Is it logistically impossible for them to not have regular menu as well during breakfast time or are they just being c***s?
I want a big mac dammit |
| #0 07:23am 11/12/08 |
I think the idea is that most people don't have burgers for breakfast...
| #1 07:26am 11/12/08 |
| #2 07:34am 11/12/08 |
JohnnieD
| #3 07:37am 11/12/08 |
Yeah but some people work nights (like me) and want a burger at breakfast time.
| #4 07:45am 11/12/08 |
Yup, Maccer s***s me off too for this reason.
I think to myself .. ooeer I might get a Big Mac, usually on the drive from Sunny Coast to Brisbane or other way. I walk in there and BAM! They have the breakfast menu, no Big Mac for me. Now I don't get Maccers often, so when I feel like a Big Mac I'm really wanting it. I end up just going to the KFC next door, who don't have a breakfast menu. |
| #5 08:07am 11/12/08 |
Hungry Jacks does mmm Bacon Deluxe :)
| #6 08:10am 11/12/08 |
Yes, but HJ's doesn't have stores whenever I want them.
| #7 08:13am 11/12/08 |
damm straight, I dont want breakfast at like 10am, I want a damm burger.
Is it realy that hard to do burgers during breakfast? I dont know it might be. |
| #8 08:31am 11/12/08 |
Actually yeah, it's a logistical nightmare because many stores simply don't have the room to have that amount of ingredients cooked and ready or available to grab. Therefore they restrict it to only one of the menus and then swap over.
Or at least this is one of the ways it was explained to me. |
| #9 08:38am 11/12/08 |
Yes it is logistically unpossible.
Cooking all of the brekfast items means they are cooking them on all the same hot plates/grills, toasters, and dress bench, that they use for the regular menu items. The toasters are set at a different temp for the muffins The grills are covered in either bacon or sausage "flavouring" and before you use the normal meat patties in macs, cheese burgers, 1/4's you have to clean the grills (annoyingly time consuming). The dress bench is setup with all the makings for the brekfast items, and not the normal menu, so none of the lettuce, mac sauce, onions etc etc are out and ready to use. There's many other things, bascially every spot used for regular menu items, is also used by brekfast items, there's not room in most back areas to store the makings for both menus, let alone the cooking space. Just have a few hash browns and sausage & egg mc muffins. or go to a truckstop. last edited by giririsss at 08:43:18 11/Dec/08 |
| #10 08:43am 11/12/08 |
Then how come hungry jacks can do it?
| #11 08:43am 11/12/08 |
I don't know how their kitchens are setup, but i also believe they have a far more restricted brekfast menu. For decades they didn't even DO brekfast items.
But then, i don't actually like HJ's food, so i don't go there at all anyway. (I don't normally go to maccas either, though when drunk, cheesee burgers are the best thing EVER). |
| #12 08:48am 11/12/08 |
Then how come hungry jacks can do it? It's easy to microwave anything. |
| #13 08:58am 11/12/08 |
Maccas is supposedly made to order now, so they could prove this by making things at different times.
| #14 09:51am 11/12/08 |
Made to order doesn't mean going to the cold room, pulling all the ingredients out and making it.
It means getting the stuff that is already on the benches and quickly waking it together. I usually ask for my burgers without pickles, that ensures that the burger will be somewhat fresh. With HJ's it pretty much means gives you a freshly nuked burger... |
| #15 10:01am 11/12/08 |
sparrow
HJs for the win! Love their grilled chicken burger.
Also yeah, I would love to have burgers around 10am - can't they just finish breaky sooner? |
| #16 10:15am 11/12/08 |
vbcoder
get a real job, tradies. lunch doesnt start until 1130/12
| #17 10:29am 11/12/08 |
Hungry's have better burgers but Maccas has better breakfast. And please do not eat burgers at breakfast time, it will f*** with the syetm.
| #18 10:32am 11/12/08 |
Articuz
I agree with what everyone's saying but I mean they cant do both breakfast and burgers and s*** at the same time the kitchens not setup for that. And anyway why would most people go to macca's anyway, the meals arent big enough.. and for the price that you pay! It's too expensive for what it's worth...
I also hate how the burgers look so big on the menu's, but when you get them they are like tiny as.. burgers need to be bigger IMO. :D |
| #19 10:54am 11/12/08 |
I think the idea is that most people don't have burgers for breakfast... Obviously you can't "have" what is not available, so it's a self-reinforcing situation. |
| #20 10:59am 11/12/08 |
I usually ask for my burgers without pickles, that ensures that the burger will be somewhat fresh. I do this all the time, I don't like pickles or onions on my burgers, but even when I ask not to have them, what the f*** do you think they put on my burger? |
| #21 11:01am 11/12/08 |
hj burgers are alright, but the meat is always overcooked (microwaved?) and dry as hell.
