so, another young guy down the coast has been glassed (he reckons he did nothing to instigate it, maybe he did, maybe he didnt)
how many people will have to endure life long injures before we go plastic its pretty obvious, that we the general population cant be trusted to drink with each other, without trying to stab someone, with whatever is available really, going plastic is the only option i love beer out of a glass, it tastes and smells great, but somehow, ill survive: f*** it, id drink beer out of a cup made of broken glass, so plsatic still sounds like a pretty good option who are these people that cant drink their drinks out of anything but glass? and what is their problem? |
| #0 06:47pm 17/05/09 |
There's more than just the asthetic/feel to it.
Plastics not great of the environment how ever you cut it, where as washable glass is. not that i really care all that much about the enviro reasons. But wouldn't you still get your beer/pre mix in a glass bottle if you bought a stubbie/pre-mix? so what would be the point? if i had a preference, it'd be for a glass though. |
| #1 06:56pm 17/05/09 |
When I'm pissed in a club I don't care what I drink out of, just gimme more booze.
| #2 06:58pm 17/05/09 |
While plastic cups might help the problem, isn't the bigger problem that society has breed such violence?
| #3 07:04pm 17/05/09 |
yer, that is the bigger problem, but you cant fix it
theres tards everywhere |
| #4 07:09pm 17/05/09 |
While plastic cups might help the problem, isn't the bigger problem that society has breed such violence?Im pretty sure they will be able to link this back to rugby league. |
| #5 07:09pm 17/05/09 |
Im pretty sure they will be able to link this back to rugby league. Or video games. Anyone wanna place bets here on how long before someone links glassing to video games? |
| #6 07:12pm 17/05/09 |
it's like how you can't get super hot take-away coffee any more. too many retards. just soften all the edges.
| #7 07:15pm 17/05/09 |
But wouldn't you still get your beer/pre mix in a glass bottle if you bought a stubbie/pre-mix? so what would be the point?? They pour it into a plastic cup for you, just like any festival that has glass. I'm all for plastic. On the topic of rugby league, check this out for a joke on iinet website... under latest news Woman in Broncos sex scandal speaks out last edited by CHUB at 19:22:34 17/May/09 |
| #8 07:22pm 17/05/09 |
You never see fights or ppl being glassed at Gloria jeans or Starbucks.
Ban Alcohol at Bars. |
| #9 07:19pm 17/05/09 |
épic™
this thread tweaked my interest, so for anyone else here's some recent crime stats from the aic -
http://www.aic.gov.au/publications/facts/2008/facts_and_figures_2008.pdf |
| #10 07:24pm 17/05/09 |
ban alcohol all together so we can go back to illegal moonshine runs.
| #11 07:24pm 17/05/09 |
This s*** is retarded, it's a social thing but I don't even have any idea where it begins. Look at countries like Germany where beer is ever present and part of the lifestyle, drinking out of huge big 1 litre steins and being joyous without anywhere near the violence we have. They drink to enjoy the beer not to get smashed.
| #12 07:28pm 17/05/09 |
Hashy
yo lets ban anything even remotely linked to a few rare high profile cases. one stop closer to a nanny state ftw
| #13 07:31pm 17/05/09 |
This s*** is retarded, it's a social thing but I don't even have any idea where it begins. Look at countries like Germany where beer is ever present and part of the lifestyle, drinking out of huge big 1 litre steins and being joyous without anywhere near the violence we have. They drink to enjoy the beer not to get smashed.I would like to see those stats if you have them. I think alcohol and violence go hand in hand, but people often tell me about countries like Italy where people start drinking wine daily from 12 - 13yo+. Apparently they form a healthier attitude where as we restrict it, then people hit 18 and BAM... binge city. |
| #14 07:37pm 17/05/09 |
3x0dus
i always thought beer had issues with plastic as a short/long term storage due to the fermenting process of beer.
| #15 07:56pm 17/05/09 |
Keg it, problem solved.
| #16 07:57pm 17/05/09 |
And what do you expect we do when Donkey Kong comes into a bar then?
| #17 08:19pm 17/05/09 |
I'm down with plastic for post mixes and taps. Cans/plastic stubbies (football stadium style) for pre mixes. They do it at the football, music festivals and other s***... why not clubs.
