RockitMan
Late last week I threw my back out picking up a box. It was pretty bad and required morphine and other stuff to get me off the floor. I've had massage today which has helped heaps, and tomorrow I'll hit up some sports remedial massage + hot tubbing which I expect to help even more.
I thought I'd also give chiro a go as I've never tried it and heard good things. Any experiences and recommendations in the toowong/indro/taringa area? |
| #0 05:37pm 17/05/09 |
ive seen chiro, physio and osetopaths for my back:
none of them really gave me any immediate relief |
| #1 05:43pm 17/05/09 |
^ Because normally you have to do specific exercises to work the affected areas to right the wrong...which takes a while.
| #2 05:59pm 17/05/09 |
Nah, cause it's a scam.
| #3 06:01pm 17/05/09 |
I thought I'd also give chiro a go as I've never tried it and heard good things. Any experiences and recommendations in the toowong/indro/taringa area?Really? I've never heard any good things about chiros. I'm pretty sure amongst the medical community they're not really considered to be a particularly good idea. Fortunately for you I remember every single thing I've ever read on the Internets! Bad Astronomer did a thing about chiro a while ago and referenced this site which is a lot of stories about bad chiro experiences. They mostly have citations, but of course YMMV, who knows which ones are real. Here's the BA post which might be of interest; it involves a case where the British Chiropractic Association tries to sue this bloke.. I didn't read too much but his page on Facebook has a stack more information. I'm sure nubbin will check in at some point to e-rage at chiros, I'm pretty sure she's a hata as well. I can recommend physio if you don't mind being horribly punished as part of your recovery. I go to Allsports at Indro (see Amy and tell her I sent ya!) and they're really good. |
| #4 06:06pm 17/05/09 |
Massage is a good idea. Have never been to a chiro so can't comment, though I've been told it's good. Have you ever considered acupuncture though? There is significant evidence to prove its usefulness for pain.
| #5 06:09pm 17/05/09 |
^ Because normally you have to do specific exercises to work the affected areas to right the wrong...which takes a while.When you think about it, its kind of weird that people think they should get immediate relief to ailments. If you think of the possible causes of pain, you gotta either wait for muscle or connective tissue to repair, muscle to grow, connective tissue to stretch or a whole bunch of nerve s*** that may not even be naturally repairable and people expect a laying of hands to insta-fix stuff that obviously takes your body time to do. You gotta go to a physio and fix the problem, not just stick your head in the sand and hope it fixes itself while you work on ways to reduce pain. This is the kind of thing where old f***wits at jobs say "oh yeah, pick up boxes properly cause I f***ed my back and it still hurts on cold days" or something similar. They never got the problem fixed, seeing a physio and actually working on the cause of the pain could of stopped that from being something they just live with... |
| #6 06:09pm 17/05/09 |
The reason I'm interested in chiro this time is that it's very obvious that my spine/hip is now out of allignment from extremely tight lower back muscles which clenched up after the accident. The massage helped straighten me out quite a lot but looking in the mirror I'm still not straight. I expect more physio and hot tubbing will help but I figured that if ever there was a job for a chiro, this was it, and could set the spine nice and straight again once the physio and massage had allowed the muscles to relax...
| #7 06:17pm 17/05/09 |
I figured that if ever there was a job for a chiro, this was it That is what they would have you believe, but there are already trained professionals doing physiotherapy. The only things a chiro can do right for you are some basic ideas they stole from physio - and they have not even been certified in these techniques so they might not get it right. |
| #8 06:23pm 17/05/09 |
yeah, i a broke my collar bone and my back started hurting. i thought chiros where all bs.. but went down and he showed me a vertabra had twisted... he put it back in and the relief was instant. couldnt belive i didnt go straight away.
| #9 06:27pm 17/05/09 |
When I broke my collarbone the physio also put my back back in place, omg it made a massive difference.
I've been a fair bit uncomfortable lately, thinking on just getting a physio to check my back out again and see if it helps. My experience is it usually does though. Never been to an actual chiro though, and most MDs have about the same opinion of them as acupuncturists and chinese medicine specialists. |
| #10 07:03pm 17/05/09 |
Chiropractors are charlatans right up there with Pyschics and Homeopaths.
Remedial Massage Colour Massages Aromatherapy massages = all does not cure anything. Everyone feels better after a massage. Thats the only benefit. Want to help yourself ? Make an appointment to see an Orthopedic Surgeon. (prolly a 2 month wait) Thats what Sportspersons do. |
| #11 07:29pm 17/05/09 |
faceman, only two month wait if you don't ring around..
But you need a referal to see one though. I rang up two days ago and i'm seeing one on the 28th. Physios are great!! When i did my lower back(disc protrusion l4/l5) after the first initial treatment I was already feeling less pressure on my lower back and my sciatica was nowhere as painful. free plug for sean mcollough @ maximise physiotherapy, on kessells road macgregor at club bjs. |
| #12 07:56pm 17/05/09 |
Cranial Sacral ftw
| #13 08:02pm 17/05/09 |
redhat
I have some snake oil that can cure that pain right up.
Seriously go to a physio. |
| #14 08:02pm 17/05/09 |
I dislocated my neck as a baby, chiro fixed it.
Seriously go to a physio. I went to one recently. Never again as long as I live. last edited by whoop at 20:08:05 17/May/09 |
| #15 08:08pm 17/05/09 |
Chiros are a waste of time.
| #16 08:09pm 17/05/09 |
I'm only really interested in opinions from people who have actually been to a chiro, and so far all of them are positive? I've read the websites on some local chiros and some of the degrees/courses they do are 6 years and 2000 hours of practical training. I don't think they're charletans but I don't expect them to be miracle workers either. They're another tool in the range of treatment options and it would be stupid to write off anything without having tried it.
Physios are great, but only if they are great physios (like anything). The only excellent one I've been to has since moved to Adelaide, and the others all ranged from crap to average. A mate of mine who actually is a physio recommended me the aforementioned one and has recommended another who is supposed to be the bee's knees of all physios but apparently his rates start at $150. I've forgotten his name but I'll get it for future QGL reference. Trog I'm hesitant to follow your recommendation only because I've found that female physios lack the physical strength required for deep tissue/re-allignment manipulation. I'll probably just stick to remedial/sports/deep tissue massage as it's half the price of physio and all I really need for this injury. I'm scoping out "back on trac" sports rehab at toowong - looks promising. last edited by Le Cock at 20:28:33 17/May/09 |
| #17 08:28pm 17/05/09 |
I went to a chiropractor in highschool after sustaining a heavy knee injury playing rugby. 6 weeks later, he did nothing for the pain, I went to a physio once and she sorted it out. Yep. |
| #18 08:21pm 17/05/09 |
Used to go to a chiro on a weekly basis, physio ended that.
Could have just been a s*** chiro, but has put me off for life. |
| #19 08:25pm 17/05/09 |
Why would you go to a chiro for a knee injury?
I guess it all comes down to the type of injury/discomfort as to what method of treatment will work best, as well as the skill of the practitioner. I figured a lower back injury would be what chiro's specialise in so was hoping to hear opinions on chiros+lower back re-allignments. Note: I only intended to use a chiro AFTER the muscles were already treated through massage/physio. last edited by Le Cock at 20:27:13 17/May/09 |
| #20 08:27pm 17/05/09 |
There were massage studios in Sydney that were charging happy ending massages to private insurance.
| #21 08:29pm 17/05/09 |
i'm not sure what a chiro would do for knee pain
you see a chiro for back pain, neck pain, headaches, stuff to do with the spine in my experience chiro is effective against these things. of course it won't be in all cases, but no one treatment will be |
| #22 08:30pm 17/05/09 |
"In Australia Chiropractors must complete a five-year university degree and a further 2,000 hours of supervised clinical training. They specialise in spine care. Chiropractic is the second largest health care profession in the world and continues to grow. A State Chiropractic Registration Board oversees the profession and registration is compulsory."
| #23 08:33pm 17/05/09 |
I have seen the same chiro for years on and off
its kind of my own fault, I'm tall and it gives me problems just day to day, but i exacerbate the situation by not exercising enough and sitting in front of a computer 40+hrs a week I get instant relief and it feels good, I go for a few months at a time - starts off once per week and then once per fortnight and then once a month generally after I start going once a month i'm feeling great I stop booking my appointments .. then I go back to square one +1 for chiro this is my guy -> http://www.andrewvincentchiropractic.com.au/chiropractors.html |
| #24 08:40pm 17/05/09 |
^ Wouldn't you rather fix the problem? instead of paying exorbitant amounts of money for a quick fix?
