Topic: food poisoning
So I was on the receiving end of a nasty bit of food poisoning yesterday. It all started around 9:30am when I started to get a sore gut. I had eaten some Ingham chicken nuggets and I didn't notice anything unusual about them but obviously one or more had something bad in them. A couple of hours passed and the pain was getting worse and worse and I was sweating like a god-damned pig. Finally I chucked my guts up, lol, and thought I was gonna die. First time I've chucked in more than 4-5 years prolly. Anyway, after that I felt f***ing awesome and the pain in my stomach was instantly gone.

Things were starting to look up...or were they?

So now it's a little after midday and I had to be at work by 5pm so I figured if I just rest for a couple of hours I'll be fine. I was prolly asleep for close to an hour then I woke up. Lying down I felt fine but as soon as I got up my vision went completely and I couldn't see s*** for about 10 secs. That scared the f*** outta me and plus my head was spinning like hell. I couldn't focus properly and pretty much collapsed. Took me a while to get up, god it was hard, worse then being drunk and trying to stand.

I was f***ed so I figured I'd jump in the shower and that might make me feel better. Finally made my way there and while initially it did work for a bit I started to get that nausea feeling again and the room was spinning. Not wanting to fall over in the shower I concentrated as f***ing hard as I could and somehow made it out and dressed without crashing down.

Anyway, fast forward a few hours and I got my sisters boyfriend to take me down to the doctor and he gave me a needle with something in it that f***ing helped heaps plus I got some other tablets.

So today I feel heaps better but f*** me I will never ever touch any type of chicken nuggets for as long as I live. First time I've ever had food poisoning and I hope it's the last time as well. I wouldn't wish my worst enemy to go thru that s***.

The end!
Yeah food poisoning can be nasty, fatal even. Hope you're feeling better
Yeah i had food poisoning about 3 years ago after having a kebab, though obviously that's a risk you face when choosing to have a kebab.

Bad luck man, somewhat surprising that it happened with a half-reputable chicken brand.
This is why I only eat free range chicken.

I'd zip down to the chemist Rev and see what they got for upset stomach.

last edited by sLaps_Forehead at 13:16:37 23/Nov/08
half reputable brand of processed frozen chicken-like cubes nice
nasty! i've had similar although not as bad where it's fine while i lie down but as soon as i sit or stand it's splitting headache right behind my eyes & nausea. i usually just force myself to drink heaps of water till it passes.
though obviously that's a risk you face when choosing to have a kebab.

As someone who has worked in a kebab shop, I can confidently recommend staying away from them. The average hygiene level across different shops is incredibly low.

Things ranging from the unfreezing the meat, using it for a day then refreezing it again to bring out the next morning again, having meat sit there the whole day, throwing all the left-over salad/meat on the bench from a previous order back into the salad pile, allowing flies/etc to get on the meat.
try getting it in africa and pulling over to s*** in a village toilet with flies crawling around your arse and villagers standing outside watching :/
i guess that means your chars were held back from leveling up for 12 hours or so.
I got food poisoning from Jackpot Noodles on Albert st

Went to take a s*** that night and faited and banged my head on the wall and nearly s*** on the floor (LOL)

Then flew to Sydney the next morning and s*** all over the place for like a week straight

s*** s*** s*** s*** s*** s*** s*** fart s***
Did you microwave the nuggets ?
Get on the Steggles mate.
i got salmonella eating some chicken breasts a few years back

used to cook them in the microwave, not the frying pan;

worst ive ever felt
Yeah i hear ya
had some dodgy frozen fish and chips one time
next day i was off to nanango/kingaroy/wondai/murgon etc
Didnt start feeling grody until the afternoon, by that time i was 300km from home, just me, some computer parts and a commodore
anyway, sick, sick as. couldn't do nothing because i had to get my work done
couldnt stay longer cos the motel was full, as were the surrounding ones
just simply had to drive and do my work
ever driven 300kms at 100km/h when you haven't eaten anything for over 24 hours, whilst s***ting every hour? not friggin fun.
Dirty birds ... you can never trust them.
I'd be sending Ingams an email complianing under the pretense of making sure their chicken is well kept etc. Might score some free s***.
Might score some free 2nd bout of food poisoning, aaaaaaamirites
I complained to Nandos a few weeks ago and got free s***.
Everyone who has had food poisoning can identify. It's f***ing terrible. Fortunately, the most recent time II got it, I was shooting out both ends, but actually felt ok.
Doesn't food poisoning come from food you've ate up to 24hrs previously and could not have anything to do with the last meal you had.
I think it has to occur within a few hours of whatever you ate...

