Topic: Man arrested for wheel lock 'gun'
ahh queensland cops, some things never change.

http://www.news.com.au/couriermail/story/0,23739,25325471-952,00.html
WTF, thats just silly.
Any other cop would have had him at gunpoint?

LOL.

This is BEYOND retarded.
Mr Hastings said the officer then replied he was "a lucky boy".

"He told me 'any other cop would have had you at gunpoint'."

thats a blatant lie, any other cop and he would have been tazed.
Mantorok
CHUB, how is that funny? The funny part is mistaking the steering wheel lock for a gun, not how the situation was handled.
I think he's laughing at the sheer incompetence of the officer, as am I.
Not only is the officer in question a retard, but he's saying that all the other officers would not only do the same thing, but in addition they would point a loaded gun at you for a steering lock.

last edited by CHUB at 12:58:47 13/Apr/09
Round of applause for Qld Cops
yes, these new... 'steering locks' as they call them
Mantorok
...but in addition they would point a loaded gun at you for a steering lock.
Or they were saying that they would point a loaded gun at someone they thought had a gun in their car.
Why though?

He's sitting on the curb, the gun is in the car.

Could you imagine the consequences of accidently shooting someone for a simple mistake?.... oh wait, happens all the f***ing time.

You're putting faith in the judgement of a person that can't tell the difference between a gun and steering lock.

Don't point a gun at me, full stop, I have zero trust in our police officers.

Anyway, I'm not going to get involved in a gun debate, everyone already knows where I stand.

last edited by CHUB at 13:21:18 13/Apr/09
Mantorok
It would've been before they cuffed him, not after. It's fair to assume someone with a gun in their car might also be carrying a gun.

Also, the other officer was searching the car and told the cop performing the breathalyser test there was a gun.

last edited by Mantorok at 13:31:38 13/Apr/09
In Victoria, the cops would have shot him no questions asked.
^^ Sad but true.
no no police are never wrong, they couldn't apologise because it would set a bad precident.

Uhh ok not only did the dumb kid say that MAYBE someone put a gun in there but no use of force was used at all anyway. Cop was in the right by detaining him until it was certain there was no weapon in the car. Sure he could have used more tact in what he said but it doesn't make him any less correct. Just stupid media hyping on the police like usual. Plus I mean look at the kid, he's obviously such a delicate little boy he needs someone to give hima hug and say sorry. Give me a break.
no no police are never wrong, they couldn't apologise because it would set a bad precident.
Police are quite often wrong, and they often pay a severe price for it. I hadn't heard of the Oscar Grant thing but checked it out and was interested to see it was at a BART station in San Francisco (where I just was, and I catch the BART quite a bit).

I had a quick look and the cop has been arrested and charged with murder; looks like he's still awaiting trial.

Fortunately because we (and the US) live in a f***ing democracy, when the cops do retarded s***, they get slammed in the press and they actually get punished for their actions if they're found to have done wrong. You guys seem to be implying we live in some sort of police state where they can just wander around arresting people on a whim or something with no repercussions? (I refuse to click on the OP link because news.com.au f***ing sucks s*** and I can practically imagine the bias dripping from the s***ty article without even reading it, but I'm happy to make ignorant assumptions) edit: thanks evis for confirming my thoughts :)

From a quick glace at the wikipedia page from that incident it seems unlikely that cop will get off with anything less than a murder charge.

By the way, Oakland in SF is a f***ed up place; a few days before I arrived there four cops were killed in a shootout (including 2 SWAT officers). It's apparently one of the worst areas in the US (or maybe its just California, I can't remember).

Give cops a break, they have a really f***ing hard, dangerous job and have to deal with giant a******s and scumbags on a daily basis. Sure, sometimes they can be dicks, but if you're just polite and not an a****** back to them you're pretty unlikely to have any problems.

