Just came through backstreet to find someone on a bike had just been cleaned up by a 4WD. Shocking bit of road in the arvo when the sun is where it is at this time of the day. It's obvious that someone didn't see the other and turned into them. 4WD front end was smashed flat and bike wasn't much more than a fuel tank... |
| #0 04:33pm 17/06/09 |
Did said someone live to talk about it? |
| #1 04:44pm 17/06/09 |
Theres another drain on already stretched hospital services.
Got a mate i hadnt seen for a while show up at the weekend on his first bike. a 750 Trail bike. First thing i said was What song do you want at your Funeral ? He was stoned too lol... he was leaving and snuffed it twice then couldnt drive off coz he forgot to udo the bike lock he \put on 20 mins earlier. he be dead soon. |
| #2 04:51pm 17/06/09 |
I'm guessing the occupants of the 4WD did.
| #3 04:52pm 17/06/09 |
thug
He was stoned too lol... he was leaving and snuffed it twice then couldnt drive off coz he forgot to udo the bike lock he \put on 20 mins earlier. he be dead soon. ------- Gold, |
| #4 04:57pm 17/06/09 |
checking in to say IM OK
| #5 05:01pm 17/06/09 |
Oh geez, hopefully this guy didn't leave too many kids fatherless.
Watch out for bikes people! |
| #6 05:12pm 17/06/09 |
Iv seen two bikes get hit in the past 3 weeks and they both died. one was a truck and the other was a 4x4 the other morning at tingalpa.
I saw one happen, car changed lane without watching and hit the back tire and pretty much ran over and dragged the bike and rider for a bit. Bikes can be d*******s, they can be dangerous, but FFS people, SHOULDER CHECK |
| #7 05:33pm 17/06/09 |
^^ more like stop dicking about on your bikes people.
The number of idiots I see lane splitting, weaving in & out without indicating & sitting right up the ass of cars is bloody ridiculous. |
| #8 05:35pm 17/06/09 |
Terrible news. I hope the 4WD is ok.
| #9 05:45pm 17/06/09 |
I saw someone on a push bike fall over in front of a 4wd that had to come to a screeching halt, onto the fancy car (bmw/mercedes?) in the next lane (the car infront of me). The cyclist totally deserved it, he weaved infront of me and I think he may have clipped the fancy car first. Fancy car guy pulled over to examine the damage and chat to the cyclist. This was last week in Milton.
last edited by thermite at 17:54:54 17/Jun/09 |
| #10 05:54pm 17/06/09 |
i don't feel sorry for the motorbike riders who get mangled or killed. I feel sorry for their friends and family that they affect from their stupidity. I mean if you ride a motorbike everywhere you turn you've got people telling you it's death for you buddy and you're a temporary australian and what song do you want at your funeral and doctors refer to you guys as donors, and to not heed these warnings is selfishness and stupidity, cos the stats are, its not if but when you'll be mince meat, and all your loved ones will suffer just because you liked motorbikes.
| #11 05:55pm 17/06/09 |
I know of a guy who suicided his car into a pole after he thought he killed a motorcyclist in an accident. The motorcyclist actually walked away from the crash. The guy had been drinking too so his judgement was impaired - but f*** motorcyclists anyway!
| #12 05:59pm 17/06/09 |
MrHardware that is a f***ing stupid stereotypical thing to say.
I ride a motorcycle, I split STATIONARY traffic, I dont weave, I keep in my lane, I indicate, I dont attempt acrobatics. I just wish the f***ing d******* car drivers around me would open their f***ing eyes when changing lane and not just try and swipe us. So sick of the whole motorcyclists are dead already and they are all a****** idiots lets f***ing attack them on the road mentality that you seem to have. |
| #13 06:05pm 17/06/09 |
Everyone needs to take a deep breath and calm down, save that rage for hitting motorcyclists on the roads.
| #14 06:13pm 17/06/09 |
lol, shutup shad :P
| #15 06:14pm 17/06/09 |
I agree Eds..