Or is that what you mean by not exercising enough? |
| #25 08:51pm 17/05/09 |
Ospi
They aren't as big a scam as kinesiologists, my god is that a joke and a half.
| #26 09:08pm 17/05/09 |
jubs
I go to a Chiro and I think he is great. He has been away and I had a fill in person who I found crap.
Michael Troy in Kenmore. |
| #27 09:11pm 17/05/09 |
Yeh if you've still been working out heaps then you might struggle.. They're plenty hardcore enough for me :( |
| #28 09:17pm 17/05/09 |
Some Fat Bastard
I used to go to a chiro every 6 weeks from when I was 19 till I was 43. Motorcycle accident damaged my neck and back. I found if you get a good chiro they're great, better than any physiotherapist I've ever been to.
I haven't gone since 2004 cause the discs collapsed in my neck and back in 2004 and now I have titanium artificial disks and I feel great, thanks to my Neurosurgeon. Besides that when my disc in my neck collapsed the two vertebrae crunched down together and severed the nerve to my left arm. I was paralysed in my left arm for nearly two years till the nerve grew back. It never did regrow to the muscle over my left shoulder blade thus it has faded to just about nothing. Can't lift anything above about 5kg's with my left arm. Least I can walk, talk, turn around and still lift a beer or 5. |
| #29 09:20pm 17/05/09 |
They're plenty hardcore enough for me :(seriously... after I broke my knee and the muscle started to grow back, all the tendons or ligaments or whatever it was were really tight. So the physio would stretch them out whenever I was in which basically entailed pressing hard into the muscles around my knee to get up against them, then pushing or dragging along them. (over and over till hed had enough) I swear, that hurt as much as when I broke it in the first place. But it beats having them real tight and your knee bending all weird cause the connective tissue is too tight so whatever :P |
| #30 09:23pm 17/05/09 |
qmass, don't know how that feels. But i know the pain when I have to get the piriformis muscle worked on..Damn that hurts, my body starts twisting because of the pain and i almost scream like a bitch.
ps. for the uneducated, piriformis muscle is the one in the arse cheek that becomes tight and can make sciatica nerve play up. |
| #31 09:26pm 17/05/09 |
I come from a long line of medico's (ps im not one) and I was a card-carrying, died in the wool chiro hater.
Mrs Hardware had some trouble with her back. Went to a chiro, hopeless. Waves his magic clicky device around and pretends to do something. Utter BS. Then she went to a physio. Actually saw a few. Hopeless too, did nothing. Then she went to Alan Brown at Windsor. Even me with my 'this clown won't do anything' pre-concieved idea i could see plainly that he was actually making biiig improvements. So yeah, thats my story. Just like any group of 'professionals', you get your hopeless ones and you get your champs. Just don't go to one and think they're all like that is all i can say. |
| #32 09:26pm 17/05/09 |
^ Wouldn't you rather fix the problem? instead of paying exorbitant amounts of money for a quick fix? I'm tall (6'8"), it's just a part of life and I do what I can but it's nothing something that can be "fixed" as such exercising more would help but i'd still have to go to the chiro |
| #33 09:30pm 17/05/09 |
I have major back issues, came very close to slipping a disk in my lower lumbar. I still have issues and need to monitor and manage it constantly to ensure it heals properly and doesn't relapse.
Because of this I did a lot of research into it and my conclusion is that I will never ever ever ever go to a Chiropractor, they are about skeletal manipulation with not much consideration to the muscles and the rest of the body. I see an osteopath and it’s the best thing I’ve ever done, they are concerned with both the muscular therapy and skeletal manipulation, sort of an overall view on the whole spine, they won’t do skeletal manipulation unless they have to became something is out of place. My back was pretty bad so I saw an osteopath once a week for about 3 months, he only performed skeletal manipulation once, then worked with me to ensure I fixed everything else to keep the spine aligned and healthy, that was a year and a half ago and I’ve not had to go back for regular skeletal manipulation or anything of the sort because he actually helped me fix the cause of the issue. The most important thing is to recognise that how your living your life now is causing undue stress on your spine, "putting it out" during some activity is the release of the built up stress. You need to buy a good back guide book to learn all about it and change your posture, etc to improve the health of your spine and prevent issues. |
| #34 09:30pm 17/05/09 |
Mephz
Considering you can just "set up" a chiropracter business with no qualifications, are you sure you really want to go see someone like that?
May as well go ask the local bum at the bus stop to give you a massage, he's as qualified as your "professional" chiro. Chiro/Acupuncture/Homeopath Med/etc. It's all a shamrock sham of s***! |
| #35 09:46pm 17/05/09 |
yeah thats not right mephz. all the chiros ive seen have at least one medical degree and my GP also does acupuncture.
last edited by MrHardware at 21:58:23 17/May/09 |
| #36 09:58pm 17/05/09 |
I have had back issues for years.
I see a physio, chiro and acupuncture. I was always against Chiro's, but my physio actually reccomended I visit one specifically for one issue he identified which related to spine alignment. I've only been 3 times, and all 3 times it was on the suggestion of my physio and all 3 times the chiro did all sorts of crazy s*** to my back that didn't seem to help me or hurt me (it hurt at the time, but so does physio!) but each time I went back to my physio he was happy and said that whatever it was he wanted done had been done. I've been seeing my physio for a decade and he now lives across the road from me, so he is pretty helpful. not sure how many of them actually suggest chiro though! |
| #37 09:54pm 17/05/09 |
Agamemnon
Heyas
Well like Tequila im pretty tall (6'10") and periodically have suffered back pain of various kinds I go to this guy at Samford and frankly he ROCKS! He does this Japanese Physio (Satai?) and Chinese Acupuncture and i couldnt recommend him more highly. Ive been to various Chiros over the years and they have all been crap. My mum has been visiting Chiros and swears by each new one she finds but invariably ends up trying to find a new one as the old one doesnt fix it anymore... First visit to this guy at Samford i was in absolute agony - couldnt move, couldnt sleep, couldnt walk...huge pain medication etc I get there and he tells me my lower back is out (well duh :P), and my hips are 2" out of alignment! No lies, 2 minutes later im up and about and happy! Turns out i have tight hamstrings, they in turn pull my hips out... bingo, back pain! So the fix is every day i have to do hammy stretches and i havent had a reoccurence. Ive had frozen shoulder fixed by him, ive had all my friends go there and they now swear by him, my wife has been there and fixed her knee... And it isnt a "keep coming back forever scenario", he just tells you that it will take a visit or 4 and thats it - he doesnt keep u coming back needlessly. Plus the best part... when u go its "hands on" for the full 60 minutes, none of this physio practice s*** where he puts u on the machine and comes back every 20 to ask how u are going... :P Couldnt recommend him more highly! :) |
| #38 10:24pm 17/05/09 |
Yeh if you've still been working out heaps then you might struggle.. They're plenty hardcore enough for me :( Nah, more like my layer of padding :) Samford's too far unfortunately, but good story Aga. The great physio I used to have actually combined physio/osteo/accupunc/electro accupunc, and maybe even some chiro, so that was why he was so effective. Local chiros i'm scoping out are: http://www.toowongchiropractic.com.au/ http://www.doylechiro.com.au/ Although I'd like to try this guy out, "massager therapist to teh STARS!" http://www.majestichealthmassage.com.au/ lol |
| #39 10:53pm 17/05/09 |
You do know about the high risk of a Stroke from these kooks ?
Dont you ? |
| #40 11:10pm 17/05/09 |
yes plus i think a lot of them were behind 9/11
| #41 11:50pm 17/05/09 |
BiKESEAT
There are certainly a few that do exactly as above, a couple of clicks, 5 minutes later your out $60 and need to come back next week. Stay away from them - personally i've been to both chiro's and osteopaths, definitely feel like you get a lot more from an osteopath. They start with muscles and then make a few adjustments, but its a nice balance.
| #42 01:07am 18/05/09 |
Infidel
you must be about 90 years old!! |
| #43 02:42am 18/05/09 |
WHenever you see these three words " alternative medical approach "
That means you are about to pay a lot of money for unproven techniques. |
| #44 02:44am 18/05/09 |
Mephz
Just donate the money to charity or your local hospital, it'll be better spent.