Oh yeh, and don't break the law
Mantorok
tequila - The dude was pulled off a train for fighting and then resists arrest. I'm not saying he got what he deserved, but he was hardly being cooperative with the police.
Maybe people would have more respect for them if they werent just mobile radar's these days. There was some dude (some sort of police expert guy) on ABC radio a few weeks back talking about how police should be getting out of the car and "walking the beat" more, so they get to see the people, talk to the people and actualy act as a deterrent to crime instead of booking people for minor traffic incidents and responding to crimes after they happen, when usualy the suspects are long gone by the time they get there.

The cop realy should have said something like "sorry mate, it looked like a gun through the window, we have got to take these precautions, have a nice day" instead of being a f***wit on a power trip like they mostly seem to be these days. Im sure there are good cops, but the idiots like this guy give them all a bad name.
Yeah trog, like that guy that was bashed and had his face smashed against the pavement by multiple Denver police.

He nearly went to jail for 3 years "for assaulting police" till someone came forward with the video where you could actually hear his teeth breaking against the pavement... guy didn't do ANYTHING physical and didn't resist at all.

Cops got nothing, case dissapeared.
evis how the f*** is this kid dumb??? He took the cops word that he saw a gun and then tried to understand how that could be possible. He pretty obviously went through his own mind as to how in the hell a gun may of been put in the car without himself knowing.

This isn't a kid being stupid this is a kid that obviously has at least a little faith in the fact that cops are suposed to be intelligent enough to tell the f***ing difference between a frigging wheel lock and a f***ing firearm.

As for the cops and the statement from the QPS. What a pack of f***ing dicks as if you wouldn't say sorry instead of just coming off like d*******s. A simple sorry mate but we have to check things out when there is a little doubt about something would of been fine. But no they are obviously to embarrassed to do that and end up coming off like arogant f***wits.
Cops got nothing, case dissapeared.
Because you're too lazy to provide citations, I'll do it for you - the cop involved was charged with felony assault. How's that for a disappearing case! Oh yeh, and the officers and Denver PD are getting sued.

Got any others?
I'm capped and iinet won't seem to load anything not cached. How many years jail did the officer get?

Any less then 3 and my point stands.

Obviously he's permanently barred from doing any law enforcement work for the rest of his also? Consider he's a complete liar.

last edited by CHUB at 15:02:38 13/Apr/09
MatchFixer
f*** da poleece comin straight from da underground
a young nigga got it bad cause i'm brown
I'm capped and iinet won't seem to load anything not cached. How many years jail did the officer get?
Case is still in progress; continues April 21st; he is currently suspended without pay.
jum
i can't believe anyone is siding with the cop. mistaking a steering lock for a gun is f***ing retarded, but a forgivable mistake. detaining him was probably just regular procedure for that sort of thing so ok fair enough too

but there is no f***ing excuse for the attitude and trying to make it out like its was the kids fault for having a steering lock. the c*** should have acknowledged he made a mistake and apologized
I agree ^, but

they couldn't apologise because it would set a bad precident.
He would of had more credibility if he did say sorry but as I said just before now he just looks like a f***ing deads***. Mind you so do the QPS because of their statement.
its lucky that the cops didnt pull up infi, coz it would have been a gun and not a steering lock
I'd still have chuckled if the guy had beat them to death with the steering lock... seeing as how it's a dangerous weapon and all.

Anyway, this is just more proof that Cops love their power trips.
You always gotz to be packing heat. You neva know when the police will exceed their authority and i be required to dish out some citizen's justice.
MatchFixer
I pack heat with your mum in the back seat.

pow pow.
What kind of retard uses a steering wheel lock anyway? They just make things EASIER for thieves.
rly? I can't see how having a pole restricting you from turning the wheel fully makes it any easier to steal a car
Bats***
It means you have good s*** in your car. Did anyone even bother to check the photo.. the car in the background? That's his.

