FocaL
So QGL what’s the best value meal for lunch in the city during the working week? Somewhere close to QUT gardens point gets bonus points.
So far I know: Jackpot noodles - $6 bbq pork wonton noodle soup. Hanaichi Japanese in the winter garden food court Sushi Deli. Thx |
| #0 08:28pm 16/06/09 |
golden arches ftw
| #1 07:37pm 16/06/09 |
It's Hanaichi, and they keep jacking their prices up.
Kadoya in elizabeth st arcade > hanachi for a katsu curry. |
| #2 07:38pm 16/06/09 |
beef noodle soup - pho kim lai (china town)
sushi - anywhere - always good value $2 salads from woolies (just find the ones that are marked down to $2 then go to the deli and grab some chicken (strips/whatever), chuck it in and walla - instant $5 meal |
| #3 07:43pm 16/06/09 |
a pair of cheeseburgers
$4 |
| #4 07:45pm 16/06/09 |
There's a good noodle box joint on Charlotte Street next to Nando's.
It's $8 for a small ($10 large) but a small is all you need, seriously. (unless joo are a mega fatty) Red Beef curry with noodles for the win. I sometimes go to Jackpot but for $2 more the other joint is well worth it. And for Sushi you can't go past that place on Adelaide Street near the entrance to DJ's. Granted it's a long walk from QUT and once you get there you'll be in a mega queue, but it's the best in the city. (hence the mega queue) last edited by mission at 19:59:49 16/Jun/09 |
| #5 07:59pm 16/06/09 |
Govinda's, Hare Krishna joint near Borders.
$10 all you can eat buffet, $9 student, $7 student 2 - 3pm. Massive feed... hot dishes, rice/dhals/curries/koftas, salad, dessert and homemade lemonade. Best feed in the city by far. http://www.brisbanegovindas.com.au/ last edited by CHUB at 20:04:30 16/Jun/09 |
| #6 08:04pm 16/06/09 |
broke up with a bird in govinda's
fun times |
| #7 08:06pm 16/06/09 |
lol I looked that up, its a Hare Krishna restaurant
edit: oh you said that... |
| #8 08:11pm 16/06/09 |
They're weird buggers, but they all own at cooking.
| #9 08:12pm 16/06/09 |
louie
take your lunch and give your lunch money to a busker !!!!!
| #10 08:23pm 16/06/09 |
Clubby
the sushi place under post office square that do 4 sushi for $5!!!~~
| #11 08:24pm 16/06/09 |
lol buskers
anyone asking for my money on the street gets nothing I have to walk past the train station on brunswick st twice per day at a minimum, 4 times if i go out for lunch 100% sick of people asking for money every day |
| #12 08:26pm 16/06/09 |
the sushi place under post office square that do 4 sushi for $5!!!~~ Yeah but it's s***. A mate got his 12 y/o son some for lunch there one Saturday and about 1 hour after eating it we were walking past Starbucks near the Myer centre and he unloaded sushi and stomach juice on one of their outdoor tables. Many a gasps were heard from diners. |
| #13 08:28pm 16/06/09 |
Clubby
this is kind of true :) ... I prefer to pay a premium price of $2 and get the sushi from that place on adelaide street that always has a line down the footpath (they do like 5 vegitarian sushi which is awesome)
| #14 08:31pm 16/06/09 |
red crane near mcdonalds, near fridays. $6 chicken teriyaki and rice. f***in awesome
| #15 08:31pm 16/06/09 |
FocaL
It's Hanaichi, and they keep jacking their prices up. It been a while since I've been there (3 yrs). Prices used to be ~$5, but your right, for the current prices the food isn't that great. Will check out Kadoya. |
| #16 08:32pm 16/06/09 |
I remember when Hanaichi was $5.20 for a curry, and they'd give you a large for no extra cost. Haven't been back to any Hanaichi stores since they sold out and started charging heaps.
| #17 08:35pm 16/06/09 |
$4 huge azn noodle tub from 7/11.
| #18 08:36pm 16/06/09 |
Yeah remember paying $5.60 for Hanaichi and getting large and being way too full after and probably dosed up on MSG goodness during uni.