I've actually lost a mate few years back, thanks to an elderly couple who didn't look when turning into oncoming traffic and took out my mate.. Yeah, some bike riders do stupid things, but so do people in cars and more people don't look properly when driving a car than on a bike. |
| #16 06:15pm 17/06/09 |
I bet the bloke is feeling pretty stupid right now, I mean his 4WD gets all messed up by a bike.
| #17 06:49pm 17/06/09 |
lol, shutup shad :P In all seriousness tho, my Dad rides a bike and it does worry me. He doesn't speed, he doesn't lane split. So mostly I am worried about people running into him. If you do have to go, at least dying in a motorbike crash sounds cooler than dying of an aneurysm while jerking off to internet porn. Things like shoulder checks should be done all the time regardless of whether a bike is next to you or not. |
| #18 06:57pm 17/06/09 |
Iv seen two bikes get hit in the past 3 weeks and they both died. one was a truck and the other was a 4x4 the other morning at tingalpa. I saw one happen, car changed lane without watching and hit the back tire and pretty much ran over and dragged the bike and rider for a bit. Bikes can be d*******s, they can be dangerous, but FFS people, SHOULDER CHECK I was on the bikes are dangerous bandwagon on this forum ages ago. I got trolled for it though, now you see why these things are so dangerous. |
| #19 07:05pm 17/06/09 |
cos the stats are, its not if but when you'll be mince meat I R GUD AT STATISTICSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSS |
| #20 07:23pm 17/06/09 |
Because of car drivers?
| #21 07:23pm 17/06/09 |
He was stoned too lol...The problem isn't the vehicle. The problem is your mate is a f***ing tool. |
| #22 07:49pm 17/06/09 |
People need to get over "who is to blame". Just drive safely, and assume that people are trying to hit you, and that you are going to kill someone unless you're careful. That doesn't mean you have to drive 10kms under the speed limit all the time, but just do the basic things and don't just think "I checked 5 seconds ago I don't need to check again."
| #23 07:53pm 17/06/09 |
and that you are going to kill someone unless you're careful. define 'careful' ? it's an idiotic thread to start with.. but I just wanted to learn more about 'adult' little Trog |
| #24 07:59pm 17/06/09 |
I've lost two people to bike accidents, one I know of for fact that was due to being pissed (an a repeat offender of DUI). I'd never let him drink an drive/ride when I was around though you can only help people so much if they're that stupid. The other bike accident was most likely a bug in the face which sent him off road into a tree. I myself went through a barb wire fence at around 80km/h (yeah, that hurt).
Bit that freaks me more than anything is that my wench hsa just got herself a bike an is learning to ride in Greece of all places :/ My eldest brother hit a kangaroo at 120km/h. his face was lucky he was wearing a full face helmet as the chin had been ground down to paper thin from sliding on the bitumen. Has cooler scars than me cause dips*** was only wearing denim. I've had other friends die from accidental gunshots, another was murdered, one by shark attack with another getting cleaned up by a NT road train in a ute. Never ceases to amaze and remind me how stupid, naieve and helpless humans really are in the bigger scheme of things. |
| #25 08:06pm 17/06/09 |
I don't think we can be friends anymore Hermi in case I am involved in a terrible accident
| #26 08:48pm 17/06/09 |
sensitive much eds?
My point is, on the road you have these large masses travelling at high velocity. Anyone who dares to venture onto the road without a strong metal cage surrounding them is asking for trouble. even sensible riders get messed up, and guess what, people make mistakes. even on the road. if someone makes a mistake around me, i sure as hell want to be in a metal cage. Thinking of buying a bike? Have a chat to a nurse. last edited by MrHardware at 21:31:41 17/Jun/09 |
| #27 09:31pm 17/06/09 |
Every motorbike rider that you you ever hear from are always the law abiding ones, how come you very very rarely see them on the road.
Every motorbike rider I see speeds constantly, overtakes with out indicating, lanes spits in traffic, tailgates and just generealy does whatever the f*** they want to get through traffic faster than everyone else. Its always the car that didnt check, bulls***, the car did the normal checks and by the time they pulled out or changed lanes, the bike had hauled ass up and was suddenly there. Im being generous when I say that I reckon probably 1 in 20 motorbike riders that I see follow the road rules and dont do dangerous s***. Sure cars drivers are probably no better, but just by the fact that you can do alot more dangerous stuff easier in a bike, it seems to happen more often. Not sure why the motorbike riders dont realise that they are the ones that are gonna die, not the car, they should be following the road rules even more, just for self preservation. Awaiting the mass replys of, "I ride a motorbike and never break any road rule ever, never speed, never lane split" bla bla. I dont believe ya. |
| #28 09:38pm 17/06/09 |
Can't say I blame you evis :)
I appear to have grown up in a high mortality rate environment despite being born in a first world country. Personally, I'm surprised I'm still alive after some of the s*** I've been exposed/experienced. |
| #29 09:41pm 17/06/09 |
haha, I already lane split, and I do it only in stationary traffic. Why? because I f***ing can. It doesnt hurt anyone except some egos im sure.