Haha. Who would steal that?
It means you have good s*** in your car.
...or you're an old lady.
To be honest I reckon a steering wheel lock would make a great equaliser in a road rage incident.

*wack*
"How's my driving?"
*wack*
"I value safe driving."
*wack*
how the hell can he be charged with murder...

at best its manslaughter

murder needs to be premeditated..

ie you need to want to kill them before you go over and kill them, which is why you need to prove motive... it helps with the premeditation argument

also whatever happened to this dumb bitch

Why Women Shouldnt Be Cops....
That's exactly what I'm talking about.

WHY did she need to be pointing a loaded gun, with no safety, at a person on the ground clearly not resisting with a huge black guy on top of him.
because in this day and age of equality anyone can become a cop.

in the olden days you needed to be a certian size and build to be a street walking cop.. so you could handle yourself if a situation arose.

in this age we have petit girls who have no hope of defending themselves who need a gun or weapon in order to control a situation.

no one respects people like that...
OMFG what a complete and utter f***ing stupid bitch. If I was the black cop I would of slapped the f***ing s*** out of that idiot. That kind of stupidity is just indescribable and worse still when you consider they are suposed to be well/highly trained.... what a f***ing joke.

another example of why small women shouldnt be cops
WTF she grabs him by the leg and takes him down??? Looks like to me the only f***wit on crack in this video is the guy doing the voice over. She isn't do s*** other than handing over a handgun to a f***ing druggy.

last edited by Taipan at 19:32:43 13/Apr/09
That other women had eaten a few too many sandwiches I think (have to watch the above video to understand that).
The gun miraculously jams!

Thats amazing, I mean I thought perhaps the safety was on, but I'm sure it was miraculous jam instead.
murder needs to be premeditated..

I prefer intentional... some crazy f***s just snap and kill someone without premeditating due to certain circumstances..
The woman cop in that video looks like she has no f***ing clue what she is doing, arent they meant to be trained to do takedown moves on people?, even if the other person is bigger.

Thats amazing, I mean I thought perhaps the safety was on, but I'm sure it was miraculous jam instead.
Glocks dont have a safety
they do actually, but its not exactly an "on/off" thing
if the crackhead was pulling the trigger, shes pretty lucky it didn't go off
What I mean is, the thing people know a safety to be, ie. a little switch on the side of the gun that you flick on and off. The safety is part of the trigger and is why it looks different on a glock.
Habib
another example of why small women shouldnt be cops

hahaha how funny is the fat chick who just lies on top of the druggie to keep him pinned! classic... ggz USA (although we can't really talk these days sadly)
passing fat lady saves the day! excellent vid
FFS, stop referncing U.S cops as examples when were talking about Australian Police.
Different Country with WAY different situations.

As to the apology after the fact was realised, how many peeps here apologise when they realise they have just plain and simple - f***ed up?
It depends on the character of the person involved. Sure they are representing an important collection of people and should know better.

On a side note, has anyone thought how much s*** said cops are gonna get from their teammates?
i was just talking about the difference in capability of todays police with the police of yesteryear... the same applies in Australia..

actually i know a male cop who was bashed in the queen st mall as his partner watched on unable to help as she was too small to do anything to the attackers

Pretty sure i use a steering lock cos i get $2k towards my insurance claim if the car is stolen. (So says the packaging).

Reason: retarded
Click Here to See the Profile for paveway Edit This Post Click Here to send paveway an email Users HomePage Message User
Apparently the forces prefer female officers because they have a greater capacity to defuse a situation before it turns to violence. Which probably means they don't act like wankers.
So... If I ride around with camping gear... say an 8' Machete an Axe and some other various equipment... how much trouble could I get in?

I dont think the Axe or even the Machete (in the hands of myself) could do any more damage then a wack to the head with a Club Lockbut somehow I feel it would be viewed differently.
Apparently the forces prefer female officers because they have a greater capacity to defuse a situation before it turns to violence. Which probably means they don't act like wankers.