I work in orthopedic trauma/surgery, my *opinion* based on some knowledge/experience from the science side is that Chiropractors are on the same level as faith healers. They don't require any previous study or degree to setup. Why would you let one near your spine shocks me, these people don't conduct conclusive testing such as x-rays/CT's to eliminate physical possibilities first, but they're quick to start manipulating it and take your money... If they do the testing, perhaps they're worth a little more weight, but I still wouldn't let anyone near my spine with a 40ft pole who wasn't also an orthopedic reg or consultant. Everyone has free will I guess last edited by Mephz at 09:39:30 18/May/09 |
| #45 09:39am 18/05/09 |
There're a lot of mixed opinions in this thread about chiros - just goes to show that you can't trust people's opinions, because you don't know who's is more informed and who you can and can't trust. Studies show that you've most likely got an opinion already (it is rare to not have an opinion about something as soon as it enters your mind), and you're more likely to accept the opinions that match yours, but reject the ones that don't confirm your opinion.
Take this example: I'm a person who wants to find out about my future, so I become interested in seeing a psychic. I post a thread on a forum about seeing psychics, saying that a close family member regularly goes to one and thinks it's amazing, but at the same time I'm cautious because I don't want to get gyp'ed. The pattern of reply would be something similar to this thread (but hopefully a lot more skeptics:) - while a lot of people will state the obvious, about how it's a scam and blah blah blah, there'll be a few people who have gone and found them to be very accurate and informative. "They new I have had to marriages and I have 2 kids!" (I have heard someone actually say this before.) So how do I decide whether or not I should see a psychic? I guess what I'm trying to say is, you need to avoid people's opinions and even their anecdotal reports, because regardless of whether you're talking about a chiro, psychic, medical doctor, dentist, palm reader, you're going to find people who have had successful and fail experiences. You need to base your decision on the scientific evidence. There is no scientific evidence that psychics have a special ability, there is no scientific evidence that the lines in your palms predict your future, and there's no scientific evidence to support chiropractic as being a true medical therapy. It is an alternative medicine. I am not skeptical of the positive outcomes that people have reported here, but my bet is that some chiros perform derivatives of true physio or medical practice, that by chance fix the problems. Faceman sums it up nicely (although a bit of boy-who-cried-wolf syndrome:) : WHenever you see these three words " alternative medical approach " Keep in mind also, they are not "unproven techniques" for lack of trying to prove validity. |
| #46 10:16am 18/05/09 |
Why would you go to a chiro for a knee injury? Well, you know, the old "the knee bones connected to the, dick bone" etc. My GP sent me to the chiro, I was sceptical at first, but physios are where its at. |
| #47 11:26am 18/05/09 |
You can get degrees in chiropractic science. Some have dual qualifications physio and chiro...
Just because the AMA doesn't like it doesn't mean anything. The AMA doesn't like self testing INR patients, apparently its "not safe" even tho the test cases for self testing or pharmacy test show better outcomes for patients. |
| #48 11:38am 18/05/09 |
Well I went to the physio but he didn't do much, just showed me some stretches. I guess he wants to wait until it's loosened up some more. The only thing he really did was 1 quick manipulation where he put me on my side and twisted my body really suddenly. Instant relief and was walking much straighter. Seemed like more of a chiropractic technique which is ironic :)
| #49 11:47am 18/05/09 |
So was this caused by your abs being too weak to compensate for the strain on your lower back?
| #50 11:55am 18/05/09 |
Well I certainly don't have epic core strength or abs but I don't think that was the issue here - it was more a combination of a few things at the same time:
1) Working out back muscles at gym the night before so they were fatigued 2) Just getting out of bed so my muscles were still asleep and I was very groggy 3) Piss-poor lifting technique - was half asleep and not paying attention and kind of bent over and expected just to heave it up as i thought it was light 4) didn't expect the box to be as heavy as it was (about 25kg) => rooted back. |
| #51 12:19pm 18/05/09 |
/Thread deraiment.
While we're at it, I've been battling knees problems for years can anyone please recommend me a good Physio? I've seen one before and it didn't really do much for me. Either post it in this thread or PM please, much appreciated :) |
| #52 01:21pm 18/05/09 |
Opec, I'd recommend UQ physio as a starting place - about $20 for an hour session, but don't expect to get a full hour of treatment. The reason I still recommend it is because it's a teaching clinic, so you get good students treating you, but more importantly, you get their expert supervisors teaching them using your body. So, for example, the teacher will make sure they have diagnosed the problem correctly and go through all the different possible explanations, and then recommend the different methods of treatment and explain why which methods are good and bad. The teaching goes on right in front of you so you can hear everything they are saying.
| #53 01:35pm 18/05/09 |
| #54 01:43pm 18/05/09 |
Also I've heard good things about these guys
http://www.allsportsphysio.com.au/ I work in the city and live on the north side so the ones at Indro/Toowong aren't so good for me to get to, but I'm willing to try them if they're good. |
| #55 01:48pm 18/05/09 |
Opec,
A mate of mine who is a physio himself but only treats in hospital recommended Adam or Michael at Kelvin Grove optima sports medicine. |
| #56 01:48pm 18/05/09 |
ok thanks Le Cock & Billy
| #57 01:50pm 18/05/09 |
I go to the chiropracter once every 4-6 weeks.
Problem i initially went was a constantly cracking neck due to a car accident (T-Boned into my door), and headaches... Headaches have gone completely and neck cracking still happens but no where near as much. She also really helps with other odd problems. I had a sprained ankle which she prodded at and seemed to help, also when i have an appointment which I happen to be sick at (particularly head colds) she seems to be able to clear sinus' and remove headaches.. |
| #58 01:50pm 18/05/09 |
Everyone will treat you better once you have a CT scan or better still an MRI.
I'll take a guess an MRI would be close to $1000 ? Costly but if you can afford it then it might be an investment for your future. Nobody wants to wake up with a sore back for the rest of their lives. |
| #59 01:53pm 18/05/09 |
MRI's for research purposes cost $600 per person... so if they add a bit on top of that for profit it should be less than $1000. But then you need someone to read the scans, which is going to be costly too.
Opec, no, that is not the one - that will be a more professional clinic targetting athletes and will no doubt cost a lot more. HEre is the one I was refering to: http://www.shrs.uq.edu.au/physio/clinics_and_services/musculoskeletal_sports_injury.html It's right next to the main bus stop loop. |
| #60 02:02pm 18/05/09 |
Having a look at it the one in Lutwyche is closer to my house, do have any recommendation on who I should see there Le Cock ? Or should I just wait to hear back from Kelvin Grove clicnic? Edit: NW Just heard back from the Kelvin Grove one :) Ok thanks Billy, I personally don't mind paying as long as it actually helps me. last edited by Opec at 14:28:22 18/May/09 |
| #61 02:28pm 18/05/09 |
^ Let me know how the one at lutwyche goes, i live near there also, and my knees/ankles/calves are starting to s*** me off.
Looks a little expensive though...but I guess you get what you pay for. edit: never mind then :) |
| #62 02:29pm 18/05/09 |
my ex was into sports alot and she did her back.. she went to a physio and a chiro.. the chiro was talking about what he was trying to do about some s*** or another... 10 sessions later there was no improvment.. she went back to the physio and told him what was happening at the chiro.. he snapped her back into alignment in 1 session.. proplem solved
dont bother with a chiro.. just go to a good sports physio |
| #63 02:30pm 18/05/09 |
ive been to the same chiro for years, always seems to crack my back and neck back into place :) i need to go to see him in the next week or so, get my back all re-alligned.
Chiro's are heaps better than physio for neck/back/spine realignment. physio's are more for sore shoulders/ knees/ muscle problems. i went to a sport physio, at the clemjones swimming pool, for my shoulder, that had the rotator cuffs rubbing bone on bone and the physio helped that alot, with muscle stretches and weight lifting exercises. the chiro just cracks u back into position. |
| #64 04:10pm 18/05/09 |
Looks a little expensive though...but I guess you get what you pay for. i was getting $30 bux back a session from my osteopath through private health insurance; |
| #65 04:14pm 18/05/09 |
to the people who are saying anyone can set up a chiropractic clinic without a degree or qualifications... wat.
your chiropractor did a 5 year degree and has probably treated thousands of people without incident |
| #66 06:53pm 18/05/09 |
Mephz
Your body is not lego, you cannot "snap" your spine or joints back into "alignment", like 'curing' arthritis through chriopractors, it is anatomically illogical at best.