I'd hate to be a f***en permo scar face c*** because of some d******* I dont even know. |
| #18 08:21pm 17/05/09 |
And what do you expect we do when Donkey Kong comes into a bar then? Something like this? |
| #19 08:22pm 17/05/09 |
Infidel
How about not getting so s***faced and violent problem solved. Its a sacrilege to drink beer out of plastic glasses.
| #20 08:24pm 17/05/09 |
Maybe the punishment for glassing someone should be being gang raped in prison.
| #21 08:26pm 17/05/09 |
How about not getting so s***faced and violent problem solved.It's a by-product of the drug unfortunately, alcohol and violence will always go hand in hand. http://www.freshpromotions.com.au/products/schooner-beer-glass1.jpg VS. http://img36.imageshack.us/img36/9303/p3260177.jpg I'll have my beer in plastic cups thanks! Leave the glass to other drugs that don't promote violence. |
| #22 08:37pm 17/05/09 |
I think a lot of pubs are starting to look at buying glasses that have been tempered, so that the glass shatters into tiny, stone like pieces rather than shards.
| #23 08:43pm 17/05/09 |
Depends on the person to be honest....Im a happy drunk, usually roll around on the floor before trying to hit anyone!
| #24 08:47pm 17/05/09 |
kappa
Make glassing punishable by death. That would sort out the meatheads.
| #25 08:47pm 17/05/09 |
Glassing is a cowards way of dealing with a problem , its a massive problem in the U.K and getting lots worse here. Disposable plastic cups would add to the price of your fav spirits and beer but may save some poor bastard from going to hospital and maybe losing a f***ing eye. They need to do what Scotland did about concealed knife and other weapons on a person in public places give them a mandatory 2 years in the clink .
| #26 08:53pm 17/05/09 |
Corrupt
Alcohol = fail
I can't stand the stuff makes me feel sick. |
| #27 08:53pm 17/05/09 |
I was at the Met last night and noticed that the glasses they put spirits in seem to be made of plastic or perhaps some sort of sugar glass. If they were plastic, they feel just as dangerous the glass ones, since the edges were quite thin. They seem like they would stab into somebody quite easily.
| #28 08:56pm 17/05/09 |
They need to do what Scotland did about concealed knife and other weapons on a person in public places give them a mandatory 2 years in the clink . Mandatory minimums? Oh boy. You know what, while we're at it, let's just wrote a ton of laws that factor in affirmative action :( |
| #29 09:00pm 17/05/09 |
raven, would you rather affirmitive action or be glassed by song wannabe gangsta..
| #30 09:02pm 17/05/09 |
Violence and alcohol go together like dope and dopiness.
| #31 09:04pm 17/05/09 |
Never knew Corrupt was a terrorist.
| #32 09:06pm 17/05/09 |
Plastics not great of the environment how ever you cut it, where as washable glass is. since when cant you wash plastic cups (?) |
| #33 09:17pm 17/05/09 |
BrenAce
since when cant you wash plastic cups (?) It's not a good idea because the chemicals in the plastic leach. |
| #34 09:59pm 17/05/09 |
Mary St used to have plastic cups and they'd be all cracked and stained brown, they actually exuded an old plastic smell that you caught everytime you had a sip. Ah the memories.
| #35 10:00pm 17/05/09 |
they've had plastic cups at the cricket for donkey's, i don't see why they shouldn't have them in
| #36 10:01pm 17/05/09 |
your doing it wrong chub
| #37 10:07pm 17/05/09 |
Sure plastic cups, but will it be long before we get someone stabbed by a shiv out of a plastic cup? ;) Won't somebody please think of the children?
Do away with cups and glasses altogether IMO and simply pour the liquor down my throat at the bar via a tap or hose, preferably handled by a busty wench with pigtails and a sassy mouth. However one advantage of the plastic cup is the ability to impress the ladies in the bar or club with a decent sized beer snake. |
| #38 10:25pm 17/05/09 |
I would like to see those stats if you have them. This is the internet, I'm allowed to make unsubstantiated claims :P But Binge City, that's hitting it on the head, the attitude towards alcohol is pretty much what I meant, France, Germany, Italy etc all have a much healthier and respectful attitude towards alcohol. |
| #39 11:16pm 17/05/09 |
Why not plastic disposable cups?
Yeah I went there. |
| #40 11:40pm 17/05/09 |
I reckon people should have to have a special license to be allowed to enter a licensed venue.
| #41 12:26am 18/05/09 |
kr0wb4r
The thing is if they were to ban glasses they'd have to make stubbies plastic too, or there is no point. You can do just as damage with one of those, even comes with a handle.