Food poisoning is a common, usually mild, but sometimes deadly illness. Typical symptoms include nausea, vomiting, abdominal cramping, and diarrhea that occur suddenly (within 48 hours) after consuming a contaminated food or drink.

http://www.emedicinehealth.com/food_poisoning/article_em.htm

Might not have been your chicken nuggets Rev.
i was under the impression it can be onset within 6 hours since bad meal
well i've had a few experiences with it - one from some bakery in coffs harbor (symptoms a day after) and one from some aeroplane breakfast food (symptoms half an hour later - figured by 2 people in our group of three ate the breakfast and the other one didnt and we had had the same meals the previous day)
Once got it after eating a tin of sardines. Couldn't eat sardines for a couple of years after that.
perhaps the time it takes for symptoms to occur is dependant on the type of toxin, metabolic rate, condition of your liver & maybe even other variables i haven't thought of.
why were you eating chicken nuggets at 9am?
So today I feel heaps better but f*** me I will never ever touch any type of chicken nuggets for as long as I live.

Ive said that about Cheese Twisties, chicken Crimpy biscuits, Lemonade, Sushi and various types of alcohol but that hasnt stopped me from touching them again. Except for sushi... never gone back for that!
Yea I had really bad food poisoning this time last year from Nandos. Was working in the valley and had Nandos for lunch. Started to feel pretty sick about 2 hours later and called my olds to come and get me, coz I'd left my car at Chermside and bussed in, but I knew I wouldn't be able to make it home on the bus. The second I walked in the door I had to run straight to the toilet and vomited for hours on end. My back was in so much pain from heaving so much. Was absolutely terrible. 11.30 that night I had to get a doctor out to give me a needle in my bum to stop me from vomiting. Never eaten Nandos since
BassMan
Like Billy, I opened the sluces at both ends when I had a dodgy meal at Mocca, Sunnybank Plaza earlier this year.

Both my brother & I independently went to hospital within 6 hours of each other (we had lunch there). Onto a drip for fluids + anti-nausia drugs. Felt like utter s*** for 2 days. Not fun mate :(
If your sigh was going that's serious s*** , did bright lights hurts you to look at ??? sounds like a mild case of Botulism. Nasty and some times lethal s***.
+1 for kebab shop - deception bay
+1 for subway - deception bay

FTL
got food poisoning in chang mai, thailand last year. honestly have never felt more sick in my life, had a crazy fever, sweating, throwing up everything i ate/drank. had to get an IV and needles in my ass, it sucked =(

i feel for ya, rev.
Sounds more like a +1 for D'bay in general.
never had food poisoning before, and i hope i never do.
I had to get a doctor out to give me a needle in my bum

me too! i thought it was just the dodgy thai doctor =(

QGL calling nubbin: why the s*** does a needle for food poisoning go in your butt?!
I've had severe food poisoning once, and I hope I never get it again. Explosive vomit and diarrhoea, shakes, cold sweats, fever, nausea. I Think it was the Domino's pizza I had the night before. I ate nothing all day, then had half a pizza for dinner. Woke up 6 hours later and thought I was going to die.

People quite often blame the wrong thing as the cause of their food poisoning. Since the onset delay is quite varied, it doesn't necessarily have to be the last thing you ate to have caused it. It's a natural response to be repulsed by the last thing you ate before you felt the symptoms of food poisoning. This is a survival mechanism that would have helped our ancestors from eating dangerous things more than once. The best way to overcome this repulsion is to just man up and eat whatever it is. Your brain will soon see that it's OK, and the food stuff won't disgust you any more.
Yeah, it's quite easily possible to get food poisoning from any type of food regardless of who/what made it. Though obviously dodgy shops are much more likely to pass it on.
HyperJ

learn to cook.......

a high percentage of all chicken contains harmful bacteria (yea including free-range), that's why you have to make sure its cooked properly....
I had Macca's at Garden City years ago and went for the GodFather meal (I think that's what it was).

Pretty well once I finished it I had to s***, and bad. I walked briskly to the dunnies and downloaded a god-aweful mess in spectacular fashion. I could hear the comments from my fellow lavatory users.

I didn't really feel sick after I got it out (not that I remember anyway). It doesn't seem to conform to the whole 'food poisoning takes a few hours thing' but I swear it was the Godfather.

Damn you godfather, damn you to hell.
So you didn't eat *anything* 48 hours before the burger?
McDonalds is almost impossible to get food poisoning at
ask anyone whos ever worked there, its far too automated and would be very difficult to f*** it up
inghams nuggets..i'm keeping my mouth shut on this one..
Mission all I take from this is you are some form of special. Cos there is no way food you just ate turned into s***... If you had vomitted the story might be semi-believable.
I had food poisoning recently too - had toast with vegemite in the morning, chinese (from the asian hotbox at indro shopping centre) and some tiny teddies (biscuits) later that day - woke up the next morning with the usual symptoms of food poisoning.

It definitely wasn't the toast or the tiny teddies...

I eat my dinner over the course of a few hours, just picking at it here and there. Pork, chicken, lamb, potatoes, veggies, etc, I just leave the plate sitting next to me at my computer. Been doing this for years and I'm still alive. Man the f*** up.
the tiny teddies had a party in your tummy.
59fifty
I had it a few times to.. most recently from fish and chips twice (well, calamari and chips..) and one of those noodle franchises..
never eating there again!
I've never had food poisoning. cast iron stomach!
It will happen stinky, not if ... but when

I was the same until 2 years ago then a dirty bird got me. I have trouble eating any chicken now.