You can help your posture to alleviate pressure for spinal problems for example sure; perhaps your chrio may help you with that but this is something physio or yourself can reproduce, but these certainly aren't solving any potential underlying problems or causes such as disc prolapse or compression only alleviating the symptoms; which may require a surgical decompression such as a laminectomy for example. I'd spend the money on getting properly examined instead, you only get one body, your problem could very well be more serious than you think. If you've exhausted conventional medicine, do what you will I suppose, I personally still would not let a chiropractor near me with a yard stick. last edited by Mephz at 22:56:54 18/May/09 |
| #67 10:56pm 18/05/09 |
Stez,
http://www.toowongchiropractic.com.au/ is where I went, based on the reccomendation of my physio. |
| #68 11:06pm 18/05/09 |
your chiropractor did a 5 year degree and has probably treated thousands of people without incident Palm readers have probably read thousands of palms without incident... |
| #69 07:53am 19/05/09 |
not sure that there's much innate risk to palmistry, bruised hands maybe
| #70 08:26am 19/05/09 |
Billy.
If people go to chiros and feel better for the experience, and all a "doctor" can offer is "chiros are rubish". I know which one is treating the patient. |
| #71 08:27am 19/05/09 |
Well one of them has a patient, one has a customer.
You can get qualifications in something that isn't real :/ |
| #72 08:47am 19/05/09 |
like theology?
OH SNAP |
| #73 08:50am 19/05/09 |
Thanks Spidz, that was one of 2 on my local list to scope out. However now osteopathy is sounding pretty good too.
I have another physio session tomorrow and if he doesn't get stuck in with some hardcore hands on work this time then I'll try something else. |
| #74 09:05am 19/05/09 |
If people go to chiros and feel better for the experience, and all a "doctor" can offer is "chiros are rubish".I don't think doctors are concerned with whether or not chiros are rubbish - they're worried they're going to do actual, real, lasting physical damage to someone. At least, I'm pretty sure that's what they think, based on the only conversation I've ever had with a doctor. I'll see if I can page her into coming in and offering a real medical opinion instead of just half-remembered comments |
| #75 09:21am 19/05/09 |
Theology is real. Religions are real, the beliefs are real.
What they believe in might not be, but that's not overly important |
| #76 09:29am 19/05/09 |
A mate of mine is a doctor and his opinion was that personally he only believes in scientifically proven things, and sees a visit to the chiro as something you do when you're at your wits end and nothing else has worked. Obviously it's still just a personal opinion, perhaps even more biased than average because he's a western doctor.
I don't have a problem in believing in 'alternative' medicine. Many things are only alternative in the western world but have been in practice for thousands of years in the East. As already stated, I just see all the various options as different tools available on the path of good health. The best practitioners I've ever experienced were those that combined western with eastern techniques. |
| #77 09:39am 19/05/09 |
Theology is real. Religions are real, the beliefs are real.ahah what |
| #78 09:42am 19/05/09 |
Chiro is an alternative medicine, not necessarily a scientific approach (like physio). I haven't heard many great things about chiros either. Sub-laxations is the common rip-off scheme that you see the bastards peddling in shopping malls. |
| #79 09:54am 19/05/09 |
What don't you get trog ?
The muslim faith is real. There are muslims. And their beliefs are real ie. they believe whatever they believe... It doesn't matter if they are wrong, misguided or right. You can still study that faith. Its history, politics, anthropology and its ethics. |
| #80 09:55am 19/05/09 |
What don't you get trog ?I don't get why you'd tried to use religion to bolster an argument about the efficacy of the chiropractic arts, where it quite clearly 100% unbelievably amazingly hugely significantly matters if the person working on your spinal column is wrong or misguided |
| #81 10:08am 19/05/09 |
I don't have a problem in believing in 'alternative' medicine. Many things are only alternative in the western world but have been in practice for thousands of years in the East. As already stated, I just see all the various options as different tools available on the path of good health. The best practitioners I've ever experienced were those that combined western with eastern techniques. Le Cock, just because it's been around for years doesn't mean it does anything:/ Do you really think that they had the same (or better) level of knowledge about physiology, diet etc 2000 years ago? Also, see below... Billy. Have you heard of the placebo effect? This is a timely conversation because in the recent podcast of the skeptics guide to the universe they discuss a court case in the UK where a skeptic is being sued for calling chiropractic "bogus". Specifically, he was saying that their claims that they can heal or sorts of diseases are utter BS. More relevant to Obes post, they discuss a very well conducted study that tests classical acupuncture combined with general therapy, against pricking people with toothpicks combined with general therapy, and the control condition was just general therapy. There was no difference between pricking people with toothpicks and acupuncture, LOL. Both groups had better outcomes than therapy alone, meaning the only effect in acupuncture is placebo. |
| #82 10:20am 19/05/09 |
Le Cock, just because it's been around for years doesn't mean it does anything:/ But it also doesn't mean it DOESN'T do anything. In fact the chances are that it DOES do something because if it didn't, so many people wouldn't have relied on it for so long. Just because something hasn't been studied/proven by western science in the 20th/21st century doesn't mean it doesn't work. There's s***loads of compounds and enzymes being proven every day to have health benefits that occur naturally in specific foods that were used medicinally for thousands of years beforehand. What if something had been used for 4000 years to treat an ailment but hadn't been scientifically proven, would you say "that doesn't work because it hasn't been proven in the last 50 years"? What if next week western scientific studies come out showing that "the compound contains enzymes XYZ which specifically treat the ailment for these reasons." Would you then do a turn around and say "this works for this ailment" ? I would not write off the anecdotal evidence of millions of people over 2000 years. I spend a s***load of time researching extracts from specific compounds and every 'cutting edge' health product released these days (not man-made drugs) has a history of use for hundreds or thousands of years before western science was even aware of it or had the tools to be able to study how it interacts in the body. In fact it is a pre-requisite in Australia that new ingredients (plant extracts etc) have a documented history of use in other cultures before they're allowed to be used here. It comes down to this: Guilty until proven innocent vs Let's explore all the options and keep an open mind. I'm not against western medicine - not at all. I just think that there's a lot more out there than the extremely short era of western medicine is aware of or can explain. There are more things in heaven and earth, Horatio, Than are dreamt of in your philosophy. |
| #83 11:00am 19/05/09 |
But it also doesn't mean it DOESN'T do anything. In fact the chances are that it DOES do something because if it didn't, so many people wouldn't have relied on it for so long.Apply that line of thought to religion and see how far it takes you :) |
| #84 11:07am 19/05/09 |
Have you heard of the placebo effect? Yes I have. And I have seen the studies where a placebo is sometimes as effective as some new chemical. I am aware of it, and don't see it being a bad treatment. If it works... who cares why. Apply that line of thought to religion and see how far it takes you :) You mean as a form of government ? They outlawed killing people, and theft. Introduced the first health care ... Gave people good common sense ideas for how to live your life. Wash regularly, don't mess around with other people spouses, avoid certain food because they caused health issues. last edited by Obes at 11:17:34 19/May/09 |
| #85 11:17am 19/05/09 |
I belive most if not all 'religions' have been misinterperated and warped by humans over time however I am extremely open minded towards spirituality. There is no doubt that many people would have been comforted in bad times through their faith in their religion - and that is real. It then becomes a question of what 'real' means to you.
If you require a giant hand in the sky throwing lightning bolts at you, or if feeling comforted in a church after losing a loved one is enough. If you medically studied the stress levels and other hormones and chemicals in someone's body and brain during tragedy and then again after visiting their church and there was a huge difference showing less stress and stabalized neuro-chemical release, would that make religion 'real' to you? |
| #86 11:16am 19/05/09 |
Studies show that you've most likely got an opinion already (it is rare to not have an opinion about something as soon as it enters your mind), and you're more likely to accept the opinions that match yours, but reject the ones that don't confirm your opinion. pretty much an open and shut case of this in this thread. |
| #87 11:19am 19/05/09 |
I agree with Obes re: placebo effect, and I have a theory on the placebo effect which I'll get shot down for but anyways;
The mind is an immensely powerful tool that 99.9999999% of humans have no idea about how to use or unlock the abilities of. Perhaps the placebo effect is a trigger that allows the mind to help heal the body. For example, when you are feeling ill or injured and someone you trust (doctor, physio, witchdoctor) tells you that his treatment will heal you, you believe it. The belief is the important part - the accepting, the knowing it to be true, and being grateful for it before it has even happened. This is the trigger that changes the mind's focus from "im sick, im injured, it hurts, i'll never get better" to "at the end of this treatment I will feel better, my pain will be gone". So even if the treatment was a sham as part of a study to prove it doesn't work, if the mind believes it will work, it will. If 100 patients undergo this placebo treatment and report lower pain levels, does that make it not 'real'? Is there pain less 'real'? As Obes said - if it works, who cares why. |
| #88 11:23am 19/05/09 |
I don't really want to argue with you - it's best that you go try it out and see if it works for you, but, science tells us that if it does work, it's probably because of a placebo effect. Is that such a bad thing? Probably not, but I'll talk about this a bit more in a second.
