Topic: Pomegranate fruit

This is the most awesome fruit ever, $5 per hit. Thought not as good as what's grown back where I was born (google "Axis of Evil"), the aussie ones are still not bad. I think it's on par with a bowl of cherries, from an omnomnom-can't-stop-eating point of view.

If anyone hasn't tried some before I highly recommend it! They pop up once in a while at woolies:

http://homepage.powerup.com.au/~boldajis/images/p0.jpg http://homepage.powerup.com.au/~boldajis/images/p1.jpg
Yeah saw these at Woolies, no idea how to eat them.
Reduaram
Pretty sure all the grenades are imported from America or another overseas country.

They're mighty awesome and a lot of people don't know what they are or how to eat them.

Thermite: pretty easy, cut them into qauters and then eat the jewels.

last edited by Reduaram at 18:57:34 19/Nov/08
wtf! They look strangely interesting. *Is on the look out*
no idea how to eat them.

Cut it open. Just start plucking at the red bits without damaging them until you have a whole bowl of red seed/pulp. If there are any white bits or skin, etc .. take them out as you don't eat them. Grab a spoon and start eating.

Here's a pic of what I mean:

http://www.worldofstock.com/slides/PFO7741.jpg

last edited by parabol at 18:59:23 19/Nov/08
$5 a piece?

it better have crack in it
they're a messs

used to have one of these trees when i was a kid

could've been rich!
I think they are pretty s*** and not as good as the ones as in Iran. My Grandma had some plantation of this shiznits, was good as a kid visiting there.
I used to eat them when I was a kid and they aren't to bad. They are actually extremely good for you and are packed with Anti-oxidents. Worth a try for anyone that hasn't had one yet.
GuessWhosBackAgain
So Parabol and Le Infidel are both from Iran? interesting..
i love these, i just normaly pick them out of the fruit itself one by one. You can get these at some fruit shops 2 for $5.

If you eat enough of these it will constipate you and don't get it on your clothes because the stains will never come off hehe
No, me mums from there mate. I dont think they constipate BigZub but do the opposite hehe
WreckTim
goes great made into a sauce with served with duck.
ATHLETech
oddly enough...fantastic with Lamb Shanks. Went to a dinner at a Persian families house (from Iran)and OMG - f***ing awesome!!!
They look delish - will try.

I reckon the reason no one knows what they are or what they taste like is that they're called "pomegranate". I thought pomegranate was a type of cereal grain or something!
i bought a nice big one from clayfield markets about a month ago. probably the best thing to ever come out of the middle-east.

i found the fastest way to separate the juicy seeds from the pulp is to submerse the fruit in a large bowl of water then break it open. the seeds sink and pulp floats.. so youre left with spoonfuls of pure pomegranate pwnage.
So Parabol and Le Infidel are both from Iran? interesting..

I was born there but don't look it (not completely Iranian by blood) and don't sound it (spent 3/4 of my life in .au), but I still get the benefits of the awesome food :)
I thought pomegranate was a type of cereal grain or something!

Sounds more like a cement mix to be honest.
this is one of those fruits (like dragon fruit!) that looks way better than it tastes.
Dragon fruit tastes like a weak kiwi fruit.. but yes, it is very nice looking... have to try out a pomegranate though... Has anyone has Durian, that fruit that smells like s***? Always wanted to try that but can't bring myself to do it, it's meant to be delicious though!!
Love teh pomegranate!

Also, Palmolive make an awesome pomegranate body wash!
Palmolive make an awesome pomegranate body wash!

I knew the name was familiar for some reason!!

last edited by Joanna at 13:55:13 20/Nov/08
judge
had it in india all the time, 20c for a big glass of pomegranate juice
DeathSyndrome
Pomegranate juice is meant to be really good, I used to work in a fruit store that sold it in organic for about $20-25 a liter. We also sold te actual fruit for about $2 ;)
blahnana
Don't eat pomegranate seeds, lest you spend half the year with Hades...

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Persephone

Persephone isn't real, blahnana
That's a bold statement trog. Do you have any proof to back up your claim ?
lies trog, lies.
http://images.allposters.com/images/152/matrix2_persephone.jpg

also, PAMA, pomegranate liqueur is the s***.
Red
Has anyone ha(d) Durian, that fruit that smells like s***? Always wanted to try that but can't bring myself to do it, it's meant to be delicious though!!

I was told:
The first time you have it, you hate it. The second time you have it, you don't mind it. The third time you have it, you love it.

So, so very true. Only problem is after eating it your fingers smell like arse for about 3 days after.

http://img209.imageshack.us/img209/3366/img1227ul2.jpg
http://img74.imageshack.us/img74/5602/img1229ez5.jpg