I (and the handful of riders I know) DONT tailgate. You have to be f***ing stupid. What happens if they slam the brakes on! OW! Speeding. Mmm, only on the highways when there isnt much traffic (at night for example) and rarely. I definatly do in the mountains but thats my own stupid fault. I drive a car most days now, and I deal with the same idiots not indicating and not checking in cars. Seriously, watch the car in front of you all day driving (obviously they will be differnt cars) and watch how many dont indicate and dont shoulder check. I only started noticing this driving when I started a new job that requires me on the road a lot of the day. Yes, there is d******* car riders and there is more than a few f***wit motorcycle riders, and yes there is accidents. My rant was more to the point of people only seem to blame a motorcycle and never the car and its BS. The cars are just as bad and sometimes worst. |
| #30 09:46pm 17/06/09 |
about the only time i respect motorbike riders are the middle aged clean cut guys on 20 year old BMW totally unfashionable bikes or honda st1100s who actually do do what 100% of motorbike riders claim they do.
| #31 09:51pm 17/06/09 |
Oh yeah car drivers are just as bad, but the stuff a bike rider can do and usuyal get away with is way worse than what a car can do.
For example, Most bikes can be sitting behind a car, and quickly zip out and overtake, even when there is close oncoming traffic, becuase they have the speed to get away with it. Bike riders just seem to push the limits mre often. |
| #32 09:53pm 17/06/09 |
driving from hillcrest to indooroopilly every day I see mostly sensible bike riders, the complete opposite of viper's rant. they are definitely vastly outnumbered by s*** drivers in cars irrespective of whether it's a ratio thing or not
| #33 09:55pm 17/06/09 |
nice hunteresque logic.
beat it hardware |
| #34 09:58pm 17/06/09 |
stood on some toes, haven't i.
| #35 10:01pm 17/06/09 |
about the only time i respect motorbike riders are the middle aged clean cut guys on 20 year old BMW totally unfashionable bikes Guess that rules my bike out. http://www.kawasaki.co.uk/Objects/w544h408_000003404B4D6997.jpg |
| #36 10:06pm 17/06/09 |
Its always the car that didnt check, bulls***, the car did the normal checks and by the time they pulled out or changed lanes, the bike had hauled ass up and was suddenly there. I've had so many times when people didn't see my BRIGHT YELLOW car in broad daylight that I'd never trust them with my life by riding a motorbike. If aus were like those countries where 90% of vehicles are bikes I wouldn't think twice about it, but when people can't see an entire car, then they're no hope of seeing a motorbike, regardless of how it's being ridden. |
| #37 10:15pm 17/06/09 |
The name always puts me off, don't want to be riding a Tard.
| #38 10:14pm 17/06/09 |
I always think back to the accidents I have had in my car and how it would have been on a bike. More than likely one would have involved me being run over by someone who was too busy picking up a drink bottle on the floor than looking in front of him.
| #39 10:17pm 17/06/09 |
People don't always make the absolute safest choices in life - half the fun of a motorbike is the danger element.
Not everyone wants to navigate through their time choosing the path of least fun Hardware. |
| #40 10:18pm 17/06/09 |
My rant was more to the point of people only seem to blame a motorcycle and never the car and its BS. The cars are just as bad and sometimes worst. Because the car drivers are the ones who live when the two have an accident. Don't fool your self for a second, riding a motor bike ups the likelihood for a fatal accident immensley, whether or not the biker is at fault it won't really matter at their funeral. I see alot of stupid/horrible drivers around the city every day, both on motorbike and in cars, they're both as bad as each other, but the bikes are usually pushing the envelope more. |
| #41 10:20pm 17/06/09 |
my oldest brother, myself and my old man have all been in pretty decent stacks
dad lost a toe, thats about the worst thing that we've had happen in the family they don't ride on the road anymore and I doubt I ever will seriously, 9 toes now |
| #42 10:41pm 17/06/09 |
http://img190.imageshack.us/img190/5950/thetruthaboutfonzie.jpg
Truth is, he's just asking for trouble. And he wants "Rock Around the Clock" at his funeral. |
| #43 10:46pm 17/06/09 |
When driving my car I always look carefully to make sure there's a motorbike where I want to turn. If there's not, I'll wait a while and check again.
