Topic: What sports do you play?
Thinking about getting fit etc...

What sport do you play?

And when do you play? (after work, weekends etc)

kgo

EDIT: Wii sports excluded.
I'm far too lazy to play sports, plus I walk around all day so that keeps me reasonably fit but one of my mates plays cricket after work, presumably indoor.
competitively - soccer, social (still a-grade though) - futsal.

Previously played cricket, indoor cricket, league and union.
funky
touch footy - mixed social, night time.
touch rugby league (seriously awesome,TRL, if you are interested) on sunday arvo's/nights. if you go for it, let me know so i can get the referral, haha.
was playing indoor soccer on friday nights too. used to play a whole swag of indoor cricket too, tis a lot of fun, team went bye bye though.
unfortunately, not playing anything right now, had a mole cut out of the foot so a bit of a wait til i can run again, then i'll get bone fragments taken out of my other ankle so even further wait, f***ing yay.
I think everyone here knows I'm a cyclist by now ;p. Currently only do about 8-10hrs/week, most of which is road at the moment.
Vorador
squash - didn't think I'd get in to it when I first gave it a shot - nowadays can't get enough of it and just sad that I can't play it more frequently... absolute load of fun
I walk the dog daily
In order of preference

surf
tennis
squash
soccer/indoor/futsal
basketball
cycle
kung fu,- http://blackcranekungfu.com/

but any i can get into really

squash is always a good one but seemingly hard to play regularly
or some futsal
Python
Oz tag!!
Red
Squash ftw. Vorador is no match for me.
soccer
weights
trackfield

Soccer is my best, same as dude above I'm social but still decent quality/competitive (just below level where you get paid).

Play cricket and suck at it. Also completed full triathlon season for 2008-09 summer, and still rapt with myself for achieving that, since for me it seemed unmanageable when I started. Expensive (had no bike previously, etc), but highly recommend.

Also fill in occasionally for various indoor soccer teams if required.
still skateboard and rollerblade on ramp occasionally
lots of trampolining - about an hour a day
snowboard every year I can

used to play indoor cricket, but the late night matches didn't work with family life

Indoor volleyball
surf
touch footy
indoor cricket
7 a side soccer
AFL
Dodgymon
Indoor cricket
Wakeboarding / Skiing /tubing

Monday Nights: Futsal
Wed Lunch: Corporate 5 a side football (20 min halves, 1/2 size pitch)
3-5: Cycling (road bike)
3-5 days: Gym

Looking to join our the corporate football league as well (full size pitch, 90mins, etc).
sparrow

Field hockey - social team once a week, great fun but also good for fitness
Netball - really good for keeping fit because it's so fast paced, but can f*** your knees
Vollyball and soccer ocassionally

I will pretty much play anything that is going - I will quite often just fill in for other people's teams when they're missing players, even if I haven't played the sport before.
sweet, so many indoor cricketers! i should sign some of you guys up;

ive been playing indoor cricket (non stop now) for 17 years
still playing a grade at salisbury on wednesday nites (go phoenix)

play a grade netball with the missus and some mates also (and have done for 10 years) at what used to be the valley indoor sports, but now is at west end

also play a bit of squash, which is a good work out:

do gym 4 days a week, run 5 days a week, skipping as well :)

having some time off from playing outdoor cricket due to groin injuries which needed healing (bowling destroyed my groin)

also love kicking footy, wouldnt mind giving afl a go (maybe the touch afl comp)

used to play tennis a fair bit

played a lot of baseball when i was younger, have played softball(slowpitch) a few times in the corporate games, love having a throw with my glove

late edit:
yer, i do a bit of swimming also, i found it helped massively when i had back porblems

last edited by Spook at 07:11:09 29/May/09
cycle every day
swim a few times a week
aussie rules div 2 on sat, train tues & thurs
indoor climbing every 2nd week
i was cycling 2 hours a day but now i changed jobs i'm bacl to swimming 2-3k 3 times a week and home gym

http://bellyoff.menshealth.com/
Does 4wding count as a sport? You do need to be/get very fit to be a NavMan (not that I am/do)

Water Skiing, usually only make it out once a fortnight but not so much in the winter months.
tf2
Only fitness/sport thing I do is gym, weightlifting/bodybuilding..
MatchFixer
Futsal once a week (A grade) down from 3 times a week.

