HyperJ
I am loving the increase in car registration, a year ago it cost me $567.20, 12 months later they want $670.45....18.2% increase I can't work out if its the CTP or the registration fee which has increased so much, which company do you guys go with for CTP? (mine is currently suncorp) Wouldn't be so bothered if it wasn't for the fact that i destroyed an alloy wheel and expensive tyre on a bloody huge crater of a pot-hole on the gateway. |
| #0 11:10pm 14/06/09 |
registration fee went heaps
anna is a ho |
| #1 11:11pm 14/06/09 |
she is a dirty ho fo sho
| #2 11:19pm 14/06/09 |
Yeah it costs me something like $600 to rego my SMALL car, I'm fearing the day the rego renewal comes for my v8 ute.
| #3 11:20pm 14/06/09 |
the cost of rego on a v8 is a bit of a joke, but its ok as its going toward such a good cause.
| #4 11:24pm 14/06/09 |
Don't wanna know what it will be for a turbo diesel.. :(
| #5 11:24pm 14/06/09 |
well its based on cylinders so you can figure out surely.
| #6 11:25pm 14/06/09 |
$135 to rego my bike :D
Epic Win |
| #7 11:28pm 14/06/09 |
yeah i paid rego recently, what the
fuggen money stealing govt |
| #8 11:37pm 14/06/09 |
Dodgymon
I have 8 registered vehicles.
Anna can go FOAD! |
| #9 12:02am 15/06/09 |
Wouldn't be so bothered if it wasn't for the fact that i destroyed an alloy wheel and expensive tyre on a bloody huge crater of a pot-hole on the gateway. it'll be the CTP. about fees last edited by mooby at 08:15:29 15/Jun/09 |
| #10 08:15am 15/06/09 |
louie
and its like only $250-$300 to register in victoria or tasmania?
yay for us !!!! |
| #11 08:31am 15/06/09 |
first time ever im paying more for rego then my insurance.
| #12 08:35am 15/06/09 |
and its like only $250-$300 to register in victoria or tasmania? ~$500 for my car but it's not based on cylinders or size - just a car registration fee. My last QLD rego cost something near $900 because it's a V8 :( |
| #13 08:39am 15/06/09 |
and its like only $250-$300 to register in victoria or tasmania? You're fukn tripping dude. It was about $550 for my small 4-cyl sedan. Edit: $549.80 to be precise. Good guess with the $550 ;-) |
| #14 09:27am 15/06/09 |
Wouldn't be so bothered if it wasn't for the fact that i destroyed an alloy wheel and expensive tyre on a bloody huge crater of a pot-hole on the gateway. Don't be bothered then because rego doesn't get spent on toll roads, tolls get spent on toll roads. |
| #15 09:27am 15/06/09 |
Yeah last time I rego'd it was roughly $650 for 12 months, this time it was $370 for 6 months (so roughly $740!).. Liek wtf
| #16 09:27am 15/06/09 |
this has been happening for decades
s*** goes up in price, then we start getting paid more when we start getting paid more s*** goes up in price again circle of life |
| #17 09:43am 15/06/09 |
this has been happening for decades I'm failing at step 2 - the getting paid more bit. |
| #18 09:46am 15/06/09 |
while (notgettingpaidenough) {
wait or /change_jobs; } |
| #19 09:53am 15/06/09 |
^ LOL
| #20 10:11am 15/06/09 |
Old QLD Prices
$550/$650/$760 for 4/6/8cyl respectively, depending on CTP insurer New QLD Prices $640/$740/$850 for 4/6/8cyl respectively, depending on CTP insurer Just remember rego has gone down in the past 5 years or so. I remember paying $707 for a 6-cyl back in about 2003/2004. |
| #21 10:12am 15/06/09 |
Just remember rego has gone down in the past 5 years or so.It's only going to go up from now on though till our massive debt starts getting repaid. |
| #22 10:17am 15/06/09 |
while (notgettingpaidenough) { And for some very sad people: if (pay < enoughPay) exit(1); |
| #23 10:33am 15/06/09 |
Much <3 for bike rego :D
| #24 10:40am 15/06/09 |
my bike rego has been cheap for ages coz my bike was single seat (~214/12months) ... dreading finding out what dual seat rego is for my new bike :/ ... find out in october!
| #25 10:48am 15/06/09 |
HyperJ
while (notgettingpaidenough) { wait() || changeJobs() || becomeMaleProstitute(); } fixed it for you |
| #26 10:49am 15/06/09 |
wtf, they charge you for dual seat rego on bikes?!@ edit: its the CTP that matters for dual/single seat rego makes sense I guess last edited by tequila at 10:54:32 15/Jun/09 |
| #27 10:54am 15/06/09 |
It's only going to go up from now on though till our massive debt starts getting repaid. This increase was announced in December and thus, was not directly related to the "massive debt". The increase starts on 1 July so that's why people are starting to really complain about it now. |
| #28 10:53am 15/06/09 |
while (notgettingpaidenough) {
wait() || changeJobs() || becomeMaleProstitute(); if (timeDelta > years(5)) exit(1); } haha |
| #29 10:54am 15/06/09 |
wtf, they charge you for dual seat rego on bikes?!@ not really... you get cheaper CTP insurance for single seat coz it doesn't have to cover the pillion passenger. |
| #30 10:54am 15/06/09 |
Yeh teq, it's the circle of life.