| #44 12:04am 18/06/09 |
i ride like a maniac... in the eyes of car drivers
i recently bought a scooter.. and i started off driving along with the cars and going slow.. then it slowly dawned on me why i ride the way i ride.. car drivers don’t give a f*** or suddenly see you any better just cause your going slow.. i have ridden for 20 years.. my last bike was a zx9 my first bike was a dt175 and my direct experience shows that the more aggressive and defensive you drive the better.. i constantly push cars around that are trying to do dumb s***.. i always ride behind the side mirror of the car in front .. but i allow myself enough room to break or overtake in the case the retard does something stupid.. once you realise all car drivers are total f***stains who don’t deserve to be on the road the safer your motorcycling will become.. the one thing about having a 50cc bike now though is it becomes more dangerous as you cant accelerate out of situations.. like the other day i was in 2 lanes of traffic.. as i do i ride on the mirror of the car in front but wasn’t trying to overtake anyone..there was a truck coming up at lights with cars backed up and it was obvious that i was going to switch lanes... the stupid bitch behind and the left of me (EU lanes) decided she didn’t want me switching lanes (even though i hadn’t even started to do anything) and started to move up on me accelerating as hard as she could whilst moving over into the centre of the lane.. as i am usually watching behind me 70% of the time i see this dumb bitch and just go with it.. if i was on a big bike i could have controlled her better by riding much more aggressively.. but as it was i can’t accelerate.. so i just move over - i'm still in front by a car length.. so she jams on the horn.. and keeps accelerating until she was overlapping my back tyre.. at this point i decide to take control of the lane and just squeeze her out.. much to her absolute disgust.. as it was 1 sec later i was in the lane split and was 8 cars in front.. the whole episode could have been prevented if she had of just driven normally... anyway you get that almost daily and its just a matter of dealing with it and taking control of the road and situation around you... speeding a little is part of that control.. even though you might not think its logical to do so.. also its very easy after years of riding to tell if someone is going to do in traffic by the very small things they do long before they do it... motorcyclists should never blame other divers for mistakes.. in the end its you going under the car if they dont indicate and your not ready for it be prepared.. ride aggressively but defensively.. and live to be one of those old blokes on those stupid s*** bikes with a s***ty club jacket last edited by Superform at 03:25:46 18/Jun/09 |
| #45 03:25am 18/06/09 |
Mephz
doctors refer to you guys as donors,Fallacy. Also, on my way to work, some young ~25-30 in a new porsche pulled out of a sidestreet at I'd estimate a minimum ~70k's without looking, without slowing down, blind T-intersection until about 2-3m. Had the set of lights changed ~2 seconds earlier he'd have cleaned me or any other vehicle up. The amount of people that need to have their licences revoked or re-learn to drive... or just lack the hand-eye coordination to drive is astounding. |
| #46 07:44am 18/06/09 |
Fallacy Really? My wife is a doctor and when she worked in ED and at the John Tonge at least they certainly called them donorcycles. |
| #47 08:03am 18/06/09 |
If aus were like those countries where 90% of vehicles are bikes I wouldn't think twice about it, Same. I've only really ever ridden dirt bikes but you can't beat them for fun. In regards to bikes breaking the traffic laws - who wants to ride a sport bike at 60km/h or 100km/h. They're designed to go mega fast and the faster they are ridden the more fun they become hence the majority of riders breaking laws. If you don't plan on breaking speed laws etc is there any need for the R1? |
| #48 08:39am 18/06/09 |
In regards to bikes breaking the traffic laws - who wants to ride a sport bike at 60km/h or 100km/h. They're designed to go mega fast and the faster they are ridden the more fun they become hence the majority of riders breaking laws. Yeah but its the same with any sports car too, except when they crash, its not instant death. If you don't plan on breaking speed laws etc is there any need for the R1? No point whatsoever, unless you are gonna do track days, or just want the ego boost. |
| #49 08:56am 18/06/09 |
BOHEMION
Guess that rules my bike out. ;) Yo Eds hows the riding going? |
| #50 08:56am 18/06/09 |
If you don't plan on breaking speed laws etc is there any need for the R1? Is there any need for the R6 or any supersport 600 on the road? I've been riding my housemates R6 a bit lately due to him winning a walking holiday. Rarely see's 3rd gear riding into the city on a daily basis. Thing does 100km + in first gear so its possible to be in automatic suspension territory without even changing gears in residential areas. It is incredibly difficult to ride legally all the time, a quarter turn of the throttle will add 20-30 k's in under a second. Overtook a slow van going up a hill today and looked down and it was 90+ in a 60 and I really didn't give it much at all. |
| #51 09:19am 18/06/09 |
If aus were like those countries where 90% of vehicles are bikes I wouldn't think twice about it i think you'd better go experience this first hand & then think twice about it :P i've ridden bikes in india, malaysia & singapore, all of which have huge motorcycle numbers. city traffic in malaysia & india is insane & every ride is highly exciting :D singapore is a lot more tame but still not as regimented in it's road laws as australia is. personally i'd rather ride in australia... it really isn't as dangerous as some pathetic skirt-hugging mumma's boys make it out to be. :D |
| #52 09:22am 18/06/09 |
yeah, traffic in those countries might be chaotic to the point of lunacy, but I doubt 2 bikes running into each other would tend to leave legs mangled beyond recognition like being t-boned by a car would.