But it also doesn't mean it DOESN'T do anything. In fact the chances are that it DOES do something because if it didn't, so many people wouldn't have relied on it for so long. Although that may seem intuitive, it's quite incorrect. As trog pointed out, this falls apart when you look at religion. The mere fact that there are different ancient religions, each with millions of followers, shows quite simply that you cannot use this logic to see what is real and what isn't. Just because something hasn't been studied/proven by western science in the 20th/21st century doesn't mean it doesn't work. There's s***loads of compounds and enzymes being proven every day to have health benefits that occur naturally in specific foods that were used medicinally for thousands of years beforehand. Actually, there have been lots of studies about alternative methods. The fact is, there are lots of studies that have tried to show that alternative methods work, but when they are conducted in a scientific manner with proper control groups, none of them do anything. I would not write off the anecdotal evidence of millions of people over 2000 years. That's fine, but what you are writing off, are the many more cases where these things do NOT work. I spend a s***load of time researching extracts from specific compounds and every 'cutting edge' health product released these days (not man-made drugs) has a history of use for hundreds or thousands of years before western science was even aware of it or had the tools to be able to study how it interacts in the body. In fact it is a pre-requisite in Australia that new ingredients (plant extracts etc) have a documented history of use in other cultures before they're allowed to be used here. I have no doubt that there are some "new" supplements that have actually been used for thousands of years. And I'm sure that some "new" medical interventions have been known for thousands of years. But what we need to look at are the scientific facts - a lot of things like acupuncture and chiropractic HAVE been studied in great detail, and have been shown not to have an effect. That is quite different from finding a compound that has been used for centuries but hasn't yet had the scientific evidence to back it up, and ends up being useful. The studies have been done on most alternative medicines. Let's explore all the options and keep an open mind. I totally agree, but if you're doing this, you have to look at the scientific evidence. Yes I have. Err... that IS the placebo effect. I am aware of it, and don't see it being a bad treatment. I am all for "placebo" treatments! BUT, what I'm not for, is disguising placebo treatments as "professions", and charging s***loads of money for them. That is unethical and should be illegal. |
| #89 11:39am 19/05/09 |
Le Cock, make sure you read the last bit I wrote about the placebo effect. But you wrote all that stuff while I was still typing out my last reply, so just quickly:
You have pretty much outlined what the placebo effect is. So it's important to say that a treatment that you are paying s***loads of money for is MORE than just the placebo effect, otherwise just get me to prod and twist your back for $10, and get the same outcome. |
| #90 11:44am 19/05/09 |
Studies show that you've most likely got an opinion already (it is rare to not have an opinion about something as soon as it enters your mind), and you're more likely to accept the opinions that match yours, but reject the ones that don't confirm your opinion There are soooo many things I would like to say in response to this thread, but what's quoted above is so true, that I can't be assed. Nothing I say will change your mind if you're a chiro-lover, and no chiro-lover will be able to make me change my opinion. BUT! A few of the reasons why I don't approve: (1) Misleading the general public into thinking they have educational qualifications on par with medical practitioners. THEY DON'T. They're not doctors. all the chiros ive seen have at least one medical degree NO THEY DON'T!! (2) A detailed knowledge of anatomy and pain physiology allows us to know that the basic principles governing chiropractic are flawed: Your body is not lego, you cannot "snap" your spine or joints back into "alignment", like 'curing' arthritis through chriopractors, it is anatomically illogical at best Exactly. And I'm pretty sure they don't study the underlying pathophysiology of asthma at Chiropractic school, yet the Chiropractors'Association of Australia will have you believe they can fix that too. (3) It's not evidence based. he showed me a vertabra had twisted... he put it back in and the relief was instant How did he diagnose this? What's a "twisted vertebra"? How did he show you? How did he "put it back in"? It's all words, and most people don't know anything about the complicated mechanics of the vertebral column components, so they believe anything they hear. (4) I dislocated my neck as a baby, chiro fixed it. No you didn't. And no he didn't. |
| #91 11:46am 19/05/09 |
all the chiros ive seen have at least one medical degreeI just googled "Brisbane Chriro" and looked at the first few results... I found a few people that called themselves "doctors" but they don't have a medical degree, they have a Bachelor of Chiropractic Science. This isn't a medical degree. As with any trust-based system of repute, you'd need to check what institution issued that degree to even have any idea if it was remotely useful. I'd be pretty surprised if there were any chiros with a proper MD from a reputable institution, but I guess anything is possible. |
| #92 11:54am 19/05/09 |
Pretty sure Penn & Teller did a show on Chiros, and they bundled them up with Reflexology and that sort of bulls***.
<3 Penn & Teller. |
| #93 11:56am 19/05/09 |
http://www.welladjustedbabies.com/blog/?p=118
Allowing our children the opportunity to independently strengthen their immune system is one of the greatest gifts we can give them. However, with all the talk regarding the potential dangers of Swine Flu, many parents may wonder what additional steps they can take to strengthen their child’s immune system. Lets discuss some strategies: One way to build your child’s immune system is to ensure that they have their nervous system and spine regularly checked by their chiropractor. When subluxations occur, nerve dysfunction alters communication between bodily systems, and decreases immune strength. Removing nerve interference will often be all the body requires to successfully fight an illness. Chiropractic is a very safe and effective way of enhancing your child’s immunity. By removing accumulated nerve interference, your child’s body will have greater capacity to clear childhood illnesses, colds and flu’s (even the ‘dreaded swine flu’!) more effectively. Chiropractors and other holistic practitioners aim to support the natural defence systems of the body. Sigh.... Not much Science there. |
| #94 12:00pm 19/05/09 |
I didn't see it as argument at all - just discussion!
If placebo effects weren't disguised as professions then they wouldn't work because the patient wouldn't go into the treatment believing it would work. Bottom line is, some western medicine works, some doesn't, some ends up making you sicker from side effects and kills you, some get found out 20 years later to cause all sorts of problems. Same goes for eastern medicine no doubt. And the same goes for treatments such as chiro/accu, etc. I still think all areas have merit and it is all about finding the right treatments for the right cases and matching them up, rather than whether they have been proved yet or not. That's what the thread was about - have you been to a chiro and what particular ailment was it helpful for. The BEST physio and doctors I've ever been to have been those who had open minds and integrated several different styles of treatment. The WORST doctors I've ever been to are the 90% who have god complexes and think that what they learned in medicine school is the be all and end all of health. |
| #95 12:21pm 19/05/09 |
But if the patient is happier then previous doctor approved treatments ... who cares ?
Oh wait... patient focused care... |
| #96 12:30pm 19/05/09 |
Studies show that you've most likely got an opinion already (it is rare to not have an opinion about something as soon as it enters your mind), and you're more likely to accept the opinions that match yours, but reject the ones that don't confirm your opinion There has been studies on studies with the result becoming known as the Rosenthal Effect. They show it is impossible to create an objective study because the opinions of the testers skew the outcomes. You say everyone has an opinion (including scientists peforming studies ie. rosenthal effect) so where does that leave the validity of studies? Also, I find it interesting that you're more willing to BELIEVE in the extensive untapped (and 'unproven'?) powers of the human mind over the the chiropractic profession. These are discussion points only, not having a go at all. last edited by Le Cock at 12:36:43 19/May/09 |
| #97 12:36pm 19/05/09 |
Also, I find it interesting that you're more willing to BELIEVE in the extensive untapped (and 'unproven'?) powers of the human mind over the the chiropractic profession. Do you mean the placebo effect? This has been proven time and time again... |
| #98 12:41pm 19/05/09 |
The BEST physio and doctors I've ever been to have been those who had open minds and integrated several different styles of treatment. The WORST doctors I've ever been to are the 90% who have god complexes and think that what they learned in medicine school is the be all and end all of health. What's more depressing and important when thinking about whether to go see an alternative practitioner, is that you get better just from doing nothing ~70% (higher?) of the time. |
| #99 12:43pm 19/05/09 |
What's more depressing and important when thinking about whether to go see an alternative practitioner, is that you get better just from doing nothing ~70% (higher?) of the time. Why use the word alternative ? ... 70% of the time you go to see a GP it'll get better all by itself. Thus going to a doctor, witch doctor, magician ... 70% of the time doesn't matter. And there would a percentage out of the remaining 30% where even going to seek treatment is non-productive (you may as well start ticking off the bucket list instead). |
| #100 12:51pm 19/05/09 |
70% of the time you go to see a GP it'll get better all by itself This is seriously f***ing bad advice! If something funky is going on PLEASE go and see a doctor, even if it doesn't seem that bad. I had that attitude when things started going a litle bit weird. If my wife hadn't bludgeoned me into going to the doctor when I got some numbness in my leg I might have ignored the early M.S. signs - minor attacks often do get better over time, especially with RR MS. I would not have gotten onto treatment as fast as I did, and MS is a condition where early treatment is super important to long term outcomes. So are most serious conditions. |
| #101 01:03pm 19/05/09 |
Sorry, Obes and Hogfather both summed up the point htat I failed to make in my post. Obes, yes I meant to say alternative practitioner or medical doctor. What you need to be careful about is that you're not going to be damaged more, you're not going to miss the 30% when there needs to be something done (like Hog pointed out), and to a lesser extent, you're not wasting your money.