Just remember rego has gone down in the past 5 years or so. I remember paying $707 for a 6-cyl back in about 2003/2004. I've never had my rego go down in price since I got my first car in the late 90s. |
| #31 10:54am 15/06/09 |
yeah, true story man. It jumped substantially from 1999 to 2003/2004 then has subsided slightly since then until now.
| #32 11:00am 15/06/09 |
s*** I must've missed it or didn't notice - glad to see a small (brief) change in the circle of life for a change though.
| #33 11:23am 15/06/09 |
HyperJ
just think, if they hadnt bothered giving everybody cash handouts, this probably wouldnt have needed to go up. On the assumption that half the population received the $900 hand out, with a 5% interest rate, the interest alone on not handing out that money is $450M for one year, now they have to find that money each year to pay that nice debt back.... |
| #34 11:37am 15/06/09 |
That's Federal, this is State.
Same situation though, QLD is sinking in debt, hence the increase. Someone should cut Blights $200k+ salary. |
| #35 11:41am 15/06/09 |
we are entering a hyperinflation cycle. in fact i'd say we are already in it especially considering the cost of rents and housing.
in other words get used to it. |
| #36 11:42am 15/06/09 |
Ive got a friend who is on Disability Pension.
He rents a car once a fortnight to do all his grocery shopping/visting friends/other stuff. About $60 including Fuel. 6cylinder. Whats it cost you guys per week to run your car including rego/insurance/fuel ? Its really got out of control the costs involved in running a car not to mention the horror of a part breaking down and needing replacement. |
| #37 12:16pm 15/06/09 |
Thats a good point face. In europe I hear urban car sharing schemes are growing especially with fuel efficient and electric cars(jizz!).
It will probably start to take off here as we get raped further. |
| #38 12:31pm 15/06/09 |
Whats it cost you guys per week to run your car including rego/insurance/fuel ? Rego/Insurance/Tyres/Mechanical/Fuel/Depreciation comes to about $77 for me, averaged out over years. Thats averaging 350ks a week or so. $13/$7/$4/$13/$22/$18 per week respectively if you're interested. I can almost guarantee no-one here has a car this cheap for that many kays per week. we are entering a hyperinflation cycleCan you explain pls? last edited by MrHardware at 12:40:30 15/Jun/09 |
| #39 12:40pm 15/06/09 |
Hyperinflation is a theory where because of the GFC and the U.S printing s***loads of paper dollars that are devalueing the worth of the U.S dollar thus a period of higher inflation ensues.
| #40 12:48pm 15/06/09 |
weekly feul : ~$15 | weekly rego : ~$4 | weekly tyre wear cost : ~$9.60 | weekly mechanical : ~$7
dunno how i'd calculate depreciation .. so total is about $35.60 per week. it would actually be a bit more than that coz i'd prolly have to do brake pads once a year. i didn't factor insurance either. but it could be 10x that & i'd still want to own my bike! that $60 for the rental wouldn't include insurance or deposit either i bet. |
| #41 12:50pm 15/06/09 |
Rego/Insurance/Tyres/Mechanical/Fuel/Depreciation comes to about $77 for me, averaged out over years. Thats averaging 350ks a week or so. $9.6/$16/$15/$1/$18/$unknown-but-lots-because-its-new your lpg thing isnt as cheap as you think, i'd say my diesel is probably better on fuel |
| #42 01:37pm 15/06/09 |
Surely your service is more than $1 week or you do it yourself?
11/12/3/4/20/76 last edited by mission at 13:43:01 15/Jun/09 |
| #43 01:43pm 15/06/09 |
your lpg thing isnt as cheap as you think, i'd say my diesel is probably better on fuel i don't think so. 14L/100klms @ 44cpl |
| #44 01:52pm 15/06/09 |
Deposit is around $200 but you get it back if the car is returned ok.