| #53 09:32am 18/06/09 |
yeah, traffic in those countries might be chaotic to the point of lunacy, but I doubt 2 bikes running into each other would tend to leave legs mangled beyond recognition like being t-boned by a car would. true but all of those countries have a lot of cars buses & trucks too. :D |
| #54 09:37am 18/06/09 |
another donor. |
| #55 09:45am 18/06/09 |
If you want to see just how many motor bike riders have died this month have a read. For the lack of numbers compared to cars they do well in the let's kill ourselves game of life.
Qld Police Media |
| #56 09:51am 18/06/09 |
Mephz
Really? My wife is a doctor and when she worked in ED and at the John Tonge at least they certainly called them donorcycles. #1 - Not All Motorbike riders are donors, this makes the whole 'joke' null moot and only used by idiots. #2 - Statistically, the majority of motorbike accidents resulting in death or hospitalisation are single vehicle accidents. I can accredit to that being relatively accurate from those who come through trauma. #3 - Just as many car accidents are as lethal/deadly once you get up to the speed the majority of motorcyles are crashed at. The difference is bikes get there alot quicker (in terms of typically lethal velocity being lower but also achieved far quicker in acceleration) and are alot easier to crash. The point is, if you're not riding like a tard, you're not anymore likey to be INVOLVED in an accident, just more likely to be killed if you are in one. Most riders are more careful and aware (I did say most) than typical car drivers for this reason. Unless you have ridden a bike, your opinion or perceived risk of riding really means little to nothing. |
| #57 11:44am 18/06/09 |
Fallacy I too am a doctor and yes we do. At GCH we fondly refer to them as "organs on wheels". |
| #58 12:19pm 18/06/09 |
Crakaveli
People never die in cars. EVER
| #59 12:26pm 18/06/09 |
CactusSupreme
I've been driving up around Canungra and Beaudesert on Sundays with my cousin (Because I'm still on my L's) and the amount of people I see pass me and speed off around a blind corner in the center of the road is just stupid. Personally, I can't wait to get my motorbike license because it looks like a s***load of fun. But people have to be careful and the motorbike rider can't just say 'Ahh that car pulled out without looking and hit me, they should still be paying attention to the things around them. I have been driving on the highway and go to change lanes check my mirrors and nothing, but then when I check over my shoulder I see the bike. People are just too lazy to look over their shoulders and the motorbike riders should be aware of that. |
| #60 12:29pm 18/06/09 |
If I did get a motorbike license I would deffinately get a supersport 600 and kill myself, so its probably best I dont.
| #61 12:34pm 18/06/09 |
I dare ya shad.
And really, who cares who's fault it is when you're mangled on the side of the road or dead. 'I may in a wheel chair for the rest of my life with someone changing my nappies and emptying my piss bucket, but it wasn't my fault!' last edited by mission at 12:51:28 18/Jun/09 |
| #62 12:51pm 18/06/09 |
I dare ya shad. If I wasn't looking at spending money on a house then I probably would have gotten a motorbike. I have no dependants to worry about. |
| #63 12:44pm 18/06/09 |
I used to ride a bike, and the few times I almost got cleaned up made me stop. I like riding bikes, but not that much.