Gym 3-4 times a week.

Chess.
louie
snooker and darts !!!!
Mondays - Touch - White's Hill
Wednesdays - Beach Volleyball - Salsibury Super Sports
Thursdays - Indoor Soccer - Slasibury Super Sports

Weekends reverse it all with copious amounts of partying.

I used to Play Futsal and Touch but that was when they were workplace based teams and I was (duh) working.

Now I just do two to three pole dancing lessons a week - well one at the moment due to an injure obtained from one of the lessons. But I wouldn't classify that as a sport.
indoor cricket (superleague A-grade)

at bracken ridge -

its not even half way through the season so you would get a run if keen.
A,B,C,D grades
Mixed,30's,Masters

they also play mon wed and thurs i think. i live too far away to play mid-week but its a good social comp as well.
owner of the centre is pretty cool bloke too.
yer, ive done my time in superleague

just over the travel on the weekends to play

was good competition though when we played: (played for lang park back in the day)
Up until recently I played ice hockey.

Gave that up last season due to the bulls*** flying around within the organisation and team... coach/manager(who also played in the team) was a massive bogan idiot with a temper and wouldn't stop being a dick plus he had a buzz cut mullet.

I'd like to get back into it cause I currently do SFA and should do some hard excercise again.
yer, ive done my time in superleague

just over the travel on the weekends to play

was good competition though when we played: (played for lang park back in the day)

was that before the war?
PRO--GEM
I've been playing field hockey as a GK for 12 years, played in various rep teams.
Also play beach volleyball and futsal on and off. Probably won't go back to futsal tho cos being a GK and diving round on the hard floors was messing up my knees.

Also weights and running a few times a week.
haha, it was :)
sweet, so many indoor cricketers! i should sign some of you guys up;

ive been playing indoor cricket (non stop now) for 17 years
still playing a grade at salisbury on wednesday nites (go phoenix)

we played salisbury a few weeks ago. we got done by 20 or so i think. not a bad side. although we played fairly average on the night.
yer, i play against most of the salisbury superleague teams in their various forms

i think wednesday nites are the money nites for cricket:

we used to play tuesday nites but didnt get much of a challenge, we're regularly winning games by 200+ to negative scores

that wasnt fun for anyone, so we moved to wednesday nites, much better comp
bodybuilding
cycling
Cycling - B grade crit.

$ack came out for a ride with me once on my old Trek (no cleats), then bought a mountain bike :( now he rides on bikes paths and not on the road.

FTL

Road bike with cleats or go home!
billy, you looking to compete or just doing it bodybuilding for fun?
Not quite a sport, but I do gymnastics conditioning (I don't actually do gymnastics itself but).
What for fish?

There is a large group of Brissie parkour people that do a modified gymnastics program.

Might be similar?
Strik3r
Tennis (fixtures on Monday night @ the Queensland Tennis Centre)
Mixed touch on Sundays.

Used to play soccer down on the coast (div 1 res) but couldn't juggle doing it up here when i moved up at the start of the year. Might try and do it next year cause it does more for fitness than most other sports (touch is also very good for fitness if you play at a decent level).
boba
Golf
left4dead

OK, first of all, we need to define what a 'sport' is. I've been working on this as a definition for some time, primarily out of my desire to annoy people that call things like golf and car racing sports, when they are clearly not.

My initially attempt at defining 'sport' was that it must have BOTH of the following two things:

a) a ball
b) explosive movement (such as the hitting of a tennis ball, sprinting, kicking)

This quite neatly cuts out a lot of the more useless things, but the big obvious weakness is that it leaves in golf.

After several discussions though one of my friends proposed a new definition:

* You can't do it by yourself

This effectively rules out a lot of stuff as well.