And thats having drunk puritabbed stagnant water in Sundown, eaten monkey brain in the back streets of Jakarta and those dodgy reheats from the cafe opposite the paddo oO.
Pretty well once I finished it I had to s***, and bad.

So you think the food that has just hit the top of your intestinal tract is going to induce you to s*** a mess.

Can I suggest that little puppy might have beeen brewing for some time?
Yeah I realise that is probably the case and I didn't just offload the burger I ate, however the GodFather hit the go button, no doubt. My body was just clearing the passage to getthe burger through asap.

Kind of like how peeps do an E-Poo. Sure you're not crapping out the actual pill but your body knows something bad has just gone in and responds by opening exits.

Coffee can even get people going.
Coffee is the best starter pack.
And thats having drunk puritabbed stagnant water in Sundown, eaten monkey brain in the back streets of Jakarta and those dodgy reheats from the cafe opposite the paddo oO.

heh, I read that has dodgy redheads from the cafe...
Having bed all bed all day yesterday, cracking headache, body aches etc. I feel your pain Rev! It sucks! Never had it this bad, and first time I have thrown up in AGES.
chicken nugget pro tip: deep fry the bastards. if the salmonella survives that, it deserves a medal. also deep fried nuggets just taste so good

i got it once last year from the Xmas dinner at my aunties place, I'll never trust sun-dried tomatoes again.
Sunfay on station road indooroopilly - stay away from the 'lunch special'. In fact, just stay away.
Ah, you poor bastard Fire. So what happened to you? Was it something you ate or something else?
heh Le Cock we've been there a few times, had lunch special too and never been sick from it -yet-. /touches wood.
i've used food poisoning as an excuse for a sickie or two, but never actually had it w00t
i hope karma dont get ya
Opec - did you ever notice that the lunch special came out _very_ quickly? Not a good sign!

The last couple of times I went, it didn't come out that quick really. Not that I timed it of course.
Skyhawk
only had it once, a curry down the road.

Next day I was vomitting all day and fainted twice, once when I was on the can and fell over (obviously when I blacked out) and hit my head on the bathroom cabinet.

haven't eaten curry since.
Ah, you poor bastard Fire. So what happened to you? Was it something you ate or something else?

I think it was 1 slice of ham.....go figure. I smelled it an everything, no slime, no nothing. (I used to work in a Deli....)
But I ate half of the sandwich, and then took the rubbish out, and a wine bottle bounced down a flight of stairs, picking up speed and SMASHED into a million peices at the end, so i had to spend 15-20 min cleaning it all up etc, so I am thinking the time it spent on the bench was what f***ed me over.

Won't be eating ham for a while that's for sure.....

i've used food poisoning as an excuse for a sickie or two, but never actually had it w00t

i hope karma dont get ya

Yeah I have used it a couple of times as an excuse...and was planning on having a sicky before my exams to study, using the same excuse - kinda f***ed that now havn't I? Pre-karma anyone?
Mmm cant remember having food posioning that brutally..

Your 'spinning' reminds me of when i woke up one morning.. was about 15/16. Soon as i opened my eyes the room was spinning, i could slow down the spinning somewhat but when i relaxed it started spinning faster.

Naturally didnt go to school that day and hoped it would go away.. it didnt. I lay in bed all day and everytime i opened my eyes everything was spinning. Ended up going to the hospital and they gave me some drugs. The next morning everything was fine. To this day i think it was some middle ear infection.. too much headphone wearing i think.
Last time I had food poisoning was on mine and my partners anniversary last year. We went out to dinner and had some seafood ravioli things as an entree. Anyway by the time we finished another couple of courses and made our way down to one degree for some post drink cocktails, I was feeling extremely ordinary, had 2 sips of one drink and needed to get out of there. Spent the rest of the night until about 4.30 in the morning on the floor between the couch and the toilet.
Partner had fallen asleep in our nice comfortable bed. Where is the love? He chose the restaurant!
Too soon to be the ravioli.
could be aids
^ Wasnt aids.
Where is the love? He chose the restaurant!

He just spent a wad on a nice dinner and cocktails and didn't get any. It's no wonder he went to bed :)
A) dont assume he paid for everything, because you would be wrong.

B) totally would have been up for it if it wasnt for the nausia, vomitting and headache.

He didn't pay for it all? What a chump!
i reckon
B) totally would have been up for it if it wasnt for the nausia, vomitting and headache.

I'm sure he still would have been up for it.

last edited by mission at 16:47:52 27/Nov/08
could be a tumour.
It's not a tumour!
its not a tumour

curses, beaten!

shouldnt u be off counting beans or something mission?
jinx, you owe me a coke.
ah i feel good.
I'm in between counting so that gives me time to spend with the mistress.