Topic: Portable Air Conditioners? Which One?
Twinsen
So, here’s the jizz,

I'm moving into a unit on The Gold Coast, and there is no air con in it  - I'm renting; so getting one installed is something I don't want to fork out for... I've heard abt these portable ones and seen them priced anywhere from ~$100 to ~$700 and am wondering if anyone on here knows more about these unique and interesting, not to mention wonderful things?

I don't want to listen to some sales rep tell me which one is the best one, lol.

Thanks
If you have standard sliding windows w/ aluminium frames, there's been models in the past that have an adjustable frame - you install it without drilling, nailing or screwing, and the AC works much better than those crappy ones on wheels with an air pipe.

I believe my old one (long since sold) was Hotpoint or something like that.

The one I have in the US (wheels+pipe) is not only absolutely noisy, but it's virtually useless on a screaming hot day.
eu4ia
Teco Skinny. They've got 3 models of skinny aircons.

They're not nearly as good as a split system of course, but for when you're renting they're great. You just use a screwdriver to install the frame (which sits inside any fly screens, bars, whatever) and then the aircon clips into the frame.

Don't expect to cool an entire unit with one. They'll handle a decent sized bedroom fine.
i used to have a portable aircon, worked ok in small rooms, was better than nothing;

i think it was 9000btus, saw em around for approx $400

if you could get bigger ones, they mite work ok;

needs somewhere to drain water to;
MatchFixer
Check out Sam's warehouse at Garden City.

I bought a portable waterless one a few months ago from there for $400, might be even cheaper now. Comes with a custom installation window kit, remote control and has an internal tank so when it fills up with water sucked from the air it stops and beeps so you can empty it out.

Not exactly sure on the specs but it cools my 4*5 room fairly well and it isn't so distirbingly loud.

Let me see if i can find you a link..

edit: couldn't find it in their catalouge It's called Aussie Air if you're interested.

last edited by MatchFixer at 14:49:05 15/Dec/08
I got a portable air con for my room at my old place (high ceilings)

It barely did my bedroom...and it was LOUD AS f*** even with the "night time" mode on, the compressor would shut off after like 3-4 hours and wake you up!

think about a normal air conditioner....and then think about the motor outside that's running, now think of sleeping next to that!

Get a window type one

ps mine was like 850 bucks...and i took it back.

last edited by Fireblood at 14:36:16 15/Dec/08
i never really noticed the noise from mine, but im substantially harder than fireblood

I got a portable air con for my room at my old place (high ceilings)

Cool air sinks (Newton's law of cooling: free convection) - high ceilings shouldn't affect air-conditioning so much. They are impossible to heat though because all the hot air rises up to the ceiling and you are always left with the cold stuff on the floor.
f***ing pathetic landlords that don't install flyscreens and air cons. They should be made to pay for it to get done properly.
i never really noticed the noise from mine, but im substantially harder than fireblood

Don't worry Spooky, when I am your age I will have trouble hearing as well! Comes from a life of listening to the doof doof! Thankfully I am a way off!!

Cool air sinks (Newton's law of cooling: free convection) - high ceilings shouldn't affect air-conditioning so much. They are impossible to heat though because all the hot air rises up to the ceiling and you are always left with the cold stuff on the floor.

Yeah I realise that, but it does add to the volume of the room, and the aircon was pretty tall as well, and it blew air upwards, so it took longer to drop down :(

I wouldn't mind portable aircon. Lemme know what you buy in the end. I'm renting too.
supreme
just purchased one about 3 weeks ago from bunnings for $400, its okay at night or when it isnt that hot but on a really hot day it just cant keep up to cool my room down but its not too bad if you sit right infront of it.
you still have to have a massive donkey dick aircon pipe going out the window tho and it looks like a bit of an eyesore.
I've got my old bunnings one here for sale if anyone's keen..

it's a mistral, has a pipe for water (to go outside or through the floor). alternatively, another pipe for exhaust, it's quiet, has a compartment for water that shuts off the aircon and beeps annoyingly when it needs to be emptied.

not great for large areas.. great for average bedroom / computer room /toolshed.

stopped using it because my computer room / loungeroom is huge and it couldn't do the job. ;(

paid $550
sell $200 ono

last edited by koopz at 19:54:44 15/Dec/08
meh.. $100.

I just want it gone
ebay koopz!

i got nearly $200 for mine and it was old and falling appart!
nah mate..

I'm having a 'what would Psycho! do?' moment.

btw where is Psycho! ?? does he still pop up online occasionally?
I'll take it for 100 bucks.

alexc1 at iinet net au

could pick up wednesday arvo

last edited by ctd at 20:13:47 15/Dec/08
btw where is Psycho! ?? does he still pop up online occasionally?

He hasn't been on QGL for yonks.

Someone brain washed him.
MSN is koopzy at hotmail dawt com

pickup on the weekend would suit eh. I work some insane hours

last edited by koopz at 20:31:30 15/Dec/08
she's sold dudes.. thanks !

sorry for the derail....
bunnings also sell these
why I remember back in my day - the heatwave of summer '05, it sucked.

I had no wheels at the time so I made my way to bunnings and got a maxi taxi to take my ass home with my new aircon
it was the type that has the hose going out the window etc, reverse cycle - cooled my 1 bedroom unit if you kept all the windows/doors closed and gave it a good hour