| #22 11:03am 11/12/08 |
I do this all the time, I don't like pickles or onions on my burgers, but even when I ask not to have them, what the f*** do you think they put on my burger? A burger patty? |
| #23 11:05am 11/12/08 |
Obviously you can't "have" what is not available, so it's a self-reinforcing situation.you can have them though, just not at mcdonalds but most people don't |
| #24 11:06am 11/12/08 |
I usually ask for my burgers without pickles, that ensures that the burger will be somewhat fresh.I do this all the time, I don't like pickles or onions on my burgers, but even when I ask not to have them, what the f*** do you think they put on my burger? I ask for no pickles alllll the time. Of all the times I've asked for them only once have I ever actually gotten pickles on my burger - I'd say it happens prolly less than 1% of the time to me |
| #25 11:08am 11/12/08 |
Pickles are what make the burger you are all crazy people.
| #26 11:11am 11/12/08 |
you can have them though, just not at mcdonalds Yeah I meant just at maccas. I tried their breakfast menu a few times, well actually breakfast at a few places and for some reason I never feel like eggs and hash browns and typical breakfast s***. I just want a freaking burger! While on the topic of fast food, I've noticed I get better quality food if I walk into KFC rather than go through the drive-thru. Is it standard practice to put the smallest bits of chicken and half-fill the chips for drive-thru customers? |
| #27 11:11am 11/12/08 |
Would LOVE a cheese burger on the way home from drinking at like 5-6am...BUT BREAKFAST IS ON!!! :|
I understand that it's hard...but I don't mind waiting a few more minutes for them to clean everything etc! :| |
| #28 11:11am 11/12/08 |
See, I want maccas to do BREAKFAST all the time!
Mmm bacon and egg muffins with hash browns! |
| #29 12:12pm 11/12/08 |
"Cheeseburger, meat and cheese only".
Memorize this phrase. Or "Cheeseburger plain" if you want to run the risk of them f***ing it up. It gives me the s***s when I order a Sausage McMuffin and somehow still manage to get given a Sausage and Egg. |
| #30 01:08pm 11/12/08 |
Cancel the breakfast menu. I'd do that if I was CEO then I would bring back that fish and chip shop style burger they had for a while.
| #31 01:48pm 11/12/08 |
hj burgers are alright, but the meat is always overcooked (microwaved?) and dry as hell. that doesn't sound alright to me... sounds aweful :p personally i can only stomach maccas or hjs or kfc if i am really drunk... it's like my body won't accept garbage food unless it's sure i'll spew it back out later :p |
| #32 02:15pm 11/12/08 |
The Angry Whopper is the best burger ever.
Ive never had the brecky menu at Mccers coz Ive never been up that early. |
| #33 02:42pm 11/12/08 |
about the drive in thing now that they have s*** hooked up to head office u r better off hitting the drive in for speed and freshness rather than go instore. it s***s me but blame the f***ing system.
| #34 05:26pm 11/12/08 |
Ben just go to Big Chief.. is there one in surfers yet?? Can always do a kebab!
| #35 05:41pm 11/12/08 |
Maccas leaves a brick in my gut. Tastes fkn nice tho. I stopped eating from those big takeaway chains. Sometimes I crave a Whopper with cheese tho. But I have no interest in eating maccas which I spose is a Good Thing.
| #36 06:44pm 11/12/08 |
step
Yeah but some people work nights (like me) and want a burger at breakfast time.Sunnybank Maccas is the worst, their breakfast time starts at like 2am (often earlier too). |
| #37 08:17pm 11/12/08 |
I usually ask for my burgers without pickles, that ensures that the burger will be somewhat fresh. Yeah, i do that too! I've had too many cold cheeseburgers to know better. |
| #38 08:24pm 11/12/08 |
Also, McDonald's breakfast menu is gross - I feel sick just looking at their bacon and egg mcmuffins. And they're raisin toast is weird; nothing like what it looks like on tv.
+1 for 24 hour burger and fries menu. |
| #39 08:28pm 11/12/08 |
+1 for Subway > Burgers |
| #40 08:33pm 11/12/08 |
since we're an IT forum and such... has anyone actually looked into Micky D's IT setup?
I'd love to know if they're open source in the back end |
| #41 09:30pm 11/12/08 |
kos
God damnit now I just want to eat Maccas or HJs and watch Falling Down. Thanks a bunch, thread. |
| #42 09:36pm 11/12/08 |
| #43 02:06am 12/12/08 |
eu4ia
Bacon and egg muffin = breakfast of champions.
