Topic: One for the online Sim racers
hey there i was reading our local paper (the bulletin) came across the motor section and found an article for http://www.iracing.com/home.html being talked up big time by Marcos Ambrose , has anyone had any experience with this ??? as im seriously thinking about joining up it looks great tracks and cars .
looks good, but lacks cool cars. and a monthly fee whats that all about!

cant go past rfactor with the touring car legends mod bro!
iv made this: http://scooby.mongie.net/rfactor.html as a guide for getting set up.

$55 aud once off cost, couple of gig of downloads and youre set.
oh and a G25 wheel is unbeatble for realism with the h pattern gears and clutch pedal.

i recently learned the lakeside track layout in rfactor before driving the track for real recently and it helped me figure out how to attack that evil place.
eightyeight
i recently learned the lakeside track layout in rfactor before driving the track for real recently and it helped me figure out how to attack that evil place.

what? how did you score lakeside in rfactor?? ive only recently got the game.

cool mate i have a G25 and rfactor i will download you guide and i have been to lakeside with kevin Heffernan but never got a chance to go on the track myself ,used to do a bit of Drag racing 12.74 in my old Xb Falcon .
haha you never really buy the game do you ?
Its play a few levels then you have to "top up" your account to go to a new level.
If you want a better car you need to "top up" your account.
Want to play next month then top up your account.

How do they control the Monthly Membership thing ?
Can you race offline is it a timed Lease of the Software that stops working ?

GoodGame had a thing few weeks ago about games on X-Box/PS3 where you get half a game and need to keep buying better things to be able to compete against other players. Actually i think it might have been a Soccer game Fifa 10 ?

Yeah I read that article. He raves about it. He also commented on how good the software itself was, except that sometimes it would inexplicably crash when Greg Murphy was near him on the track.
flagger
I'm a huge iRacing nut (f***ing ask the #hausofmaxe guys, they hate me for it)

Yes it costs a f***ton of money. No it's not just a 'game'. It's aimed as a training tool with the focus on online racing career progression. John Henry is building up the iRacing platform to become a proper competition. Next year the world cup of iRacing will begin with the winner receiving US$25,000.

And yes I've played rfactor, but it really has nothing on iRacing in terms of 'feeling' the car and tracks through the wheel.

I can see where people are coming from in terms of the financial outlay, but iRacing is continually being professionally developed, much like WoW is I guess.

Scooby have you even tried iRacing? You can get a trial month with the radical and silverstone chucked in from http://www.radicalsportscars.com/racing/virtual-racing

Taz
I've done work for them, made a few of their cars.
The level of detail they go into is insane! I had to make every individual object on the cars so they could make the weight of the car just as in real life.
theres still a limit to realism in the fact that you cant feel the g's in your seat.

but hell a free month, i'll give it a go :]

last edited by scooby at 07:06:14 14/May/09
]-[ITMAN
What cars did you work on Taz? Didn't know iRacing had any dev's working outside of the states.
I'd love to give this a shot. If the servers are in the states, do you experience much in the way of lag playing here?

Hi Hitman! long time no see.
flagger
No real problems with lag for the most part. Only when a driver gets out of shape does the netcode go to crap because its trying to predict nearly 300ms ahead. When your in a car doing 250kmh plus, 300ms is a fair distance.
]-[ITMAN
G'day E.T. We'll get Aussie servers (first outside of hte US) very soon, 1-2 months. However the netcode in this deal is very good. I've raced for over a year now on a 299 ping. You have to be careful on the ovals and if you give yourself enough room its not an issue. The cars look rock solid in game, its only when there's a big crash that you'll see cars blinking and stuff.

Local servers will be great. There's quite a few aussie's in this deal, I think we have around 150 in the Aussie/NZ club, which isn't too bad. Lot's of fast guys too helping out.

The expense is worth it if you're into hardcore sim racing, no question. The main problem guys seem to have to getting past the rookie series and learning how to go fast and be consistent with these cars/tracks.

The Dev's rock btw, listening to the community like no other, they really are trying to build a sport with this rather than make a quick buck.
Taz
I made the C&R Racing Silver Crown Car, Spec Racer Ford and the Lotus 79.
I work as a freelance artist for them remotely.
]-[ITMAN
Hey Taz, let me just say man, awesome work on those cars. How far away is the Lotus if you don't mind me asking? It looks absolutely increadible from the renders posted on the site.

They've got to give you the job of doing a V8 Supercar with local access to the teams and all. :-)

Appreciate your hard work, love the detail on these cars, they look perfect.
bump!
iracing hotlap challenge

lime rock park with chicane, radical sr8,
scooby 51.860
reverend 54.xx

limerock no chicane, pontiac solstice
reverend 1 04
scooby 1 04.119 goddamn hard work, advanced
flagger 1 05.067

laguna seca, radical sr8
scooby 1 24.39

last edited by scooby at 17:39:58 20/May/09
eightyeight
woot got my G25 today!!!! totally awesome in rfactor but i need a stand or something for it :(
geez tough game i was in the pontiac and couldnt get lower than 1.04 i gotta long way to go but its f***en good sim.
Downloaded the SR8 getting low 54s all the time s*** that must have been a good lap Scoob
flagger
Rev, 1:04's at LRP in the rookie solstice is a very respectable time, especially for a newbie. The 1:02's are done by aliens on the old physics (phsyics get tweaked season to season). After swearing I would never jump back in the rookie solstice many moons ago cause I hates it so much, you guys baited me. After 19 laps I got down to a 1:05:067 with a couple of mistakes so I could hit the 04's, but I really really really hate the solstice.