| #102 01:19pm 19/05/09 |
Well as long as you understand that chiropractics, accupuncture, and reflexology are in the same category. They all pretend some part of your body can be used as a voodoo doll to affect other parts of your body. There is no scientific basis for this. You can reason your way into wasting as much money on these as you like, I guess.
Drugs do have a scientific basis, whether they work, don't work, or cause problems - at least with science this can improve. You can't improve some arbitrary ritual that does not even attempt to 'fit in' with reality or address any real physical issues. You never see anyone make a 'breakthrough' or new discovery in chiropractics research. How it was asserted one day over 100 years ago (By a man who sold 'magnetic' healing), is how it is. Like a religion. The guy even tried to have it declared a religion to prevent legal trouble from the American Medical Association by using a consititutional protection. Read all about it! |
| #103 01:24pm 19/05/09 |
I had reflexology done once when i had really sore feet just to see what it was like.. IT HURT!!... But.. I think it was when they did something to BOTH of my big toes i got a weird tingling in my head. I looked at the 'guide' on the wall which shows you which point corresponds to which part of your body, turns out the place they were 'working on' which made my head tingle was the brain line. It was a bit eery. Don't think it really would have done anything else but make my feet feel FANTASTIC for days to come.
It was like walking on clouds. |
| #104 02:16pm 19/05/09 |
thermite, referred pain is absolute medical fact. If you've got hurting knees, maybe it's not a problem with your knees, it's probably a problem with your back.
Trust me, like i stated, once upon a time i was an absolute nay-sayer. |
| #105 02:22pm 19/05/09 |
It was like walking on clouds.sounds like nerve damage |
| #106 02:23pm 19/05/09 |
that some dissenters (in this case "chiro-lovers") may simply be closed-minded goes without saying, but it doesn't help.
if I recall correctly, the penn and teller episode admitted that chiropractic does have some merit when it comes to back pain and things like that, but took a very dim view of chiropractors that claim its effectiveness against all kinds of disease certainly the chiropractors I've been to feel that the spinal adjustment has good flow-on effects for the nervous system, but they don't claim to cure aids |
| #107 07:08pm 19/05/09 |
funky
never been to chiro - been to physio plenty for ankle, back and glute related issues, fantastic. couldn't help the ankle (turned out i'd broken off bits of bone and they were restricting a tendon, xray didn't pick it up so everyone assumed it was just a strain til i got a ct/ultrasound) but have always done wonders with the back (recurring problem stemming from a L4 (2nd lowest vertabrae?) 'slip' i had playing cricket) and worked a treat when recuperating from a glute tear as well. chiro i've heard a couple of good things but a lot of 'didn't do anything' from people.
however, I had acupuncture for the first time when i went in for the ankle, cos of the strained tendon i wasn't walking properly and that was putting more strain on my calf etc, so the physio did the acupuncture on my calf muscle - worked a f***ing treat! slightly disconcerting to begin with, but it wasn't really painful and really free'd up the muscle a lot, and a lot quicker than if he had done the usual massage work up, was fantastic, would do again! tl;dr - physio thumbs up, acupuncture thumbs up, chiro no experience but have heard a few good opinions but generally 'didn't notice a difference' comments. |
| #108 07:40pm 19/05/09 |
Trog family,
I was a non chiro believer, but WENT THERE ON THE ADVICE OF A PHYSIOTHERAPIST. I've been seeing that same physio for a decade and still see him now, only twice has he sent me to the chiro and both times the relief was instant. As for your doctor argument, my Grade 11 History teacher was called Dr. Volep and Peter Beattie is Dr. Beattie. You don't need a medical degree to be called Dr. Name. |
| #109 10:01pm 19/05/09 |
Today I went to see Adam @ Optima Physio at Kelvin Grove, and he was great, really helpful advice and treatment, felt a lot better even from just one session.
Thanks Le Cock :) |
| #110 07:15pm 22/05/09 |
Great!
As for me, I took a chance on a new random physio who did zero in two sessions! :( The only reasoning I can come up with is that it's an injury within the spine/discs etc and not muscular, so not much to be done. And I didn't go to a chiro either. Just getting better on its own. |
| #111 11:33am 23/05/09 |
are Optima the guys who do a bunch of stuff for the Broncos and other QLD sport teams? if so, my old man has been going there for years for a knee that is all kinds of f***ed up and he swears by them.
| #112 11:39am 23/05/09 |
Nah that's allsports physio red hill. They have a chain.
Optima are more like sports medical centres with sports docs, physio, podiatry, physical performance testing etc. It all depends on the individual physio though - I've been to several all sports physios and some were awesome some were average. |
| #113 12:40pm 23/05/09 |
oh, ok.
well one indirect recommendation for http://www.allsportsphysio.com.au/ @ Red Hill from me then :D |
| #114 12:48pm 23/05/09 |
As for your doctor argument, my Grade 11 History teacher was called Dr. Volep and Peter Beattie is Dr. Beattie. You don't need a medical degree to be called Dr. Name.strawman; the point is you can't be called 'doctor' if you just have a Bachelor in Chiropracy. That is misleading and confusing to people that hear the title 'doctor' and believe it means 'medical doctor'. Anyway, I'm obviously against the title 'doctor' for use in non-medical things for that reason. |
| #115 12:50pm 23/05/09 |
sparrow
As for your doctor argument, my Grade 11 History teacher was called Dr. Volep and Peter Beattie is Dr. Beattie. You don't need a medical degree to be called Dr. Name.strawman; the point is you can't be called 'doctor' if you just have a Bachelor in Chiropracy. That is misleading and confusing to people that hear the title 'doctor' and believe it means 'medical doctor'. I think you'll find most people with a phd are against 'doctor' being used for someone without a phd (ie medical 'doctors') :P |
| #116 02:41pm 23/05/09 |
I think you'll find most people with a phd are against 'doctor' being used for someone without a phd (ie medical 'doctors') :PI'm thinking of ONE person who will demand it when his phd is official (who definitely doesn't need any more ego stroking) |
| #117 02:49pm 23/05/09 |
sparrow
I will too ;) |
| #118 02:52pm 23/05/09 |
Anyway, I'm obviously against the title 'doctor' for use in non-medical things for that reason. The term doctor comes from Latin and it means "teacher". People with a B.MD are given the term 'doctor' as an honourary title due to the level and level of study they are required to do to get to that point. I think you'll find most people with a phd are against 'doctor' being used for someone without a phd (ie medical 'doctors') :P I'm not sure I'd agree with that. Most people with PhDs respect and value the amount of research and dedication one has to do to become a qualified medical doctor. However, they probably find that blatant ignorance like (to paraphrase trog) "I'm opposed to stuff I don't understand" is pretty distasteful and shameful. I'd align it to the general anti-intellectualism that is heavily ingrained into the Australian culture. |
| #119 03:00pm 23/05/09 |
I will too ;) I don't even like being called Mr. I'm not sure I'd really care for being called Dr. |
| #120 03:03pm 23/05/09 |
sparrow
I don't even like being called Mr. I'm not sure I'd really care for being called Dr. I hate having a title in front of my name, but being called dr sparrow would rock! I'm aware the novelty would wear off eventually though. |
| #121 03:19pm 23/05/09 |
spidz, the mere fact that someone in this thread said something like "all the chiros I have been to had medical degrees" is a good enough reason for them to NOT be allowed to have "Dr" in front of their names.
| #122 05:30pm 23/05/09 |
Of course Chiros are medical, that's why private health insurance covers your visits to them. They're classified as an alternative therapy/medicine!
| #123 09:40pm 23/05/09 |
Yeah thats part of the problem with Private Health Cover.
