23/06/09 |
Not what I said but I cbf going into it because you are too damaged to change your attitude. he's 'damaged' cause he has a different opinion to you when it comes to fashion? but because you understand fashion it shows that you understand women? hahaha, keep posting you're f***ing awesome |
| #153 01:28pm 23/06/09 |
hi5, pave.
Alright this has caused quite a stir: With women, showing you understand fashion shows you understand women. What it demonstrates is that you are a contender. A strong appearence gives the impression of confidence, organisation and success. That is +3 on the guy in his sloppy joe. It doesn't mean she wants to sleep with you but it does plant the idea in her mind that you have women in your life (IMPORTANT!). If she thinks you have women in your life then she will think you understand women (more ++). This gives her the idea that you aren't a failure (+1), aren't creepy (+1), you might be a 'catch' (+1) if you sleeps with you even for a 1 night stand you less likely to ask her to marry you because she thinks you have other options (+1) I COULD GO ON. Now this doesn't mean you're getting layed because you can totally f*** it up without even opening your mouth if you aren't confident inside like your appearence but they will behave differently to you. |
| #154 01:37pm 23/06/09 |
don't f***in mistake what he just said as CLOTHES = ROOT there are so many other factors, but it's a f***in advantage big or small |
| #155 01:42pm 23/06/09 |
sparrow
I think you're stereotyping women. Sure there are some females who would react like that. There are also others who probably think you look like a tosser who has put more effort into your outfit that she has. It all comes down to which type of woman you're trying to impress. I personally go for the laid back type. |
| #156 01:42pm 23/06/09 |
What it demonstrates is that you are a contender. A strong appearence gives the impression of confidence, organisation and success. That is +3 on the guy in his sloppy joe. It doesn't mean she wants to sleep with you but it does plant the idea in her mind that you have women in your life (IMPORTANT!). If she thinks you have women in your life then she will think you understand women (more ++). This gives her the idea that you aren't a failure (+1), aren't creepy (+1), you might be a 'catch' (+1) if you sleeps with you even for a 1 night stand you less likely to ask her to marry you because she thinks you have other options (+1) I COULD GO ON. yeah but that's common sense and totally different to what you originally said edit: well some of it is common sense and some of it is pure conjecture. but either way i'm loving your self-help e-lectures via qgl. you should start a 10-point program! last edited by taggs at 13:45:16 23/Jun/09 |
| #157 01:45pm 23/06/09 |
existence you have a fetish for Nike Air Force one (that's what they look like to me) or something? Not that there's anything wrong with it, I dig old school sneakers also :) Also thermite that bottom ones are ok IMO.
| #158 02:09pm 23/06/09 |
Also I like maxe's selection of shoes, except the Vans shoes..... they're ugly.
| #159 02:11pm 23/06/09 |
i think i've been ruined for skinny jeans (not that i could wear them if i liked then anyway) because the majority of people that wear them are little emo poofters with their fake black hair, fringes and peirced bottom lip etc yeah well where the f*** do you hang out? go to some nice respectable places (i.e not the family) and u will see that slim fit jeans are really fashionable (go try buy any tsubi/ksubi/se7en/paper denims that arent the slim fit. its the fashionable cut of jeans. deal with it. last edited by existence at 14:20:35 23/Jun/09 |
| #160 02:20pm 23/06/09 |
lol poof ^
i'm not a fan, i prefer a bit of flair at the bottom just looks a bit classier rather than trying to be fasionable imo last edited by paveway at 14:27:07 23/Jun/09 |
| #161 02:27pm 23/06/09 |
flare at the bottom? youre f***ing kidding me right
| #162 02:32pm 23/06/09 |
yes existence, flaired jeans
levis 520/522 i don't subscribe to straight leg jeans, never have and bootcut is boring |
| #163 02:37pm 23/06/09 |
I prefer pants with large bell bottoms to cover the pink jizz pattern on my shoes
| #164 02:48pm 23/06/09 |
yeh flared jeans are kinda s*** dino
noone can see ur lacostes for starters |
| #165 03:05pm 23/06/09 |
Flared pants are stylish, can't argue with that. If you enjoy wearing trendy clothes (whatever the magazines are telling the tween generation to buy), you would have zero clue about style.
| #166 03:08pm 23/06/09 |
Infidel
I liked adidas but I bought these beckenbauer trainers that were comfortable at first but then i realised they f***ing squeak wherever i go , the lip's made of rubber and sqeaks like a dieing midget
| #167 12:15am 24/06/09 |
Splash
| #168 07:36am 24/06/09 |
yeah well i think straight jeans are kinda s*** matt dale
it's really about opinion and what suits you, straight jeans wouldn't really suit me anyway |
| #169 07:38am 24/06/09 |
Agreed with everything Sparrow said.
| #170 08:26am 24/06/09 |
thanks for that minxy, your opinion is highly appreciated
| #171 08:35am 24/06/09 |
No worries Greazy, anytime
| #172 08:41am 24/06/09 |
sparrow
Agreed with everything Sparrow said. I have the girls on my side, that says more itself that everything else I've been saying. |
| #173 08:41am 24/06/09 |
yeah i don't think girls on the internet even count
| #174 08:47am 24/06/09 |
No worries Greazy, anytime how about later tonight |
| #175 08:57am 24/06/09 |
lol women say != women want
last edited by Nitro at 09:58:59 24/Jun/09 |
| #176 09:58am 24/06/09 |
Amen.
| #177 10:07am 24/06/09 |
sparrow
lol women say != women wantlast edited by Nitro at 09:58:59 24/Jun/09 yea, cause when they're saying 'ew no, get away from me', they really mean 'i want you bad nitro, take me now'. |
| #178 10:14am 24/06/09 |
DM
slim fit jeans I'm about as far removed from the fashion scene as you can get but what the f*** is a guy wearing those for? Want to show off your sexy figure do you? |
| #179 10:35am 24/06/09 |
crazymorton
I can't help that think that people who walk around stairing at peoples shoes in nightclubs and judging them on them have enough issues for me to not want to take them home for a night of lurving. you're all missing the point. girls check out shoes for SIZE not style. shoe size = penis size.....and i struggle to find size 24 shoes! :-) i'm also an anti shoes/clothes person, my missus has to nag me to dress up when we go out. jean shorts, t-shirt, thongs are my idea of dressing up for lunch. |
| #180 10:36am 24/06/09 |
it's really about opinion and what suits you, straight jeans wouldn't really suit me anyway cos youre so gay? HAH |
| #181 10:41am 24/06/09 |
lol how old are you sparrow?
| #182 11:30am 24/06/09 |
sparrow
lol how old are you sparrow? Says the boy who thinks women don't say what they mean. |
| #183 12:45pm 24/06/09 |
thinks?
it's a f***in widely known fact, shows how much you know |
| #184 01:03pm 24/06/09 |
Apart from work shoes (standard black leather), I have had 3 pairs of other shoes in the last ten years, and still use 2 of those, ones the outside shoe, the other is the going out/everyday shoe.
Slim fit jeans=gay knowing more than one or 2 brands of jeans=gay |
| #185 01:16pm 24/06/09 |
| #185 |