Rev you should sign up for more. We really need more good aussie drivers to win a regional championship so we can compete in the world series :)

last edited by flagger at 22:22:35 19/May/09
Taz
Cheers ]-[ITMAN! It's always good to get positive feedback from the community, especially since most of the time their comments are negative.
Fortunately Iracing know that you get what you pay for and give quiet generously to get the best results.

I actually don't know how far off the Lotus is, but to give you an idea of how much work (graphics and programming) goes into the cars I finish my part which was just the graphics over 5 months ago! So i presume that since then they have been working on implementing and bugs.

I know they are working on getting the license to use the v8 supercars, which i believe is currently owned by codemasters. Hopefully they give over the rights without much of a fight and then it shouldn't be too long before i get my grubby little hands on it.
very cool to hear you working on iracing taz, flagger showed it to me once, level of detail is nutty.
flagger
You guys are cheating if you are using the advanced solstice since it is not in any series any more. hotlap challenge should be using the rookie solstice with the craptacular locked setup.

evil? more like *awesome*. how'd you go? I just did a trackday there last Friday.

rfactor lakeside was pretty different to real lakeside though!
flagger
I hope iRacing scan lakeside when they come down to Oz, though I doubt they will probably do QR as its part of the V8 supercar series.
So Scoobs. Do you endorse iracing now that you've given it a go?
Ospi
My pb with the rookie solstice around LRP is a 1:03.2 though that was about 6 months ago so dunno if they have changed the physics again. Will renew my membership when I graduate though, great game.
flagger
Yer they changed the physics ospi. All cars seem to be slower than last season now. I think they tweaked the tyre model a bit as well.
]-[ITMAN
Cheers Taz, V8's can't come soon enough...

The NASCAR sanctioned online racing events next year will also be a big drawcard for the oval fans.

My problem is I can't stop racing in every other series, so I'm racing every other weeknight... Damned good fun. :-)
i didnt realise there was a rookie solstice! how is it rookie? do they dumb the physics down or give it ESP or something?! also my version.txt says 2008.07.31.02, is that current?

great physics but cant really justify the money compared to rfactor. especially when you take away the variety of cars/series/tracks.

http://vodpod.com/watch/1366609-iracing-vs-rfactor

hell yes orbs lakeside is the greatest, i went 1 05.43 in my final session. howd you go!
2 guys whacked the wall on the day i went, thats why its evil. the margin for error is much smaller than QR. but thats what makes it so good :]

last edited by scooby at 18:55:46 21/May/09
flagger
scooby, the rookie solstice is the same as the advanced solstice except you can't adjust the setup, and iracing have given it a 'newbie' friendly setup. Essentially that means it has a lot of front brake bias, and it understeers heaps so it's hard to get it into the corners. Advanced solstice can go heaps faster once you set it up properly

also that vid doesn't show how different the feel is through the steering wheel (provided you use FF). iRacing is far superior, even compared to realfeel for rFactor. I prefer the arrive and drive format iracing offers as well (at the lower level slower more fun cars).

last edited by flagger at 19:15:15 21/May/09
rookie works for me
http://scooby.mongie.net/images/rookie.JPG

both games are excellent
flagger
nice work
Scoobys hardcore! :)
For the love of pete. I just checked out the G25 at JB HiFi and the muthafuker is $499 freakin dollars!!!! You gotta be s***tin me!

Can I just use the arrows on the keyboard to show Scoobie up? :p
flagger
Ummm, JB know who their target market are and know they can put a huge margin on. Most of the time you can haggle JB down because of this. Anyway you can get a G25 for $299 at umart: http://umart.com.au/pro/products_listnew.phtml?id=10&id2=50&bid=2&sid=22442

last edited by flagger at 15:02:53 22/May/09
Thanks Flagger. Your not kidding about the huge mark up. Frig me, 200 clams is a big difference in price.
i got mine on ebay for 260 if i remember right, theres a couple of cheapies going right now! get sniping!

SUP PETE!

last edited by scooby at 18:19:06 22/May/09
eightyeight
so where do you guys race online?
rfactor TCL - v8sol and RACE@RFC servers are pretty hot right now
The GuVna
If you want a wheel & you walk past one of these at a cash converters:

http://www.pcstats.com/articleimages/200301/PCI/wmanforce/largeunit.jpg

Purchase immediately, very good force feed back for its price, it's actually ALOT better than the next revision of the formula force.

I should get back into car games, I haven't played since LFS version v or something. God damn street fighter 4 & quake live....

Also checking out vids of iRacing, the detail is brilliant, congrats of the dev team for doing what seems pretty much spot on car / track, the real vs iRacing vids are pretty damn impressive. & the crashes are entertaining also:

& to bed I go...

last edited by The GuVna at 05:02:29 23/May/09
Ospi
Well it's a lot of the NR2003 team working on it so we wouldn't expect anything less lol.

Found a video I made ages ago around Laguna Seca in the Rookie Solstice as well.

last edited by Ospi at 11:19:47 23/May/09
chipping away
http://scooby.mongie.net/images/rookie2.jpg