So, not to rain on all your parades, but bodybuilding, cycling, golf, gymnastics, snooker, darts and swimming don't qualify as sports. Sorry.

Oh yeh, I play soccer.
your definition sux;

sport  /spɔrt, spoʊrt/ Show Spelled Pronunciation [spawrt, spohrt] Show IPA
–noun 1. an athletic activity requiring skill or physical prowess and often of a competitive nature, as racing, baseball, tennis, golf, bowling, wrestling, boxing, hunting, fishing, etc.

good point, my definition excludes quality things like synchronised swimming
Oh yeh, I play soccer.

that is more acting than sport. and bad acting at that. maybe if they didnt carry on like women so much it would be ok.
^^ as a whole i agree though with what you are trying to say. but golf is a sport IMO.

Cycling and gymnastics would definitely be a sport under my definition.

Trog, you should make your own dictionary :P
Coochie
Mooby - where do you climb?

Me:
rock climbing
gym (just restarted after about a year)
ride my bike (although recently this has been all to rare - just can't do it in the cold weather)
also if you can consider hiking a sport I do lots of that
good point, my definition excludes quality things like synchronised swimming

as gay a sport as it is, it still requires skills,strength and endurance
$ack came out for a ride with me once on my old Trek (no cleats), then bought a mountain bike :( now he rides on bikes paths and not on the road. FTL

Then I bought a motorbike and you are too scared to come riding. "coz road pushies are much safer than road moties" lul

Can someone please tell me the difference between indoor soccer and futsal?

Im feeling indoor soccer / squash / maybe some tennis.

Skydiving is a sport.

Then I bought a motorbike and you are too scared to come riding. "coz road pushies are much safer than road moties" lul

Take it to the motorcycle thread ;)

I'm not quite ready to be put in wheelchair, not just yet ;)

last edited by CHUB at 10:14:39 29/May/09
$ack: As far as I am aware the only difference is the order that the ball needs to be touched before gaining a goal. But I have never played indoor soccor
What makes soccer more a sport than cycling? nothing, you have to be fitter and much more mentally strong to be a competent team (or just long distance) cyclist than you do an average soccer player.

I wouldn't consider anything about going to the gym, a sport, thats just general fitness. Competitive running/cycling/swimming are all sports. And like it or note there is a fitness and mental concertration element to golf.

I gym 3 times and week and run 3 times a week. i run 5k's at the gym, and 2k's in the morning, but i would not consider that a "sport"

I play out door cricket in some comp, warehouse? i dunno.

as gay a sport as it is, it still requires skills,strength and endurance
So does standing on one leg for 6 hours while carrying a bag of potatoes
at least with golf there isnt a major problem with players taking dives

so basically the olypics doesn't comprise of that many sports trog?

Python
Chess is a sport!
Computer gaming is a sport!

ha ha!
Could be?
So does standing on one leg for 6 hours while carrying a bag of potatoes

oh that takes me back. they just dont carry bags of potatoes like they used to.

they are getting soft with all the tv cameras and video refs.

I LOVE sunday afternoon potato carrying

NO NO NO NO NO NO,,, DEAR OH DEAR OH DEAR etc etc
Matt
Windsurfing - it is a sport but I don't compete (yet)

Will get back in to running, tennis and weights when I go do my masters (and have the facilities for free)

so basically the olypics doesn't comprise of that many sports trog?
pretty much. I'm not saying they don't require heaps of skill or athleticism (clearly, they do), but just I think the word "sport" is thrown around too haphazardly these days. There should be some sort of authoritative body that makes these decisions.
Coochie
but just I think the word "sport" is thrown around too haphazardly these days
Are you trying to say theatresports isn't a real sport?
masterbating 3-4 times a week - works out my forearms
Windsurfing - it is a sport but I don't compete (yet)
Where do you windsurf?

If you count that, kitesurfing for me.

I rock it old schools, 12m C-kite.