Usually he hires ex-taxis. run on gas. I dont own a car but if i really need to use a car i can usually pay a friend to take me somewhere. Its really got out of control all the charges that government sucks from car use. Considering the traffic jams its prolly fair to say driving around Brisbane has deteriorated over the last 10 years while charges/tolls/fuel has gone way up. Cant wait to see what happens when they sell the Tollways. If you shared a flat with someone or a house share thing you could prolly get away with one car used between all members. So many cars you see out and about are single passenger cars. One car could carry 4 ppl comfortably and thats 3 less cars on the road. |
| #45 01:52pm 15/06/09 |
You can't put a dollar figure on Diesel torque though.
| #46 01:53pm 15/06/09 |
except hilux's only put out about 340nm :(
| #47 02:02pm 15/06/09 |
Usually he hires ex-taxis. run on gas.Where from? except hilux's only put out about 340nm :(Bugger. |
| #48 02:05pm 15/06/09 |
Surely your service is more than $1 week or you do it yourself? $150 capped price servicing, 2 services per year tops = $300~/year so its less than $1 hilux is electronically limited to 340~Nm of torque, easily fixed |
| #49 02:41pm 15/06/09 |
an ecu chip will generally take them to around 400nm if you don't mind voiding your warranty, which you're going to need when those weak ifs front end components and rear diff start breaking under the strain
| #50 02:46pm 15/06/09 |
Am I missing something?
$1*52 = $52 Why do they limit it (the torque)? My father in-law was talking about getting a new Landcruiser Turbo Diesel. Something like a 4.5l V8 Turbo, I was shocked (gasp!) to read in the brochure that the engine only produced ~420nm. The 4cyl 2.0 TDi Mazda 6 pushes out 400nm :/ What's Toyota doing? last edited by mission at 14:53:53 15/Jun/09 |
| #51 02:53pm 15/06/09 |
they don't actually limit the torque specifically, which is probably what tequila was hoping to imply. the torque output is a result of their desired engine/fuel mapping based on their calculated tolerances, combined with the design/efficiency of the engine
in other words they don't say: 'ok this can reliably produce x torque but we are going to limit it to 340nm' it's more like: 'this is the power/torque/fuel consumption combination that best suits our performance/longevity/warranty/marketing requirements' |
| #52 03:01pm 15/06/09 |
re: that V8 turbo diesel you're talking about - maybe it's a naturally aspirated model, I dunno. their twin turbo V8 diesel produces about 650nm from ~1500rpm which is more reasonable
| #53 03:02pm 15/06/09 |
quoted torque & power are often pretty different to real final drive wheel torque & power. most manufacturers measure torque & power on a blue-printed bench engine & then subtract calculated transmission losses... which is pretty bs most of the time. only real way is to get the vehicle independantly dyno'd.
| #54 03:05pm 15/06/09 |
Nah it is a turbo, just single.
430nm @ 1,200rpm - the rpm is pretty darn low though. I should have mentioned he was looking at the cab chassis, not the wagon, looks like they use different engines. last edited by mission at 15:16:16 15/Jun/09 |
| #55 03:16pm 15/06/09 |
oh right, weekly
$7 instead of $1 and yeah my old mans about to go get the new turbo diesel v8 landcruiser tray back thing pretty sure he wants it to tow a 5th wheeler (massive caravan) around in his retirement years i'll race him |
| #56 03:47pm 15/06/09 |
he should get a converted dodge ram or an f-250 instead of a land cruiser for a 5th wheeler imo
| #57 04:21pm 15/06/09 |
louie
and its like only $250-$300 to register in victoria or tasmania? oh i just heard it on the triple j news that as of the 1st of july 2009those will be the diferences roughly between states..... |
| #58 04:33pm 15/06/09 |
yeah but they're like twice the price jim
| #59 04:33pm 15/06/09 |
twice the price and 10 times the awesome
what is it with you and your penny pinching ways?! |
| #60 04:40pm 15/06/09 |
why Jim?