Most of the premiums are wasted on Questionable Health Services. |
| #124 12:48pm 24/05/09 |
So it turns out they can call themselves Doctors, at least according to the Chiro board's own guidelines, which states: The use of any title or designation is an effective method of imparting information. It immediately allows an audience to identify the common roles or activities and characteristics about that title. Titles may be attributed to an individual through a variety of mechanisms, some earned through training or education (for example, professional credentials) and others as a result of a position held (for example, a job title such as case manager). I have emailed for more clarification on this to see if its sanctioned by the Qld Health Practitioners Registration Board as well. |
| #125 12:56pm 25/05/09 |
SWINE FLU PREVENTION Chiro Style
http://www.planetc1.com/cgi-bin/n/v.cgi?c=1&id=1240864592 How can I protect myself from swine flu? Build your immune system! Get adjusted! Studies show that being adjusted twice a week can increase your immune system function by up to 400%. Limit the amount of sugar in your diet! Sugar depresses the immune system. Foods to avoid would be the added sugar to your coffee, soda, sweetened drinks, candy, alcohol and white flour products. Drink more water! Wash your hands frequently. Use natural disinfectants like essential oils that fight viruses (eucalyptus lemon, lavender, tea tree oil are the most popular). To disinfect a room from the flu virus, you should buy a new plant sprayer, use warm but not boiling water inside the bottle, add 4+ drops of a oil listed above (your choice) per one cup of water, shake before each use and spray on hard surfaces throughout your house and use a clean rag to wipe down the surface. You can also disinfectant a room by spraying the mixture into the air. |
| #126 01:44pm 25/05/09 |
here is my old man's story... no ninjas or dragons for those with attention deficit...
my old man had increasing pain in his left shoulder especially if he lifted over a certain hieght. he was recommended by his gp to see a physio. went to the physio for a few weeks n said each time was agonising & with no real relief afterwards... the physio told him due to his age it would take a while before the exertions resulted in relief & recommended more sessions. he decided to use a chiro & went for one session that he also said was extremely painful for no real benefit. he tried another gp & specifically asked for xrays/scans. turned out that of the major ligaments connecting his shoulder to it's socket, only one wasn't broken. the gp with the xrays told him that without doubt the stretching & moving that both the physio & the chiro got him to do would just have resulted in more damage. he got an operation to re-attach the broken ligaments & now is all good. last edited by demon at 13:59:42 25/May/09 |
| #127 01:59pm 25/05/09 |
I know you're kidding, but just to be clear, health insurance is a scam worse than chiropractors. They offer acupuncture and massage cover! They can offer anything to pander to the tastes of idiots who buy health cover - they will offer you health cover to buy wishing stones and fairy dust if you're willing to pay for it. |
| #128 02:05pm 25/05/09 |
my old man had increasing pain in his left shoulder especially if he lifted over a certain hieght. he was recommended by his gp to see a physio. went to the physio for a few weeks n said each time was agonising & with no real relief afterwards... the physio told him due to his age it would take a while before the exertions resulted in relief & recommended more sessions. My old man had the exact same injury. 70 and hes still doing the work of fit young people. If he stops working he thinks he will die. |
| #129 04:18pm 25/05/09 |
So, I have a bung hip. It clicks when I walk a lot. Now I am doing exercise it hurts a lot.
So, Physico or Chiro? I am leaning toward chiro, but who is to say it isn't the muscle? Come on DR QGL, diagnose me |
| #130 01:34pm 12/07/09 |
So, Physico or Chiro? I am leaning toward chiro, but who is to say it isn't the muscle?You should go to a GP and get their opinion. If you don't want to do that, I think you'd be absolutely mad to go to a chiro; at least do a physio. I think demon's story is worth a re-read. |
| #131 01:41pm 12/07/09 |
Kat, check out this link for a no-s*** factual account of chiropractic:
http://skeptoid.com/episodes/4042 From the site: I have some volleyball friends who see chiropractors regularly, and swear by them. Like some other sports, volleyball is one that keeps its elder players fairly constantly in the offices of orthopedic surgeons and physical therapists. Athletic massage and physical therapy are often essential parts of injury recovery, but if improperly performed, they absolutely have potential to cause more damage and make a bad situation worse. That's why we have certification boards for massage therapists and Doctors of Physical Therapy — top physical therapists should have a DPT after their name on the door. Physical therapists who are not doctors still must have taken an accredited four-to-six-year college program and must pass a national physical therapy examination and an examination on the laws and regulations governing the practice of physical therapy. Physical therapy assistants must take an accredited two-year college program and must pass the national physical therapist assistant examination, and they may only work under the supervision of a licensed physical therapist. A physical therapy aide is not licensed and is not required to meet any education requirements and has no formal training. However, they are required to work only under the direct physical supervision of a licensed physical therapist. When my volleyball friends report back about what their chiropractor did for them today, guess what? It's often exactly the same treatment I've received from my DPT. Some of these chiropractors are doing conventional physical therapy but without having taken the training and passed the tests, and they're getting away with it because they're calling it chiropractic. Not only is that untrue, it's illegal, unless that chiropractor also happens to be a licensed physical therapist. If you have a painful sports injury, you should be going to an orthopedist anyway, who is licensed to provide medical care and can do things like order an MRI to properly assess an injury. Essentially, on the off chance that a chiropractor does something that actually works, it's likely because they have stolen something from people who actually use science in their therapies. It's difficult for me to explain in a short reply why it's important that you trust science-based practitioners over non-science based charlatans, but there are very very good reasons. Basically, good practitioners won't just ask "What do we do that's good?", they also ask, "What is wrong with what we do, and how can we improve it?" Chiro's don't really do this, and so their methods are based on faulty logic and reasoning. If you really want, go to the chiro and see for yourself. At best you can expect to get a placebo effect, but that's a pretty expensive price to pay for a placebo. |
| #132 02:22pm 12/07/09 |
I saw a 20/20 story on Chiropracters doing neck manipulations of BABIES !
They claim they can help babies fight off coughs and colds and helps them sleep better. They showed video of it being done to what looked like a 12 month old baby. |
| #133 02:52pm 12/07/09 |
Watch at about 40 secs.
| #134 03:05pm 12/07/09 |
I saw a 20/20 story on Chiropracters doing neck manipulations of BABIES ! Okay. So normally if a person posted this, I'd interpret that post as sceptical sounding. But it's you, so I'm going to go with "and you believe that crap?"... As for Private Health Insurers offering benefits for Massage, hey, that helps me plenty. As a cyclist that kind of stuff helps recovery heaps, so that I can claim it certainly reduces some cost. So long as it's done right though, none of this soft chinese massage bulls*** - it's only useful when it's full-on painful sports/deep tissue massage. |
| #135 05:05pm 12/07/09 |
If you really want, go to the chiro and see for yourself. At best you can expect to get a placebo effect, but that's a pretty expensive price to pay for a placebo. if thats the case, how the f*** has chiro as a profession survived!? surely if it didnt help, people would stop going to chiros and the profession would naturally die out? |
| #136 05:09pm 12/07/09 |
People are convinced it works, regardless of whether it does. There is a lot of nonsense people believe in and spend money on. Lots of experiments have been done where a researcher posing as a salesman convinces people that something that doesn't make sense and has no effect is real and helpful and worth a lot of money.
| #137 05:17pm 12/07/09 |
Spook, you misunderstood me. 30% of people should expect to get a placebo effect from going to the chiro. So, even if a therapy does NOTHING, ~30% of people should still get a benefit.
A certain percentage of people won't get any result, but they won't get worse either, so we, the public, won't hear about these cases. Another percentage of people will naturally get better over time, and just because they had chiro during that period, they will incorrectly attribute positive outcomes to the treatment. There's a couple of other reasons, but basically, that is why the profession doesn't die out. |
| #138 05:54pm 12/07/09 |
surely if it didnt help, people would stop going to chiros and the profession would naturally die out? And yet s*** like homeopathy survives. You are ignoring the inherent stupidity of the species, Spookie. |
| #139 05:58pm 12/07/09 |
My doctor uses some pretty derogatory terms when talking about them.
| #140 07:20pm 12/07/09 |
meh they work for some, not for others
you don't have to go to them but you shouldn't knock them just because you didn't get what you wanted I have never had a bad experience and i've been visiting chiros on and off for years I put my back out, I go see a chiro for a few months (twice per month) and then im fine again for another year or two until i put my back out again .. pain killers wouldn't do s*** for me if i went to see a GP |
| #141 07:48pm 12/07/09 |
Did you ever think that maybe going to the Chiro was only removing the symptom and that it keeps recurring because you have a serious problem ?