The secret is to find a decent maccas. The quality ranges from brilliant (rare) to an oily piece of an excuse for food. Gold coast's best imo is, surprisingly, in Nerang of all places. Robina's is a shocker. |
| #44 09:20am 12/12/08 |
heh breakfast at macdonalds
you've already failed, regardless of what you get |
| #45 09:22am 12/12/08 |
Bennett
about breakfast... HJ's have a full menu from when they open... i allready know how maccas work i have enough friends that work there... and yes its impossible. when our hjs got breakfast they setup a bacon cooker, muffin toaster and egg thingo... you will find HJ's have lots of Product Holding things (what you usually keep meat in) we either set it to Breakfast or Normal. There is simple 4 of them with meat and the rest is breakfast items. The Broiler cooks all Meet and Sausage, we are only allowed to put down one at once (either meat or Susage) all the stuff for Burgers is all ready to go aswell as breakfast at 6am (or 5am at some stores) usually we put a lid on lettuce and stuff coz no1 really orders burgers till 9:30am onwards ish. (keep it fresh rather then dry) we dont keep much meat up if not none... and just cook it when its needed (takes 2mins) however most hj's get really busy from 10am onwards and its a nightmare... some hj's simply split the 2 sides into Breakfast and Burgers (yeah we have to sides of preperation) when breakfast is finished, all the breakfast Equipment is Turned off and cleaned.. and the Holding thing is set to Normal. you will find HJ's usually has a higher capacity then whats needed, so if there store gets busy they just roster more people... have any questions about hjs just email me! seriouslybennett@hotmail.com and p.s. seriously need more 24 Hour HJ's my mate was explaining how they work and its awsome as! (aka less work for me!) i hate close.. coz u never know what official time you finish |
| #46 09:55am 22/12/08 |
You registered an AGN account to tell us about Hungry Jacks breakfast procedures?
Also, thank-you for that in-depth explanation of how things work at that background of Hungry Jacks, for those of us who are too into the snobbery of ever even considering having to work in such a manual-labor job. This has been causing such pain not understanding the workings of this complex system. ... |
| #47 10:09am 22/12/08 |
Just how much of HJs food is microwaved?
| #48 10:37am 22/12/08 |
holy s*** that rodney rude was bad
he turned 1 minute of material into 10 |
| #49 10:37am 22/12/08 |
falling down is such an awesome movie, thanks for the reminder! D FENS !!
| #50 06:23pm 22/12/08 |
holy s*** that rodney rude was bad You must be mcf***ing mckidding me you mad mcf*** |
| #51 10:05pm 22/12/08 |
im a big rodney rude fan, just that bit you posted mcsucked balls
| #52 10:22pm 22/12/08 |
Maccas at Sunnybank would have to be the absolute worst I've come across. One night I hit the drive through, and ended up being stuck at the first window because some f***er decided to eat his food at the second window and not move, police had to be called to move the f***er along. 15 minutes later I get my food and get home, only to discover they gave me the wrong burgers. I called them up and spoke to the manager, who actually remembered me so she gave me an order number for a replacement of my order, so all was good I thought.
I went back the next night and gave them the number, and the order was placed with out a hassle. 10 minutes after sitting at the second window awaiting my order and watching the 4 staff members just standing around talking, one comes up to me and asks me to go pack over the side. Getting rather pissed I asked how much longer it would be and she replies they are just cooking fresh burgers for me but they would check. A minute or so later she says that they don't have my order on the screen and would have to take it again. Refusing to park over the side, 4 minutes later they have cooked my burgers (finally!). I've taken a vow to never return to that hole. |
| #53 12:19am 23/12/08 |
Man, how good would that be if you could just give them an order number if you knew exactly what you wanted?
Better yet, how good would it be if you could just go to their website, plug in what you wanted, and that spat you out an order number or hash, and you just gave them that to plug in. Would make ordering so much quicker. |
| #54 08:38am 23/12/08 |
Red
Or even a few little touch-screen kiosks as you walk in the door. create your order then it spits out a little receipt with your number. sorted. luddites who don't know how to push their finger on a screen can still use the normal counter...
| #55 09:22am 23/12/08 |
Plain sausage muffin with bacon and an extra sausage is the only way to roll.
Maccas eggs always taste like ass. |
| #56 09:33am 23/12/08 |
in the US dont they take your order while your in the line? eg. your at the back of the line, someone on the floor comes and takes you order then when you get to the front of the line you get your meal.
| #57 10:46am 23/12/08 |
^ they do this in australia too
| #58 11:00am 23/12/08 |
When its busy (like in the city on a friday night) they do this.
| #59 11:16am 23/12/08 |
BOHEMION
They do this at Milton Maccas when it gets busy. An Employee walks around with a Touchscreen PDA and enters in your order and it spits out an order number. Its already cooked by the time you get to the register and you give the employee behind the counter the order number slip and pay/collect. Easy as.
| #60 11:45am 23/12/08 |
Yeah, they do that here at the Hawthorn store when it gets busy. But I want something even easier than that :D
| #61 01:37pm 23/12/08 |
if only macdonalds was forward thinking enough to premake some burgers, imagine who much quicker people could be served!
| #62 03:21pm 23/12/08 |
but dont you want them fresh?
| #63 03:45pm 23/12/08 |