And when it doesnt work and it turn's violent? Im sure a well trained small police chick could probably take me down, im only 85kg, but against a big guy I cant see any training making a difference, it would be the same for a small police guy i guess.

So bascailly you need a huge guy with heaps of strenght, but with a soft attitude to diffuse situations, but can instanly turn into the rock when needed.
Back a few years ago, got raided by the Redcliffe squad, they had like 20 raids planned for the morning.

They actually bought in a hired gun from Brisbane so they could knock it over in quick succession, a women was the "muscle" for all the raids.

God she scared the s*** out of me (bashed on my door @ 3am), would have been at least 7 foot, limbs like tree trunks, long black leather trenchcoat down to her feet and like 10 pairs of handcuffs around her waist... she had a face to match too, absolute beast.

THATS the type of women they need.

That, or hot-ass cop chick that knocks on your door by herself and suggestively asks to come in and have a look around, then she handcuffs you to the bed.

Thats when you realised you just got f***ed, but not in a good way.
I remember the last time I was in the UK back in 1994. There was a sizable blow up in the press at the time over how poorly armed local beat cops were armed. There was a case at the time where 3 cops (1 guy and 2 girls) attempted to arrest some scum bag. The guy pulled a stanly knife out and opened the male cop up pretty bad while the two chick cops couldn't do anything to stop this guy.

The focus of the story was how the cops on had their little bitty trucheons to hit this dude with and how the women were completely unable to subdue this attacker.

I have never agreed with chicks being beat cops or for that matter even something like highway patrol. I do agree however that women are far better at defusing a situation before it gets out of hand than males are. There mere presence of a male in some situations is enough to set some f***heads off because of all the macho BS.
BOHEMION
On a side note, has anyone thought how much s*** said cops are gonna get from their teammates?

Like a club lock in there station fridge, club lock pictures set as wall papers on their station PC's. Yeah, I can imagine there going to receive s*** for a while to come.

last edited by BOHEMION at 14:50:32 14/Apr/09

Fortunately because we (and the US) live in a f***ing democracy, when the cops do retarded s***, they get slammed in the press and they actually get punished for their actions if they're found to have done wrong

trog thats rubbish, you don't really think that do you

i had a cop put 2 pills in his hand, then proceed to put his hand into my pocket with the pills, then pull his hand out of my pocket as if he just pulled them out of my pocket. they then arrested me and dragged me to the police beat and searched me and found nothing, and let me go. i still remember the f***ing c*** cops name to this day and that happened when i was 18. josh kinghorn

called the cmc the next day saying we had witnesses and that RGs would be willing to provide video evidence that i did absolutely nothing to be arrested and they basically told me not to waste my time because there was 2 cops there and a case like that will never get anywhere because all other cops will stick up for each other

they get away with f***ing shifty s*** all the time.

last edited by existence at 16:25:26 14/Apr/09
Nathan

saying we had witnesses and that RGs would be willing to provide video evidence that i did absolutely nothing to be arrested ... they get away with f***ing shifty s*** all the time.

Fortunately because we (and the US) live in a f***ing democracy, when the cops do retarded s***, they get slammed in the press and they actually get punished for their actions if they're found to have done wrong

Clearly the moral of the story is to use the media. If you actually had video evidence of a cop stuffing pills in your pocket, I would be very surprised if someone in the media would not run that story.
You damn well got that right ... the press would be all over that in a second.
The police force attracts arseholes because it is a arseholes job. There are far too many people who will believe a cop no matter what and that is the problem. I understand the need for police and I appreciate what they do but at the same time I don't trust them.
If I got paid $50k to be pissed, spat, vomited and shat on with the odd occasion of being shot at or bitten by a dog, I would be a total c*** after a year too.

Maybe we should hire Germans to do it? Sounds up their alley
You're a total c*** now.
Sometimes I think you just try to hurt people's feelings.
i don't think he needs to try