I say 95%+ of the nubs are flying bows now at Scarborough/Redcliffe/Brighton/Sandgate, can't handle the power of the C!
Taekwondo - competition sparring
Boxfit - I do it on wednesday and take it on mondays
Kickfit
running
cycling

and anything else i can do to keep active
^^
Where do u do boxfit and kickfit at? They sound interesting.

MatchFixer
I don't agree with golf being a sport.
says the attention whore who considers pole dancing a sport

Wait...what?

"What sports do you play?"
None :(

*snip* I wouldn't classify that as a sport.

I may be an attention whore, but at least I can read and comprehend.
sparrow

Mooby - where do you climb?
Me:
rock climbing

Where do both of you climb? I really got into it last year, mostly going to Urban, but also kangaroo point. I'm hoping to get some more climbing trips in when I get back around Brisbane.

Also, I would consider 'sport' anything involving physical exertion and can be competitive (someone wins or loses). This rules out things like Chess (no physical) and gym (no real winning or losing). I also don't count bodybuilding, because thats really jusy a beauty contest in the end isn't it :P
This definition includes things like Ultimate frisbee and golf (to an extent, though you could argue there isn't much physical activity).

I also don't count bodybuilding, because thats really jusy a beauty contest in the end isn't it :P
more like an UGLY contest, AMIRITE
Matt
Where do you windsurf?

I prefer Victoria Point but don't mind Wello or the train (on the coast). Should be hitting VP this weekend, conditions looking pretty good. You damn kiters are always in the way :)
Our Dojan is at Strathpine where Uptiles and the Sports place is...

They also do this type of stuff at the PCYC at Suncorp....

www.Factor10.com.au
Gesthemene
Until I thoroughly f***ed my back, I used to fence 4-5 times a week, now I play golf (badly).

Also, sorry Trog, but your definition of a sport rules out fencing, therefore it's wrong. :P
They also do this type of stuff at the PCYC at Suncorp....

how awesome is the pcyc!!!!
Just looking up some information now on the Suncorp PCYC and it looks really good. I live down the road but never knew it existed. Will have to join ^^
billy, you looking to compete or just doing it bodybuilding for fun?

Just for fun/fitness/look good naked. My abs are too assymetrical to compete:) For anyone who doesn't think it's a sport, you show a gross misunderstanding of the sport. Competitive bodybuilding requires probably the most amount of dedication and motivation out of all the sports, and is far more than a "beauty contest".

trog, name one sport that you can "do" by yourself. There would be no such thing as a sport without competition, and therefore, there are always other people. I assume you mean you need to be in a team to be called "sport".

I think it's silly to define something so just the things that you like are included:p You're definition is arbritrary. You should call those things "ball games", and then everything else can be "sport".
Articuz
Cycling - B grade crit.

oi chub! who do you ride for?
i play soccer

fadelor what club you at nigga
I love how you bros call each other by nicknames its f***ing weirdddd

trog, name one sport that you can "do" by yourself.
Wha? that's my point under this definition... there are none. Unless you mean "hobbies" or whatever a non-sport is when you can do it by yourself. So things like golf (you can play to beat your own score), darts (same as golf), weightlifting (beat your PB, also, srsly, half naked men comparing their glutes isn't a sport, it's softcore man porn), swimming, sprinting, racing cars, etc
There would be no such thing as a sport without competition, and therefore, there are always other people. I assume you mean you need to be in a team to be called "sport".
No (see: tennis)
anyone who doesn't consider golf a sport is suffering some pretty severe mental deficiency.
Man, i am so keen for touch rugby league..

Anyone have a team that needs people?

rugby league
touch footy
indoor cricket
jadz0r

Cricket
Squash
Indoor soccer
Footsal
Beach Volleyball
driving fast
+ squash with mongie lately!

ooyea
XaltD
American Football aka Gridiron.

Train Tuesday (and soon to be Wednesday) nights from 7pm - 9pm.

Play Saturday evenings / nights.

Its a South QLD wide league, Brisbane, Gold coast, Sunshine coast and Toowoomba.

blatant plug:

http://www.toowoombawolves.com :)
Basketball.