GP - CT scan - MRI scan - Orthopedic Surgeons opinion. |
| #142 08:29pm 12/07/09 |
| #143 08:38pm 12/07/09 |
teq completely exemplified my point.
| #144 09:11pm 12/07/09 |
Did you ever think that maybe going to the Chiro was only removing the symptom and that it keeps recurring because you have a serious problem ? Did you ever think I ended up at a chiro after years of bulls*** with doctors? I'm a huge mother f***er, I have back problems because I dont get enough excersize If I were a gym junkie I probably would never have to go to the chiro, but at the same time I could have just kept putting it out |
| #145 10:38am 13/07/09 |
blahnana
This thread has been taken over by the Harrisons
| #146 01:08pm 13/07/09 |
it seems they have a collective axe to grind
poppa harrison has done his job well |
| #147 01:09pm 13/07/09 |
If you want to go to Chiro and you feel better than power to you.
If you want to cure your Back Problems then you need to see a Specialist. A Chiro and a GP are not Specialists. |
| #148 01:12pm 13/07/09 |
Has your chiro told you about Innate Intelligence teq?
I'm not sure I would want someone who believes in a whacky metaphysical concept like this f***ing with my spine. |
| #149 01:14pm 13/07/09 |
If you want to cure your Back Problems then you need to see a Specialist. such as a chiro? he knows more about my back than any doctor I've ever been to seriously I don't understand the negative connotations surrounding chiros, this guy actually lays me on my stomache and uses his hands to manipulate my spine I get instant relief from it and even drugs/physio can't do that for me, so whatevs |
| #150 01:22pm 13/07/09 |
I would be of the belief that pro actively protecting your back from harm would be better in the long run then having to continually have your spinal elements 'manipulated' to remove pain...
| #151 01:28pm 13/07/09 |
Read up on chiropractic and see why its got such a bad rep - in its purest form its f***ing voodoo.
The guy's cracking your back and it feels good, that's all that's happening. |
| #152 01:37pm 13/07/09 |
seriously I don't understand the negative connotations surrounding chirosI think that's because you've ignored most of the negative comments in this thread about their training, expertise, and what they reckon they can do... now, don't get me wrong - I'm sure some chiros are decent types and actually aren't claiming they can cure asthma or stop you being pregnant or whatever. But seriously, anyone that belongs to a group of people that actually think they're doing that stuff without any evidence supporting it at all doesn't it make you wonder? this guy actually lays me on my stomache and uses his hands to manipulate my spinethat just gives me shivers dude |
| #153 01:42pm 13/07/09 |
every time I've ever been, I walk in sit down and wait for my name to be called
I go in, he pushes in the right places, not very hard at all mind you I get up and I feel way better, I can stretch properly again and have no more pain this will last for months if not years until I do something stupid (like pickup something heavy with my back rather than my legs) it costs me $20ish dollars per visit and I can't fault the service did I mention I'm f***ing huge? seriously, I'm lurch's sexier cousin chiropractor, Gp or physio - either way I'm always going to have back problems and this is what I've found works for me I haven't been to a chiro in around 12 months and I put most of that down to getting rid of my stupidly low car that I had to lower myself into using the rollcage, in favor of the ute I now drive which I kind of climb into oh, and im a lot more careful about lifting heavy s*** with my knees these days vs lifting with my back doctors used to give me painkillers for back problems, that treatment is worse than someone applying pressure in the right place to alleviate pain imo |
| #154 02:29pm 13/07/09 |
I normally get the voodoo doctor on me get some cranial sacral work done. That s*** is f***ing awesome, but sometimes you need something more (and not wait weeks for an appointment that isn't covered by insurance)
| #155 02:31pm 13/07/09 |
I would be of the belief that pro actively protecting your back from harm would be better in the long run then having to continually have your spinal elements 'manipulated' to remove pain...this has worked very well for me |
| #156 02:35pm 13/07/09 |
I'll trade places with anyone who thinks being 210cm tall would be great
nothing in this world is made for anyone > pant size 38, shoe size 12 or shirt size "XXL" the *only* benefit is getting peoples attention when you want it, this can also be a downside when you don't want it however |
| #157 02:43pm 13/07/09 |
did I mention I'm f***ing huge? seriously, I'm lurch's sexier cousinHave you considered hugeness reduction therapy? |
| #158 02:50pm 13/07/09 |
he's big boned, you'd need an angle grinder or some s***
| #159 02:54pm 13/07/09 |
I've heard HRT can make chicks into agro bitches though; I'm not sure we want teq getting angrier.
| #160 02:55pm 13/07/09 |
saying you're huge, or 210cm doesn't mean a lot to me on it's own - are you suggesting you're not proportionate in some way thus your back is under different pressure than regular-sized people? if so then it's not your size or height that's the issue, it's the fact that you're disproportionate.
| #161 03:09pm 13/07/09 |
in size
| #162 03:14pm 13/07/09 |
leverage seems to be the big problem with tall people, like when I bend over if I dont' lift correctly, I'm putting more weight on my spine for the same package as anyone who is shorter
this is why I go out of my way to bend at the knees I can't really be sure but I'd say my joints and what not are only slightly larger than yours average male being something like 80kg and 6'1" ? I'm 6'8" and 145kg, my joints certainly wouldn't be 30-40% larger than yours? I have to bend down further to get to things that are a generic height (toilets etc) and bend further to get up this happens all day ever day for your entire life, it is bound to eventually have an impact I can't wait till I build my first house or renovate my bathroom because I'm going to raise the s***ter up at least a foot |
| #163 03:46pm 13/07/09 |
You know you're going to have trouble squeezing one out if you're up too high. See Squatting.
| #164 03:49pm 13/07/09 |
well I'll modify a leg press machine into my bathroom so I can sit up high with my knees around my ears
| #165 04:07pm 13/07/09 |
teq - what's your flexibility like? I get back pain when I stop excercising and my physios always tell me its related to my complete and utter lack of flexibility. Seriously its so bad that when they're getting me to demo it, they call over other physios to say "hay look at this guy, he can't even do this stretch". Can you touch your toes standing up? |
| #166 04:51pm 13/07/09 |
hell no, I can barely get past my knees
I've been given different stretches to do but yeah, I go through phases of exercise and laziness when I do go to gym for the first week or two I can barely move my legs but after that it starts feeling awesome and I get right into it then I get lazy again because we get swamped at work or something I know I don't get enough exercise |
| #167 04:59pm 13/07/09 |
I dont get Gym people. Are they in training to be Astronauts ?
work all day then go do more work and pay to do that work >.< I been Squatting for years. Think i saw it in a doco one time when i was at school. |
| #168 09:11pm 13/07/09 |
i go the gym during work time :)
| #169 05:20am 14/07/09 |
I have an axe to grind - the axe called "truth", and I'm grinding it with pseudoscience.
| #170 09:13am 14/07/09 |
Well The Dr didn't recommend an 'o' of any kind. He wants me to get an MRI. WTF!
| #171 11:12am 14/07/09 |
What sort of "Dr" are you refering to? A real doctor (PhD), a medical doctor (MBBS), or a sham doctor (any other qualifications)?
| #172 11:34am 14/07/09 |
Dr MD - At least I hope they make sure they have real doctors at my medical centre.
| #173 11:48am 14/07/09 |
haha me too. Hopefully they explained that an MRI will better assess the extent of the injury. It will allow them to 3D image your hip, and see how concerned you should be and what treatment will be best.
If you want a cheaper, easy answer, just go to a chiro who will fix your hip by playing with your spine... (couldn't resist) |
| #174 11:54am 14/07/09 |
teq - I just found this webform to see if your chiro is registered in QLD. Worth a quick look, because they shouldn't be touching you without being registered.
http://www.healthregboards.qld.gov.au/PublicAccess/pa_main.asp?Board=CHI I googled "brisbane chiropractor" and one of the first five names is not registered, and is in breech of the policy on the use of the "Dr" title... as are a few others from the top 10 on google. So far only one out of about 10 sites haven't had misleading information about what they can actually help out with. |
| #175 03:48pm 14/07/09 |
| #175 |