Somehow I think it would stir up alot of s***, from both the drink companies and punters who prefer their drinks in a glass bottle (not sure if the same thing happens but I know coke in a glass bottle > can > plastic bottle, so some people might whinge about taste in plastic etc). Just some things to think about. Personally I wouldn't mind about plastic glasses, but I wouldn't bother unless you made everything plastic including stubbie bottles. Then again isn't it another case of: guns don't kill people, people kill people? but replace guns with glasses. I'm sure that if some drunk violent wanker wants to hurt someone in a bar, they'll find a way to do it either way, what's next.. nailing bar stools to the floor? |
| #42 12:53am 18/05/09 |
However one advantage of the plastic cup is the ability to impress the ladies in the bar or club with a decent sized beer snake. f*** yer imagine getting around family with your 15ft cup snake bitches would be swooning |
| #43 05:07am 18/05/09 |
I'd say its something about Australian society, I've been in many countries where alcohol is bountiful and the violence is limited or non existent, Germany is a good example. I've also been living in the UK for 5 years now and haven't seen a single glassing! |
| #44 05:37am 18/05/09 |
I'd say its something about Australian society, I've been in many countries where alcohol is bountiful and the violence is limited or non existent, Germany is a good example. I've also been living in the UK for 5 years now and haven't seen a single glassing! Yes, but a TRUCKLOAD more stabbings. |
| #45 06:35am 18/05/09 |
And what do you expect we do when Donkey Kong comes into a bar then? Made me LOL while taking a dump in a public toilet. With regard to people saying that other countries that drink a lot don't get agro and punch on, I'm highly skeptical. In Brisbane I hear about glassings maybe once every couple of months, which is pretty much dick all in terms of the total numbers of people out each night drinking. As a rough estimate, assume 100 000 people are out each week drinking in Brisbane... so even if there was 1 glassing a week, that'd be 0.001%. Given that European nations like Germany and Italy have much greater populations, my guess is the rate of violence is the same, but your less likely to witness it when you're amongst it. I've never seen a glassing, and I've only seen a handful of fights (at the RE). Having said that, I'm all for plastic cups. It's a simple level of precaution that pubs can take to protect patrons. Typically what the RE does is use glasses throughout the day and early evening, then at night before it gets busy, they switch to plastic. As for stubbies, a few years back, a couple of beer companies made plastic stubbies for schoolies week - they could do the same again on a permanent basis if they made them from an easily recyclable material. |
| #46 09:56am 18/05/09 |
everything over in south america was glass. they had barely any plastic at all. They even boasted at some places "first glass only bar/restaraunt.... etc"
| #47 04:46pm 18/05/09 |
+1 for drinks tasting better out of glass tho.
Vanilla coke tastes 1million x better out of a can than it does out of a plastic bottle. if only they had it in glass bottles... it would rock the s*** out of anything. |
| #48 04:48pm 18/05/09 |
épic™
I think a lot of pubs are starting to look at buying glasses that have been tempered, so that the glass shatters into tiny, stone like pieces rather than shards. I think this is a win solution. |
| #49 05:43pm 18/05/09 |
i'm a bartender and an appreciater of fine booze and i would be disgusted if the government told me i had to drink my booze out of plastic. and yeah, tempered glass ftw.
i think extremely harsh penalties need to be in place for crimes of violence, it's ridiculous how easy some people get off for f***ing other people up for life. |
| #50 02:49pm 19/05/09 |
I've also been living in the UK for 5 years now and haven't seen a single glassing! i was there 7 years, no glassings... but most of the pubs i went to had plastic. |
| #51 05:03pm 19/05/09 |
Anything that changes penalties just will ultimately be used out of context. I just think more enforcement and more zero tolerance rules.
I think it should be mandatory to kick out all people involved in a scuffle or even just baiting (even sadly some randoms who maybe even got involved unwillingly) and the police should move them out of the city if they aren't in a club/pub. Being drunk should be enough to be asked to leave, not just drunk and disorderly. If you can't get into another establishment then you shouldn't be there anymore. Sure a few people for a while will be pissed because they didnt get to have a night out but given a couple of months people will know that if they want to stick around for the entire night, they can't start s***. |
| #52 09:10am 20/05/09 |
Is it a coincidence that people have named Germany as less violent in situations such as this and that Germany has stronger restrictions to violence in their media, such as Green blood for example? From a very young age we are shown TV shows, Cartoons, News, Music that trivialize violence. In the case of Cartoons it shows violence as being funny. How are we surprised when kids grow up on this media then act in a violent way when inhibitions are lowered? We can't seem to have it both ways. Violence in our media (such as Games) and no violence in general society. |
| #53 09:36am 20/05/09 |
| #53 |