It does give you a good appreciation for other motorcyclists though. last edited by Thundercracker at 13:22:28 18/Jun/09 |
| #64 01:22pm 18/06/09 |
tominator
I too am a doctor and yes we do. At GCH we fondly refer to them as "organs on wheels". Well I guess when (according to people on here it is only a matter of when) I get cleaned up I'd better be going fast enough so nothing is salvageable just to prove you wrong. |
| #65 01:25pm 18/06/09 |
People never die in cars. EVER Apparently not... |
| #66 01:31pm 18/06/09 |
I've had so many times when people didn't see my BRIGHT YELLOW car in broad daylight that I'd never trust them with my life by riding a motorbike. Exactly. A Danish chick pulled out (turning right) from a T-intersection right in front of my bright blue 1985 FORD Meteor. I T-boned her right in the driver's side door. Didn't even have time to move my right foot from accel to brake. Hit her at about 70km/h, and it hurt. Luckily only bruising for me - the bruise from the seatbelt was cool to pull out at parties though. Took me about a month to feel normal in the chest area again. The bird was alright, but she went to hospital anyway because she had neck pains, and they don't take any chances with neck/spine. So, if these kinds of peeps can't see a friggin' car, what hope have you if you're on a bike? |
| #67 01:51pm 18/06/09 |
People just need better bullbars.
| #68 02:00pm 18/06/09 |
Trauma
I've had so many times when people didn't see my BRIGHT YELLOW car in broad daylight that I'd never trust them with my life by riding a motorbike.Exactly. Yea they really don't take chances with necks, when I broke my colar bone racing motocross I walked myself to the ambo and they made me lay down and put a brace on me o.O I was fine, just needed x rays and a arm strap thingy. It's more to cover their own ass. Here's to hoping I don't get cleaned up once I get a roadbike. |
| #69 02:12pm 18/06/09 |
Here's to hoping I don't get cleaned up once I get a roadbike. Statistics indicate that is likely. |
| #70 02:14pm 18/06/09 |
#1 - Not All Motorbike riders are donors, this makes the whole 'joke' null moot and only used by idiots. What the f*** are you even talking about? You stated you believed that doctors labelling motorcyclists 'donorcylists' was false. You are wrong. Don't know what the rest of the diatribe is supposed to achieve??? PS. Better I'd better let these doctors know that the running joke is 'null moot'. Likewise since I met an intelligent, serious Irishman the other day I had better inform everyone who has ever told, or laughed at, an Irish joke, that such jokes are now null moot. |
| #71 02:21pm 18/06/09 |
Trauma
I'm honestly more worried about those steel cable fences you see in between freeway lanes, 100kph into that would be fatal, who the f*** came up with those damn things!? |
| #72 02:26pm 18/06/09 |
yeah same here trauma, what was wrong with the old pressed steel guardrail. these steel cable ones look like they'll f*** you up big time.
| #73 02:25pm 18/06/09 |
tominator
You get to choose either the steel cable, steel guard rail, concrete barrier or an oncoming car. Don't think any of them are too friendly if run into at 100km/h.
| #74 02:29pm 18/06/09 |
who the f*** came up with those damn things!? Car drivers. They're better (can't remember how though) for a car to hit than a guardrail. They are also possibly cheaper to replace. Obviously, it's a totally different story for motorbike riders as you and MrHardware point out. |
| #75 02:33pm 18/06/09 |
They really should line the roads with big fluffy pillows for the bike riders.