the tt-diesel v8 is awesome on fuel |
| #61 04:51pm 15/06/09 |
he won't get the twin turbo in a cab chassis as far as I know, and towing a 5th wheeler with a wagon would be.... interesting
| #62 04:58pm 15/06/09 |
twice the price and 10 times the awesomethat's true. |
| #63 05:27pm 15/06/09 |
$25 a week in rego / ~$25-30 in fuel / ~3 tonnes of CO2 / no idea for anything else
| #64 05:59pm 15/06/09 |
Jim; you can get them with just an alloy tray, which is fine
see here: http://probation.unix.org.au/~brett/files/landcruiser.pps <-- worth a look http://www.4wdmonthly.com.au/forum/showthread.php?p=659655 |
| #65 08:12pm 15/06/09 |
alloy tray = cab chassis with tray bolted on
I don't have a pps viewer here at home - what's the 4wdmonthly link showing? I remember that thread from a while ago but it doesn't show that you can get the twin turbo V8 in a cab chassis that I can tell this might be a better way to determine what's available: http://www.toyota.com.au/landcruiser-70-series/specifications |
| #66 09:08pm 15/06/09 |
i know that the alloy tray is just the cab chasis with a tray bolted on .. lol
the pps shows a twin turbo v8 diesel landcruiser cab chassis (with alloy tray bolted on .....) driving through a river with a boat in toe |
| #67 09:51pm 15/06/09 |
k well I don't get why you said "Jim; you can get them with just an alloy tray, which is fine" then. it was like you didn't realise what I meant by cab chassis or something
so I hopped into my work machine and looked at the pps, still not clear on where you're getting the twin turbo info from |
| #68 09:59pm 15/06/09 |
How many Work-hours do you spend of your cars nF? :p
You are rather cheap though... I've never worked out how much it costs me... ~14$ a week on Fuel, dont know about the rest. I do seem to rip/shred/puncture expensive tyres pretty often though :( |
| #69 10:01pm 15/06/09 |
hehe yeh you should get a second set for playing scooter, some bias plys
I did exactly the same thing as you can prolly remember - but since getting a set for playing and a set for driving I haven't had to replace any |
| #70 10:09pm 15/06/09 |
he won't get the twin turbo in a cab chassis as far as I know, and towing a 5th wheeler with a wagon would be.... interesting thats why i said you can get them with just an alloy tray cause its basically the same thing the pps shows a twin turbo in a cab chassis (with an alloy tray!@!@) |
| #71 10:13pm 15/06/09 |
he should get a converted dodge ram or an f-250 instead of a land cruiser for a 5th wheeler imo my sister & her husband have a 30ft 5th wheeler and they ended up getting basically a truck to tow it with. Not sure what model it is, but it's something crazy like a 6-litre turbo 4-cyl. some photos: http://photos.aaron-77.com/upload/5th_wheeler_1.jpg http://photos.aaron-77.com/upload/5th_wheeler_2.jpg |
| #72 10:14pm 15/06/09 |
nice
could spend some time traveling in that bad boy |
| #73 10:16pm 15/06/09 |
lol teq what language you speaky :)
me: he won't get the twin turbo in a cab chassis as far as I know you: you can get them with just an alloy tray adding an alloy tray to your cab chassis doesn't suddenly make the twin turbo V8 diesel an available option!! :) the pps shows a twin turbo in a cab chassishow can you tell it's a twin turbo V8, is my question I'll explain myself a bit better - the cab chassis, aka 70 series, which is the only land cruiser you can currently buy new in australia that could be fitted with a hitch for towing a 5th wheeler as far as I know, doesn't come with a twin turbo V8. It's only available - as far as I can tell - with the single turbo @ only 430nm cerb: it's a hino 300 - would you believe it has a 4 litre 400nm diesel :) |
| #74 10:37pm 15/06/09 |
your sister and her husband must have abit of cash $$$ thats a little house on wheels! i like it
| #75 10:46pm 15/06/09 |
oh right, s*** I didnt even know they had a single turbo version
so you can only get the ttv8 in the 200 series? thats balls |
| #76 10:58pm 15/06/09 |
yeah I think so :( totally balls
| #77 11:12pm 15/06/09 |
could spend some time traveling in that bad boy They're on a round-australia trip, currently somewhere around longreach last I heard from them. They haven't decided when they'll come back, or even if they'll come back - he's a plumber so if they need money he plans to look for work wherever they are. your sister and her husband must have abit of cash $$$ thats a little house on wheels! i like it They sold their house 2 years ago, paid off the mortgage with cash to spare, and were renting until they found the 5th wheeler (took a while to find one). |
| #78 07:51am 16/06/09 |
That guy in the pps is an idiot, especially because the kids in the car. He's lucky that didn't end in tragedy.
| #79 08:47am 16/06/09 |
that truck kinda reminds me of the highwayman tv show.
| #80 08:51am 16/06/09 |
Just paid $190 for my rego. Thanks Arnold. The state's in hundred of billions of dollars in debt, but at least we aren't reamed as motorists. :D
(the added $90 smog check was fail, though) |
| #81 09:14am 16/06/09 |
That guy in the cruiser is a tard, he just got really lucky on that crossing. When living in Mt Isa we drove all around the outback during flood season and anyone with half a clue wouldn't even attempt a crossing half as deep as that (unless a semi or the army convoys go in front of you).
| #82 10:00am 16/06/09 |
Holy s***! That pps crossing was obscenely lucky. Idiots don't deserve that kind of luck.
| #83 11:41am 16/06/09 |
dranged
Arnold has to stop printing school textbooks and make them all online, 'cos legislature (and constituents) don't want to cut services or increase taxes. Unbelievable.
| #84 08:37am 17/06/09 |
| #84 |