Thursdays at Carina
Sundays at Auchenflower

* You can't do it by yourself
I heard you can kick a football around on your own. Don't quote me on this, but I've heard that its done...
My initially attempt at defining 'sport' was that it must have BOTH of the following two things:

a) a ball
b) explosive movement (such as the hitting of a tennis ball, sprinting, kicking)
Gymnastics, wrestling, most athletics, boxing and plenty of sports don't have a ball... I these are sports which have been around for thousands of years, long before football, tennis, etc ever existed.

I heard you can kick a football around on your own. Don't quote me on this, but I've heard that its done...
yeh but kicking a football around by yourself is not playing football. Knocking a golf ball around by yourself is playing golf!
Gymnastics, wrestling, most athletics, boxing and plenty of sports don't have a ball... I these are sports which have been around for thousands of years, long before football, tennis, etc ever existed.
they're really more challenges than sports

wow this fishing is easier than I thought
Fishing is a sport too!
its a bad sport though

sport

• noun 1 an activity involving physical exertion and skill in which an individual or team competes against another or others.
2 informal a person who behaves in a good or specified way in response to teasing, defeat, etc.
3 success or pleasure derived from an activity such as hunting.
4 dated entertainment; fun.
5 chiefly Austral./NZ a friendly form of address, especially between unacquainted men.
6 Biology an animal or plant showing abnormal or striking variation from the parent type as a result of spontaneous mutation.

• verb 1 wear or display (a distinctive item). 2 amuse oneself or play in a lively way.

— PHRASES the sport of kings horse racing.

— DERIVATIVES sporter noun.

— ORIGIN shortening of DISPORT.

Strength sports - power lifting, olympic weight lifting, Strongman, thumb wrestling,
Deathwalker
I used to play hockey but now i just do boxing.

Trog i half agree with some of what you are saying but i don't see how you can say that contact SPORTS aren't sports, like boxing, competitve kung fu etc.
squash

too lazy to do more than one sport
TF2
run/work out o_O

Can someone please tell me the difference between indoor soccer and futsal?
Aren't there like walls/nets with Indoor football as well? In futsal you have to keep the ball in play. I think Futsal uses smaller heavier balls too.
wow this fishing is easier than I thought
Fishing too is a sport :p
Aren't there like walls/nets with Indoor football as well? In futsal you have to keep the ball in play. I think Futsal uses smaller heavier balls too.

I see, I think indoor soccer appeals more to me then.
travdawg
The first thread about posters and sports the sports they play and it turns into a debate over semantics. Vintage QGL.
dranged
ultimate frisbie
cycling (about 4-6 hours a week)
tuning
another ultimate frisbee player here, two to three games a week.

kayaking/fishing as well.
trog, you're a newb. You missed my point.

Playing golf by yourself is analogous to hitting a tennis ball against the wall. Someday, there'll be a partner returning the ball. You do want a partner, don't you son?

My point is, there is no point in playing competitive golf unless there is someone else there playing with you. Similararily, any sport like bodybuilding, swimming, darts, are all done with other people, and therefore meet that criteria of your definition.
swimming is a sport cause you can do relay....

anyway.. by trogs definition what i'm doing WITH YA MUM is a sport

I SHOULD BE IN TEH OLYPICS
muay thai atm is all i have time for. Hope to be competing again in a couple of weeks when my injured knee heals
My point is, there is no point in playing competitive golf unless there is someone else there playing with you.

Billy, I disgaree. How about chasing your previous best score. Similar to Thorpie in his heyday. It wasn't about beating the others, it was about beating his previous PB.
Motorsport :)
hell yes.. lakeside sprints tomorrow.
howd you go last time orb !
What for fish?

There is a large group of Brissie parkour people that do a modified gymnastics program.

Might be similar?

Doing it mostly to get overall strength for silks, trapeze and straps (which are very similar to gymnastics rings). And if I get some acrobatics skills in the meantime, bonus!

Is that modified gymnastics program run by (or in conjunction with) urban gymnastics? I think I might have heard about it.
BMX