| #76 02:34pm 18/06/09 |
Trauma
yeah same here trauma, what was wrong with the old pressed steel guardrail. these steel cable ones look like they'll f*** you up big time. Even those could f*** you up, a rider sliding on his back could easily slide right under and into a the support strut thing, but alot better than a steel cable. I wonder how these sorts of things will pan out over the coming years as motorbikes are just going to become alot more common, especially the scooter types, simply because small capacity bikes use stuff all fuel to the kilometer. Don't need much of an electric engine to propel a light scooter and one person either. You get to choose either the steel cable, steel guard rail, concrete barrier or an oncoming car. Don't think any of them are too friendly if run into at 100km/h. Concrete thx, nice deflection, no chance of slipping through/under into oncoming traffic. Concrete for sure. |
| #77 02:37pm 18/06/09 |
I'm honestly more worried about those steel cable fences you see in between freeway lanes, 100kph into that would be fatal, who the f*** came up with those damn things!? They call them cheese cutters for a reason! Because thats what its like going in to and your the cheese. I sold my CBR600RR after taking it on the track because it was designed for that...the track. Was a pain in traffic and too damn fast for its own good. Bohemian, I havnt taken it out in ages, going to try and get a run in this weekend :( |
| #78 03:06pm 18/06/09 |
The point is, if you're not riding like a tard, you're not anymore likey to be INVOLVED in an accident, just more likely to be killed if you are in one. Mephz, you're wrong: Abstract: Motorcycle Accident Risk Could Be Inflated by a Time to Arrival Illusion. Original Article Optometry & Vision Science. 82(8):740-746, August 2005. HORSWILL, MARK S. PhD; HELMAN, SHAUN PhD; ARDILES, PABLO MSc; WANN, JOHN P. PhD |
| #79 03:11pm 18/06/09 |
blahnana
That's an interesting study Billy, but it doesn't prove Mephz wrong.
| #80 03:17pm 18/06/09 |
blahnana, that's a pretty damn big call to make.
if you are trying to suggest that people pulling out on you later doesn't increase your chance to be involved in an accident, you're pretty foolish. |
| #81 03:19pm 18/06/09 |
I started to write an argument in reply, and then I realised that if a car does pull out in front of a bike, then both a car and bike are both involved in an accident. So, yes, sorry Mephz, you're not wrong.
Even if you're not riding like a tard, you might have the same chance of being involved in an accident as a car (you're just 30x more likely to die). |
| #82 03:21pm 18/06/09 |
in over 83 per cent of fatal motorcycle crashes, the rider was considered to be at fault. http://www.motorcyclesafety.qld.gov.au/index.php/qt/site/the_facts_of_life_for_motorcycle_riders/ |
| #83 03:22pm 18/06/09 |
f***ing christ, learn to read MrHardware, please.
| #84 03:22pm 18/06/09 |
what have i failed to read, reso
| #85 03:24pm 18/06/09 |
MrHardware, I think the (irrelevent) point is that cars and bikes are equally involved in accidents.
| #86 03:25pm 18/06/09 |
But if it is a bike, instead of a car, there is more chance of the collision occuring in the first place.
Isn't that what your post is about? (Billy) |
| #87 03:31pm 18/06/09 |
Yes, and the article attempts to explain why this happens more with bikes than with cars.
| #88 03:35pm 18/06/09 |
those stats mrhardware posted are cool |
| #89 03:37pm 18/06/09 |
probably not so cool for the people that brought us the statistics :/
| #90 03:40pm 18/06/09 |
wot
those are the same stats dewi picked apart in our work irc channel 2 months ago trog |
| #91 03:42pm 18/06/09 |
Those stats are a crock. The reason I say that is because if you read the "In 2007 the major causes of fatal motorcycle crashes were***" section, you will notice that it doesnt have CAR HIT BIKE WHEN NOT LOOKING etc etc
I also find it hard to believe that its worst outside of peak hour to ride than inside of peak hour. |
| #92 03:50pm 18/06/09 |
So Mid 30's guy's out on a weekend ride is pretty much dead ?
| #93 03:51pm 18/06/09 |
Trauma
Those stats are a crock. The reason I say that is because if you read the "In 2007 the major causes of fatal motorcycle crashes were***" section, you will notice that it doesnt have CAR HIT BIKE WHEN NOT LOOKING etc etc So you will be conducting your own study then? |
| #94 03:53pm 18/06/09 |
hate bikes all u want, fact is most bikers are way better at avoiding collisions then normal drivers, they just come off far worse.. i've seen a biker get merged into by a retarded soccer mum driver and drove him off the road along the western freeway, luckily enough he was able to slow down before he hit the gravel and didn't lose control.
happens all the time, 50% of drivers have s*** for brains when it comes to spatial awareness which is why i'd never ride a bike, but then again they are handy cause u never have to give bastards lifts :D |
| #95 03:54pm 18/06/09 |
wotoh.. I prolly tuned out because it was about cars/driving :) |
| #96 04:04pm 18/06/09 |
in over 83 per cent of fatal motorcycle crashes, the rider was considered to be at fault. I'd like to know how many of these were single vehicle acco's aka rider riding outside their limits and ate a tree up in the mountains etc. |
| #97 04:04pm 18/06/09 |
So you will be conducting your own study then? I don't need two. Iv already seen cars hit bikes twice in the last few weeks. I notice that wasn't an option on the stats. Read my post again and you might understand why I was saying how factual is it? |
| #98 04:05pm 18/06/09 |
Some retards ride bikes and some spastics drive cars, it is a fact of life. There are potential killers everywhere just waiting to kill someone. The world will not care when you are dead and nor will you so drive accordingly.