Now its over 650 i think. Still so delicious though. At lunch its 99% chicken curry orders. Itd suck making jap chicken curry all day haha. |
| #19 08:44pm 16/06/09 |
And for Sushi you can't go past that place on Adelaide Street near the entrance to DJ's. Granted it's a long walk from QUT and once you get there you'll be in a mega queue, but it's the best in the city. (hence the mega queue) The guy that runs that place also runs a sushi shop on Felix Street (i.e. the little stretch of street where Margaret turns into Mary). Close as to QUT. There's also one in MacArthur Central. Harry's place in Rowes Arcade is pretty rad. You can get a hot meal (stuff like lasagne, shepherd's pie, spaghetti, quiche) + salad (a massive variety; green salads, pasta salads, potato salads) for $6. They also do meat+salad sandwiches for like $3.60. Ming Court at Post Office Square has a daily $5 meal deal. It consists of a bowl of some chinese meal + rice. Also, after about 1:30 they start loading containers full of food and selling them off for $4. Handy for a bargain if you're running late on lunch. Edit: Red Crane on Eagle Street is the king of Japanese chicken curries. last edited by Crizane Tribal at 21:16:40 16/Jun/09 |
| #20 09:16pm 16/06/09 |
The guy that runs that place also runs a sushi shop on Felix Street (i.e. the little stretch of street where Margaret turns into Mary). Close as to QUT. Are you cereal? I've been missing out on that sushi since I left working in the inner city 12 months ago! and it was only just down the road :( And now I'm moving offices next week where it will be even further away :( I've got 8 days to chow down. |
| #21 09:32pm 16/06/09 |
Yeah I used to work in Cromwell House (the building on Mary Street that sits opposite Felix) so we used to go to that sushi place all the time. The manager dude was a total champ. I usually go for chicken + avocado, smoked salmon and either lobster or tuna + avocado.
I wish I had the guts to try the soft shelled crab, but it looks like a deep fried huntsman :( |
| #22 09:35pm 16/06/09 |
MSG goodness during uni. MSG is a Placebo. |
| #23 12:13am 17/06/09 |
deep fried huntsman Hrmm, next time I see one in the kitchen when I'm using the deep fryer, I'll test this out :) If the avg human eats about 8 spiders in their sleep (or something like that) I at least wanna enjoy/hate the experience and remember it;. |
| #24 12:59am 17/06/09 |
hast
i used to go there every day and get the chicken teriyaki. very good imo. |
| #25 01:11am 17/06/09 |
red crane near mcdonalds, near fridays. $6 chicken teriyaki and rice. f***in awesome I work around there, so I'll have to try that place out one time. |
| #26 08:52am 17/06/09 |
I buy $1 tins of tuna and $4 bags of mixed salads from Woolies. I use 2 tins of tuna and about a quarter of a bag of salad. $3 healthy, delicious lunch ftw.
| #27 09:16am 17/06/09 |
an then an eclipse after.
| #28 09:22am 17/06/09 |
15$ for a club sandwhich from the casino! f*** yeah.
| #29 09:33am 17/06/09 |
Lits
If you're after a great value pub lunch, hit up the Criterion Tavern. $11 for a good sized steak w/ chips and salad.
| #30 09:36am 17/06/09 |
Shame the quality of the steak is pretty s***.
| #31 10:32am 17/06/09 |
Lits
Your standards are too high
| #32 10:45am 17/06/09 |
voila teq, voila
| #33 11:01am 17/06/09 |
If by not wanting 1/2 my steak to be gristle, my standards are high, consider me a snob.
| #34 11:36am 17/06/09 |
SNOB!
| #35 11:40am 17/06/09 |
Clubby
So many options :) ... Which to get for lunch today ...
| #36 11:49am 17/06/09 |
I had an orange for lunch, I hate being sick.
| #37 11:58am 17/06/09 |
CT's on the money.
Sushi on Felix Street = win. The only downside is I didn't know it was there for the last 12 months and now I'm moving office :( |
| #38 12:42pm 17/06/09 |
I had Hanaichi, a Fanta then a Gelatissimo ice cream. Ugh so full
| #39 12:54pm 17/06/09 |
Hanaichi is solid. There's a sushi place on the corner of Adelaide and Wharf which is awesome, too.
Depending where on the CBD you are, there are a couple of nice sandwich places in building foyers on Eagle. I go to 'let'us refresh' at Emirates House. Granted $8 for a sandwich but what a sandwich. |
| #40 12:58pm 17/06/09 |
Clubby
I got lazy and rolled straight out of CP3 across to the food place under Friday's ... $7.50 for a salad but hey .. price you pay for laziness.
| #41 01:04pm 17/06/09 |
i had the same thing i have for lunch 4 days a week.
salad and fruit day 5 is pub day :) (morrison,muddy farmer, broadway) |
| #42 04:05pm 17/06/09 |
After copping the prices in the city for a few weeks I just keep sandwich material in the fridge at work and snacks at my desk. Works out way cheaper.
| #43 06:55pm 17/06/09 |
There's also the after lunch specials in the food court at Broadway.
| #44 02:18am 18/06/09 |
| #44 |