| #99 04:31pm 18/06/09 |
and hey, you've gotta die of something
| #100 04:36pm 18/06/09 |
i'd die of snoosnoo anyday... well not anyday.. gimme a couple decades before u kill from it
| #101 04:38pm 18/06/09 |
I think the more important thing to take away from this thread is that jim and trog have a secret IRC channel.
| #102 04:54pm 18/06/09 |
Trauma
So you will be conducting your own study then?I don't need two. Iv already seen cars hit bikes twice in the last few weeks. Ever think that maybe cars hitting bikes do not happen enough for them to consider it a major cause? If your going take shots at reputable sources have something more than 'I saw 2 accidents recently.' |
| #103 04:54pm 18/06/09 |
Mephz
What the f*** are you even talking about? You stated you believed that doctors labelling motorcyclists 'donorcylists' was false. You are wrong. Don't know what the rest of the diatribe is supposed to achieve???My point is it's no more 'right' than anybody else labelling it the same, That being in the medical profession provides no more weight to the 'saying' whatsoever. It's a non-witty, illogical, stupid cliche. As I said before, my experience is that statistically (and tends to coincide with national statistics), most MBA's are rider faulted, single-vehicle accidents. I could label the same thing about car rollovers and those who lose it driving out of their limits/stupidly in singe-vehicle accidents... 'donordrivers' or 'donorhoons'. That would be far more accurate and suits both those most at risk on bikes and cars. As I said before, its people who get themselves into trouble on bikes due to their ability to easily do so (speed and to lose control, especially at speed/under emergency braking) compared to a car. As Rubba attested to regarding the R6, its far easier to accidently reach a speed that can get you into trouble that otherwise wouldn't have in a car. Like I said, unless you've ridden a powerful bike, any street car you've driven that you thought was powerful was probably equivalent to a 250cc supersport at best. last edited by Mephz at 23:39:01 18/Jun/09 |
| #104 11:39pm 18/06/09 |
If your going take shots at reputable sources have something more than 'I saw 2 accidents recently.' LOL! Since when is QT a reputable source of statistics? f*** me , go back too news.com.au |
| #105 11:29pm 18/06/09 |
Why is every bike rider here going on and on about "but it didn't have cars hitting bikes !!!!!!!!"
Who cares? Whether or not the accident was at fault, the bike slipped out from under you in the rain, you were riding like a reject, every statistic and every bit of common sense points to this fact, you are more likely to die in an accident when riding a bike, considerably more so. Does it make cars safe? no, does it make them safer? yes. It's like comparing cricket versus base jumping, which are you more likely to die from? Both have risk, one has a lot more risk. Riding a motor bike, no matter how good you (think you) are at it, is not a safe option. last edited by giririsss at 08:51:47 19/Jun/09 |
| #106 08:51am 19/06/09 |
driving a car isn't necessarily safe either
its just safer than riding a bike, you still put your life in other people hands every time you get behind the wheel your car is to a semi trailer what a motorbike is to you. |
| #107 08:36am 19/06/09 |
nah not really
| #108 08:38am 19/06/09 |
Riding a motor bike, no matter how good you (think you) are at it, is not a safe option. If you are going to take that path, doing almost anything is not a safe option. Life is all about taking risks, I guess it depends on your definition of "safe" sure the risk is higher riding a motorcycle but for the people that do the benefits and enjoyment outweigh the possible risks. Sometimes the enjoyment can come from the risk factor. People who have never ridden will never fully understand/appreciate why we do it or are flat out missing that extreme gene and aren't exited by any of that stuff - fast things/things that go boom/dangerous stuff/etc |
| #109 08:48am 19/06/09 |
I think you're describing a substantially different path though, and it goes off in anything but a parallel direction
| #110 08:53am 19/06/09 |
yeh giri's analogy of cricket & base jumping is a good one... where one is a blast of pure exhilaration & the other is so boring that when a seagull lands it's a highpoint! :D hahah!
| #111 08:56am 19/06/09 |
| #111 |